Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 9 (Showing 1-9)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Earl
Mon, Sep 7, 2020, 4:16am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Power Play

@Jay I knew it! You always play it off like you don't know Star Trek on RLM....
Set Bookmark
Earl
Mon, Sep 7, 2020, 4:00am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

I understand all of the issues that people are arguing in the comments. I'm surprised to see more understanding and thoughtful reflection in the comments, than in the review itself. Mostly because this isn't a mainstream review, it's a regular guy's blog. It wouldn't surprise me if it was a rotten tomatoes critic review.

That out of the way, my biggest gripe is with Beverly. I don't buy her "using untested treatments is wrong" stance, because that's what we've seen her do for four and a half seasons. Every Star Trek episode, that has anything at all to do with medical issues, has the chief medical officer coming up with untested treatments on the fly. She may as well be calling McCoy, Polanski and herself "bad doctors" for saving their crews from unknown alien parasites. From the TNG references to TOS in "Naked Now", it sounds like the federation doesn't put treatments through a lot of testing anyway. Dr McCoy's treatment from "Naked Time" is just accepted despite it only being used that one time. Granted 400+ test subjects is more than any vaccine gets in modern times before approval.
Set Bookmark
EarlGrey
Thu, Aug 6, 2020, 6:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I think Gene Roddenberry would have hated having his name on the opening credits of this mess.
Set Bookmark
Earl Grey. Cold.
Mon, Feb 10, 2020, 6:12am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

I would like to see some science fiction again. Space action/drama, which Trek has been for longer than a decade, just doesn't do it for me.
Set Bookmark
Duke of Earl Grey
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 12:41am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

For everyone complaining that this episode ripped off "Nosedive" from Black Mirror, you could just as easily claim Black Mirror ripped off "App Development and Condiments" from Community (the MeowMeowBeenz episode), which aired two years previously. Or maybe this aspect of modern culture is just ripe for satire, and everyone's taking a similar tack without necessarily copying each other.
Set Bookmark
Tea. Earl Grey. Hot.
Tue, Jan 19, 2016, 2:14am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Fifth Season Recap

I have nothing but praise for DS9's production values. But for a series so focused on plot continuity, I always find DS9 sorely lacking in twists and turns.

In rewatching the first 5 seasons I cannot think of one standout "shock" moment save perhaps for the revelation that Bashir had been a shapeshifter for months. But that was a plot development that had no consequence whatsoever.

I still fail to understand DS9's appeal as the "best Trek", let alone the best sci-fi series ever. This is meant to be sci-fi but it's so monotone that the feel is like watching wallpaper. It's not boring, it's just "there". It's well produced science fiction, but that's all.

Perhaps there is comfort in predictability, in knowing your favorite characters will be on the screen next week in the same form. No one dies or leaves (this is rectified in S6, sort of), nothing much changes except a promotion or a relationship. Like a warm blanket that is there for you night after night.

I've come to the realization that it's an extraordinarily safe show, but perhaps my expectations were raised after nothing but hearing constant praise 15 years after I last saw it.
Set Bookmark
Earl
Tue, Dec 1, 2015, 9:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Critical Care

The Doctor is a computer program, so why couldn't the thief just make a copy? Why doesn't Voyager have a backup copy? It makes no sense that there can only be one of him.
Set Bookmark
Duke of Earl Grey
Tue, Sep 9, 2014, 10:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Manhunt

I actually have a soft spot for this one, and while I wouldn't call it "good", I find it harmlessly pleasant, and I'd give it a solid 2 stars. I always get a good laugh from the scenes in Dixon Hill's office, where the computer seems almost to stubbornly ignore Picard's requests. He just wants a nice, relaxing hour in the holodeck, yet the computer insists on throwing in increasingly scarier thugs and bigger guns. And that's how I feel about this episode. Sometimes it's nice to have a quiet episode, with barely a hint of jeopardy or even plot, "more ambiance; less substance."
Set Bookmark
Duke of Earl Grey
Sat, Sep 22, 2012, 11:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Descent, Part II

Data is lucky that he got the best of Lore in their private confrontation. Imagine what would have happened if Lore had gotten the drop on him...

Based on every one of Lore's appearances on the show prior to "Descent, Part I", I imagine Lore would switch clothes with the unconscious Data, then strut out into the hall, walk up to Captain Picard, and say "I have deactivated Lore. We must disassemble him so he no longer poses any threat!" And of course Picard, knowing Lore's tricks, would surely not immediately say "It's good to have you back, Data" and then merrily deactivate the unconscious android in the next room.

Oh wait, he really did say that!
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.