Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 752 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 31
Set Bookmark
Edward
Sat, Jun 22, 2019, 11:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Blood on the Scales

a closing episode that sets up the rest of the way
Set Bookmark
Edward
Sat, Jun 22, 2019, 10:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Oath

love how 24 discussion overtook this with some hatorade for Brannon Braga
Set Bookmark
Edward
Sat, Jun 22, 2019, 10:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: A Disquiet Follows My Soul

never knew this was RDM's directorial debut, guess it shows when reviewers hate it for focusing on specific things.
Set Bookmark
Edward
Sat, Jun 22, 2019, 10:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Sometimes a Great Notion

can't help but think how other writers would mess up this episode
Set Bookmark
Edward
Thu, Jun 20, 2019, 9:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Revelations

Stephen Moffatt would have made it time wimey wibbly wobbley
Set Bookmark
Edward
Thu, Jun 20, 2019, 9:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Hub

so many series can learn from these episodes
Set Bookmark
Edward
Wed, Jun 19, 2019, 11:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Sine Qua Non

the links that explain the significance of 47 no longer work
Set Bookmark
Edward
Wed, Jun 19, 2019, 10:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Guess What's Coming to Dinner?

Doctor Who showrunners could learn a thing or two from this episode
Set Bookmark
Edward
Wed, Jun 19, 2019, 7:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Faith

wow, the religion and mythology focus really riled up the viewers
Set Bookmark
Edward
Wed, Jun 19, 2019, 3:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Road Less Traveled

not sure about the reasoning of putting religion to the forefront at this point
Set Bookmark
Edward
Mon, Jun 17, 2019, 10:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Escape Velocity

really surprised the crowd was not focusing on how Baltar moved like he was being propped up
Set Bookmark
Edward
Mon, Jun 17, 2019, 9:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Ties That Bind

10 years later and we still come to this blog as the go to review
Set Bookmark
Edward
Sun, Jun 16, 2019, 11:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: He That Believeth in Me

so glad the spoilers from 2008 were mostly removed
Set Bookmark
Edward
Wed, Jun 12, 2019, 11:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Six of One

such a great episode...first time watching it
Set Bookmark
Cedar
Sun, Jun 2, 2019, 5:36am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

Be honest - did anyone else tear up during the final scene where Tuvok leaves a candle in his window as his way of saying goodbye to his friend? One of the most poignant scenes in all of Trek and no words were needed.

Janeway and Kes’ farewell scene is similarly heart-rending and sublimely acted.

10/10. One of Voyager’s best episodes.
Set Bookmark
Baron Samedi
Mon, May 13, 2019, 3:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Deadly Years

@Jason R. I completely agree and always found it odd that this episode even had a lukewarm reception among fans, when nothing that happens in it makes even the most minimal amount of sense. Even as a little kid, I always found this episode completely ludicrous on every level. The slow and repetitive execution stops it from even being goofy/campy fun.
Set Bookmark
CaptainEddieD
Sun, May 12, 2019, 8:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Through the Looking Glass

Could barely even watch this one

(also I just saw a dead body on the street!)

(when someone reads this months from now, they will be like wow, I wonder what the story with that was)

- Captain Eddie D
Set Bookmark
CaptainEddieD
Sun, May 12, 2019, 5:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Prophet Motive

I love Quark and especially Nog, and really enjoy when they are the focus of the B story. But as much as I wanna like Wallace Shawn, these episodes are always kinda a looking at my phone the whole time situation.
Set Bookmark
CaptainEddieD
Sun, May 12, 2019, 5:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Destiny

Always read these reviews (on my very, very slow watch of this) but have never commented. This was a pretty good episode. I feel like this is the point in the show when I need to start actually getting into it cause it feels like it's getting good.
Set Bookmark
phaedon
Sat, Apr 27, 2019, 7:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

DISCO is a train wreck. This season was the worst, but I can't look away. I still can't figure out how they found Tig Notaro. The Sphere is the most ridiculously glossed over Macguffin of all time. All-seeing mom doesn't see the Red Angel stuck in a time loop? When Po showed up, I felt like I was watching Star Trek: NCIS. I will absolutely blow my colon if they bring Picard on for Season 3.
Set Bookmark
Lodghed Torpedo
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 1:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Thank you for everything, Jammer. Any prospects of ever doing The OA reviews? I drank the show in my top 5 along with Lost, all of Star Trek, & Twin Peaks, and there are only 16 episodes so it wouldn't be the biggest commitment, but the sci-fi is transcendent and if not, I at least hope you watch it!

Thanks again, I love the site so much
Set Bookmark
fevredream
Mon, Apr 22, 2019, 11:53am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Inside Man

I actually quite liked this one. Compared to the general boredom the Voyager crew often inspires at this point, it still feels like a breath of fresh air to get to see the Alpha Quadrant and Project Pathfinder and all the people involved. Reg was great fun as both his real self and his exaggerated hologram version, and Troi was used in a pretty enjoyable way as well (and actually used her empathic abilities in a meaningful way, which was great). From amongst all the "Voyager is going to get home! except not really" episodes, I'd say that "Inside Man" is up there with "Bliss" in terms of actually being enjoyable.
Set Bookmark
Baron Samedi
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 4:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Dom - that article was a great read, thanks for posting it.
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 1:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I agree that the studio purposely left their options open with that ending! kind of strange we didn't close with a discovery perspective.

For a moment there I thought they were going to go full Borg when Leland's voice started to sound very similar to the original Borg transmission voice from TNG and mildly possible spore drive/time crystal/nanobot infested leland cocktail which never materialised. I didn't want it to be an origin story but would have gone with section 31 experiment gone bad.

The admiral Cornwall sacrifice didn't have the impact it might have under more plausible circumstances. Blast door indeed! I thought she had potential as a character, perhaps even as a defacto captain of the future bound discovery. Perhaps others would reject that idea!

Production values were movie quality awesome I have to say. A lot going on yes, but in fine with the action here. I liked the clean cut blue shirted Spock fanservice and Rebecca Romjin as number one was good as was mount as usual. I don't think the emotion was overdone this time either and I was entertained throughout. In terms of the 'reset', it was between a rock and a hard place, either the writers time reset and render the characters' actions meaningless or they go with what they did which resolved things in a fashion leaving some meaning behind. Perhaps someone has a better third option, but it was resolved 'enough' for me. Many would argue that they need not give themselves that problem, but personally I enjoyed the time we had with 'the cage crew', pike, Spock and number one essentially.

Going forward I would rather a pike spinoff than a georgiou one (which sounds like a terrible idea) but not at the expense of discovery. However we got there, there's still an opportunity to do/see something's new in the star trek universe. Prequels, whilst interesting, generate too many continuity problems for a lot of people to tolerate. Of course the studio have the option to cancel with that ending, but I'd prefer the show to evolve if it can.
Set Bookmark
Baron Samedi
Thu, Apr 18, 2019, 9:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

This'll be my first comment on Season 2 of Discovery. In my latest effort to beat the system, I started watching a month ago and breezed through the whole thing within a single CBS All Access pay period. It is a bit of a blur to me as a result, and maybe that's affecting me to some extent, but I don't think that altered my experience very much.

The episode-by-episode quality was definitely up from the first season in terms of consistency. There were no outright flops like Season 1's finale or "Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum". The cast was quite good, though I still don't think Ash works as a character (certainly not as a romantic interest of Michael) and the new characters were great (except Leland, who I never found to be an interesting antagonist before or after Control took him over).

But despite Season 2's consistency, I liked Season 1 more. When I look back on it, I can discern a dozen or so interesting character and story arcs in Season 1. Some of them fell totally flat, but many were fun and interesting, and most at least tried to have coherent parameters and a discernible point. I enjoyed getting to know the new characters and the whole romp through the mirror universe was a blast.

Season 2 had some great qualities. Central to them was Anson Mount, who was really superb as Pike. I didn't expect Discovery to portray Pike as effectively as it did, and Anson added depth and grace to the role, helping to fill the void of Trekkian idealism that Season 1's wartime setting lacked. Also, the more standalone episodes, including the episodes with strong standalone components, worked quite well. Saru had some fascinating storylines. The return to Talos IV (which was admittedly heavily intertwined with the larger story) was clever and well-executed. I found the scene between Pike and Vina genuinely moving.

The central problem is that the second half of the season went all-in with a plot I could never bring myself to care about. I never bought that the personal character journey of Michael would be so heavily intertwined with Control destroying "all sentient life," which itself is absurd. The show tried to convince us that the overriding plot was driven by the characters, but it wasn't. It was just about itself.

There's a charming humility, at least by comparison, with the writing approach taken by other Trek series. I've chided Enterprise a fair amount in the past, but in Season 3, the writers knew better than to link the Xindi weapon storyline with some intimate secret from Archer's past. I feel like the Discovery writers would have made the head Xindi scientist Archer's long-lost alien stepfather and intertwined scenes of Archer dealing with childhood trauma with the Enterprise's efforts to stop Earth from being destroyed, and that would obviously have been insufferable.

I just had to lose interest in this storyline as the connections between the fate of "all sentient life" and Michael Burnham piled up. I really like Sonequa Martin-Green's performances - more than most people here, it seems - but constantly bringing Michael's personal issues into the story usually felt unnecessary. These connections probably felt clever in the writing room, but most of these personal journeys intruded on the crew's duty and felt out of place, because the fate of "all sentient life" is way more important than whatever personal issues the show wants to explore about Michael's past or any of the other characters. There were so many emotional scenes (all over-dramatized and over-scored) where I yearned for the urgency with which the Star Trek: Enterprise crew treated their mission to destroy the Xindi weapon - and that was just to save all life on Earth, rather than the whole universe. These characters on Discovery should have been freaking out constantly at the prospect of all sentient life, everywhere, dying. Since the writers clearly didn't want to portray the crew acting this way, they should have lowered the stakes.

I lost track of the plot at a certain point, because I stopped trusting the show to handle the plot in a coherent, worthwhile, or satisfying manner. A recurring issue was that the music, editing, and flashy visuals put everything on the same level of high dramatic urgency, muddling the narrative further. It's too bad, because there was a lot of talent and competence always on display. And in fairness, the first half of the season was quite solid, even if it wasted a fair amount of effort on a fundamentally flawed long-term story.

I tried putting together an episode-by-episode list of ratings, but it's not very interesting this time around. I gave everything a 5-7 out of 10, except for "If Memory Serves," which deserves a 9 or a maybe even a 10. By comparison, Season 1 ran the gauntlet between scores of 1 and 9, which made for an often frustrating but ultimately more memorable experience.

At the end of the previous season, I wrote, "If the writers can focus on delivering a smaller amount of plot in a satisfying manner, then Discovery could end up being a great show. My primary worry is that some CBS ratings data analysts have resolutely determined that Discovery will lose a significant portion of its audience if the plot isn't always moving at a breakneck pace, so these changes won't actually happen." While the first half of this season showed some promise on that front, the second half succumbed to it, and I'm more pessimistic than before about Discovery ever becoming a show that people, years from now, will want to revisit.
Next ►Page 1 of 31
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.