Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 58 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 2:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

No one has mentioned Professor X... wow, I went to the search function and no one mentions Professor X and transferring his mind...
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 2:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Also, it is like Professor X transferring his mind to another body... very superhero-y feel
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 2:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

The scene with Picard and Data did NOT actually take place. It is all in Picard's mind. It wasn't actually Data's consciousness...
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 7:06am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

//Let's look at xenopobia. The episode at the end makes a comment about how the synth ban was lifted but we are never shown how that came about. Why? Because Soji in the last moment decided to not wipe out every organic life in the galaxy? An option the synth still have. So every organic in the galaxy now has effectively a gun to his/her/they head all the time. Does an existential threat create acceptance? These 50 synth now control the galaxy. What is the message here? If we aren't nice to what is different then these beings will murder every last one of us? Will anybody think racism is wrong after watching this?//

Remember it was Commander Oh who was the leader of the Zhat Vash (sp?) Once she was found out, they lifted the ban
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 12:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

The unanswered question: who were those future-uber synths? What will happen? If those are future synths, won't the future be endangered still? I think Discovered will answer this question.

I am not happy with the lingering question of who these future synths are. The threat is still looming. If any synth still make a beacon, those future uber synths will still come.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Mar 21, 2020, 6:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

Picard will sacrifice his life for Soji
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 1:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

*airiam
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 1:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

Spoilers
Trailer for next week
Spoilers, spoilers, of the trailer... do not read... do not read if you don't want to know
So you know Discovery, that red squid/octopus thing... I saw it in the trailer for next week. Those metallic tentacles and the red hole. Control will be involved. That makes sense... when Control got hold of Miriam, and when Control took over section 31...
This is very exciting stuff
End spoilers
End trailer spoilers
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 1:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

SPOILERS

The reveal of his brain condition. Seven and Elnor team-up, yes. And his reaction to seeing Picard. The manipulative Sutra... Soji indecisiveness and we could see her conflict... Soong's antagonism (seems to me) towards Picard... We see Oh's fleet...

It feels somewhat like a detective show. Who killed Saga? Were Narek and Sutra conspiring together?

That scene with Raffi and PIcard, very tender. When is Q going to appear? So will Soji be the destroyer?

I liked it, but when Seven said she felt connected, I don't want Seven to be borg again, will she become Borg? Please no.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Thu, Mar 12, 2020, 3:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

I do like this episode but it is mostly telling and not showing. Maybe more flashbacks? Remember there are SPOILERS of this episode and so beware. I will also be mentioning SPOILERS of the trailer
Spoilers...
I am very glad that Seven has not become a Borg queen and Elnor seemed happy he was not assimilated. The Borg depicted here are lacking in something. They don't seem like the normal Borg. I did wish that Seven could have done something more damaging to Narissa, but sadly they went out the airlock... At least Narissa has more evil work to do here. So Ramhda (spelling?) the romulan prophecy woman is the auntie of Narissa and Narek. Does Narek know about the prophecy? I liked how Soji becomes a strong person in this episode, however she did not have to forcefully pilot the ship go to her home. I mean, now that Romulans are following her. Is it a transwarp Borg conduit they went into?

The scenes between Raffi and Rios were excellent and I liked the juxtaposition between these scenes and the scenes of Agnes and Soji. It is good that Agnes feels guilty and that psychic mental block?

So the Zhat Vash is a cult that tries to get rid of synths because they saw a possible future if a certain threshold is met? I think Control will be involved.

SPOILERS from the TRAILER - So they go to Soji's home and apparently they try to disable their ship, everything goes dark...

I liked how Raffi tried to uncover the mystery of Rios and Jana, because it seemed like a Poirot-convention.

I was only slightly confused as to how Raffi knew Oh was infiltrating into Starfleet and that it was the Romulans that ordered the attack on Mars and the ban of the synths.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Tue, Mar 10, 2020, 4:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Some spoilers/trailer talk coming up, so please look away if you don't want to see it. Scroll away or down

Ok, so I found 2 instances of the word "sacrifice" here. I could be wrong and they do not talk about Oh and Agnes....

What Oh said in this episode, the latest one, was that Agnes must commit a sacrifice. What is that sacrifice? I do not understand this... is the sacrifice her coma? Is her sacrifice the death of Bruce Maddox? Now... should we assume the tracking device is gone? Narek seemed disappointed and angry that there was no signal. Could we say that Narek thinks Agnes knew how to disable it? Do they think Agnes is dead? Why would they kill Agnes (Narek might think)...

I think the "sacrifice" that Oh mentioned is Bruce Maddox's death. Then Agnes felt guilty because Rios think Raffi is the mole, the spy, the secret agent... so I am thinking that Agnes was not supposed to take the neuro-toxin and disable the tracking device. Does everyone agree that her sacrifice was his death?

SPOILERY TRAILERY coming next

So now that Agnes has disabled the tracking device (SPOILER ALERT COMING... from the trailers if you don't want to know or see it, please look away - Agnes is alive and well and Picard manages to speak with Agnes about "hell" and I suppose she tells Picard about the mind-meld and Picard says Hell will come again... could that mean the Borg? This is Picard's personal hell, right?

END SPOILERY TRAILERY
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Mar 7, 2020, 3:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Yeah, my apologies. Should have warned you about trailers/spoilers. But technically... technically... we don't actually see Seven get assimilated. So we don't really know... Let's hope not. I don't want Seven to get assimilated.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Mar 7, 2020, 12:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

http://epicstream.com/news/NobelleBorines/Star-Trek-Robert-Picardo-Reunites-with-Jeri-Ryan-Ahead-of-Picard-Season-2-Cameo

//It has already been revealed that Robert Picardo is going to reprise his role as the Doctor in Star Trek: Picard Season 2. However, it looks like the Star Trek: Voyager actor is too excited about his return in the new series. Picardo has just revealed that he has reunited with co-star Jeri Ryan at Star Trek The Cruise.//
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Mar 7, 2020, 11:59am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

//You think maybe the call the series Star Trek: Picardo??//

No... Rahul. The scenes with Robert and Jeri were the best in Star Trek Voyager.

//And yes that looks like she will be assimilated.//

More sad news, Booming
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Mar 7, 2020, 11:20am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

In the trailers for next week's episode... SEVEN GETS ASSIMILATED! Her eyes turn black. Did anyone see it? I had missed it. Will she be a Borg queen?!

If Seven becomes a borg queen, I will not be happy. Seven is trying to regain her humanity and to be reassimilated makes that pointless.

ALSO, Robert Picardo is allegedly in season 2! Of Picard! Will the Doctor help Seven to become human yet again? I think Locutus will come back. Thoughts???
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Thu, Mar 5, 2020, 5:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Was one of the warrior nuns with Oh in the prophecy circle??
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Thu, Mar 5, 2020, 3:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

The death of Hugh was very sad, because it was a waste of time. Why only have Hugh for a couple of episodes?

Does Soji trust Picard?

Flashback - Agnes sees Oh. Sunglasses? It sounds very weird that Agnes was being watched and under surveillance... is that the Starfleet way? Or the Tal Shiar way? Is she really a Vulcan - Oh? Then she did a mind meld with her, without proper consent! Oh gives her a tracker and then Agnes chews it. Something Agnes must do... a terrible sacrifice.

The drama between Rios and Raffi - very good, apart from Agnes though... Narissa gets the exBs killed... she is bored. Narek follows Rios and the crew... Narissa mentions the treaty... Narek follows the tracker and then the ship is released. "Has to a be a trickl" Elnor decides to stay to help Hugh.

Then we see Narek following Rios. I am just confused about Commodore Oh. Is she part of a cult??? She wore that cloak and was part of the "prophecy circle".

Nepenthe - we see rabbits/hares on this planet. Soji and Picard gets transported on the planet. Picard reveals his heart has solid duritanium?? (Q must come back! - that Tapestry episode)

"I dont believe anyone" says Soji. Is Picard deliberately letting Kendra talk to Soji? Then the word ANDROID. Just get on with the mindgame? We see Troi doing the gardening and couldn't Troi feel the presence of Picard? A good hug.

Just Soji... Why the music when Riker is on. Another hug... Newton's 4th law of thermodynamics? LOL Troi cannot read Soji... expected... that theme TNG theme when the three of them together - Picard, Riker and Troi. The talk about Data and mucus... Soji wanted to be human still - Kendra gets to be the boss of Soji. The sad scene between Picard and Troi and her late son...

I think Agnes knows they are being tracked when they are trying to escape from Narek. Synth chick... Raffi is suspicious of Agnes! And then Agnes gets defensive! Cake?

Riker guessed it! Tal Shiar - Data's daughter and she is on the run... regenerative powers?? That head tilt?? She is clearly an android.

Silicon based virus? But only curable with a positronic matrix... The scene between Troi and Soji seemed very icy and cold. Troi seemed very harsh and I think because of the synth ban, Troi was reminded of her son. All this about trust - another game... could it come down to the Soji trying to destroy the universe? Soji pushed Picard! Why??

But Troi said the right things - her ability to trust is a flaw in her programming - manipulated. Trying to solve the problem together, Troi becomes softer...

In the end, Soji does come to sort of trust Picard - heart rate - pupils dilating. All of this seems to calm Soji

Treaty violation? Hugh trying to take the cube back... Elnor, definitely a better fighter but sadly Hugh dies... Elnor contacts the Rangers and hopefully we see seven again!
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Feb 28, 2020, 12:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

"And why is Elnor so loyal to Picard even though Picard abandoned him as a kid?"

What?? Elnor idolised Picard. Yes, Picard abandoned him, but he also binded his sword to his "lost cause". Also, Picard is his only male father figure. Quwat Milat is a group of warrior nuns and sadly Elnor cannot be part of this. When Picard came along, he belonged somehow.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Thu, Feb 27, 2020, 1:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

It was good episode. I preferred this episode than the previous episode, but not in star trek way. It does not feel Star Trek. I think I would need to watch it again

It felt tense. The plot is moving along. The slow pace is now understandable and this episode made that clear.

SPOILERS (obviously)
So does that mean Soji is 3 years old? So we see the dream of the wooden doll and it is Soji. Why implant a memory that makes Soji look like a doll? This reminds me of a TNG episode where Troi was a cake and Data was hearing the phone ringing... Phantasm is the name of that episode.

Did Narek have feelings for Soji? And when he revealed his real name, was it true? I liked that Elnor chose to go to the Borg Cube and that Picard did not want to leave him. The scenes with Hugh and Picard were very good, like old friends.

Previews for the next episode - Narissa and Hugh gets confrontational. Picard meets Riker!

I only liked this because of the pacing and tthat he plot was moving along. At least now Soji is "activated". Will she feel betrayed by her mom? Narek, obviously. Now that we know what planet Soji was on - two red moons and lightning

The nervousness of Picard was very clear.

The words from Narek "You’re not real. You never were." VERY CRUEL! Contrast that to Picard - "If I'm right, it means that you are the daughter of a man who was all meaning, all courage. Be like him."

Like many many prophecies, they are self fulfilling because they really believe in it. But we make our own futures.

It was really good that Soji bumped into Picard, as she escaped from the room.

Romance between Jurati and Rios? Rios will get his revenge! I liked the scene with Raffi and the starfleet person

I hope nothing bad happens to Elnor.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Mon, Feb 24, 2020, 1:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Also the theme music from star trek
There is a noticeable theme from
TOS
TNG
DS9
VOY
Now with DIS and PIC - I can sing them, I can hum the melody, but it is not strong. It is not as "majestic" or "powerful" in the sense of "hope".

The theme music for Voyager starts majestically. The horn is strong. The woodwind instruments in the background, as though in the space. In the middle, the strings come in, showing how Voyager is alone but going home. Then the horn comes back strong again. Hopeful and strong.

The DS9 starts slow and solemn. The it "shoots off" (Season 6) The brass and the strings complement each other. Question and answer. The first 4 notes are strong and then it expands. When Worf joined, it became stronger and more upbeat. It sounds hopeful, yet sad and longing. A space station on its own. Towards the end it feels hopeful.

TNG starts with feeling slow and alone. With Picard narrating, it feels strong and purposeful. Then once Enterprise goes to warp, it feels hopeful with the brass and the strings. The brass sounds triumphant and joyous. The strings bring the harmony of the crew of the Enterprise.

Now the Picard theme. Does not start with brass. It's woodwind and strings and piano. It is more solemn, more peaceful, more sad and more reflective.

1. It is not like before, where we can stream and watch from CBS or Amazon Prime.
2. The hopeful is there in Picard, but not as strong. The brass is absent from the beginning.
3. The visuals in the opening show Picard is slowly losing himself. But bit by bit, he comes back together again, like a jigsaw puzzle.

Another reason why it is not "star trek" as of old.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sun, Feb 23, 2020, 5:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Why would I not live in the Star Trek Picard universe? Romulans just popping in and shooting you! Imagine that. Having lunch and you get killed! This is from the 1st episode.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sun, Feb 23, 2020, 5:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Since we are not talking about the next episode...

I dislike the episode, the latest one, number 5, the one before 6 and the one after 4. Why? I would not want to live in the world where Picard is currently living in now. Star Trek TNG, I would imagine living there. DS9, despite the Dominion war, I could live on planet Earth and lunch at Sisko's. I could live on Voyager's Earth.

Star Trek Picard? I would not want to live in that universe.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sun, Feb 23, 2020, 10:15am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

From Memory Alpha:
//In 2369, Lore discovered a group of Borg that had been disconnected from the Collective after integrating Hugh's sense of individuality into the hive. Lore styled himself their leader and gave his Borg individual names, coercing them into becoming his fanatical followers. He began cruel experiments on them, attempting to replace their organic brains with positronic components. Meanwhile, he somehow influenced their behavior, making their attacks more violent – they ceased to assimilate individuals, instead murdering them.//

Could this be the goal of Romulans? But ... they want to destroy synths...
1. If the romulans ceated the Borg, they would not want to destroy them. However they want to exterminate the synths. The primary goal of the Borg is to assimilate and not assassinate. So in one sense, the borg is a lesser evil.
2. Like Lore, Soji could turn evil once activated because of some programming error? And if Soji decides to turn Borg into synths (or command them), who would then able to destroy the new Borg?
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sun, Feb 23, 2020, 9:33am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

POSSIBLE SPOILERS and IDEAS

Could we focus on the next episode?
In the trailers: Picard goes on the Borg cube, part of the Reclamation project
Was there an scene with Locutus?
We see Narek and Soji together and she closes her eyes.
We see Soji and red mist
We see Picard being desperate to see Soji before she activates
We see Picard getting captured
We see Soji throwing something
We see a Romulan Rubik cube and something coming out it, a green figure?

1. I think Soji will be activated next episode. I do not know what that means. When Dahj was activated, she saw Picard. Will Soji see Picard when she is activated? Why is she the Destroyer? Will she command the ex-Borg to become Borg again? Is she a Borq queen? She is a twin, so is she like an evil Lore?
2. The closing of the eyes... when Dahj did it, she saw a lot. She could go through security clearance, access computer systems etc before she located Picard on Earth.
3. If Picard sees Hugh, will there be anger? Disappointment? Relief?

Another reason why I find this series a bit "fantasy" is the element of a prophecy. Of course this can be explained by time travel or even the Prophets in some way...
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Feb 22, 2020, 6:35am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

//That is why we have gore, downfall, incest, one or two action scenes per episode and endless mysteries.//

And is this Star Trek?
"A television series of the 1960s, and later a series of successful films, in which a group of space explorers in their craft, the Enterprise, travelled through interstellar space."

"The premise: A five-year mission of space exploration in the 23rd century"

"The Original Series establishes the two most crucial elements of the Star Trek ethos: The show is set in a utopian future in which divides based on race, gender, and nationality are a thing of the past (reflected in the unprecedented diversity of the main cast), and it uses the lens of alien cultures to comment on contemporary issues. So while humanity may have ended bigotry, the half-black, half-white aliens of the planet Cheron are still torn apart by prejudice. That allows Star Trek to both imagine a better world and comment on the harsher realities of our real one."

1. So far it is not "utopian"
2. The amount of violence and gore is accentuated for shock value - Icheb's death only provided Seven's motivation for revenge, nothing more. His death was disposable...
3. The concept of money is back. The Federation should have gotten rid of money already but it is back. There is Freecloud, for example... black market...
4. The Federation is corrupt. Infiltrated by Romulans, this is no longer Star Trek. It is no longer Star Trek because Picard even says it in the first episode!

"STARFLEET IS NO LONGER STARFLEET" in the interview.

This is not Star Trek and I agree with Picard and Jammer.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.