Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 224 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 9
Set Bookmark
Areliae
Sun, Aug 1, 2021, 12:15am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Peak Performance

I find the whole discussion about how a computer like Data should be able to destroy Kolrami funny, considering that, at the time of those comments, computers couldn't even beat us in Go.

I compete in and study a similar game (chess), and let me tell you, calculation speed is not enough. If I use a program with a bad "understanding" of chess it doesn't matter what system I play on, I'll win. Exponential growth of possibilities means that calculation to the end is impossible. At some point some form of evaluation function will have to be used to evaluate the branches in the tree. If that function is bad, nothing else matters.

Let's look a LC0, a self learning neural network designed to play chess. When it started, it was garbage. And it stayed that way for a long time, even after months of training. It took a long time for it to "learn" enough about the game (aka modify weights in a network) to be really good. Now it's one of the best engines out there (behind Stockfish).

Data playing Stratagema is like LC0 when it's first starting out. It knows nothing about the game other than what it can calculate. And since it can't calculate to the end, or to an obviously superior position, that's almost worthless. Just because he's a computer doesn't mean he can inherently create abstract strategies that are better than those of a long time player.

This is why I love this episode. Data doesn't understand enough about the game to know what he did wrong. And it drives him nuts. If Data devoted himself to the game, he would surely surpass any organic being before too long, but as it stands he's simply inferior. And he's not sure how to deal with this.

And the solution is brilliant. I can imagine a game where one cannot calculate a victory, but they COULD calculate a draw. Where that's much simpler. He's acknowledging his own shortcomings, and playing to his strengths. It's great, and more realistic than people think.
Set Bookmark
Amelia Batehart
Thu, Jul 1, 2021, 3:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Hope and Fear

@Luke

Completely disagree with you on this one. The problem I had with TNG is that the writers NEVER ever showed Picard to be wrong, or fallible....he was completely incorruptible.

Janeway, on the other hand was shown to be ruthless to the point of dangerous in her decision making - something which a lot of male fans continue to judge her for.

Picard was way too perfect for me, and I couldn't stand it when admirals came on board the enterprise and he always had to end up morally better than them by the end of the episode.
Set Bookmark
Amelia Batehart
Fri, Jun 18, 2021, 7:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

Definitely one of the worst Voyager episodes for me. Although, saying that since I love Voyager so much I have sat through this one several times on complete all-season re-watchings.

The story is far too silly/simplistic for me to be plausible, especially for a crew that gets stranded in the Delta Quadrant and has dealings with alien technology.
Set Bookmark
Garak’s friend Elim
Tue, Jun 15, 2021, 8:20am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

This one just came up again in a rewatch. I’ve always liked it, but this time it feels especially poignant as I’m separated from my own father due to this accursed virus. I don’t know if I will get to see him again in his lifetime.

The dedication hits me like a punch to the gut every time. “For my father, who’s coming home”.
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Mon, May 10, 2021, 10:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Riddles

AKA How Tuvok Got His Groove Back
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Mon, May 3, 2021, 10:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Equinox, Part I

Re: Harry Kim. "Somebody, please put this goof out of his misery." Couldn't agree more. This line made me cackle.
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Wed, Apr 28, 2021, 11:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Vox Sola

Jammer on Mayweather: " Perhaps there's a reason he's been getting so little screen time this season."

If only you'd known aseason one was by far when he got the most screen time!
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Wed, Apr 28, 2021, 10:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Someone to Watch Over Me

Cute episode. The "You are My Sunshine" duet is a wonderful way to show off Ryan and Picardo's vocal chops. And so wild to see Scott from Kids in the Hall in Trek--in full alien make-up nonetheless!
Set Bookmark
CeliaStarTrekker
Wed, Apr 21, 2021, 11:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

The only thing that really bothered me about this episode was the guest changeling's harsh opinions about humanoids and the fact the behaviour of the people on the station (including Sisko) towards the changeling seemed to corroborate this.

In my opinion it went against Gene Roddenberry's original message which for me has always been about exploring space, discovering the unknown and celebrating difference.


Two examples come to mind:

Star Trek the Motion Picture
TNG - Encounter at Farpoint

I'm sure there are many other episodes that show the beauty of space and the different life forms - this is where Star Trek shines for me and what drew me to it in the first place.

I get that by DS9 (and even TNG) the Star Trek message had been rehashed and turned into a melodramatic reflection of current human issues and the way we treat each other, but I'm just not buying the idea that 99.9% of humanoid species would be anti changeling and treat them badly/with suspicion.

Aren't humans of the 24th or 25th century meant to be evolved?
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Tue, Apr 13, 2021, 6:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

"Some say that in life, there are no second chances. Experience tells me that this is true." -- Michael, five minutes after she is pardoned from a life sentence. This show is fucking brain dead.
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Mon, Apr 12, 2021, 11:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Breaking the Ice

A poop question, sir?
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Tue, Apr 6, 2021, 6:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

Starting with the Federation at war was a huge misstep. You need to establish these characters before showing how war changes people. Instead, everyone acts like an insane warmonger and we have no basis for comparison.

Landry's death was one of the stupidest actions I have ever seen a Trek character take. And it seems like Lorca and Michael cared about Landry's death as much as the audience did.

Can't stop laughing that this magical transportation device is powered by an alien monster and magic mushrooms.

I will say something positive about the episode though, I liked that Michael was trying to take a scientific, pacifist type approach to learning about the alien monster, rather than just attacking it and trying to weaponize it. That was vaguely Trekkian.
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Sun, Apr 4, 2021, 1:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

What a disappointment. Definitely lived down to the hype.

This wasn't even a real episode, it was just a Holodeck simulation. It was more about Riker's dilemma than any of the Enterprise crew. Maybe that could have been cute for a different episode, but not the series finale. Just a true insult to the characters.

My main man, Charles "R.I.P." Tucker, had the stupidest death over. And no one gave a shit! One throwaway scene with Archer and T'Pol, and Archer didn't even seem particularly sad. No funeral, no discussion by the crew about what he meant to them. There was more to-do when random crewmen were killed!
And his death was stupid as hell, they have been in worse situations and gotten out of them with clever solutions, why did he blow himself up for no reason?

Also, what was up with the cook being the ship's de facto counselor all of a sudden? That wasn't established at all in four seasons of the show.

The last mission should have been epic, instead all they did was use a flashing strobe light to make a cheap getaway. Takes the fun out of getting to Shran one last time.

Then, as a final insult, they cut away before Archer's speech!

Just infuriating!
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Sun, Mar 21, 2021, 10:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Observer Effect

The aliens were unbelievably sloppy at their job. They spent half the episode loudly discussing their mission in public areas of the ship. And I was laughing every time the possessed crew members just stared through the quarantine window and asked the most stilted, inhuman questions imaginable. We're supposed to believe one of these guys has been at this for 800 years? I guess it is all just hand-waved away by the memory altering.
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 11:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Damage

It is a gross comment and needs to be removed.
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Fri, Feb 19, 2021, 2:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: North Star

Just Enterprise trying to do a holodeck episode, lack of a holodeck be damned. And half the cast didn't even get to put on cowboy hats and join in on the fun! What a waste of time.
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 12:06am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

Zero stars is insane. Bland and cliched, but nothing worse than that. But I do admit it is a bad sign when the Great Comments Section Derail of December 2020 is more entertaining than the episode!
Set Bookmark
Debeli Svinjo
Mon, Jan 4, 2021, 2:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Exile

"Inappropriate Attire"

"Bad Words"

Tell me, @Sean J Hagins, are you a religitard, or just trolling to be one? Or just a precious oversensitive snowflake?
Set Bookmark
Debeli Svinjo
Sun, Jan 3, 2021, 2:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Crossing

I for one am glad to see a more rough-and-tumble Archer, in this episode. Those alien lifeforms wanted to take over his crew. He blew them up. Diplomacy is all well and good, as long as there's a point to it. Those aliens clearly weren't interested in any compromises made.

One thing that does bother me, how it only took one measly little torpedo, to blow up a ship that size, even from the inside (and it looked like it didn't even hit, it just detonated in empty space inside the ship). Especially when those pre-photon torpedos are generally super-weak, from what I've seen so far.
Set Bookmark
Debeli Svinjo
Wed, Dec 30, 2020, 2:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

A beautiful, low key, storytelling episode. The acting was great all around, and even though it has a few silly moments (like the Velcro thing), I still loved it. Easily 3/4 stars.

Jammer's review made no sense to me, until I took a look at his ratings of the dreck that is Discovery. It seems that brainless action-packed flashy stuff with shallow characterization and blatantly politically-correct undertone, is more to his liking. Fair enough. I prefer more subtlety and depth to Star Trek, and this episode of Enterprise fits the bill.
Set Bookmark
Debeli Svinjo
Tue, Dec 29, 2020, 2:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Two Days and Two Nights

@EventualZen

It was a different time. A better time. Far less toxic political correctness, far more common sense. Trannies are an abomination.
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Sat, Dec 12, 2020, 12:34am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part I

During the first negotiation scene, I was dying when I realized that, on top of all the other bluster and gamesmanship, Jellico even steals the Gul's chair.
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Sun, Dec 6, 2020, 10:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

Amazing level of detail in this episode--the young Jean-Luc does PIcard's little "tugging down on the front of his uniform" maneuver.
Set Bookmark
Elise
Tue, Dec 1, 2020, 8:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 13: The Jedi

@Yanks she was drummed out in season 5 of TCW, was offered the chance to rejoin but didn't take it. She's definitely an ex-jedi, but doesn't count as one of the "Lost Twenty" because she was only a padawan when she left, which is way more common than a fully fledged jedi knight either leaving or being expelled
Set Bookmark
Elise
Tue, Dec 1, 2020, 4:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 13: The Jedi

Who would you like to see play Thrawn in a liveaction appearance?

My first thought is Bradley Whitford, but I could see Jason Isaacs too, @hiddensun. If he doesn't mind playing such a similar character to the Operative, Chiwetel Ejiofor would be friggin fantastic- also he'd look super sexy with red eyes, which is important to all of us who have a crush on thrawn.

While Thrawn's role in disney canon is much less interesting than in the old EU, if thrawn is discovered, we'd probably get Ezra from Rebels brought over to live action as well, which is pretty cool.
Next ►Page 1 of 9
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.