Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 2,092 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 84
Set Bookmark
Cesar Gonzalez
Fri, May 14, 2021, 8:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S1: To Loose the Fateful Lightning

I liked the chikd actors. The story was a good concept. But it was all over the place. 2 and a half stars for me
Set Bookmark
Eskimo
Thu, May 13, 2021, 9:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Vanishing Point

I CANNOT BELIEVE this is rated so high. So so so wrong. This was absolutely terrible. So bad I was offended at the end that they would seem this showable.
Set Bookmark
Desi
Wed, May 12, 2021, 9:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Tinker Tenor Doctor Spy

I feel like an alien right now but for me every single Doctor's fantasy aside from one when Janeway sees his speech was cringe/second hand embarrassment inducing. Not funny at all. ** for scenes without fantasy.
Set Bookmark
Desi
Wed, May 12, 2021, 8:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Barge of the Dead

For once I completely agree with Jammer. While there are some logical flaws (why would Captain allowed it, also Chakotey suddenly not thinking that spiritual journeys are real etc), emotionally it was top notch for me. I even teared up at that desperate "What do you want?!" rant. I didn't mind religious/spiritual side of this at all. Considering that I absolutely hated religious plot of DS9 ( along with politics and war lol) that's saying a lot. I think that's because religion was presented here as merely an aid in personal spiritual/psychological journey, instead of restrictive, dogmatic authority that are institutionalised Earth religions, at least most popular ones. This was engaging and effective episode. ****
Set Bookmark
James G
Wed, May 12, 2021, 5:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

Very stylish film. Superbly choreographed, dramatic action scenes. Very clever, very theatrical macabre touches. Powerful special effects. Genuinely superb acting, especially on Patrick Stewart's part. The Shinzon character is powerful and nicely sinister. There's some really clever dialogue, especially between Picard and Shinzon.

But this is a film that never amounts to the sum of its parts. I first watched it in the company of a bottle of Scotch about 17 years ago. I started to zone out, and I've always wondered if that was because of the alcohol or the film. I was entirely sober tonight, and it definitely the film. It really tested my attention span. The action scenes are over-long, over-indulgent and unnecessary and they robbed the film of some of its focus. i don't think the plot was that interesting or coherent.

I didn't like the scene with the buggy. Why everyone was so excited about it I have no idea, it looked much like a 20th century motor vehicle, which is of course exactly what it was. The dive off the cliff into the shuttlecraft really represents the whole film quite nicely - it's all spectacle and style and little substance.

I guess B4 was a nice idea. Great shame to kill off Data at the end, though. He made it through seven TV series and four films. Couldn't they have let him live another ten minutes?

Picard performs his own one man special forces mission again, he does this a few times in the TNG canon and it always comes across as dumb.

Well - finally that's the end of the TNG odyssey I started in 2018. Took me a long time to get round to the last film, but job done now. Bit of a shame that it bows out like that, really.
Set Bookmark
Desi
Mon, May 10, 2021, 8:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Warhead

Interesting concept but very shaky execution. I liked that this is Kim's episode - unlike, it seems the mayority of Voyager's watchers, I really like the guy and empathise with him a lot. **
Set Bookmark
Desi
Mon, May 10, 2021, 6:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Relativity

I loved this episode. First two thirds were tense and somewhat creepy (destruction of Voyager, mysterious device no one but Seven can see), last third was entertaining and funny ( Janeway's always hillarious and relateble reaction to time travel, Seven having high opinion of Seven, captain being arrested before he had done anything). I enjoyed it immensely and it had brightened my day.
**** from me :D
Set Bookmark
James White
Fri, May 7, 2021, 9:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Stop watching ST and get out for awhile. Jesus
Set Bookmark
EmpressHoshiSato
Fri, May 7, 2021, 4:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part II

@Cetric - You underestimate the power of Empress Hoshi Sato. Not entirely sure why she didn't just ally herself with Archer and rule the galaxy together. But either way, humanity has shown its loyalty to dynasties and capable and persuasive leadership before.

@SomeCommentator - I got the impression that the Defiant would be a decisive factor in the war and that Earth would now prevail given it was vastly superior to any ship of that era - human, or otherwise. I guess, once some "new" government was created/imposed, they would indeed go about reverse engineering the ship to upgrade others, and go on a major offensive and crush the "insignificant rebellion."

I don't subscribe that humanity would just be totally pure evil though. Indeed the episodes did hint at some humans (not all) not having a problem with aliens per se. Just that they wanted the Earth Empire to govern the planets in question. Instead of a voluntary Federation.

From what I understand, given these episodes didn't link with the main series, there were some novels of some sort that showed Hoshi's line continuing until we eventually reach the 24th century and the Earth Empire encounters the main universe we know and the Enterprise E crew?

Enjoyable two parter. Maybe it relating to the main show might have helped. I also would have preferred at least SOME loyalty to their Captain, than a constant set of characters throwing punches.
Set Bookmark
EmpressHoshiSato
Fri, May 7, 2021, 3:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Q Who

Q's speech near the end is pure gold.
Set Bookmark
EmpressHoshiSato
Fri, May 7, 2021, 3:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

Why would they not choose to clone several Deanna Troi's?
Set Bookmark
EmpressHoshiSato
Fri, May 7, 2021, 3:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

I enjoyed Into Darkness in terms of its plot. Personally thought it was better than the 2009 movie. Not keen on the beaming technology device thing. Nor on the different weaponry than we are used to. A few plot holes too. Enjoyable as a film though.

There also needed to be more pushback against Marcus' tactics which clearly are not in keeping with the morals and regulations of Starfleet. The opening scene with the Prime Directive, I enjoyed.

One has to agree that Khan had a point. Though initially when he sought vengeance, when he came to realise his people were alive, it seemed like he had reached a point where he was willing to accept the consequences of his actions provided someone honourable (like Kirk) would abide by the rules instead of someone like Marcus who tried to kill him.

The Enterprise didn't seem to have much of a battle though. Hardly fired a shot. The Vengeance to me looked like the Enterprise D.

Thing is Section 31 was always shown to be working in the interests of the Federation and bending the rules. It was not shown to actively engage in killing Starfleet officers, or Federation citizens. So it seems a stretch at the end. Furthermore, are there just zero ships around Earth, or any sensors, or Starbase watching this battle take place and wondering what's going on?

I feel like the Asian lady at the start of the film was familiar.

Starfleet Headquarters seems woefully undefended.

One wonders if Marcus has a point with regards to his plan to boost Starfleet's capacity. Starting a war though seems a very silly and un-Federation thing to do. I do agree on the point about Uhura reaching a peace with the Klingons would have been better. You could have had one ship turn up suddenly and fire on them in that scene, instead of the conversation and the Klingon hears about honour, but decides to kill her anyway.

There don't seem to be enough Starships around.

Enjoyable as a film.

If one isn't keen, at least one can take these as an alternative universe unlike what they shamelessly did to the Star Wars saga.
Set Bookmark
EmpressHoshiSato
Fri, May 7, 2021, 3:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

The film was enjoyable enough to watch as an action film.

Though I'd have preferred if they did NOT change time. The alternative universe angle serves only one purpose - which is to maintain the continuity of the other Star Trek films. But in other films we have always maintained the timeline when time travel is involved (Voyage Home and First Contact).

I didn't like this alternative universe aspect and certain lense flare or character behaviours from Spock who seemed too out of control sometimes. Uhura was great. The film needed to slow down sometimes. The opening was interesting (though the Romulan ship should not have been changing time) with very touching music for sure. And the scene with Kirk looking up at the Shipyard was also decent.

Could have been done slightly differently I guess to make it a little more wholesome as a Star Trek film. The cast for the younger versions of the Kirk era were pretty good. I do agree that the beaming so far away seems lore breaking though. With such technology, you'd hardly need Starships.

Also I do not see how Captain Spock would have the right to give orders that his first officer be ejected from the Enterprise!

Also shields seem non existent. Whilst I get the Romulan ship was far more powerful from the future, the Enterprise doesn't seem to have any shielding when hitting objects in space like the debris field. You don't see the debris graze shields and overwhelm them, instead you just see the ship itself be scratched.

The scene above Titan looked good. The thing is the film visually looked great. But I'd rather them have done this in a way that didn't create an alternative universe.
Set Bookmark
EmpressHoshiSato
Fri, May 7, 2021, 3:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

This film had a lot of potential and the battle scene near the end was decent.

I do agree that the scene with Troi and the mind was not particularly good viewing and seemed very unnecessary.

Also, the Federation send just one ship to Romulus itself? Not to a neutral location? Though the Scimitar was a purpose designed vessel, I would still like to see our Enterprise E hold its own for a while until they used some special weapon, or something.

I'm not sure I bought the accent of the "young" Picard clone Shinzon.

Above all I am not keen on the loss of Data. That is the biggest no for me. I'd have preferred him to have lived. If you wanted someone to make a sacrifice, I'd rather have had the other android perhaps understand the situation and make the sacrifice.

Or come on, there has to be a way - somehow - to do the same battle, but Data survives.

The lady Romulan commander was pretty cool. I will say this - the battles in this film were much nicer than the lense flare and pew pew for just a few seconds in the new films.

The story of this film needed some tweaking. Or I guess a different premise. And Data must live!
Set Bookmark
EmpressHoshiSato
Fri, May 7, 2021, 3:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Insurrection

Interesting comment above - "I agree with the person who posted that Patrick Stewart thought that should be the theme for a trilogy of movies. I agree: A battle for the soul of the Federation, as members cross lines that shouldn't be crossed."

True. This film was not bad, but I can see the argument that it felt like a TV episode. Perhaps with a bit more of a serious tone at the start, and maybe with the potential for a civil war within Starfleet over the best way forward for the Federation, it could add some weight to it. Especially since the Federation Council had already given orders to the Admiral to okay this plan.

You'd then have the tension of Starfleet potentially firing upon other Starfleet vessels and Picard maybe giving an impassioned speech to honour the ideals they were sworn to uphold.

I did like the Baku lady, Word was funny, Deanna, Geordi's eyes scene which was very moving to be able to see, and the Enterprise E in general.

I'm not sure I'd have had the Enterprise E struggle that much even though they weren't outfitted for that type of space. Perhaps have them severely outnumbered rather than just facing two ships to explain that difficulty.

You could have had an interesting scene of events with Starfleet ships ordered to suppress the "Insurrection" of the flagship and then Picard sway them with words and impress sanity upon the Federation Council again.
Set Bookmark
EmpressHoshiSato
Fri, May 7, 2021, 3:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: First Contact

A beautiful film. Truly inspiring and a great story.

I LOVE the Enterprise E. Sleek and elegant.

The film shows us Earth at a crucial stage, the reveal of the first aliens we encounter is superbly done. The music is just PHENOMENAL. What a soundtrack.

The way time travel is used, whilst maintaining the timeline - I .e. that this was predetermined that the Enterprise helps events take place - was very well done.

Really great film all around. This is what Star Trek should be about and shows that you can have action with a great storyline, soundtrack and humour with context.

@JamesG - They didn't notice the Starship Enterprise E in orbit, because they intentionally hid behind the Moon, observing the Vulcans from a distance.
Set Bookmark
EmpressHoshiSato
Fri, May 7, 2021, 3:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home

@Mal

This is honestly a wonderful film. I love this film and First Contact. These are Star Trek films. The dialogue you quoted was also just brilliant. I like seeing when our future Star Trek characters interact with our present (their past). Spock trying to grasp human vocabulary and the rest trying to understand money (and the Doctor appalled by the barbarism of our present day medicine!) was wonderful.

I do concur. What happened to Star Trek? I used to love watching TNG, Voyager and Enterprise.
Set Bookmark
EmpressHoshiSato
Fri, May 7, 2021, 3:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

@Dave_in_MN

Thank you. It's EmpressHoshi (like the Hoshi of the Mirror episode mwah ha ha).

I just wish we had the real Star Trek inspiration of the past. Was watching TNG Pegasus the other day and thinking what a great episode. That is the type of thing we COULD have seen in the Picard show. Of two, or three viewpoints about how Starfleet, how the Federation, and how humanity should evolve from here. Indeed didn't Q mention the trial never stops as well.

I personally would have preferred if Data was just rescued somehow and alive. Then have him experiment with an ageing programme to explain his greying hair if necessary.

Instead we got no exposition of the galaxy. And people swearing with the F word which is unthinkable in Star Trek. No real story either nor inspiring characters.

If you take First Contact or the Voyage Home, they were both inspiring. Insurrection provided a potential storyline they could've followed here with the Federation Council perhaps going against the principles of the Federation again and for that reason Picard returning.

Action scenes need to have context to make it enjoyable. For now, it seems like there isn't really any story whatsoever and that's really saddening given the massive potential that's there. I thought Voyager could have ended slightly better, but loved that show. Still have to watch all of DS9. Loved Enterprise, and again that show felt like Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
EmpressHoshiSato
Wed, May 5, 2021, 3:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Worst Case Scenario

I loved this episode. Firstly very clever opening. I loved the Holodeck programme as a concept of a Mutiny.

Indeed, I would actually have liked to have seen an attempted Mutiny in an actual episode which could have been a thrilling thing to thrash out.
Set Bookmark
EmpressHoshiSato
Wed, May 5, 2021, 3:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Cold Station 12

Solid episode. I do agree with a comment above, if an understanding of peace was reached between the Augments that already exist and Humanity, surely there would be peaceful co-existence just as with any other species that Earth encounters and hopes to establish good relations with?

Hell, they could even prove to be a great ally. Persis as a character I really liked. Not only extremely attractive physically, but she seemed to be someone who thought a lot. We didn't necessarily see a lot of the others in the background, but it appeared that not all of them were necessarily as "lost" as the self proclaimed leader of them.

Very good episode. Not sure why that Station doesn't have much much better Security though.
Set Bookmark
EmpressHoshiSato
Wed, May 5, 2021, 3:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Borderland

Really good episode. Good acting by Spiner. Interesting concept also.

Persis (Abby Brammell), damn she looked good. Really good. Personally I would have welcomed her back to Earth with open arms.

A certain part of me wondered though, if the Augments could be persuaded to stop attacking Klingon ships, what precisely is the problem with them now that they have already been created? There doesn't seem to be a stated desire on their part to conquer Earth.
Set Bookmark
EmpressHoshiSato
Wed, May 5, 2021, 2:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

@Stella

Same here. There was so much potential. The series could have had Picard as a father figure of Starfleet and the Federation. Had the Enterprise E (or F?). Had Picard occasionally pranked by Q. Shown us a Federation that was trying to rediscover its spirit post the war against the Dominion etc.

Indeed, could have indeed shown us "the economics of the future" and inspired awe like the film First Contact.

As for the wine farm, one would assume that resources are virtually infinite and costless on Earth where there is no money and the technology allowing one to make wine the old fashioned way and give it to enthusiasts. Perhaps it could be simply done for pleasure, done to "taste the good stuff" for those not keen on the replicated synthetic stuff or traded in a bartering manner.

The fine wine would have to compete equally with Klingon blood wine given their Alliance I suppose. However, perhaps the Federation places massive tariffs on any incoming Cardassian Four Lights blend into their market.

I'm not sure we see enough of Earth as a utopia and the vision of humanity that Star Trek is meant to epitomise. Especially as this is meant to be the furthest out in the future we have ever seen on screen. War, poverty, disease are meant to have been gone for centuries.
Set Bookmark
EmpressHoshiSato
Wed, May 5, 2021, 2:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Blink of an Eye

Firstly this was an absolutely beautiful episode of Voyager and epitomises what Star Trek is about. Just wonderful episode. Moving, interesting and awe inspiring. Lovely.

The visual effects, the concept and story were really nicely done. Five star episode.

As far as the people of this planet go and progress at such a rapid rate given the time factor, I do concur on the notion of this civilisation becoming virtually omnipotent at some point. Indeed, I would love if these were the beings we come to know as the Q, having mastered all of time and space. Would indeed provide another reasoning for their "interest" in humanity.
Set Bookmark
James White
Tue, May 4, 2021, 1:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

You need his review to tell you this movie was dogshit?
Set Bookmark
Eskimo
Thu, Apr 29, 2021, 11:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Singularity

I actually ADORED this episode. I found it especially amusing that future red alert system and the tactical chair came from like 12 hours of paranoia. Wonderful.
Next ►Page 1 of 84
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.