Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 81 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Wed, Sep 18, 2019, 4:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Riddles

Do the people complaining about "PC" even know what the fuck they're talking about?
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Tue, Sep 10, 2019, 4:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Equinox, Part I

^lol what
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Tue, Sep 3, 2019, 3:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: The Fight

Everyone posting positive comments about this episode HAS to be the same person posting under different names, right? This is the worst episode of any series of Star Trek there ever will be.
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 3:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

Who fucking CARES if they made a mild continuity error with Seven getting drunk? Does that REALLY spoil a great episode like this? You fucking nerds don't deserve nice things.
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Tue, Aug 13, 2019, 4:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Demon

Is Amanda Jammer's wife?
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Tue, Aug 6, 2019, 4:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Vis A Vis

Pointing out that B'Elanna was raped is "SJW nonsense"? What the Hell?
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Tue, Aug 6, 2019, 3:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

What's with all the rude "YOU PEOPLE" message from overy-defensive Voyager fanatics who can't accept that some people didn't like this episode? Why is this, an episode about Nazi aliens, the episode that YOU PEOPLE are so defensive about?
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Mon, Jul 22, 2019, 4:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Concerning Flight

Good trolling, Robbie.
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Wed, Jul 17, 2019, 4:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

I meant to type "score". Don't @ me.
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Wed, Jul 17, 2019, 4:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

Ridiculously low core by Jammy. He starts about ten different sentences with "I must admit I enjoyed..." and the review is mostly positive, but gives it 1.5 because someone said "DNA" at one point.
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Fri, Jul 12, 2019, 3:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

Jennifer Lien walked into work, marched straight up to Brannon Braga and dropped him on his ass with a Stone Cold STunner. They had no choice but to fire her.
Set Bookmark
AggregatVier
Mon, Jun 10, 2019, 3:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

Just finished watching this episode. The Crystal (you can't assume it's an "entity") travels at warp speed seeking out "life" to consume (destroy). If this crystal had been around for any considerable length of time there would be a much broader path of destruction in the immediate warp range the Federation is capable of in several years time. In other words, it would be very likely there would no longer be any life left in within the Federation's warp range. Just look at what it was able to devastate within a very few days time. So, why no consideration this crystal was a deliberately created and released weapon of mass destruction within Federation space. A bio-destroy weapon of unimaginable evil and viciousness? That any communication would already be with a war machine?

Or would others rather talk it out and reach a compromise with Hitler?

Destroying it was the only rational course of action. The Doctor is a hero who killed an uncompromising weapon of war while Picard was moralizing genocide.

Picard should have been court martialed for dereliction of duty and the trivialization of human life that would undoubtedly affect any of his future command decisions.

But, then again, what can you expect from copies?
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Thu, Jun 6, 2019, 7:27am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

Did Tuvix have two dicks and four balls?
Set Bookmark
GG
Mon, Apr 29, 2019, 11:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

This show really frustrates me. I so want it to be it's own thing but I still can't decide if it's a show with serious sci-fi stories or an homage/comedy. It tries to make us care about a relationship between a mature woman who has moved on and a man-child who 1) regrets being the captain of a freaking starship!, and 2) acts needy and clingy, two traits women despise but man-children think makes them endearing (also traits that don't make for a respectable captain). Does the show really expect us to feel the 'will they or won't they' chemistry reserved for greats like, dare I say, Sam and Diane? Or is it a joke on the whole cliche? I get the impression the show is telling us these two are destined for each other. The people in the show are fairly aged and experienced but act like 14 year olds. Maybe that's the point, who knows? Kelly and Bortus seems like the only people who are multi-dimensional. The doctor too, but she's such a fantastic actress.

I did like the penultimate episode's sci-fi premise and this follow up, but it just didn't explore the concept fully enough. I can see if the humor was ramped up to bring home the point but most times the show really seems to be taking itself seriously and steers too close to the surface of great ideas and bounces off. As a sci-fi nerd, that's incredibly frustrating.

The show to me verges on giving us what we had with TNG and feel like we're not getting with Discovery but never let's us have it all. Unless this is all it is. A cute little blend of McF's love for TNG, sitcom ready relationships, and light sci-fi to pass an hour of our time. I strangely do like the show, it has it's great moments. It's like I'm waiting for it to bust out and do it's own thing. I still think it can.
Set Bookmark
Squiggy
Fri, Mar 22, 2019, 10:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

I really enjoyed this episode, and Bortus smoking on the bridge was hilarious. My only real nitpick was that it seems a bit of a stretch that they would have so little knowledge about life in the 21st century, to the point they didn't even know what a cell phone was, yet they watch old movies all the time and the captain even has Kermit the frog sitting on his desk. It also seems pretty unlikely that all the stuff from that time capsule would still look brand new. Not a big deal though, still a great episode. This show just keeps getting better.
Set Bookmark
Boingg
Thu, Mar 21, 2019, 5:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

New Spock is like someone wanted kelvin Spock but couldn't have him so they found someone who is a bit like him, but not like Nimoy. I like the actor and I can sense he watched Nimoy but I prefer Quinto. And that one wasn't even the same Spock cause he's from another reality, yet he was him. This one is too angry, too annoying, too childish. Quinto played a guy who was angry because they destroyed his planet and killed his mother but he felt like it was a shame for him to feel that. Even his love was a secret and something he was only comfortable making others see after his father admitted experiencing love as well. Nimoy and Quinto give Spock an annoying arrogance at times, but he is really funny too and has that distinctive sass only Spock has ("Captain? Please, I apologize, the complexity of Human pranks escapes me." ("Are you giving me attitude, Spock?")"I am expressing multiple attitudes simultaneously, sir. To which one are you referring?").
Set Bookmark
GG
Sat, Mar 2, 2019, 4:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

I think The Orville is having trouble figuring out what it is. A drama? A comedy? Legit sci-fi? Just a consequence-free homage to TNG? All four? The first part managed to raise the dramatic stakes really high. The end of part two yanked away the consequences of said drama with some pretty old TV cliches. One, the kid being the smallest and saving the day, the last minute save of the fleet coming in, and Isaac sacrificing himself only to be brought back minutes later in a time tested cliche. Isaac remaining deactivated would've made for a compelling dramatic arc. Instead it's all glib at the end with the captain saying he'll take future responsibility for Isaac's actions. I guess that has a certain child-like logic when a kid implores his parents to keep the disobedient pet. The kids will have a 'dad' and the doc will have her robotic lover. All is ok. Maybe this show is just an homage with some comedy thrown in and meant to be light. To me though, the light ending didn't match the earlier high stakes drama which was done very well.
Set Bookmark
CaptainBaggins
Wed, Feb 20, 2019, 2:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: The Changing Face of Evil

Oh fuck of Elliott you boring bastard. Go wank over Janeway.
Set Bookmark
CaptainBaggins
Wed, Feb 13, 2019, 3:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

Nice of all the white guys here to tell Avery Brooks he should shut up about race. I'll let him know.
Set Bookmark
Jawdagger
Sat, Feb 9, 2019, 9:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Friendship One

When I recently watched this episode for the first time, I understood Janeway's end dialog to parse to "Neither the urge to explore, nor its effects, can justify the loss of lives. We sent that probe to explore; it was wrong of us to do so naively, but also--a friendly exploration probe's unintended effects weren't a valid reason to kill Carey. If it was wrong of us, it was also wrong of them to shoot someone in retribution, we meant no harm." I think this holds up only because of the "whether it's millions or just one" qualifier; it's a binary statement clearly intended to reference the losses of both sides, rather than a single handwave at the concept of exploration itself.

I'm not saying that that's the way it's portrayed or delivered on-screen, but I'm very accustomed to hearing clearly mis-delivered lines in DS9 and Voyager (I wish examples came to mind, but they do not at the moment) and as a result I'm constantly evaluating the intention of an exchange more than the execution.
Set Bookmark
Togu Oppusunggu
Thu, Feb 7, 2019, 12:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Shattered Mirror

A very fun episode, just as enjoyable seeing it a second time around. Most of all I'm very touched by the interactions between Benjamin, Jake, and Jennifer. It felt a like a wonderful counterpoint of reality to the madcap humor of the rest of the story Devastating to see the ending but also beautiful to see the moment of tenderness between father and son at re-experiencing their loss.

By the way, I like the next mirror universe episode as well featuring Quark and Nog, it was so laugh out loud funny. Still haven't seen the earlier mirror episodes.
Set Bookmark
CaptainBaggins
Tue, Feb 5, 2019, 4:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Image in the Sand

^Great parody of a hilarious overreaction!
Set Bookmark
CaptainBaggins
Tue, Jan 15, 2019, 4:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: The Magnificent Ferengi

This was better than 2.5. And I normally hate Ferengi comedies.
Set Bookmark
Togu Pardamean Oppusunggu
Wed, Dec 19, 2018, 1:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

One other possibility perhaps is that if the dinosaur species was originally abducted by Delta quadrant aliens and traveled through many worlds and evolved before getting to the Delta quadrant *and* these dinosaur creatures were originally slave creatures to the abducting aliens, then maybe that would be a reason to deny their origin. That would be a pretty big story, but maybe it could work....
Set Bookmark
Togu Pardamean Oppusunggu
Wed, Dec 19, 2018, 1:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

Normally, I'm ra-ra over episodes that people here generally don't like, and here it's a bit of the opposite. This is mostly a very interesting and good episode, but the writers left a major lacuna. A species that could leave earth with space technology is also one that would have mastered written records (long before leaving Earth). So how is that the Voth don't have a record among themselves of having traveled from a distant quadrant?

Much better is the alternative suggested by a comment above that these dinosaur creatures were abducted by an alien species from the Delta quadrant. But if so, then you can't have Chakotay's moving statement about the Voths having traveled and survived many worlds before arriving at their new permanent home in the Delta quadrant.

Given these severe inconsistencies, the only out is to say that at some point historically, the Voth leaders decided to erase their historical record of their long journey to space. But this was not even hinted at during the episode and no explanation was established as to why that decision to erase historical memory was made.
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.