Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 861 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 35
Set Bookmark
Edmund Bloxam
Sun, Jan 31, 2021, 6:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

I'm becoming a bit tired of how rubbish stormtroopers are. I get that it's kind of a joke. But this isn't a comedy. And the joke has been told. I would like to be invested in the action.

Which I am also becoming annoyed with. Because stormtroopers are there to be mown down. But more how poorly the gunfights are choreographed. In the original trilogy, it was annoying. But those movies are old. This is inexcusable. Two people pointing guns at each other with no cover, shooting...it's stupid. And it's a staple of this show!

So, for me this episode was a huge flop. Because, for the above reasons, the fighting was meaningless. You could essentially skip to the worst deus ex machina in television history. After yawning my way there, I thought 'oh, how are they gonna get out of this?'
Who is literally the most heroic hero in popular fiction? Him. He just Jesuses his way through, displaying the worst elements of prequel action. (The door scene in 'Rogue One' is unfortunately nodded to. That actually made a bit of sense.

An otherwise good season pooped away at the end.
Set Bookmark
Benedict P Mercadante
Sun, Jan 24, 2021, 6:35am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: This Side of Paradise

Of that era, this was one of the better episodes. Without going into all the classic personality differentials of the cast, or the science (really, most all these episodes take great leaps faith....; ) But, as a massage I do believe this makes certain where the foot comes down, and it is squarely in the camp of mainstream western patriarchal society, proving once again Star Trek was anything but counter culture. It's not that it ever pretended to be, but many have some misconception as that the message expanded beyond where our society was at that time, of which I was well aware of, I remember as a mid teen, scratching my head as I watched episodes like this, and people around me thinking that it represented the sense of freedom, and individuality, etc etc. Of course, if you think about it for a moment, it's not really any different than all the other 'messages' we were fed growing up in that era, preparing for our next 'adventure'...conflict, as it turns out. The only difference with Star Trek and the usual schlock we were fed, is that Star Trek took a moment to analyze the differences, where as during that time differences were generally hit with a hammer. Not to say that the juxtaposition was not relevant, it was and remains so, but it was Kirks line near the end, where he turned to the absolute of , para phrased...'....do we stroll throw the fields to the sounds of a lute, or strive, claw (etc) to the sound of a beating drum....' That message , was clear as a bell, and it coincides with the gaining strength of the anti-war movement and all the rest, that unfolded before my young unjaded eye.
Set Bookmark
RedD
Sat, Jan 16, 2021, 5:58am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@grey cat. Totally agree. Jammer's been overly generous towards Discovery this season. Personally I would not give any episode over 2 stars this season.
Set Bookmark
RedD
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 4:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

The fact that Voyager's Threshold got ZERO stars and this steaming pile of sh*te has got 1.5 stars tells me Jammer has really mellowed over the years LOL. Personally I think this episode is Threshold-level bad.
Set Bookmark
RedD
Mon, Jan 11, 2021, 2:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Discovery is NOT Star Trek. Lots of reasons why. My biggest bugbear is that Trek has never been about one damn individual at the heart of a series like Discovery is. Star Trek was about teamwork, not one single superstar who comes up with all the answers and saves the day every single time.

Who the hell are the bridge crew on Discovery? Does anyone know anything about them? I can't even name them without looking it up. On TOS, TNG, DS9 and ENT we all knew the bridge crew, they were all key characters. That familiarity made you actually care about the wider crew. Does anyone care about the Disco crew? If the black woman at the con, or the white woman with a thing on her eye, the oriental or black dude died, would anyone care? Would anyone notice?
While we're talking about the crew, I've never seen a Starfleet crew as unprofessional as this one. All the CRYING, HUGGING and emotional nonsense is not how a Starfleet crew should act. I cringed when the black woman said "I love you all!" when she left them to die. I don't think I ever heard Janeway ever say that about her Voyager crew and she was basically a mother figure to them.

Another pet peeve is the profanity. Star Trek was a family show. Nu Trek is a disgrace in this regards with its casual and totally unnecessary use of profanity. I have a potty mouth in real life so I'm not averse to swearing in general but I don't expect to hear people effing and blinding on Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
Banned4less
Sun, Jan 10, 2021, 6:47am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Jammer has become so embittered and ritualistically angry, I wouldn’t want him to review America’s funniest home videos.
Set Bookmark
RedD
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 12:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I don't know why people think it's perfectly fine to make Discovery ALL about Burnham. That's all this show is - about Michael Burnham. Then these same people complain when others say Discovery isn't real Star Trek. How many other Star Trek series do you know that were centred around a single character? How many Star Trek series made the senior bridge crew nothing more than background characters who barely get 2 minutes of screen time between them?
And who is this person that the show revolves around? An insubordinate Mary-Sue who figures out everything, is always the hero and despite being put in mortal danger every time, we all know she's never going to get hurt much less die so there is zero tension in any of the danger scenes she's involved in. I could tolerate a Star Trek series that focussed on one character IF that character was interesting, relatable and well acted. That's not what we get with Burnham.
Set Bookmark
RedD
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 7:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

A fitting end to an atrocious season. The finale was the worst episode of them all, perhaps the worst episode ever seen on Discovery. It's hard to explain in words just why and how bad this episode was, so I won't even try. If you don't want to take my word for it, unfortunately you will need to watch it just to believe how ridiculous this trash truly is. Truly a low point in Star Trek, I really hope there isn't a season 4 of this garbage and instead CBS just focus on the new Pike series.
Set Bookmark
Banned4less
Sun, Jan 3, 2021, 11:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

@EventualZen
We have real life to refer to, as SohoKaren demonstrates how a common iPhone can morph into a terror device. In the entire altercation with Keyon Harold Jr - no one thought to simply CALL THE DEVICE? Or, “Hey Siri, read my messages” because Siri is voice activated and knows to whom to respond?

Nice cultural application moment.
Set Bookmark
Ted
Thu, Dec 31, 2020, 11:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

What is wrong with me? My heart is so torn. I never really liked JJTrek, and NuTrek initially bothered me as a result of its inconsistency with established history. I reveled in the deconstructions that pointed out how bad it was.

But something interesting is happening to me this season with Disco...I am just enjoying it. I am reacting as intended to the emotional beats ("unearned or otherwise); I am enjoying the pacing and the character arcs; I am feeling more and more like I am watching Trek. I am letting myself enjoy it, and I am not feeling a need to analyze and dissect it, or even constructively critique it. I can acknowledge the observations of others, whether positive or negative. But personally, it feels good to just come along for the ride.

All this to say that for this lifelong trekkie (from age 10, in TNG season 5), they must be getting something right if I can just sit back and have fun watching.
Set Bookmark
Banned4less
Wed, Dec 30, 2020, 1:42am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

Funny , booming and the coffee crew causing continuous problems as always and that jamboned now makes you agree
To terms and puts a Kookie on your computer and invades your privacy and loads even more ads now. Year after banning me for less. You funny jamboneyed
Set Bookmark
Red D
Fri, Dec 25, 2020, 3:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

Do Discovery writers get paid for this drivel, or are they just there on school work experience? As with every big Discovery reveal over the past 3 seasons, I knew the cause of the Burn would be something anticlimactic but I never imagined it was caused by a tantrum from a man child!
Set Bookmark
Lodged Morphedo
Thu, Dec 24, 2020, 9:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

An absolutely compelling hour of DSC television. Finally hitting their stride!
Set Bookmark
Edmund Bloxam
Sun, Dec 20, 2020, 6:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Imperfection

I'm gonna jump in and defend the so-called 'action insert'.

The crew hunting for a dead drone and trying a node that needed to be attempted in order to show that they had tried the obvious plan before the risky one was attempted.

In a region of space where there aren't great powers like the Federation, or the Klingon/Romulan empires, the concept of there being plenty of salvagers about is hardly out of the question. And I would expect salvagers of any stripe to act pretty much the way they acted. I don't judge people on the bumpiness of their forehead, like you racist lot! (:o)

So hardly a pointless or perfunctory scene, and a perfectly reasonable encounter. On that point 'Why is the Delta Quadrant full of a bunch of nationalistic, racist bigots?' which seems to come up a lot here, HOW 'BOUT TAKE A LOOK AT THE REAL WORLD? It 'gets old' coming from an American, a Brazilian, a Brit, a Pole, a...oh, man, it's everywhere. So, again, a reasonable likelihood (even if these reviews were written long before anyone thought the world was as sh*t as it really is).
Set Bookmark
Red D
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 3:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

Another ridiculous episode. There has been absolutely no indication that MU Philippa is a redeemed good guy. Now all of a sudden she's back in the MU and trying to be a force for good? She hated the prime universe and saw it as weak and hated the entire crew except for Michael. I just can't buy that she's a changed person to the extent where she would radically transform the Terran Empire. Becoming the Emperor again is all she would have wanted, I don't buy the idea she resented the role if given the opportunity to reclaim the throne in the MU.

At least this is the last we'll see of her on Discovery. An absolutely ludicrous, cartoonish character that added nothing except cringe value. Good riddance!
Set Bookmark
AndreRhineDavis
Wed, Dec 16, 2020, 5:09am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 15: The Believer

I guess it sort of makes sense that the face scanner could simply let anyone in as long as their faces aren't on some "unauthorised" list (of known criminals and such), but it would make much more sense for it to only let people in if they're on some "authorised" list (of imperial officers and soldiers).

Then again, this is the same Empire that allowed any droid aboard the Death Star to just plug in and control any system without any sort of authorisation check, as R2D2 was able to do in A New Hope. Security in the Star Wars universe is incredibly lax in comparison to modern cryptographic standards.
Set Bookmark
AndreRhineDavis
Tue, Dec 15, 2020, 12:54am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Forget Me Not

With all the politically charged people on this forum, I'm surprised nobody mentioned the "bodily autonomy" themes of this episode, with Michael Burnham arguing for Adira to have autonomy over her own body, while some of the Trill arguing that the symbiont should be removed from Adira's body against her wishes. I guess it's sort of inverted compared to the usual abortion debate (with Adira wanting to *keep* the symbiont and the other people wanting to *remove* it from her), but it personally reminded me of the whole abortion debate with the whole theme of bodily autonomy.

Like I said, I was surprised that nobody here even mentioned it. Then again, the episode did spend relatively little time even dealing with this issue.
Set Bookmark
Diederick
Mon, Dec 14, 2020, 8:30am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 15: The Believer

When the seismic charge went off, I said to my wife: right. Yes. In an atmosphere, they do make sense.

We very much enjoyed this.
Set Bookmark
Red D
Sat, Dec 5, 2020, 6:05am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

I really hope this illness of Georgiou's really is terminal and she dies soon, preferably next week. Mirror Universe characters have always been fun and interesting yet Georgiou is just absurd. I don't think I've loathed a character as much as this in any Trek series before. She is an absolute joke, I cannot believe people are being paid a lot of money to write such a ridiculous character. It truly is stupefying.
Set Bookmark
GunnyFreedom
Fri, Dec 4, 2020, 12:53am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Hippocratic Oath

As a veteran, lapses of discipline as extreme as O’Brian exhibited in this episode are destructive to morale and effectiveness. Whether Bashir was right or wrong is immaterial. O’Brian should have been court martialed and sent to the brig.

This one episode converted me from an O’Brian fan to an O’Brian hater. I will have to try and overcome this in future episodes as the nature of a 90’s TV show will just hit the reset button on the Chief like it never happened.

But had this been real life I’d have seen O’Brian drummed out of Starfleet sent to a Federation penal colony for his behavior in this episode.
Set Bookmark
Red D
Mon, Nov 30, 2020, 4:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

@trent - I am literally applauding your breakdown of this episode. A superb summary of this godawful episode!
Set Bookmark
BannedForLesas
Sun, Nov 29, 2020, 10:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

The issue AT HAND is Hagins keeps calling in His Supposed God as a personal weapon to
Smite any of us who would talk against him or his ilk. With every comment he intones “well me and my god will smear ye because we’re in the know, so neener neener” and that’s quite the bulls hit.

After seeing what the jehovah are doing to that young girl, and have done to others in similar circumstances, I’m not inclined to listen to a word from this Hagins character.
https://www.deseret.com/utah/2020/11/9/21557200/utah-supreme-court-case-woman-says-church-made-her-listen-to-audio-of-her-rape-jehovahs-witnesses
Set Bookmark
Red D
Sun, Nov 29, 2020, 1:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

Brandon - I feel the same, no sense of "shipness" at all. Does anyone really imagine themselves wanting to serve on Discovery the way we did with the Enterprise in TNG or Voyager? The crew does not inspire you at all.
Set Bookmark
Red D
Fri, Nov 27, 2020, 4:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

I think I'm finally done with Discovery. Watching this is becoming a chore, and not an enjoyable one either. This season really has plummeted to new depths of cringe and lameness. Awful.
Set Bookmark
WeNeedACureForSociopaths
Thu, Nov 26, 2020, 11:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

The fact that this is even a debate proves that some people lack a conscience.

Or a brain.

The utopia Star Trek promises can't even exist anywhere the fascist impulses that would defend "watching the death of an entire race for the greater genetic good" also exist.

The have nots will wage war to survive. The haves will allow all kinds of corruption in order to protect themselves from falling through the cracks.

It's what creates the rot in societies that ultimately leads to their collapse.

And nothing said by amoral cynics like Jack will make "Two women are allowed to kiss" as dangerous.
Next ►Page 1 of 35
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.