Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 69 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Mon, Apr 19, 2021, 9:46am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Cardassians

@nyghtly
>He's Irish for sure, but there isn't anything to tell us what Ireland actually means in the 23rd century.

It's the 24th century and in TNG 3x12 “The High Ground” @24:40 Data mentions the Irish unification of 2024 as an example of terrorism being successful. So I guess Ireland is one country by then.

Looking through my notes, I only gave this episode a 3/10.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Fri, Apr 16, 2021, 1:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: A Piece of the Action

6/10

I wanted to give this episode more than a 6 but it has no sci-fi theme & no moral dilemma. It doesn't make you think but it's a fun episode with lots of action. Kirk learning to drive was great. At one point Scotty set the ship's phasers to stun & took out a block, I've never seen this used again in Star Trek but it sure would have been useful. In the first draft script there were Romulans in this episode which I think would have been better. The first use of a site to site transport was in this episode.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Sun, Apr 11, 2021, 5:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

I think "Darmok" reminds us that we have to hand wave away certain technologies such as the universal translator other wise the show just doesn't work.

I for one accept the suspension of disbelief required to appreciate Star Trek and other science fiction.

My over all score for this episode is 3/10 as it lacked entertainment value and also philosophical value.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Sat, Mar 20, 2021, 6:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

@Jam'Radar
>1.5 haunted candles

I don't like using emoticons so I'll say this made me lol. I gave the episode a 4/10 and don't think it's anywhere near as bad as other infamous Trek episodes like Threshold or Shades of Grey.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Sat, Mar 20, 2021, 4:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

@Beard of Sisko

Only a 3/10 for The Neutral Zone? I gave it an 8/10 on my last re-watch. Cryogenically frozen humans are a great sci-fi theme. Picard explaining the economics of the future was good world building.

Haven't you ever wondered what it would be like to wake up in the future? All the questions you'd ask, learning about how society has progressed, wouldn't it be great? There would be down sides like realizing all your loved ones were dead but it's still a fascinating idea.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Wed, Mar 3, 2021, 7:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Samaritan Snare

@Crobert
>the idea that phasers can be grabbed by anyone and fired? Phasers should either be biometrically restricted to the person to whom they were issued or, at the very least, require that the person about to fire it has a Starfleet badge.

Agreed, did you get that from Judge Dread? I would go a step further and say that the phaser's firing pattern should be unique to each user so we know who shot someone. Odo would love it.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Fri, Feb 26, 2021, 3:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

@MadBaggins
>Did Tuvix have two dicks and four balls?
@Elliott
>The EMH confirms that “all biological material was merged on the molecular level.”

Shouldn't Tuvix have been really fat, he should have weighed as much as 2 men?

Couldn't they have used holograms of Tuvok & Neelix to determine whether they wanted Tuvix to give up his life to save theirs, would have made for a more interesting episode. May be a court room on the holodeck with all parties pleading for their lives. What if the holographic Tuvok and Neelix disagreed on whether they should be resurrected?


@Circasian
>Accidentally or otherwise, this seems to be about the flamebaitiest episode of Star Trek. The Internet Tough Guys (tm) come out in force for this one! Which is fascinating in its own right, and not, I think, to the episode's credit.

What in the name of Satan's nob-cheese are you banging on about? We're having a debate, a civilized thought provoking one, no one is acting like a tough guy unless I've missed some deleted posts.

@Sarjenka's Brother
>Then, about 10 episodes in, in another season no less, Voyager comes across a Vidiian (or anyone else) with the technical know-how who can help them separate Tuvix back into Neelix and Tuvok. For a steep price. Is it a price they are willing to pay?

That's actually a good idea.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Tue, Feb 16, 2021, 1:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

@Paul C
>I was actually living in Ireland when I saw this episode (when it originally aired there).

Did you know that in TNG 3x12 "The High Ground" Data mentions the Irish unification of 2024 as an example of terrorism being successful? Apparently this was edited out on it's original broadcast in Ireland.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Tue, Feb 9, 2021, 1:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

@SlackerInc
>One thing I wondered: how did Janeway get to be admiral before Picard? Isn't he older and more experienced than she is? .

She crippled the Borg and saved the galaxy from Species 8472, amongst other good deeds.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Wed, Feb 3, 2021, 3:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Vis A Vis

>Does he keep a toolbox full of antique tools in his quarters?

I also noticed (I think it was this episode) that Paris had oil stains on his overalls when he left the holodeck. Did he replicate oily clothing for authenticity? That's some serious dedication to his craft.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Sun, Jan 31, 2021, 4:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Prey

@Squiggy
>Janeway was a moron in this episode. How many times has she nearly gotten the entire crew killed or sacrificed a way home to help complete strangers or obey alien laws?

In 1x10 Prime Factors if Janeway had transported Voyager 40,000 light-years nearer to home, or in 3x05 False Profits if she had ignored the Ferengi and gone through the wormhole, she would have never freed Seven of Nine and would have never defeated species 8472 thus saving the galaxy.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Sat, Jan 30, 2021, 7:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Mal
>@Jammer, perhaps consider creating an open thread for people to discuss some of the classic scifi shows.

I've been meaning to e-mail Jammer about this. I think there should be a general chat thread on Jammer's Reviews and also a general sci-fi thread. Now you might say you don't have time to moderate it, well I'm sure you can find volunteers, hell I will volunteer myself as I have a lot of free time.

If you find someone needs moderating on a review thread you can move their post(s) to the general chat thread.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Thu, Jan 21, 2021, 12:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Lights of Zetar

I saw this episode on Dailymotion last night.

The concept of souls / energy beings from a long dead civilization was good but they did nothing with it. Energy beings taking over bodies was done better in Return to Tomorrow. They could have done something like The Inner Light regarding the dead civilization, making us feel the sorrow of cultural extinction, perhaps letting their civilization live on in some form.

Wasted potential - 2/10.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 5:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

@Bob
>... why wasn't the first and immediate action to run the thawed out people through a crash course in history from the 20th century to the 24th?

I would have thought the first thing to do would be to explain where the bathrooms are and how to use them. They would have never seen the 3 seashells.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Wed, Jan 13, 2021, 1:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Business as Usual

Quark argues to Jadzia for the balance of power to ensure peace, something Kirk did in TOS 2x16 A Private Little War, but the moral perspective was quite different. Having Lawrence Tierney from Reservoir Dogs was a nice touch.

Exploring Quark's conscience made for good character development but this episode didn't have much substance. Still, it's probably one of the best of DS9's Ferengi focused episodes. Overall an average episode - 4/10.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Mon, Jan 11, 2021, 8:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

@James G
>It lasts longer than any other milk, dog's milk. No bugger'll drink it. .

Classic Red Dwarf joke from Holly. Are you British?

As for the episode: 7/10, always nice to see Q (except for that lousy DS9 one, "Q-Less").
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Sun, Jan 3, 2021, 8:44am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

How does Tuvix's combadge still work? Like who's identity does it respond to? If you merged two mobile phones in to one, which number would it identify as? Also why was Neelix wearing a Starfleet uniform when he was separated from Tuvix?

Overall I gave this episode an 8/10 for it's philosophical value.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Sun, Jan 3, 2021, 8:25am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Innocence

7/10 for the twist at the end. This episode's theme would suit The Outer Limits or The Twilight Zone. It does seem unrealistic that the kids don't know that they are near the end of their lives, what does their society teach them? May be they were going senile.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Tue, Dec 22, 2020, 12:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Blood Oath

@Paul M.

3.5 Stars out of 4 would equal 8.75 out of 10.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Thu, Dec 17, 2020, 6:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

If I had to criticise this episode I would say it would have been better if Sito was introduced at the beginning of the season, having her character slowly develop, that way we would have cared more about her death.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Thu, Dec 17, 2020, 4:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

@Norvo
>Michael was reinstated in the final episode of season 1. Remember, when she and the others were rewarded at the end of the Klingon War and she gave this big, passionate "WE ARE STARFLEET" speech?

Thanks. I don't remember that but then again I don't remember most of Discovery and Picard. I put it down to their style being less episodic either that or my memory is getting worse.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Thu, Dec 17, 2020, 1:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

I haven't seen season 3 of the Discovery yet but one thing bugs me. Why hasn't Burnham been sent to the brig? She's a disgraced officer who was serving life, they only brought her back to Starfleet because of desperate measures during the Klingon war. Well the war's over isn't it?
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Tue, Dec 15, 2020, 3:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Two Days and Two Nights

Did anyone else notice that Trip and Reed's conversation would probably be interpreted as transphobic today? It's the scene where they're in a bar and Reed says something like "She looks good", Trip replies "I don’t think ‘she’ is the right pronoun, but if you think it’s worth the risk.", and Reed replies "I'll take my chances".
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Sun, Dec 13, 2020, 6:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

@George Monet
>In reality there is no warp drive. Chemical based liquid fuel rockets are the limit. Getting into space is difficult, expensive and risky. And there is nothing of value out there even when we do expend the incredibly huge amount of resources to do so. We have, barring a complete breakthrough that will upend our knowledge of the universe, reached the limit in space propulsion technology and it is hopelessly inadequate to do anything worthwhile with.

How can you be so sure? How do you know that what ever we evolve in to in a million years time won't discover a new form of propulsion? What about in a 100 million years? There could be life on other planets even if it's very primitive. Anyway. The whole point of the episode is to experience the sadness that emerges from knowing that one day our civilization will be extinguished and be forgotten. How ever there's a tiny bit of hope may be some small part of our lives, our culture, will live on.

It's for that reason that I award The Inner Light a 9/10.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Sun, Dec 13, 2020, 1:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Minefield

@Jammer
>Here we get some Reed backstory that I think works pretty well. Reed is from a long line of British navy men, and to carry on the tradition, Malcolm was even in the British navy himself for as long as he could stand it.

Why would Earth need a navy in the 22nd century when they have shuttle craft and presumably other advanced forms of transport?
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.