Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 34 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Sun, Sep 20, 2020, 2:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

I always thought that the Valiant's crew should have survived and got their own spin-off show, may be have them explore the Gamma Quadrant which was under utilized in DS9. It would have been better than Discovery.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Wed, Sep 16, 2020, 7:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Two Days and Two Nights

@Neo the Beagle

I like your sense of humour.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Fri, Sep 11, 2020, 7:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

This episode touches on freedom of speech and freedom of the press which I've been meaning to bring up. Here's an old thread I found to illustrate my view:
http://nitcentral.philfarrand.com/discus/messages/1041/14282.html?1316247691 - Look at the post by Chris Lang dated Sunday, February 28, 1999 “how can the Internet exist without free speech? It doesn't make sense that the Internet could have arisen and been made public in a world where freedom of expression doesn't exist.”. It's amazing how much things have changed in such a short time.

>I liked the final scene too, which takes place "four months later" and shows dozens of identical EMH-1s working in a mine. One of them suggests to another that in his spare time he take a look at an interesting program called Photons Be Free.

Why would a hologram have free time? Also why wouldn't they use robots to work in mines?

@20:25 Kim says he's only in command of the bridge during night shifts but what difference would night time make in space?

@Ian
>This was a pure rip off of TNGs "Measure of a Man," which at least was original.

Not really, the idea for “Measure of a Man” was from a 1960's episode of The Outer Limits called “I, Robot” staring Leonard Nimoy. It was also rebooted in the 1990's.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Tue, Sep 8, 2020, 5:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Muse

@Nathan Tue, Apr 1, 2014, 1:53am
I was also thinking that they breached the prime directive by beaming up B'Elanna in front of a pre-industrial society.

It's things like this that make me sympathise with people who think Janeway flip-flops on her ideals. Don't get me wrong, I like Voyager but I can see their point.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Mon, Sep 7, 2020, 7:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Life Support

@Trish
I always thought that's just how the universal translator translated it, not some anthropocentric error on the writer's part.

Like when they use the word humanitarian for example:

Brunt chastised Quark for selling food and medicine to Bajoran refugees at cost, describing it as "a generous humanitarian gesture" and that such a thing gives "honest Ferengi businessmen a bad name." (DS9: "Body Parts") .
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 2:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

@Kyle
>Too movie like and cinematic, and not enough character study, or philosophy/ethics like the others had? I like that Star Trek made me think.

This is exactly what I think of modern Trek. That and it's non-episodic nature.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Mon, Aug 31, 2020, 1:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Q2

@MikeyZ

I think the concept and consequences of eternal life was covered far better in VOY "Deathwish". Having said that, this was a thoroughly enjoyable episode - 8/10. Q Junior learned the value of responsibility and friendship, there was suspense when we were led to believe Icheb was dead, and humour "Coffee, black" , "Make it yourself".

Even though eternal life seems undesirable as much as impractical, I would want to live for a thousands in good health (with a young person's body) as long as my loved one's lived that long too.

How long would you guys want to live for and why?

PS: My name actually means the eventual peace and end of suffering that we will all attain once we die.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Tue, Aug 11, 2020, 1:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

I might be stating the obvious here but Bortus speaks like Worf and the black engineer is called Lamarr which sounds like Levar Burton – Coincident?

As for the first episode I give it a 5/10, feels more like Star Trek than Discovery does.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Sat, Aug 8, 2020, 9:57am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

@SovietOmega
>It kinda felt like a blend of a few episodes of Sliders (man I miss that show).

I loved the first few seasons of Sliders before they started messing with the cast.

@Konstantinos
>They enter a planet they know that has money but they do not know that it has the button system?

Good point. Seems like a big plot hole and it wouldn't have harmed the story if they synthesized those badges before they went down.

>The button system also makes no sense because there is no way of stopping somebody from upvoting himself a million times. Or secretly downvoting somebody else.

They probably only receive a vote based on the badge of the person voting, like they connect using bluetooth or some similar technology. One vote per person.

@NCC-1701-Z
>it's effectively an old fashioned TOS style morality play in modern packaging and will probably be severely dated in a decade or so.

What makes you think it will be dated so soon? I think social media and direct democracy will still be relevant in ten years time.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Sat, Aug 8, 2020, 8:59am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The 37's

@Orshko
>but then will it count as interfering with primitive cultures even if their our own?

In TNG 5x13 "The Masterpiece Society" @43:40 It's mentioned that the prime directive doesn't apply to humans. Although this is contradicted in Discovery 2x02 "New Eden" but you could argue that the law changed after Discovery. Personally I don't view Discovery as being cannon.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Mon, Aug 3, 2020, 5:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

I think this episode would have been much better if they found a temporary wormhole back to the Alpha Quadrant, went through it, and then found out that they were the doomed clones from that Demon class planet. Meanwhile the real Voyager misses it's opportunity to go through the wormhole. It would make the story all the more tragic. Would have worked particularly well as a season finale because the audience would have more reason to believe that Voyager is really back home.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Mon, Aug 3, 2020, 2:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: About a Girl

@23:30 A shuttle leaves the shuttlebay with people still In the bay yet no decompression occurs, there's even some wind.

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
>And once again, the Orville is tackling an issue that official Star Trek has failed to deal with in over 700 episodes: The issue of correcting "defects" in children who were born different,

Voyager came pretty close in 7x12 "Lineage", with Torres wanting to genetically modify her unborn baby.

>You know, I absolutely admire the way the Orville isn't afraid to tackle issues that even Star Trek feared to tread. First the animal rights one, and now this.

Again, Voyager came pretty close to an animal rights allegory in 4x07 “Scientific Method”.

@John Lemon
>Sexual dimorphism is very different in different species so everyone just assuming that Moclans are exactly like humans even though they had no records of any "female" of adult age when the whole trial started.

What if scientists discover how to engineer a sperm cell would that mean the end of men? Equally, what if scientists discover how to create an artificial womb, would that be the end of women?
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Mon, Jul 27, 2020, 4:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Learning Curve

Learning Curve
@Nic
>As Jammer said, the Delta Quadrant hadn't got much development yet at this point (just as the Gamma Quadrant hadn't got much development on DS9 at the end of its first season)

To be fair DS9 never really explored the Gamma Quadrant as much as it could, there was probably some missed opportunity there.

@William B
>That we had seen Sito before (in "The First Duty") is a nice touch, but the episode would not have the same power or meaning if Sito were replaced with someone we actually knew quite well, because then her anonymity would only be to other characters in the show and not to the audience.

I always thought the fact that we don't know Sito well made her death all the more meaningless.

@Skango
>Uhura from TOS and the new movies wears earrings.

The rules may have changed since then. As for Troi, I'm pretty sure Jellico made her wear a proper uniform in "Chain of Command" so it depends on the commanding officer's style.

@Dave
>Also, presumably some people live on Deck 13 and were in their quarters, enduring extra gravity.

How come the crewman didn't immediately notice that the gravity was up by 10%?

@Rahul
>(What species is the fat blue-skinned dude?)

Bolian

@Inkspot
>I wish they had given the supporting cast more of a backstory. I would have liked to know more about the characters, especially Garron. It would have made them more sympathetic and I think would have made it a better story.

I agree and would add that the characters in TNG's "Lower Decks", should have been introduced slowly over previous episodes.

@Sarjenka's Brother

Those are some good ideas, do you have any more? I think they should have kept Quinn on as a regular character after “Deathwish” in season 2.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Sun, Jul 26, 2020, 3:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Defector

@P. Fenech
That reminds me of the famous "It's insidious" speech gave by Quark to Garak in DS9 4x01 The Way of the Warrior.

Also this speech by Eddington to Captain Sisko (DS9: "For the Cause")

"I know you. I was like you once, but then I opened my eyes. Open your eyes, captain. Why is the Federation so obsessed with the Maquis? We've never harmed you. And yet we're constantly arrested and charged with terrorism. Starships chase us through the Badlands and our supporters are harassed and ridiculed. Why? Because we've left the Federation, and that's the one thing you can't accept. Nobody leaves paradise. Everyone should want to be in the Federation. Hell, you even want the Cardassians to join. You're only sending them replicators because one day they can take their 'rightful place' on the Federation Council. You know, in some ways, you're even worse than the Borg. At least they tell you about their plans for assimilation. You're more insidious. You assimilate people and they don't even know it."

Makes me wonder how future civilizations will evolve, conquering doesn't have to be done through open warfare. Which cultures will thrive and which will be condemned to obscurity? What will become of our nations, religions, and languages in 1000's of years time?
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Sat, Jul 25, 2020, 10:36am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: State of Flux

Reading through my Voyager notes I noticed that @42:00 Janeway orders Paris to escape the Kazon at warp 4. Why only warp 4? Unexplained low warp speeds have happened in other series too, especially TOS.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Fri, Jul 17, 2020, 7:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: The Matrix

The Matrix was actually an allegory for coming out as trans. See: https://www.themarysue.com/decoding-the-transgender-matrix-the-matrix-as-a-transgender-coming-out-story/ .

I never noticed this before until I read the article. It kind of makes sense, for example once you transition (red pill) you can't go back, or the way agent Smith keeps deadnaming Neo by calling him Mr. Anderson.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Wed, Jul 15, 2020, 3:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Jetrel

@Ken
>First, I have no idea why Janeway is so welcoming to this doctor who designed and implemented a weapon that murdered millions.

Surely phasers and photon torpedoes have killed millions over the centuries but no one is complaining about the inventor of them. Granted they are often used in self defence but still.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Wed, Jul 8, 2020, 2:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Unforgettable

@Leif
>Do people agree with that at least that the episode wasn't derivative?

I think this episode shares similarities with TNG 4x14 "Clues". I only gave this episode a 3/10 but don't have notes explaining why.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Tue, Jul 7, 2020, 6:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

Would anyone like to theorize which episodes between "Demon" and "Course: Oblivion" actually happened to the doomed/cloned Voyager crew?
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Tue, Jul 7, 2020, 2:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

Does anyone else think Leah is a little young to have designed the Enterprise's engines? She only looks about 30 years old and the Enterprise had already been around for a few years before the episode "Booby Trap". I would have thought someone in their 60's would have designed the Galaxy Class engines. Is she supposed to be a genius like Wesley?
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Sun, Jun 28, 2020, 7:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: If Wishes Were Horses

@Adara
>I know I'm in a minority though... I thought "Move Along Home" was greatly entertaining, but no one else seems to feel that way.

I liked "Move Along Home” too but I think “If Wishes...” was the worst DS9 episode of any season. 1/10 for such a lame premise & even lamer solution. Episode's idea was stolen from TOS which isn't necessarily a bad thing but what did it add?. The only good thing to come from this episode was that iconic baseball. Best line @15:36 Kira says "Yellow alert? Against our own imaginations".
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Sun, Jun 14, 2020, 4:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
>If the first image that comes to my mind for "the wife of a guy of ethnicity X" is a gal of ethnicity X, does that make me a racist?
No but I can understand why someone would want Jake to be married to a white Bajoran given that most Bajorans were white. It's like saying he can't marry outside his race. I have to admit I never noticed it before but now that it's been pointed out I can understand why someone would object.
@John
>I mean, if we're going to take depiction of race seriously, which is something I think DS9 aspires to, shouldn't the number of Chinese we see outnumber the whites 2:1?

How come we don't see more Indians on Star Trek? (not native Americans)

@Elliott
What does the percent mean on your reviews? Like Act 1 : ***, 17%

At first I thought it meant the fraction of the overall score that the act contributes to but the numbers don't add up.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Fri, May 29, 2020, 7:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: A Private Little War

Forgive my puerile adolescent comment but that Nona is a babe, she's so seductive: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rCJ1Fs5YQtE

3/10 The Klingons are providing increasingly advanced weaponry to primitive tribes & Kirk is injured on the planet. The discussion of the Vietnam war and the importance of balance of power were good but this episode didn't have anything else to offer & didn't feel like sci-fi. The whole Spock being injured b-plot was pointless. You could argue this episode is pro 2nd amendment rights because Kirk says both sides should have equal weaponry, however I may be stretching the definition a bit too far there.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Thu, May 28, 2020, 8:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Return to Tomorrow

Only a 5/10 for the disappointing ending.
@4:00 Uhura says Kirk's subspace message will take over 3 weeks to reach Starfleet, I'm sure that violates continuity some how with the Enterprise D travelling further but never mentioning comm-range.

@10:05 The energy being Sargon said his species once seeded the galaxy 6000 centuries ago & his ancestors could have been Adam & Eve. This explains why there are so many humanoid species in the galaxy better than the TNG episode The Chase.

Every time Diana Muldaur (Ann) spoke I couldn't help imagining her as Dr. Pulaski, she actually looks beautiful here, she really changed in the 20 years between this & TNG season 2.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Thu, May 21, 2020, 7:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Parallax

@Mal
>Glad to see everyone is coming together in civil discourse. This truly is the unique magic of @Jammer's website.

Does anyone want to join me in a nagging campaign to get Jammer to review more sci-fi and add new comment sections for us to debate and appreciate?

I'd love to discuss shows like Sliders, Quantum Leap, Babylon 5, Futurama, The Outer Limits, and The Twilight Zone with you guys.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.