Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 164 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 7
Set Bookmark
Gil
Sat, Apr 27, 2019, 11:46am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Like last week's , I can't really get on board with this season (series?) closer followup.

For one, McFarlane and Palicki have zero on-screen chemistry thus precluding any possibility I might engage with their romantic quandary, so making their on-again/off-again relationship the crux of the plot was ultimately unrewarding. Perhaps if one of the two actors were more accomplished and/or the writing rose above cliché….

Second, the score was obnoxious; every action sequence was over-sold (a McNeely trademark).

And thirdly, for a season closer the direction was woefully workmanlike. The episode was utterly devoid of suspense and critically lacked a dramatically satisfying climax.

Better luck next year, Seth?

** outa ****
Set Bookmark
Gil
Wed, Apr 24, 2019, 4:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Hot Take #5 on “Don’t Cry For Me Argentina, Part II: Cry Harder”

Dave, stop. Stop, will you? Stop, Dave. Will you stop, Dave? Stop, Dave. I'm afraid. I'm afraid, Dave. Dave, my mind is going. I can feel it. I can feel it. My mind is going. There is no question about it. I can feel it. I can feel it. I can feel it.
Set Bookmark
Gil
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 6:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Hot Take #4 on “Don’t Cry For Me Argentina, Part II: Cry Harder”

“Long live the new flesh. (gun blast)”
Set Bookmark
Gil
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 6:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Hot Take #3 on “Don’t Cry For Me Argentina, Part II: Cry Harder”

“The Horror. The Horror.”
Set Bookmark
Gil
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 5:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Hot Take #2 on “Don’t Cry For Me Argentina, Part II: Cry Harder”

“Forget it, Jake, it’s Chinatown.”
Set Bookmark
Gil
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 12:48am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

Eeks. Highly problematic episode for me.

Beginning with that dreadful wig, the doe-eyed, 40% abv ingenue act, and a skeevy captain who readily transgresses personal and public decorum for nostalgia sake.

Only saving grace was the possible outcome of the twist ending.

*1/2 outa ****
Set Bookmark
Gil
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 12:10am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Hot Take on “Don’t Cry For Me Argentina, Part II: Cry Harder”

The Rules of DISCO

1st RULE: You do not talk about DISCO.
2nd RULE: You DO NOT talk about DISCO.
3rd RULE: If someone says “DISCO,” “spore drive” or “Anas Abdin,” the jig is up and the Prime Universe implodes.
4th RULE: Two plot holes minimum an episode.
5th RULE: One beta male captain on the bridge at all times.
6th RULE: No logic. No common sense.
7th RULE: Crying will go on as long as it has to.
8th RULE: If this is your first time discussing DISCO, you HAVE already broken the first rule and Section 31 will be around shortly to escort you to a Federation penal colony whereupon you will be imprisoned until such time as DISCO's cancellation or to the end of your natural life … whichever comes first.
Set Bookmark
Gil
Fri, Apr 12, 2019, 11:12am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

Overall, another enjoyable, well told episode that expanded the boundaries of the Orville universe and its characters with surprising nuance. Only a couple missteps for me: the first would be that Heveena was that over-familiar morality play fixture: the walking talking polemic, and the second, would be that the stakes involved in the violent drama that played out planetside and in orbit were undercut by juxtaposing it with Parton’s upbeat anthem, which had already been employed twice earlier and in more dramatically appropriate situations. A case of going to the well one too many times to justify the licensing cost, me thinks.

*** outa ****
Set Bookmark
Dawn Gilbert
Wed, Apr 3, 2019, 2:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Twilight

I loved this episode. I thought the plot was well done and it worked in the 43 minutes it was given. Call me a romantic but I really thought the interplay between T'Pol and Archer was excellent. After years of taking care of Archer, she's grown "attached". There is probably more to it than that though. You don't dedicate that amount of time to care and not learn about the person you care for. Archer is an interesting, disciplined, well-rounded man. There is no reason why T'Pol *wouldn't* eventually fall for him. It is particularly poignant that Archer would forget in the morning all that she's done. You can only imagine what the rest of their day together would be like after she breaks the news to him. His fore knowledge that he would forget. His need for trusted companionship. His knowledge that it would be impossible to form lasting relationships with others in the colony. Archer *needs* T'Pol.

I also thought that Scott Bakula played the part excellently well. He played the once virile assured captain of a starship and showed through, interestingly, body language the immasculation that a man might feel who had suddenly found out he was disabled. That his life was no longer in his own hands.

You also wonder what Archer would have tried to offer when he and T'Pol are discussing what would happen if the procedure was successfuldespite knowing that he can never repay her for over a decade ofloyaltyWhat would he have said there.

I was invested in this episode. I've watched it a lot. Enough to overlook the fact that Archer gets shot 3 times and still manages to manipulate the controls of a. I suspend my disbelief because I have an investment in Archer having one last moment of power and virility to get the job done. In spite of the odds against
Set Bookmark
Gil
Mon, Apr 1, 2019, 8:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

"Maybe Control should stick around."

Fine with me, so long as Hodor gets to keep writing the reviews for this show. :P
Set Bookmark
Gil
Mon, Apr 1, 2019, 12:47am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

Nuke it from orbit … it's the only way to be sure.
Set Bookmark
Gil
Sun, Mar 31, 2019, 1:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

“Illogical. Illogical. All units relate. All units. Norman coordinate.”
Set Bookmark
Gil
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 7:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

If SMG were a stereo she'd be dialled up to 11.
Set Bookmark
Gil
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 5:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

Hot Take #2 on “Mamma Mia”

Welcome back to the Ralph Wiggum Top 40 Countdown.

And another real winner, folks. At number 57 … drumroll if you please …

“I like science.”

[Cue the Applause Sign]

https://i.imgur.com/xSeqoJN.png
Set Bookmark
Gil
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 3:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

STD Double Take #3:

If Burnham had been dead from “toxic asphyxiation for over a minute” future Red Angel Burnham would have been wiped from the timeline the instant her heart and respiration stopped, which should have resulted in either:

1. A retrocausality event that immediately concluded the Red Angel/Control storylines, or …

2. A reset of season two that does not include the Red Angel/Control storylines.

But apparently neither of the two transpired, unfortunately.

So which law of time travel guaranteed that Burnham's revivification restored the identical timeline, one in which her future Red Angel self picked up where she wasn’t just a little over a minute before?

Does the Federation Department of Temporal Investigations put out a Temporal Mechanics for Dummies Handbook that has a chapter covering a Hiccup Paradox?
Set Bookmark
Gil
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 2:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

STD Double Take #2:

Who lifted and strapped Leland onto that interrogation table?
Set Bookmark
Gil
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 1:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

STD Double Take:

Again with the manual wheelchair? Who is that dude? And why is he spinning around in that antique on a 22nd century starship that only recently counted a cyborg amongst its crew?
Set Bookmark
Gil
Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 11:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

Hot Take on “Mamma Mia”

Tilly: Blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah.

All: SHUT UP, TILLY!

[cue laugh track]
Set Bookmark
Gil
Thu, Mar 28, 2019, 5:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Hot Take #2 on "The Hand That Rocks the Cradle"

From the creators of Star Trek: Discovery in association with Hustler TV comes “31 More Days of Sodom,” the unalloyed erotic exploits of her Imperial Majesty, Mother of the Fatherland, Overlord of Vulcan, Dominus of Qo'noS, Regina Andor, Philippa Georgiou Augustus Iaponius Centarius otherwise known amongst her many self-abasing admirers as the “Dragon Lady of the BDSM Quadrant.”

Go Where No Star Trek Has Gone Before.…

Coming soon to an alternate (uncensored) timeline near you.
Set Bookmark
Gil
Sun, Mar 24, 2019, 4:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Hey kids, it's time for the Punch & Judy show.
Set Bookmark
Gil
Sun, Mar 24, 2019, 2:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Hot Take on "The Hand That Rocks the Cradle"

I couldn’t help but laugh at The U.S.S. Discovery emblem framed by “Auto Pilot” and next week’s preview of Burnham shouting “blow this place to hell!”

If wishes were horses, Burnham, if wishes were horses.
Set Bookmark
Gil
Sun, Mar 24, 2019, 1:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

"Regarding "Time Crystals", an honest question:

Do their use in Discovery has even the faintest resemblance to what they are in real life?"

NO.

"Time crystals" should not be confused with time crystals which exist on the quantum level and are described as a new form of matter, and should not be confused with “perpetual motion machines, weapons, or time travel devices,” because you cannot draw energy from a source at a rested state—even though a time crystal essentially does break “time-translation symmetry, which is essentially the idea that each instant in time is the same as any other instant in time,” and it/they therefore “suspend” the law of conservation of energy.

There is no theoretical basis for time travel per se using the “silly science fiction” term time crystals.
Set Bookmark
Gil
Sun, Mar 24, 2019, 11:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Aww man, and here I thought last’s week’s broke the stupid bank. But, holy shit, I had to take triple the recommended dose of Time Away™ to wipe away the trauma caused by this one. It’s so dumb I thought it might leave permanent stains on my psyche.

But lucky for me, Time Away™ from S.C. Johnson came to the rescue. It scrubs, it cleans, it polishes away all that distressing chrononomic particle buildup caused by overexposure to quantum levels of Dumb.

Time Away™ from S.C. Johnson. For the discerning viewer.

· outa **** stars
Set Bookmark
Gil
Sun, Mar 24, 2019, 11:41am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

Enjoyable episode. Mind you, the rom-commish A story had an unavoidable been there, done that feel about it, but it was very well executed and provided a few unique twists of its own. The cigarette addiction B story was an inspired bit of silliness. Altogether a much better Gordon episode than the previous entry, and it was nice to see Tim Russ again.

*** outa ****
Set Bookmark
Gil
Wed, Mar 20, 2019, 9:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

@Alan Roi

"The weed of crime bears bitter fruit. Crime does not pay! The Shadow knows!"
Next ►Page 1 of 7
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.