Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 207 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 9
Set Bookmark
Debeli Svinjo
Mon, Jan 4, 2021, 2:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Exile

"Inappropriate Attire"

"Bad Words"

Tell me, @Sean J Hagins, are you a religitard, or just trolling to be one? Or just a precious oversensitive snowflake?
Set Bookmark
Debeli Svinjo
Sun, Jan 3, 2021, 2:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Crossing

I for one am glad to see a more rough-and-tumble Archer, in this episode. Those alien lifeforms wanted to take over his crew. He blew them up. Diplomacy is all well and good, as long as there's a point to it. Those aliens clearly weren't interested in any compromises made.

One thing that does bother me, how it only took one measly little torpedo, to blow up a ship that size, even from the inside (and it looked like it didn't even hit, it just detonated in empty space inside the ship). Especially when those pre-photon torpedos are generally super-weak, from what I've seen so far.
Set Bookmark
Debeli Svinjo
Wed, Dec 30, 2020, 2:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

A beautiful, low key, storytelling episode. The acting was great all around, and even though it has a few silly moments (like the Velcro thing), I still loved it. Easily 3/4 stars.

Jammer's review made no sense to me, until I took a look at his ratings of the dreck that is Discovery. It seems that brainless action-packed flashy stuff with shallow characterization and blatantly politically-correct undertone, is more to his liking. Fair enough. I prefer more subtlety and depth to Star Trek, and this episode of Enterprise fits the bill.
Set Bookmark
Debeli Svinjo
Tue, Dec 29, 2020, 2:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Two Days and Two Nights

@EventualZen

It was a different time. A better time. Far less toxic political correctness, far more common sense. Trannies are an abomination.
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Sat, Dec 12, 2020, 12:34am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part I

During the first negotiation scene, I was dying when I realized that, on top of all the other bluster and gamesmanship, Jellico even steals the Gul's chair.
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Sun, Dec 6, 2020, 10:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

Amazing level of detail in this episode--the young Jean-Luc does PIcard's little "tugging down on the front of his uniform" maneuver.
Set Bookmark
Elise
Tue, Dec 1, 2020, 8:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 13: The Jedi

@Yanks she was drummed out in season 5 of TCW, was offered the chance to rejoin but didn't take it. She's definitely an ex-jedi, but doesn't count as one of the "Lost Twenty" because she was only a padawan when she left, which is way more common than a fully fledged jedi knight either leaving or being expelled
Set Bookmark
Elise
Tue, Dec 1, 2020, 4:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 13: The Jedi

Who would you like to see play Thrawn in a liveaction appearance?

My first thought is Bradley Whitford, but I could see Jason Isaacs too, @hiddensun. If he doesn't mind playing such a similar character to the Operative, Chiwetel Ejiofor would be friggin fantastic- also he'd look super sexy with red eyes, which is important to all of us who have a crush on thrawn.

While Thrawn's role in disney canon is much less interesting than in the old EU, if thrawn is discovered, we'd probably get Ezra from Rebels brought over to live action as well, which is pretty cool.
Set Bookmark
Neelix's spots
Mon, Oct 19, 2020, 5:49am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Okay, I'm going to give this ranking thing a go. I also thought ENT had a strong first season. It was later on I got bored with the Xindi and time travel stuff. And I absolutely loved VOY's first season, the potential was staggering and only when you think about how they wasted it does the show sink in my estimation.

1. VOY
2. DS9
3. ENT
4. TOS
5. TNG
6. LD
7. DIS
8. PIC

It's been way too long since i've seen TAS but I like the animation better than LD so I'd probably put it just below TNG.
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Mon, Sep 14, 2020, 10:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Improbable Cause

"The truth is usually just an excuse for lack of imagination." This may be my favorite, and the definitive, Garak quote.
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Sun, Sep 13, 2020, 10:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Through the Looking Glass

Tuvok's cameo is so pointless that I completely forgot he had ever been on DS9. Made for one heck of a surprise in the opening credits, though.
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 10:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

Can't really say it better than MikeyZ.
Set Bookmark
Areliae
Tue, Sep 1, 2020, 2:12am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

OK, 20 years later I feel compelled to weigh in.

First off, regardless of the morality of the ending, the episode was very good. The acting was good. The dialogue was good. The music was good. The story was good. They really put you into an alien mind, which is no small feat. I feel like the episode works on a lot of levels.

That being said, Phlox and Archer definitely were wrong, in my opinion. In fact, I'm contorting myself to try to come up with a way that this can be viewed as morally gray, in even the smallest respect, but I just can't do it.

So how does the episode try to justify it? I'll sum it up:

1. The disease is genetic, not an outside agent
2. There's another developing species on the planet
3. They are a pre warp civilization
4. It's an alien world and we shouldn't interfere

The episode tries to disguise the fact that these are terrible reasons by combining all of them into one big confusing argument. But when you break it down none of them make any sense.

What the hell does it being genetic matter? We fight against genetic diseases all the time NOW, we don't stop people with Sickle Cell from getting bone marrow transplants because it's "the natural evolutionary process." By the logic of the commenters above, what right do we have to interfere?

Oh, but it's an alien planet! ...And? Like, what does that have to do with anything? The prime directive only emphasizes non-interference because of cultural preservation and the safety that comes with a slow, natural development. It's not because other planets aren't as worthy of life or whatever. Would you argue that doctors shouldn't treat patients from other countries? Other ethnicities? What's the difference between that and other planets? Some arbitrary technological red line?

The only factor that might've made for an interesting moral dilemma is the Menk, but the only way that would work is if they were actively being persecuted, and if the diseased party were generally the bad guys. As it stands, that argument could apply to any species in the ST universe. Oh, Humans are holding Klingons back from their true potential. We should let all of them die! It's ridiculous, and tries to hide that behind some mystical worship of "evolution." It doesn't change the calculus at all.



The prime directive is about cultural preservation and the understanding that slow, self-generated progress is beneficial to a society as a whole. Not from some aversion to playing god.
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Sun, Aug 30, 2020, 9:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

"There I was, patrolling the Demilitarized zone, when I received a distress signal... from me!"

I definitely rate this one higher than you. I love this episode. The absurd escalation of the counter-insurgency measures is a wild ride. And you can't beat Dukat getting locked out of his own program.
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Fri, Aug 28, 2020, 9:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Royale

I can get behind this one. Silly and lightweight, sure, but inoffensive overall and even charming at times. Picard's pained expressions at the novel's terrible dialogue are wonderful. Plus big-time gambler Data is adorable. "Baby needs a new pair of shoes!"
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Sun, Aug 23, 2020, 8:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Unnatural Selection

Even an episode this pedestrian could not stand in the way of O'Brien making a name for himself... literally!
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Mon, Aug 17, 2020, 8:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Where Silence Has Lease

The opening scene is not only completely disconnected from the rest of the episode, but hokey as all get out. Riker does battle with a goon in a rubber suit, and Worf is fighting Skeletor!

I did, however, dig Picard listening to Erik Satie while waiting for the ship to self-destruct.
Set Bookmark
Elizabeth
Thu, Aug 13, 2020, 1:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Aquiel

This episode is a gem for one reason and one reason only: the way Riker has no idea how to interact with the dog and ends up awkwardly clobbering the poor thing’s muzzle every time he tries to show it affection. It gets worse each time he does it and everyone just continues on with a straight face as if he didn’t just do an extremely strange thing to a dog; it’s hilarious.
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Fri, Jul 31, 2020, 11:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Alter Ego

If nothing else, this episode has the comedy gold of a jilted Harry Kim catching his holo-crush in the act* with Tuvok.

*of playing a board game
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Mon, Jul 27, 2020, 9:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Hide and Q

Not a great episode, but worth it for seeing Wesley get skewered.
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Wed, Jul 22, 2020, 8:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Where No One Has Gone Before

Half a dozen episodes in and they are already comparing Wesley to Mozart. Did they really expect people NOT to hate this little shit?
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Tue, Jul 21, 2020, 8:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Last Outpost

Rough stuff. Hard to believe they really thought the Ferengi would be the big baddies for TNG. Although they did start off with more of their DS9-era characteristics than I remembered--the capitalist culture, the women staying at home and not wearing clothes, etc. (But whatever happened to the laser whips?)
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Fri, Jul 10, 2020, 9:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Move Along Home

Allamaraine!
Set Bookmark
Elizabeth
Wed, Jul 1, 2020, 2:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Naked Now

It seems that I am coming to this from a different point of view than most: I watched all of TOS a few years ago, but had never seen TNG before a couple of months ago. I started with season 3 because of all the warnings about the first two seasons. I decided to watch this episode — my very first from season 1 — after watching season 4’s “In Theory” (which I did not like) and hearing that Data’s character had originally been played as far more human, a possibility that made questions about his personhood seem more interesting to me.

As someone who watches the show mostly for the hypotheticals/moral dilemmas and not so much for character drama, I expected to hate this episode, but I actually rather liked it. A smiling, biologically vulnerable, and perhaps quietly emotional Data who is so tantalizingly close-but-not-quite-there in human terms is more interesting to me than the Data at the conclusion of “In Theory,” where the writers seem to definitely proclaim that Data is merely a computer we love to anthropomorphize (it is also annoyingly inconsistent with his behavior in other episodes). On top of that, this was my first introduction to Tasha Yar who seems like someone with an interesting background who I would’ve liked to get to know better — with her tough exterior and vulnerable inside she’s far more interesting than either Troi or Crusher. Her seeking out Data reads more genuine and compelling than the random coupling we see in “In Theory” — imagine we’d had a storyline about Tasha’s mixed feelings about having, well, _feelings_ for a robot, and how much more that could have propelled Data’s story too, instead of the rather limp one-off we get in “In Theory.” It seems clear that originally the writers were envisioning a long-term storyline as with Troi/Riker and Crusher/Picard and I think that could have been more fun to watch than either of those two couples.

I’m glad the show ultimately moved away from Geordi’s eyesight being a source of consternation for him though — I always thought it was nice how his eyesight is a non-issue for most of the series, with neither Geordi nor others making much of a big deal about it. Geordi is just Geordi: excellent engineer, endearingly unlucky in love, and all around nice guy. We are aware he is blind, and it’s not hidden from us or without its challenges, but that’s not the most prominent or deepest part of his character.

Riker gets a nice turn to shine here — his ability to keep in control after being infected is both a comment on his strength of character and on how different he is from his colleagues: he seems to be the only member of the crew who’s not really hiding anything and who wears his heart on his sleeve. His relative sobriety is perhaps also a tacit indication about how “out of control” everyone else really is. The contagion is repeatedly compared to a state like drunkenness, and it’s not altogether uncommon for genuine drunkenness to also provide a cover for knowingly engaging in behavior that will later be excused. Picard, Crusher, and Troi may be inebriated, but whatever logical part of them that’s left (and there is some since Crusher, for example, manages to concoct a cure, etc) also knows that they can say or do anything while infected and it won’t “count” against them later.

Most of the other characters (Crusher, Troi, Worf) are surprisingly consistent with their later characterizations given what I’d heard about the unevenness of season 1. The only person who comes off a bit more poorly in this episode is actually Picard, who, whether he’s dislikes children or not, seems too genuinely flustered by Wesley, and without the calm and cool so familiar in later seasons. I’ve never understood the Wesley hate, so his prominent presence in the episode is not a problem for me either.

All the complaints about cringe-inducing dialogue detailed in other comments certainly stand, though. I couldn’t watch Crusher’s horribly on-the-nose comments about Picard being attractive complete with the cliched unzipping of the top of her uniform without some definite squirming. But because I already knew the characters far better by the time I got around to this episode than I think most viewers did when they first viewed it, the episode overall mostly played for me the way it was supposed to: a fun way to watch the crew let their hair down.
Set Bookmark
Elise Kehle
Fri, Feb 28, 2020, 10:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Homeward

I think Worf improvising as a shaman is funny enough to bump it up to 2 stars, but not a great ep.
Next ►Page 1 of 9
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.