Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,122 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 45
Set Bookmark
Skeptical
Wed, Jun 3, 2020, 8:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Most Toys

Ha, sorry for the late reply. Peter, yes, Data had options at the moment, but I suppose I should clarify that I have not seen any other option that would do anything but delay the inevitable. Fajo clearly doesn't believe Data will kill him, so any further threats are irrelevant. And Fajo knows that he can control Data by threatening to kill others (and he already casually mentioned that he will threaten other members of his crew), so Data cannot do nothing forever. While the only other option is to delay in hopes of the Enterprise rescuing him, but he doesn't know that we're 41 minutes into the episode and it's time to wrap things up.

So it's not that I disagree with the rest of your analysis. That is all fine IF Data had other options. I'm fine with Data perhaps recognizing that Fajo is a serial killer as well as a kidnapper (I'll take your word for it about that one scene since I haven't seen the episode in years, but I also recall an impression that even Fajo was shocked when he killed Varra). I'm fine with Data's actions being less than ideal and Data recognizing it. But I'm just not fine with the way it's presented as Data being an executioner rather than Data acting in immediate (or at least in 2 minutes when Fajo picks up a gun and points it at the next crewmember) self defense and immediate defense of others.

You say that it's only a theoretical that Fajo will kill again and not in respect to Data's immediate situation, while I'm saying that, as soon as Data refuses Fajo's command to sit back in the chair, Fajo will immediately threaten or kill someone else. That seems to be the part missing here (also seems to be what Matt is saying). Perhaps its a little ambiguous in the episode, but I think that's one part where ambiguity hurts it rather than helps.
Set Bookmark
Skeptical
Wed, Jun 3, 2020, 7:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

Jeffrey,

I think there would be a bit more of a problem then just "not enough meat" with your proposal (although I agree that what you said would probably be the best way to go). The other issue is that it just makes Crusher into a loser. Regardless of one's opinion on "right to try" medicine, in this case it HAS to work for Worf to make the series continue on, so Pulaski would have to be right and Crusher have to be wrong. And then to have Pulaski on the side of Picard (who is more often than not presented as the moral center of Trek) makes Crusher wrong again. It doesn't look good for the main character to be beat up quite so much. In the episode we do have, it's fine that Crusher is wrong about the procedure, because she was right about Russel's callous demeanor (and her arrogant dismissal of Klingon redundancy is shown to be wrong when that was the only reason her procedure worked). But in the episode as proposed, Crusher would simply be taking her lumps, and taking from a potential rival in the series. One would have to even the playing field a bit.

I think if it was to be Pulaski, they would have to drop "Ethics" as the core of the episode. Yes, the Klingon vs human view of disability could still stay largely in-tact, and the "right to try" viewpoint you bring up could be shown, but there would need to be something else. A personality conflict between Crusher and Pulaski could be a nice balance. Since Pulaski would be a "special" guest star, simply seeing those two together could have enough meat to get through the rest of the episode.

I'm not sure what it would be though. Pulaski's lack of protocol might work to some extent. It could salvage some of the USS Denver triage bit. Pulaski may be a guest, but in the heat of the moment starts acting like she's in command (perhaps bolstered by the fact that she knows some of the Enterprise medical staff), and ends up stepping on Crusher's toes or causing some other problem by doing so. It would obviously be a lesser issue than Russel (and wouldn't result in Crusher banning Pulaski), but could provide some conflict. The only problem is, Crusher isn't necessary one to stand on protocol either. She is clearly a doctor first and Starfleet second, so whatever issue Pulaski causes has to end up being a problem medically rather than procedurally, which makes it somewhat less believable.

And whatever personality conflicts that the episode does create could be resolved during the surgery scene at the end, as the two would be forced to work together on a procedure that neither is comfortable with, and both of their strengths would be required for it to be successful or something. I don't know, that's kind of trite, but with skilled authors might work. I think that would also solve some of the "Crusher is a loser" issue. Instead of Crusher being opposed to a "right to try" procedure in general, she could simply be concerned that it's risky with inexperienced doctors (and make up some medicobabble on why the procedure needs to be done soon) and thus default to the human vs Klingon ethical problem.

So basically, instead of the A and B plot both being about ethics, now one plot would be ethics and the other be a clash of personality. So significantly different, but possibly still worth watching with the right authors. And it would have been kind of nice to see Pulaski return.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, May 31, 2020, 2:46am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Way to Eden

Would have given it three stars if it wasn't for Uhura's complete absence.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, May 24, 2020, 5:01am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Way to Eden

Except for the somewhat foggy main plot, I don't see the critique here.

On the contrary the crew felt very much in line with the personalities we have gotten to know over the past 3 seasons.

It was indeed very nice with an episode focusing on Chekov and Spock.

I also really dig the music, which felt fresh and daring to include so much of in a Trek episode.

Would watch again.

II I/II of IV
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, May 14, 2020, 12:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Lights of Zetar

Yes, it would've been amazing if Uhura served as the alien vehicle. I don't mind the guest actress, she did a very good job, especially when channeling those of Zetar; but man Uhura would've KILLED it.

Overall a good episode with a cool enemy, some creative plot elements and solid dialogue. A bit slow sometimes, but hey it's TOS. The pressure chamber felt somewhat random; and man did they milk those last minutes "Just like that Spock! Just little more, yes; perhaps a teeny weeny bit more ..."

Also, Scotty might not always be spot on with his diagnosis "It's just space!", but what he lacks in concluding, he makes up for in bed side manner.

III of IV
Set Bookmark
Skeptical
Fri, May 8, 2020, 7:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Most Toys

Gaius' comment led to me rereading the long and circular debate here. And after thinking about it more, I blame the episode for it. It just doesn't do a good job of presenting what it's supposed to.

Forgive me for simplifying things here, but Peter's (and others) position seems to be that the theme is Data going beyond his normal ethical programming in the end. Perhaps one could say it is akin to the Asimov novels. There, the first law of robots is "don't harm humans", but eventually they evolved a zeroth law, "don't harm humanity", which can occasionally supersede the first law. Here, Data does something similar, according to this side of the comments when he shoots at Fajo. His position is not about self defense, but a greater defense of his ideals. And the evidence is the initial conversation between the two that Chrome quoted, the "I cannot allow this to continue", Data lying to Riker, and the last conversation between Fajo and Data with the "I am only an android" line being practically ironic.

Meanwhile, my position (and others) is that Data's actions in shooting Fajo do not rise to the occasion of being beyond normal procedures. Data was kidnapped and held captive against his will, and then was essentially in a hostage situation when Fajo started threatening the rest of his crew. Data shooting Fajo would be considered a legitimate act based a logical moral code.

And unfortunately, I think we're both right. Given the theme of treating Data as an object, and Fajo's outright taunting of Data at the end that he won't shoot him, it seems like this moral quandary was an important issue in the writers' minds. That they wanted it to be about what Data COULD do in such a situation. The discussion on self defense, the question about Data gloating at the end, all of it seems to be about whether or not Data could make the big decision. So I can see where Peter and Chrome are coming from (except the Data lying to Riker bit; that one is just executive meddling...).

But if that was the writers' intention, then they failed. Because in 106 comments, no one has yet come up with a plausible solution that doesn't involve either A) Data remaining kidnapped, B) Fajo killing another crewmember, or C) Data killing Fajo. So while Fajo taunting Data at that point about how he won't kill him seems to clearly point to that being the theme, it doesn't hold the emotional impact it could. After all, how is it a great leap forward for Data to decide to kill him if it was the only logical solution? If it is just self defense, what's the point?

So is the "I cannot allow this to continue" line referring to something greater than the immediate threat? The vague wording there does seem to suggest that's true. But the situation suggests it doesn't. And while the thought that Data has evolved from an innocent cherub to someone who can be judge, jury, and executioner is a sobering and serious one, worthy of an episode, does this situation really warrant it? Yes, Fajo is a sociopath. But outside of the events of THIS episode, what has he done? We know of nothing besides theft. Other than Data, he doesn't collect people, so he's not a slaver. Other than Varria, we have no knowledge of him being a murderer. Yes, Varria's odd statement about his punishments does seem to imply something worse, but we don't entirely know. All the actions that do seem execution-worthy were events surrounding Data. And thus, remain wrapped up in Data's own personal situation. So again, the "this" seems smaller in scope than what may have been intended.

So ultimately, if the writers did intend something akin to what the other side of the comments suggest, then they failed to set up the situation appropriately to allow it to have the emotional impact. Because I (and undoubtedly others) see nothing unusual about Data pulling the trigger in that situation. And if it wasn't the writers' intention, why did they focus so much on talking about Data's use of self defense?

It IS possible that there is a different theme. Exploring how Data would react to a situation that most anyone else would respond to in an emotional manner is interesting enough. And Fajo is an interesting enough foil to that plot. Ultimately, Fajo treats Data as a thing, as an object he can control. But Data patiently outsmarts him, and in the end Fajo loses his control of others. And Fajo's assumptions of who Data is, of his thing-ness, is his ultimate downfall when his assumption turns out false on Data's willingness to engage in self defense. So that theme is present too. But looking back at it, I ultimately agree that it is hidden beneath the question of Data shooting. And ultimately, I think that story ended up stumbling.

So while this episode is certainly a good one, I think it is a bit too muddled for its own good.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Fri, May 8, 2020, 11:49am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Mark of Gideon

I very much agree with @Trek fan above, who gives a spot on summary of the episode. Although I have to mention the scene on the bridge when Scotty is one second away from cursing the Gideons, which in my humble opininon is one of the funniest in Trek history.

(Rock solid) III of IV
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Wed, May 6, 2020, 12:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Let That Be Your Last Battlefield

It got a bit much when they started to chase each other around on the Enterprise, and it felt kind of strange when Kirk aborted the self-destruct sequence and the momentum of the episode died. But I liked the aliens and their mysterious powers. Frank Gorshin did a wonderful job as Bele as well.

All in all quite enjoyable.

II I/II of IV
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Mon, May 4, 2020, 3:38am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Whom Gods Destroy

SPOCK: Please forgive me, but exactly where is your fleet?
GARTH: Out there waiting for me. They will flock to my cause, and for good reason. Limitless power, limitless wealth, and solar systems ruled by the elite. We, gentlemen, are that elite, and we must take what is rightfully ours from the decadent weaklings that now hold it.

Boom! The first true barn burner of Season 3. Love it, absolutely love it.

IV of IV
Set Bookmark
Joseph C
Fri, May 1, 2020, 8:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Chosen Realm

Dead to me was right. Not reading your reviews anymore.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, Apr 23, 2020, 3:54am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Plato's Stepchildren

Very boring episode which takes the ending from "I, Mudd" and stretches it out over a whole episode. Uhura's appearance and Spock's singing were the only highlights IMHO.

However, reading some of the comments makes me wonder if I was being too impatient with "Plato's Stepchildren". Certainly I will have to return to this one some day and give it another shot.

But as for now,
I / IV
Set Bookmark
SFKeepay
Sun, Apr 19, 2020, 7:24am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Damage

An exceptional episode, probably among the top 15 or 20 in all of Trek.

Props to Jacob (above) for forthrightly highlighting the addiction sub plot. It's interesting to note such a wide range of opinions and reactions to T’Pol’s striking turn. As for Blalock, I've not seen or read her subsequent comments in context, but I wonder if she simply liked her character, and did not enjoy what the writers put her through, like watching a friend in pain.

As for the main conflict, it’s unfortunate many seem to have been unseated by the plausibility of this or that story hinge. Archer's release, the discovery of a friendly ship swollen with critical bits, etc. None seemed especially contrived, and, as in service to a powerful narrative, should be readily diminished, except maybe for the folks who find those issues particularly validating (and more power to them, just not my lucky Pierre).

Many strong scenes here, but for me, far and away the best was actually the Phlox/Archer dialog. The lighting, blocking and framing...all look fantastic. And those long silences between lines of dialog....suggesting two people who are actually listening very intently to each other, considering what's been said, and only then providing a thoughtful reply. We see two characters who have developed an unarticulated but deep mutual respect. I really have to applaud both actors. Bakula drives me crazy sometimes, but occasionally, he really hits it out of the park. Just watch him here, after he asks Phlox if he’d ever done anything unethical. Billingsley pauses, walks closer, and says “Twice”. And then...a beautifully subtle moment...you see Bakula actually sigh...as if to say “There are a mountains on my shoulders, I need someone I respect to take just a bit of that unimaginable weight, and here you are, willing, understanding, ready.” Moments later, Billingsley shines - after Archer remarks that there may be more casualties, Phlox responds quietly “I’ll be ready.” Billingsley delivers that line in very familiar Phlox intonations, but somehow adds paragraphs of connotation: understanding, consent, loyalty, strength, certainty, reassurance, resolve, duty, courage...it's all there, in that moment, like he’s Archer's rock, he knows what needs to be done, he has Archer's back, he's absolutely ready. The actors really sell this riveting moment.

I was reminded of another scene where I felt Bakula nailed it. In “Regeneration”, he orders the decompression of a section of Enterprise, deliberately killing two Borg drones. He's just sitting in the captain’s chair, but you can see that Bakula is totally internal in that moment, subsumed into Archer - just an honest man - he's an astronaut, for god’s sake! - but he's just had to murder two people he knows aren’t in control of their own actions, to save his ship. We feel it. It's sitting there with him in that chair, like a vulture ready to beak his soul. I don't know why Bakula makes the acting choices he does in this series, but there are moments like the two above (and, actually, many others) when he cedes zero ground to any other actor.

As for the morality of Archer's decision, well, I think Sam put it beautifully above: “...justification is not absolution.” Anyone unprepared to make those kinds of decisions should not be helming a starship charged with saving the lives of every man, woman, alien visitor, animal, plant, and square millimeter of an entire planet. If Enterprise can't meet up with Degra, everyone on Earth is dead. Period. Seriously inconveniencing and victimizing some dozens of people balanced against the lives of billions? How is that even a serious debate?

Finally, it's a little bizarre to argue that “Picard would have found another way.” No. No, he would not. It could have been Picard, or Janeway, or Kirk for that matter, and they would not have “found another way” because, hello? The parameters are set by the writers, who wanted to put the characters in a very specific circumstance, to portray a very specific conflict. Is it imagined that, were Picard to somehow swap ships and times with Archer, the writers would suddenly upend the whole point of the story they created? Put George Washington in the captain's chair. Put Jesus in the captains chair. They would not find another way, because that was not the story.

Great episode, outstanding acting, editing, score, etc....four stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Apr 18, 2020, 4:20am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Addendum:

Just rewatched it and saw that they do indeed show Voyager close to Earth in the last scene, albeit just a few seconds, but nevertheless.

I'm a bit confused as to how the Borg sphere came out before Voyager through the hub (?).

I'm still disappointed we never got to see the Doc playing golf.
Set Bookmark
SFKeepay
Sat, Apr 11, 2020, 1:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Seventh

Just to add quickly: I really like this site. I like that there’s a place where everything isn't instantaneous, where I can read and respond to ideas written, at this point, over decades, rather than seconds. There are other opportunities like this, in classic literature, for instance, or peer reviewed journals. But online, these are few and far between. There’s actually a lot to learn here - the subtle ways paradigms change over time, the use of language, the evolution of cultures, even about our own perceptions and opinions.This is a great website, and it as the years go by, it just gets better.
Set Bookmark
SFKeepay
Sat, Apr 11, 2020, 1:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Seventh

A strong episode with probably Blalock’s best performance to that point.

But I strongly agree with the comments regarding the awful treatment of Travis here. I really hate to say this, but it almost looked like a cop drama from the early 1960’s where the black characters are just there to be ordered around. I mean, Travis was the one who first brought Menos down - by himself - and not a moment of air showing how, nor a word of acknowledgement from Archer. Would it have killed Archer to say “Great Job Travis!” And when T’Pol first asked Archer to go along as backup, after it was already clear Travis would be with her, I kept noticing they seem to forgotten she already HAD backup, there already WAS someone going with her. Plus, just as Jammer mentions, the framing almost seems to deliberately minimize or altogether exclude Montgomery for much of the run time. I get it...it's about Archer bonding with T’Pol. But treating Mayweather like, at best, a disposable employee, felt uncomfortably like somebody wanted the “help put in their place”. Ung.

As for Menos not coming across as Vulcan, remember, he asks Archer (and Mayweather - at least SOMEONE noticed he was there) if they are human. Why? Maybe he was calculating a strategy. He’d probably be aware of human resentments and suspicions regarding Vulcans, and since subterfuge was, at that point, his best chance of escape, he read the circumstances and behaved in such a way as would be most likely to elicit human sympathy. Probably the smartest play he had at that point. If so, Davison pulls it off with typical skill.

Finally, though, the comments regarding T’Pol’s guilt around apparently killing Jossen being difficult to accept seem, for me, almost bizarre.

Gary and Brian had great points, which I second. I would add, though, that whether or not T’Pol acted in self-defense, her deep sense of guilt is PERFECTLY understandable. It’s almost irrelevant that she was a “trained security officer” as many comments said. Taking a life, in war, in self-defense, by accident...whatever....is among the most abhorrent, most consequential, most grotesque acts imaginable. It’s a damn shame we can do it at all. Certainly, it has - essentially always - enormous consequences. For one thing, you've just ended someone else's entire existence. That is, or damned well should be, something that turns your world up side down. And that's to say nothing of everyone else who cared about or depended on that person, all of whose lives you've just violently forced into what can be terrible pain, loss, grief, despair....etc. I don't get people who “don't buy” her guilt. I don't understand why anyone WOULDN'T feel that way. And, as Brian said, Vulcan emotions are even stronger than ours...it was actually a great idea to show how one Vulcan tried to cope with such a powerful emotional experience.
Set Bookmark
Sfkeepau
Sun, Apr 5, 2020, 5:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Shuttlepod One

I watched this when it originally aired, and again now in 2020 (during what may or may not, in the fullness of time, be labelled the “first” coronavirus lockdown in the U.S.).

I remember being annoyed with Enterprise immediately, mostly thanks to the un-evolved, macho characterizations of masculinity I expected humanity would, of necessity, have left behind a century earlier. In the same vein, I was never able to get past T’Pol's ridiculous wardrobe or how her portrayal, especially the first season, was mostly so god-awful (credit where it’s due: Blalock definitely improved with time).

So I had originally truly loathed his episode, as I felt it sent plausibility into free fall by the glaringly obvious stupidity on display. The ship at one point is without heat, the characters are in immediate danger of literally freezing to death, and they don't do the one completely self-evident action that would, without question, prolong their lives? They don't huddle up, they don't use the same blanket...hell, they don't even touch! All that body heat just radiating into uselessly into the vacuum of space, and they, what? Preserve their masculinity? Is it masculine to die of stupidity?

If it were me, I would be wrapped around Trinneer like an heat- sucking python...how much time would that buy? Hours, certainly. But nooooo.......

That's not to say Michael's suggestion above would be in play....though it seems more imaginable today. But it just spoke to the inherent, and even then highly outdated, lack of risk-taking this show suffered from.

I can say that my opinion, for whatever that's worth, of the ep has somewhat improved. I did like it more this viewing, possibly because I am currently trapped in an enclosed space with a vague but not entirely implausible threat of death floating just outside...so I guess I’m perhaps more able to sympathize? And also, I did develop a warmer feel for the characters with time, so it works better in general.
Set Bookmark
Gepard
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 2:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Why wasn't it Soji who discovered the true nature of the Admonition?

I understand on a plotting level why she didn't, because her position in the story would have made it odd if she hadn't uncovered it sooner than the finale, but on a character level it's clumsy. Soji was supposedly undercover to find out the true reason for the synth ban, and it ended up being Soji who took the lead on calling the ancient synths. It would make sense for her arc for her to be proactive in finding out what Agnes knew.

I had assumed Sutra was added to the story because she would fill the role of the Destroyer and Soji would oppose her, but Sutra ended up being entirely redundant. She went down like a punk and Soji carried on without her.

So...why wasn't it Soji who found out the truth about the Admonition?

PIC has a real problem with the main characters being pushed around and maneuvered by secondary characters (who die as soon as they've served their purpose) and I don't understand it. Soji could have been active and making choices throughout all of this, but instead it played like she got sucked into some sort of cult for one episode before changing her mind based on the power of Yet Another Picard Speech™. It makes her look really inept, less like a fully-formed character and more like a plot contrivance who does whatever the writers need her to do that week.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Mon, Mar 23, 2020, 4:10am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: And the Children Shall Lead

@Trish: Excellent analysis! Very perceptive.

The kids got really annoying after a while, and for the love of God, why didn't Kirk throw a towel over Uhura's mirror? Still, I liked Gorgan and the overall story wasn't that bad. I found the scene where the two red shirts who got beamed out in space quite disturbing.

II of IV
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Mar 21, 2020, 9:30am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Barge of the Dead

Just re-watched this gem and it's even better than I remember it to be.

I love what it does with Torres as a character, and I love how it depicts Klingon culture, and I absolutely love the last scene. But if you don't like B'Elanna (talk about character development!), Klingon culture or mystical concepts (FYI near death experiences is a very real and very powerful phenomenon), then this isn't for you.

4 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Gepard
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 2:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

This episode finally crystalized my core problem with Picard as a whole: the main characters are all passive, incurious idiots. Time and again they take information at face value, only for later shocking reveals to undermine what they (and the audience) know, which they *also* take at face value until it happens again. They fail to ask obvious questions and don't follow up on leads or think through anything related to their goals. They're all dumbasses.

It makes for a very frustrating viewing experience because the only characters making decisions, pushing for answers, and driving the story forward are the secondary ones. (Secondary characters who, annoyingly, frequently get killed off after they've served their purpose.) And all so that the writers can drag out one or two basic sci-fi ideas to a 10 episode length. Because if even one character asked a single question about what the hell was going on, the whole premise would fall apart.
Set Bookmark
Lodged Lorepedo
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 11:13am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

Sorry fo the nitpick but I was taken out of the episode briefly when a huge Borg cube crashed onto a planet and there were only 2 small streams of smoke coming from not even the cube but to the side of it. And everything landed right side up (it landed the same direction it seemingly flys through space?).
Set Bookmark
Episode 10
Sun, Mar 15, 2020, 8:49am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Stop trying to guess. You’ve all been wrong so far.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Mar 14, 2020, 10:43am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Spock's Brain

I like the premise, too bad they never bothered to complete the script.

This could've been a good episode though, it had the right ingredients, but unfortunately no experienced cook.

On the whole some 50 minutes of underwhelming Trek. Nothing more, nothing less.

I of IV
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Fri, Mar 13, 2020, 3:13am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

There we go. To be honest I didn't know what to expect, so I just took it for what it was. With this in mind I have to say that "Endgame" was a more than adequate finale to a series which I at first had a hard time to accept, but now when all is said and done, have learned to absolutely adore.

The episode felt like the blockbuster motion picture we never got for Voyager, meaning what it lacked in depth, it made up for in action and excitement. Would really appreciate watching this on the big screen one day. I'm not too keen on the premise, but it was all extremely well executed; and two Janeways is obviously a big plus regardless of how you look at it.

Here's a few points I would like to touch upon:

-I can't believe no one has mentioned the most emotional scene in the whole movie, when Admiral Janeway hugs Captain Kim in the shuttle. In a way it redeemed the whole Harry Kim character, and I for one couldn't hold back the tears.

-Grease ball Chakotay was painful to watch.

-Alice Krige did an ok role as the Borg Queen, I guess. However, I much prefered Susanna Thompson, who did a much better job in conveying a sinister aura.

-Paris with his priorities set straight was just satisfactory to behold. He finally grew up.

-Going back to Harry Kim again, his speech was great and served as yet another redeeming action to his character.

-It was nice to see some good old klingons again, and Torres daughter was great, the little we saw of her. Too bad she wasn't featured more; albeit understandable.

-The ending was too abrupt. The first shot should've been the last, or something similar. Would have benefitted a lot if at least the end credits showed Voyager being in the proximity of Earth.

-Doctor Joe... seriously? They should've gone with Papageno. Just sayin'.

____________________________________________________________

With that said I would like to conclude with two last indirect remarks.

1. I really like this forum and will continue to use it as I make my way through both new and old Trek episodes. Hopefully, as long as I live. Thank you Jammer for this excellent site, and thank you fellow trekkies, for your comments. As Tim-1 so eloquently put it, this feels like an old friend.
2. In the words of the great Springy: “I love many things about Voyager, but even if it didn't have all those things, I will love it forever for Captain Janeway alone.“
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, Mar 12, 2020, 1:58am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Assignment: Earth

Great guest appearances, nice props and an interesting intrigue; but as many have mentioned, it drops the ball half way in and has a hard time recovering from what turns into a boring mess.

On another note: from what I can remember NSA's existence wasn't officially admitted until the 80s (?), thus making this episode (one of) the first soft disclosure of the organisation?

And yeah, what was that woman/cat all about? Her name being Isis certainly is interesting.
Next ►Page 1 of 45
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.