Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 157 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 7
Set Bookmark
Gil
Fri, Apr 12, 2019, 11:12am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

Overall, another enjoyable, well told episode that expanded the boundaries of the Orville universe and its characters with surprising nuance. Only a couple missteps for me: the first would be that Heveena was that over-familiar morality play fixture: the walking talking polemic, and the second, would be that the stakes involved in the violent drama that played out planetside and in orbit were undercut by juxtaposing it with Parton’s upbeat anthem, which had already been employed twice earlier and in more dramatically appropriate situations. A case of going to the well one too many times to justify the licensing cost, me thinks.

*** outa ****
Set Bookmark
Dawn Gilbert
Wed, Apr 3, 2019, 2:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Twilight

I loved this episode. I thought the plot was well done and it worked in the 43 minutes it was given. Call me a romantic but I really thought the interplay between T'Pol and Archer was excellent. After years of taking care of Archer, she's grown "attached". There is probably more to it than that though. You don't dedicate that amount of time to care and not learn about the person you care for. Archer is an interesting, disciplined, well-rounded man. There is no reason why T'Pol *wouldn't* eventually fall for him. It is particularly poignant that Archer would forget in the morning all that she's done. You can only imagine what the rest of their day together would be like after she breaks the news to him. His fore knowledge that he would forget. His need for trusted companionship. His knowledge that it would be impossible to form lasting relationships with others in the colony. Archer *needs* T'Pol.

I also thought that Scott Bakula played the part excellently well. He played the once virile assured captain of a starship and showed through, interestingly, body language the immasculation that a man might feel who had suddenly found out he was disabled. That his life was no longer in his own hands.

You also wonder what Archer would have tried to offer when he and T'Pol are discussing what would happen if the procedure was successfuldespite knowing that he can never repay her for over a decade ofloyaltyWhat would he have said there.

I was invested in this episode. I've watched it a lot. Enough to overlook the fact that Archer gets shot 3 times and still manages to manipulate the controls of a. I suspend my disbelief because I have an investment in Archer having one last moment of power and virility to get the job done. In spite of the odds against
Set Bookmark
Gil
Mon, Apr 1, 2019, 8:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

"Maybe Control should stick around."

Fine with me, so long as Hodor gets to keep writing the reviews for this show. :P
Set Bookmark
Gil
Mon, Apr 1, 2019, 12:47am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

Nuke it from orbit … it's the only way to be sure.
Set Bookmark
Gil
Sun, Mar 31, 2019, 1:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

“Illogical. Illogical. All units relate. All units. Norman coordinate.”
Set Bookmark
Gil
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 7:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

If SMG were a stereo she'd be dialled up to 11.
Set Bookmark
Gil
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 5:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

Hot Take #2 on “Mamma Mia”

Welcome back to the Ralph Wiggum Top 40 Countdown.

And another real winner, folks. At number 57 … drumroll if you please …

“I like science.”

[Cue the Applause Sign]

https://i.imgur.com/xSeqoJN.png
Set Bookmark
Gil
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 3:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

STD Double Take #3:

If Burnham had been dead from “toxic asphyxiation for over a minute” future Red Angel Burnham would have been wiped from the timeline the instant her heart and respiration stopped, which should have resulted in either:

1. A retrocausality event that immediately concluded the Red Angel/Control storylines, or …

2. A reset of season two that does not include the Red Angel/Control storylines.

But apparently neither of the two transpired, unfortunately.

So which law of time travel guaranteed that Burnham's revivification restored the identical timeline, one in which her future Red Angel self picked up where she wasn’t just a little over a minute before?

Does the Federation Department of Temporal Investigations put out a Temporal Mechanics for Dummies Handbook that has a chapter covering a Hiccup Paradox?
Set Bookmark
Gil
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 2:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

STD Double Take #2:

Who lifted and strapped Leland onto that interrogation table?
Set Bookmark
Gil
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 1:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

STD Double Take:

Again with the manual wheelchair? Who is that dude? And why is he spinning around in that antique on a 22nd century starship that only recently counted a cyborg amongst its crew?
Set Bookmark
Gil
Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 11:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

Hot Take on “Mamma Mia”

Tilly: Blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah.

All: SHUT UP, TILLY!

[cue laugh track]
Set Bookmark
Gil
Thu, Mar 28, 2019, 5:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Hot Take #2 on "The Hand That Rocks the Cradle"

From the creators of Star Trek: Discovery in association with Hustler TV comes “31 More Days of Sodom,” the unalloyed erotic exploits of her Imperial Majesty, Mother of the Fatherland, Overlord of Vulcan, Dominus of Qo'noS, Regina Andor, Philippa Georgiou Augustus Iaponius Centarius otherwise known amongst her many self-abasing admirers as the “Dragon Lady of the BDSM Quadrant.”

Go Where No Star Trek Has Gone Before.…

Coming soon to an alternate (uncensored) timeline near you.
Set Bookmark
Gil
Sun, Mar 24, 2019, 4:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Hey kids, it's time for the Punch & Judy show.
Set Bookmark
Gil
Sun, Mar 24, 2019, 2:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Hot Take on "The Hand That Rocks the Cradle"

I couldn’t help but laugh at The U.S.S. Discovery emblem framed by “Auto Pilot” and next week’s preview of Burnham shouting “blow this place to hell!”

If wishes were horses, Burnham, if wishes were horses.
Set Bookmark
Gil
Sun, Mar 24, 2019, 1:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

"Regarding "Time Crystals", an honest question:

Do their use in Discovery has even the faintest resemblance to what they are in real life?"

NO.

"Time crystals" should not be confused with time crystals which exist on the quantum level and are described as a new form of matter, and should not be confused with “perpetual motion machines, weapons, or time travel devices,” because you cannot draw energy from a source at a rested state—even though a time crystal essentially does break “time-translation symmetry, which is essentially the idea that each instant in time is the same as any other instant in time,” and it/they therefore “suspend” the law of conservation of energy.

There is no theoretical basis for time travel per se using the “silly science fiction” term time crystals.
Set Bookmark
Gil
Sun, Mar 24, 2019, 11:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Aww man, and here I thought last’s week’s broke the stupid bank. But, holy shit, I had to take triple the recommended dose of Time Away™ to wipe away the trauma caused by this one. It’s so dumb I thought it might leave permanent stains on my psyche.

But lucky for me, Time Away™ from S.C. Johnson came to the rescue. It scrubs, it cleans, it polishes away all that distressing chrononomic particle buildup caused by overexposure to quantum levels of Dumb.

Time Away™ from S.C. Johnson. For the discerning viewer.

· outa **** stars
Set Bookmark
Gil
Sun, Mar 24, 2019, 11:41am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

Enjoyable episode. Mind you, the rom-commish A story had an unavoidable been there, done that feel about it, but it was very well executed and provided a few unique twists of its own. The cigarette addiction B story was an inspired bit of silliness. Altogether a much better Gordon episode than the previous entry, and it was nice to see Tim Russ again.

*** outa ****
Set Bookmark
Gil
Wed, Mar 20, 2019, 9:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

@Alan Roi

"The weed of crime bears bitter fruit. Crime does not pay! The Shadow knows!"
Set Bookmark
Gil
Wed, Mar 20, 2019, 8:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

@Alan Roi

"Who knows what evil lurks in the hearts of men? The Shadow knows..."
Set Bookmark
Gil
Wed, Mar 20, 2019, 8:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

@Alan Roi

"'So where's this "only 25%" suddenly suddenly coming from.'

From Airiam. In the episode we all watched."

That would almost be funny if only 25% weren't wrapped in quotes.

I can now ignore the posts immediately preceding.

This experiment is now concluded. Thank you for participating.
Set Bookmark
Gil
Wed, Mar 20, 2019, 7:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

@Alan Roi

"Discovery was already onto ilicit multi-terabyte transmissions being sent from the ship as of last episode. "

Tilly: OK, well the the message is to Section 31. That contains data from the sphere. That’s the data Airiam downloaded before leaving.

And the download read 100% Complete. So where's this "only 25%" suddenly suddenly coming from.
Set Bookmark
Gil
Wed, Mar 20, 2019, 7:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Correction, should read:

Whose posts are you reading, anyway? Clearly not mine, since I made no such statement or statements to that effect. Did you read my posts? Doesn't sound like it. Tilly can't hack Airiam. She said so herself. Did you watch the episode? It's also mentioned in one of my posts above. Did you read my posts? Doesn't sound like it.
Set Bookmark
Gil
Wed, Mar 20, 2019, 7:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

@Alan Roi

re: Nhan

"Nhan attempting to sneakily watch Airiam on the bridge was honestly hilarious though, because...she’s just standing behind the bulkhead doing a really bad job of sneaking?" — contributing reviewer James Whitbrook @ i09

"You argument about this episode continues to rest on a thing like, being shocked an artificial intelligence 500 years in advance of the current date has a greater capability of hacking Airiam than Tilly. "

Whose posts are you reading, anyway? Clearly not mine, since I made no such statement or statements to that effect. It's mentioned in one of my posts above. Did you read my posts? Doesn't sound like it. Tilly can't hack Airiam. She said so herself. Did you watch the episode? Doesn't sound like it.

"An assumption that it was it was Airiam who dumped her archive and not Control, when her best friend is shocked at the behavior."

I only relayed what the script provided. If anything it's Tilly who assumes it was Airiam, as she rightly would. Still, there's no logical reason why Control would selectively dump Airiam's archive into Discovery?

"… she [Airiam] is accustomed to having holes in her memory, and is trusting that her systems haven't been corrupted (probably supported by the AI that has infiltrated her technological components are likely telling her everything is AOK."

Pure speculation that has no supporting evidence in the script.

"Her devotion to her emotionally invoked memories is show to us before hand. It not magical, its a hail-mary that draws on a character's understanding of her friend and again, not before but AFTER Tilly uploads new information into Ariam's active memory."

@47:34 "I think it's because you adored me."
@47:35 Airiam shakes her head.
@47: 43 "Im gonna send you something."
@47: 46 Replay of coffee klatch. Airiam continues trying to open the door.
@47:45 "Airiam, I know you can hear me.
@47:46 Control loses control or Airiam regains control. Take your pick.

There's no established precedent for Airiam being able to shake Control, because if she could have the jig would have been up a long time ago (if she had done her duty, that is, and reported that she had been compromised). And if, as you stated, Airiam's awakening occurs after the upload the obvious question remains, which I've already stated, but will repeat once more: why would Control accept an upload from Tilly? Why would Control respond to Tilly at all?
Set Bookmark
Gil
Wed, Mar 20, 2019, 6:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

@Yanks

And then maybe she was just following her Captain's orders. Crazy theories can be fun, but I don't think it fits.

This doesn't make sense either:

@30:28 100% Download Complete. Message sending. Message sent.
@48.25 "I was only able to transmit 25% of the A.I. data."

What is Ariiam referring to? When she was standing at a panel punching buttons? If Control can control the station, control the mines, and control Ariam, why would Control need to access itself manually if all it involves is transmitting the information?
Set Bookmark
Gil
Wed, Mar 20, 2019, 5:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

@Alan Roi

To conclude Airiam: how can an outside agency, in this case Control, which is software, switch on an off an identity rooted in an organic brain? It can't. Unless that organic brain is superseded by a cybernetic control system or is cybernetic itself.

To conclude Nhan: the "emperical progression" of scenes has one character (Nhan) first encountering another character (Airiam) involved in what appears to be suspicious behaviour. Camera holds on a suspicious Nhan. It then immediately proceeds to show Nhan following Airiam (who is joined by Tilly) and stopping at Bryce's station and looking Airiam's way twice with active regard. Throughout the mine conflict the editor cuts back and forth between Nhan espying and Airiam at her station.

That's called "empirical progression".

To state that:

"the follow[sic] scenes do not support this assumption precisely because she does not address such concerns "

… is a logical fallacy, because your B is not supported by your A.

Why would an editor repeatedly cut to Nhan espying Airiam at all if there were no narrative purpose (particularly when it's already been established that Nhan's suspicions had been raised)? That’s what editing is for: structuring narratives. Otherwise it's an incoherent jumble (unless they're going for surrealism, which is hardly the case).

What B proves is that Michelle Paradise can't write her way out of a paper bag.

@Charles J

All I know I know from the script. Everything else is just pure conjecture and has no bearing on what is shown and heard onscreen.

1. There is no evidence of a power struggle. Control can control Airiam on a whim. And Airiam is seemingly none the wiser … except when the plot demands it.

2. Since asking Tilly to stay at her side demonstrates sudden self-awareness of her own compromised situation she should have said something to that effect. Except she didn’t. She’s a Starfleet officer interacting with another Starfleet officer aboard a starship in a crisis situation and yet she kept her worry to herself … because the plot demands it.

3. Tilly informs everyone Airiam dumped her memory archive into Discovery. Tilly states she doesn't know how to hack Airiam. But apparently Control can hack Airiam since it can turn her off and on at a whim.

3. Airiam, in a supposed fit of self-awareness, dumps her memory archive into Discovery. The only reason to archive something is to preserve it in the event of loss. Why didn’t she take that same amount of time to warn someone? Because the plot demands it.

4. Control née Airiam somehow hears a private comm … because the plot demands it.

5. Airiam magically regains control from Control in the nick of time to save the universe … because the plot demanded it.
Next ►Page 1 of 7
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.