Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 13 (Showing 1-13)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 1:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I agree that the studio purposely left their options open with that ending! kind of strange we didn't close with a discovery perspective.

For a moment there I thought they were going to go full Borg when Leland's voice started to sound very similar to the original Borg transmission voice from TNG and mildly possible spore drive/time crystal/nanobot infested leland cocktail which never materialised. I didn't want it to be an origin story but would have gone with section 31 experiment gone bad.

The admiral Cornwall sacrifice didn't have the impact it might have under more plausible circumstances. Blast door indeed! I thought she had potential as a character, perhaps even as a defacto captain of the future bound discovery. Perhaps others would reject that idea!

Production values were movie quality awesome I have to say. A lot going on yes, but in fine with the action here. I liked the clean cut blue shirted Spock fanservice and Rebecca Romjin as number one was good as was mount as usual. I don't think the emotion was overdone this time either and I was entertained throughout. In terms of the 'reset', it was between a rock and a hard place, either the writers time reset and render the characters' actions meaningless or they go with what they did which resolved things in a fashion leaving some meaning behind. Perhaps someone has a better third option, but it was resolved 'enough' for me. Many would argue that they need not give themselves that problem, but personally I enjoyed the time we had with 'the cage crew', pike, Spock and number one essentially.

Going forward I would rather a pike spinoff than a georgiou one (which sounds like a terrible idea) but not at the expense of discovery. However we got there, there's still an opportunity to do/see something's new in the star trek universe. Prequels, whilst interesting, generate too many continuity problems for a lot of people to tolerate. Of course the studio have the option to cancel with that ending, but I'd prefer the show to evolve if it can.
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Tue, Apr 16, 2019, 5:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

@trent
I agree, the padding kinda made sense after reading jammer's review though I've felt 'some' of the emotional scenes in earlier episodes came out of left field and sometimes overdrawn. I felt for stamets, saru and Michael in their situations, but I was interested in the backstory information during the crew montage more than anything else...the more time spent with the crew, the easier it is to connect with them.

@daya
To boldly go where no sentient starship has gone before ;)

@alan ROI
Good catch with the Dr Burnham repeating control/Leland's mission line mentioned in your earlier post. The same thing occurred when I watched the episode, but on reflection I thought it was probably just dialogue so that Burnham could join the dots. maybe there's something in it though, we'll find out soon enough I guess!
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Tue, Apr 16, 2019, 1:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

I do think the 'goodbyes' dragged out a little too much for my liking. I think I have a slight scepticism of these scenes because a few times we've seen similar rendered a little hollow later on. It needed to be acknowledged, but it just took an age to get through and was losing its impact with each scene imho. I agree with an above poster that the burham/ash scene would have been more effective if she'd continued walking as the run and embrace felt a bit Hollywood movie parody (I'm not anti-ash actually, but wouldve appreciated his last act as exposing Leland as control before being despatched). However I did like the montage of the crew in the same way that I liked the mess hall scene in the previous episode. There was nothing 'wrong' with the episode on reflection but it felt more like a filler ep for me.. hopefully there will be some payoff in the finale. I'm suspecting that the crew will end up in the future with the TOS characters having no memory of the events. Its a pity that burham is so dominant a character (and lost most of her Vulcanisms) I don't especially want to lose her/SMG but not sure she could be re-established as a more equal crew member. maybe this is an opportune time to write her out..lol or make her the first Borg queen :)
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Sun, Apr 7, 2019, 6:22am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

I thought yet again Anson Mount was excellent in this episode, especially the non-dialogue work with his eyes and facial expressions conveying the horror that Pike knows is ahead of him. I agree it's not necessarily the driver for Spock's actions in the menagerie and would have preferred to have seen a more developed relationship between them in discovery. I think pike is depicted as a symbol of what's at the core of the federation and that's why Spock would defy orders to help him. I'm wondering if pike will actually remember the events shown to him ultimately as I still suspect some kind of season finale reset event or sacrifice that reconciles the Spock/Burnham canon issue. On a side note, i'm kind of hoping that if there is a tie in to the borg, it's more that section 31 had been experimenting with recovered Borg nanobots and it has become its own thing rather than an origin story for the Borg. I've not seen or read potential spoilers though!
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Sun, Mar 31, 2019, 2:05am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

@jon

My hunch is that they reset the events somehow so that Michael never gets separated from her parents and is adopted to address the canon issue. I think someone else already called that on the previous episode thread to be fair.

I've always had a feeling that the ship ends up in the future even back to the early mysterious Lorca days, it just gives them more room. Maybe it would hook into the Picard series that way?

What's your take?
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 10:22am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

@steven

I just like the Picard quote and that scene reminded me of Picard's conversation with soren. I understand the different contexts :)
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 5:20am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

Dr Burnham: "Time is savage it always wins"

Picard: "Someone once told me that time was a predator that stalked us all our lives, but I rather believe that time is a companion who goes with us on the journey, and reminds us to cherish every moment... because they'll never come again. What we leave behind is not as important as how we lived. After all, Number One, we're only mortal."
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 10:55am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

Not sure how I feel on a 'leborg' scenario. I think in a way it would be cool to see a Borg origin story, but as a separate TV movie or something and origins unconnected to the federation. Something where techonolgical advancement gradually takes hold of and organic species and the lose control of the situation. If not, it could be similar to the way the alien film franchise went for example where more loss of mystery erodes the fear factor.
Obviously nothing to say we are seeing the Borg origins here of course, only time will tell and perhaps Leland and control are more akin to skynet and john Connor's nanobot transformation in terminator genisys. I also think Tilly should also be getting more of a social awareness at this point and not interrupting senior officers all the time. I do like her character but just a little more maturity when she's on the bridge perhaps. there's still room for her personality in the less tense scenes. Decent episode though.
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Sat, Mar 23, 2019, 5:08am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

@boo

I'm not especially trying to make 'a point', you're right that the events in the movie would be more dramatically character affecting which kinda is my point actually, i didn't feel they needed take it where it did, but makes for a more dramatic movie which I'm happy you enjoyed (as did I to a large degree). Awesome.
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Sat, Mar 23, 2019, 2:19am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

@boo

It's just personal opinion, something feels a little 'off' with the bad robot spock for me, but it's not ruining my life or anything. I don't really like the portrayal of Scotty either and takes that character too far in the comedy direction. I digress. Perhaps STID and the role reversals thing also contribute to that off feeling too.
I would have bought Spock/Uhura over a longer period of time and perhaps better suited to TV, but the coming together had occurred off screen in the movie. Spock/Kirk also feels a bit forced esp. in STID, though Spock/Bones is always good.

Yes DSC Spock is emotional too, but he's recovering from the affects of the red angel visions and there's scope to gradually become at least similar to the TOS era Spock in spirit and hopefully at some point, appearance. It may or may not happen but I don't think me or other fans necessarily miss the point, we can just accept the DSC version for what it is. Maybe it would work better as a different Vulcan character but either way it's not going to be Nimoy.
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Fri, Mar 22, 2019, 7:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

@Alan roi

Lol, I didn't think he was lip syncing another crew member or a kelpian backing track! The singing scene just made me smile unintentionally..just didn't feel like a natural singing scene and thought it was a little bit over dramatic for the actual time we spent with Airiam as viewers.
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Fri, Mar 22, 2019, 7:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

@boo
Nothing wrong with being a fanboy / fangirl / whatever imho...i guess that's why we're here commenting, however dumb that might seem. If you enjoy 'romantic Spock' then great. I prefer a more dispassionate, logical Spock that has a element of humour. I don't get that from the bad robot version. Doesn't make Quinto or Zoe S bad at their jobs, just that DSC Spock is closer to the version I prefer. It's not perfect but a TOS era Spock would not work either. It is what it is.

Not saying the sister recon is working for me either, but I have more of an issue with how the show has centered around that one character, hopefully that will change in the future.
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Fri, Mar 22, 2019, 5:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Firstly ROFL at Saru's lip syncing during the memorial! it was good that the death was acknowledged but I felt my eyes rolling a little as seemingly each character had to make a similar speech plus the flag draping etc etc. As others have said it's a shame that Airiam's backstory was crammed into a single episode and perhaps the character has been a slightly missed opportunity overall despite the good episode last week. Hopefully there will be more (unforced) development of the ensemble cast going forward. I think Peck is fitting as a 'discovery' version of spock though giving him more scenes with Anson Mount would be good given the supreme act of loyalty in the menagerie. To recreate the iconic Nimoy version is impossible..but perhaps just a few more subtle character traits would help bridge the gap. Maybe Quinto's version maybe suffers from the awkward uhura relationship and is too emotionally driven? All in all enjoying the season so far (when not spore driving or in the mushroom network!)
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.