Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 765 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 31
Set Bookmark
Baron Samedi
Sun, Oct 27, 2019, 8:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

Just watched this episode for the first time and thoroughly enjoyed it. I was surprised at the identity of the saboteur, too. All that said, all of Jammer's critiques are valid. This isn't great drama and has a lot of holes. But I did have a good time with it all the same.
Set Bookmark
Aaron Edwards
Sat, Oct 26, 2019, 4:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

An ambitious misfire, this film is the closest to Gene Roddenberry’s vision but also one of the more boring entries in the series. The film desperately wants to be the Star Trek version of 2001: A Space Odyssey, but ends up feeling lost and ponderous. Skipping it wouldn’t hurt your viewing experience, but if you like ambitious and existential sci-fi you might find some enjoyment here.
Set Bookmark
Eddie
Mon, Oct 21, 2019, 7:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Rejoined

Lesbian Kiss: Let's be honest, it's a ratings grab. This is a business and they're in it for the money. They don't care about you they just want your eyes on the screen and cash in their pockets. Let's not be naive; this is not about some social movement. It's about profit. They were just as glad when people who hated homosexuals watched in outrage and never changed their minds. As a wise man once said, "Dolla Dolla."

Terry Farrell: Her acting was, to put it politely, not up to the task. Maybe the writers are also to blame but she simply couldn't carry her scenes, especially at the end. Her opposite did great but that only makes Farrell's poor performance more pronounced.

Writing: Speaking of the writers, they certainly phoned this one in. The whole "taboo" thing is obviously contrived. Especially when the punishment is essentially the death penalty and not just re-assignment to a different location. Jesus, Trill society is apparently now on par with Saudi Arabia or something.

So far, this only makes a bad episode. That's not really too big a deal; every series has it's share of weaker episodes and that's certainly no reason to go nuts. But there's a much larger problem here.

Jadzia Dax: In the episode "Dax" it is established that when a Trill joins with their host a new personality is formed. While the personality has memories of the host and the Trill it is still considered a new, unique person that is, in effect, neither the host nor the Trill. In this episode, it is explicitly shown that the Trill's personality still exists and exerts massive influence. We now have a contradiction.

This is a serious problem that only a couple people here have taken note of. I no longer know what Jadzia Dax is, how they think, or even who they really are. If I don't know them I can't relate to them. And they're no minor character in DS9. Imagine if you couldn't relate to Spock or McCoy. If you couldn't understand Riker or Data. At this point the problem extends beyond just one bad episode and the entire series is put in jeopardy. Honestly, for me, it never fully recovers. You can't just throw a lead character into the blender like this and not suffer any consequences.

In a way, this is exactly how things work today. Corporations or Governments (what's the difference am I right?) go on about how they love LGBT folks and use that as a smokescreen to hide their deep, far-reaching flaws. A spokesman virtue signals on TV and while everyone's talking about how good that makes them feel companies assemble their products with slave labor in China and bureaucrats erode our freedoms. You know what? I take it all back. The production of this episode is a perfect unintended analogy for modern times. You can't hide bad writing and terrible character development with chicks kissing. 10/10.
Set Bookmark
Eddie
Thu, Oct 17, 2019, 4:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Destiny

I think DS9 suffers from some seriously lazy writing. I understand the Bajorans seeing the Prophets in religious terms. If some incorporeal alien that could tell me the future showed up I'd probably think they were God, too. But the Starfleet crew (especially Sisko) shouldn't be feeling this religious awe that the writers are so desperately trying to force.

Starfleet has tons of experience with incorporeal lifeforms, energy beings, etc... all the way back to TOS. And beings that can tell us the future or are weird about time? Tons of those on record, too. Remember that guy Q? He's been around and well documented for years at this point. Sisko talked shit to him and punched him! Now I'm not saying Sisko and crew should ignore the Prophets. If someone is trying to relay future intel to you, even if it's heavily couched in metaphor, you wouldn't just ignore it. But the sense of religious awe is completely misplaced.

No Starfleet officer would give this subject matter a second thought in religious or spiritual terms; everyone's used to various intangible time-aliens by now. This is all probably required first-year reading at the Academy or whatever. The idea that anyone other than Bajoran civilians would have this wide-eyed look of mysticism on their face as they wonder to themselves "Maybe they really are divine?" is absurd. It all seems forced and that's not a good way to develop characters.
Set Bookmark
Eddie
Tue, Oct 8, 2019, 5:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Maquis, Part I

I like the idea of the Federation being forced into morally ambiguous situations. That's why I don't like this episode. There was no ambiguity at all. The writers tried to pretend like there was, which only makes it frustrating, but there wasn't.

FEDERATION: Those planets are in disputed territory. Cardassians live there, too. No one knows who will own them. We don't recommend going there; they could legally become part of the Cardassian Empire. You have freedom of movement though, so we won't stop you.
MAQUIS: We're going there anyway!
FEDERATION: Ok, they're part of Cardassia now, like we warned before. That's not too good, but we can help you leave anytime you want.
MAQUIS: We're not gonna leave!
FEDERATION: Ok, like, you know we can't send our police over there or anything, right? That territory is part of a foreign country now; we can't apply our laws and courts and whatever there.
*Cardassia does what Cardassia always does*
MAQUIS: The Federation is a jerk!

Sorry, but I call complete BS. The Maquis knew the risks and took their chances. They don't get to force the entire Federation's hand (to break their own laws, violate a treat, and start a war) based on their whims. Colonists now dictate how the Federation negotiates treaties? The entire premise is almost childish. And of course, when Sisko explains this to Kira she has to scream and yell and make it all about her even though this political situation is nothing at all like the Occupation. Seriously, if an officer can't keep a lid on their emotions during a crisis they need to be dismissed.
Set Bookmark
Eddie
Sun, Oct 6, 2019, 10:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Sanctuary

This episode is primarily about the rights of citizens verses refugees. Can refugees make a claim on land in a foreign Nation-State? This can get emotionally charged, so I suggest preforming this simple thought experiment. Pretend that several hundred thousand poor white people from Appalachia suddenly demand that Japan give them land to use as their own. They have no claim on the land, none of their ancestors ever lived there, and Japan never did anything to harm them; they just sail over one day and say "Give us land or you're hateful because we're broke and your country is wealthy."

Be honest, you would think they were entitled beyond words, probably racist, or even outright insane. And that's without perfectly fine land being offered to them from somewhere else.
Set Bookmark
Captain EddieD
Mon, Aug 5, 2019, 9:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Little Green Men

Been watching this with jet lag and I keep falling asleep, and have now seen the first two acts like 30 times. And I still love it!
Set Bookmark
Hatted
Tue, Jul 30, 2019, 10:19am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Samaritan Snare

I never liked this episode and I liked it less after listened to an interview with the screenwriter as part of the podcast The Trek Files. He describes Patrick Stewart being a jerk to him at the table read for "The Icarus Factor" and writing this episode to get revenge on him... which is a bit odd, considering that Picard actually has a pretty interesting part here. He also pats himself on the back for showing how "autistic people aren't stupid." (!?!?!)
Set Bookmark
Edward
Fri, Jul 26, 2019, 4:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Fifty-first now. ;-)
Set Bookmark
Edward
Fri, Jul 26, 2019, 3:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

This is like the 10th time that Red Letter Media review has been linked on this site...today.
Set Bookmark
Edward
Sun, Jun 30, 2019, 3:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: The Face of the Enemy

great to find the entire series on Dailymotion
Set Bookmark
Edward
Sun, Jun 30, 2019, 2:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: The Resistance

they served their purpose
Set Bookmark
Amazed
Sat, Jun 29, 2019, 4:47am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

This episode is incredible! In fact, it’s the reason I started watching Star Trek at all. It was randomly on one night and I got hooked. Before that I looked down on sci-fi. Great action, characterization and an awesome WW2 setting. And sevens gorgeous singing voice. Hands down 10 out of 10!
Set Bookmark
Edward
Sat, Jun 22, 2019, 11:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Blood on the Scales

a closing episode that sets up the rest of the way
Set Bookmark
Edward
Sat, Jun 22, 2019, 10:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: The Oath

love how 24 discussion overtook this with some hatorade for Brannon Braga
Set Bookmark
Edward
Sat, Jun 22, 2019, 10:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: A Disquiet Follows My Soul

never knew this was RDM's directorial debut, guess it shows when reviewers hate it for focusing on specific things.
Set Bookmark
Edward
Sat, Jun 22, 2019, 10:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Sometimes a Great Notion

can't help but think how other writers would mess up this episode
Set Bookmark
Edward
Thu, Jun 20, 2019, 9:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Revelations

Stephen Moffatt would have made it time wimey wibbly wobbley
Set Bookmark
Edward
Thu, Jun 20, 2019, 9:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: The Hub

so many series can learn from these episodes
Set Bookmark
Edward
Wed, Jun 19, 2019, 11:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Sine Qua Non

the links that explain the significance of 47 no longer work
Set Bookmark
Edward
Wed, Jun 19, 2019, 10:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Guess What's Coming to Dinner?

Doctor Who showrunners could learn a thing or two from this episode
Set Bookmark
Edward
Wed, Jun 19, 2019, 7:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Faith

wow, the religion and mythology focus really riled up the viewers
Set Bookmark
Edward
Wed, Jun 19, 2019, 3:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: The Road Less Traveled

not sure about the reasoning of putting religion to the forefront at this point
Set Bookmark
Edward
Mon, Jun 17, 2019, 10:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Escape Velocity

really surprised the crowd was not focusing on how Baltar moved like he was being propped up
Set Bookmark
Edward
Mon, Jun 17, 2019, 9:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: The Ties That Bind

10 years later and we still come to this blog as the go to review
Next ►Page 1 of 31
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.