Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 12 (Showing 1-12)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Gatton
Mon, Sep 3, 2012, 8:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country

Misanthrope I think is the best word. Picard called him that in "Deja Q".
Set Bookmark
Gatton
Sat, Aug 15, 2009, 1:00am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Things Past

Wonderful episode. The technobabble could have been excised totally for my tastes. Kurtwood Smith proves once again why he's one of the best of Trek's frequent guests (along with James Sloyan.) Good script, tight direction and perfect pacing. One of my favorites.
Set Bookmark
Gatton
Thu, Jul 23, 2009, 3:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country

I have to disagree with you Nick. I would have loved having the Saavik character be a conspirator. Maybe that would have seemed forced but it certainly would have made the scene where Spock confronts her in sick bay have all the more resonance.

One question. During the mind meld as Valeris names off the conspirators were there always flashbacks showing the faces of those she names with an accompanying gong sound? I watched this last night on the 2-disc special edition and I don't recall that being there. I was actually out of the room making dinner during that scene (hey I've seen it like 12 times anyway) and I heard this *GONG* sound and I thought what the heck was that? lol
Set Bookmark
Gatton
Wed, Jul 22, 2009, 2:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek V: The Final Frontier

It's funny to me that the worst Trek movie gets one of the best scores. I love Goldsmith's music especially the Mountain Man and Busy Man cues. I wish they'd release a special edition of this score the way they did for TMP. If you pick this up make sure though you avoid the awful Hiroshima track at the end.
Set Bookmark
Gatton
Mon, Apr 13, 2009, 4:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Night Terrors

"Night Terrors" is worth it to me for that ultra creepy morgue scene alone. That scared the crap out of me as a kid. TNG wouldn't do disturbing imagery like that again until "Phantasms."

I am anxiously awaiting the season 5 reviews as well just so I can get on here and gush about "The Inner Light."
Set Bookmark
Gatton
Mon, Apr 13, 2009, 4:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

I enjoyed this episode quite a lot. I liked some of the little details like how no one pronounces Chakotay's name correctly. Also when the Doctor shows his version he couldn't resist a little show boating as when the Janeway recreation is complimenting him on his bravery. Good episode and one of my favorites from Voyager.
Set Bookmark
Gatton
Sun, Apr 12, 2009, 12:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Little Green Men

I am watching these DS9 episodes for the first time and I enjoy coming here to read Jammer's review after each one. It's always interesting seeing where we agree and disagree.

I thought this was a fun episode which is unusual for me because I don't really care for the Ferengi (except for Quark since he actually has some depth.) My biggest problem with the episode however is with Rom. I sort of like the idea that he's smarter than everyone thinks and that he just "lacks self confidence." However in this episode he's doing Spock caliber temporal/warp calculations and it just isn't convincing at all.

But hey kudos to the producers for getting Charles "space hippy" Napier in this episode. Also I liked the Bell Riots nod to continuity. Those kinds of things are especially fun when you are watching the shows in a short span of time like I am and they are still fresh in your memory.
Set Bookmark
Gatton
Sun, Apr 5, 2009, 8:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Destiny

I'm surprised no one else has commented on this episode. I enjoyed it a lot and I thought the ending was very cleverly crafted to allow the prophecy to be true. I also enjoyed the scenes with Colm Meaney and Tracy Scoggins who despite a couple of pounds of Cardassian makeup can still be attractive.
Set Bookmark
Gatton
Mon, Dec 29, 2008, 10:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Insurrection

I couldn't agree with you more Jake. I enjoyed Donna Murphy's performance in this movie but it seems to me they could have easily fixed the problem of Beverly having nothing to do by having her step up to the romantic lead role with Picard. A wasted opportunity if ever there was one now that there will be no more TNG movies.
Set Bookmark
Gatton
Sat, Dec 27, 2008, 11:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Duet

Well I'm preaching to the choir of course but "Duet" is in my opinion one of the best episodes of any Trek series. For a heavy "talky" episode it doesn't get much better. Give two gifted actors a great script and a stage and just let them go at it. I'm glad the DS9 producers did just that.
Set Bookmark
Gatton
Sat, Dec 27, 2008, 10:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Defiant

I like the short scene involving O'Brien and Riker. Riker knows that O'Brien would figure him out and give him away so he just defuses it before O'Brien would even have a chance. I always wondered what Miles was thinking in that scene.
Set Bookmark
Gatton
Sat, Dec 27, 2008, 10:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Fascination

It's DS9's "Naked Time" (or "Naked Now" if you like.) Did Voyager have a "the crew get stupid" episode? They should have. It could be a Trek tradition :-).
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.