Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 23 (Showing 1-23)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Eric S
Fri, Aug 13, 2021, 6:13pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S6: Unimatrix Zero, Part I

Did anyone notice this. While the borg attacked the matrix, Axum talked about Hirojin hunting parties? I thought it was said in an earlier episode that the borg have not encountered the Hirojin yet.
Set Bookmark
Eric S
Wed, Aug 11, 2021, 1:17am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

“Scuse me” lol loved the review but I also liked this episode. Yea it was full of holes but overall it was amusing.
Set Bookmark
Eric S
Tue, Aug 10, 2021, 8:52pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S6: Virtuoso

Does anyone rally view the Doc as a person. I can’t bring myself to think of him of more than a sophisticated subroutine. “Hell no you’re not leaving Doc, you don’t really WANT to leave, you’re just programmed to act this way, so I’m rewriting your program.”
Set Bookmark
Eric S
Fri, Aug 6, 2021, 8:36pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: Equinox, Part I

One of the rare times we see Torres smile. Maybe cause an old flame arrived lol. Tom clearly isn’t doing his job
Set Bookmark
Eric S
Fri, Aug 6, 2021, 8:34pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: Equinox, Part I

I hate Janeway. Such a hypocrite with her “not breaking prime direct”. Also, she was willing to destroy and kill the EQ crew trying while trying pretend she was the epitome of a star fleet officer.
Set Bookmark
Eric S
Thu, Aug 5, 2021, 10:08pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: Juggernaut

@ Sloaches
They probably drank Neelix’s soup lol
Set Bookmark
Eric S
Wed, Aug 4, 2021, 11:03pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: The Disease

What a great review lol. But the episode is 2.5 stars IMO, there’s been worse. Janeway is such a hypocrite in almost every way. Sex, prime directive, and so on.
Set Bookmark
Eric S
Wed, Aug 4, 2021, 7:45pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: Gravity

Glad to see many comments stating how obnoxious Paris is in this episode. Leave Tuvok alone, if he doesn’t want to get into a relationship, for whatever reason, that’s Tuvok’s problem, not Tom’s.
Set Bookmark
Eric S
Wed, Aug 4, 2021, 12:10am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

They messed up on this. During the last scene, the telepaths are seen leaving by shuttle, however, where is Tuvok and Vorik? Wouldn’t they have been detecting if they were beamed out? Or they went through the wormhole with the other telepaths?
Set Bookmark
Eric S
Tue, Aug 3, 2021, 12:30am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: Infinite Regress

Lol whenever Tuvok or any Vulcan recommends a mind meld, we always get the usual protest from a doctor only for the meld to proceed anyways. Can we just skip the predictable protest?
Set Bookmark
Eric S
Sun, Aug 1, 2021, 11:50pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

One of the things that 8472 got wrong was the number of Ferangi star fleet officers. I saw at least 3 of them when in reality Nog was the first and only Ferangi to join star fleet.
Set Bookmark
Eric S
Wed, Dec 16, 2020, 9:28am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

I watched this episode on Netflix 2 months ago.... I cannot stop having detailed dreams about The Spectre. I have an extremely strong urge when I wake up to find/have/wear the costume. It has become an obsession controlling all parts of my life. Does anyone have any information about where the prop may have ended up? Money is no issue.
Set Bookmark
Eric Saavedra
Thu, Jul 9, 2020, 11:50pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

Great show but one of my complaints here is how much the changelings can take different forms. Seriously?? Fog and fire?? How can they give off heat and light as fire without losing mass? Also in the opening scene when Lass was bigger than the shuttle or when Odo becomes as small as a bird in other episodes. They should have limited the changelings to physical sizes comparable to their volume and not be able to become “energy forms” such as fire.
Set Bookmark
Eric Saavedra
Tue, Jul 7, 2020, 7:19pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

Worf really got on my nerves in this one, especially in the Dr Bashir scene. Seriously, why isn’t this guy ever charged with assault and removed from Starfleet. It’s not the first time he puts his hands on a fellow officer. Everyone always tries to appease Worf and and all the Klingons. In fact, I hate the Klingons. The only one I liked was Martok, and even he got my nerves occasionally.
Set Bookmark
Eric Saavedra
Thu, Jul 2, 2020, 10:44am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S5: Business as Usual

Lol how many time must Quark be in financial trouble. I guess he isn’t a good businessman. He doesn’t even pay rent or maintenance.
Set Bookmark
Eric Saavedra
Thu, Jul 2, 2020, 12:08am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S5: Doctor Bashir, I Presume

Rewatching this now and Dr. Bashir really got on my nerves here. He was being extremely rude to his father.
Set Bookmark
Eric S
Thu, Jul 18, 2019, 12:55am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

Rom was more annoying than usual in this one. Seriously, can’t even throw a ball?? I just wish there was an episode where Rom would get shot by the Jem’hadar with anticoagulant rifle and die slowly like Quique Muñiz in episode “Starship Down”.
Set Bookmark
Eric S
Thu, Jul 18, 2019, 12:29am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

I seriously hate how everyone has to accommodate Worf’s or the Klingons’ feelings/culture/customs etc... Worf should’ve been charged with assault. Who cares what Worf wants, if Julian wants to tap that a**, then he can. Afterwards, O’Brian goes to see “what’s bothering Worf” to make him feel better. Chief!! Worf just assaulted your best mate.
Set Bookmark
Eric Stillwell
Tue, Aug 8, 2017, 7:00pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

I would like to thank Jamahl Epsicokhan for the lovely review -- not sure exactly when it was written, but I'm assuming maybe a decade ago!?!

As the co-writer of the story for Yesterday's Enterprise, I'd like to thank all of you who enjoyed the episode, whether you consider it a classic or otherwise.

For those of you who enjoy the pastime of nitpicking, let me just say: It's a television show! If science fiction writing was based entirely on the proposition that everything must be logical and scientifically accurate, then Star Trek would not exist -- because traveling faster than the speed of light is not possible.

And trust me, my writing partner and I struggled through several story drafts trying to find a way to logically, factually establish a basis for Picard's decision to send the Enterprise-C back through the rift, but given that the timeline has been altered and no evidence to the contrary exists, it was Michael Piller's idea to give Guinan the extraordinary alien gift of perception through time and space. Ultimately, I think it worked nicely and established the unique relationship that exists between Picard and Guinean, especially in future episodes and even Star Trek Generations.

Peace to all! Thanks for the passion.
Set Bookmark
Eric S.
Sat, Apr 29, 2017, 1:15pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S2: The Ultimate Computer

There's one thing about this episode that has always cracked me up, and nobody really ever seems to mention it. When the Enterprise begins firing on the other ships Wesley instantly jumps to the conclusion that Kirk, a good friend a respected starfleet captain, has lost his mind and is trying to "prove something" by killing everyone. Not for one second does he consider that maybe, just maybe, the brand new prototype computer that they are in the process of testing might be malfunctioning. So Wesley is either incredibly stupid or he really doesn't think much of Kirk.
Set Bookmark
Eric Sipple
Wed, Apr 29, 2009, 6:36pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

I remembered it as being 3 prophecies, but it was actually one big dream of foreshadowing. But there were three big things dropped that literally got explained in dialogue a season later. They were:

1) "The man in between is searching for you." - Which turned out to mean that there was a previously unseen human emissary of the Shadows who showed up for an episode, gave a weird-hand-gestured speech and then died (Z'Ha'Dum)

2) Sheridan is "the hand". This explanation was so poor that I actually had to look it up and it's still kind of crap. Basically it was that he was one half of two opposing forces. One hand of two.

3) Ivonova asks, in the dream, "Do you know who I am?" Which refers to her having latent psionic abilities.

At one point in the dream Sheridan is also wearing the Psi Corp uniform, which meant that he'd be working with them at some point. Sigh.

JMS clearly knew exactly where he was going with these, but they didn't add anything to the show and were - at least to me - massively disappointing when revealed.
Set Bookmark
Eric Sipple
Wed, Apr 29, 2009, 8:10am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

I've always respected RDM for being so up-front about not having things planned out and changing directions off the cuff. He's never been anything but clear that this is is writing style. This is how he likes to work.

It's disheartening to see people knock him for it out of hand, as if the only measure of good storytelling is how tightly planned the plot was. I think it's fair to say you wished things had lined up better, but that's a problem of execution, not of style.

And I'd be skeptical of writers who say they have everything planned and know where their series is going and have the end planned out. With the exception of Babylon 5, I strongly believe this is rarely the case.

Most writers make lots of things up as they go, even if they had a plan at the start. In fact, following a plan can lead you down the same path of incoherency if you're not careful. Just because it made sense in outline does not mean it actually makes sense when played out.

And frankly a lot of writers lie at the outset of their shows to get fans to buy into their premises. RDM was always honest. More so, he was as up front as you could be about both the successes of his off the cuff approach and the failures.

I think people are confusing not liking the end of the series with it being some kind of flaw in RDM's approach. I disagree.

I love B5, but I could point to plot developments that were just as unsatisfying to me as things in BSG did to many here. The lameness of the meaning of the three prophecies Sheridan got, for instance, might as well have been unplanned for how little impact they had.
Set Bookmark
Eric Sipple
Sun, Apr 5, 2009, 11:38am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Regarding Mitochondrial Eve, a bit of clarification.

Hera being Mitochondrial Eve does not mean the other colonists' lines died off. All it means is that everyone can trace our ancestry, from mother to mother, back to Hera. It doesn't mean we don't also share DNA with other colonists, just not that everyone does.

In other words, all it requires is that at some point in the intervening 150,000 years, any lines of descendants from the colonists that remain today at some point interbred with a female descendant of Hera, thereby passing Hera's mitochondrial DNA to that line.

Some of them probably died off, but all of them do not have to. It's just that none of the other female colonists passed their mitochondrial DNA on to every human remaining on the planet today.

Eric
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.