Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,781 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 72
Set Bookmark
James T. Shatner
Mon, Aug 3, 2020, 8:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Sorry, what was the reason for not watching TOS through? I missed that.
Set Bookmark
James G
Mon, Aug 3, 2020, 10:24am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

A good one this, not particularly memorable or dramatic - the alien villains aren't really threatening enough for that - but based on a decently solid plot.

It works quite well as an allegory on gaming addiction, or addiction in general. Of course it does have a few problems.

Firstly - does the idea of playing a game that literally gives you a hit in the brain's pleasure centre really not trouble anyone with the thought that it might be dangerously addictive? Riker would have left it on Risa. He must be sharp enough to know that it's asking for trouble, even without the mind control aspect and the evil plan.

I liked the scene at the beginning with Riker the giggly alien woman who turns out to be a villain.

It bothers me slightly that the crew who are under its control sometimes seem completely coherent - like Riker, Geordi et al when they're hunting down Wesley. Surely slightly crazed, drugged behaviour would be more appropriate? It just doesn't feel right that Riker and Picard have an apparently completely sober control of their senses while they're acting out a plot against their own interests.

The Morse code flasher that immediately restores victims of the game to full, conscious normality - come on, that's too easy. Lazy writing. Also, I don't mind Wesley and the specialist babe being super-sharp engineers and technologists, but we're asked to believe that they're pretty good at neuroscience, as well. It's a bit of a stretch too far.

Still - I liked it. Better than average for the fifth series, so far.
Set Bookmark
James G
Sat, Aug 1, 2020, 10:49am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

A pretty dumb episode, this one. But enjoyable. It's a chance to watch a '70s style disaster movie in the Star Trek universe. Fun, but built on a pretty shaky premise, ie that the Enterprise could so easily be very comprehensively disabled. It doesn't really fit with my notion of the powerful, advanced Starfleet flagship we see in other episodes. And "bulkheads"? Really? I thought forcefields were used for that sort of thing. Seems a bit low tech.

Good to see Ro again. I like her spirit. For an ensign, she's certainly highly uninhibited when speaking to senior officers, and I see that she has her non-dress-code earrings on as well. There's a certain darkness though, isn't there, given her past, in that her plan - ultimately overruled by Troi - could have cost the lives of a number of her comrades?

We're reminded in this episode that the Enterprise, despite being involved in potentially lethal military confrontations every other week, is home to a sizeable population of children. It makes no sense.

Fun to see Data's head detached. What a shame he doesn't have a couple of spares, like Kryten in Red Dwarf.

Interesting that Troi is addressed as "Sir"; I'm pretty sure Janeway (for example) always gets "ma'am".

Why is the ceiling in the turbolift so high? Given that there's a hatch there that gives access to a ladder running up and down the shaft. What's the point in making it harder to use?

Geordi and Beverley's plan to repressurise the cargo deck seems reckless; what if the repressurising function isn't working because of the damage to the ship? I think this whole idea was recycled from Airport '77.

And of course - Keiko giving birth. It's the little touch that almost transforms the whole episode into a parody of disaster movies rather than an homage.

I don't understand why someone we don't recognise should be in charge of the bridge at the beginning of the episode, and I don't get how everything seems pretty much back to normal at the end of the episode. Would have been better if we'd seen another starship arriving to tow the Enterprise to a Starbase.

Despite all that - fun.
Set Bookmark
James04
Sat, Aug 1, 2020, 7:53am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Encounter at Farpoint

This episode has a claim to being the worst Trek episode ever, and lacks almost all the absurdity that makes garbage like “Sub Rosa” tolerable. “Spock’s Brain” is more fun, and “Threshold” is not composed entirely of salamander- people; it has some good ideas. “Encounter at Farpoint” is a chore to get through. It is truly dire, as bad as the abysmal “Emissary”.

At least the holodeck did not grate in this episode as much as usual; perhaps because it had the charm of novelty. OTOH, the odious Q make a too-early appearance; the character is out of place in ST, whicb is supposedly a *science* fiction series - he (and his kind) belong far more in Star Wars. For some reason, Q is much less tiresome and insufferable in Voyager than in TNG - but a very little of the character goes a very long way.

No stars for this overlong and tedious mess.
Set Bookmark
James04
Sat, Aug 1, 2020, 7:19am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Nth Degree

It’s always nice to see a Barclay episode - even if that means dragging along some of that asinine holodeck tushery as well. To some extent, Reg functions as an Everyman, a stand-in for the ordinary person who would not know a Q from a Kazon.

Yet again, Counselor Troi is almost completely useless.
Set Bookmark
Picard_Is_Wesleys_Father
Sat, Aug 1, 2020, 4:01am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Fourth Season Recap

I have so many mixed feelings about Star Trek: Enterprise in almost every category.

Positives: Unlike later Abrams Trek, Enterprise more or less maintained the Star Trek “feel” (especially in the latter third and fourth seasons). And unlike the bile of contemporary Kurtzman Trek, it demonstrated a general respect for the franchise. Did we *really* need to know why TOS Klingons had smooth features? No, probably not. But I remain in awe that this series had such a love for TOS and desire to honor the overall continuity that it gave us an origin story anyway. That “love-letter” to continuity ended up an albatross in the finale weaving in the TNG cast in a story that was not their own, but it at least proved the showrunners cared about the wider franchise canon. That’s commendable.

Visually, Enterprise is a good looking show. A little more drab than previous entries, but, again, considering how embarrassed Kurtzman seems of classic Trek uniforms, ships, and aesthetics in DIS and PIC, Enterprise honors the visual style of its predecessors, while still being slickly produced.

A number of the series’ characters are engaging, particularly Tripp. Likewise Malcolm and Doctor Phlox (disagreeing with the reviewer) are reasonably well-rounded and no member of the crew grated on the viewer like Wesley or Neelix. I remain a Travis defender in that Anthony Montgomery COULD have handled deeper, more abundant material. His bright-eyed optimism and divergent upbringing could have been a real asset if they had bothered to give him more screen time. If he appears “wooden,” perhaps it derives from so much time atrophying on the bench.

Enterprise also makes more of its premise than its predecessor Voyager. We see first contact with a number of classic races, in-depth looks at early relations with Vulcan, and a sense of the wonder, danger, and novelty of interstellar travel in their era. It isn’t flawless, but it does well as a prequel (again, shots fired, Discovery).

Negatives: The collective cast never gels in remotely the same way as the TOS Trinity or the TNG bridge crew or the wonderful noir ensemble on DS9. Even later Voyager managed to build meaningful dynamics between EMH, Seven, and Janeway or Tom and Belanna. T’Pol regresses in many ways as a character after ingesting toxic metals (emotion crack) losing her strength, competency, and distinctiveness. The continual “will they, won’t they” yo-yoing of her and Tripp’s relationship culminated in absolutely nothing and the reviewer rightly notes that all characters essentially end where they began. Character arcs need not be seismic to be profound (before senselessly killing Data off in Nemesis, his triumph was merely in incrementally becoming more human).

Archer ultimately never really worked as a character, especially when the writers unsuccessfully wrote him as a tough guy. A series of poor scripts resulted in Archer imprisoned or kidnapped too many times to count and the character fluctuated wildly between compassionate and aggressive (Janeway syndrome).

Now the unfortunate standard, Enterprise pioneered season-spanning arcs far beyond even what occurred on DS9. Relying on ongoing narratives for an entire season necessitates that your core story be really good. And like eventual Discovery and Picard, much of Enterprise’s core plot threads were not very good. Particularly the Temporal Cold War which was a) confusing, b) largely unexplained and unresolved, and c) diverting and uninteresting. Anchoring so much of seasons 1, 2, and partially 3 in this plot marred many of the series’ episodes. DS9 paid dividends focusing on the Dominion War, but also showed the dangers of serialization with the P’ah Wraiths and the Prophets (in many ways seriously harming its own finale).

All in all, Enterprise is as worthy a member of the franchise as Voyager, if not in some respects more meritorious. Voyager and even TNG and DS9 all came into their own in their latter halves. With three more seasons and the promising changes of seasons three and four, Enterprise might well have become a great series, despite its flaws. Cut off at the legs as it was hitting its stride, we half to judge it as a half series. Yes, it’s tiptoeing into grittier material and serialization may have helped pollute the franchise of the latter 2010s. And no, Enterprise lacks a Darmok or a Measure of a Man or an Inner Light. But it tried something new, fleshed out the canon in a meaningful way, and showed great respect and care for a franchise we love.
Set Bookmark
James G
Fri, Jul 31, 2020, 7:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

I liked this one a lot. There's some surprising acting and direction in this one, that really impressed me. Thoughts and emotions being conveyed with facial expressions that stood out - Riker's horror at seeing the colonists killed; Doctor Marr's discomfort with Data at the meeting.

It's a nice idea with some flaws. The main one is that the entity is basically a planet-destroying indiscriminate slaughterer, and it gets a lot more respect than you might imagine probable.

For a few moments I thought that Riker's love interest at the beginning was Linda Gray. And did we really need the cheesy sexual innuendo about 'dessert'? It adds nothing to the plot except to make the viewer (this viewer anyway) cringe.

The doctor with a score to settle is an interesting character, and really played well. I thought the story was largely going to be about her animosity to Data, but that aspect of it evaporates quickly.

Anyway. Some nit-picks. Judging by the speed at which the entity carves up the surface of the planet during the initial assault in which the colonists are killed, it would take it weeks to devastate a country the size of Wales, and much longer to ruin the whole planet.

I can buy that Data and Geordi aren't able to interrupt the impromptu weapon the doctor creates, but couldn't Picard just have the Enterprise back off a few million km?

Not keen on Data doing voice impersonations. He does it in one of the very first episodes, and it's a bit creepy - it makes him seem more like a tape recorder than a synthetic humanoid.

Anyway, definitely a good one.
Set Bookmark
James G
Wed, Jul 29, 2020, 12:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ensign Ro

I like this one. It's not a great one, but I enjoyed the friction between Ro and considerably more senior officers, and the way she feels very relaxed talking to them as though they were equals. I have to wonder what the evolutionary reason for Bajorans having a fossil stuck to the bridge of their noses is, though.

TNG has quite a few resistance versus evil totalitarians stories, and the plot here is adequate, but not that interesting. I always like an episode where senior ranks at Starfleet are involved in some sort of dystopian, mutinuous conspiracy though. But that aspect could have played out in a darker, more dramatic way.

I never watched Deep Sleep 9 so I don't have the wider context to place this episode in. But how many hostile, devious alien empires does the Star Trek universe need? In a galaxy where there exist beings as powerful as the Q, The Traveller and immortal god-like people like Kevin from 'The Survivors', I have to doubt that they'd last very long, anyway.

Interesting to hear about Federation "prison". Ro even speaks of a stockade, where it gets hot in the afternoons. I'd expect a Federation prison, minimally, to have reasonable climate control.

Really enjoyed Guinan's part in this one, but that hat .. no rational person would wear something like that on their head indoors.
Set Bookmark
Picard_Is_Wesleys_Father
Tue, Jul 28, 2020, 11:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part II

This was my favorite mirror universe episode since TOS. Sure, it was pointless. But considering what a slog some of the DS9 mirror adventures turned out to be, this was a breath of fresh air. Fan service is at its best when its contained to a bottle (like DS9’s wonderful Tribble outing). Keeping the plot relatively light and inconsequential is actually a good thing. Considering other (read: later) series infatuation with the overly serious Mirror stories, relegating this camp romp to its own, independent tale was smart. Plus we get a gorn, a fun twist, and lots of hammy invocations of Kirk through Archer’s overacting. This two-parter is a winner in my book.
Set Bookmark
Picard_Is_Wesleys_Father
Tue, Jul 28, 2020, 4:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

Yes, the episode is a mess. It deals in sexist tropes and its “empowering” reveal makes little sense in regard to t previous appearance of the Orions in an earlier episode. For a final five episode installment, shockingly poor.

But like DS9’s Profit and Lace, it isn’t nearly the worst Trek outing. Despite its many failings, it still has a light, comedic bent that makes it less painful. Some of the banter is fun and it was a treat hearing about the Gorn. But compared to TNG’s deeply problematic forays to planets of both Native Americans and Africans or Voyager’s butchering of both evolution and warp drive that sees Janeway and Tom mating as lizards, this was at least semi-watchable. Not great. Not good. But not mindnumblingly boring or canon-rending.
Set Bookmark
James G
Mon, Jul 27, 2020, 1:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

I started off liking this one a lot, because the difficulty in communicating with the enigmatic aliens proved very intriguing. I was also reminded of Kirk and the Gorn from an early original series episode.

But in the end it has too many problems. Firstly, beaming Picard down to the planet to face possible death at the hands of monster, even as a team-bonding exercise, is a pretty hostile act - but the Tamarians get a pass for this, ultimately. Picard is almost grateful for being kidnapped and placed in mortal danger.

Secondly, I don't find the metaphor language element of the plot very convincing. What would a technical manual look like, in Tamarian? It's far too clumsy a medium of communication to express ideas to be believable in a race that has learned to travel the stars and make precise energy weapons.

Still - I appreciate the originality of the idea.

The Tamarians remind me of the Ameglian Major Cow from Hitchhiker's.
Set Bookmark
James
Mon, Jul 27, 2020, 7:09am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

You have good points, I should have emphasized "at this point in time". I have a lot of TV favorites too, mostly in sci-fi, but at the moment I'm seeing a lot more creativity coming out of the game industry, kids are being exposed to software that could easily be used in schools, instead of passive David Attenborough documentaries. Sci-fi TV is practically dead right now, cheap mass-produced entertainment compared with brilliant story concepts, philosophical concepts only made possible with the interactive, cooperative elements of gaming systems. Kids are creating their own creative worlds, learning the value of teamwork, using their brains to solve difficult puzzles and learning real physics and science. I just don't see that in the TV world, yes there has been some great TV, but I think it is well past its peak.
Set Bookmark
James
Mon, Jul 27, 2020, 5:49am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

@Sigh2000

This probably wasn't the case in 1991, but at this point in time there is no doubt in my mind that between games and television, games provide the better value, artistically, creatively, educationally and as entertainment. Naturally, both mediums have their best and worst (many non-gamers are unaware of the diversity available beyond Grand Theft Auto or Tomb Raider) but at least games are not passive entertainment like TV, you can get a game published without necessarily having mass-appeal meaning there are some extremely interesting ideas out there, and they provide active, not passive engagement. The more creative young minds are now choosing game development and have no interest in the tv industry.

I'd take reading over both of them in an instant, but if I had to choose to eliminate one forever right now, it would be television. As such, this episode is horribly outdated and bordering on propaganda.

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/4e/be/d3/4ebed383d589bfc3859535c61d43d57e.jpg
Set Bookmark
Picard_Is_Wesleys_Father
Sat, Jul 25, 2020, 10:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: United

It seems plausible Shran simply viewed “incapacitation” as impossible in a battle with serated blades. Archer took advantage of the secondary element of the ushaan-tor, the tether, to choke Shran and then unbalance him by slicing off his antenna. So I think it’s fair to say “duel to the death” is fueled more by the practical and emotional considerations of Shran than the explicit rules themselves.
Set Bookmark
James G
Sat, Jul 25, 2020, 11:37am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Redemption, Part II

In an unexpected contrast to my reaction to the first part of this story, which I found tedious, I was thoroughly entertained by this one. Yes, the overwrought, scenery-chewing dialogue between the various Klingons is just as preposterous. But I found the way the plot plays out quite absorbing, and ultimately satisfying.

I love the Android leadership sub-plot. Very memorable that one. Nice that the usual cliche of the apology at the conclusion, when the First Officer has learned his lesson, is avoided - although there is a hint of it.

Of course, there are a few nit-picks to record here. First one: the woman who plays the Starfleet admiral whom Picard negotiates with at the beginning. Is she actually an actor? She just seems to read out the lines, and in a scene with someone as capable and natural as Patrick Stewart, that's unfortunate. Just looked her up on IMDB (Fran Bennett) and she's done quite a bit, so perhaps it was a bad day at the office, or she was uncomfortable with sci-fi. Certainly nice to hear a West Indian accent on the series, although she was born in Arkansas apparently. I like that. A reminder that Starfleet isn't just an American club.

Apart from her ears, Sela is an identical twin to her mother. Even though her father is a different species. Really? And in a society as downright nasty as Romulus, would a mostly-human-looking half human really rise to such a status? It would be like having a mixed-race Wehrmacht general in Nazi Germany.

Finally - Data submits himself to Picard's discipline at the episode's conclusion with an apology, stating that the ends did not justify the means that he indulged. This makes no sense at all. If he actually thought that, he just wouldn't have done it. It wouldn't be logical.

Despite all that, a belting episode that gets the fifth series off to a very good start.
Set Bookmark
James White
Fri, Jul 24, 2020, 4:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

Robert H - you get it.
Set Bookmark
James G
Thu, Jul 23, 2020, 12:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Redemption, Part I

I don't like this one. I should qualify what I'm about to type by saying that in this case I think it's partly a personal taste thing. I just find Klingon politics boring, and the dialogue between them generally reminds me of the Monty Python Spanish Inquisition sketch. Except that, after a while, you do expect it.

Actually, I never liked the Klingon redesign anyway. I much preferred the more humanoid-looking original series Klingons with dark skin and bushy eyebrows and I don't find the various attempts to retrofit an explanation for the change of appearance very convincing.

I find it phenomenally unlikely that a race as proud and self-obsessed as the Klingons would allow a Starship captain from the Federation - their old enemy and in their eyes a considerably weaker culture - to take such a prominent and decisive role in their internal affairs.

Similarly, at the conclusion of the episode, when Picard is asked to support the rightful Klingon regime against the rebels - it would never be up to a Starship captain to take a decision like that. It would be like asking an aircraft carrier captain to put down an insurgency somewhere in the Middle East in the present day.

While I'm being picky - this is a criticism of the entire franchise, not just this episode - but every time we see spacecraft encounters in space, they're always in the same plane, like ships floating in water. Wouldn't it be nice if every now and then, one of the ships was seen travelling (from the viewer's perspective) "up" or "down"?

Nice to see Tasha or her likeness turn up again. I can't actually remember how a replica of Tasha managed to become a senior Romulan, so I'll look forward to finding out next time. She actually turns up, obscured by shadows, in 'The Mind's Eye' - many viewers won't have noticed that though and would have forgotten about it by the time that this one was shown, so possibly a waste of time.

Anyway - I found this one grindingly slow and tedious.
Set Bookmark
James G
Tue, Jul 21, 2020, 1:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: In Theory

Something of a sub-par episode, this one. I like the idea of exploring Data's capacity to have a relationship. But I felt it should have been the sub-plot to the potholes in the space-time road surface, which itself could have been a bit more dramatic and interesting.

There are some nice moments, though. The dialogue between Worf and Data which Data concludes with "I understand" is priceless. The death of the crew member is unusually dark for TNG, even though she looks more like a dummy than a corpse.

Odd that Data asks Geordi for advice about women. A bit like asking Heinrich Himmler for advice on race relations.

Not a bad one. Not a good one.
Set Bookmark
Chris Lopes
Mon, Jul 20, 2020, 3:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Just watched the trailer all I have to say is that this had better be just a product of bad marketing. If the real show is like that, CBS really has a rather low opinion of Star Trek fans. The whole thing plays out as a badly written version of Redshirts. It won't sell any subscriptions, but it might some cancelled.
Set Bookmark
flamesabers
Sun, Jul 19, 2020, 11:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Dark Page

William B wrote:

“If Lwaxana had *not* repressed her daughter's death and had integrated it into herself, it could even be that her experience of losing her child made her more aware of the importance of enjoying every minute of life; but given that she *had* repressed it, well...it doesn't seem as if that could credibly explain much about Lwaxana's character. I think this is why the revelation seems like such a left-field thing. There's nothing about Lwaxana's backstory that makes it impossible that she had another child before Deanna, but there's almost nothing that makes it genuinely fit.”

This lack of consistency also bothered me. I think while it’s certainly understandable the trauma of losing Kestra is much too unbearable for Lwaxana to openly talk about with Deanna, I find it doubtful anyone could keep such an emotionally wrenching secret hidden away from her only remaining child for so long. The other characters on the show have acted differently/more emotional over relatively minor issues compared to the loss of one’s child. And somehow Lwaxana has been able to play the role of comic relief for so long without any hint of the pain she secretly has?

Squiggy wrote:

“I'm rather puzzled at how, in the 24th century, there would be absolutely no records of a child dying in an accident (and the child of a Starfleet Officer at that). Did Lwaxana hack every computer in the Federation to delete the records? How did no one else remember what happened. The idea that this child was just erased from existence without a trace is kind of disturbing, and definitely far-fetched.”

I agree. If Kestra was born and raised on some remote ship or planet, I would consider it plausible for the knowledge of her existence to be limited to her parents. Or maybe if there was a massive pandemic/disaster on the planet that caused a lot of deaths and records to be lost in the chaos? Barring some unusual circumstances, it seems the Federation is pretty good with record keeping, to the point where detailed information on ordinary people who died centuries ago can be pulled up with ease as demonstrated in “The Neutral Zone” episode.

Deanna of all people would have a good motive to research her family tree considering her father died when she was very young. If her father’s official biography didn’t list his children, I’m sure there would’ve been records of Starfleet putting him on some form of compassionate leave immediately following Kestra’s death.
Set Bookmark
flamesabers
Sun, Jul 19, 2020, 10:01am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Phantasms

I have mixed feelings about this episode. While I found some scenes to be amusing and I thought it was clever how Data’s dreams revealed the invisible alien threat, it’s hard for me to wrap my mind around the concept of Data going to sleep and having dreams. In prior episodes Data explicitly stated he doesn’t need sleep and it was shown he would be the one to pull the night shift on the bridge while the senior staff were asleep in their quarters. I understand Data wants to be more like humans, but I perceive needing to sleep as a consequence of having a biological body rather than anything uniquely human. It would be like if Data had a program that required him to eat food to avoid hunger or to experience sexual desire due to an instinct to reproduce.

If anything, I consider Data’s concern over Spot as a better demonstration of how human Data has become. Perhaps the purely logical/mechanical solution would’ve been to give Worf a program of instructions of how to care for Spot. Instead, Data worryingly tells Worf how to give Spot the best care possible.

@Rahul
“Some comedic moments were inserted like Picard's running gag with the admiral.”

A part of me agrees there is something comedic about the Admiral seeing through Picard’s charade of trying to conceal his disdain for attending the banquet. Another part of me finds it a bit unprofessional for the Admiral to assert Picard would be dishonest with a superior officer just to get out of a banquet. Picard is the Captain of a federation flagship. I would imagine most of the Enterprise’s missions have greater priority than a banquet. It’s not as if Picard has a desk job and works in the same building as the Admiral and the only time he’s on an away mission on a starship is when he’s been invited to one of these banquets.

If the two of them knew each other personally, I think the dialogue would be more sensible.

@Meister
“Oh the ironies of Geordi finding unwanted attention uncomfortable. Maybe he would like to revisit his treatment of Dr Brahms. “

I have a very different interpretation of Geordi’s behavior. My impression was he considers it inappropriate for a junior officer to flirt with a superior officer, especially when they’re working in the same section on the same ship. Whether it be in the civilian or military world, romantic relationships between subordinates and supervisors are frequently frowned upon, if not prohibited by company policy or military regulations. If the Ensign was from a different department, I would agree with you more about the explanation for Geordi’s behavior.
Set Bookmark
James G
Sun, Jul 19, 2020, 7:44am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Mind's Eye

An archetypical TNG episode this one, with lots of boxes ticked - a mystery with an involved technical explanation, Romulan espionage, Klingon treachery. I liked it a lot. I didn't actually think I'd seen it before until the last minute, when I remembered the request for asylum.

Curious that a different actor is used to play the Geordi impersonator on Risa; we see him leaving in a Starfleet uniform not long after Geordi is brought aboard. If the Romulans can have someone appear so like a human of African origin, why not have them create an exact duplicate? Would have been a nice, slightly disturbing touch. Anyway I'm sure the young cosmetically-modified Romulan had a fantastic time on Risa.

I was disappointed that Picard resorted to swearing in Klingon. Undignified.

Brent Spiner conveys a lovely sense of urgency in Data's detective work - stress even - when realises that Geordi is involved in the deception. As an Android Data should really just get on with it in an unemotional matter-of-fact manner, but it does really add to the tension and drama.
Set Bookmark
Tannhaueser
Sat, Jul 18, 2020, 6:05am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Family

Oncle René is the star in this episode.
Set Bookmark
Eskimo
Fri, Jul 17, 2020, 11:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

Boring. Badly written. Disgusting. Rapey. Offensive. Stereotypical. Basic. Stupid.

And most importantly, pointless.
Set Bookmark
Eskimo
Fri, Jul 17, 2020, 10:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

Something I suspected, and I wish was suggested in the episode, is that this kid captain was not actually given a field promotion and told to continue, but that he was likely told by Captain Ramirez that he should act as captain JUST to take everyone home. My guess is kid was given orders to go home and he ignored them and didn't tell anyone, and kept on going. I think that fits the character, the fanaticism, the drug use.
Next ►Page 1 of 72
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.