Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all searched results

Total Found: 1,256 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 51
Set Bookmark
eastwest101
Sat, Dec 8, 2018, 7:13am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: If the Stars Should Appear

Have held off commenting on The Orville until now, but as a McFarlane fan this has surpassed my own high expectations. After seeing the Family Guy homages to Star Wars it was pretty obvious that The Orville was going to be a loving homage to the Star Trek franchise, the only real surprise was the choice not to animate it and adopt all the Star Trek visual techniques, sets, costumes, music etc and put his own nudge nudge wink wink irreverence into this very "trekkian" looking universe.

I agree with other posters that the plot referencing is totally deliberate and inspired. There are wall-to-wall insider jokes everywhere , the cast show great potential, the special effects and music is superb and this show is really only to be fully appreciated by dedicated Trek fans who would have seen most of TOS, TNG, DS9, VOY & ENT.

It's not surprising that that some of the humourless Trek fans don't appreciate this (and presumably missed all of the great comedy embedded in The X Files, DS9 & VOY) but in my opinion it's a lovingly crafted but also intelligent love letter to the genre.


Set Bookmark
Jessie
Wed, Dec 5, 2018, 8:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Plato's Stepchildren

Studying Ancient Greek myself, I was quite surprised Alexander quoted the Greek frog ribbit sounds (brekek-koax) of Aristophanes’ classic comedy “Frogs”. This is a quite specific nod to people who have actually read Ancient Greek literature.

Unfortunately, I disliked great parts of this episode, because it did not catch at all the spirit of the Ancient Greek culture or of Platos thoughts or philosophy. Parmen acts like a simpleminded sadistic tyrant, without honor or ethical values. The Platonians are flatly depicted as vile and sadistic because the episode just needed antagonists Kirk and his crew had to fight against.

I dont see a serious critique of Greek culture, and Platons philosopher-kings would have surely not acted in such a silly immature way. The problem is, the episode suggests exacty that to the audience and the Greek culture is shown in a very distorted way. They acted more like Romans than Greeks and looked like Americans dressed up on a Greek themed party. ;-)

2 of 4 stars because of some positive aspects (which mostly involve Spock)
Set Bookmark
Esther
Tue, Dec 4, 2018, 9:26am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

@Marshal

Well, no, because holograms aren't actually real are they? So humanity can't have created Earth.
Set Bookmark
Esther
Tue, Dec 4, 2018, 4:01am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

What we call 'real life' is actually a holodeck. And we created the program.
Set Bookmark
Cesar Gonzalez
Sun, Dec 2, 2018, 3:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Fight or Flight

Soooo....
They're just going to leave this slug on a planet that it's not native to?
When she drops her off she says something alo g the lines of, "I know you'll do great."
Ummm... how, exactly?
It has no other slugs of its kind?
How is it supposed to mate and reproduce?
How will it survive in this new, strange environment?

Lazy writing.

Set Bookmark
Cesar Gonzalez
Sat, Dec 1, 2018, 8:59am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Outcast

Correction. NOT Timeless.
I meant to say it reminded me of UNFORGETABLE.
Set Bookmark
Cesar Gonzalez
Sat, Dec 1, 2018, 8:55am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Outcast

This episode reminded of Timeless from Star Trek:Voyager.
Especially the ending. Am I the only one?
Set Bookmark
Cesar Gonzalez
Thu, Nov 29, 2018, 8:04am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Broken Bow

Very good pilot!
Liked the pacing and how everything was set up.

Much better than Voyager's and TNG pilots. (I have not seen DS9 yet).
Really like Captain Archer. He has a cowboy kind of charisma. Reminds me of Kirk.
Set Bookmark
Rafael, the Esper
Thu, Nov 22, 2018, 1:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

An interesting consequence of the kataans having this kind of technology is being able to offer to anyone a life experience in just 25 minutes. So before the civilization collapsed, they could have lived for centuries!
Set Bookmark
Cesar Gonzalez
Tue, Nov 20, 2018, 10:03am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

@Chrome.

Yup, he may be right.

This is my 1st TNG viewing abd enjoying it a lot.

I was actually thinking that at the end of the episode Picard was going to nake contact. Then it would be revealed that this whole time the people the entity "killed" were really alive. Like the entity had them trapped in a coma like state. I thought Picard would convince it to let them go and the lady's son and everyone else would come back.
Therefore sending a message that it's better to communicate abd seek understanding 1st before going in, guns blazing.

That was, however, not at all how it went.
Set Bookmark
Cesar Gonzalez
Sat, Nov 10, 2018, 8:48am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Ensign Ro

I can't be the only one who hates Guinan. Like, why is she even in this show?
She always acts all high and mighty, with a high horse attitude. Ewwwww, excuse me why I vomit.

We already have Troi to deal with people's baggage, we don't need the all knowing annoying Guinan.
Set Bookmark
Cesar Gonzalez
Sat, Nov 10, 2018, 8:43am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

@chrome

People is Star Trek are not any better than we are niw when it comes to morals. They try to act holier than thou, sometimes. But they are the same.
They feel the same anger, rage, humiliation. They betray and conspire all the same.

Dr. Marr was absolutely right. Screw that entitiy. 95% of you people hoping for communucation 1st woulf be singing a different tune if it was your wife/husband who had been mercilessly murdured.
Had it been YOUR daughter or son you wouldn't be asking for communication 1st.

Picard was completely wrong in this episode.
The ending made me sick.
The show tried to paint Dr.Marr in a bad light for doing what Picard couldn't.
She was the hero here and showed more initiative than Picard.
It's episodes like this that remind me why Kirk was the best Captain.


It's also episodes like this that make me realize why I love Star Trek so much. Morally ambigious situations where no opinion is wrong or right. It's not Black and white. We dwell in the morally gray area where you can't prove me wrong, but I also can't prove you wrong.
Voyager had many episodes like this. Which is a reason I love it so much.
Set Bookmark
Charles Liddle
Fri, Nov 9, 2018, 7:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

I assume "Calypso" is intended as a tease in case the Powers That Be decide to
further expand the Trekverse to show the Federation as it stands 1000 years in
the future. "Calypso" was a somewhat entertaining way to spend 15 to 20 minutes.
The next short showing Saru's backstory sounds more interesting.
Set Bookmark
Cesar Gonzalez
Fri, Nov 2, 2018, 11:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Captain's Holiday

That scene where Troi says her mom was coming is so funny. LOl
Set Bookmark
Cesar Gonzalez
Tue, Oct 30, 2018, 11:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Offspring

"Father, thank you for my life."

That line. :(
Set Bookmark
Cesar Gonzalez
Mon, Oct 29, 2018, 8:11am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

Superb epusode.
Yar was handled beautifully in the episode and it was awesome seeing her character weaved into the story.

It would have been cool if it had been Kirk coming through the rift.

Set Bookmark
Chess
Fri, Oct 26, 2018, 2:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Where No Man Has Gone Before

90 degree head turn: “I want you to hit that button!” Dun-dun!
Set Bookmark
Chess
Tue, Oct 23, 2018, 9:35am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Homeward

@Chris Harrison

“For example, evolution by natural selection may not be discovered because all their hominid fossils would have been left behind on the old planet. What would that do for their culture? It could be absolutely devastating in the long run.”

I teach a whole course which is nothing but unforeseen consequences of political actions taken during the 20th century. And yet . . . “Oh no, not my fossil record?” In the hierarchy of needs, “fossil record” is surely out-ranked by “survival.”
Set Bookmark
Chess
Mon, Oct 22, 2018, 1:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

What I cared most about: the peril of the newborn kittens effectively without their mother. Apparently Spot was herself long enough to clean them, at least . . .
Set Bookmark
Daimon ThotDestroyer
Sun, Oct 14, 2018, 12:29am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Price

People who think this episode is a scathing indictment of contemporary sexual culture is probably getting too grey to acknowledge their own mounting senility. While some radicals might have outrage to sell (as radicals are want to do from either position) I doubt anyone at large would consider Matt's character as rapey. We know he's no Kavanaugh. The scenes were gross, but in a bad softcore porn and sickeningly cheesy way not in a conspiracy against third wave feminism way. Quit begging the question you unwashed nerds. The episode was bad in its own right no need to insinuate more. They wouldn't even get Ferengi right until DS9.
Set Bookmark
Black Jesus
Fri, Oct 12, 2018, 7:47am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Family

Probably my favourite episode of TNG. Brilliantly acted and well paced. Picard is old school machismo that probably has no place in the future alongside Robert’s “deal with it” attitude would probably be written a lot differently now compared to the early 90’s. BoBW 1&2 alongside Family back to back to back was definitely the pinnacle of TNG.

Robert telling Jean Luc that he enjoyed bullying him made me picture them as youngsters and made their mud fight all the more real so totally understood why Jean Luc felt safe enough to allow himself to let go.

Hopefully Jammer, with the passage of time that has passed, with yourself having an even more mature outlook on life, you could reconsider your 3 stars into a 4.
P.s thank you for this site. Love all you guys.
Set Bookmark
James Tiberius
Fri, Oct 5, 2018, 7:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part II

Strangely it's a rather accurate episode, as this is how modern neoliberal governments see the "unemployment problem". Give people jobs no matter how useless or meaningless, and everything will be okay. Never mind that the whole purpose of jobs in the first place is to get things done that need to be done - my pride is hurt too much by having to rely on "handouts" so I'm going to riot so I can get the privilege of being an elevator operator or some other totally pointless job, because I need it to validate my own self-worth in the eyes of my more "productive" fellow human beings.

The ghetto is a big problem, but if Bashir had proper 24th century training in psychiatric medicine you'd think he would be treating most of these people for their psychological distress due to extreme lack of self-esteem and ego-dominated thinking.
Set Bookmark
Black Jesus
Mon, Oct 1, 2018, 2:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Measure of a Man

Thanks Yank, Chrome, William B and Peter G for indulging my; and then expanding my thoughts on this. Much appreciated.
Set Bookmark
Black Jesus
Sun, Sep 30, 2018, 10:38am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Measure of a Man

Too many comments to read through to see if anyone else has raised this point but...
If the reason Cmdr Maddox was able to oppose Data’s resignation was that Data is Starfleet’s property, then disproving that should’ve been Capt. Picard’s first move. Did Dr Soong work for Starfleet? Did Dr Soong leave Data in his will to Starfleet? The answer to both is no as far as I can tell. Data opted to join Starfleet of his own volition so that nullifies Maddox’s argument in that respect.
Saying all that, I actually came on here to make sure Jammer gave this episode 4 stars as I’ve watched it numerous times over the years and never tire of it’s brilliance.
Love this site and love you guys with all the love/hate critique of Trek.
Set Bookmark
Giles
Wed, Sep 26, 2018, 6:09am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: The Void

As a standalone piece of entertainment, I really enjoyed this. In addition to the action it was a fun 'aliens best-of' from recent encounters. A surviving Vaadwaur ship from Dragon's Teeth, the Nygeans from Repentance and the surveillance dudes from last season's Tinker, Tenor, Doctor, Spy. Nice to see them again, and all used rather well.

However, I am also in total agreement with Jammer that this drips irony. This should really have been the vibe for the entire run of the show. And while I appreciate the writers always having one eye on syndication, it might have been a nice idea to have extended Voyager's imprisonment in The Void to half a season at least.

The alliance could have grown and shrunk over time; the crew become more worn down by privation; more customisation of the ship (I loved the idea of new tech enhancing the replicators by a factor of three); maybe a supply ship filled with deuterium is dragged in at the beginning of an episode, everyone having their fill and peace reigning for a while. Perhaps the writers could have even killed off a member of the senior staff or had a former marquis defect to another ship.

So many potential ideas but with all the action wrapped within the 45 minute run time the ship was never in any real jeopardy.

A pity.
Next ►Page 1 of 51
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.