Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 110 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Geekgarious
Wed, Jan 27, 2021, 3:20pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Trek III: The Search For Spock

@Mal
"The director here, Leonard Nimoy, couldn’t even do a good enough job on III and IV to get another Star Trek directing gig ever again."

This is absolutely wrong. Nimoy was offered the director's chair for Generations, and he made the only classic Trek film that was truly a blockbuster. He definitely could have directed more Trek films if he wanted to.
Set Bookmark
RDGEEK
Tue, Jan 19, 2021, 12:08am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S6: Ashes to Ashes

@Malia - I love that idea about the origin of the Borg as they possibly relate to this episode. Just fun to think about. Star Trek spends too little time on the evolutionary histories/mysteries of the more interesting species.
Set Bookmark
Geekgarious
Fri, Dec 11, 2020, 12:36pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 15: The Believer

Pretty good episode. Not as good as the last two, but still fun. Seems silly of Mando to taunt Gideon. hope Gideon gets more to do in the finale.
Set Bookmark
Geekgarious
Tue, Dec 8, 2020, 9:40am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 14: The Tragedy

Fett also had his own trilogy in the old EU and some other stories.

I didn’t like any of Disney’s SW films and refused to sign up for Disney Plus until this past summer, but I agree with jammer. This was the best 30 minutes of Star Wars since the original trilogy and I’ve started watching the clone wars because of it. I hope Esposito gets more to do. His presence was one reason why I finally decided to check the series out, but he has not been given much to do. A friend of mine actually suggested that they use him as Thrawn way back when Disney first bought the franchise. I hope they don’t incessantly tease us with mentions of Thrawn over the course of the next season. That was something that got really annoying about fringe; the endless mentions of William Bell and he only ended up being in maybe half a dozen episodes. Hopefully the writers of this show have learned to stay away from mystery boxes.
Set Bookmark
RDGEEK
Fri, Nov 13, 2020, 11:50pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S4: Random Thoughts

Agreed that the homoeroticism was just obviously below the surface in the interplay between Tuvok and Guill. First thing I thought of during that scene.
Set Bookmark
Glomgee
Wed, Oct 21, 2020, 2:51pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

@Mertov A much-needed reply to Trent. It’s like “debating” Donald Trump. With or without the ability to cut off the mic. Some people listen only with their mouth, never their ears. Do Trent and Booming think that if they do not deliver their daily two-minute (that’s a charitable number)hates against “Kurtzman” and “nu-Trek” that we would forget what their beliefs are, and how superior those beliefs are? To paraphrase what one current Presidential candidate said of a former one, “These guys only use four words in a sentence: a noun, a verb, and Alex Kurtzman.” When they read this, they say, “But you’re not talking about Star Trek.” It is as if they are projecting their penchant for changing the subject on to others. Are they seeking to win converts to their belief that Trek 2020 is drivel? Way to persuade there, sounding like Rod Steiger in Mars Attacks!
Set Bookmark
Geekgarious
Thu, Jul 16, 2020, 1:41am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S1: General Discussion

Not at all surprising. After Picard, I have no interest in this either. Kurtzman Trek is just not very good and watching it has been more frustrating than anything. Not much else to say about it.
Set Bookmark
Geekgarious
Mon, Apr 20, 2020, 7:21pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Binged season 2 last weekend since I can now get it for free. Not a whole lot to add - "Disappointing to middling ideas beget some truly impressive visceral experiences" sums this up nicely. The endless and endlessly teasing cliffhanger endings grew extremely tiresome, just as they did on Fringe. Ending the season with a jump 900 years into the future reminded me of Fringe's last two seasons, which I also found frustrating and unsatisfying. Since it seems like quite a few here have seen Fringe, I'll throw something out there that I thought about while watching. "Peter", the episode in season 2 that takes place in the 80s, is the only time this type of mystery box series has delivered a worthy payoff. If Discovery could be as good as Fringe was from mid season 2 to mid season 3 and not reboot itself, I'd happily watch. But in two years, the writers have coughed up a grand total of one great episode. And yet, if I can get season 3 for free, I'll probably watch. I keep hoping for great new Trek, but know it'll probably never happen.
Set Bookmark
Geekgarious
Mon, Apr 20, 2020, 4:12pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

I'll echo the crowd who thinks this review is way off. Not sure what Jammer wanted as far as more exploration of themes - Kirk tells the bigot officer that he needs to forget about the century-old war, and Spock being the one who saves said officer provides a classic Trekkian ending.

I remember the "Sci-Fi channel special edition" airings when these reviews were written. The episodes were aired Monday through Friday, so Jammer probably didn't have too much time to devote to each episode. I suspect this is why this review seems kind of tossed off, and the Conscience of the King review seems to misrepresent the ending.

I'm revisiting TOS since there's little to do in the evenings now other than watch TV. I'd love to see Jammer revisit it as well, but would rather he tackle a new series.
Set Bookmark
Geekgarious
Sun, Apr 19, 2020, 10:31am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S1: The Menagerie

Jammer, any particular reason why you didn’t review The Cage? Sci-fi devoted a 105-minute segment to it when they ran the special edition airings. In your review of “If Memory Serves”, you state that you’ve only seen the version that was cobbled together from black and white footage and footage from The Menagerie.
Set Bookmark
Geekgarious
Sun, Mar 29, 2020, 11:34am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

So, I gave up on this show after “Stardust City Rag”. Now I can watch the rest for free if I want to, but not sure I’ll bother. Watched season one of The Expanse yesterday. i’ll echo what someone else said in a previous episode’s thread… If this show were as good as a show like The Expanse, we wouldn’t be arguing over whether or not it’s Trek. Until different people are put in charge, I’m not eager to see anything else along the lines of Discovery season one or what I’ve seen of this show.
Set Bookmark
Geekgarious
Thu, Feb 20, 2020, 8:23pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Absolutely terrible. Gratuitous shock value violence juxtaposed with more clunky heavy-handed exposition scenes. Then, oh look, let’s introduce a character we’ve been teased about all season only to kill him off a few minutes later. manipulative mystery box crapola at its finest and I’m still not sure why I’m supposed to care about Data’s daughter.

Jerri was a lot of fun to watch though. she deserves much better material.
Set Bookmark
Geekgarious
Sun, Feb 2, 2020, 2:28pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

I enjoyed Nemesis in the theater and still do. I liked the score and the fact that the script had a nature-or-nurture question at its core. I agree that neither Shinzon nor B-4 are ever presented in a likeable manner, but I still enjoy watching Hardy and Stewart.

A low three stars from me. Had Frakes been allowed to direct and the script gotten some rewrites, I think we could have gotten a good film.
Set Bookmark
Geekgarious
Fri, Jan 31, 2020, 9:06pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

Ovaduh is right about the silliness of debating what is and isn’t Star Trek. The problem with Picard (and Discovery and the JJ movies) is not that they aren’t Trek. It’s that they’re poorly written, have no sub text, and consist mostly of regurgitations of other people‘s work. i’m reminded of a comment in the discovery discussion about Trek being unable to attract actual auteurs, people with personal and idiosyncratic points of view who have a strong desire to make original art. That’s been Trek’s problem pretty much ever since DS9 ended. and as long as Kurtzman is running the show, I doubt that’s going to change.
Set Bookmark
Geekgarious
Thu, Jan 30, 2020, 7:20pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

This was really quite bad. Way too much exposition sloppily shoved down my throat and I'm still wondering why I should care about this ancient Romulan myth. Throw in cartoonish villains with an attitude that just screams "I'm evil" and I felt like I was watching a bad episode of Fringe. Also, Picard's constant speeches about how great Data was are becoming really tiresome. Like his comments about disliking science fiction, they feel like a giant fanwank.
Set Bookmark
Geekgarious
Sun, Jan 26, 2020, 1:48pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

The concept of a canon in a fictional universe serves only to allow corporate entities to say certain stories are more important than others. The concept of canonicity began as a joke, but has become a corporate canard of immense power over the last 20 years, due largely to George Lucas and his endless and endlessly stupid revisionism. Prior to the special additions, hell, prior to the prequels, nobody cared about what was or wasn’t canon. More on the canonicity canard here.

https://www.themarysue.com/star-wars-expanded-universe-canon/
Set Bookmark
Geekgarious
Thu, Jan 23, 2020, 9:28pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Pretty good, I’m definitely intrigued. The score and ending Felt straight out of the JJverse, and I was sad to see Dahj go so quickly. Looking forward to learning more about her sister at least.
Set Bookmark
Geekgarious
Fri, Jan 3, 2020, 2:36pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

Yeah Star Wars could’ve been fantastic under Disney with the right people running it. Kennedy, Hidalgo and Abrams were not the right people. And Lucas wanted Abrams directing episode seven, so I put this on him ultimately. These are just space adventure films and all, but as a swan song to Han, Luke and Leia this trilogy was lame.

*reaches for the A New Hope radio drama*
Set Bookmark
Geekgarious
Thu, Dec 26, 2019, 3:10pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

This movie was exactly what I expected, a veritable roller coaster ride that bears no scrutiny. I found it enjoyable because I had no expectations and because Adam Driver's performance is always engaging. If nothing else, Abrams makes inspired casting choices, something Lucas often failed to do in the prequels. That went a long way toward my initial happiness with Star Trek 2009 and The Force Awakens.

As a whole, this trilogy was garbage. It said nothing, and had no real story to tell. It shrank the Star Wars universe instead of adding to it. The Force Awakens gave us Starkiller Base, The Last Jedi gave us a cannon based on miniaturized Death Star tech. Now this movie gives us a fleet of Star Destroyer Death Stars and a race to find the boss of the game, uh, I mean, the emperor. The only time this trilogy approached anything new was during Luke's conversations with Rey in The Last Jedi. Luke's presence and attitude in The Rise of Skywalker really does seem like it was written as an apology to those who didn't like TLJ.

Ultimately, this trilogy was bad, but not for any of the reasons suggested on most interweb forums. It was not bad because Rey was a Mary Sue or because of a feminist agenda. It was bad because it was a complete retread of the originals and the new characters never really carried the story. After three movies, Finn still feels like comic relief. Poe ends up being a fairly generic good guy and Rose is barely in this movie. However these are not truly terrible films. They can be an enjoyable ride, but as a whole they are very disappointing. Hopefully the powers that be can do something interesting with SW on TV. It's probably best that there aren't any new films for a good while.
Set Bookmark
Geekgarious
Sun, Dec 22, 2019, 5:29pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

@Latex Zebra people need to stop caring about what is considered canon. Back in the early 90s nobody cared about what material was or wasn’t Canon. The canonicity canard began when Lukas began altering the OT. Now it is just an excuse for Disney to put out as many products as possible and to fuel dubious discussion. The discussion that comes from the types of fan to argue about planet names. I just want a good story.
Set Bookmark
Geekgarious
Fri, Dec 20, 2019, 3:52pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

@Chrome, that review said it would be a nine-way tie for fourth place. This doesn't make sense as the critic also said he's not counting the side films. Other than that, that review is a good summation of Abrams' work. "the most consistent b-level student in modern popular culture" hits the nail on the head.

I'm not rushing out to see this. It clearly follows the predictable Abrams formula: keep the action rolling and no one will care if the plot makes sense. In a universe as rich in world-building potential as Star Wars, this is lame.
Set Bookmark
Geekgarious
Mon, Apr 22, 2019, 4:46pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Peter G
My very first exposure to Star Wars was a book called Jedi Search. It was actually a book on tape and featured music and sound effects. As a six-year-old it was good enough to get me interested in the franchise. I reread the real book before The Force Awakens came out… Yeah, a six-year-old would pretty much be the target audience. And look who wrote it.
Set Bookmark
Geekgarious
Sat, Dec 29, 2018, 1:01pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Solo: A Star Wars Story

@Sean Hagins, you've hit the nail on the head concerning the total lack of regard for character motivation in these films. The same goes for the use of Leia in Rogue One as compared to the story told in the radio dramas. In the latter, it was established that Vader suspected that she was helping the alliance since he kept finding the Tantive IV at planets with rebel activity but he couldn't prove it. Hence the "You weren't on any mercy mission this time" line. Same goes for the sloppily recreated death scene in Into Darkness. It brings to mind the writing in X-Men The Last Stand as compared to the story in the comics.

Enjoyed reading your review, Jammer. However calling Kathleen Kennedy one of the most grizzled Star Wars veterans in the game really isn't correct. She's a grizzled veteran in Spielberg circles but hadn't worked on SW prior to the Disney buyout. That's not an inherently bad thing as I was excited in 2012, but it's become obvious that there's not going to be any worldbuilding or sense of wonder in these films.

*watches The Wrath of Khan and listens to the SW radio drama*
Set Bookmark
Vee Gee Boo
Thu, Dec 6, 2018, 12:44am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S2: The Outrageous Okona

Couple of terribly awful good puns:

“You’re a droid, and I’m a noid.”
— Guinan to Data

“Take my Worf, please.”
— Data
Set Bookmark
Geekgarious
Wed, Oct 24, 2018, 5:31pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

A year or so ago I was at least a little excited for discovery. Now I am not at all. There is just no one who cares about the spirit of this franchise involved creatively anymore. I’ll be checking for comments by people whose reviews I generally agree with (like Peter G). If some of them rave about it I’ll give it a shot. Otherwise, no more. I’ve been hoping things will improve ever since the first JJ film and they haven’t.
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.