Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 61 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Franco
Thu, Mar 21, 2019, 2:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

Great episode. CBS should make a new show with Pike, Spock, #1, and Enterprise... and call it Star Trek ;-)
Set Bookmark
Franco
Fri, Feb 15, 2019, 5:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

Production values are the best reason to watch this show. This is how scify is meant to look. However, I'm holding my breathe till we get rid of all this mycelium network nonsense. I am hopeful.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Sun, Apr 1, 2018, 11:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

Since it was all a holonovel it is quite reasonable to think that most facts were altered and others simply invented for dramatic purposes only, like Voyager Doc's holonovel. That could the reason why the characters did not change: historical inaccuracy and artistic license. Riker and Troi could not possibly be such History experts and Starfleet logs could not possibly be so detailed to put up the whole thing accurately.

Otherwise it is impossible to take this ending seriously because it is so pathetic and meaningless.

By killing Trip, the best character played by, arguably, the best of the leading actors, the producers acted like spoiled kids kicking the sand castle they could not finish properly.

OK, they tried to capitalize sympathy on the final episode with cheap drama out of a dumb death, the cheesy rescue of s friend's little girl, and Riker's pointless dilemma.

They failed miserably because nothing made a minimum sense.

One star.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Sat, Mar 31, 2018, 12:42am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Terra Prime

"I'm sorry Travis" this show finale is a mess - the next episode doesn't count for it is a TNG special actually.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Fri, Mar 30, 2018, 11:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part II

Cool but kinda clumsy as well. Maybe because the lighting and the comic book script.

Sincerely the best thing was the CGI Defiant.

The episode had the potential for something much better. At the end, the taste in the mouth is bittersweet.

Of topic question: are Emperor Sato and Emperor Gergiou related? Does it matter?
Set Bookmark
Franco
Fri, Mar 30, 2018, 10:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

Basically a story (?) fabricated on a single idea. Who doesn't like an Orian slave? Unimaginative TOS cheesiness, or maybe a homage to Mudd's Women, but the landscape was eye candy.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Fri, Mar 30, 2018, 7:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Affliction

I am a Section 31 enthusiast since DS9. Why? Because the PD sucks. I can't see them as the "bad guys". I'm glad that we are going to hear more from them in Discovery season 2!
Set Bookmark
Franco
Fri, Mar 30, 2018, 7:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: The Aenar

Good episode. I loved the pacifistic white Andorians. I don't get why they're called "subrace". Such thing does not exist.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Fri, Mar 30, 2018, 6:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Babel One

The Romulans involvement was logical. I saw it coming from the first attack. The advantage of watching the episodes on Netflix is that the facts are fresh on your mind. We saw a Romulan on the Vulcan conspiracy, not a coicidence at all. Classic ST.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Fri, Mar 30, 2018, 2:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Observer Effect

In my opinion, this is a nice antithesis to the "appaling" Dear Doctor episode.

What is the essence of being "human"? Compassion? Sympathy?

It is a shame Phlox and Archer were not allowed to remember their direct interactions with the aliens, but I loved the irony.

To me, the message is bluntly clear: the Prime Directive, or whatever you name it, doesn't apply when there are humanitarian issues.

4 stars! The TOS reference is just a plus, it makes no difference.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Fri, Mar 30, 2018, 10:14am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: The Forge

Full stars!
Set Bookmark
Franco
Thu, Mar 29, 2018, 11:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: The Augments

These Augments aren't bright because they are bully teens who think they are smarter and stronger than really are.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Thu, Mar 29, 2018, 11:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Home

I agree that the debrifing only would make a hell of an episode. The destiny of the zombie Vulcans as presented was too contrived. They were mere disposable plot devices, since Enterprise couldn't give them a ride.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Thu, Mar 29, 2018, 7:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Storm Front, Part II

I agree. Utter nonsense, but the feeling is good, finally completing a long bumpy road trip.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Thu, Mar 29, 2018, 12:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Damage

Excellent episode. "I have no choice" BS, as usual. Archer had a choice and he chose Earth, as the Xindi had chosen attack Earth. Ugly and disgusting, but realistic. I was rooting for the aliens so that Archer would have to make do without the warp thing. But it is OK, sometimes the bad guys win. However, this time, we are the bad guys.

Here the "bigger fish" theory seems to apply. And I guess Phlox did acknowledge his ethical faults in Dear Doctor and Similitude.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Wed, Mar 28, 2018, 8:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Doctor's Orders

One star. So boring and unimaginative, pun intended. 40 min that felt like 4 hours.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Wed, Mar 28, 2018, 8:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

Contrivences, god playing and sick choices. But still a watchable episode because we care about Trip. And the clone happens to be a nice guy too, but a little more sensitive than Tucker, which was interesting too see.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Tue, Mar 27, 2018, 8:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: North Star

When the episode started, I did think I would hate the episode: heck, a WTF TOS like episode. I really disliked the NAZIS and Gangsters in TOS. Simply farfetched.

Bad guys: cardboard, check. Some western cliches: check. But it was sincerely played (maybe, except for Bakula, who tends to yell unecessarily), and the plot's excuse based on abducted slaves from Earth felt unexpectably ok to me. After all, I've far worse in ST.

Maybe it's just some sort of nostalgia. I have never been a big fan of Westerns, but in the 70's we had just one 20" B&W TV set at the house. My old man happened to LOVE westerns. Logically, most evenings we ended up having to watch all sort of western movies available on aired TV.

Any way, it was a really entertaining episode to me because it felt just right as a short Western homage to those hundreds of low budget bang-bangs, as we called them.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Tue, Mar 27, 2018, 8:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Twilight

The CGI effects were great. It was fun seeing Earth blowing up. Well, we all knew the reset button would be pushed at the end. At least it was very entertaining. Great episode.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Mon, Mar 26, 2018, 7:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Extinction

Archer is the worst captain ever. The funny part was Bakula alsmost breaking character as if tired of making that annoying voice.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Sun, Mar 25, 2018, 8:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

Ah the Borg, our favorite despicable villains.

They are the perfect nemesis for the Federation and a Starfleet mostly commanded by humans.

While the Borg assimilate other worlds for their technologies, Starfleet, one way or another, infects other cultures with our puny human values.

I loved this episode. Clearly the Prime Timeline was infected. That might well account for the technological differences between DISCO and TOS.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Sun, Mar 25, 2018, 7:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

Damn, the automatic corrector on my mobile phone changed "congenitor" to "congenital", my bad. LOL
Set Bookmark
Franco
Sun, Mar 25, 2018, 7:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

I loved this episode. 5 stars out of 4. But not for the reviewer's reasons at all.

It might well be possible that the objective of the episode was simply to rationalize the Prime Directive. However, the episode is so good that it can be read under a truly human perspective.

As far as Star Trek is concerned, the best human contribution for the quadrant, the galaxy, the universe, is its own humanity, not its "quaint" technology.

This Enterprise reminds me of childhood when I played with my mom's pressure pan lid make believing it was my TOS USS Enterprise.

"Culture contamination" is inevitable and part of human exploration. By the way, wouldn't the Prime Directive the result of cultural contamination from aliens as well, particularly the Vulcans?

The tragedy on the episode was inevitable, but circunstantial. There is no perfect society but clearly the cogenitals are slaves.

The seed was unintentionally planted, maybe the dead congenital will be forgotten, maybe won't. How many lives were lost until slavery was abolished and outcast?

The beauty of this episode is that you can read it differently and still get something positive out of it.

On the other hand, Dear Doctor, the way it ended, is just dead wrong under the human perspective.

And just to be clear, Star Trek is about humans exploring the deep space; not about superior Aliens who find humans exploring the deep space. We do have one or two things to teach them.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Sun, Mar 25, 2018, 4:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Breach

Another "who cares" episode.
Set Bookmark
Franco
Sun, Mar 25, 2018, 3:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Horizon

Why the heck one whole episode spanking a dead mule?

At least the Frankstein gag was funny.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.