Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 87 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Reggie p
Tue, Jan 21, 2020, 9:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

Why is it in yesterday's Enterprise the 3 battle cruisers are bird of pray.
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Tue, Jan 21, 2020, 4:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

Two stars for this shit, are you kidding Jammer? Why are you so scared to give one star OR LESS for utter crap?
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Sat, Jan 18, 2020, 9:16am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Q2

Hate it when people show up and say things like "This is a light-hearted comedy, not SERIOUS DRAMA!" to excuse terrible writing. Comedy episodes can be just as good as the serious episodes, this one sure as FUCK wasn't.
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Tue, Jan 7, 2020, 3:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Flesh and Blood

Elliott's posts about DS9 are fucking delusional and kind of scary.
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Sat, Jan 4, 2020, 9:09am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Repression

The only thing that sucks more than this episode is half of you idiots.
Set Bookmark
Smuggins
Sun, Dec 1, 2019, 2:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

This is terrible episode for many reasons, but the biggest is that the message is "Women shouldn't make accusations against men". I might add some superfluous wording about "unless they have 100% proof", but its a chicken and egg device to stop any accusations. For how can the victim have the burden of proof? They would need assistance to get it (police, detectives, lawyers, etc.), but if they can't make the accusation, they can never get the proof.

The episode was always about sexual assault. If you read any article about it, when the writers came in to clean up the pitch and make it a story, they have gone on record as removing the 'sexual' elements, but it still seems like an allegory so, they changed the wording but the subtext is resoundingly clear (especially with the 'violation' phrasing).

This is basically a Harvey Weinstein defense piece before the truth came out. Considering how long that abuse went on, it really seems like this is propaganda directed at women, to let them know they should never make any kind of fuss about assault, otherwise, it will literally kill the man and it will be their fault.

The fact that a fairly impartial process leads to the death of an 'innocent' man (c'mon, who runs and kills themselves if the are totally innocent) seems to be pushing propaganda for abusers.

STNG already did a very good episode about how different people remember things (maybe even having false memories). The one where Riker is accused of murdering a scientist developing a power source, used as a weapon. There, the accused was a main character, so we know that he is innocent. If the writers wanted to do a false memory episode, it should have followed that format.

This episode was just a poorly written (not unusually so, but Voyager is usually smothering itself with plot holes). Why did Tuvok not mind meld? Why didn't they scan for that guys DNA on Seven? Why couldn't the Doctor find damage to Sevens neck? Why was the Doctor so amazingly incompetent? Voyager is pretty much garbage and this episode is just exhibit #99.
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Wed, Sep 18, 2019, 4:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Riddles

Do the people complaining about "PC" even know what the fuck they're talking about?
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Tue, Sep 10, 2019, 4:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Equinox, Part I

^lol what
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Tue, Sep 3, 2019, 3:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: The Fight

Everyone posting positive comments about this episode HAS to be the same person posting under different names, right? This is the worst episode of any series of Star Trek there ever will be.
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 3:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

Who fucking CARES if they made a mild continuity error with Seven getting drunk? Does that REALLY spoil a great episode like this? You fucking nerds don't deserve nice things.
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Tue, Aug 13, 2019, 4:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Demon

Is Amanda Jammer's wife?
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Tue, Aug 6, 2019, 4:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Vis A Vis

Pointing out that B'Elanna was raped is "SJW nonsense"? What the Hell?
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Tue, Aug 6, 2019, 3:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

What's with all the rude "YOU PEOPLE" message from overy-defensive Voyager fanatics who can't accept that some people didn't like this episode? Why is this, an episode about Nazi aliens, the episode that YOU PEOPLE are so defensive about?
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Mon, Jul 22, 2019, 4:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Concerning Flight

Good trolling, Robbie.
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Wed, Jul 17, 2019, 4:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

I meant to type "score". Don't @ me.
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Wed, Jul 17, 2019, 4:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

Ridiculously low core by Jammy. He starts about ten different sentences with "I must admit I enjoyed..." and the review is mostly positive, but gives it 1.5 because someone said "DNA" at one point.
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Fri, Jul 12, 2019, 3:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

Jennifer Lien walked into work, marched straight up to Brannon Braga and dropped him on his ass with a Stone Cold STunner. They had no choice but to fire her.
Set Bookmark
AggregatVier
Mon, Jun 10, 2019, 3:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

Just finished watching this episode. The Crystal (you can't assume it's an "entity") travels at warp speed seeking out "life" to consume (destroy). If this crystal had been around for any considerable length of time there would be a much broader path of destruction in the immediate warp range the Federation is capable of in several years time. In other words, it would be very likely there would no longer be any life left in within the Federation's warp range. Just look at what it was able to devastate within a very few days time. So, why no consideration this crystal was a deliberately created and released weapon of mass destruction within Federation space. A bio-destroy weapon of unimaginable evil and viciousness? That any communication would already be with a war machine?

Or would others rather talk it out and reach a compromise with Hitler?

Destroying it was the only rational course of action. The Doctor is a hero who killed an uncompromising weapon of war while Picard was moralizing genocide.

Picard should have been court martialed for dereliction of duty and the trivialization of human life that would undoubtedly affect any of his future command decisions.

But, then again, what can you expect from copies?
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Thu, Jun 6, 2019, 7:27am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

Did Tuvix have two dicks and four balls?
Set Bookmark
GG
Mon, Apr 29, 2019, 11:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

This show really frustrates me. I so want it to be it's own thing but I still can't decide if it's a show with serious sci-fi stories or an homage/comedy. It tries to make us care about a relationship between a mature woman who has moved on and a man-child who 1) regrets being the captain of a freaking starship!, and 2) acts needy and clingy, two traits women despise but man-children think makes them endearing (also traits that don't make for a respectable captain). Does the show really expect us to feel the 'will they or won't they' chemistry reserved for greats like, dare I say, Sam and Diane? Or is it a joke on the whole cliche? I get the impression the show is telling us these two are destined for each other. The people in the show are fairly aged and experienced but act like 14 year olds. Maybe that's the point, who knows? Kelly and Bortus seems like the only people who are multi-dimensional. The doctor too, but she's such a fantastic actress.

I did like the penultimate episode's sci-fi premise and this follow up, but it just didn't explore the concept fully enough. I can see if the humor was ramped up to bring home the point but most times the show really seems to be taking itself seriously and steers too close to the surface of great ideas and bounces off. As a sci-fi nerd, that's incredibly frustrating.

The show to me verges on giving us what we had with TNG and feel like we're not getting with Discovery but never let's us have it all. Unless this is all it is. A cute little blend of McF's love for TNG, sitcom ready relationships, and light sci-fi to pass an hour of our time. I strangely do like the show, it has it's great moments. It's like I'm waiting for it to bust out and do it's own thing. I still think it can.
Set Bookmark
Squiggy
Fri, Mar 22, 2019, 10:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

I really enjoyed this episode, and Bortus smoking on the bridge was hilarious. My only real nitpick was that it seems a bit of a stretch that they would have so little knowledge about life in the 21st century, to the point they didn't even know what a cell phone was, yet they watch old movies all the time and the captain even has Kermit the frog sitting on his desk. It also seems pretty unlikely that all the stuff from that time capsule would still look brand new. Not a big deal though, still a great episode. This show just keeps getting better.
Set Bookmark
Boingg
Thu, Mar 21, 2019, 5:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

New Spock is like someone wanted kelvin Spock but couldn't have him so they found someone who is a bit like him, but not like Nimoy. I like the actor and I can sense he watched Nimoy but I prefer Quinto. And that one wasn't even the same Spock cause he's from another reality, yet he was him. This one is too angry, too annoying, too childish. Quinto played a guy who was angry because they destroyed his planet and killed his mother but he felt like it was a shame for him to feel that. Even his love was a secret and something he was only comfortable making others see after his father admitted experiencing love as well. Nimoy and Quinto give Spock an annoying arrogance at times, but he is really funny too and has that distinctive sass only Spock has ("Captain? Please, I apologize, the complexity of Human pranks escapes me." ("Are you giving me attitude, Spock?")"I am expressing multiple attitudes simultaneously, sir. To which one are you referring?").
Set Bookmark
GG
Sat, Mar 2, 2019, 4:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

I think The Orville is having trouble figuring out what it is. A drama? A comedy? Legit sci-fi? Just a consequence-free homage to TNG? All four? The first part managed to raise the dramatic stakes really high. The end of part two yanked away the consequences of said drama with some pretty old TV cliches. One, the kid being the smallest and saving the day, the last minute save of the fleet coming in, and Isaac sacrificing himself only to be brought back minutes later in a time tested cliche. Isaac remaining deactivated would've made for a compelling dramatic arc. Instead it's all glib at the end with the captain saying he'll take future responsibility for Isaac's actions. I guess that has a certain child-like logic when a kid implores his parents to keep the disobedient pet. The kids will have a 'dad' and the doc will have her robotic lover. All is ok. Maybe this show is just an homage with some comedy thrown in and meant to be light. To me though, the light ending didn't match the earlier high stakes drama which was done very well.
Set Bookmark
CaptainBaggins
Wed, Feb 20, 2019, 2:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: The Changing Face of Evil

Oh fuck of Elliott you boring bastard. Go wank over Janeway.
Set Bookmark
CaptainBaggins
Wed, Feb 13, 2019, 3:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

Nice of all the white guys here to tell Avery Brooks he should shut up about race. I'll let him know.
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.