Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 24 (Showing 1-24)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Evan
Sat, Jul 6, 2019, 9:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

OK so I’m clearly in a tiny tiny minority, but I just watched this episode and yeah, it’s not great and it’s full of technobabble nonsense, but it’s amusing and presents interesting ideas and certainly held my attention, unlike the episode immediately following, “Meld,” which I’m finding unutterably boring. At least “Threshold” wasn’t boring.
Set Bookmark
Kievan Rus
Wed, May 29, 2019, 1:14am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

"While I'm not a huge sports fan at all, I will say that it (along with cricket and kickball) are intuitively easy sports to understand. "

Amusingly, that is precisely the opposite of the truth. Baseball is this peculiar game where at any given moment, when nothing in particular happens, everyone starts celebrating. Meanwhile, something like hockey, which you suggest is complicated, is bewilderingly simple: puck goes in goal, number goes up.

At any rate, a truly terrible episode and by far the worst in the whole series, handily beating infamous gems like Move Along Home or Profit and Lace.
Set Bookmark
Evan
Fri, Jan 25, 2019, 5:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

@Dave in MN

"Why would the planet they are born on make any difference to the plot?

Let's say this planet was Earth (just to make my analogy easier).

If an alien was born on April 8, 2000; it would be an Aries by our standards and it wouldn't matter if that alien's planet took 30 years to orbit its star.

By that alien's standard, it might be less than a year old, however (barring time dilation hy traveling at high speeds without the Quantum Drive), THE PASSAGE OF TIME IS UNIVERSAL. "

Because when Kelly says "It's my birthday today" she is referring to the specific orbit of Earth which defines a "year" in the Sol System. Let's say she is 30 years old. That corresponds to 30 revolutions of Earth around the Sun, not 30 revolutions of the Rigorian planet around its sun. For her to be born "Jileac" would mean the Jileac constellation is visible in relation to the planet it is seen from, and since it is extremely unlikely the Rigorian planet would have the exact same orbit as Earth, the likelihood of her (and Bortus) being born when that constellation was visible is extremely low.
Set Bookmark
Evan
Fri, Jan 25, 2019, 1:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

Among the many logical flaws of the episode, the main one for me is that all they had to do was explain that since the length of a year is no doubt different in Earth, Moclan and Rigorian star systems, the birthdays of Kelly and Bortus would have fallen on different Rigorian months each year. This should have been evident to a civilization as advanced as what we saw of the Rigorians.
Set Bookmark
Evan
Tue, Nov 7, 2017, 6:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

It's already been mentioned that the Discovery crew feels too 21st century, but there's another thing that has been bothering me. Each crew of the previous Treks has always had a strong international presence - Chekhov and Scotty in TOS, Picard and O'Brien in TNG, Bashir in DS9. Each of these characters had different ancestries, and the foreign accents gave the me feel that the Federation was truly an diverse, international collaboration of a united Earth.

Discovery's crew is 100% American. You don't even get that in today's NASA astronauts, who are employed from all around the world based on their qualifications and experience. They've made sure to choose the Asian actor, the black actor, the middle-eastern actor. Which I do like. But this misses the point, because in this Trek universe it feels like the crew's characters all grew up in a version of modern USA.

I know it's a small gripe, but for me it adds to the insularity and claustrophobia of the show, along with the feeling that space is very small and the ship can materialize anywhere in a moment's notice. Aspects of the show like this only add to the argument that Discovery has borrowed too much from modern television and not fully understood important facets of prior Trek incarnations.
Set Bookmark
Evan
Sat, Nov 4, 2017, 9:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

@Riker's Beard
You're right, it was silly of me to say that it invalidates his entire post. It was just my way of saying that I disagree with his comment, and believe that B5 is the superior show - by far. The only area where DS9 exceeds it is in production values - which, incidentally, is also the only thing that Discovery does well.
Set Bookmark
Evan
Sat, Nov 4, 2017, 10:52am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

@Ubik - I'm sorry, but anyone who calls Babylon 5 an "inferior competitor" to DS9 has just discredited their entire argument.
Set Bookmark
Evan
Mon, Jan 16, 2017, 12:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

Not sure if anyone else noticed, but the ship "Malinche" is named for a Mexican historical figure known for betraying her people and helping the Spaniards.
Set Bookmark
Evan
Tue, Jan 19, 2016, 10:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: A New Hope

Whoa! Thanks for the new reviews, Jammer! I've been reading this site for 10+ years, and it's great to see a new ambitious section here.
Set Bookmark
Evan
Sun, Nov 9, 2014, 9:26am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Changing Face of Evil

I watched DS9 after watching Voyager in its entirety. I read the jammer reviews as I watched both series and noticed how jammer kept eluding to how much better DS9 handled its long term plots than Voyager.

Now watching DS9 and almost at the end of the series, I COMPLETELY understand jammer's feelings on the matter. Why did Voyager seemingly get so much less attention? The two series were produced almost simultaneously. Was it that the whole premise of Voyager's plot and characters made it too difficult to make things any more interesting. Was it just laziness?
Set Bookmark
Name is irrelevant
Sat, Sep 27, 2014, 6:54am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Prey

Everyone is saying that 7 was right. Well she wasn't, you don't just throw someone who is not an enemy to the wolves. Especially when they could have been a very powerful ally.

There are always infinite other possibilities for endings, this one sucked, 1 possible ending would be for the 'prey' to go through the singularity and then come back with a bunch of ships and annihilate the Hirogen hunters.

And why didn't the doctor stop her.
And why didn't Janeway throw 7 in the brig.
And again, why didn't Janeway throw 7 in the brig.

Janeway is a stupid arrogant hypocrite.

Janeway saw the Hirogen as a potential ally but not the 'prey', why?
Set Bookmark
Evan
Sun, Aug 31, 2014, 6:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

It had a "Cool Hand Luke" feel when Sisko was in the box.
Set Bookmark
Evan
Tue, Jun 12, 2012, 7:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: A Fistful of Datas

Geordi and Data do indeed have nerdy pastimes. Jammer, if you haven't checked out the tng_s8 Twitter account, it's highly entertaining. It's full of joke synopses of the fictional Season 8 of TNG, and Geordi and Data always seem to end up in nerdy and childlike subplots.
Set Bookmark
Evan
Sun, Jun 3, 2012, 3:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: Tigh Me Up, Tigh Me Down

One of my favorite episodes. The comedy is subtle and well done. I would imagine that because BSG is an intense show, that it attracts an audience that doesn't have much of an eye for comedy. Throughout the first season Baltar and his reactions are insanely funny. James Callis is brilliant. This episode is a 3-3.5.

As for whether the plot goes anywhere, it actually goes quite a bit.. especially if you watch it again after the entire series.
Set Bookmark
Evan
Tue, Nov 16, 2010, 11:20am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: Tigh Me Up, Tigh Me Down

One of my favorite episodes. Some people just don't get the humor.
Set Bookmark
Evan
Fri, Jan 22, 2010, 9:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Plan

I enjoyed the Plan more than the finale. The finale was just too predictable and had too many plot holes. Knowing that this would revisit old territory ahead of time(and so was prepared), I think it fleshed things out nicely, with Simon and Cavil's stories leading the way.
Set Bookmark
M. Evans
Fri, May 22, 2009, 9:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

The first big screen Trek film often gets unfairly slated for being'dull, slow and ponderous', but there is actually a great deal to recommend about this film. Unlike any of the other Trek movies, or indeed the vast majority of science fiction films, The Motion Picture really does capture that sense of epic grandeur that I've only seen done in 2001 A Space Odyssey and has the most thought-provoking storyline and a feeling of awe-inspiring 'alienness' that is sadly lacking in any of the other entries in the series. For a film that is 30 years old, the special effects have dated remarkably well and most still look very impressive today. The realisation of the V'Ger craft is still awesome, and the sheer size of it, especially when you see the pin-head sized Enterprise flying through it really creates a sense of spectacle. The eerie sound effects and sweepingly majestic music score also add greatly to the overall impact. Where the film falls down is in it's pacing, it seems to take forever for the Enterprise to leave space dock and reach the alien craft, and the scene where Kirk and Scotty inspect the Enterprise just seems interminable. Then there's the characters themselves - there's very little engaging characterisation here, there seems to be none of the old magic between the main characters that was a highlight of the old series, Kirk seems dour and grumpy, and Spock is unnaturally cold and aloof. There is almost no humour or light moments in the fim and the whole film does come across as rather grim. The costumes for the crew are also very unattractive, with everyone sporting hideous beige or grey jumpsuits, and Kirk in a too-tight white T-shirt that he looks like he's about to burst out of. And Uhura has a horrible 70's afro that thankfully was never seen again after this. The sets for the enterprise don't look too good either, with everything being a depressing shade of beige and grey and too darkly lit. I think the best way to approach The Motion Picture is as an epic, thought-provoking Science fiction film in the 2001 tradition, and in this regard it is certainly very good, but it just feels like it hasn't really captured the feel or style of 'Star Trek' - that would be achieved with the following film.
This DVD is the 'Director's Edition' which basically adds a few improved special effects which integrate seemlessly with the original film and tightens up the slow pacing a bit, making this the definitive version.
Set Bookmark
Evan Strauch
Tue, May 12, 2009, 6:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Baltar's farmer ending was satisfying, but I still think that season 4 was waste of Callis's talent. They gave him a nonsense storyline that really didn't do anything for the amountof time they spent on it. Seasons 1-2 were awesome for him.. 3 was way worse.. and by 4 his character was really lackluster.
Set Bookmark
Evan Strauch
Tue, May 12, 2009, 9:20am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Leaving technology made sense to me. That were running out of supplies- medications, antibiotics, even toothpaste. Machines were starting to fail. It was inevitable that they were going to lose technology anyway.
Set Bookmark
Evan Strauch
Sat, May 9, 2009, 8:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Ah, thanks for the quote. If you ignore the harbinger of death thing, it works. I still think that harbinger of death requires a bit of stretching to work : ).

I am surprised at how many people missed racetrack being dead. She set weapons to hot and then was hit hard. Then it cut away from her. It was an obvious setup to me, at the time, that it was going to be used again... then an asteroid hit her and her hand hit the dash... she was not dieing. Both of my friends that watch the show didn't catch this somehow!

But yes, she is quite dead.
Set Bookmark
Evan Strauch
Sat, May 9, 2009, 4:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Great job on a really tough review.

To me, the negatives of the episode were:

1. No reason for Adama to permanently leave Lee. No rationalization will do it for me.

2. I would have preferred more starbuck explanation.

3. Starbuck was supposed to be the harbinger of DOOM. Not just bringing them to their "end." This was beyond false, and really did screw up a ton from season 4.

4. Dead person in raptor destroying the colony? Completely bogus.

The episode was a little below average for me because of these huge glaring errors, imo.
Set Bookmark
Evan
Sat, Nov 22, 2008, 6:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Ties That Bind

Good to have you back, Jammer. The review is dead on.
Set Bookmark
Evan
Fri, Mar 7, 2008, 12:41am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Legacy

Oh, yeah, I recently watched "Legacy," and Ishara Yar is much hotter than I realized when I watched this episode originally, at age 10.
Set Bookmark
Evan
Fri, Mar 7, 2008, 12:37am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Clues

Ah, good to see some brand spanking new Jammer reviews.

You were a little hard on "Devil's Due." Yeah, it's pretty corny, but it's certainly watchable, especially compared to the snooze-fest "Suddenly Human."

I thought "Clues" was a good example of the Trek crew-member-acting-inexplicably-weird genre. It would be 3 or 3-1/2 for me, but hey, I don't have a Trek reviews website.

By the way, your rave reviews of The Wire finally got me to watch Season One. It really is incredible.

Keep those TNG reviews coming!
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.