Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 35 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Elphaba
Mon, Jun 2, 2014, 1:42am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Virtuoso

"I know, alot of the music being made today is pretty forgettable, but there are some very strong compositions and musical styles that (in my opinion) will probably stand the test of time. It only seems logical that centuries from now some of our songs will be held in the same regard that some early songs are today."

I want to hear The Doctor sing a Lady Gaga song. Or a Katy Perry song. That would be freaking hilarious.
Set Bookmark
Elphaba
Mon, Feb 4, 2013, 7:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Gravity

Oh hey Ticking Clock, Uncooperative Aliens, Romantic Hour, Shuttle Crash, Vulcan non-emotion, the power of Technobabble to save the day, all in this together, obviously must be saved because of Plot Armor main characters episode! We missed you!

It's like they just threw all the Trek cliches into one bucket and came out with this episode. Or more like all the Voyager cliches. All that's missing is some Fun with DNA! xD

I was genuinely shocked that Tuvok's love interest didn't die though, so I'll give it that. I like that he melded with her at the end, though. The most intimate thing a Vulcan can do with someone.
Set Bookmark
Elphaba
Mon, Feb 4, 2013, 4:30am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

This movie is... ok. But not the Trek that I know. Also it relies too much on coincidence. Spock maroons Kirk on the planet that prime Spock just happens to be on near the place where prime Spock just happens to be and there just happens to be a Federation outpost where prime Spock is where Scotty just happens to be and Scotty just happens to be working on a theory for transporting at warp.

Also, it's a bit sexist. Why does Uhura have to be a love interest for Spock? Why is it that pretty much every time a female appears in anything nowadays it means she has to be a love interest? Why can't she just be there without having to have someone fall in love with her/fall in love with someone?

I consider this movie fanfiction, not canon because I don't accept the destruction of Romulus in the prime universe. The planet is far too important to Star Trek lore to just callously destroy for the sake of contrived drama in one summer blockbuster action movie. And in the new universe, you destroyed Vulcan. Again, it's far too important to Star Trek lore to destroy.
Set Bookmark
Elphaba
Mon, Feb 4, 2013, 3:47am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

I am very firmly is the like camp. In fact, I consider this one a Voyager classic. This one is depressing indeed. I really sympathized with the duplicate crew in their struggles. I like how they can't make up their mind whether to go to Earth or back to the demon planet. And their struggle to find Voyager at the end really was depressing. And it was beautifully executed by the actors. Mulgrew in particular was heart wrenching.
Set Bookmark
Elphaba
Mon, Dec 3, 2012, 5:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

@Chris

That's ridiculous. Just because AIDs is a natural disease, does that mean we don't try to cure it? Just because autism is genetic does that mean that we don't try to cure it? If something is killing people, we try to stop it, it doesn't matter what it is.
Set Bookmark
Elphaba
Wed, Oct 31, 2012, 1:27am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

Just because knowledge was obtained through less than legitimate means it doesn't mean we just toss the research. Deleting it is absolutely silly. If it works, it works. It doesn't really matter how we came about that knowledge.

If we came about the knowledge that plants produce chlorophyll for instance by cutting open humans and plants, observing them while they were alive, we wouldn't toss that research because that is simply the way plants work. No matter how we did the research the result would still be the same because that's just the way the world works.

To say that we came about this research through immoral actions doesn't really mean anything because we could simply repeat the experiments without the immoral parts and it would come out the same way because that's the way the world works. Deleting the research is just saying "We're not going to acknowledge the way the world works in this particular instance because we found out how it works in an immoral way." Which of course is silly and stupid.
Set Bookmark
Elphaba
Sat, Oct 13, 2012, 1:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Extreme Risk

The main problem with this episode and, indeed, Voyager as a whole, as well as most Star Trek that takes place on a ship (i.e. not DS9) is that pretty much every episode is self-contained. You can do an episode with character development or have an interesting person pop up but that person and that character development will be gone by the next episode. And that is simultaneously its biggest problem as well as one of its strengths. Because every episode is self-contained, a new viewer can come in and watch it without having to have seen any previous Star Trek (with the possible exception of The Best of Both Worlds and some others), thus exactly what a studio wants to boost the ratings. I think it's no coincidence that shows like Battlestar Galactica and DS9 had lower ratings in their initial runs because they have a long running story. It's difficult for new people to come in and watch an episode so producers don't like those types of shows.

However, this episodic format is not necessarily a bad thing. Look at Doctor Who. Look at Firefly. But Star Trek more often than not has episodes that are so self-contained that when you try to tell a serious story, it's all erased by the next episode. And that is extremely frustrating for long time fans. And that's the main problem with this episode. It introduces a problem that we've never seen before and solves it within one episode. The reason DS9 worked so well was that it introduces problems that didn't have such easy solutions. We didn't get an easy resolution to our problems at the end of each episode.

That's not to say that ship themed Star Trek doesn't have some incredible stories, it does. Star Trek has some of the greatest stories I've ever witnessed. But the main problem is that all of those stories are so self-contained that you don't have to have seen any other stories to watch them.
Set Bookmark
Elphaba
Wed, Oct 3, 2012, 4:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Demon

Doctor Who did this in the two-parter The Rebel Flesh/The Almost People. Needless to say it was so much better.
Set Bookmark
Elphaba
Wed, Oct 3, 2012, 3:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

Easily makes the top 10 Voyager episodes. I don't know if it could do the same for all of Star Trek, not with giants like The Inner Light, The Best of Both Worlds, The Visitor, and In the Pale Moonlight, but I think it comes close.
Set Bookmark
Elphaba
Wed, Oct 3, 2012, 6:53am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

You people need to lighten up and get that stick out of your ass. This episode was fun. Pure and simple. Sure it could have been done better as just one part, but it doesn't matter. The French resistance scenario was fun to watch. I enjoy these holodeck episodes for their entertainment value. Sure they create false conflict, but seeing our characters in these holodeck situations makes for a nice break from the sci fi action. I thought the same thing for Our Man Bashir and Badda-Bing, Badda-Boom.

No, Voyager is nowhere near as good as DS9, but it really does have its moments, and I think this was one of them. It's just a fun holodeck episode, and I don't think it pretends to be anything more. Just take it at face value and enjoy it for what it is.
Set Bookmark
Elphaba
Wed, Oct 3, 2012, 3:39am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Revelations

When I first saw this episode, I was in tears, amazingly happy for the crew that they finally made it to Earth. That they finally found the mythical planet they were looking for, that things would finally turn up.

And than there was that final shot. And I was emotionally devastated as everyone else was on that ship.
Set Bookmark
Elphaba
Mon, Oct 1, 2012, 9:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

Voyager: Inception. I liked it. Fun and sometimes goofy.
Set Bookmark
Elphaba
Sat, Sep 29, 2012, 4:08am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Raven

I would have liked to see Janeway try to force her way through Bomar space like she does with the Krenim in Year of Hell. It'd be entirely in character to do so, and an interesting ethical dilemma for them that took full advantage of the show's premise: being stuck a long way from home with no starfleet telling them what to do.
Set Bookmark
Elphaba
Sat, Sep 29, 2012, 1:39am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Nemesis

One thing that bugged me about this episode. Why was Tom Paris so anxious to save Chakotay? I don't remember him ever being established to have a close relationship with Chakotay.
Set Bookmark
Elphaba
Thu, Sep 27, 2012, 3:31am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Worst Case Scenario

The ending wasn't terrible, but it could have been so much better. If we actually had Paris write the novel with Janeway executing all the Maquis rebels, it would have been very interesting. The ending was a typical plot device, but it was still done well.

Also the scene with the Doctor was just brilliant. 20 cc's of nitric acid. Awesome. Robert Picardo is a wonderful actor. As is Tim Russ. And Robert Duncan McNeill. And Kate Mulgrew. Those are probably the four best regulars on this show. All four of them had stand out performances on this episode. Even the Doctor who had one little scene in this episode made it an extremely memorable one.
Set Bookmark
Elphaba
Thu, Sep 27, 2012, 12:25am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Real Life

I'm a bit upset that we didn't have the Doctor's family in any other episodes. As far as I know, there's no novel about it. Ah well. FANFICTION TIME.
Set Bookmark
Elphaba
Wed, Sep 26, 2012, 5:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Darkling

This episode isn't bad. Don't see why you all keep harping on it.

Also why oh why is there a big debate of punctuation? Isn't language relative and constantly changing? Why does it matter? There's really no "right" answer when it comes to language, just arbitrary rules of the time and place you're in.
Set Bookmark
Elphaba
Wed, Sep 26, 2012, 12:42am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Coda

You're not the only one. I liked this episode as well. I too would have preferred if they continued with the time loop deaths and made them get crazier. But the emotional payoff was there. Sure they were milking it, but I earnestly felt it. Katie Mulgrew is a strong presence for sure. That raspy voice really helps to solidify that.
Set Bookmark
Elphaba
Mon, Sep 24, 2012, 9:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Fourth Season Recap

I have to disagree with season 3 being better. Season 3 has some excellent excellent episodes for sure, but it also has a large amount of mediocre ones. But the main problem with season 3 is its very basic presence. It's intricately tied to the temporal cold war which is definitely not needed and utterly ridiculous to begin with. It relies to much on technobabble and time travel. The Xindi feel like comic book villains, especially at the beginning, and even the Reptilians near the end. The initial test on Earth was not needed, they could have attacked a random planet like they did while testing the main weapon thus the whole thing was unneeded. And its way to long. It didn't need to be 24 episodes. There are several episodes that are certainly not needed, like the western and the time travel to 2004 ones. They could have cut many of these episodes and used up the time to tell meaningful character stories.

Season 4 was overall better. Yes it was fanwank, but it was fun fanwank. It was fun to see what the show was actually supposed to be, a prequel. If the show had been like season 4 from the beginning and been a prequel like it was supposed to be, it might not have been canceled. Except that horrible season finale, it was overall much better than season 3. I would have liked to see a little more of Columbia, but there's always the expanded universe.

I saw a perfect quote awhile ago that summed it up nicely. "During seasons 1-3, Enterprise was asking to get killed. During season 4 it got its wish, just as it was beginning to change its mind.
Set Bookmark
Elphaba
Sat, Sep 22, 2012, 8:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Observer Effect

I refuse to allow Dear Doctor into continuity so this wasn't so bad. If you do allow Dear Doctor into continuity, however, you face the fact that Archer and Phlox are hypocrites. When it's someone else dying and they have the cure, we can't interfere because evolution demands it. But when someone else has the cure and we are dying, well they're not compassionate even though evolution demands we die. Apparently.
Set Bookmark
Elphaba
Sat, Sep 22, 2012, 7:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Daedalus

If no one will speak for this episode, I will. I do agree that the writers should have put flashbacks and more scenes establishing the relationships between the characters instead of the sci-fi scenes showing the damage to the ship and the transporter effects on Emory's son. However, I felt the emotional weight of the characters here. Especially Emory's daughter.

I can understand why he would think he would need to keep it a secret. Why would Starfleet divert their most powerful and fastest ship on a mission to save one person who they would presume to be dead? Maybe in a recover the body situation, but they wouldn't use their flagship to recover a dead body.

This isn't a The Visitor, everyone's right on this point. But I don't think it tries to be. I honestly think it's trying to be its own episode with its own emotional weight and it works on that level.
Set Bookmark
Elphaba
Fri, Sep 21, 2012, 3:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Zero Hour

Also, my first instinct when the weapon was destroyed with Archer on it was that Daniels pulled him out. Which begs the question, if that's the case, why doesn't Daniels always pull Archer out of danger whenever he's in trouble? Like if he's falling off a cliff or getting stabbed, Daniels can pull Archer out and be a mini-reset button for him. Why does Daniels always warn Archer not to go on these missions if he can just easily pull him out?

Conclusion. I really hate the temporal cold war plot on this show. It should be its own show or otherwise non-existent. It's so out of place on a show that's supposed to be the official Star Trek prequel.
Set Bookmark
Elphaba
Fri, Sep 21, 2012, 4:23am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Zero Hour

Daniels pulls Archer forward in time again. And again the timeline is not completely destroyed as it is in Shockwave. Again we ask why the writers can't remain consistent in how the timeline is affected. But by now the audience really doesn't care about Daniels and his temporal cold war bullshit. We just want him gone.
Set Bookmark
Elphaba
Fri, Sep 21, 2012, 12:03am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Damage

This is no In the Pale Moonlight, mostly because Archer was never morally upright to begin with. But by Enterprise standards, this was one of the best episodes of the series. By far. Nowhere near In the Pale Moonlight though.
Set Bookmark
Elphaba
Thu, Sep 20, 2012, 11:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Azati Prime

I read somewhere that B&B wrote the temporal cold war without really thinking about it. That I find very easy to believe. There's no indication of thought behind it and it just seems like something that was built into the show without any rhyme or reason. They don't ever even reveal who Future Guy is for goodness sakes. I wouldn't mind a show about the temporal cold war. Hell, it'd be pretty awesome. Set the show in the 26th, 27th, 28th, 29th, 30th, 31st century or some other time and just have at it. It'd be a fun show on its own. However, it's extremely out of place here.

This is supposed to be the official Star Trek prequel. As such, it should be dealing with prequely setting up things. The fourth season is really what the show should have been to begin with and maybe it would have made a decent show. I wouldn't mind a remake of Enterprise with actually competent writers. I would love to learn more about the beginnings of the Federation and Starfleet with actual cerebral plots that take full advantage of the premise of Star Trek prequel instead of being a mediocre action show very much a product of its time. The temporal cold war shouldn't be here. I wouldn't mind seeing this Enterprise and Archer and company in a show on the temporal cold war and for that matter any of the other crews we know and love. But it shouldn't be the sole reason why people are doing what they do in these extended story arcs. It's just silly.

Anyway, one thing that bugged me about this episode was Daniels. The last time he pulled Archer into the future in Shockwave, he caused all of history to change and there to be no Federation in the 31st century. Why did this not happen again when Daniels pulled him into the 26th century? That really bugged me. I kind of liked the Enterprise J, though. I like the idea nad I kind of want to know more about it. However, the writers seem to make a habit of violating their own rules. How does the timeline change when pulling Archer out? In Shockwaye it seemed to happen instantly, in Carpenter Street it seemed to happen in waves. Here, nothing seems to happen at all. The writers aren't exactly consistent here. Bottom line, the temporal cold war nonsense needs to get out of this show. And thankfully it does mostly by the beginning of season 4.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.