Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 54 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Lord Garth
Mon, Aug 12, 2019, 1:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

Taking Patrick's quiz...

DO YOU HAVE WHAT IT TAKES TO BE THE CREATOR OF A NEW STAR TREK SERIES? (by Patrick D)

1. Will your Trek series/movie take place in Trek's past?

A. No
B. Yes

My answer: C) Depends on the story being told and when it makes sense to take place. My favorite Star Trek Era is the 23rd Century but that's never NOT been the case. Despite having said that, I'm okay with moving forward like "Picard" and the third season of "Discovery" are doing.

2. Have you watched The Original Series?

A. Yes
B. Does watching old parodies of it, count?

My answer: A) Yes.

3. What's the inspiration for your new Star Trek series?

A. Firefly
B. The New Battlestar Galactica
C. A and B

My answer: D) Neither.

4. What's your favorite Star Trek Movie?

A. Wrath of Khan
B. Wrath of Khan
C. A New Hope
D. All of the above

My answer: A) "The Wrath of Khan", but non-sarcastically.

5. Will your Trek series/movie try to adhere one iota to continuity?

A. Yes
B. What am I? A fucking nerd?

My Answer: C) For the most part yes. But sexism should be retconned out. And, like it or not, anything set during the TOS Era would have to have at least some updating. Maybe not to the extent that DSC did, but the point still stands.

The asshole who'd reply with "B" doesn't speak for me.

6. What will your Trek series/movie feature?

A. Green Animal Women!
B. Space Battles!
C. Klingons!
D. The Mirror Universe!
F. Khaaaaaan!
G. Tribbles!
H. Section 31!
I. Thoughtful, exploration of the human condition through a humanistic lens
J. All of the above, except "I".

My Answer: K) Depends on the story. But I would NOT have Green Animal Women or Khan. And I think the Tribbles have had enough exposure.

IF YOU HAVE CIRCLED THE BOTTOM CHOICE FOR EACH QUESTION: CONGRATULATIONS YOU ARE HIRED!

Guess I'm not hired. Even though I like "Discovery".
Set Bookmark
Lord Garth
Thu, Mar 7, 2019, 9:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

Best episode of "Discovery" so far. And I've been a huge fan of the series so far. DSC is my favorite Star Trek series besides TOS, but with "If Memory Serves", they knocked it out of the park. This even managed to edge out "Calypso", something I didn't think would ever happen.
Set Bookmark
Garth
Wed, Feb 13, 2019, 4:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

Nice of the smart alecs to oversimplify the discussion and declare everyone who disagrees with the writers’ choice here a racist.
Set Bookmark
Garth of Izar
Fri, Sep 14, 2018, 7:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: For the Cause

Superb episode, densely-plotted, with spot-on character interactions and a twist that hits just the right level of surprise. Many commentators have mentioned Eddington's speech, which is a fair piece of political rhetoric, but I prefer the icy fire of Sisko's personal rage in response (note to Elliott: the apparent mismatch between the two speeches is an artistic piece of characterization, not a philosophical failing):

"You know what, Mr. Eddington? I don't give a damn what you think about the Federation, the Maquis, or anything else. All I know is that you betrayed your oath, your duty and me. And if it takes the rest of my life, I will see you standing before a court-martial that'll break you and send you to a penal colony, where you will spend the rest of your days growing old and wondering whether a ship full of replicators was really worth it."
Set Bookmark
Garth of Izar
Fri, Sep 14, 2018, 6:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Accession

Sisko to Kira: I don't doubt that I can find someone to fill your post. But to _replace_ you...

More genuine emotion and character chemistry than seven seasons of Voyager.
Set Bookmark
Garth of Izar
Fri, Sep 14, 2018, 7:10am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Initiations

So this is what happens when the Voyager writers wanted a Klingon-type species, but found actual Klingons to have too high an IQ, too much culture and technology, and too sensible a hairstyle...
Set Bookmark
Garth of Izar
Thu, Sep 13, 2018, 8:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Phage

Ah, the mind-bending inconsistencies of Voyager and Captain Janeway in particular!
Phage: Cripple our crewman for life and steal his lungs? No problem, you're free to go!
Tuvix: Sentient by-product of an accident that fused two crewmembers into one through no fault of your own? Into the disintegration chamber with you, freak!

What a joke this show is.
Set Bookmark
Garth of Izar
Thu, Sep 13, 2018, 6:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Homefront

Fascinating to read this long thread years later - much praise to Paul M for his measured comments, boos to Elliott for viewing any deviation from the scripture of TNG Seasons 1-2 as heretical.

As for the supposed "reactionary" nature of DS9, Sisko treads as firmly principled a line in PL as any Starfleet captain could have done, and neither Worf nor Benteen is prepared to kill each other's crew to achieve victory, despite the extremely high stakes on both sides.
Set Bookmark
Lord Garth
Sun, Nov 12, 2017, 9:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

"P.S. First gay kiss in a Trek show. Will people complain...?"

I hate to be *that* person but DS9 actually beat this episode to the punch with "Rejoined" in its fourth season. Though "Into the Forest" is the first with two men.

As far as people who'll complain, I really don't care about what they think. They'll have to get used to gays, and anyone who isn't heterosexual, being represented.
Set Bookmark
Lord Garth
Mon, Sep 18, 2017, 7:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Command Performance

I thought this was a solid episode. Sort of reminded me of "The Cage" but the ending was pure 21st Century commentary. ;)

Kitan's story is something I (and probably a lot of people) could relate to on occasion, ending up way over my head in a situation (in this case a position of authority you're not used to), and wanting to get out of it in any way possible but figuring out how to pull through.

Then there's the twist at the end. This is a series I look forward to seeing every week.
Set Bookmark
Lord Garth
Wed, Sep 6, 2017, 7:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: General Discussion

"Star Trek: Discovery" and "The Orville" if they were people...

Discovery: I'm dark! I'm serious! It's 2017! Story Arc!!! TV-MA!!!

Orville: Umm, Discovery, do you mind if I get that stick out of your ass?

I'm looking forward to both series but I'd lying if I said this _wasn't_ my impression of the difference between them.
Set Bookmark
Garth of Izar
Tue, May 30, 2017, 8:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Identity Crisis

Well I for one welcome our new Horta entrants for Mx Universe ;)
Set Bookmark
Garth of Izar
Mon, May 29, 2017, 11:56am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Investigations

Lol - is there EVER a spy, a plot, a secret plan, a surprise birthday party, a second helping of dessert that DOESN'T get past Chuckles? And this guy is supposed to have taught Advanced Tactical Training at Starfleet Academy? Gimme a break!
Set Bookmark
Garth of Izar
Mon, May 29, 2017, 11:26am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Death Wish

So an immortal, omnipotent being has reached the limits of boredom and wants to end it all. What a conundrum! Except that there's an obvious solution - have said omnipotent being (or the other Q) wipe his memory of all the incredible things he's seen and done, so he can enjoy them all afresh. Voila - problem solved!
Set Bookmark
Garthok
Wed, Jan 18, 2017, 5:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Twisted

Am I the only one bugged by how the reviewer keeps referring to to the ship as "The Voyager". :P
Set Bookmark
Lord Garth
Thu, Jul 28, 2016, 12:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

I don't care if "Beyond" didn't address or follow-up anything in "Into Darkness".

To me, "Beyond" is the real sequel to 2009. "Into Darkness" happened but, like with TMP, you can skip directly from TOS to TWOK with no loss of information. It's 15 years later, so of course Kirk would be an Admiral and everyone would be at a different point in life. Plenty of time to redesign the Enterprise too. Natural passage of time.

Same with "Beyond". If you treat it as a direct sequel to 2009, then of course they'd be on a five-year mission. It's expected. The ship looks a little different? There was a minor refit in-between. Sounds good.

I like how the five-year mission was cut short after three years, paralleling what happened when NBC cancelled TOS.

As far as the Klingons, they're out there. They're not our friends. Normal TOS status quo. The threat of war? That was always the case.
Set Bookmark
Lord Garth
Wed, Jul 27, 2016, 9:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

3 for "Into Darkness" and 2.5 for "Beyond". Who could've predicted a combination like that?

But anyway, I'm glad they built the Enterprise-A in the same movie. It would've been a surprise to absolutely _no one_ to see it in the next one, so it made sense to get what we all knew was coming out of the way and over with.
Set Bookmark
Lord Garth
Mon, Jul 25, 2016, 2:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

I went ahead saw "Star Trek Beyond" on Saturday. The reviews made me not want to wait. There's no question about it. This is the best of the three rebooted films. By a long shot. I don't mind seeing it in the theater again.

If you're looking for '60s, '80s, or '90s Trek, you're not going to find it BUT this movie knows what it is and it does it a LOT better than the other two. And it's nice to have an original story.

The camera work is the best I've seen in any of the films. Reboot or not. The action isn't mind-numbing, I actually care about what happens during it, and they put a lot into the characters.

They could've done more with Krall, but the villains are never going to be the reboot's strong suit. He's *okay*.

There's also a nod to the fact it's the 50th Anniversary. I'm not going to say what it is but you'll know it when you see it and it also worked as a good character beat.
The movie isn't dramatic but it's fun and it does what it wants to do very effectively.
Set Bookmark
Lord Garth
Fri, Jul 22, 2016, 10:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Off by half-a-point. I was predicting 2.5.
Set Bookmark
Lord Garth
Sun, Mar 6, 2016, 10:34am (UTC -5)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

It could pick up after Star Trek (2009) -- on the Prime side.

The destruction of Romulus is even worse than the destruction of Praxis, both are similar would lead into ground that could've also been covered in a post-ST VI setting.

If there's an Enterprise in this series, Picard could be retiring and handing the reigns to a new crew similar to how Kirk had to face handing the reigns to a new crew. Thematically, the TNG Era (for the sake of argument, we'll call it 2364-2387) had reached the same point the TOS Era (2265-2293) was at when it ended.
Set Bookmark
Lord Garth
Wed, Feb 17, 2016, 7:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

I used to defend DS9 pretty hard. I understand what it was trying to do and what it was trying to say. It doesn't take away from what the series was. During the Post-Cold War, Pre-9/11 Period, "The End of History", we had a Golden Age if not a paradise where Bill Clinton was committing America toward building a bridge to the 21st Century. "It's easy to be a Saint in Paradise", DS9 warned. No kidding.

But 17 years, two presidencies, and two over-lapping wars later, not to mention a partisan divide so sharp that it's impossible to take a middle ground on anything, I think a new Star Trek series needs to say something else.

It needs to point to how things can be better. "We didn't destroy ourselves" isn't enough. "We got ourselves out of this mess. We got ourselves out of the muck." That's the message we need to see.
Set Bookmark
Lord Garth
Wed, Feb 17, 2016, 5:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

I agree. I also hope the next series has "smart optimism". Otherwise, where Star Trek left off in the 24th Century doesn't look too good when you scratch underneath the surface.

Outside of "Pathfinder", "Endgame", and "Star Trek: Nemesis", DS9 is the final word on the 24th Century Alpha Quadrant.

Circumstances aside: Sisko agreed, and Starfleet allowed, evidence to be forged to convince the Romulans to join them in the war against the Dominion. "In the Pale Moonlight" is one of my favorite DS9 episodes BUT nevertheless, as Sisko says, "I lied, I cheated, I bribed men to cover the crimes of other men. I'm an accessory to murder. But Garak was right about one thing. A guilty conscience is a small price to pay for the safety of the Alpha Quadrant." The audience is on Sisko's side because of how bad the war is going for the Federation but what would the audience have thought if it were Section 31 that lied to the Romulans?

Likewise, during DS9's Final Chapter, Sisko basically orders Worf to assassinate Gowron. Just not in so many words. He tells Worf that Gowron must be stopped, knowing full well that he won't back down. The only way to stop him is to kill him. And the only way to do that is to have Worf challenge him. "But Worf is a Starfleet officer!" Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges. In time of war, the law falls silent.

Finally, Section 31 infected the entire Great Link with a lethal disease with no known cure. They were basically willing to commit genocide to stop an enemy threat. "But Section 31 isn't Starfleet!" No, it's not. But they work with Starfleet and are still part of the Federation, even if it's the underbelly.

So, at the end of DS9, the Romulans, Klingons, and the Federation were allies but only because the Federation deceived the Romulans (and planted a mole inside the Senate) and the Chancellor of the Klingons was killed so they could have *their* guy, Martok, the one who they preferred, in the position. And the war with the Dominion was over, because Section 31 brought the Founders to their knees. For all their bravado, they ended the war once Odo offered to cure them.

As a post-script, the entire Romulan Senate is wiped out at the beginning of "Star Trek: Nemesis" but even though it looks like their relationship with the Federation will become stronger at the end of the film, in "Star Trek" (2009) Romulus is destroyed, so who knows what happened after that?

Basically, the last we see of Star Trek, chronologically, is a pragmatic dystopia. That's why there needs to be another series and that's why it needs to be set *after* everything we've seen.

The Federation isn't everything it wants to be. The galaxy isn't always going to agree with it. It's a painful lesson to learn but what was the lesson to be learned? Where does the Federation go from here after what it's been through (since the war)?

Parallel to Current Events: America isn't everything it wants to be. The world isn't going to always agree with it. It's a painful lesson to learn but what was the lesson to be learned? Where does America from here after what it's been through (since 9/11)?
Set Bookmark
Lord Garth
Fri, Feb 12, 2016, 10:09am (UTC -5)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

I'm prepared to be totally wrong BUT here's my prediction for the setting of the series and why:

Short Answer: My prediction for the setting of the next Star Trek series: Prime Timeline, 25th Century. After "Star Trek Online".

Long Answer: We've already seen the TOS era, TNG era, we've seen glimpses of in-between. None of it will look new. It either has to be Pre-TOS or Post-NEM.

Setting it in-between ENT and the 2233 timeline split would look cowardly. Like they'd be too afraid to make a stand and say if this is set in the Prime Timeline, Abrams Timeline, or a Third Timeline. So that leaves Post-Nemesis.

Here's why I think it'll take place after Star Trek Online. If you set it any earlier (and still have it be post-Nemesis), it might alienate fans of Online or fans of the novels because the new series will most likely overwrite them. If you want fans to *pay* for the CBS streaming service, you'll have to make them _want_ to spend the money. That's also why I think it'll be set in the Prime Universe.
Set Bookmark
Lord Garth
Wed, Feb 10, 2016, 12:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

I was already thinking about doing someone similar to that anyway, except using my own personal ratings, but this exercise is basically the same thing, so I'll bit the bullet.

Pulling up another tab, to look for Jammer's ratings, and plugging in the numbers...

DS9:
"The Darkness and the Light" - 3
"Empok Nor" - 2

VOY:
"The Raven" - 2.5
"Mortal Coil" - 3
"Retrospect" - 3
"Living Witness" - 4
"Drone" - 4
"Gravity" - 2.5 (one of my favorites, so I disagree with this)
"Bride of Chaotica!" - 2
"Course: Oblivion" - 1.5
"Juggernaut" - 2.5
"Relativity" - 3
"Barge of the Dead" - 4
"Alice" - 2.5
"One Small Step" - 3.5
"Spirit Folk" - 1
"Fury" - 1.5
"The Haunting of Deck Twelve" - 1.5 (sounds way too harsh)
"Flesh and Blood" - 3.5 (not so sure about that... )
"Workforce, Part I and II" - 3.5 for Part I, 3 for Part II
"Friendship One" - 2.5

"Flesh and Blood" and "Workforce" count twice as two-part/two-hour episodes.

Sooo....

63 stars divided by 23 episodes (Memory Alpha counts "Flesh and Blood" once I believe, I'm counting it twice) provides a star average of...

2.739 stars.
Set Bookmark
Lord Garth
Tue, Feb 9, 2016, 10:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

I looked up the episodes Bryan Fuller wrote on Memory Alpha, and he wrote several good episodes of Voyager. “The Raven”, “Mortal Coil”, “Retrospect”, “Gravity”, “Relativity”, “Barge of the Dead”, “Alice”, “One Small Step”, “The Haunting of Deck Twelve”, “Flesh and Blood”, “Workforce”, and “Friendship One” are all episodes I can recommend. Most of those episodes are strong character studies. In several instances, the characters beliefs are tested or challenged.

“Workforce” takes it one step further by destructing and reconstructing characterization by showing how the crew would interact as characters even if they had no memory of their lives on Voyager or where they were from.

Some episodes are high-concept. In “Alice”, Tom Paris discovers an alien shuttle that slowly takes control of him. “The Haunting of Deck Twelve” is a spoof of “The Blair Witch Project”. “Relativity” is a wacky time-travel story that fully embraces its chaos.

Then (or rather, before) there were the two episodes he wrote for DS9. “The Darkness and the Light”, a Major Kira story dealing with the ugly aftermath of Cardassian Occupation of Bajor and “Terok Nor”, an atmospheric episode on DS9’s sister station, where Garak (Andrew Robinson) is affected by a drug that turns him into a danger more akin to another character the actor the actor has played: Scorpio in "Dirty Harry".

Out of 22 episodes he wrote, the only two "bad" ones were "Spirit Folk" (the second Irish village episode), which I don't have a problem with but most people do, and "Fury", the episode were Kes returns. That episode actually *is* horrible. So overall, that's a good ratio. 22 episodes and only two misses.

Judging by all these episodes, I think Bryan Fuller would have the range you'd normally see in a typical Star Trek season.

I haven't seen "Hannibal", so I can't say anything about that.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.