Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 219 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 9
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Mon, May 3, 2021, 10:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Equinox, Part I

Re: Harry Kim. "Somebody, please put this goof out of his misery." Couldn't agree more. This line made me cackle.
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Wed, Apr 28, 2021, 11:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Vox Sola

Jammer on Mayweather: " Perhaps there's a reason he's been getting so little screen time this season."

If only you'd known aseason one was by far when he got the most screen time!
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Wed, Apr 28, 2021, 10:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Someone to Watch Over Me

Cute episode. The "You are My Sunshine" duet is a wonderful way to show off Ryan and Picardo's vocal chops. And so wild to see Scott from Kids in the Hall in Trek--in full alien make-up nonetheless!
Set Bookmark
CeliaStarTrekker
Wed, Apr 21, 2021, 11:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

The only thing that really bothered me about this episode was the guest changeling's harsh opinions about humanoids and the fact the behaviour of the people on the station (including Sisko) towards the changeling seemed to corroborate this.

In my opinion it went against Gene Roddenberry's original message which for me has always been about exploring space, discovering the unknown and celebrating difference.


Two examples come to mind:

Star Trek the Motion Picture
TNG - Encounter at Farpoint

I'm sure there are many other episodes that show the beauty of space and the different life forms - this is where Star Trek shines for me and what drew me to it in the first place.

I get that by DS9 (and even TNG) the Star Trek message had been rehashed and turned into a melodramatic reflection of current human issues and the way we treat each other, but I'm just not buying the idea that 99.9% of humanoid species would be anti changeling and treat them badly/with suspicion.

Aren't humans of the 24th or 25th century meant to be evolved?
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Tue, Apr 13, 2021, 6:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

"Some say that in life, there are no second chances. Experience tells me that this is true." -- Michael, five minutes after she is pardoned from a life sentence. This show is fucking brain dead.
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Mon, Apr 12, 2021, 11:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Breaking the Ice

A poop question, sir?
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Tue, Apr 6, 2021, 6:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

Starting with the Federation at war was a huge misstep. You need to establish these characters before showing how war changes people. Instead, everyone acts like an insane warmonger and we have no basis for comparison.

Landry's death was one of the stupidest actions I have ever seen a Trek character take. And it seems like Lorca and Michael cared about Landry's death as much as the audience did.

Can't stop laughing that this magical transportation device is powered by an alien monster and magic mushrooms.

I will say something positive about the episode though, I liked that Michael was trying to take a scientific, pacifist type approach to learning about the alien monster, rather than just attacking it and trying to weaponize it. That was vaguely Trekkian.
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Sun, Apr 4, 2021, 1:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

What a disappointment. Definitely lived down to the hype.

This wasn't even a real episode, it was just a Holodeck simulation. It was more about Riker's dilemma than any of the Enterprise crew. Maybe that could have been cute for a different episode, but not the series finale. Just a true insult to the characters.

My main man, Charles "R.I.P." Tucker, had the stupidest death over. And no one gave a shit! One throwaway scene with Archer and T'Pol, and Archer didn't even seem particularly sad. No funeral, no discussion by the crew about what he meant to them. There was more to-do when random crewmen were killed!
And his death was stupid as hell, they have been in worse situations and gotten out of them with clever solutions, why did he blow himself up for no reason?

Also, what was up with the cook being the ship's de facto counselor all of a sudden? That wasn't established at all in four seasons of the show.

The last mission should have been epic, instead all they did was use a flashing strobe light to make a cheap getaway. Takes the fun out of getting to Shran one last time.

Then, as a final insult, they cut away before Archer's speech!

Just infuriating!
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Sun, Mar 21, 2021, 10:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Observer Effect

The aliens were unbelievably sloppy at their job. They spent half the episode loudly discussing their mission in public areas of the ship. And I was laughing every time the possessed crew members just stared through the quarantine window and asked the most stilted, inhuman questions imaginable. We're supposed to believe one of these guys has been at this for 800 years? I guess it is all just hand-waved away by the memory altering.
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 11:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Damage

It is a gross comment and needs to be removed.
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Fri, Feb 19, 2021, 2:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: North Star

Just Enterprise trying to do a holodeck episode, lack of a holodeck be damned. And half the cast didn't even get to put on cowboy hats and join in on the fun! What a waste of time.
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 12:06am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

Zero stars is insane. Bland and cliched, but nothing worse than that. But I do admit it is a bad sign when the Great Comments Section Derail of December 2020 is more entertaining than the episode!
Set Bookmark
Debeli Svinjo
Mon, Jan 4, 2021, 2:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Exile

"Inappropriate Attire"

"Bad Words"

Tell me, @Sean J Hagins, are you a religitard, or just trolling to be one? Or just a precious oversensitive snowflake?
Set Bookmark
Debeli Svinjo
Sun, Jan 3, 2021, 2:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Crossing

I for one am glad to see a more rough-and-tumble Archer, in this episode. Those alien lifeforms wanted to take over his crew. He blew them up. Diplomacy is all well and good, as long as there's a point to it. Those aliens clearly weren't interested in any compromises made.

One thing that does bother me, how it only took one measly little torpedo, to blow up a ship that size, even from the inside (and it looked like it didn't even hit, it just detonated in empty space inside the ship). Especially when those pre-photon torpedos are generally super-weak, from what I've seen so far.
Set Bookmark
Debeli Svinjo
Wed, Dec 30, 2020, 2:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

A beautiful, low key, storytelling episode. The acting was great all around, and even though it has a few silly moments (like the Velcro thing), I still loved it. Easily 3/4 stars.

Jammer's review made no sense to me, until I took a look at his ratings of the dreck that is Discovery. It seems that brainless action-packed flashy stuff with shallow characterization and blatantly politically-correct undertone, is more to his liking. Fair enough. I prefer more subtlety and depth to Star Trek, and this episode of Enterprise fits the bill.
Set Bookmark
Debeli Svinjo
Tue, Dec 29, 2020, 2:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Two Days and Two Nights

@EventualZen

It was a different time. A better time. Far less toxic political correctness, far more common sense. Trannies are an abomination.
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Sat, Dec 12, 2020, 12:34am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part I

During the first negotiation scene, I was dying when I realized that, on top of all the other bluster and gamesmanship, Jellico even steals the Gul's chair.
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Sun, Dec 6, 2020, 10:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

Amazing level of detail in this episode--the young Jean-Luc does PIcard's little "tugging down on the front of his uniform" maneuver.
Set Bookmark
Elise
Tue, Dec 1, 2020, 8:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 13: The Jedi

@Yanks she was drummed out in season 5 of TCW, was offered the chance to rejoin but didn't take it. She's definitely an ex-jedi, but doesn't count as one of the "Lost Twenty" because she was only a padawan when she left, which is way more common than a fully fledged jedi knight either leaving or being expelled
Set Bookmark
Elise
Tue, Dec 1, 2020, 4:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 13: The Jedi

Who would you like to see play Thrawn in a liveaction appearance?

My first thought is Bradley Whitford, but I could see Jason Isaacs too, @hiddensun. If he doesn't mind playing such a similar character to the Operative, Chiwetel Ejiofor would be friggin fantastic- also he'd look super sexy with red eyes, which is important to all of us who have a crush on thrawn.

While Thrawn's role in disney canon is much less interesting than in the old EU, if thrawn is discovered, we'd probably get Ezra from Rebels brought over to live action as well, which is pretty cool.
Set Bookmark
Neelix's spots
Mon, Oct 19, 2020, 5:49am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Okay, I'm going to give this ranking thing a go. I also thought ENT had a strong first season. It was later on I got bored with the Xindi and time travel stuff. And I absolutely loved VOY's first season, the potential was staggering and only when you think about how they wasted it does the show sink in my estimation.

1. VOY
2. DS9
3. ENT
4. TOS
5. TNG
6. LD
7. DIS
8. PIC

It's been way too long since i've seen TAS but I like the animation better than LD so I'd probably put it just below TNG.
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Mon, Sep 14, 2020, 10:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Improbable Cause

"The truth is usually just an excuse for lack of imagination." This may be my favorite, and the definitive, Garak quote.
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Sun, Sep 13, 2020, 10:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Through the Looking Glass

Tuvok's cameo is so pointless that I completely forgot he had ever been on DS9. Made for one heck of a surprise in the opening credits, though.
Set Bookmark
SS Elim
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 10:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

Can't really say it better than MikeyZ.
Set Bookmark
Areliae
Tue, Sep 1, 2020, 2:12am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

OK, 20 years later I feel compelled to weigh in.

First off, regardless of the morality of the ending, the episode was very good. The acting was good. The dialogue was good. The music was good. The story was good. They really put you into an alien mind, which is no small feat. I feel like the episode works on a lot of levels.

That being said, Phlox and Archer definitely were wrong, in my opinion. In fact, I'm contorting myself to try to come up with a way that this can be viewed as morally gray, in even the smallest respect, but I just can't do it.

So how does the episode try to justify it? I'll sum it up:

1. The disease is genetic, not an outside agent
2. There's another developing species on the planet
3. They are a pre warp civilization
4. It's an alien world and we shouldn't interfere

The episode tries to disguise the fact that these are terrible reasons by combining all of them into one big confusing argument. But when you break it down none of them make any sense.

What the hell does it being genetic matter? We fight against genetic diseases all the time NOW, we don't stop people with Sickle Cell from getting bone marrow transplants because it's "the natural evolutionary process." By the logic of the commenters above, what right do we have to interfere?

Oh, but it's an alien planet! ...And? Like, what does that have to do with anything? The prime directive only emphasizes non-interference because of cultural preservation and the safety that comes with a slow, natural development. It's not because other planets aren't as worthy of life or whatever. Would you argue that doctors shouldn't treat patients from other countries? Other ethnicities? What's the difference between that and other planets? Some arbitrary technological red line?

The only factor that might've made for an interesting moral dilemma is the Menk, but the only way that would work is if they were actively being persecuted, and if the diseased party were generally the bad guys. As it stands, that argument could apply to any species in the ST universe. Oh, Humans are holding Klingons back from their true potential. We should let all of them die! It's ridiculous, and tries to hide that behind some mystical worship of "evolution." It doesn't change the calculus at all.



The prime directive is about cultural preservation and the understanding that slow, self-generated progress is beneficial to a society as a whole. Not from some aversion to playing god.
Next ►Page 1 of 9
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.