Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 15 (Showing 1-15)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Star Truck: the worst generation
Fri, Sep 28, 2018, 10:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

This episode was damn interesting. The premise is bizarre, but the ending even though it’s out of character for Janeway and the rest of the crew was riveting. Sometimes the show works too hard to make it obvious that Janeway is not Captain Picard this produces moments that some may hate but I find entertaining. Generally speaking I like it when episodes try to buck fan expectations. I appreciate it when producers take risks. The episode is a 7,200 out of 10,198
Set Bookmark
General Washington
Tue, Apr 3, 2018, 1:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: CNN Is a Joke

CNN + Liberalism = FAKE NEWS
Set Bookmark
General Snacker
Tue, Jan 17, 2017, 12:17am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Can we have at least one strong male character in this? Watching the evolution of represented masculinity from TOS to TNG to VOY (The General can't really do DS9--maybe because it's stationary?) with zero alpha males, to this. Pussified City here we come haha
Set Bookmark
ThankYouGeneR
Thu, Jan 22, 2015, 5:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

Having just re-watched this episode myself and coming here to read Jamahl's experience of it I found myself surprised at the comments about the Bebe Neuwirth scene. I automatically took Riker's statement "There are differences in the way that my people make love" to be the setup for Riker to tell her anything as innocuous as elbow touching to be 'the way WE do it', which would certainly give her the desired 'perception' of alien sex without needing Riker to engage sexually with her. She would accept that without hesitation and of course & fully experience it AS satisfying. I mean, gosh, her mind would have taken over and sparked her own happy physical responses. And she would have taken away the 'illusion' she had just had sex with an alien.
Set Bookmark
Gene Roddenberry
Sun, Apr 6, 2014, 5:05am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

I did not like Star Trek Into Darkness.
Set Bookmark
Gene
Tue, Jul 26, 2011, 1:02am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: The Andorian Incident

I enjoyed this episode, though like others I am a bit dismayed Vulcans have been portrayed thus far into the series, but since I am only a few episodes in I am willing to let that go. The thing that seems to be bothering me the most right now is how Archer knocks out a Vulcan with one sucker punch. We've been programmed since Trek's inception to know that Vulcans are much stronger than humans, but yet Archer knocks one cold just like that? That Vulcan that got smacked also seemed so... timid. Almost as if he were afraid. I just have a tough time accepting that I suppose.
Set Bookmark
The Sext Generation
Sun, Mar 6, 2011, 5:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

I'm curious as to why you denigrate and malign what you 'technobabble'. I've seen this perspective in many of your reviews, both of Voyager and DS9.

To be sure, too much fantastic fakery in an explanation of causes and/or effects can bog down a story and make it dry. I have, however, not seen any evidence of that so far in DS9, at least nothing memorable for being over-the-top unnecessary.

In fact, from my perspective, not only do I expect 'technobabble' but I rely on it to assist me in my suspension of disbelief.

It would not be enough for me if O'Brian simply said 'oh they're in the past because of a transporter malfunction'. I'd lose immersion, and question the writer's laziness and commitment to the franchise.

In order to believe that this COULD happen, I need a plausible basis for doing so. Transporters don't just malfunction people to a differnt point on the timeline for no reason. But if, say, the annular confinement beam was affected by a passing micro singularity which hyper-excited the residual chronatons on the ships hull from use of a cloaking device... well then that explains this unique event in Star Trek history, and helps bridge the gap of credibility from the utterly absurd to the plausible.

Perhaps you're more fancy-free in your appreciation of sci-fi and don't need the technical justifications. I for one hold Star Trek to higher standards, and expect them to explain to me how something so different and unusual could happen.

That way I don't feel like I'm simply being entertained by a cheesy melodramatic space opera, but I'm immersed in watching the potential history of our future unfold.

My two cents, and 4.5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
RockRedGenesis
Fri, Apr 2, 2010, 3:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Demons

I thought this two parter was an good end to the series (I don't consider These are the Voyages to be the finale to ENT) and Peter Weller was an excellent guest star. But I did notice that Travis did get some good character development,i think he actually got more in this two parter then during the remaining 96 episodes of this series, including Fortunate Son and Horizon.
Set Bookmark
RockRedGenesis
Wed, Mar 10, 2010, 11:32am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Canamar

So, this is Star Trek's version of Con Air, and unfortunately not a good one.
Set Bookmark
RockRedGenesis
Sun, Mar 7, 2010, 9:09am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Dawn

This episode is not bad, but as noted by a couple of commentators here, that this is a oh-so-blatant rip-off of Enemy Mine. I got this about 5-10 minutes in to the episode, then the Trip and Zho'Kaan are shooting/beating the crap out of each other.

My first time watching this, on its UK broadcast première, I thought, "If the alien turns out to be pregnant, i'm turning over" because of all the Enemy Mine references.
Set Bookmark
RockRedGenesis
Sat, Mar 6, 2010, 5:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Dead Stop

I do like this episode, one of the better ones of the second season. And i laughed out loud with the exchange between Reed and Phlox at the beginning of the episode

"It can't be ethical to inflict this much pain."
"It's unethical to harm a patient; I can inflict as much pain as I like."

With the thing between Travis being dead, he's kind of like Harry in Voyager, he didn't get much character development within the first four seasons of VOY, unfortunately Travis will never get much more, as i think Montgomery is a fairly good actor and was too underutilised.
Set Bookmark
Gene Principie's Pubic Hair
Fri, Apr 3, 2009, 7:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

@ Alexey Bogatiryov

Uhh.....no.
Set Bookmark
Gene Principie's Pubic Hair
Thu, Apr 2, 2009, 6:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

"Anyways, I was reading on the scifi.com website that the battlestar galactica: complete series dvd and blue-ray edition will be released on July 28, 2009. Hurray! It has been really hard not being able to watch this show on DVD, or even really on TV, so, having the entire show on DVD is going to be great fun."


Thats excellent. I will be picking that up
Set Bookmark
RedGenesis
Mon, Mar 16, 2009, 9:53am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Survival Instinct

I quite liked this episode, but when watching it, one thing did stand out. why, for some reason, didn't anyone on the Voyager crew notice a Bajoran, walking about the Delta Quadrant with two aliens, when she came onboard the ship from the station. It's not like she tried to hide her nose ridges, and someone on the crew should have noticed a Bajoran, an Alpha Quadrant race, on there ship. Did they suddenly forget that?
Set Bookmark
Gene
Fri, Jan 30, 2009, 4:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: A Disquiet Follows My Soul

A lot of the issues with this episodes are quite clearly the result of the strike hiatus and the fact that the previous episode was pre-strike. What we're seeing here is a misplaced hiatus between episodes -- we waited all that time to see SAGN, when in fact the hiatus should have come before ADFMYS. After a long hiatus, we viewers probably wouldn't have noticed that there was no mention of Dee, Tyrol was moving toward a more Cylon outlook, Tigh & Adama were back to their old relationship, or that we never saw Tigh mention Ellen. 'Cos for the audience as well as the BSG characters, months had passed.
Probably these issues could have been cleared up by one quick and easy fix: a chryon saying "3 months later..." at the top of the episode.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.