Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 19 (Showing 1-19)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Sat, Jan 30, 2021, 10:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I don’t know if there are any wrestling fans on this website, but if so, then I kind of think of Michael Burnham as being equivalent to John Cena or Roman Reigns. They have been force fed to us so badly that the audience turns on them. If Star Trek Discovery episodes were a live event, then people would be booing Michael Burnham even though she is supposed to be the good guy.
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Wed, Jan 27, 2021, 8:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I also wanted to thank the community here for recommending The Expanse. I started watching it a few days ago and am hooked. I have two episodes left in season 1. I find it amusing how one of the main characters also played the lady admiral from Star Trek Beyond (which in my opinion, is the only decent new Star Trek movie).

On another note, I have been listening to The Greatest Generation and The Greatest Discovery podcasts for a few years now. Very funny Star Trek reviews for those who have not listened. However, I am completely baffled with their attitude towards Discovery. They think that Discovery is a good Star Trek show, and seem to really like the Burnham character. Therefore, I haven’t been enjoying their podcasts as much lately. So it’s nice to come to this website where Jammer’s reviews are always on the spot, and the community calls out Discovery and Picard for being crappy shows.
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Mon, Jan 11, 2021, 7:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

One of the few things I liked about this episode was Stamets looking away from Burnham at the end, which lets us know he is not okay with her (as he sees her as the hypocrite that she is).

I can only hope that season 4 is about Stamets organizing a mutiny to take over Discovery, and reinstate Saru as the rightful captain. And because the Discovery crew would have “gotten a result” in displacing Michael, Admiral Vance would be okay with the mutiny.

More seriously though...

@Peter G

You are right. If you dislike Burnham, and with her being the center of attention, then it is almost impossible to enjoy the show, and therefore shouldn’t watch it. It’s frustrating though, because the supporting cast is all good. Saru, Stamets, Culber, Tilly (prior to this season), Book, Adira, are all good characters. Reno could be good if she was on more frequently, and did more than make sassy comments. And who knows? Develop the bridge crew and one of the actors might surprise you (look what happened with O’Brien in TNG).

Alas, this isn’t going to happen. As people have said, this is Star Trek: Burnham.
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Sun, Jan 10, 2021, 12:44am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Daya

Yes, I found the rotating camera work to be absolutely atrocious. I am unclear as to why the directors feel as though this is necessary.

I was thinking more about Admiral Vance justifying Burnham’s promotion because “she gets results”, despite her methods. She gets results because of blind luck.

It reminds me of one of the few good scenes from Star Trek Into Darkness where Pike chews out Kirk for breaking the prime directive, and for Kirk being successful due to blind luck. Except in that scene, Kirk gets demoted. How scary is it that Star Trek Into Darkness makes more logical sense than Stat Trek: Discovery (The Adventures of Michael Burnham)?
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 11:09am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Chrome

That line with Burnham saying “I don’t believe in no-win scenarios” really bothered me. Saru also said it at the end of season 1, which was also inappropriate then. It’s a famous Kirk line, and should stick only to Kirk.

More importantly though, the writers of the show don’t seem to understand the significance of Kirk saying those words in The Wrath of Khan. Kirk has to realize and accept that no win scenarios do exist. Spock dies at the end of the movie, which is a “no win”. And although Spock is brought back in the next film, it is ultimately at the cost of his son, and the Enterprise. Again, both “no wins”.

Discovery writers have Burnham say those words to make her sound bad ass. But unlike Kirk, she wins in every possible regard. She saves Discovery, defeats Discount Seska, saves the away team on the planet, and then gets promoted to Captain.
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Wed, Jan 6, 2021, 7:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

@Booming

Okay, let me clarify. I am more familiar now with Stamets, Culber, Saru and Tilly. Detmer, just barely. I couldn’t tell you anything about Rhys, Bryce or Owosekun aside from the fact that they exist.

You are right though. Removing Burnham won’t solve the problem of crappy writing. It’s too bad Discovery won’t take the ensemble cast approach from previous trek shows. It says a lot though that Burnham is the “star” of the show and gets nearly all the screen time, yet the other actors have more of an impact on the show with their limited screen time.

And then there is Jett Reno, who has a single personality trait of making sassy comments. I don’t think her as an engineer works. There have been too many times where she SHOULD be in a scene, but isn’t because the actress can just be part of an episode whenever she feels like it. They should make her the ship barber. That way when the actress feels like being part of the show, they can write her in by having a character go for a haircut.

I think if Burnham gets promoted to captain next episode I might throw my remote at the tv screen.
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Tue, Jan 5, 2021, 11:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

@Austin

That was a hilarious post.

It’s weird. Despite Burnham being the center of attention since the start of the series, it never really bothered me until this season. Season 1 I was just getting familiar with the cast, and season 2 I thought that Anson Mount as Pike was so good that he completely overshadowed Burnham. Ethan Peck was also great as Spock.

But now those two characters are gone and I am familiar with the cast. And I have just found Burnham to be the focus of every episode to be super annoying. She just isn’t a good Star Trek character. Perhaps part of the issue is that Sonequa Martin-Green is a mediocre actress, but I think her character isn’t written well and she is overexposed.

A lot of people hate Wesley from TNG in season 1 because he would notice things or solve problems that adults could not. Now imagine Wesley being the focus of every episode, going on every away mission, and solving every single problem. That’s Burnham right now, and a lot of people are hating the character (and show) for it. I honestly think the show would be better with her not in it. Or at least reduce her role.

Here’s another question. Why wasn’t the dilithium planet story at all shown in this episode? Because we need Burnham to first get the ship back. Then Discovery can jump back to the other planet in time for Burnham to transport down and resolve that story.

I am trying to think of another show where the lead character is really not that great. A show that lasted more than a season? Can anybody think of one?
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Wed, Dec 30, 2020, 7:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

There is only one way to salvage this season. Write Michael Burnham off the show. How amazing would that be?
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Tue, Dec 29, 2020, 8:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

@Chris

The thing with Jadzia is that she was only the focus character for a few episodes a season. So despite not being written well, she was mainly there to support other characters (often a good sounding board for Sisko).

Burnham is the focus EVERY SINGLE episode (except episode 2 this season, which may be the best episode of the season simply just by not having her in it...until the end when of course she saves the day). This is something I really hate about this show. She is overexposed.

Like please, PLEASE give an episode that focuses on other characters who get very little screen. Remember how “Lower Decks” was one of the best TNG episodes? Develop the damn bridge crew!
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Tue, Dec 29, 2020, 6:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

Actually, that is worth discussing, because it shows a couple of really stupid decisions from season 1.

Killing characters just for the sake of “shock” value is bad writing. Yes, Game of Thrones (or a song of ice and fire book series) does this, but certain deaths in those books advance the plot.

Ash Tyler killing Culber was just done for shock value. Tyler could have killed that chief medical officer lady instead of killing one of the few good characters on the show. Yes, he was brought back, but under non-sensical circumstances.

I also think killing Georgiou in the pilot was a mistake. Yes, that death does move the plot forward as it weighs heavily on Burnham. But if the writers so badly wanted Michelle Yeoh to be on the show, why would you kill her immediately? Then we had to suffer through three seasons of Mirror Georgiou, arguably one of the worst Star Trek recurring characters (who is worse? Lawaxana Troi, or Mirror Georgiou?)
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Tue, Dec 29, 2020, 5:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

Well, if we have discussed everything, then maybe we should go back to questioning how the window on the blast door of the Enterprise is indestructible.
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Tue, Dec 29, 2020, 10:48am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

I really hope that the “mole” who gave away Discovery’s position to Evil Green Orion Lady/Discount Seska/Same Character as Evil Romulan Sister from Picard is either Bryce, Nilsson or Rhys. When asked why, they could just say “I am tired of not being able to talk, do anything, go on any away missions, and having Tilly put in command over me”.

In all likelihood, there is no “mole” and green lady showed up because the plot demanded it.

I agree with a point somebody else made here. If the show didn’t have Star Trek attached to it, I wouldn’t be watching it. It would just be a crappy Science Fiction TV show.

I am surprised with the number of people who don’t mind Jett Reno. Don’t you find her to be incredibly one dimensional? As in all she does is make sassy comments?
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Sat, Dec 26, 2020, 12:15am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

Sorry for the double post, but just one more thought.

4. The dialogue between Tilly and evil green Orion lady was embarrassing . Remember when we used to have good dialogue between Picard and Tomalak?
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Sat, Dec 26, 2020, 12:09am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

A few thoughts

1. Is there any difference between evil green Orion lady and evil Romulan sister from Star Trek Picard?Remember a time when we used to have interesting villains like Khan, Q, Dukat or Weyoun?

2. If there was a drinking game for every time Michael Burnham goes on an away mission, we would all be passed out on the floor. I really hate how she needs to be the focus for every episode. Remember a time when we would get individual TNG episodes that focused on Picard, Riker, Geordi, Data, Troi, Crusher and Worf? Burnham is too overexposed.

3. I found it ridiculous with Michael criticizing Saru before the mission (he is too emotionally compromised). This coming from the person who is continuously insubordinate. Yet I have a feeling she will be sitting in the captain’s chair at the end of the season.

Discovery sucks. Every season seems to have a good start, and then just turns into complete garbage after the midpoint. I’m going to cross my fingers that Star Trek: Strange New Worlds will be good, because Discovery and Picard certainly have not.
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 11:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

I’m half way through this episode, and I don’t understand what the point of this episode is. How does it on any way advance the story?

This episode sucks.
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Fri, Dec 11, 2020, 11:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 1

This episode sucked.

I so badly want Georgiou off the show. I’ve gotten to the point that I cannot enjoy an episode if she is in it. And to have an episode with her as the focus, and in the stupid mirror universe which I never want to see again...I am starting to hate this show (again).
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Wed, Dec 2, 2020, 6:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

What is more unbelievable? Tilly from ensign to first officer? Or Kelvin universe Kirk from cadet to captain?
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Sat, Oct 24, 2020, 12:28am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

I am glad to see that so many people also cannot stand Georgiou. For some reason I thought she wasn’t with Discovery when they went into the future. I pretty much did a Darth Vader “Nooooooooooo!” when I realized I was wrong. She is just so corny. It would have been like having Mirror Kira permanently on DS9.

Get her off the show immediately.
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Fri, Jan 31, 2020, 12:51am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

They should call the show Star Trek: Fast Cuts. I can’t remember the scene, but there was one where Picard was talking to someone and the camera kept cutting to a different angle literally every second. I wanted to throw up.

Can someone explain to me why some directors feel the need to do this? I can’t stand it.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.