Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 57 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Glom
Fri, Oct 23, 2020, 8:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

@ Tommy D.

Yes, I think it's okay to keep the games warts and all for a classic collection. Some will say, "What's in it for me? I already have them all." But that feels a bit Cartman, always expecting a present whenever someone gets one at their party. There are people out of there voting right now who weren't born when Sunshine came out. It allows them to see the games, warts and all, as well as those who don't horde their old consoles.

That said, while some been super OTT about it (ahem KingK but what's new with him), it still was a pretty minimal effort. The lack of special collector stuff in the package rather undermines the argument that this is specifically an anniversary event and hence why its release is limited time only (though that too people have been super hyperbolic about).
Set Bookmark
Glom
Fri, Oct 23, 2020, 2:14am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

@Tommy D.

I'm not one of those whose really salty about it. Let's be honest, a full grounds up remake of 64 would be its own release, not part of a collection. And at this point, I think Nintendo would consider the low poly look to be too iconic to change. Comparisons to Super Mario All-Stars miss out that it was released before the 8 bit look became something iconic. If that game was never made, I doubt that any graphical overhauls of the NES games would exist, especially for the first. It would be considered blasphemous or cultural vandalism.

That being said, the only partial upscaling of 64, leaving some really noticeable bad textures in such as the wall mounted signs, the lack of options for the camera axis, the fact that it only arbitrarily picks some guys for the All-Stars collection, that all makes it feel very much do minimum.

Though the Galaxy port is great. I LOVE the gyro cursor. Much prefer it to the pointer because I can rest my hand how I want and it is has just the right sensitivity. Also, mapping the spin attack to the Y button is awesome too.
Set Bookmark
Glomgee
Wed, Oct 21, 2020, 2:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

@Mertov A much-needed reply to Trent. It’s like “debating” Donald Trump. With or without the ability to cut off the mic. Some people listen only with their mouth, never their ears. Do Trent and Booming think that if they do not deliver their daily two-minute (that’s a charitable number)hates against “Kurtzman” and “nu-Trek” that we would forget what their beliefs are, and how superior those beliefs are? To paraphrase what one current Presidential candidate said of a former one, “These guys only use four words in a sentence: a noun, a verb, and Alex Kurtzman.” When they read this, they say, “But you’re not talking about Star Trek.” It is as if they are projecting their penchant for changing the subject on to others. Are they seeking to win converts to their belief that Trek 2020 is drivel? Way to persuade there, sounding like Rod Steiger in Mars Attacks!
Set Bookmark
Glom
Wed, Oct 21, 2020, 11:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

@Mertov

I should have been clearer that I wasn't trying to give a definitive interpretation of the machinations behind events, merely a possible interpretation. The continuation of Discovery clearly shows the show isn't a failure like the right wing snowflakes want to make out that it is. But how much of a success it is the question. Many people are subbing to check out each season, but how many of them are liking it and maintaining their subs so they can enjoy repeat viewings is unclear.

So when I said it's not really landing, what I meant was that it is unclear whether a sizeable audience is finding it to be the next Expanse or Game of Thrones or Breaking Bad or they're just checking it out because of the name and finding it unimpressive. So I was supposing that the suits might conclude that even though they weren't delivering the next big thing, they were getting enough attention for it to be worth continuing and hoping that maybe something will strike it big eventually.

Or it's possible that it has already struck it big with the silent majority. We don't have definitive data on that. I don't hang around in right wing snowflake circles but I don't know anyone who really cares much about recent Star Trek. Some friends have checked it out but it's things like The Expanse they want to talk about or they've been watching old TNG or DS9.

What I didn't say was that it its success was down to haters alone. I merely said they seem to make up a notable proportion of the viewership. Your interpretation of my argument there was a straw man.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Wed, Oct 21, 2020, 7:46am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

I think the continuation of Discovery demonstrates one thing: the show isn't a commercial disaster. It is likely whenever a new season of Discovery releases, there is a spike in subs as people check it out. A significant part of that will be those watching it so they can talk about how terrible it is. Many of those subs are lost once it finishes because the show doesn't have a lot of legs.

So the suits see this and conclude that more new Trek is the key to getting subs and if there is a steady stream of new Trek, subs will be maintained. Keep churning out more Trek. Nothing is really landing so far, but it is at least people are watching new stuff and eventually something might land.

In a way it is the opposite situation to Super Mario 3D All-Stars. That is a minimum effort product but it has three of the greatest games ever so it will sell like mad as it has done. With Star Trek right now, it isn't doing that well so CBS need to keep putting in effort. And if they cancelled it, what then? Walk quietly into that good night? Their current strategy may not have reached the promised land, but it is at least keeping them afloat (and they have haters to thank for that as much as actual fans).
Set Bookmark
Glom
Wed, Oct 21, 2020, 4:24am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

@Mertov

There's a point to what you say in general. Creativity by focus group is a terrible thing. Council of Geeks said that if creators ask fans what they want for the next installment, they'll just reply by saying they want more of the same. Creators need to be unafraid to do their own thing because when they succeed, the fans will act like that's what they wanted all along. When Creators don't feel bound by the legacy, you get the Zelda series, which is a string of games that are all great to varying degrees but each have their own voice and are the better for it.

However, I'm not sure that's what's happening with Star Trek. Here, it feels like it is very much creativity by focus group, although maybe more creativity by market analysis. It feels like they're taking tropes that are in vogue right now and trying to form a frankenstein's monster out of it. You've got the comic book plots of the Marvel movies mixed with the "adult" stuff of Game of Thrones mixed with the seizure inducing action of Transformers mixed with the pandering nostalgia bait of Star Wars. This makes sense from a business point of view, where the goal is to draw in membership to CBS All Access or whatever it is now. But you can see why many might roll their eyes at this approach.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Tue, Oct 20, 2020, 5:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

@Yanks

Yes, thinking about maybe that's a bit harsh on Burnham.

It looks like the restoration of the Federation is what they're setting up, and Burnham seems happy to go along with it, so I ascribed to her an agency that probably isn't deserved. A generous interpretation could be that she wants to get in contact with her ship and she's just humouring this kook.

"Okay, Mr Takamura or whatever your name is, I'll play along. Just keep a look out for my ship."
Set Bookmark
Glom
Sun, Oct 18, 2020, 1:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

Whether Netflix timing of recommendations continues to get me to watch remains to be seen (I won't be seeking it out but I might say WTH if when opening up Netflix it is the banner recommendation), but if I don't there is a potential story direction that will get me to return.

Burnham's first instinct upon arriving in a new world is to try to reshape it to her liking. What would be interesting is if the story evolves such that Burnham learns that trying to restore the past is not the answer. Think The Wind Waker. Building a new future is the way, not trying to recapture a bygone age. After all, isn't atavistic chauvinism at the heart of Trumpism? Isn't Burnham being just like the right wing populists in the way that the King was being like Ganondorf?

If I hear that's where they went, they'll have my attention. We shall see.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Sat, Oct 17, 2020, 5:15am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

I think it's now crystallised for me the issue with how Discovery is handling the Federation as a utopian future. It's a case of telling rather than showing. Rather than depicting a world where the Federation is a utopian future, they just have Burnham give a speech about how the Federation is great. Almost as if to say, "See? We're not too dark. The future is optimistic. Burnham said so. Now shut up and watch this scene of a man having his eye gouged out."

And it's now starting to cross a line for me where Burnham is sounding less like a patriot and more like the member of a cult.

Really, the big flaw in the ending scene in the Epcot office was that it shouldn't have happened until several episodes in. They needed to first establish the galaxy has gone down the pan since the fall so that we can feel cathartic about raising a flag of hope. As it stands, rebuilding the Federation is the solution looking for an as yet unseen problem.

And I don't much care for the characterisation of Burnham as someone whose first instinct upon entering a new world, is to try to reshape it to something familiar to her. Feels rather arrogant, even a bit imperialist.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Fri, Oct 16, 2020, 4:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

Yes. We must viligent against our own instincts to descend in that lowest form of life: the Thousand Year Door fan.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Fri, Oct 16, 2020, 2:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

I think Ketwolski reported this a few weeks ago.

What's that sound? Oh it's the sound of the likes of Midnight's Edge gnashing their teeth down to the gum.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Fri, Oct 16, 2020, 1:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

Look, Netflix had it top banner when I logged in, I finished the latest season of Food Wars yesterday and I'm now in two minds about this show succeeding for meta reasons so I watched it.

Again with these writers, they can come up with good ideas but the scripts they churn out feel like the goop they got from throwing those ideas into a blender. The dialogue is both awkward but also distractingly contemporary sounding (Book is 1000 years our junior. He needs to sound a bit off, given that our viewpoint character is Burnham. Imagine what we'd sound like to Geoffrey Chaucer.)

The schmaltz at the end about the Federation didn't ring true anymore than seeing an Austrian today carrying the flag for the Hapsburgs. It would help if they'd established this new world first before showing us characters too young to have lived it being nostalgic for a bygone era. I think the Federation reveal was far too rushed.

On the plus side, it looked great and some of the futury design looked so retro and/or goofy that it totally worked. If environmentalism is theme of this season, then that's good because at least there will be a theme this time.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Mon, Aug 3, 2020, 3:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I feel dirty. I gave in to temptation and watched a few Midnight's Edge videos. *shudder*

They certainly paint a bleak picture. Amazon upset with the poor performance of Picard as Netflix were with Discovery. Discovery season 3 going through rushed reshoots to cap off the show, since it won't be getting a fourth season and now the sets have been dismantled. Unable to find distributors for their other projects, which is why Section 31 is stuck in development hell.

But upon their request, I'll take what they say with a heap on salt.

Anyone else heard anything different? Any random anonymous comment to the contrary would be at least as credible.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Fri, Jul 17, 2020, 11:00am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

@Jason R.

It is a problem that arises from the serialised format. When each episode is a self-contained story, each story, with its own theme, can take place. When you try to blend them into one big narrative, you get a mess like STP. Not to imply that I'm one of those "just do TNG again" people, but it is something to be aware of and the writers weren't.

Star Trek has indeed covered the themes you mention. Think 'Balance of Terror', 'Detained' or various subplots surrounding Odo or Seven of Nine, or also the best episode to have ever come out of the franchise 'Duet' for takes on the theme of living with the face of enemy. Or think 'The Drumhead', 'I, Borg' or hell even the finale of Discovery season 1 for takes on the theme of the ends not justifying the means.

STP may have been trying this but it lacks the coherence to tackle it properly. You can't have Picard pontificating on how bad it is that the Zhat Vash fear the synths, when the next episode it is revealed they are at least as bad as they feared. In the hands of better writers, and ones able and willing to not fall back on the destruction of the entire bloody galaxy yet again (even Jessie Gender called them out on that), maybe it could have worked. Also, ditch the stupid robo space octopus.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Fri, Jul 17, 2020, 2:25am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

@Tommy D.

Glad you enjoyed it. I haven't read the follow up books so I can't offer up an view on them. I just thought the first book offered up a creative spin on the experience of being an AI.

@Brandon Adams

If that is the case, then it's peverse to throw out more shows for simultaneous release than has existed in the entirety of the franchise's first 50 years.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Thu, Jul 16, 2020, 2:27am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

@Dirk

Ok, boomer.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Thu, Jun 11, 2020, 4:13am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Oh sure. I like to make a laundry list of flaws in Skyward Sword, but I still love it.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Wed, Jun 10, 2020, 8:30am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@OTDP

There was no sarcasm intended. I genuinely meant that Tommy should feel free to like what he likes and not feel compelled by the onslaught of negativity into meeting us with increasing criticism of the show.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Wed, Jun 10, 2020, 7:42am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Tommy D

Sounds like you're a bit brow beaten by us haterz. As much as I find it rather bizarre in this case, like what you like.

I don't really buy Data's death wish as an allusion to that conversation with Maddox. Data was responding to Maddox's reassurance that his memories would be retained even if he mucked up. There is an "essence" to Data that would not be preserved with the memories alone and that was what Data was trying to protect. I don't think Data meant that if his memories are all that was left then that's just garbage that should be shut down.

But here, OG Data is already dead so the issue of losing his original existence is a moot point. If this whatever it is that Picard was talking to has the agency to make such decisions, then he is enough of a person to have value in his own right, even if he isn't the true Data. And it's not even just memories in this case. It is outright stated that it is his consciousness. I recommend the book "We are Legion, We are Bob" to get a much better exploration of this metaphysical issue.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Thu, May 28, 2020, 3:36am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Booming

Nepenthe is okay. It at least is devoid of schlock elements.

But I found the attempt to characterise Soji as a teenager rather inconsistent. Her fake memories cast her as a qualified surgeon who was a key part of the team on the Borg Reclamation Project. She was an adult. She needed emotional support due to an existential crisis and being nearly murdered by her boyfriend, but characterising that as her being a teenager seemed forced and rather condescending. I get the dynamic they wanted to create between the two characters, but as with everything in this show, they don't care what sloppy mess they use to hit their goals.

Troi's description of the disease was rather funny. You culture the infected cells in a positronic matrix? So you cut out a piece of the patient's brain and put it in a technojar for a bit? That's weird. Also, is this implication that you have a living consciousness that has no body, no means of expression, trapped in a medical lab being used to culture organic tissue for eternity. That's kind of horrific.

And that makes the overall theme kind of weird. I'm sure they're going for the whole allegory of how the NHS depends on immigration and policies based on xenophobia will be a disaster for our health, but this particular allegory makes the relationship come of a rather exploitative. It's fine if you want to do something about exploitation, but this relationship is portrayed as a positive in this show. Oh look, another accidental far right message.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Tue, May 26, 2020, 8:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@James White

I agree with just letting Star Trek go. I still have the entirety of TOS and the decent movies on bluray. The other series are on Netflix. Prior to the reboot, I felt there was more than enough material that I didn't need more Trek for the sake of more Trek. Some say we should be happy that at least there's finally new Trek on TV, but I disagree. There was already enough for me to not just accept any old slop.

I intend to not bother with this from now on. Discovery s1 of course I gave a chance because it was the first Trek in over a decade. In fact, I gave it a lot of benefit of the doubt. Discovery s2 I gave a chance because at least give the show a season to find its footing. Picard s1 of course I checked out because it was the return of iconic stuff. But that's enough giving it a chance for me. Sure the failure of Picard was fascinating, but one gripping train wreck is enough. And Discovery was a dull failure so total snoozage at watching s3.

The best thing I can do is send a message, however small, by not adding to the click stats. The problem is that a cottage industry has arisen where every person and their dog make their livings out of hate watching things and ranting about it on YouTube. So I fear CBS won't suffer all that much. They'll still have their subs. They'll mostly be Youtubers watching it so they can post videos about how awful it is. And so CBS will think they have a successful model on their hands and Alex Kurtzmann will look vindicated. Kurtzmann? More like Kurtzgehirn.

@Booming

Mere triffles. Gender is the easy bit. I particularly like the gender balance of flatware, die Gabel, das Messer, der Löffel.

But have you seen Dutch word order?

German is probably the easiest language I've tried. At least your spelling is way more consistent than the dog's dinner that is English.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Tue, May 26, 2020, 5:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Dark is German? Would it be good for someone trying to learn German?
Set Bookmark
Glom
Mon, May 25, 2020, 4:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I agree this site generally has a higher standard of discussion than most. In particular, it is refreshing to not have the usual manbaby types complaining about how there are SJW's under their beds.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Wed, May 20, 2020, 4:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Booming.

Plinkett isn't their best output. Best of the Worst is my favourite though the episodes lately have started to get a bit too long and have a bit too much Macaulay Culkin. While the Plinkett reviews got RLM noticed and they, particularly the SW prequels (although the Nadine stuff was a bit niche taste to be sure), contain lots of good stuff, they paved the way for better stuff. I would prefer they did more commentary tracks. They still haven't done a Star Trek movie.

@othdp

It was kind of weird the way Jammer gave this episode a pass. He flat out stated that the synth stuff and the other C plots was also essentially just filler and "dumb as rocks" to boot, and yet three minutes of somewhat affecting scenes is enough to pretend the show runners hadn't been wasting 90% of the time they asked us to put into this. To paraphase Kira, those three minutes "must have been some kiss."

Speaking of wasting time, we have probably spent more time discussing and thinking about this show than actually watching it. But then, it is a train wreck of such massive proportions, it is fascinating. From the unintentional far right messages, to the incoherent plotting, to the baffling stylistic choices, to the sheer chutzpah of using so many hackneyed tropes (blue laser into the sky?). Unlike Discovery that fails in a dull way, this fails in a spectacular way. It's like The Room of Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
Glom
Tue, May 19, 2020, 9:06am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Not Plinkett's best work. A bit meandering. But then, to reference the late great Confused Matthew, maybe he refused to be more coherent than the show.

His bullet points should have been.
1. Star Trek makes America great again. A piece about how the show botched it messages so badly, it ended up taking Trump's side.
2. Star Trek: Picard? Section about how the main story is not a story about Picard, he is merely a participant and even then sometimes very much a supporting character. This is also a good time to address the structural problem with the storytelling that by showing us plot from all angles, it detaches us from things. We're observing the story likes gods on Mt Olympus, rather than experiencing it if the narrative was framed through a viewpoint character.
3. Everything is nothing. Addressing how they just throw all sorts of nonsense at the screen leading to padding and plotlines that go nowhere. Borg, Romulan refugee situation, Elnor, Raffi's problems, Rios's contrived backstory, all pointless.
4. Feel, don't think. This is where he lists the supermassive plot holes but frames them in terms of their purpose, which is moments of pathos at the expense of coherence. Why is Soji is a sleeper? Doesn't matter. Her journey of self-discovery is so emotional. Also, point out how the Data and Picard deaths are very much in this mold.
5. Chateau Picard, made from the finest memberberries. Address the shallowness of the fan service. The manipulative nonsense of the Data stuff, Riker's cavalry cameo.
6. A vision of the future. Here is where he can get into the darker take on the Trek setting. Also, discuss the missed opportunity of having the story be about the Federatiom finding its way again, rather than just bringing up that the Federation sucks now and just forgetting about it halfway through the season.

I think that would cover it.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.