Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 29 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Frederick Lang
Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 10:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

When I was 10 episodes or so into the show, I thought of my ranking of worst to best captains. My list went as so:

6.) Janeway
5.) Archer
4.) Lorca
3.) Kirk
2.) Picard
1.) Sisko

A character from the Mirror Universe has more interesting aspects and elements about himself to me than actual Starfleet captains.

I'm kind of upset that this ultimately was the way his character was going. A man who was originally seen as a no-nonsense militaristic captain of a warship who struggled with regret and PTSD is actually just an eeeeeeeeevil Mirror character. I really hope they find Prime Lorca and that Michael doesn't become the captain, because I'm sick of this show trying to get me to continuously like a character by forcing her into every episode, scene and conflict.

The Georgio plotline was kind of head-scratching to me too. Why would the Emperor of the Mirror Universe put so much faith and interest in Michael and potentially damage her entire empire with Lorca running around?

The Stamets plotline was heartbreaking and interesting though, and it makes a lot of tidbits makes sense now, like how Lorca hit that override key on the DASH drive jump and why Lorca ordered Stamets to develop the DASH drive on his own.

2 and a half stars for Vaulting Ambition for me. The progressing storyline for the Mirror Universe Arc is hitting a snag in terms of developing the story and characters at a good enough pace without complete character assassination (like Lorca). I hope that this is the same case with Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum, in which that it's a smaller build-up episode for a story arc finale.
Set Bookmark
Frederick Lang
Sun, Jan 7, 2018, 8:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

OK SO THE SHOW IS JUST NOT HOLDING BACK THE PUNCHES WITH ITS SAVAGENESS AT ALL. COOL.

That aside, today's episode was an amazing entrance into the new arc that I'm glad is taking place (the Klingon War got a little too ridiculous and quickly resolved). After watching shows like Arrow and The Flash, it's always fun to see what characters do and how they act in a "mirror" or "alternative" universe, this case with Tilly being the captain.

3.5/4 for me. Keep the hotstreak going from the last episode as well Discovery. #FuckTheHaters
Set Bookmark
Frederick Lang
Sun, Nov 12, 2017, 9:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Lorca and Stammets discussed the network spanning across multiple universes and they did a botched jump to an unknown location.

We goin' to the Mirror Universe bois. 3.5/4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Frederick Lang
Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 10:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

This episode is definitely centered around the characters and their development.

*We get into Lorca and see more of his dark disposition and backstory. In a dark twisted way he does care for his crew despite constantly arguing and lashing out as we've seen in the past two episodes.
*Saru is feeling conflicted and concerned about his skills and place on the ship. It's hard to imagine how it must feel when a mutineer is seem to be held to a higher standard then a First Officer.
*Stamets was the GOAT this episode with the self sacrifice. I'm starting to feel another mutiny building up between the "We Must Do What's Right" and "The Ends Justify the Means" groups.

Ultimately this was the most Star Trek structred episode so far, with an introduced A plot, touched upon B-plots and character development and it's all nicely wrapped up within the last 5-10 minutes with a slight cliffhanger for the next episode. My only gripes were:

*How did the Klingons know Lorca was even on that transport in the beginning?
*How is Lorca able to see and fight after that light torture?
*The F-bombs really threw me off and took me out of the scene. I know CBS is loving their MA rating but there's no need to go super vulgar.

3/4 stars
Set Bookmark
Alfred
Thu, Sep 7, 2017, 10:15am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: General Discussion

I agree with the comments about the ST:Discovery series. It really sounds like it's going overboard with the SJW virtue signaling. A black female lead with a male name who just happens to be the adopted human sister of Spock even though we've never heard of in the last 50 years?
Set Bookmark
fred fish
Wed, Nov 2, 2016, 1:25am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: The Fight

Well the writers dropped the ball yet again - fiddling around with genetics is outlawed in the federation, but Chakotays' parents had the halluciogenic gene removed?
Set Bookmark
St. Manfred
Sat, Apr 9, 2016, 1:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Journey to Babel

I agree with everyone, an amazing episode.

However, I am somewhat surprised that no one realized a glaring inconsistency in Spock's mother's behavior: when she first learns that Spock might die trying to save his father, she sternly opposes it, claiming that she "won't risk both of" them. But later, when Spock prioritizes his duty to the ship over the blood transfusion, she desperately tries to convince Spock to help Sarek.

3.5 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
St..Manfred
Fri, Apr 24, 2015, 4:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Seventh Season Recap

A good series. It is a lot easier to criticize than to praise it. I consider myself a huge Star Trek fan. When I say "Star Trek", I am speaking of the utopian future Gene Roddenberry envisioned, from the core of mankind improving the human condition itself to economics all the way to philosophical normative ideals. Whenever I watch a Star Trek show, I am expecting this premise to resonate through its fabric.

When I started out watching VOY, I did not expect any serialized soap drama we now find in almost every TV show (the incredibly manipulative, pseudo-level-of-suspense and pseudo-plot driven "Game of Thrones" being paramount here). I expected a show that (for the most part) conveys the serene, humbling and enlightened Roddenberry-vision even through its darker plots. I like the occasional character and relationship development, as well as progression of the Bigger Picture in Star Trek shows, but I never watch them for these. I am watching Star Trek to get positive-normative allegories on where mankind might end up in some distant future, when we finally will have been able to "kill the beast" within.

Bearing this in mind, I think VOY has delivered. And it's these unique characteristics that make Star Trek so outstanding among all these hip post-modern self-devouring TV-shows nowadays, which basically cuddle our vanities and fears of loss of ego and materialistic possessions.

3 Stars for Star Trek VOY from me. Now I am looking forward to watching Star Trek DS9 for the first time.
Set Bookmark
St.Manfred
Tue, Apr 21, 2015, 3:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Q2

I liked the ep, with the exception of Keegan's acting and / or the sudden change of mind forced upon his character by the writers. 2.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
St.Manfred
Fri, Apr 17, 2015, 3:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Repentance

Very thoughtful and well-balanced episode. Contrary to some of you, I think the story was neither pro or con death penalty. Rather, I was left with the impression the writers wanted us to question our opinions toward this issue. With regards to those of you voicing their stance on the matter quite loudly, I feel the writers have accomplished their mission. 3.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
St.Manfred
Fri, Apr 17, 2015, 1:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Shattered

Great episode, nice upbeat atmosphere and Trek spirit. Just what to expect from Star Trek with regards to ideals and optimism despite human flaw. 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
St.Manfred
Fri, Apr 10, 2015, 2:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Ashes to Ashes

While I liked the premise, I'll agree with the previous posters that either the writers were lazy or (even worse) they underestimate the intelligence of the viewer in disclosing the moral conflict of where Lindsay really belongs to or whose claim of her is more 'valid'. Picard would have realized and philosophically dissected this dilemma 5 mins after Lindsay's initial report. And Janeway would have as well, hadn't the writers made her act out of character for plot reasons. 2 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
St.Manfred
Thu, Apr 9, 2015, 4:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Collective

Good episode. A lot better than the WWF disaster, which IMO was the weakest episode so far. 3 stars from me. However, with great actors like Dawson, Russ and Beltran at hand, I'll never get why Voyager turned into a Picardo/Ryan solo play.
Set Bookmark
St.Manfred
Fri, Apr 3, 2015, 3:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: The Fight

Good episode, and underrated. Excellent directing and stellar performance by Beltran. The David Lynch episode of VOY. 3 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Fred
Sat, Aug 2, 2014, 11:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Resistance

not to mention, an amazing musical score.
Set Bookmark
Fred
Sun, Jun 22, 2014, 6:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Empath

How about zero stars? I went through the agony of this episode. Dull. Much of the dark set and bigheads looked more like a higher-class Lost in Space scene.
Low budget? Yep, it looked that way except for the abundance of opticals. The might have been better off recycling The Doomsday Machine or another classic TOS.
The third season is essentially dreadful with Spock's Brain batting leadoff.
Set Bookmark
fred meggd
Sat, Jun 21, 2014, 2:48am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

Great analysis, but you forget Kirk from TOS and his "Clingon bastards killed by son" comment.

yes, trek is not politically correct(naked Ferengi women?) nor is it handcuffed to static persona to advance a storyline, it just rocks!

so while I appreciate your analysis, let's look at DS9 for what it is, best Sci fi drama of all time, even when its characters seem out of...character.
Set Bookmark
MisterFred
Thu, Jun 5, 2014, 10:29am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

Wow. And I mean, wow! After reading all the comments, I must be about the only person in America that thought this was one of the best Voyager episodes.

In all honesty, it's a reasonable sci-fi contrivance that puts together a fun take on a pre-warp culture coming face to face with Trekkian technology.

In fact, that's what makes this episode so much better than most holodeck disasters: it doesn't really matter that the holograms are holograms. Thanks to the captain's love interest, the crew (and the audience) has a stake in the reaction of the Fair Haven characters.

I also have to congratulate the many guest actors. They did a fantastic job!
Set Bookmark
MisterFred
Tue, Jun 3, 2014, 12:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Heart of Stone

I'm surprised you dismissed the B-story so quickly. Nog breaking down and admitting to Sisko he's ashamed of his father is the best scene in the whole episode (and frankly, when I first saw the show I couldn't think of anything Nog could say to get Sisko's recommendation, until he came up with that).
Set Bookmark
MisterFred
Tue, Jun 3, 2014, 11:22am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Anomaly

Yet another TV show decides that torture always works when used against the bad guy. All you have to do is take your Popeye "bad ass" spinach and scream a lot while straining your neck to get answers.

Cripes. Can lazy writing get any worse?

This episode was horrible.
Set Bookmark
MisterFred
Mon, Jun 2, 2014, 2:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

This episode is a travesty. Humans have not yet met aliens. But self-aware sentients should have a value beyond that of what a majority decides to assign to them.

The show's message is morally reprehensible, and condones virtual slavery in the name of moral relativism.

Starfleet should be ashamed. Archer, relieved of command. And personally, I'm disgusted with the author of this episode.

It could have been decent if the cogenitor was not fully sentient. It could have been decent if Archer granted asylum but was forced, at gunpoint, to give the cogenitor back despite his ruling. It could have been decent if Archer granted asylum at the expense of the aliens rejecting all future relations.

As it is, the episode teaches evil.
Set Bookmark
MisterFred
Sun, Jun 1, 2014, 3:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Riddles

I've disagreed with you before on ratings, but here I'm genuinely surprised at your low rating. To be fair, the Reset Button was expected and used once again.

But this is still one of my favorite episodes of Voyager. And it managed the salvage the heretofore disastrous Neelix/Tuvok dynamic in what for me was a completely unexpected way.

Tuvok HATES Neelix. With the passion of a thousand suns that only a Vulcan can feel - and suppress.

Which leads to the double tragedy of this episode - and I'm a sucker for tragedy. The direct one, dealing with brain damage, is more poignant than you give it credit for. Yes, it should be obvious that damaged Tuvok should be taught to become what he can be, not what he was. Yet this is a lesson that people in the real world never manage to learn until something FORCES them to understand the person they knew will never be the same again.

It's an obvious lesson - but it's one that has to be learned, over and over again, so one I absolutely do not fault the script for. (Though I suppose you could argue that Trek mores are supposed to be advanced enough this would be the default Trekkian response.)

And while the primary Tuvok plot was good enough as an allegory to brain damage in our world, the Reset Button is forgiven by me precisely because it's the Reset that provides the real emotional punch of the episode.

Neelix LIKES Tuvok, and damaged Tuvok likes him back, yet Neelix must accept the death of this relationship for the good of his friend. That's powerfully sad, and yet something that can only be cheered on by Neelix himself.

A complex emotional resonance that the Reset gives us.

Tuvok HATES Neelix, yet repaired Tuvok owes Neelix an unpayable debt for Neelix's dedication to him during his recovery. And he has the memory of his gratitude for Neelix, and more, his dependence on him.

But repaired Tuvok still HATES Neelix. It quite frankly hurts him to admit any attachment to Neelix at all. Yet he is compelled to do so to the extent he can because of the unpayable debt. And so he maintains tremendous guilt for his revocation of their temporary friendship - yet proves he will humiliate himself to please Neelix (even if only a tiny bit) out of gratitude.

It's incredibly powerful stuff. Full of exceptional characterization (all the more remarkable since it ably incorporates the previous badly-written dynamic). And while I agree with you that the aliens could have been interesting & some Voyager cliches are present, as with some of your DS9 reviews, I have to say the sheer weight of the episode forgives what would otherwise be flaws.
Set Bookmark
Freddy
Mon, Mar 18, 2013, 3:30am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Civilization

Sometimes i just love certain episodes for what they offer,despite their lack of substance

The first time i watched 'civilization' i felt very entertained by solid pacing, a terrific and innovative score by JAY CHATTAWAY, an adorable guest actress, well executed action sequences and, above all, a stunning production design ( watch all the details in the shop).

In my opinion, other TV-Series can't offer even half of the dedication that was put into ENTERPRISE.
And not every single episode has to be a lesson about right or wrong choices, as long as they're entertaining.

ROGUE PLANET for example was boring AND without substance or any kind of productiom value.

'CIVILISATION' will always remain one of my favourite season One episodes
Set Bookmark
Freddy
Mon, Dec 3, 2012, 11:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ship

Maybe it is because i was about 15 when i first watched this episode. But still - another 15 years later - it remains one of my all time favourites of the entire series.
Brilliant direction, a good score, a great villain, superb character moments and one of the best endings of an episode of Trek. I love the changeling twist and this episode will always be remembered as the only TREK outing where the death of Red shirts is properly dealt with.
This is big drama ( especially the scenes between Colm Meaney and F.J.Rio) and i don't care whether it is out of character sometimes because i can't imagine what effect a tense situation like this would probably have on people.
4 STARS
Set Bookmark
Freddy
Fri, Nov 16, 2012, 10:05am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Power Play

Very entertaining episode and a great score by Jay Chattaway by the way ( which can't be said about a lot episode this season )

And i agree about the always reliable Brent Spiner. An incredible performance on his part
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.