Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 102 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Gooz Chos
Sat, Apr 20, 2019, 11:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

You can't blame Mercer for trying things a second time around with the love of his life. Who among us wouldn't do the same if given the chance? Anyone? Anyone? Riker?

I do wonder about Starfleet...urm...The Union rules on captains dating subordinates who have been snatched out of time and brought into the future, while having another subordinate who is the future version of the time traveler. Seems like there'd be a rule about that.

Cute episode. Unexpected ending for sure.
Set Bookmark
Gooz Chos
Sat, Apr 20, 2019, 9:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Tim C,
By far, the fanboy/fangirl internet fights here on the JammersReviews.com comment boards have been more entertaining and cerebral than ST:D (and definitely less painful than my last STD).
Set Bookmark
Gooz Chos
Sat, Apr 20, 2019, 7:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

4 stars for the biggest magic reset button ever!

So, the reason we don't know about Michael, the spore drive, gays, etc. in TOS, TNG, & DS9 is that they were all sent into the future (apparently, we just had 3 gays in the universe at the time of Discovery).

I'm so glad I never invested much emotional or intellectual energy to this show, and left it as background CGI/Kungfu fighting while doing dishes and cleaning the kitty litter box.

Hopefully season 3 will start with either 1) a newly built Discovery and a brand new crew in the TOS timeline, and/or 2) Mitt Romney/Pike, Spock, Number 1, and the wicked witch of the west (who the F was that?!?!) continuing the voyages of the star ship Enterprise.

Bonus: The crew's reaction to Spock shaving his beard reminded me of the scene in The Room, where another pencil-neck actor shaved his face-pubes for no reason. Priceless homage.
Set Bookmark
Gooz Chos
Sun, Apr 14, 2019, 5:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

The characters are now so annoying that I'm solidly on Team Control. When will it finally get its hand on the data and rid the universe of these losers?

Also, we're slowly getting set up for the giant reset button.

Holographic communications is no more. Why? Reasons. Not sure if I understood the explanation.

Discovery's spore drive is no more. Why? It's in the future.

Spock's always-almost-crying step-sister is no more. Why? See spore drive.

There no more Kelpiens in the Fedration. Why? See spore drive.

Still unexplained:
- Where did all the gays and lesbians go in TOS, TNG, and DS9? Must've been a right-wing backlash right after STD.
- Why does mirror universe Georgiou not have a goatee?
Set Bookmark
Gooz Chos
Sun, Apr 7, 2019, 4:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

Pike: "I can haz time crystal?"

Wise Old Klingon Baby: "Yesh. It's a super difficult sacrifice. 1) You get to see your future, and 2) You'll know that it can't be changed (the thing you already know when someone says they're going to show you your future [not "one of your futures]. You know, the future, singular)."

Pike: "So...I can haz time crystal and 1) I get to see into my future and know how long I'll live (score)! and 2) Know something I already know? Where do I sign up?"

So, as long as Pike takes a look at his watch when in the future, he knows how long he has to live (i.e., how long he'll basically be invincible for) and how shitty his future is so he can carpe the fuck out of his current diems knowing he'll be healthy and vigorous until he gets locked-in-syndrome and gets to star in a Metallica video.

Am I the only one who thought the challenge of the time crystal (what a dumb name) isn't that challenging?

Everyone is dark and moody on this show. Pike was the one ray of sunshine, and now he's ruined too. I guess that's how the time crystals exact a price: They steal the one fun thing about the show.

At least Tig Notaro finally told that mopey baby doctor to grow a set and go back to Stamets. Maybe now that Pike is ruined and all moody and deep, Doc will now be the happy guy on the show.

Also, I feel so #woke after this show.
Set Bookmark
Gooz Chos
Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 5:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

The characters are starting to get on my nerves. Everyone is so sad all the time. I think the writers think this makes them deep. It doesn't. If I wanted to see sad people, I'd go downtown and stare at the homeless. Scratch that. At least they're high most of the time, so they're doing something to make themselves feel better.

Michael is becoming a one-note parody of herself: always either crying or about to.

Spock is a pencil-necked little twit. An insult to Nimoy. Whoever cast this little wimp needs to be fired. He brings nothing to the table. No joy.

Tilly needs to grow some self-confidence already. Enough with the stammering. Grow some ovaries and take charge. Grow as a character. This isn't The Simpsons.

Culber just got a second chance at life. Dude! Enjoy it. "I don't feel like myself." "The scar that made me want to go to med school is gone." You've dumped that Stamets guy. Go screw everyone on the ship. Get high. Enjoy life. Something. He's also always on the edge of tears. Dude!

Tyler needs to get a haircut so he can save money on all that product he uses on his hair. I imagine this dude reeking of the Klingon version of Axe Body Spray. I'd feel like crap too if I spent 3 hours getting ready in the morning.

If these characters keep the pity party going for one more episode, I'm going to get on Team Control and hope it wipes out all life in the galaxy.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Sun, Jan 28, 2018, 1:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Terra Prime

Nice 2-episode arc. The baby was stupid. What was the plan? Clone cute baby and watch it die to prove a point? Instead of using any 2 random DNAs from easy-to-get vulcan and human, pick two people on a spaceship that is almost never around?

Glad the baby died. She would have ruined T’pol and Trip’s lives.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Sat, Jan 27, 2018, 9:10am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

First we get the Orion slave belly dancers and now this. Stopped watching as soon as T’Pol showed up in the crop top. Maybe this crap played well in whenever this show was filmed, but it’s just gross and pervy now. Plus, I always hated these mirror universe episodes.
Set Bookmark
Gooz Chos
Wed, Jan 24, 2018, 6:25am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Affliction

Klingon: Asking for help in curing a disease isn’t the Klingon way.

Phlox: Well, then, it seems like your people don’t deserve to continue existing. Please show me to the nearest airlock. The loss ofone life is a minor price to pay to ensure the end of such a horrible, xenophobic, and aggressive species. Bonus: Worf will never have existed.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Sun, Jan 14, 2018, 8:32am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Cold Station 12

So. The Augments are just like us in their cruelty, selfishness, xenophobia, and self-destructiveness. Except they are super smart, super strong, and live a long time. Sounds like an improvement. The only reason humans would oppose them and want them killed is humanity’s cruelty, selfishness, and xenophoboa.

I’m on the side of the Augments on this. Leave them alone.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Fri, Jan 12, 2018, 12:31am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: E2

Did anyone at any point think that maybe the original Enterprise crew transfer their injectors and their dirty, unwashed asses to the new Enterprise and go through the vortex together?

That way, we get a fixed up and upgraded enterprise ready to do battle.

And poor Malcolm Reed can maybe find a mate among the grandchildren of his more reproductively successful colleagues.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Wed, Jan 10, 2018, 10:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Harbinger

So, the alien’s nepharious plan was
Place me in a pod
Place the tiny pod in a huge bubble gum thing
Hope Enterprise notices needle in haystack
Assume Archer is stupid enough to pull the thing out (most solid part of the plan)
Hope Archer decides to disconnect alien from his weird pod
Wait for phasing to happen
Destroy enterprise.

Solid plan, Manny Coto.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Tue, Jan 9, 2018, 10:44am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

Would you give your life to save your child’s life?

Most people would say yes.

Would you give up your (clone) life to save your own (original) life?
Would you give up your (original) life to save your own (clone) life?

Yes and yes.

No moral dilemma.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Mon, Jan 8, 2018, 11:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: North Star

So, 6,000 people have managed to form mining and manufacturing sectors that can produce guns and rifles, bullets, gunpowder, steel, chalk and blackboards, glass, etc. 6,000 people? Presumably from knowledge carried over from a few hundred kidnapped regular folks back on Earth 300 years ago?

These writers are dumb (freakin’ liberal arts majors) and this show is an insult to the intelligence of its viewers. At least make it somewhat plausible.

And their horses? Where did the earth horses come from? Skagarans stole humans and horses?

This season was looking so good, too.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Sat, Jan 6, 2018, 6:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Bounty

I just skipped the embarrassing T’Pol/Phlox scenes. Made it a very watchable episode. We get it. T’pol is hot, and some Trek fans are awkward teenage boys who’ve never had sex before. You need to give them something. But this was horrible and very gratuitous. I feel really badly for the actress who plays T’Pol.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Sun, Dec 31, 2017, 6:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

Trip is Enterprise’s horndog, and the whole episode can be understood as him trying to get with the 3rd gender ladyboy/David Bowie, but wanting to make sure it was grown-up enough to have sex with. Like a pedo grooming his target. Very creepy.

Archer’s rant to Trip was rich. He should record it and have it played back to himself after the end of each episode.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Thu, Dec 28, 2017, 8:22am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

Who knew the universal translator could do annoying accents.

In other episodes, the UT just gives regular accents to people. In this episode, somehow the UT picks up on how annoying the character is and gives her a super annoying accents.

I can only imagine the UT was giving Trip the same annoying accent for the alien woman to enjoy, because Trip was grating on my nerves too.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Mon, Dec 25, 2017, 12:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

I stopped watching as soon as Archer started getting all pissy about the aliens being offended by his dog pissing on their trees. Who brings a dog down on an away mission to aliens who were offended by public eating? And who gets all angry like this when the fault is clearly his.

Also, why is this dog not aging? He’s still a puppy after 1 year in space?

Also 2, sick of the objectification of T’Pol the actor and constant humiliation of T’Pol the character. No idea why she stays on a ship where everyone is always rude to her for being 100% right 100% of the time.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Sun, Dec 24, 2017, 3:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Communicator

Ugh. OK. Let’s assume the universal translator was perfect. Is there a universal mouth hologram device that makes their mouths and lips move in time with the words? So fucking stupid, it’s painful every time these idiots go on secret missions. “Oh, their mouths are moving out of sync with the words. Weird.”

Or, are we to believe they all learn these alien languages before going on their away missions? In which case, Hoshi’s talents aren’t really that special after all.

Dumb. Dumb. Dumb. Dumb. Dumb.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Fri, Dec 22, 2017, 5:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

Good thing a black Vulcan wasn’t part of the crew that crash-landed in whitesville in the 1950s.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Fri, Dec 22, 2017, 6:48am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Shockwave, Part II

Another huge loose end in the episode: The last time we saw Hoshi before the Suliban left, she was guarding 2 unconscious Suliban. Did they happen to wake up just before all their friends left, or did Hoshi wake them up and tell them to get the F out. Why would they just leave peacefully? Silly episode.
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Mon, Dec 18, 2017, 5:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Desert Crossing

Is it just me, or does Zobral sound like some weird combo of Grover, Cookie Monster, and Triumph the Insult Comic Dog?
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Thu, Dec 7, 2017, 5:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Detained

Stupid and self-righteous Archer makes up his mind about a complex situation in 2 seconds and decides to endanger the lives of all Suliban in all detention camps with a stupid escape attempt, while basically declaring war on a species they just met, instead of answering some simple questions to help the Tandarans fight their common enemies in the temporal cold war.

Also, when T’Pol and her fake-ass lips are in charge of the bridge and talking to the planet, why does everyone think they can shout from their chairs at the screen?
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Mon, May 29, 2017, 5:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Changing Face of Evil

Wtf are Bashir (a doctor) and Ezri (a counselor) doing on the bridge of a ship that's been sent to battle? Doc, get to the infirmary and wait for the casualties from the exploding panels that could be avoided with a few fuses and the falls that could be avoided with seatbelts. Counselor, stay at DS9 and deal with PTSD and Worf's feelings (can we please have 7 more episodes of Worf dealings with his feelings while being a complete jerk to everyone and acting like a possessive, emotionally controlling ex?)
Set Bookmark
Gooz
Sun, May 28, 2017, 1:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

4 stars just for the scene where Laas kills the Klingon. Finally! Someone stands up to these xenophobic Klingon bullies. They pick drunken fights at the drop of a hat and then act all surprised when someone finally stands up to them.

And Worf, with his precious Miss Kronos Sash, acting all offended and taking the side of the Klingons. I can imagine him clutching his pearls: "Oh, My! How dare someone stands up to my species' bullying. How very dare they!"

There are no security cameras on the promenade or in the hold?

Plus, probably the first male gay scene in Star Trek or TV! Kudos.

The episode did start out iffy, though. Miles mentions Keiko in the first few minutes, and I was bracing myself for 45 minutes of putting up with her crap acting.
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.