Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 108 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Frank Offenhaus
Fri, Mar 19, 2021, 3:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

Great episode. Solid review.

Just one thing annoys the shit out of me. Rape isn't a fookin "matter of perspective". They should've downgraded that shit and left out the "rapey" part. It's very unlikely that the objective truth could exist with those two perspectives being honest. You don't just invent a man grabbing and holding on to you trying to force kiss you. Either Riker is a douchebag / near rapist or Apgar's wife is a liar.

Should've just removed the rapey portion of the wife's testimony. It didn't add to Data and Geordi's investigation anyway. It just made a strange point that Riker may have behaved in a way that the wife mistook for forceful physicality... or something? Riker's character shouldn't be in that kind of position at all especially with someone's wife. If the wife threw herself at Riker (like in his version), Troy should've sensed deception on Manua but she explicitly stated she didn't. Just made a jarring portion that I can't get passed every time I see it.
Set Bookmark
Frank Offenhaus
Fri, Mar 19, 2021, 8:39am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Price

I like this episode okay. Just a little thin on the "Riker's so good at this negotiation thing" considering he could've destroyed Ral in 1 sentence at the end when the Ferengi attacked the wormhole:

"Excuse me, Premier, I have to go and protect the wormhole which is under attack right now. You should consider what the Crisaleans could do about this if it happened under their watch..."

Drops mic... walks out...
Set Bookmark
Frank Offenhaus
Tue, Mar 16, 2021, 5:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Dauphin

The first episode I uncritically liked Wesley Crusher. When Riker was wooing Guinan in a way that no woman in reality would possibly endure, he's like "nah I'm good". Well done Wes.
Set Bookmark
Frank Offenhaus
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 11:21am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Apocalypse Rising

I love this episode but the biggest problem which I never see pointed out is the timing of the event that moves into Act III namely when Sisko is discovered by Martok.

The entire setup of the devices is ready to go and Sisko is literally about to activate it which would've caused everyone to see the Martok changeling. But when his fake name is called by Gowron, he just stops and walks up to Gowron to be discovered. It makes no sense at all. It's not like anyone knows what this guy looks like off the top of their head. So a little confusion about where the guy Gowron called ensues just before Martok is exposed.

Why Sisko stops and decides to walk up to Gowron can only be explained by accepting that the plot needed to move forward as written in the script which is a big problem for me. instead, they should've had Sisko's fake name called while Odo was dealing with getting the final device into place. This isn't the first episode in which poorly directed / timed events made me go "uh... what?"

That's a lot of writing to cover what is basically a minor annoyance. 3 stars seems fair.
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Sat, Jan 30, 2021, 10:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I don’t know if there are any wrestling fans on this website, but if so, then I kind of think of Michael Burnham as being equivalent to John Cena or Roman Reigns. They have been force fed to us so badly that the audience turns on them. If Star Trek Discovery episodes were a live event, then people would be booing Michael Burnham even though she is supposed to be the good guy.
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Wed, Jan 27, 2021, 8:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I also wanted to thank the community here for recommending The Expanse. I started watching it a few days ago and am hooked. I have two episodes left in season 1. I find it amusing how one of the main characters also played the lady admiral from Star Trek Beyond (which in my opinion, is the only decent new Star Trek movie).

On another note, I have been listening to The Greatest Generation and The Greatest Discovery podcasts for a few years now. Very funny Star Trek reviews for those who have not listened. However, I am completely baffled with their attitude towards Discovery. They think that Discovery is a good Star Trek show, and seem to really like the Burnham character. Therefore, I haven’t been enjoying their podcasts as much lately. So it’s nice to come to this website where Jammer’s reviews are always on the spot, and the community calls out Discovery and Picard for being crappy shows.
Set Bookmark
Franklin Newman
Sat, Jan 23, 2021, 1:12am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Persistence of Vision

This is one of my favorite episodes. Why shouldn't a busy captain relax with a Gothic novel? It's a fantasy, a chance to live a life she didn't choose. No one complains about what the male characters want in their fantasy life do-overs? Why is a rip-off of classic lit so offensive?

Besides, the whole theme of the show is basically about ghosts indirectly. It's a magic battle disguised as a psionic battle, but this is on all fronts a ghost story.

It would have been more interesting, and more focused, had Janeway and Kes teamed up. Perhaps Kes protecting Janeway, while Janeway takes the dialogue of the doctor? But still, the most satisfying way to deal with a villain is to reflect his energy back at him and turn his strength against him.

I simply see this as a rather fun and compelling ghost story. Not every episode needs to be a rock'um sock'um physical fight & phaser battle.

True, I'm a bit disappointed that we learned nothing about the intruder. Properly dealing with him might've made an interesting final scene.

But on the other hand, if you ignore pent up negative energy and thoughts for too long, sooner or later they will turn on you.

Just consider this a ghost story and everything is fine. And besides, that was a brief, but great, esoteric battle at the end.
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Mon, Jan 11, 2021, 7:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

One of the few things I liked about this episode was Stamets looking away from Burnham at the end, which lets us know he is not okay with her (as he sees her as the hypocrite that she is).

I can only hope that season 4 is about Stamets organizing a mutiny to take over Discovery, and reinstate Saru as the rightful captain. And because the Discovery crew would have “gotten a result” in displacing Michael, Admiral Vance would be okay with the mutiny.

More seriously though...

@Peter G

You are right. If you dislike Burnham, and with her being the center of attention, then it is almost impossible to enjoy the show, and therefore shouldn’t watch it. It’s frustrating though, because the supporting cast is all good. Saru, Stamets, Culber, Tilly (prior to this season), Book, Adira, are all good characters. Reno could be good if she was on more frequently, and did more than make sassy comments. And who knows? Develop the bridge crew and one of the actors might surprise you (look what happened with O’Brien in TNG).

Alas, this isn’t going to happen. As people have said, this is Star Trek: Burnham.
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Sun, Jan 10, 2021, 12:44am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Daya

Yes, I found the rotating camera work to be absolutely atrocious. I am unclear as to why the directors feel as though this is necessary.

I was thinking more about Admiral Vance justifying Burnham’s promotion because “she gets results”, despite her methods. She gets results because of blind luck.

It reminds me of one of the few good scenes from Star Trek Into Darkness where Pike chews out Kirk for breaking the prime directive, and for Kirk being successful due to blind luck. Except in that scene, Kirk gets demoted. How scary is it that Star Trek Into Darkness makes more logical sense than Stat Trek: Discovery (The Adventures of Michael Burnham)?
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 11:09am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Chrome

That line with Burnham saying “I don’t believe in no-win scenarios” really bothered me. Saru also said it at the end of season 1, which was also inappropriate then. It’s a famous Kirk line, and should stick only to Kirk.

More importantly though, the writers of the show don’t seem to understand the significance of Kirk saying those words in The Wrath of Khan. Kirk has to realize and accept that no win scenarios do exist. Spock dies at the end of the movie, which is a “no win”. And although Spock is brought back in the next film, it is ultimately at the cost of his son, and the Enterprise. Again, both “no wins”.

Discovery writers have Burnham say those words to make her sound bad ass. But unlike Kirk, she wins in every possible regard. She saves Discovery, defeats Discount Seska, saves the away team on the planet, and then gets promoted to Captain.
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Wed, Jan 6, 2021, 7:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

@Booming

Okay, let me clarify. I am more familiar now with Stamets, Culber, Saru and Tilly. Detmer, just barely. I couldn’t tell you anything about Rhys, Bryce or Owosekun aside from the fact that they exist.

You are right though. Removing Burnham won’t solve the problem of crappy writing. It’s too bad Discovery won’t take the ensemble cast approach from previous trek shows. It says a lot though that Burnham is the “star” of the show and gets nearly all the screen time, yet the other actors have more of an impact on the show with their limited screen time.

And then there is Jett Reno, who has a single personality trait of making sassy comments. I don’t think her as an engineer works. There have been too many times where she SHOULD be in a scene, but isn’t because the actress can just be part of an episode whenever she feels like it. They should make her the ship barber. That way when the actress feels like being part of the show, they can write her in by having a character go for a haircut.

I think if Burnham gets promoted to captain next episode I might throw my remote at the tv screen.
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Tue, Jan 5, 2021, 11:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

@Austin

That was a hilarious post.

It’s weird. Despite Burnham being the center of attention since the start of the series, it never really bothered me until this season. Season 1 I was just getting familiar with the cast, and season 2 I thought that Anson Mount as Pike was so good that he completely overshadowed Burnham. Ethan Peck was also great as Spock.

But now those two characters are gone and I am familiar with the cast. And I have just found Burnham to be the focus of every episode to be super annoying. She just isn’t a good Star Trek character. Perhaps part of the issue is that Sonequa Martin-Green is a mediocre actress, but I think her character isn’t written well and she is overexposed.

A lot of people hate Wesley from TNG in season 1 because he would notice things or solve problems that adults could not. Now imagine Wesley being the focus of every episode, going on every away mission, and solving every single problem. That’s Burnham right now, and a lot of people are hating the character (and show) for it. I honestly think the show would be better with her not in it. Or at least reduce her role.

Here’s another question. Why wasn’t the dilithium planet story at all shown in this episode? Because we need Burnham to first get the ship back. Then Discovery can jump back to the other planet in time for Burnham to transport down and resolve that story.

I am trying to think of another show where the lead character is really not that great. A show that lasted more than a season? Can anybody think of one?
Set Bookmark
Frank Offenhaus
Mon, Jan 4, 2021, 1:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

Not to critique your critique, but the episode aired in 1988. I'm really not seeing where (judging from the perspective that this aired in 1988) "the sci-fi themes are familiar". Having written the review nearly 20 years later, I'm not sure it's a valid critique.
Set Bookmark
Frank Offenhaus
Mon, Jan 4, 2021, 12:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

Agreed on this episode. Except I wouldn't even call the 20th century survivors reactions to their situation "obvious". More like "oblivious". Especially sir Offenhaus who is told by a space ship captain that they are in a dangerous situation and thinks his 400 year old stocks from a non-existent nation state are more pertinent. Worse yet, no one even thinks to ask if there is such a thing as a nation state... or a phone for that matter! Nearly 400 years into the future and Offenhaus absurdly asks to make a phone call!
Set Bookmark
Frank
Thu, Dec 31, 2020, 2:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

There is a Tide is also the title of a short story by Larry Niven.
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Wed, Dec 30, 2020, 7:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

There is only one way to salvage this season. Write Michael Burnham off the show. How amazing would that be?
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Tue, Dec 29, 2020, 8:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

@Chris

The thing with Jadzia is that she was only the focus character for a few episodes a season. So despite not being written well, she was mainly there to support other characters (often a good sounding board for Sisko).

Burnham is the focus EVERY SINGLE episode (except episode 2 this season, which may be the best episode of the season simply just by not having her in it...until the end when of course she saves the day). This is something I really hate about this show. She is overexposed.

Like please, PLEASE give an episode that focuses on other characters who get very little screen. Remember how “Lower Decks” was one of the best TNG episodes? Develop the damn bridge crew!
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Tue, Dec 29, 2020, 6:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

Actually, that is worth discussing, because it shows a couple of really stupid decisions from season 1.

Killing characters just for the sake of “shock” value is bad writing. Yes, Game of Thrones (or a song of ice and fire book series) does this, but certain deaths in those books advance the plot.

Ash Tyler killing Culber was just done for shock value. Tyler could have killed that chief medical officer lady instead of killing one of the few good characters on the show. Yes, he was brought back, but under non-sensical circumstances.

I also think killing Georgiou in the pilot was a mistake. Yes, that death does move the plot forward as it weighs heavily on Burnham. But if the writers so badly wanted Michelle Yeoh to be on the show, why would you kill her immediately? Then we had to suffer through three seasons of Mirror Georgiou, arguably one of the worst Star Trek recurring characters (who is worse? Lawaxana Troi, or Mirror Georgiou?)
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Tue, Dec 29, 2020, 5:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

Well, if we have discussed everything, then maybe we should go back to questioning how the window on the blast door of the Enterprise is indestructible.
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Tue, Dec 29, 2020, 10:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

I really hope that the “mole” who gave away Discovery’s position to Evil Green Orion Lady/Discount Seska/Same Character as Evil Romulan Sister from Picard is either Bryce, Nilsson or Rhys. When asked why, they could just say “I am tired of not being able to talk, do anything, go on any away missions, and having Tilly put in command over me”.

In all likelihood, there is no “mole” and green lady showed up because the plot demanded it.

I agree with a point somebody else made here. If the show didn’t have Star Trek attached to it, I wouldn’t be watching it. It would just be a crappy Science Fiction TV show.

I am surprised with the number of people who don’t mind Jett Reno. Don’t you find her to be incredibly one dimensional? As in all she does is make sassy comments?
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Sat, Dec 26, 2020, 12:15am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

Sorry for the double post, but just one more thought.

4. The dialogue between Tilly and evil green Orion lady was embarrassing . Remember when we used to have good dialogue between Picard and Tomalak?
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Sat, Dec 26, 2020, 12:09am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

A few thoughts

1. Is there any difference between evil green Orion lady and evil Romulan sister from Star Trek Picard?Remember a time when we used to have interesting villains like Khan, Q, Dukat or Weyoun?

2. If there was a drinking game for every time Michael Burnham goes on an away mission, we would all be passed out on the floor. I really hate how she needs to be the focus for every episode. Remember a time when we would get individual TNG episodes that focused on Picard, Riker, Geordi, Data, Troi, Crusher and Worf? Burnham is too overexposed.

3. I found it ridiculous with Michael criticizing Saru before the mission (he is too emotionally compromised). This coming from the person who is continuously insubordinate. Yet I have a feeling she will be sitting in the captain’s chair at the end of the season.

Discovery sucks. Every season seems to have a good start, and then just turns into complete garbage after the midpoint. I’m going to cross my fingers that Star Trek: Strange New Worlds will be good, because Discovery and Picard certainly have not.
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 11:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

I’m half way through this episode, and I don’t understand what the point of this episode is. How does it on any way advance the story?

This episode sucks.
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Fri, Dec 11, 2020, 11:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 1

This episode sucked.

I so badly want Georgiou off the show. I’ve gotten to the point that I cannot enjoy an episode if she is in it. And to have an episode with her as the focus, and in the stupid mirror universe which I never want to see again...I am starting to hate this show (again).
Set Bookmark
Dr.Franklin A. Booze
Sat, Dec 5, 2020, 12:26am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

This episode sucked.

1. I also hate the phrase “The Burn”.

2. I hate that Burnham goes on every single away mission. In fact, this character is overexposed. I’m not saying she needs to be written off the show, but definitely less of her would be better. They could spend the time developing the bridge crew, which would be preferred.

3. Georgiou on the other hand needs to be written off the show. Her character sucks. Discovery needs to realize they screwed up with her and move on. They never should have killed the prime universe Georgiou if they wanted the character so badly on the show.

4. Reno wasn’t in this episode again, which is a good thing. Her character also sucks. All she does is deliver sassy one liners.

5. Why isn’t the blond lady first officer? She is always sitting in the captain’s chair when Saru is not on the bridge.
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.