Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 12 (Showing 1-12)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
AlienRenders
Sun, Sep 12, 2021, 3:42am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Attached

This is one of my favourite episodes. I thought it dealt with what would happen if you could hear other people's thoughts much better than any representation of empaths on the show.

At the end, Crusher says the implant was still there during the previous night. What night was this? The campfire? Or was that after they got on the ship? If the latter, they would have slept in the same room less than 2 meters apart. In the fire scene, Crusher lays down first. But in the conversation after they're on the ship, she mentions she fell asleep last implying these were separate nights. We can't really be sure though.

So they got it removed during the day at some point before they're having a late night lunch. It's not clear if this is the same day they beamed back up or if it's the next day. I'm assuming it's the next day and they actually did sleep together. Otherwise Crusher's dialogue doesn't really make sense. Especially the line "what about when he's awake?" Earlier, we got the line "I'm glad we're not joined at the hip any longer." Double entendre? All the lines from the very start of the lunch could be interpreted as double entendres. When Picard asks about what to do after this "unique experience", maybe he's not talking about the implant. This is why Crusher is asking him to clarify. Otherwise, what's the confusion about?

Listen to the dialogue again but with the assumption they slept together. It makes more sense. And the man fell asleep first (TNG would have no problem injecting this into the show... and during the fire scene, it's implied Picard fell asleep last. He may have found out hidden feelings from Crusher). The show's producers likely wanted it to remain somewhat ambiguous (that something happened and when). Problem is the way the lines were delivered made it seem like Crusher was toying with Picard (if nothing happened). The other way around, she's just messing with Picard (teasing him) on how much he enjoyed himself. At the end though, she doesn't see how it would work and decides against a long term relationship. Maybe with the implant, the emotions and "intimacy" she described were overwhelming. But now that it's gone, she's reassessed the situation. Maybe Picard still has guilt about being with his best friend's wife and she doesn't believe Picard can move beyond that.

If nothing happened, Crusher's lines at the end are really bad.

Perhaps I'm wrong in all this, but I don't think the possibility should be dismissed so easily.

Also, never leave a lit fire unattended. That still bugs me. lol
Set Bookmark
AlienRenders
Sun, Aug 15, 2021, 6:48pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S5: The Perfect Mate

In Star Trek, the alien traditions are often traditions that are abhorrent to most living people here on Earth. It makes it so that the entire audience is on the same side. The true story happens underneath this. And this episode was no different. That a woman exists only to satisfy the needs of a man doesn't need much of an argument to demonstrate that this is unacceptable to both men and women. So that can't possibly be the allegory or story being told.

I'm more interested in the blatant sexism against men in this episode. It starts off with Riker not only going to Holodeck 4, but announcing his intentions to the bridge. What's more, the fact that he feels the need to inform the Bridge implies he's still on duty and that this "need" is so strong that he must take a break from work. I mean... c'mon. Or maybe he's inviting other people from the bridge to join him (that's a joke).

Then much of the show centers around this theme. I'm not saying men don't crave certain urges, but this episode went to great lengths to show only this. The bar scene. Worf growling. The Ferrengis wanting her.

Kamala is an empty shell. And somehow, she's supposed to be desired by all men? Sure, she knows a lot of facts. But she has no personal ambitions other than being what her mate wants her to be. Some have argued for this being her ambition. Fine (not that I accept that). But Picard is human. He's supposed to be a symbol for a more sophisticated human being (also being from the future). Kamala then tries to find his interests. In the end, the episode says that Picard is interested in only one thing just like all the other men depicted in this episode.

I think this episode was meant to be sexist against both men and women on purpose. It went to show the way each gender thinks the other is portrayed. The Perfect Mate wasn't Kamala. It was Picard (to Kamala). Or rather what we expect from a man... yet that was just as sexist as what was expected from Kamala. That Picard was able to get his satisfaction and then discard Kamala because for a man, all that "other stuff" that makes one human is unnecessary in a mate (according to what was depicted in the episode).

In those days, and even more today, it was impossible to describe these things in the open. Mentioning sexism toward men is taboo even more today than it was in the 80s. The fact that this episode was produced at all is quite remarkable.
Set Bookmark
Thavash Govender
Sun, Dec 30, 2018, 11:00pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: Favor the Bold

The thing about Leetas noise, when I first watched it I thought that Rom was making it, and I already didn’t think much of Rom. But the second time she makes it, you can see it’s her, and then Rom wants to sacrifice his life for everyone - talk about perceptions changing immediately.

It’s also notable that in a powerhouse episode like this , we're talking about some irritating noise decades later.
Set Bookmark
lavenderchartreuse
Fri, Dec 14, 2018, 12:39am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S1: Cold Front

My husband watched this one with me. We were both struck with the thought that it seemed like Archer would have been blown out of the cargo bay in one quick poof, especially since he was taken by surprise that the bay doors had opened, so he wasn't braced for it. Additionally, we thought that no one could hold one with just one hand.

My husband asked "wouldn't it have been freezing in there almost instantly?" Anyone want to take that on? Archer certainly acted like he had to catch his breath, but didn't act like he was freezing.

Also, wouldn't the cargo bay have equalized in pressure pretty quickly, allowing weightlessness? For me, I thought that would mean that the hand tool wouldn't have "fallen" out in space; it would have stayed on his hand or floated within reach. My husband said that momentum from the initial blow out would have sent it in that direction, so he didn't think it was odd.

Aaaand, just because Silik could survive in space...wouldn't he have been victim to the blow out at the time the cargo bay doors had opened? Or did I miss a special super power that he has already got? What allowed him to stand by and wait to make his dramatic exit by jumping?

As you can see, I'm more interested in the silliness of the cargo bay situation than the silliness of the time-travel-storyline-that-goes-nowhere.

Overall, I didn't really enjoy this episode much. I usually love time travel episodes, but this one didn't seem to solve anything and didn't have much for me to chew on or reflect on afterwards. Where are the time twists that come back on to itself? Why would a time traveler who professes to be protecting the time line tell everyone about what is going on? It just wasn't that fun for me; I was mostly annoyed.
Set Bookmark
Lavenderchartreuse
Thu, Aug 30, 2018, 2:13am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S7: Workforce

I agree that a Vulcan with his memory suppressed would have been more emotive, and so it makes me wonder why they didn't do the same for Seven. Other than a change of make-up and hair, she seemed about the same. She's a human, after all. In fact, I've often wondered why she hasn't loosened up more emotionally than she has.

I "get it" from the writers point of view...they like to have a character or two that struggles with emotional issues, so we can see their growth, but here it would have been appropriate to have seen what kind of person she'd been like had she grown up fully human from her childhood.

Also, I usually find it irritating when the captains (Janeway, Picard) don't get to enjoy a love life like everyone else. Who says it would not be appropriate for them to have one? Picard is a natural loner, but Janeway doesn't seem to be. Although my vote would be Chakotay over Jaffin.

And speaking of Chakotay, I agree it was super weird that they were able to brainwash him to give coordinates to the crew without him knowing who he was or what he was doing. I assume that he would not have done it under duress, so it had to have been brainwashing, but it just didn't make sense.

I share all of my "that bugged me" thoughts when I come here, but then I read a bunch of new ones I hadn't even thought of before, which is simultaneously entertaining and irritating....lots of things to think about and wonder what they were thinking, or not thinking as the case may be. Thanks everyone for keeping it interesting.
Set Bookmark
Lavenderchartreuse
Tue, Aug 28, 2018, 7:21pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

"The only Klingon I'm afraid of is my wife after she's worked a double shift."-Paris

Teeheeeheeee...
Set Bookmark
Lavenderchartreuse
Wed, Aug 15, 2018, 12:37am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S6: Muse

Very interesting review..thank you for the extra depth...excellent commentary on your part.

I mostly enjoyed the episode, but found the ending a little confusing. I didn't really see how B'elanna disappearing made any sense in the plays storyline, but maybe I missed something.

I generally DO like an occasional episode that show us a bit of depth of character, or something that is playfully different. I love sci-fi, but I only buy into it if I care about the people and, as long as every episode doesn't turn into a soap opera, I enjoy a little excursion into something unusual or insightful.

On the negative side, (Its possible someone already mentioned this, I didn't read through everyone's responses), the thing that jarred me out of the story was that B'elanna could read the note that she was given by the messenger. Uh, either he can write in her language, or she can read his. What?! Lol.

Otherwise, I enjoyed it.
Set Bookmark
Lavenderchartreuse
Tue, Aug 14, 2018, 11:25am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S6: Child's Play

@ Jason R.

You are right, of course, but that's what I mean, what they say the Borg are interested in and what they show the Borg are interested in seems inconsistent.

In "I, Borg" Hugh says "The Borg assimilates civilizations, not individuals."

How many individuals have to be around for them to start calling it a "civilization" ? I guess a starship constitutes a civilization in the eyes of the writers.

Still, my point is that they should not have been interested in a single boy.
Set Bookmark
Lavenderchartreuse
Tue, Aug 14, 2018, 1:08am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S6: Child's Play

I struggle with Voyager because of the lack of consistency in the series. Why would the Borg be at all interested in a single individual on a lone ship? I thought they only bothered assimilating whole civilizations.

This thought occurs to me as well anytime Voyager encounters the Borg. A few hundred or thousand people (however many are on the starship) are certainly not big enough to be considered an entire civilization. They shouldn't be scared of the Borg at all.
Set Bookmark
Ender
Wed, Oct 1, 2014, 5:26pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: Think Tank

But that's just the rub, isn't it? This is a show premised on the idea that a ship has been stranded from home under extremely bizarre and unusual circumstances and is trying to get back.

Along the way they repeatedly *almost* get back, because the show treats things like transwarp technology as all too common (remember that episode where weird Alien of the Week "Arturis" actually BUILDS a "quantum slipstream" ship, just to deceive the Voyager crew?). The idea that the Think Tank might just *have* technology like that is part of this trend, and I think it's one that repeatedly undermines the strength of the show.
Set Bookmark
Ender
Wed, Oct 1, 2014, 12:25am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: Think Tank

I noticed that the Think Tank claims to have cured the Phage. Curious, since Voyager has travelled at least 30,000 light years since they encountered the Vidiians.

Sounds like a facile criticism, but I really wish they'd consider these things for continuity's sake. It's hard to be invested in a show which seems to break so many of its own rules.
Set Bookmark
ender4life
Sat, Jun 7, 2014, 8:41pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S1: When the Bough Breaks

Am I the only one who noticed that there's another random boy in the group? In some shots there's a boy besides Wesley and Harry, making a total of 7 children. In others he's gone and there's only six.
This is my only problem with this episode. Otherwise, it's just as believable as the other crazy plots from season 1.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.