Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 72,476 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2,900
Set Bookmark
Occuprice
Sun, May 31, 2020, 7:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: A Day in the Life

Forgettable episode with some cringey moments and also some really good ones— which I had forgotten about and enjoyed anew! It’s not actually the “worst episode in the show” that I thought it was— it just shares that black market, and maybe the passage And deadlock. The episode annoys me more than black market, but it also has some wonderful moments that black market did not (adama roslin, helo moving away from hot dog and his rash)
Set Bookmark
d-maxsted
Sun, May 31, 2020, 7:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

The Boldest Trek Of Them All

Of everything that is Star Trek this is without a doubt the boldest voyage the Starship Enterprise has ever taken. A Machine Planet Sending A Machine To Earth To Find Its Creator and not till the final 20 minutes does the absolute WOW factor reveal itself as to who this machine is. As a lifelong Star Trek fan I really appreciate this film and the more times I watch it I love it even more as this film has every element that makes Star Trek the incredible story that it is and yes there is still a lot of hate out there towards this film but for me it is simply the perfect Trek of all,the return of Kirk,Spock,McCoy,Sulu,Chekov,Uhura and Scotty,the incredible intorduction the the new Enterprise,the magnificent new theme and incredible score by the legend himself Jerry Goldsmith,Douglas Trumbull,John Dykstra creating simply amazing visual effects throughout the entire film that give Star Wars a run for its money any day and at the helm none other than director Robert Wise who shows why he is the legend he is as a director,every shot in the film is so beautifully crafted and shot,I cant say I think its long overdue that Paramount release this film in 4K with a Dolby Atmos Soundtrack but I imagine it will happen sooner than later.
Set Bookmark
Chilledfish
Sun, May 31, 2020, 7:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Galileo Seven

I think that it's clear that Spock is a bad leader in this episode, but more importantly I think, the episode demonstrates that he doesn't understand logic.
When his plan, which was based on limited information and assumptions fails, his brain seems to break down. In his mind he applied "logic" to the problem, so it "logically" couldn't fail.
He goes on and on about logic, when all it does is make him seem heartless and pompous to his subordinates. Not very logical.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, May 31, 2020, 4:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Family

{{ My biggest problem with this episode is, and always has been Robert's advice to Jean-Luc, which was tantamount to just deal with it. We wouldnt tell a returning soldier suffering PTSD to just "deal with it" }}

I can see how it would look that way, although what I took (and what I *think* they were going for) is more "You'll have to face it one way or the other - you can't just run from it."
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Sun, May 31, 2020, 3:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Turnabout Intruder

Thoughts on Star Trek Continues: "Embracing the Winds" about a woman wanting to be captain of the Hood that mysteriously lost its crew and competing with Spock for that honor. Very heavy handed episode on discrimination and the glass ceiling but one that takes the easy way out with the Hood getting destroyed and Kirk not having to opine to break the tie.

As always with STC, I'm impressed with the recreation of TOS -- this time it is the exterior visual of the starbase. There's a certain aesthetic to those images like the mining plant in "The Devil in the Dark" or the plant in "Where No Man Has Gone Before" and it is captured perfectly here. Well done STC.

One thing came up here that I'm not sure is true -- this episode says that the Federation composed of Earth, Vulcan, Andorians and Tellarites came about to counter the Romulan threat. I didn't think it was spurred into creation by a particular threat...

Anyhow, so there's this very driven woman Garrett who wants command of the Hood and comes across as so untrustworthy b/c she won't answer questions about a mission gone wrong and then calls for an immediate decision -- which brings about a court room scene just like in "Court Martial". This Garrett character could have been written better.

And then there's the Federation hesitant to have a female captain due to Tellarites being backward and potentially pulling out of the alliance. This strikes me as bizarre and unrealistic.

The B-plot is weak here. Chekov "MacGyvers" a way to take down the Hood's shields so Scotty and the others can beam back before the Hood blows up. That was a bit ridiculous but it wasn't as bad, to me, as how the writers made Scotty so apathetic about having nothing he can do to stop the Hood from blowing up -- he's gone way farther in coming up with miracles ("That Which Survives", "The Doomsday Machine", "The Naked Time" come to mind). Bottom line, the script demanded that the Hood be blown up so a decision does not have to be made between Garrett and Spock for its command.

2.5 stars for "Embracing the Winds" -- barely. Could have really taken some risks here. STC definitely focuses on its issues of the day but I don't know what was accomplished here. I think most would pick Spock over Garrett due to her evasiveness and obviously feeling Spock is uber-capable. So what was the purpose of having Garrett have some dubious actions to raise doubts? It didn't become an issue of just her gender, but then the whole decision is rendered moot anyway by the Hood blowing up.

I think what STC has accomplished is fantastic but what's missing is the writing/premises/ideas to really come up with some memorable episodes.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, May 31, 2020, 1:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

An episode with better tempo, but to which prices. Some scenes was absolutely disgusting and unnecessary. In itself I am also not fond of this revenge / vigilante approach.

On the other side, good tempo, good story telling, the jumping forwards an backwards when telling the "knock on the door" part was ok. Jeri Ryan as Seven really good even though I did not like the development of Seven.

It would definitely had been possible the have this tempo with keeping "star trek ethics".
Set Bookmark
The_Man
Sun, May 31, 2020, 11:31am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Borderland

The Enterprise is a badly run ship.
Set Bookmark
wolfstar
Sun, May 31, 2020, 11:24am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part II

https://trekmovie.com/2020/05/29/bryan-fuller-describes-star-trek-voyager-serialized-year-of-hell-season-rejected-by-rick-berman/
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sun, May 31, 2020, 11:02am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Omicron
" both in terms of cost and versatility"
Why do you think cities or whoever gets a new bus?

"You know, for a person so desperate for some positivity in their life, you sure are bent to look at the negative side of things..."
Oh yeah with global defence budgets going up every year, more control by companies and states of our lifes, destruction of our planet accelerating every year (most people don't know this but CO2 emission still go up not down every year), destruction of the rainforest accelerating, dictatorial sentiments on the rise everywhere and a global pandemic to just name a few little clouts.

But a hey a billionaire megalomaniac has build a reusable rocket which can transport as many people as the space shuttle and a quarter of the payload. It is truly a great day.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, May 31, 2020, 10:50am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

It is worth seeing but it is sometimes quite slow.
Discovery had a 2 episode start where a lot of nothing happened. Here we have three and it seams that they can start. I hope so.

I am not found of these long themes. I just rewatched Enterprise and really enjoyed the Xindi season three where many episodes where standing alone.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sun, May 31, 2020, 10:49am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Mal
"countries like China and Kazakistan and Iran do not typically live broadcast manned launches from their facilities (Russia doesn't launch from Russia)."
Technically Baikonur is a part of Russia and under Russian jurisdiction. (Picture me pronouncing that like Malkovich would in Space Force)
What more is there to say than.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U1FxfR3lg6Q

"We live in awesome times!"
Oh we sure do.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Sun, May 31, 2020, 10:35am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Booming

Looks like the currently fashionable cynicism has stuck to you too...

I don't like Elon Musk either (to put it mildly) but this doesn't change the fact that today is a big day for space enthusiasts all over the world.

The Flacon 9/Dragon combination isn't just "a new bus". It's a technology that's far beyond anything else we currently have, both in terms of cost and versatility. It's the first step towards returning to the moon and beyond.

You know, for a person so desperate for some positivity in their life, you sure are bent to look at the negative side of things...
Set Bookmark
Mal
Sun, May 31, 2020, 10:17am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@ Booming, countries like China and Kazakistan and Iran do not typically live broadcast manned launches from their facilities (Russia doesn't launch from Russia).

https://www.rocketlaunch.live/?pastOnly=1

But when Nasa is involved, you might at least get the launch.

https://www.rocketlaunch.live/launch/soyuz-ms-16

It is a rare treat to get the entire mission broadcast live, as we are getting right now for Dragon.

https://youtu.be/21X5lGlDOfg

Part of that is that TV stations aren't about to give 23 hours of continuous broadcast of NASA TV, which is how long it takes to get to the ISS. And part of that is that online broadcasting has dramatically improved in the last decade.

We live in awesome times!
Set Bookmark
John
Sun, May 31, 2020, 9:08am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

The governments Mal refers to usually are driven by some kind of profit, though. Would the US have gone to the moon if not in competition with the USSR? A group of people banding together doesn't make much sense unless there is some other group of people somewhere else. World government probably won't happen until there is another "world" of Vulcans and ETs whom we can fight, bargain with.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sun, May 31, 2020, 8:00am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

and let me add this: Building rockets and electric cars. What a visionary!
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sun, May 31, 2020, 7:58am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Mal
"There is no reason to minimize launches just because they are taking off from Russia."
I didn't. The Russians provide reliable rockets for a long time now. But only because the US messed up their planning and were unable to launch nothing for 10 years doesn't mean that what happens now is special. When a new bus is introduced near you, would you watch that?
Do you know how man successful orbital launches there were in 2019? 102 (97 succesful), in 2018 it was 114. Did you watch those, too?

"ST First Contact taught us that our greatest breakthroughs will be thanks to individuals driven by profit like Zephram Cochrane, not any sort of world government."
ST first contact was not a documentary. And our greatest breakthroughs were certainly not because of "indivduals driven by profit" Do you think that Einstein or Flemming or Newton were driven by profit?! Plato! Unbelievable. :D
Set Bookmark
Mal
Sun, May 31, 2020, 7:46am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Booming.

TOS taught us that Russian accomplishments are human accomplishments. There is no reason to minimize launches just because they are taking off from Russia.

ST First Contact taught us that our greatest breakthroughs will be thanks to individuals driven by profit like Zephram Cochrane, not any sort of world government. There is no reason to minimize human accomplishments just because of the character of the folks making the breakthrough.

Dragon is less than 1 mile from the ISS!!! It looks so beautiful over the Chinese night sky right now:
https://youtu.be/21X5lGlDOfg
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sun, May 31, 2020, 7:19am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I could not be any less interested in Elon's new toy. Since the whole pedo guy thing, I despise that dbag for which he was acquitted even though he was guilty but hey justice. He is two twitter feuds away from becoming a Bond villain. Plus the Russians fly rockets into space for 70 years now and I don't watch that either.
Set Bookmark
Mal
Sun, May 31, 2020, 6:13am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

And the timing of Neflix dropping Space Force is basically perfect.

We are just 150 minutes away from the earliest docking time to the ISS!!!

Watch NASA live:

https://youtu.be/21X5lGlDOfg
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sun, May 31, 2020, 5:50am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Oh they are definitely going for likeability. There are now four love stories. All of them fairly to extremely terrible and sickly sweet. Carrell and engineer is the least terrible so far. Pilot and scientist is pretty terrible. Carrell and Kudrow, they have zero chemistry. I suspect these two hate each other. I would not be surprised if Kudrow is written out of the show.
But by far the worst love story is daughter and hick. That stuff reaches cringe level. Maybe it works for Amis (that is how Germans call the US Americans), I don't know. Blue state red state love.
The office had 9 seasons and coincidentally only three were really good (2-4).
Set Bookmark
Sigh2000
Sun, May 31, 2020, 4:06am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Lonely Among Us

I had an odd experience of this one. For years I watched the trailer for it, which got recorded on a vhs tape by a friend, but never had the episode. I found the trailer to be hilarious: it showed a a fluffy Antican swiping at a Selayan in a hallway while making a finny noise. Beverly then says "Jean-Luc Picard, I judge you to be disabled and mentally incapacitated" while the captain chuckles sinisterly; then fingers of blue ground lightening shoot out of the dashboard and magnetize everyone on the bridge. Troi is heard saying "It's blinding me!!" As a result of that badly edited trailer with its absurd juxtapositions I never wanted to watch the full thing.

The first time I summoned enough enthusiasm to attempt a viewing, about five months ago, something else must have distracted me, because I remembered nothing but the "live meat" storyline.

With lowered expectations, I tried again, and I amazed myself by actually liking it. A lot. It's a mystery that develops slowly, it's true, but I found the connection between the system malfunctions and trances overtaking key people to be interesting. I liked the fact that the possessive force jumped around and became difficult to analyze.

The ridiculous fluffy and reptilian aliens who were once nothing more than incredibly annoying in my earlier perspective, now were recognizably important to the plot. The writers put them in to be a drain on the crew's mental and emotional resources at a time when a real crisis is developing. They were silly, nay disgusting, but introduced just the right amount of noise allowing a creeping menace to grow unimpeded.

Data's first embrace of Sherlock Holmes is noteworthy.
The music by Ron Jones foreshadows BoBW.

More importantly, I have come to think that this really is the FIRST episode to display characteristics seen in the best of TNG outings:

1) Crew interactions in which little oddities in behavior in one character are noted, but nonetheless shrugged off by another 2) characters meeting behind closed doors to discuss the growing mystery and its ramifications ....'wouldn't that be mutiny?'

3) REAL RAPPORT between all members of the major cast!

This is all fascinating to watch amidst conditions of near complete chaos. Picard's possession is the real treat. He's so good at throwing the medical examination back at Beverly and Riker, and then hunches over to look out the readyroom window.

So many things happening in this episode! Picard is Capt. Queeg, but unlike Queeg, he succeeds.

I love it when Picard says to Geordi, who has just announced that the helm is broken "Malfunctioning? You're wrong. Look again" and then orders an illogical 180 and claps, causing Geordi some chagrin. "You have a problem with that heading lieutenant?" At this point the camera switches to Troi, who is nauseated, and questions the action. Then even Data asks why. "Counsellor, Do you believe a ship captain should explain every order?" Great scenes. Great television
7/9.
Set Bookmark
John
Sun, May 31, 2020, 3:40am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Are they even aiming for satire? Space Force seems like it would be a good idea for short one-off show, mocking Trump's idea. But a whole series? If you do that then you're limiting how satirical you can be, and it becomes about 'likeable characters' etc.

American TV tends to overdo things anyway. How many seasons was the US Office show? The Brits only needed 3.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sun, May 31, 2020, 3:02am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

The problem with Space Force is that the uplifting tone feels often unearned, bordering on manipulative or cheesy. In the Good Place it felt earned, the characters were recognizable and smartly written.

In a sense Space Force feels somewhat like STP because in STP almost nothing is earned, everything is just thrown at the audience, like an emperor throwing jewelry at the crowds. But while STP is almost irredeemable because you had to redo the entire show, Space Force just needs tightening. Especially the characters and motivation of the characters. That is why Malkovich works the best. His character makes sense and his motivation is clear. Carrell on the other hand is 6 different characters. He is a war hero, he is a competent father, he has empathy, he lacks empathy, he is incompetent to the point of feeble-mindedness, he accepts unacceptable behavior. It seems like they wanted to ridicule the military but also not spit on the eternal love of Americans for their military. The show has to decide if it wants to be nice to everybody and therefore say nothing or be an actual satire.

And you mentioned Lisa Kudrow. What happened there?? I'm at episode 8, I think. She almost disappeared. She is in prison for unexplained reasons and we see her in maybe three episodes for a very short time (just looked it up, she is just in 5 episodes in season 1). That looks like production problems. Something went wrong.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, May 31, 2020, 2:46am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Way to Eden

Would have given it three stars if it wasn't for Uhura's complete absence.
Set Bookmark
Mal
Sun, May 31, 2020, 1:55am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Space Force is just what the doctor ordered after The Good Place ended and while we wait for new Orville episodes.

At least someone out there is making uplifting wholesome scifi again!

Plus it is always great to see Lisa Kudrow (Phoebe from Friends) back on screen again! Yeah!

https://youtu.be/MkHQxsv1JgQ?t=78
Next ►Page 1 of 2,900
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.