Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,186 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 48
Set Bookmark
Stephen
Mon, Apr 12, 2021, 3:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

The one where Odo and Nerys conspire to let a murderer escape for their own self interest. None of the carefully crafted and evolved characters he we have come to know so well would ever act in such a manner. Nothing annoys me more in any series when character's personalities are rewritten at a stroke to suit a plot.
Set Bookmark
Deep Hurting
Thu, Mar 18, 2021, 11:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Assignment

The scene of Keiko getting zapped is one of the most unintentionally hilarious things I've seen in this series, right up there with Sisko's goofy, slow-motion "NOOOOOO" in the season one finale which my best friend and I must have rewound and laughed at about a hundred times back when it was new.
Set Bookmark
Deep Hurting
Sun, Feb 28, 2021, 11:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

Considering how society views and treats the homeless and refugees lately, I'd say this episode's depiction of the 2020s was slightly more optimistic than how it's turned out in reality.
Set Bookmark
Mephyve
Sat, Feb 20, 2021, 10:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Turnabout Intruder

Having read the charges of misogyny, maybe by today's standards but for the time it was written it's actually pretty bold. Sean Connery made the best Bond movies and, again by today's standards, they were more sexist than this.
Captain Kirk had to sell that he had been taken over by a woman. Subtle actions would not have portrayed it justly. He had to go all ham or he would have just been Captain Kirk. Like it or not, the story required a caricature of femininity.
As for women not being captains, it would have been odd and probably off putting at that time The tv show "Julia" was only just breaking boundaries for it's portrayal of a black, single, successful woman. Let's remember, Women's basketball, soccer, wrestling or boxing wouldn't be a thing until decades later.
So yeah, Tos couldn't be made today without the SJW's going all out to cancel it on twitter but it did a great job for it's time.
Set Bookmark
Mephyve
Sat, Feb 20, 2021, 9:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Turnabout Intruder

Wow! Season 3 certainly went out with a bang. First, "All Our Yesterdays" stands up with the finest of sci-fi.
"Turn About Intruder" was gripping drama, with fine performances by all involved. It's a shame the show was cancelled after that. Like Muhammad Ali it was stripped of it's prime. Also like Ali it definitely had a great comeback.
Set Bookmark
Mephyve
Fri, Feb 19, 2021, 8:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Requiem for Methuselah

Wow this was bad. Falling hopelessly in love with a robot in the space of two hours.
Iknow Kirk is a hound dog but his behavior here was just wrong. He says tha Flint used him but he was a willing patsy.
And then Spock just mind wipes him while he's sleeping. Lol
I guess you can make this stuff up.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Mon, Feb 15, 2021, 10:47am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek V: The Final Frontier

Having heard about the negative reputation of this movie, I admittedly was hesitant to even give it a go. Even though I loved the first one and didn't really care much for the second, the fans opinions of The Final Frontier somehow got to me. Boy was that a mistake.

Storywise, the film falls short. It doesn't really have a villain and the plot kind of gets lost mid way. The evil entity at the end was just as much a dissapointment to me as it was for anybody else. But be that as it may, this movie has a helluva lot going for it.

Because it isn't about the story. It's about the characters we have all come to know and love for so long now. They have aged, they have become dependent of each other, not as mere working colleagues, but as family.

So when the big Three sits down at a camp fire on a purely recreational weekend in the wilderness it feels not only legit but even most appropriate that they sing a song or two. Preferably an easy one, so that Spock can adapt. Yes, it feels a bit cheap when Scotty walks into a beam and passes out, but why focus on that particular moment when the rest is at least satisfactory?

The relationship between him and Uhura might not be the most believable, but it isn't out of the question, and besides it serves as the perfect excuse to show the viewers that they too, have a human side. It was a bit of shock to see Uhura's seductive dance, but it was just as much fun as Nichols probably had doing it.

I have three more points which I can't tie up in an eloquent way, so let me just list them:

The scene where McCoy and Spock encounters their most traumatic moments is nothing but Trek gold.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but wasn't this the first time we saw Klingos speaking only klingon in their own company?

And honestly, who didn't enjoy Chekov in the captain seat?

3 Solid Stars.
Set Bookmark
Stephanie
Sat, Feb 6, 2021, 2:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

Not to mention.....this whole episode would be moot if Troi were there. Why was she conveniently absent?
Set Bookmark
Episodenull
Mon, Feb 1, 2021, 11:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Rogar Danar

"Discovery has no real purpose, no real trajectory. The entire series is made up of random crap thrown at a wall until something sticks."

Which is why the premium cable, heavily-sterilized style is a bad look on modern Trek. That kind of thing is fine -- an advantage even -- on an episodic, procedural show like Trek used to be. Kurtzman et al are just making it harder on themselves trying to ape GoT or whatever show they want to be. Just let Star Trek be Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
Episodenull
Thu, Jan 28, 2021, 12:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Jammer

Would money from a Patreon or a tip jar make it viable for you to cover other shows like Lower Decks, TAS, or even the Stargate shows? If so, I'd be all for it. Doesn't need to be a Patreon exclusive, just put it up and we'll pay you for it.

(I would personally prefer a tip jar as I've never done a Patreon and don't know or care how any of that works.)
Set Bookmark
Episodenull
Wed, Jan 27, 2021, 1:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Mal
@Roga Danar

IMO, the rise of omnipresent online politics also played a role in things. TrekBBS has had a minimally-moderated, opt-in forum called The Neutral Zone (TNZ) for many, many years; due to its nature of allowing discussion that's off limits elsewhere on the site, it's effectively become a high school clique of people talking smack about other members behind their backs and engaging in politics-related infighting. As a result the rest of the form has slowly turned into a place where seemingly non-political topics become proxy battles over who doesn't like who for having the wrong opinion of whatever. It's nasty, exhausting, and drives away people like me who don't want to see or participate in any of that.
Set Bookmark
Episodenull
Sun, Jan 24, 2021, 9:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Roga Danar

I've completely abandoned the TrekBBS for that exact reason. Too many attack dog fans who jump down your throat for disliking whatever the Trek Du Jour is doing. I experienced it as far back as the first JJ reboot, where even the mildest statement going against the grain was piled on mercilessly, and it's never abated. Just smug, condescending crap masquerading as enlightenment, and rigid conformity as intelligent discussion. It's a shame; I used to spend a lot of time there.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 7:46am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

I re-watched this yesterday. Sorry to say, but I have to lower my previous 2,5 Stars to a meager 1,5.

Here's why: I've mentioned many times before that I have a problem with time-travel episodes, because they are cheap storytelling tricks to concoct whatever plots you like without any regard to what has already been established. They never make any sense and work differently in every episode.

So, they all become convinced that if the stranded crew doesn't re-do the accident, the colony will cease to exist; why? They did exist simultaneously for 200 years without any problem, why can't they continue to do so? And with the same logic, if they didn't manage to escape wouldn't they just reboot the whole time sequence, still causing everybody to disappear, effectively creating a time loop? Or are they supposed to build a parallel, duplicate colony to the one that already exists?

The story is extremely poorly thought out if you scrutinize it even the slightest. Which is almost always the case with these type of scenarios. Of course there is something called suspend of disbelief, but that only works if the rest of the story contains elements of very high quality. In Star Trek IV they get a free pass, in Voyagers finale as well, in the Visitor etc,. But here ... The characters you love and respect only come off as stupid.

The main thing they manage to do is to deepen the relationship between Odo and Kira; however I fail to see how they couldn't have done it any other way. The only thing this episode has going for it is Bashirs banter with O'Brien, which is stellar enough to put it just above the 1 Star mark.
Set Bookmark
Stephanie
Mon, Dec 28, 2020, 4:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Child's Play

What I wonder is can't they just decide to have all the actors be consistent with how they pronounce "futile?" It was always Few-Tile, but then Seven started off with Few-Till, which sounded so "un Borg". And now other actors/voices have bounced back and forth. JUST PICK ONE!
Set Bookmark
Stephanie
Mon, Dec 28, 2020, 12:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Collective

I found it weird to the point of distraction that with only 5 young guest star Borg, the identical twins had ZERO lines. They couldn't give them a few lines? Their total silence stuck out like a sore thumb. Also if Seven was assimilated at 6 yrs old, and she was in a maturation chamber for 5 years....so she exited at age 11? Does that sound right?
Set Bookmark
Stephanie Holm
Sun, Dec 27, 2020, 8:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Virtuoso

Jammer is right....the acting job by the woman who played Tincoo was excruciatingly bad to the point of distraction. This was a strangely goofy episode. I did love the duet with his miniature self.
Set Bookmark
stephanie holm
Wed, Dec 23, 2020, 10:24am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Think Tank

Die-hard Seinfeld fan here. Could NOT separate George Costanza from Kurros. Just couldn't. Totally my own fault but Kurros was like George at his most Kurros-ish (brimming with arrogance and self-confidence), like when he first made all that money in the stock market. Just maybe a bit more sedate. Coming so close on the heels of when Seinfeld ended, it would have been good if his face was disguised by alien bumps a little more.
Set Bookmark
Mr Peepers
Tue, Nov 24, 2020, 7:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: In Theory

Jenna was a basket case and train wreck from the opening credits. And she is definitely fatal.

Not sure why, but she seems like a Linda Hamilton clone to me, but she is no Sarah Conner's. Way to clingy with Data. I can't believe he didn't get a Bad Syntax error when trying to communicate or rationalizing with her. Perhaps it is her acting that is subpar, but I knew exactly how this episode was going to end. She was so predictable.

This has always been one of the worst TNG episodes when rating them.
Set Bookmark
JosephB
Thu, Nov 12, 2020, 10:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Die Trying

@Bucktown:

You wrote:
“Ultimately, Star Trek is at its simplest core a workplace drama of elite professionals putting aside differences to solve science-based mysteries or social/cultural/ethical problems that pop up each week. That's it.”

Minus “The Burn”/Universal Music Theme/Emperor references, YOU JUST DESCRIBED THIS WEEK’s EPISODE!! I think that’s why it 100% felt like “Star Trek” to me! Good Job!!
Set Bookmark
JosephB
Thu, Nov 12, 2020, 8:12am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Die Trying

I’ll make this short and sweet:

THAT WAS STAR TREK!!!!!

*****/*****
Set Bookmark
JosephB
Fri, Oct 30, 2020, 8:10am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: People of Earth

OK you “Negative Nellies” , I just wanted to chime in here to state that this life-long Star Trek fan really enjoyed this episode. One thing that has been missing from Discovery’s first two seasons was true human pathos — something TOS had in spades. It’s hard to do without edging over into “schmalz” territory; and this ep, unfortunately, started out with the schmalz. But as the story progressed I saw some true human pathos along with some decent humor. Combine that with a real “Star Trek” plot; fantastic, movie-quality SFX; and a decent twist ending and I was a happy camper.
Gimme’ more like this, please! ***1/2
Set Bookmark
Joseph S.
Mon, Oct 26, 2020, 9:33am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Tsunkatse

One actor in this episode will go on to have a prolific and successful Hollywood career. (Hint: It's not a regular cast member.)
Set Bookmark
Joseph S.
Thu, Oct 22, 2020, 6:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

Fair enough, I liked Star Trek 2009 better than The Big Lebowski too.
Set Bookmark
Joseph S.
Thu, Oct 22, 2020, 5:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

Kurtzman only has writing credit for one episode of Discovery, so this argument is pretttttty dumb. But okay, “Star Trek” (2009) was written by Kurtzman and was critically acclaimed with an aggregate 94% approval rating on Rotten Tomatoes. Take a look at the critical ratings of other Trek movies:

Star Trek: The Motion Picture - 41% approval.
Star Trek: Generations - 50% approval.

Few Trek movies have aggregate approval close to Kurtzman’s - “The Wrath of Khan” with an 88% and “Star Trek: First Contact” with a 92%.

TLDR: Yeah, well, that’s just, like your opinion, man.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Fri, Oct 16, 2020, 3:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

Gotta hand it to part 2 of this double feature. I definitively enjoyed the 1st part, which was essential as a build up. But except for a couple of great scenes which hadn't much with the main plot to do, namely the one with Sisko's father refusing a blood test (amazing and highly relevant scene), there were very little fireworks. In part 2 it kinda continues for a while, throwing the watcher in a couple of directions before finally rolling it all out in a very satisfying, quite spectacular way.

Through the use of the Defiant it even managed to feature the whole DS9 cast, albeit in a somewhat limited manner. It wasn't real clear why the Defiant had to get to Earth, but it didn't really bother me. The showdown against USS Lakota was tense and engaging, serving as an effective story element.

It definitively is a challenge to sell the Federation as the bad guys without having them infiltrated (thus them not being the actual Federation). In this case they do a great job in convincing us that paranoia and fear has gotten to the better of at least some of them - as it surely has happened in Earth's history a number of times already.

The Changelings are there. 27 people are dead. And through clever writing you keep on waiting for them to show up; but they don't, or they almost do - as when Sisko was set up - until one of them finally manifests and tells us that they don't have to do anything, that he (Colm Meany was brilliant as fake O'Brien btw) and three colleagues are basically standing by, watching, as we slowly smoke ourselves. I for one found it quite cogent. Cogent and entertaining.

All in all I give 'Homestead' 3 Stars and 'Paradise Lost' 4 Stars. I feel somewhat generous but I just like the slow burn theme of this double whammy.
Next ►Page 1 of 48
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.