Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 9 (Showing 1-9)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Glenn Quagmire
Sat, Feb 8, 2020, 10:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Bread and Circuses

I totally would have had sex with Drusilla. At least twice in fact. Giggity. Problem is after the abolishment of slavery on the planet, Drusilla would go totally #metoo on Falvius saying she was forced to have sex with him, his friends, and even strangers. I totally would have gotten thrown under the #metoo bus (or chariot).
Set Bookmark
Glenn
Thu, Nov 22, 2018, 12:33am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Preemptive Strike

Others may have made the same observation (TL;DR), but I wasn't convinced of Picard's inaction at the defection of Ro. Starfleet invested a lot of time and money in her special tactical training and to just let her walk into the arms of the Marquis without so much as a threat of arrest and court-martial doesn't seem plausible.
Set Bookmark
Glenn H
Thu, Jan 18, 2018, 12:02am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: By Any Other Name

In response to Jim: the Kelvans were sent as a multi-generational scouting expedition, with the intention of discovering a suitable galaxy to relocate to due to the impending demise of their own Andromeda galaxy. Therefore, once they had assessed our galaxy, they were to return with their report which would instigate the relocation of their people and our subjugation/destruction.

In general, I enjoyed the episode. The fast opening was somewhat jarring but also refreshing, with the premise of the episode snappily established. The characterization of the Kelvans was minimal, yet it worked in terms of presenting these "perfect" human forms as totally alien.

There are of course logical inconsistencies within the episode. The Kelvans state that they need a starship to pierce the galactic barrier because communication signals will not penetrate it. Why not then immediately signal once through the barrier? We'd already seen the Enterprise attempt to travel through the barrier once before. Why was this time so different? Because aliens? Aliens who had destroyed their own ship going through the barrier? It seemed as if the writers had forgotten their own rules for the sake of expediency.

A huge downside of the episode was the utter predictability of it. As soon as I saw Kelinda appear, it was completely obvious that Kirk would attempt to seduce her in some kind of scheme to confuse her with human "love." Many users have commented on the similarity of the plot line to other episodes, and for me, "By Any Other Name" suffers because of it. It's like listening to a band coming out with slightly improved versions of the same album over and over. Sure, objectively the newest version is better than the others, but it's not as entertaining as it should be when you can see every beat coming.

The excellent first act and decent enough if rushed ending are sufficient to carry the tedious interim. Overall 2.5/4 stars
Set Bookmark
Glenn
Sun, Jul 28, 2013, 12:52am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Starship Mine

Never having seen Die Hard, I didn't even have that storyline to bolster my impression of this episode. Way too many plot conveniences and improbabilities make for a (mostly complete) waste of time. Bummer.
Set Bookmark
Glenn
Fri, Dec 7, 2012, 12:24am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: True Q

I'd give this one 2.5 stars. Q episodes are tricky because we really have to suspend our disbelief that they aren't also omniscient in addition to being omnipotent. I mean, couldn't an omnipotent being command itself to become omniscient? And the idea that the Q haven't already become omniscient bothers me. It allows for TNG stories involving them to proceed, of course, but it also distracts me from the episode.
Set Bookmark
Glenn
Fri, Oct 26, 2012, 12:49am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

@Racker and @Jay -- The seeming incongruity of the society's level of technology and the sophistication of the memory probe scratched at me the whole time, too.
Set Bookmark
Glenn
Tue, Sep 11, 2012, 1:19am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

Agreed with the above about the lack of simple tie-downs for barrels stacked 15 feet in the air. An explosion that causes the barrels to fall is plausible, but simple unsecured barrels are yet another reason Picard should never be let near a starship after all he's let happen to his crew.
Set Bookmark
Glenn
Thu, Jul 12, 2012, 1:36am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

The main problem I have with this episode is the same one I have with any episode where members of the flagship crew of the Federation get duped or otherwise compromised into doing something rouge or dangerous or treasonous: no one is punished or at least demoted or placed under suspicion or has their fitness for duty questioned. At all. Here, Picard and Co. are about to give away the Enterprise after falling for a simple "game" and what do you bet there was any sort of disciplinary investigation about such a colossal failure of judgement? Not much? Me neither.
Set Bookmark
Glenn
Mon, Jun 18, 2012, 12:52am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

The bit about the Borg was nice -- I'd been wondering if such suspicions would ever be raised, especially since the episode immediately following the Borg episodes contained no such worries about Picard's "reliability". In our society, there's no way Picard could be trusted again.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.