Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,996 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 80
Set Bookmark
James G
Mon, Jan 11, 2021, 3:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

Brilliant. I couldn't imagine a more fitting finale to the whole series. I well remember watching this back in 1994, but I'd forgotten how good it was.

I started watching them all through again in March 2019, never having watched any of them for years, many years in some cases (and never in others). I definitely feel that my Star Trek TNG Odyssey had a good send-off this evening - and since some of the episodes in the last couple of series have been pretty awful, I'm glad about that.

I watched this in January 2021, not much less than 27 years after it was shown - so there was a certain resonance for me in that the "future" events here were supposed to have taken place 25 years after the crew were "all together on the Enterprise", in Picard's words when he meets Geordi. Then again 'Nemesis' was supposed to have taken place 9 years after the last events of the TV series, but anyway - interesting to see how everyone had aged in real life compared to their artificially aged characters. I have to say that Future Riker doesn't look a lot like Frakes in the present day, but there's only so much you can do I guess! And that's not a complaint, although I did laugh when the old boy appeared on screen.

They could have made Geordi's hair a bit whiter. Age is kind to him. But you know what they say - the black don't crack.

Er, anyway - I was truly, properly drawn in to this one and the 90 minutes flew past. But as much as I was intrigued and immersed in the story, I was touched by the way it worked as a sentimental conclusion to the whole TNG TV journey - never becoming too mawkish or cloying. Even the Worf / Troi / Riker subplot didn't annoy me.

Tasha looks a few years older than she did in the first series of course, but at the same time she'd started to look delightfully milfy by 1994, so I could certainly forgive that. And I was really happy to see her included here. I suppose it's a shame that Wesley couldn't have had another run out.

The scenes in which Picard, as a new captain, appears to his new crew to be more or less incompetent are embarrassing, aren't they? And of course he does get them killed. But in a very good cause, of course. And I enjoyed the tension of the new crew wondering if their new captain was actually up to the job.

The idea of bookending the whole 7 series with the Q courtroom conceit was brilliant - really gives emphasis to the finale as a retrospective. And I loved the way Q put that dramatic emphasis on the word 'trek'.

And I loved seeing Earth at the time of the very dawn of life. I often think about that moment when the protein, or RNA molecule, or whatever, formed. And I wonder where it happened. Might even have been in my back garden.

Beverley asks for "milk, warm, with a dash of nutmeg". But she doesn't say "cow's milk". It would have been quite funny if the replicator had given her dog's milk.

It lasts longer than any other milk, dog's milk. No bugger'll drink it. Plus of course the advantage of dog's milk is that when it goes off, it tastes exactly the same as when it's fresh.

A couple of nit-picks, though. I don't really buy the idea of anti-time healing people's injuries and reversing pregnancies, while life appears to go on as normal, clocks tick, conversations take place in the usual linear fashion, etc, etc. There was no real need for it as a plot device and it was nonsensical.

It's odd that Riker is prepared to blow up Klingon warships just to help out his old captain. Really? He's supposed to be a Starfleet Admiral.

But I readily forgive the flaws because this was a colossal 90 minutes of telly. Wonderful.

Well I think I'll watch them all again in ten year's time, but for now - adios.
Set Bookmark
Undesirable Element
Mon, Jan 11, 2021, 11:24am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Every time I reflect on an episode of Discovery after watching it, I find that I rarely have any problem with the specifics of WHAT happens. My qualms with the show always stem from HOW it happens - the execution. After all, Trek has certainly had its fair share of philosophical stories that somehow end up resolving with a meaningless action sequence or an unsatisfying action ending. So I'm not incredibly distressed in theory at the showdown of the season coming down to Burnham and Ossyra duking it out in a random room on Discovery.

It's all just in the WAY it happens. Having a big hammy villain can be fun, but Osyrra just isn't much fun as a hammy villain. She worked really well in the last episode as someone who would do ruthless things but still wanted to be taken seriously as a respected leader. When she plays it over-the-top though, she comes off like a second-rate Power Rangers villain.

The same thing happens with the character development of Tilly. In theory, I like the idea of Tilly taking a command role. That's been an established part of the character from the beginning. But then they just plunk it down here in this season with little or no reason. I actually feel bad for Mary Wiseman because she looks like she has no idea how to play it. Is she an experienced leader or a kid who's in over her head? The script doesn't seem to know, so why should she?

Adira - great character concept that ended up going absolutely nowhere. The show DESPERATELY wants her storyline to MEAN SOMETHING, and *I* really wanted it to too, but it just seemed to drift aimlessly after her introductory episode.

Burnham being the captain at the end should make all kinds of sense. It's where her character arc should have gradually been going all season, and yet, it hasn't. It's just plopped here out of nowhere. Again, in theory, showing the story of a character making a huge mistake and overcoming huge obstacles to finally take command is a great story. This show just can't seem to find a natural way to present any of it.

This show owes its life this season to Oded Fehr as Admiral Vance who can make almost any ridiculous plot point or character development seem almost credible. The man can deliver sincere in a mighty impressive way. He sold a lot of the nonsense this season that should have completely fallen flat on its face.

Of all things, the thing I liked most about this season is the thing I thought I wouldn't - the stuff with Su'Kal on the dilithium planet. The growing bond between Su'Kal and Saru turned out to be surprisingly interesting. Having Saru come to re-appreciate his Kelpien heritage through teaching another Kelpien about it was actually really well done. Doug Jones, of course, sells the hell out of it. Honestly, I think this show works best when it tries to tackle the characters' real emotional truths. It just can't handle the big action stuff with anything other than complete clumsiness.

I give credit to this show for trying to be bold and to take big swings. I just wish that it connected more often than not.
Set Bookmark
James G
Sun, Jan 10, 2021, 8:56am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Preemptive Strike

Didn't think I was going to like this one a lot - although I like Ro, I wasn't really that interested in the story. But as it unfolds .. the moral ambiguity is very well done. Are the Maquis really the bad guys? And the bond between Ro and the old man develops really nicely.

The attack by the Cardassians on the Maquis base, or settlement or whatever it is underlines this beautifully - it seems obvious that Ro should resist it the Cardassian attack with lethal force. Until you remember that they're supposed to be on the same side.

Criticisms? Well, Ro infiltrates the Maquis extremely successfully and very quickly. It's all a bit too easy. But I guess you only have 45 minutes to play with. And the notion of penetrating a Galaxy Class Starship's shields with another craft seems preposterous.

Still - slow to start but the drama intensifies quite substantially in the last 15 mins. A very good one.

Seems a fitting conclusion for the Ro character. I liked Riker's response to her, as well. I would have expected him to snarl "you won't get away with this, lieutenant!" but he knows she's chosen her destiny, and bids her a resigned farewell.

Picard's reaction too, at his desk, is priceless.
Set Bookmark
James diGriz
Sun, Jan 10, 2021, 8:08am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Profit and Loss

Definitely one of the most idiotic episodes for aforementioned reasons. I have to take this as non-canon due to the severe violations of Odo's character.
Set Bookmark
Banned4less
Sun, Jan 10, 2021, 6:47am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Jammer has become so embittered and ritualistically angry, I wouldn’t want him to review America’s funniest home videos.
Set Bookmark
Infinite Pest
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 6:29am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

@ Yanks

Regarding "average" lifespan, the idea that our lifespans have seen some dramatic increase in modern times is a nonsensical myth. The increase in average lifespan is due to decreased infant mortality, if one looks at average lifespan starting at those who first lived to be at least age 5, the average life expectancy has been in the mid 70s for thousands of years. Obviously thats assuming no war, famine, plague, etc,
Set Bookmark
James G
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 4:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Emergence

As it happens, I really like this one. I well remembered an episode with imaginary characters digging coal that I'd liked from way back when, but when that episode with Data having dreams turned up, I thought that must have been it.

As I watched this, it occurred to me that it felt like an episode from one of the first couple of series. Which in turn made me think that maybe the earlier stories are a bit more imaginative.

I didn't really like the idea that the new ship's intelligence saved the ship from being blown up in a sudden unexpected instant. Bit over-dramatic. I thought Deanna was taking a bit of a risk going into the Holodeck the first time, given that someone had already been shot in there.

An in the end, it's a bit bizarre, isn't it? The Enterprise becoming self-aware and giving birth to an intelligent object? And I still don't quite get how it manufactures the colourful plumbing around the various parts of the ship.

Despite all this I really liked the Holodeck imagery / conundrum and I think this is one of the better Series 7 stories.

Picard's comments at the end about mission records and experiences being honourable .. I think that's a sentimental commentary on the entirety of TNG, as it draws to a close.

Just two left .. I think I started this TNG-athon in March 2019. I'll miss it.
Set Bookmark
jtesteban58
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 3:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@aby, You don't understand the show runner's obsession with Michael Burnham? Gee, could it be that Paradise and Osunnsanmi consider themselves massively "woke", and feel a moral imperative to ram "wokeness" down our throats? [That was a rhetorical question. ] Such a mindset unequivocally requires that an African-American woman must be the Center of All Things, even when it makes no character or story sense to do so. That's all Discovery is to them, a vehicle for woke propaganda using Michael Burnham (and SMG) as the vehicles. Things will not change without a wholesale removal of Paradise and Osunnsanmi as well as the other producers. So you might as well accept that is what Discovery will always be without such changes. They are sure as hell not going to change.
Set Bookmark
Chris Lopes
Wed, Jan 6, 2021, 9:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

"If you replace all characters by white straight males, the burn being caused by a kid or the EC wanting suddenly to join the federation is still bad writing."

Yep, just as lame only in a monochromatic way.
Set Bookmark
James White
Wed, Jan 6, 2021, 7:37am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

Amos should go on one of his psychotic benders and take out the entire Discovery crew.
Set Bookmark
Chris Lopes
Tue, Jan 5, 2021, 2:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

"Nevertheless, Discovery's many narrative problems have far more to do with its faux-Star Wars action, paucity of ideas, and anemic characterization than they do with checking off demographic boxes."

Definitely, but the writers appear to see checking off the boxes as a form of absolution for their narrative sins. The box checking isn't causing the story telling failure, it's being used to cover up for it. Unfortunately while they're virtue signalling, they aren't telling a coherent story.
Set Bookmark
James G
Tue, Jan 5, 2021, 10:55am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Bloodlines

Well - I quite liked this one. Quite engaging and interesting, I thought. The guy who plays Picard's pseudo-offspring reminds me of a cheesy and annoying Jim Carrey, but I guess he's supposed to be like that. I was relieved that he wasn't banging a holographic Deanna in Holodeck 4, when Picard turned up.

He looks a bit older than 23, and it turns out the guy who played him was ten years older than that.

Anyway .. a couple of things wrong with this episode. Firstly, the idea that the Enterprise is so easily vulnerable to an attack by a rogue Ferengi. And secondly - Picard performing his own one-man special forces away mission with a phaser.

Still - not bad.
Set Bookmark
Banned4less
Sun, Jan 3, 2021, 11:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

@EventualZen
We have real life to refer to, as SohoKaren demonstrates how a common iPhone can morph into a terror device. In the entire altercation with Keyon Harold Jr - no one thought to simply CALL THE DEVICE? Or, “Hey Siri, read my messages” because Siri is voice activated and knows to whom to respond?

Nice cultural application moment.
Set Bookmark
James G
Sat, Jan 2, 2021, 12:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Firstborn

If anything, I'm even less fond of Klingon culture than Alexander, and I groaned when I realised that this was going to be a Klingon episode, with all the attendant scenery-chewing and overwrought, aggressive nonsense about being a warrior, honour and the rest of it.

And I found the story really dull. I was bored, and I stopped paying attention. I have no idea why the Enterprise was pursuing the two sisters, or what mining had to do with it. I'm sure it's all in there but I don't really care, so please don't bother to explain.

But I was won round, partially, in the last 10-15 minutes. I loved the twist at the end. Fascinating, and clever. But at the same time I was pretty bored for a good 30 minutes, so I can't really overlook that, therefore this is not a good one, for me.

This idea of time travel being possible in the Star Trek doesn't really withstand close scrutiny, when you think about it. In some of the original series episodes it's shown as being routine. In one or two of the films it's shown as being possible, but difficult. But to my mind, a world in which it's possible to travel through time both ways would be absolutely chaotic. The Romulans would be forever sabotaging things by preventing them from happening. Pretty much every problem the Federation is faced with could be fixed in a similar fashion.

Picard would turn up from a few days in the future to have a diplomatic chat to himself about sending Sito on that mission in 'Lower Decks'. He'd stop himself being captured by the Borg. The possibilities are endless.
Set Bookmark
Scienceandponies
Sat, Jan 2, 2021, 2:38am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

Just finally finished a belated watchthrough of Enterprise. This one was a painfully dumb experience. I get that it's something of a homage to Mudd's Women, but that was possibly the worst example of the rife sexism in TOS, and this didn't have the charm and charisma of Mudd to carry it through. At least it was actual pheremones at work instead of the girls just being hot like in the original, making Kirk's crew the most undisciplined and unproffessional crew in space (and no ending speech about the two types of women, supermodels and domestic types).

I expected Archer to show a bit more discomfort when the Orion guy explicitly mentions buying them. Also for a little more caution considering the last time he took in a sex slave in Season 3, they turned out to be a saboteur, but Enterprise continues to let anyone just wander into the engine room. I was ready to award some point when they stuffed them into decon1 when the truth came out, but rescinded rhem when the immediatlely left 2 men to guard them. I held out faint hope for a subversion of the obvious escape by one of the guards saying something like "I don't think my husband back home would approve". Was also expecting T'pol to just shoot the women when they entered the bridge instead of standing there frowning until Trip comes in to shoot everyone else. Finally, not buying the paper thin excuse they try to trot out about the women really being in charge. That bit of tell contradicts a lot of show.

Looking back at the time capsule of these comments, it's a surprising pit of not even trying to hide it blatant misogyny.
Set Bookmark
Chris Lopes
Fri, Jan 1, 2021, 2:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

"If the trailer can be believed next week will be lots of shooting and action, also crying."

That'll be a change of pace. ;)
Set Bookmark
James G
Wed, Dec 30, 2020, 2:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Journey's End

Strange episode. I was fairly intrigued but I can't say I particularly like it. I was irritated by Wesley being petulant and teenager-ish, which somehow didn't quite mesh with the more mature double-chin Elvis thing he has going on in this one.

The idea of a pre-industrial-with-phasers native American outpost in space seems odd. So is the notion that the Federation would sell them out so easily, although I liked the ultimate solution.

But most of all this preposterous notion of Wesley being able to supernaturally pull himself out of time. What? And his mum happily waves him off to visit "other planes of existence" at the end as if he was going off on a holiday to the seaside with his mates.

And actually the whole notion of galactic powers like the Cardassians and the Federation carving out pieces of the galaxy between them as their own territory is questionable, when you think that there are species out there with god-like powers. I'd love to see what would happen if a Cardassian commander annoyed Q.

No, I didn't like it.
Set Bookmark
Banned4less
Wed, Dec 30, 2020, 1:42am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

Funny , booming and the coffee crew causing continuous problems as always and that jamboned now makes you agree
To terms and puts a Kookie on your computer and invades your privacy and loads even more ads now. Year after banning me for less. You funny jamboneyed
Set Bookmark
Chris Lopes
Tue, Dec 29, 2020, 4:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

I think that interpersonal conflicts are arising because (until Jammer posts his own review) we've actually run out of constructive things to say about this episode. It's strengths and weaknesses have been pointed out, points of view have been attacked and defended, and all we have left (at the moment) are those petty differences our species is known to fight over. Just humans being human.
Set Bookmark
Chris Lopes
Tue, Dec 29, 2020, 10:52am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

"If it doesn't involve STAR TREK, how about just ignore the post you disagree with?"

That's an idea so crazy, it just might work.
Set Bookmark
James G
Mon, Dec 28, 2020, 4:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

Really an awful episode. The notion that some sort of virus could cause any single creature to devolve in the manner depicted here is laughable, even of "introns" are a real thing.

I quite enjoyed watching things unravel initially, but it turns into an absolute farce. And the solution is even more laughable than the problem, with everyone returned to their original form completely intact and no worse for wear. I sort of like the idea of the crew being saved by a retro-virus made from Nurse Ogawa's personal body fluids, though. But it all happens so suddenly.. one minute Data is asked to unleash the retro-virus, next scene - everything restored to normal.

I thought Picard seemed unusually calm when confronted by the spectacle of what had happened to his ship and its crew. Even Riker with a bigger skull and smaller brain doesn't bother him unduly.

Anyway - just nonsense. Very slow, as well. Awful.
Set Bookmark
Chris Lopes
Sun, Dec 27, 2020, 7:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

"On the whole woke/box checking subject: Many shows do the whole box checking/unrealistically diverse cast thing but still manage to maintain a decent quality of acting and story telling."

As others have pointed out, Mandalorian is perfect example of that. The last episode featured a practically all woman rescue team with not a peep from anyone about "wokeness". That's because they did the homework of showing these characters as genuine badasses in previous episodes. So they weren't "female badasses", they were badasses who happen to be female. It's called story telling.
Set Bookmark
JTEsteban
Sat, Dec 26, 2020, 8:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

This is a first comment for me on a Jammer board besides enjoying his reviews for many years. The current show runners for DISC/PIC are fully intent on preaching and ramming the so-called virtues of a woke utopian (dystopian in my view) universe down the audience's throat. The explanation for the Burn fits completely in this paradigm. The message of the Burn is simply : "Don't ever trigger anyone because it will bring my universe to an end." It is nothing more than an Anti-triggering , anti-microaggression, anti-free speech message. While Star Trek has always been unrealistically utopian in its ideals (Roddenberry himself made statements to that effect), this incarnation is clearly nothing more than a commercial for woke philosophy, as flawed as that ultimately is in my view.

Chris Lopes is right; they are far too interested in checking the woke checkboxes to do really daring or even mildly bold storytelling. And you see, the problem is, that the more woke society becomes, the more bland it becomes in all its aspects, especially its art forms. Discovery is living proof.
Set Bookmark
Chris Lopes
Sat, Dec 26, 2020, 7:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

"I want so much to keep liking Star Trek and I want so much for the new Trek to be successful and keep the franchise alive."

^^^This^^^. I honestly don't think those complaining about this show are doing it out of malice. They are Trek fans who want it to continue. They want Discovery to be good. They want to like it. They are hoping (perhaps foolishly) that TPTB will understand that they are failing as story tellers and correct what is broken.

My fear is that they are too busy checking boxes to engage in actual story telling. They are using their wokeness (which has always been a part of Trek to some degree) as a shield to protect them from genuine constructive criticism. We may indeed be wasting our time watching this show, but some of us love Trek too much to give up hope.
Set Bookmark
Chris Lopes
Sat, Dec 26, 2020, 11:43am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

The criticism the show faces on this forum is primarily of the bad writing/acting variety. The critics are usually met with agreement or reasoned disagreement. So no, this forum is not labeling people to protect a bad show.

On the other hand, I don't think it is unreasonable to expect the writing and acting to improve over time, as the folks in charge get feedback from the audience. If despite the audience reaction, things don't improve, it is reasonable to assume the folks in charge are not listening for whatever reason. Given the woke pronouncements of these folks, it is reasonable to conclude that they are labeling their critics in an effort to excuse their own failures in story telling.
Next ►Page 1 of 80
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.