Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,453 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 59
Set Bookmark
James04
Mon, Aug 26, 2019, 12:13am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Projections

This was a good holodeck episode, “Ship in a Bottle” good. Not a silly holodeck episode, with Picard and co. dressed up as 18th-century Naval officers, and not twee, and much better than a Janeway holonovel episode. This was also much better in every way than the episodes exploring, about whether Data is human, because the exploration of the Doctor’s status arose entirely naturally from the logic of the events in the story and the series; it was not preachy, as so much of TNG is.

It was good to see Reg Barclay - we always see a great deal of the Bridge officers, and it was a pleasant change to see a lower-ranking character get some of the attention instead. On the whole, Voyager divides its attention between the Bridge officers, and the all-important lower ranks, rather well; better, perhaps, than TNG does.
Set Bookmark
james04
Sun, Aug 25, 2019, 3:48am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Squire of Gothos

One of my favourite TOS episodes. Far more alien, even eerie, than many that were more impressive in production values. And far superior to Q in almost every way. Trelane would have made a much better Q than Q. At times the episode had the tone and atmosphere of one of the more disconcerting Twilight Zone episodes. The lion’s share of the credit for that belongs to the excellent William Campbell, whose mercurial Squire was unpredictable, friendly, ingratiating, wheedling, incredulous, hurt, tantrum-throwing, and terrifying by turns.
Set Bookmark
James04
Sun, Aug 25, 2019, 3:32am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Space Seed

A worthy forerunner to a very good film.
Set Bookmark
james04
Sat, Aug 24, 2019, 4:53am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: The Quality of Life

It was quite watchable……until the Tin Man’s re-hashed nonsense about the Gadgets of the Week being alive. Sorry, but they are not alive, and neither are is the TM. The TM is a sophisticated machine, nothing more, which gives the illusion of being more because it is the invention of script-writers who are more. Data is as genuinely tiresome as the well-hated Wonderboy was said to be.

The episode stopped being intelligent, and became tiresome. Machines with angst are funny, now and again, because they are ridiculous, but when the angst never lets up they become tedious. Data needs a convenient airlock - or better still, a trash compactor. Unfortunately, that does not happen in TNG. But human beings, unlike St. Rubbish-bin, are expendable.

And having a weird hairstyle like something from Cosmo does not an alien make. Ray Bradbury was able to make even things on Earth seem alien - a gift far too few script-writers in ST shared. TNG is all too often a soap opera in space.

Still, at least the nauseatingly twee Trevis and Flotta were not inflicted on the viewer. Mercifully, neither was the unbearable Q. But an episode does not become a good episode merely because detestable characters do not feature in it.

Two stars.
Set Bookmark
turquoises
Thu, Aug 22, 2019, 8:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Magnificent Ferengi

@Eat at Quark's--- EXACTLY!! I just watched this for the first time in 10 years and that was my conclusion. The lightbulb went off as soon as I opened the review and saw Jammer talking about how implausible it all is. I suspect that's the point. Especially because the episode starts off with one of Quark's fish stories being interrupted by the returning war heroes. I think he went full Spaceman Spiff to make up for it.
Set Bookmark
Alessandro
Thu, Aug 15, 2019, 9:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Blood Oath

I find this episode superb. The authors show great respect for the Klingon culture, contrary to what those idiots in Discovery have done to Klingons, beneath comptempt.
I also love how Jadzia behaves herself, she had no obligations.
Episodes like this persuade me that DS9 is the best Star Trek series
Set Bookmark
Chess
Wed, Aug 14, 2019, 8:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fight or Flight

A question:

I was so excited when Enterprise was first announced. I was in college and I loved the idea of watching a Star Trek series from the beginning as it aired. Enterprise was going to be “my Trek” and fond childhood memories of Quantum Leap and TNG only sweetened the idea.

I stopped watching after Fight or a Flight (I only lasted two episodes!) because I was not prepared for the grim horrors of “corpses on hooks.” That simply isn’t entertainment for me, just nightmare fuel.

Occasionally I’ve played with the idea of trying again, but I wanted to know how dark the show remained without big spoilers. Can someone speak to the tone of ENT overall? I have a feeling it remains about this level, or possibly grows worse.
Set Bookmark
Chess
Wed, Aug 14, 2019, 8:13am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part II

Minor fun note: I always am amused how near-future stories get some predictions wrong. In this case, it’s tattoo culture. The show suggests that visible (or perhaps all) tattoos are either frowned upon or actually forbidden in the workforce. In reality, we are seeing tattoos becoming increasingly mainstream to the point that many employers no longer require covering up tattoos. I even have been asked casually by acquaintances “so what are your tats?” and they are slightly skeptical when I say I don’t have any.
Set Bookmark
Chess
Wed, Aug 14, 2019, 7:47am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

My favorite take away here is the very dapper neoEdwardian fashions of the upper class. Jadzia’s hair and ornamentation sold me.
Set Bookmark
Chess
Mon, Aug 12, 2019, 3:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Meridian

Thank you, Springy! I really like this idea. I’ve begun thinking about the practical implications of the replicators, and all kinds of questions about their cost, effectiveness, limitations, effects on behavior. . .
Set Bookmark
Chess
Sat, Aug 10, 2019, 6:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Meridian

A question prompted by Kira abandoning her coffee mug on a replimat table: what happens to all the dishes the replicators must create?
Set Bookmark
Chess
Sun, Aug 4, 2019, 5:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Profit and Loss

That’s a lot of passionate face rubbing for two actors in heavy alien makeup. Full props for managing it.

The female student stomps around like she’s 12 and wearing her big brother’s football gear. It’s too deliberate to be accidental. Perhaps to contrast and highlight Natima’s elegance?

Let’s retitle the episode “The Long Goodbye.”
Set Bookmark
Cesar Gonzalez
Sat, Aug 3, 2019, 12:15am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Vox Sola

So the Doctor has no problem having an entire race killed off (a few episodes back), but hurting a creature to save his friends/crewmmembers is a line he won't cross. Err.... okay. Way to have your priorities in check.

Hoshi is so beautiful and a good character. I love seeing any episode with more of her.

Washington is TERRIBLE. he always looks happy. Even in scenes where he is not supposed to.
Set Bookmark
Cesar Gonzalez
Thu, Aug 1, 2019, 10:04am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Detained

So a few episodes ago Archer let an ENTIRE race of beings die because he couldn't interfere.
Now, however, he has no problem interfering with a society to save 89 people.
Hypocrite
Set Bookmark
Cesar Gonzalez
Tue, Jul 30, 2019, 12:07am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Rogue Planet

So a few episodes ago Archer let an ENTIRE species die because it wasn't his place to interfere.

Now,.however, he meddles in another people's.hunting ritual that they have been doing for years.
Hypocrite.
Set Bookmark
Cesar Gonzalez
Sun, Jul 28, 2019, 12:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fusion

Tolaris is ANNOYING. He just keeps prodding and prodding. Damn. Leave her alone. Sheesh.

Archer's insiststince for Kov to speak with hid father was annoying as well.
Kov already made it clear he doesn't want to talk to his dad. Leave it alone.
Set Bookmark
Chess
Thu, Jul 25, 2019, 8:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Rivals

So I watched it alone, and then watched it again immediately with a group (within a few hours). It was funny the second time, even though I knew what all the jokes were. For some reason all the empty salt (?) shakers Bashir ran through while gossiping with Dax cracked us up, and then most of the weirdness was funny.
Set Bookmark
Chess
Thu, Jul 25, 2019, 4:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Rivals

What a goofy story.
Set Bookmark
Cesar Gonzalez
Wed, Jul 24, 2019, 11:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Journey's End

I liked this kind of episodes. The ones who deal with a difficult situation. It had some dumb parts, but good overall.
Set Bookmark
Cesar Gonzalez
Tue, Jul 23, 2019, 12:28am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

Am I the only one who is wondering what the heck.happened?
Why did Sito "escape"? She had a plan.
Safe to say something went wrong, but what?
Set Bookmark
Chess
Wed, Jul 17, 2019, 5:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: Enterprise to be revamped as 'ultimate' reality series

Star Trek: Shock et. al. (Hehehe)
Set Bookmark
Vladimir Estragon
Sat, Jul 13, 2019, 6:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Assignment

It's not my favorite episode either, but I think that Keiko was the perfect choice. Everybody already thought that she was a cranky bitch, so the personality change wasn't immediately obvious to most people. It's always been my opinion that, after the end of the series, Miles O'Brien would last about a month on Earth with her before signing on for another deep space mission.
Set Bookmark
Chess
Thu, Jul 11, 2019, 10:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Corbomite Maneuver

The only thing I liked in this episode was Bailey freaking out and yelling “he’s doing a countdown!” Otherwise snoozy. It really is too slow, and Balock is supposed to be cute and charming but instead is creepy and uncanny. I’m surprised how warm the reviews are!
Set Bookmark
Chess
Tue, Jul 9, 2019, 10:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

My brother will die in the near future of cancer and, at his request, we’re watching Star Trek together anytime he feels up for it. About 70% of what we’ve watched together so far has been new to me. Generations was our most recent viewing.

I saw it in theaters as a teen and adored it. This was only my second time ever to watch it and I remembered many specific scenes from a single viewing 25 years ago. I would say it has visual and emotional impact, to be able to do that.

I adored it again. I was never bored for a second and I loved the great variety of settings. To find that so many fans found it “middling” or worse baffles me. There were a few interesting continuity objections I hadn’t considered - like the inconsistent speed of the Nexus and back-and-forth uniforms - but otherwise few of the criticisms seem to affect me. Annoying emotional Data, Kirk fistfighting only to be buried under a cairn, the gorgeous lighting, the odd dice roll of Chekov, Scotty, and Kirk as The TOS characters, the counseling scene, the Christmas scene, they all made sense to me.

And now a small confession: I had to choke back sobs when the little girl dropped her teddy bear. For work, I read about and summarize political and social crises of the 20th-21st centuries (torture of dissenters by the Taliban, for example). When she lost her bear unexpectedly just when she most would have benefited from its comfort, it suddenly symbolized for me all the people who I read about who suffer from shared traumatic crises, like Chernobyl or Tiananmen Square or Daesh. Was it handled with finesse and grace? No, the film work just then was definitely on the clunky side. But because of my background, I was affected.

Obviously, mileages vary.
Set Bookmark
Chess
Fri, Jul 5, 2019, 6:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home

We’re watching as much Star Trek together as possible at my brother’s request as he has an incurable cancer. This was last night’s selection as we had extended family over for the Independence holiday, and we thought it was the most accessible of the movies we hadn’t seen recently. It is maybe my third time to see it, my first as an adult.

We loved it, even though the set-up had to be explained to family.

We all agreed: the opening music sounds like it was written for a Christmas movie. The end music also, to a lesser degree.

Why can whale song be heard through space? What’s the medium the sound waves are traveling on?

Someone earlier said Jillian was too ditzy to be credible. I was on the lookout for ditz, but didn’t see it. I just saw passion for the whales.
Next ►Page 1 of 59
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.