Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 103 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Tue, Sep 14, 2021, 7:47pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: In the Hands of the Prophets

Does anyone else think that education would be mostly done by robots, holograms, and other AI by the 24th century? We already have educational websites & Apps, and a lot of videos, surely biological teachers would be mostly redundant by then?
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Tue, Sep 14, 2021, 5:58pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S2: Second Season Recap

@William B
>TNG's "The Measure of a Man" and "Q Who" are (IMO deservedly) ranked so high...

I have to disagree with you about that I think "Death Wish" is the best Voyager has to offer, definitely a 10/10 episode for it's philosophical value. Season 2 also had "Tuvix" another fine episode, 8/10.

I think the first two seasons of Voyager easily match TNG even if we're just considering the best episodes.

I find it ironic that two of the very worst episodes of Voyager, "Twisted", and "Threshold" are in the same season as the best.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Sat, Sep 11, 2021, 11:15am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Harbinger

> I feel like we're grading on an ENT curve here and that seems to concede that the overall quality of the show is not up to that of the other Treks.

I've always wondered whether Jammer's reviews are absolute or relative to the particular show. Personally I rate everything as absolute.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Fri, Aug 27, 2021, 4:51pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: We'll Always Have Tom Paris

I'm some one who doesn't care for any 'Trek made after 2005 but I have to say this is the best episode of Lower Decks so far. 6/10 for entertainment value even though it had no central sci-fi theme or philosophical value (which is what I normally look for in 'Trek). I think the references to previous 'Trek shows were a little over the top but I can forgive that.

@Yanks
>Was that actually Robert Duncan McNeill voicing Tom Paris here? It didn't sound like him to me.

It was him according to the credits although I admit he sounded a little off.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Wed, Aug 25, 2021, 8:30pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: Relativity

How come the 29th century time police never took away the Doctor's mobile emitter? It's not suppose to be in the 24th century.

Over all score: 6/10
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Tue, Aug 24, 2021, 5:12pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: Someone to Watch Over Me

When Tom says "What did the counsellor say to the hologram: 'You're projecting.' " to the alien, the pun wouldn't make sense in a different language.

Unremarkable episode, despite some good comedic moments, "Seven of mine", it only deserves a 3/10.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Tue, Aug 24, 2021, 2:38pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: Worst Case Scenario

>Aside, at some point shouldn't Star Fleet ban the holodeck from its vessels. It has proven to be the most dangerous technology at their disposal.

I'm not a fan of holodeck episodes (with a few exceptions, "Worst Case Scenario", "Author Author", and "Living Witness" if you can count that). I've always wondered why it's even possible to turn off the safety protocols. I know Picard put them to good use in First Contact but apart from that rare instance, well, they cause more trouble than they're worth. You shouldn't be able to turn them off.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Sun, Aug 22, 2021, 9:48am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S3: The Mark of Gideon

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HfUXOF0Axc8

Have you guys heard of the earthquake in Haiti? If fewer people inhabited this planet, people living in disaster prone areas could be slowly evacuated to safer places.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Tue, Aug 17, 2021, 11:20am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S3: Transfigurations

@Rahul
"For me, I don't believe in evolution and *one* of the reasons for that is the science behind it is so full of holes..."

Anyone who doesn't believe in evolution and/or believes in creationism should check out Aron Ra at https://www.youtube.com/c/AronRa . He discusses the evidence for evolution and debunks creationism.

I personally believe in evolution even if we were created or given a helping hand (genetically engineered by aliens) whoever created or altered us must have evolved themselves.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Sat, Aug 14, 2021, 4:34pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S3: Defiant

Why does Riker wear his Star Fleet uniform if he's on vacation? Ro Laren should have been in this episode. Could have been a good two parter or even a movie. At the end Kira says, "Set a course for the Federation"...um...OK....where specifically? The Federation has well over 100 planets.

Over all score: 7/10
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Mon, Aug 9, 2021, 6:01pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

@Peter G.
>What Luke may have also been hinting at is that we're entering an age when there is much less consideration of free speech and disagreement as virtues compared to, say, 30 years ago.

I've mentioned this before but I think it's worth repeating.
http://nitcentral.philfarrand.com/discus/messages/1041/14282.html?1316247691 - Look at the post by Chris Lang dated Sunday, February 28, 1999 "how can the Internet exist without free speech?", it's amazing how much things have changed in such a short time.

@Mal

That Eddington speech parody was great.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Sat, Aug 7, 2021, 7:58pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

@Ivanov
Fri, May 6, 2016, 12:15pm (UTC -5)
>ugh This would have made a much better episode of DS9. Imagine it while exploring the Gamma quadrant a strange creature attaches itself to Kira and she is taken back to DS9 for treatment but alas! Doctor bashir can not remove it but a Cardassian doctor in a nearby system can.

I was just going to comment the same thing. Would have been more plausible. I wonder if Sisko would have ordered Kira to accept the treatment had she refused?

@Yanks
>I'll go one further. Why can't doc just download this info and "get smarter"? He already is the sum of what, 5000 medical professionals?

He tried to amend his program in the past (In season 3's “Darkling” I think) and the results were disastrous.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Sun, Aug 1, 2021, 11:53am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

To those who say the time police should have been involved, well future Harry & Chakotay fixed the timeline centuries before the time police even existed so the time police would have accepted Voyager getting home as being “correct” history.

@William B (Tue, Nov 21, 2017, 9:27am)

The idea of family being involved with Chakotay and Harry fixing the timeline would be too similar to DS9's “The Visitor”.

Over all score: 7/10
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Sun, Jul 18, 2021, 8:18pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

@Booming
>If an adult chooses to live like this, that is her or his choice...

I read somewhere that once Amish turn 16 they are allowed to live with/as regular folk for a period of time called Rumspringa. At the end they get to choose which society they want to stay with for the rest of their lives. Of course it's not a completely free choice if they are shunned by their family for not embracing the Amish way.

All this talk reminds me of the parody song "Amish Paradise" by Weird Al Yankovic.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Sat, Jul 10, 2021, 3:46pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S2: Innocence

@Sigh2000
>Tuvok had clearly bonded with Tressa and wanted her to become a surrogate for his own children whom he may never see again. Sadly, he meets her at the end of her life and the only role left for him to play is as escort to her final transit.

This is why reset episodes can be a good idea. Without the reset, if the girl had stayed aboard Voyager with Tuvok there would be no tragedy. It's a similar thing with the episode "Riddles" where Neelix loses a new friend due to the reset.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Wed, Jul 7, 2021, 8:05pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S3: The Mark of Gideon

@Pedro Q.
>It is one of Voyager's very finest.

Agreed. "Living Witness" is my second favourite episode after "Deathwish". I think about death a lot and wonder what happens to our civilization after I'm gone, and how a culture will be judged. Knowing that all culture that I care about will on a long enough time scale be lost in time is deeply saddening to me which is why I score TNG's "The Inner Light" so high (9/10).

@Peter G.
>Not to imply you meant it this way, EventualZen, but usually the overpopulation story is accompanied by some kind of statement about how the human race is a blight. Sort of reminds me of Agent Smith's monologue in The Matrix.

According to the philosophy of Inmendham (https://www.youtube.com/user/inmendham) nobody should have children because then there would be no human suffering. He believes that all life should die because there is no point to life and the majority of beings suffer more than they experience joy. He calls his brand of extreme misanthropic-humanist anti-natalism, “Efilism” - Efil being life spelled backwards.

I don't subscribe to his philosophy but I do wonder what our ultimate fate is. Do we end up evolving in to energy beings and eventually commit suicide like in “Deathwish”? Isn't our planet going to die, and our sun, and all the stars in the universe?
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Sun, Jul 4, 2021, 8:05pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S3: The Mark of Gideon

@Trish
>The reason cities are crowded is not because they are "overpopulated." They are crowded because that's how many people it takes to do the kind of work that's done there.

Going back to what I said about automation, even if I'm wrong about the time period (may be it will take a lot longer than I suggested), don't you think your argument will no longer apply once robots or AI do most of the work?

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
>Solar power and fusion are the way to go in the long run.

What if we never develop economical fusion power?

@Pedro de Quintanilha
>Is it not possible, then, that many of the assumptions we have of past times, if ill-informed, based on our present worldviews, sensibilities, and concerns, and failing to understand those of the age under scrutiny,

I'm curious as to what you thought of the Voyager episode “Living Witness”. It makes me think of how history will judge our society.

This thread has gone off topic, I've been meaning to e-mail @Jammer about starting a general chat page for this kind of thing. What do you guys think?
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Sun, Jun 27, 2021, 1:44pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S3: The Mark of Gideon

@Booming

Thanks for your reply.

I think by the end of this century we will be able to build robots to take care of the sick and elderly. I don't think having a 500,000,000 population will lead to a perfect utopia, just that the average person would be better off and that we would be more likely to meet energy demands once fossil fuels expire. I don't see an end to conflict for as long as humanity exists.

What's your vision of the future? Are you an optimist?

What do you guys think the ideal human population should be?
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Sat, Jun 26, 2021, 6:46pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S3: The Mark of Gideon

@Trish
@Booming
@Rahul

What in the name of Satan's nob-cheese are you banging on about? I never said anything about genocide, I just want people to have fewer kids for enough generations to bring the population down. There seems to be a misunderstanding.

@Peter G.
>The single limiting factor is green energy, really, which I expect we will overcome shortly.

Do you mean we will perfect fusion energy or develop existing renewable energy like wind and solar?
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Fri, Jun 25, 2021, 6:39pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S3: The Mark of Gideon

@Rahul
>Nut job alert!

Instead of attacking me why don't you weigh up the pros and cons of having a reduced population?
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Fri, Jun 25, 2021, 1:53pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S3: The Mark of Gideon

I think that the world's population should be reduced to 500,000,000 (or less) if we're to survive comfortably on renewable energy. Each female should only have one child until we reach our goal. Areas prone to natural disasters should slowly be evacuated. Homelessness will be no more, everyone would have a good quality of life, living in a nice detached home. Disease will kill far fewer, and there would be less suffering in the world.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Thu, Jun 17, 2021, 5:00pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S4: Prey

@Malia
>We destroy insect colonies all the time. Are we "evil"? for not wanting roach or termite or wasp infested homes? To Species 8472, The Borg Starfleet, etc., may be lifeforms at that level, when compared to them.

I don't think that species 8472 are so far advanced compared to the Federation that they view them as insects. I would reserve that comparison for energy beings like the Organians. The thought of aliens being that much more advanced than us is kind of scary, lets hope they are peaceful and don't view us as insects or vermin. Who knows, perhaps we will evolve in to such powerful beings that we are like gods compared to aliens. I'd like to think that we become peaceful gods with compassion for other beings.

Over all score for this episode is 5/10.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Mon, May 31, 2021, 2:40pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

@zanki
>Apparently, Ira Behr wanted wanted this episode to be the set up for the series finale, that in fact DS9 was all just someone's dream ....

I think that would have made a good final episode (better than what we got). In a similar sense I wish the final episode of Buffy was the one where she's in a mental institution and we're left wondering whether it was real or not.

Final score for Far Beyond the Stars is 7/10.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Sat, May 29, 2021, 7:50pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part I

It's been a while since I've seen this episode but I noted that Tuvok refuses help with shaving because of pride, isn't pride an emotion? Seems kind of un-Vulcan and therefore out of character.

Overall score: 7/10, time paradoxes be damned.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Fri, May 28, 2021, 7:09pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part I

@Yair
>IMHO, FTL communication is the real plot hole in Trek. Trek tends to assume the communication is instant,

In TOS “The Enterprise Incident” they say communication takes 3 weeks to Star Fleet from the Neutral Zone. I think this gets ret-conned in TNG because they seem to communicate without trouble over great distances.
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.