Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 75 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Glom
Fri, Sep 10, 2021, 9:36am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S3: The Cloud Minders

Star Trek tackles class struggle in 1969. But the leftists have only hijacked Star Trek in the last few weeks. Of course.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Wed, Sep 1, 2021, 5:40pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S3: The Paradise Syndrome

What was that obelisk really? It's a real place, right? I don't believe season 3 TOS could afford to build that thing.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Thu, Aug 19, 2021, 11:52am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S2: Metamorphosis

@Jack from many years ago.

I think the idea of Cochrane inventing warp drive for Earth only is a retcon First Contact made. I think the idea at the time of this episode is that he brought it to everyone. But of course, the world building in Star Trek, even at its best, has been a little hokey.

The bigger problem is how The Man needed to be Zefram Cochrane in the first place. It has no real bearing on the story.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Wed, Aug 4, 2021, 6:19am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S1: The Enemy Within

In addition to the rape stuff already mentioned, there's another aspect that dates this episode: the hand wringing over Kirk relinquishing command. It would be better for everyone for Kirk to do just that until his predicament is resolved. But macho attitudes make this something terrible. It ends up being Kirk putting pride above the wellbeing of the ship.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Sun, Jul 25, 2021, 8:27am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

"Ribo-sciatic flux"

Is this term peak Braga?
Set Bookmark
Glom
Fri, Jul 23, 2021, 11:43am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Force of Nature

Geordi's self-reflection scene was poignant. An unwelcome prompt the remember my own climate denial many years ago. When you feel the truth threatens you personally, it's easier to listen to those who tell you more convenient untruths.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Fri, Jul 23, 2021, 8:07am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Descent, Part II

A keddion pulse? A keddion pulse.

This here is why I think TNG has started to date even outside of the irredeemably 80s first season. In the later season, technobabble really started to creep in big time. Nonsense mumbo jumbo lines were delivered completely straight and now watching it, I just can't take it seriously.

Keddion whatsit is a particularly bad example. There are no established rules about what keddion is or why it would reboot Data's ethical programme. Data has turned evil and the resolution to this conflict is not for Data to make any sort of choice, but for him to be fixed with a keddion pulse, a thing which is completely random and has no meaning beyond it doing what the script requires to get the episode to its end.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Tue, Jul 20, 2021, 7:34am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Interface

This episode reveals something shocking. We now know that for six years, one of the main cast had both their parents alive and kicking. How unnatural.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Sat, Jul 17, 2021, 8:55am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: Rightful Heir

Did Worf talk the truth about what happened in Birthright part 2? At the end of that episode, he lied to protect the secret of the dishonoured. Now he's gone and spread the word anyway.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Thu, Jul 15, 2021, 11:46am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S6: Aquiel

Whole watching this episode, I figured out what Geordi's cologne brand should be.

Geordi Vivre
Set Bookmark
Glom
Fri, Jul 2, 2021, 12:15pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S5: New Ground

We need a story about the acrimonious divorce the teacher is going through. That way we can understand why she sounded so miserable at every moment of her screen time?
Set Bookmark
Glom
Wed, Jun 30, 2021, 2:16pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

While it's easy to focus on Troi being bad at her job, we should spare a moment to consider Crusher telling Geordi not to exhale during explosive decompression.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Sat, Jun 26, 2021, 3:40pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: In Theory

We need to focus on what is clearly the most important issue here.

Why does Jenna have quarter's with windows? She's a lieutenant junior grade. Data is two ranks above her a doesn't have a window and he's the second officer. Geordi and Worf also don't have windows.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Tue, Jun 22, 2021, 5:31pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

A crime is not defined by how much the victim is put out by it. If you punch someone in the face, it's still battery whether that person shrugs it off or they have nightmares about it for some time to come. What Lilith did was totally a #metoo level crime. That she wasn't responsible for his situation doesn't change the fact that she exploited it. It's fortunate that Riker is a man of easy virtue. But a key point of #metoo is that it is wrong to expect people to be similarly relaxed about having to use their bodies in such a way.

Of course, if you start listing the number of times characters of any gender get violated in Star Trek, you'll be here all day.

Aside from that, this episode did not hold up on rewatching. Picard's entrance made me vomit with the sheer imperialist arrogance. Introduction into their society? Where does he the Federation get off deciding that such an intrusive "introduction" is appropriate? What's so wrong with meeting in deep space and going from there? Yes, the Federation will respect a request to bugger off, but they should be putting that burden on the Malcorians in the first place, especially with the power dynamic at work.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Sun, Jun 13, 2021, 8:19pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S3: Hollow Pursuits

The Bark.

This episode has a proper Wesley moment, but by this point, the writers are aware and doing it deliberately.

It's not just that Wesley was first season insufferable, he was downright rude.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Sat, Jun 5, 2021, 2:13pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

Never mind offensive Irish stereotypes, dodgy abortion/rape metaphors or women as baby factory messages, let's talk about the real problem.

Why did Pulaski have to lie about Worf's issue? It's implied it's do She doesn't have to tell Picard the embarassing truth. But she didn't need to say anything other than the issue has been resolved. As long as it is no threat to the ship, it's none of Picard's business what was wrong with Worf. This is a pattern I've noticed on the show where medical propriety has gone out the window.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Mon, Nov 9, 2020, 1:03pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S4: Body Parts

I was never keen on the idea of Kira being invited to move in with the O'Briens. Kira's life is already upended enough after what has happened, does she really need to be socially pressured into leaving her own home to move in to someone else's. Way to put out the message that as a baby carrier, her own life is only meaningful as long as it doesn't get in the way of her primary function as a female.

I know that O'Brien is good at tending to a pregnant woman. Maybe they could have setup that Kira might appreciate that to such a degree that cohabiting to get his care full time is appealing. But that needs to be setup first in order to make it clear what Kira is getting out of this.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Tue, Nov 3, 2020, 1:59pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S1: When the Bough Breaks

So what you want about this, but Picard's speech of outrage after the kidnapping was delightful.

"You have committed an act of utter barbarity!"

Also it's funny how much of a throwback the first season felt. The custodian voice reminded of a Doohan voice from TOS like Sargon or the computer on Yonada. I also detected a hint of TOS music.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Fri, Oct 23, 2020, 8:45am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

@ Tommy D.

Yes, I think it's okay to keep the games warts and all for a classic collection. Some will say, "What's in it for me? I already have them all." But that feels a bit Cartman, always expecting a present whenever someone gets one at their party. There are people out of there voting right now who weren't born when Sunshine came out. It allows them to see the games, warts and all, as well as those who don't horde their old consoles.

That said, while some been super OTT about it (ahem KingK but what's new with him), it still was a pretty minimal effort. The lack of special collector stuff in the package rather undermines the argument that this is specifically an anniversary event and hence why its release is limited time only (though that too people have been super hyperbolic about).
Set Bookmark
Glom
Fri, Oct 23, 2020, 2:14am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

@Tommy D.

I'm not one of those whose really salty about it. Let's be honest, a full grounds up remake of 64 would be its own release, not part of a collection. And at this point, I think Nintendo would consider the low poly look to be too iconic to change. Comparisons to Super Mario All-Stars miss out that it was released before the 8 bit look became something iconic. If that game was never made, I doubt that any graphical overhauls of the NES games would exist, especially for the first. It would be considered blasphemous or cultural vandalism.

That being said, the only partial upscaling of 64, leaving some really noticeable bad textures in such as the wall mounted signs, the lack of options for the camera axis, the fact that it only arbitrarily picks some guys for the All-Stars collection, that all makes it feel very much do minimum.

Though the Galaxy port is great. I LOVE the gyro cursor. Much prefer it to the pointer because I can rest my hand how I want and it is has just the right sensitivity. Also, mapping the spin attack to the Y button is awesome too.
Set Bookmark
Glomgee
Wed, Oct 21, 2020, 2:51pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

@Mertov A much-needed reply to Trent. It’s like “debating” Donald Trump. With or without the ability to cut off the mic. Some people listen only with their mouth, never their ears. Do Trent and Booming think that if they do not deliver their daily two-minute (that’s a charitable number)hates against “Kurtzman” and “nu-Trek” that we would forget what their beliefs are, and how superior those beliefs are? To paraphrase what one current Presidential candidate said of a former one, “These guys only use four words in a sentence: a noun, a verb, and Alex Kurtzman.” When they read this, they say, “But you’re not talking about Star Trek.” It is as if they are projecting their penchant for changing the subject on to others. Are they seeking to win converts to their belief that Trek 2020 is drivel? Way to persuade there, sounding like Rod Steiger in Mars Attacks!
Set Bookmark
Glom
Wed, Oct 21, 2020, 11:29am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

@Mertov

I should have been clearer that I wasn't trying to give a definitive interpretation of the machinations behind events, merely a possible interpretation. The continuation of Discovery clearly shows the show isn't a failure like the right wing snowflakes want to make out that it is. But how much of a success it is the question. Many people are subbing to check out each season, but how many of them are liking it and maintaining their subs so they can enjoy repeat viewings is unclear.

So when I said it's not really landing, what I meant was that it is unclear whether a sizeable audience is finding it to be the next Expanse or Game of Thrones or Breaking Bad or they're just checking it out because of the name and finding it unimpressive. So I was supposing that the suits might conclude that even though they weren't delivering the next big thing, they were getting enough attention for it to be worth continuing and hoping that maybe something will strike it big eventually.

Or it's possible that it has already struck it big with the silent majority. We don't have definitive data on that. I don't hang around in right wing snowflake circles but I don't know anyone who really cares much about recent Star Trek. Some friends have checked it out but it's things like The Expanse they want to talk about or they've been watching old TNG or DS9.

What I didn't say was that it its success was down to haters alone. I merely said they seem to make up a notable proportion of the viewership. Your interpretation of my argument there was a straw man.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Wed, Oct 21, 2020, 7:46am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

I think the continuation of Discovery demonstrates one thing: the show isn't a commercial disaster. It is likely whenever a new season of Discovery releases, there is a spike in subs as people check it out. A significant part of that will be those watching it so they can talk about how terrible it is. Many of those subs are lost once it finishes because the show doesn't have a lot of legs.

So the suits see this and conclude that more new Trek is the key to getting subs and if there is a steady stream of new Trek, subs will be maintained. Keep churning out more Trek. Nothing is really landing so far, but it is at least people are watching new stuff and eventually something might land.

In a way it is the opposite situation to Super Mario 3D All-Stars. That is a minimum effort product but it has three of the greatest games ever so it will sell like mad as it has done. With Star Trek right now, it isn't doing that well so CBS need to keep putting in effort. And if they cancelled it, what then? Walk quietly into that good night? Their current strategy may not have reached the promised land, but it is at least keeping them afloat (and they have haters to thank for that as much as actual fans).
Set Bookmark
Glom
Wed, Oct 21, 2020, 4:24am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

@Mertov

There's a point to what you say in general. Creativity by focus group is a terrible thing. Council of Geeks said that if creators ask fans what they want for the next installment, they'll just reply by saying they want more of the same. Creators need to be unafraid to do their own thing because when they succeed, the fans will act like that's what they wanted all along. When Creators don't feel bound by the legacy, you get the Zelda series, which is a string of games that are all great to varying degrees but each have their own voice and are the better for it.

However, I'm not sure that's what's happening with Star Trek. Here, it feels like it is very much creativity by focus group, although maybe more creativity by market analysis. It feels like they're taking tropes that are in vogue right now and trying to form a frankenstein's monster out of it. You've got the comic book plots of the Marvel movies mixed with the "adult" stuff of Game of Thrones mixed with the seizure inducing action of Transformers mixed with the pandering nostalgia bait of Star Wars. This makes sense from a business point of view, where the goal is to draw in membership to CBS All Access or whatever it is now. But you can see why many might roll their eyes at this approach.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Tue, Oct 20, 2020, 5:27pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

@Yanks

Yes, thinking about maybe that's a bit harsh on Burnham.

It looks like the restoration of the Federation is what they're setting up, and Burnham seems happy to go along with it, so I ascribed to her an agency that probably isn't deserved. A generous interpretation could be that she wants to get in contact with her ship and she's just humouring this kook.

"Okay, Mr Takamura or whatever your name is, I'll play along. Just keep a look out for my ship."
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.