Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,213 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 49
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Sep 18, 2021, 11:30pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

The Inner Light twisted on it's head.
Kelly becomes Kali Yuga after accidently revealing herself to a primitive people on a planet that appears on our universal plane every 11 years after spending 700 years on it's own.
The writers did The Inner Light from thé crew's perspective while the android spent 7 centuries undoing Kelly's damage.
Once again the existence of God is presented as myth with no argument to baĉk up the conclusion.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Sep 18, 2021, 10:25pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S1: New Dimensions

Girly sentimental speeches aside, there was enough technobabble and sci-fi fare to keep your attention. The highlight though was the big gob of nose waste calling the doctor's kids brats. I rolled on the floor.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Sep 18, 2021, 9:28pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

I could smell it a mile away. Waste of time psychological melodrama.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Sep 18, 2021, 8:37pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

Be careful what ýou jest for. The doc and the wad of snot finally got it on nd it wasn't pretty. But it was hilarious. This whole episode was a hodgepodge of hilarious hijinks. Thoroughly enjoyable.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Sep 18, 2021, 7:39pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S1: Into the Fold

not a fan. Brat kids. Crashed shuttle. Dr. hostage. meh
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Sep 18, 2021, 7:10pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

Ok, this one was just bad. This highly advanced crew
1.Couldn't hack a primitive computer system to research the customs of a primitive society
2.Isn't disciplined enough to keep a low profile on an alien planet
3.Has a device that can disguise them as Krill including Krill outfits but can't make a girl with a big forehead look human
4. Couldn't hack the system enough to just changē the actual votes
5. Can regrow limbs but can't repair a lobotomized brain
6. Will disobey orders to rescue the captain and first officer from an advanced society but won't extract a helmsman from a primitive society
yeah right
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Sep 18, 2021, 5:51pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S1: Krill

Bitter/sweet episode.
The plot was good but as spies, those two were just annoying.
The age old Hitler morality question was addressed. If you could travel back in time and kill Hitler as a child, would you? That would be a big no for these guys. Kind of selfish in a way. They fried all the adult Krill save one, but saved the little ones so thy could grow up and slaughter future generations. Only one problem. They showed one kid where we live and put a present day target on the earth.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Sep 18, 2021, 4:43pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S1: Pria

Whoa! Wasn't expecting that. The Orville got serious.
Hilarious practical jokes aside, the Orville dips its big toe in one of my two favorite sci-fi tropes, time travel. And they did a great job. They literally changed the future. I find that fascinating. Though all we got was a glīmpse, some far out spaçeship, a weird tentacled critter and a gorgeous time traveler, the idea that her future will never exist because of her own actions is intriguing.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Sep 18, 2021, 3:22pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S1: If the Stars Should Appear

Alright, back to the magic.
The opening sequence illustrates why using Moclans to deal with serious issues doesn't work. You just can't take them seriously. They already showed the guy sitting on an egg naked. Now the gender swapped one is hilariously acting like a neglected wife with all the usual comedic tropes included.
Anyway, we get a First Contact episode with none of the Prime Directive safeguards in place. How refreshing to see the crew deliver culture shock after culture shock with reckless abandon. Truly glorious watching a species have all their beliefs and ideas shattered with the press of a button.
Of course we have the obligatory 'God is illogical' drivel with no actual argument to support it.
They have to stop teasing me with this doctor/mucus creature foreplay. Let's see where it goes already😎😁😜😊🤓👱👴😂😀😆
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Sep 18, 2021, 2:05pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S1: About a Girl

Ok here's the problem. The show tries to deal with themes like homosexuality and sex changes, gender questions, however it uses Moclan's to try to get it's point across. It may as well have used amoebas.
Ok so Moclan's are an all male race that lays eggs. Don't care. When Moclan's have a female child they swap its gender. Don't care. I simply don't care about Moclan sexuality. It literally has nothing to do with human society, morals nor ethics.
They tried to bring the human element in by showing the reactions of humans to Moclan principles, but as far as I was concerned, do the srx change, don't do the sex change, whatever.
They ignored the greater story, that being the interaction of the mucus creature and the doctor, Thatbwould have held my attention.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Sep 18, 2021, 1:53pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S1: Command Performance

Here's the thing, if you look at this show from a critical perspective (I'm not so far. Just glad Star Trek is back) you might rate these first two episodes as Jammer did, pretty low.
I, on the other hand, am getting my Star Trek fix after what seems like an eternity. Five stars for me on actually creating a Trek like scifi worth watching. The storylines are rehashed, this on being like the episode where Data gets captured by a collector merely to be put on display. To me it's like visiting an old friend. They may be look different, be dressed different but we just pick up where we left off.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Sep 18, 2021, 1:41pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

Finally someone understands what I like about Star Trek. What with Discovery(only watched one episode) and lower decks (it's a freakin cartoon) I thought I'd never get to enjoy another Star Trek series again. But here it is masquerading as the Orville. The scifi backdrops, spaceships, planetary exploration, interspecies crew and episodic escapades. Welcome back Kirk, Spock and Data. It's nice to see you again!
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Fri, Sep 17, 2021, 1:40am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: The Spy Humongous

I actually laughed several times during this ep. The Pakleds always crack me up; and Boimler‘s antics with the BEM near the end were easy triggers. Bonus laughs every time “Captain Janeway” was mentioned.

But the highlight of the ep for me was seeing the good ole’ bridge of the Enterprise D again! It looked fantastic! I don’t suppose we could have a show centered on that? Nah …
Set Bookmark
Episodenull
Sat, Sep 11, 2021, 11:13am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: An Embarrassment of Dooplers

@Barristan
>Was... was that a Battlestar Pegasus also docked at the station?

That was an Andorian Kumari-class battle cruiser, as seen in Enterprise.
Set Bookmark
Episodenull
Sat, Sep 11, 2021, 1:57am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: An Embarrassment of Dooplers

I really liked last week and this week's episodes. Season 2 is finally starting to gell for me.

I'm a little bummed that Jammer didn't like this episode much at all. Not because I need a reviewer to agree with me, but I find LD such a charming little show that I wish he got more pleasure out of it.

Can I defend the Doopler jokes? Not really; yes, they're derivative and I saw where the episode was going as soon as they introduced the concept, and the show can be pretty dumb at times...but all I know is that while I have zero desire to watch the next seasons of Picard and Discovery, I'm excited for each new episode of Lower Decks, even at those times I haven't liked prior week's episodes.
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Tue, Sep 7, 2021, 5:14pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

Oh, well: I blew that prediction!

Maybe by the end of the Year?
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Sun, Sep 5, 2021, 8:36am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

Well, Labor Day is traditionally thought of as the Last Day of Summer.

So, I’m calling it:
We get the Review tomorrow, September 6, 2021!
Set Bookmark
Episodenull
Thu, Aug 26, 2021, 1:41pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: We'll Always Have Tom Paris

Wow, that review went up fast. Probably an indicator of how much Jammer liked it.

Unfortunately for me, this week's episode cemented that I'm just not feeling this season so far. There's nothing wrong with it, exactly, but it isn't engaging me. It has a lot of good parts, but they don't add up to anything. Season 1 surprised me with how much it (eventually) won me over, particularly the excellent season finale where every sub-plot contributed to an overall theme of trusting people over technology. I was really hoping they'd build on those late season 1 strengths going into season 2, but it all feels kind of limp. In isolation, the Boimler stuff is fine, and the Mariner stuff is also fine, but together I'm not feeling it. And the Shaxs reset button straight pissed me off. It undermined one of the most effective moments of season 1 for the sake of a joke that I just didn't find funny. And an unfunny comedy is basically the worst thing.

I'd like to pull my thoughts together into some grand statement about what Lower Decks is (and isn't,) but like the series itself they feel too random and scattershot.
Set Bookmark
EPG
Wed, Aug 25, 2021, 10:32am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

If the characters had just run out of supplies as an excuse for giving up high technology, that would have cheapened the sacrifice of those who saved Hera, since they would have died in the fleet anyway. In a series about trauma above all, it is perfectly plausible that upon emerging into an abundant and fertile world, the only survivors would give up the high technology that led to their trauma. Not to mention they would otherwise have segregated themselves again into an elite class, dominating the hominids this time instead of the Cylons.
Set Bookmark
John Prepuce
Sat, Aug 21, 2021, 1:16pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

I love the fact that we are able to discuss ideas freely here. Whatever "side" you are on, communication is the only way forward. Cheers to Jammersreviews.com for keeping this discussion alive for so long.
Set Bookmark
John Prepuce
Fri, Aug 20, 2021, 10:17am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

Boomer - the death rate for Covid-19 is nowhere near the rate of the Spanish Flu or Small Pox, Ebola, etc. I had it, my entire family had it. Yes, it sucks. You get healthier and move on. Will some people die? Yes, of course. This happens with every other type of disease too. It does not justify lock downs. 5 Years ago, I had two older friends, in their 60s, die of the regular Flu. Nobody was demanding the whole world close down because of it. My grandfather died in 2004 of Pneumonia, it was very sad and if I could back I would not have allowed him to live in an old folks community where he acquired the disease. But the world did not shut down.

You cannot bring up the low flu numbers yet complain about huge spikes in Covid, that makes no sense. Either we mitigated the spread of diseases, including Covid and Flu or we didn't. I'm in Florida where there is currently a huge spike in cases. Where are all the regular Flu cases? No, the reason Flu numbers are down is because it is a common event that happens during pandemics. One virus basically takes over the human population while the other one goes into hiding. We'll probably get Flu again once Covid peters out, if it ever does.

Do not bring up New Zealand. What they are doing is short-sighted and they will suffer in the long run. Do you really think you can stop a virus forever using lockdowns? They will have to open up eventually and when they do, cases will go up. That's just the way things work, unless they perpetually live in a state of lockdown, and what kind of life is that? "Yay, I'm alive but I can't do anything except sit in my PJs watching Netflix forever." Sorry, buddy, but that's not life.

We should have just let the virus run its course, protect those most at risk (if they choose too) and move on. My nephews and daughter, all young kids, got this disease and it was like a cold.

I'll tell you what, if YOU want to stay home and mask up while driving alone in your car, feel free. How about leaving the rest of us alone to live our life?

Regarding there being a massive conspiracy. I do not think there is a specific, concerted effort, but there are millions of people who think alike and will do what they think "is right" in spite of human freedom or the law. We saw last election that people from various voting precincts, who were not in communication with each other, still pull the same tricks to cheat the election. Things like that happen all the time. Imagine now, you get a group of "medical professional" who all graduated from liberal universities, they all watch the same propaganda news sources, and run in similar leftist circles. Do you not think that they would be capable of pushing the same lies themselves, even without speaking to each other? Of course that happens.
Set Bookmark
Steph
Fri, Aug 20, 2021, 7:35am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

Weird flex but ok
Set Bookmark
Stephen
Thu, Jul 29, 2021, 3:35pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: One Little Ship

What would a TOS version of this episode be like? A shuttlecraft on a piece of string?
Set Bookmark
John Prepuce
Tue, Jul 27, 2021, 12:12pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

I have never commented on here before but this episode seemed especially relevant today, so I felt I needed to share.

Gaius Maximus - There was no attempted coup. There was a group of trespassers walking within the velvet ropes of Congress. To claim this was some legitimate coup attempt is just a lie. No weapons, no deaths (aside from Ashli Babbitt who was killed by a guard and a lady who was accidently trampled) and only minimal damage. The protestors who entered the Capitol during the Kavanaugh hearings were more aggressive, not to mention the previous bombing by the Weather Underground and others.

Even worse is to blame President Trump for the event. He was over a mile away and specifically told his followers to peacefully assemble. Even Alex Jones was at the Capitol telling people not to enter the building. To just nonchalantly claim that President Donald Trump attempted a coup is a downright lie, and shows your ignorant bias.

The River Temarc - Joseph Sisko was actually correct in being resistant to getting his blood drawn. It was a shame they had him change his mind eventually.

Blood test didn't work, just like masks don't work.

Do you remember Sisko asking how long the supposed "emergency order" would last? Weeks, Months, Years? Well here we are, coming close to 18 months of "two weeks to slow the spread." DS9 was right; it is very difficult to gain freedoms back once they have been taken away. Very few governments willingly relinquish power. The ending was perfect; We need to live our lives in spite of supposed threats. If everything we love and enjoy about life is taken away, what are we really living for?

Don't lump people who disagree with arbitrary lockdowns and "safety" protocols with Qanon larpers. Doing so is just a quick and unfair way of shutting up genuine dissenters.
Set Bookmark
stephanie
Sat, May 15, 2021, 11:16am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

I thought it was just me excreting tears during this ep because my only kid is graduating high school and will move out of state this summer...which is odd because I haven't been emotional about it (yet). But then I read the reviews and realized nope....it's just THAT great of an episode. Cirroc did great but Tony Todd's real tears during this ep pushed me over the edge.
Next ►Page 1 of 49
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.