Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,161 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 47
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Fri, Oct 16, 2020, 3:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

Gotta hand it to part 2 of this double feature. I definitively enjoyed the 1st part, which was essential as a build up. But except for a couple of great scenes which hadn't much with the main plot to do, namely the one with Sisko's father refusing a blood test (amazing and highly relevant scene), there were very little fireworks. In part 2 it kinda continues for a while, throwing the watcher in a couple of directions before finally rolling it all out in a very satisfying, quite spectacular way.

Through the use of the Defiant it even managed to feature the whole DS9 cast, albeit in a somewhat limited manner. It wasn't real clear why the Defiant had to get to Earth, but it didn't really bother me. The showdown against USS Lakota was tense and engaging, serving as an effective story element.

It definitively is a challenge to sell the Federation as the bad guys without having them infiltrated (thus them not being the actual Federation). In this case they do a great job in convincing us that paranoia and fear has gotten to the better of at least some of them - as it surely has happened in Earth's history a number of times already.

The Changelings are there. 27 people are dead. And through clever writing you keep on waiting for them to show up; but they don't, or they almost do - as when Sisko was set up - until one of them finally manifests and tells us that they don't have to do anything, that he (Colm Meany was brilliant as fake O'Brien btw) and three colleagues are basically standing by, watching, as we slowly smoke ourselves. I for one found it quite cogent. Cogent and entertaining.

All in all I give 'Homestead' 3 Stars and 'Paradise Lost' 4 Stars. I feel somewhat generous but I just like the slow burn theme of this double whammy.
Set Bookmark
Louis-Joseph Tremblay
Wed, Oct 7, 2020, 2:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Court Martial

@Chris Arturo, I had no idea that he was from Montréal, to me everything about him just shouts “Toronto” and that’s only because I knew that he’s Canadian.

Anyhow, on it’s own this is an alright episode but I really enjoy it in context, particularly in light of Data and the Doctor. For me, as a biology graduate and someone interested in philosophy, the idea that a robot of any sort is life, let alone a sentient person is profoundly unsatisfactory, they are well designed copies — my sister in law is allergic is shellfish and so when I had them over for dinner the other day used surimi, imitation crab. I think that if I hadn’t prepared it and didn’t t know the truth I would think that it was real, does that mean that surimi *is* crab?
Set Bookmark
catoblepas
Tue, Oct 6, 2020, 10:18am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Final Mission

Well, at least Dirgo was slightly more capable while he was still using the name Alan on Space:1999, Martin Landau's sidekick in my 1970s childhood second favorite (after TOS of course) Sci-Fi show ... To imagine I saw this episode so often without realizing this!
Set Bookmark
Mr Peepers
Tue, Sep 22, 2020, 8:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Family

Just watched this again today.

Jammer was wrong. Worf's father used to be a warp specialist on the previous generation of Starships. He had the schematics for the newer class because his son served on the newest class ship.

My nitpick is that Chief Petty Officer O'Brien is enlisted, but he wears Lt. Pips on his collar. Sergey even commented that he also was an enlisted Chief Petty Officer, and was proud that Worf was commissioned and a higher rank then he was.

I love the episode, but Picard's brother needed a beat down. Knowing how he was, I would never go back and visit him.
Set Bookmark
Mr Peepers
Thu, Sep 10, 2020, 1:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Measure of a Man

It was a crime for Riker to turn off Data, claiming he is just a machine. There would be huge ramifications in that if he did not have a nonvolatile memory. Just like clubbing a man, once you turn him off, you can't turn him back on.

My first computer was a Commodore 64. After powering it on, you could load a program into it and use it for meaningful work. But if you shutoff its power, any data or program it had is lost. Once you power it back on, it is a totally new machine with no residue evidence of what it formally was. The same could occur after Data is disassembled. Once put back together, it may not be the same Data you had before. It would have to relearn everything it formally was. Just like a person can not be reincarnated, or cloned. In either case, you end up with something totally different even if it was possible.
Set Bookmark
Mr Peepers
Mon, Sep 7, 2020, 5:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Skin of Evil

Not a favorite episode for me. I did just watch the last part today. Picard ordered the downed shuttle craft destroyed which was next to the creature. Was this just a rated G way to cover up that they killed this monster? It looked like a photon torpedo which would destroy everything in a many kilometers radius.
Set Bookmark
JosephB
Sat, Sep 5, 2020, 1:54am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

@ Bobba Fett — I’m sure Jammer will have his review of “Rise of Skywalker” up prior to the next Star Wars movie. 🤨
Set Bookmark
Mr Peepers
Fri, Sep 4, 2020, 8:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: The Chase

The only thing I learned from this episode, was that Cardassian's knew about making biscuits.

I liked this episode until I discovered it used the same climax as the movie, Mission to Mars. The martians also seeded the galaxy with their spawn.
Set Bookmark
Mr Peepers
Fri, Sep 4, 2020, 7:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Aquiel

I knew the future was going to be bleak after watching Demolition Man, in 2036. In that one, Huxley introduced Rambo to putting on a helmet, give him a towel, then proceeded to have mind sex. A few centuries later, Geordi gets mind fracked instead of doing the Hunka Chunka, you know, Fluid Transfer.

Did this guy ever get a woman, even in the feature films? At least he got out his jollies with Leia on the Holodecjk. You know, one fro each day of the week? He never actually denied it. The only other female Geordi became insubordinate with his commanding officers was when he believed his mommy was trapped on a planet.

Aquiel, was not one of my favorites episodes. It centered on one of the most uninteresting crew members on the ship, Geordi. As long as he is solving a problem by using Tachyon pulses, he is ok. Not with affairs of the heart.
Set Bookmark
Mr Peepers
Fri, Sep 4, 2020, 7:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: When the Bough Breaks

Just watched this again today. My main question is. . . Exactly how were these six prepubescent children and Wes, going to repopulate the planet??????? The people seemed so desperate, so were they going to wait 12 to 20 years for them to get old enough to mate with each other? Were the adults going do it with them? And unless they turned the three little girls into baby factories once they become of age, the few children they would naturally have wouldn't increase their population in the least. Even Crusher told them the children would just become infertile themselves.

Some of the planets people were in their 70's, while others were in their 30's and 40's. How were the younger ones born? And if the issue was radiation from the Sun, but they all seemed to stay inside because of their sensitivity to light, how were they still infertile?

At least the episode, Up the Long Ladder, was far more plausible with their dilemma of not being able to have children. Send in the Clones!!!
Set Bookmark
Mr Peepers
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 5:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Datalore

Biggest pet peeve I've had with Trek, starting with TOS is this. Why does the Captain allow any Joe Blow or alien full access to the ships computer archives? In Space Seed, Kirk gave Khan access to the ships schematics, which he used to take over the ship. Likewise, Picard gives Lore the same level access which he also uses to to his advantage in knowing when the Entity can destroy the ship. There were other aliens who did the same. "Captain, do you mind if I look into your computer to gain a tactical advantage over you"? Sure, go for it.

Of course other aliens who know nothing about the ship, knows how to reprogram the ISO chips to shut down or block systems. I'm guessing all the info is on the internet.

And Lore has been taken apart and reassembled so many times, you would think his screws were worn out. How about vaporizing him once and for all? Well they did transport him into space, but somehow he came back to to come after the Enterprise again, even though they were a few hundred light years from where they last dissembled him. An exploration ship that seems to backtrack to areas they explored before.
Set Bookmark
Mr Peepers
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 4:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: 11001001

I liked the episode except for one HUGE flaw.

Both Riker and Picard were so fascinated the Minuet was so real, and that the Holodeck is a millions times more improved than before, except it was exactly the same. They go on and on how she reacts to them, her knowledge of things, etc, except the Holodeck already does that. It was the same a few episodes before, and all the episodes afterwards. Then you see Riker is so disappointed at the end when he goes back to hookup with Minuet without 3rd wheel Picard around, then she seems more like a two dimensional cardboard cutout who doesn't even seem to be able to speak. Again, Holodeck characters a few episodes before, and all the ones in future episodes are all fully fleshed out 3D characters that the crew interacts with just like with real life humans.

My believeabilty factor went way down rather than get immersed in the show.

Also, I have no idea why Wesley was even in this episode. He just babysat the Binars and kept asking pointless questions while they were trying to plot to steal the ship.
Set Bookmark
Mr Peepers
Wed, Sep 2, 2020, 12:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Where No One Has Gone Before

This is the first of many times when Tasha talks about the rape gangs she grew up with. Pretty sure everyone has gotten tired of her bringing it up every few episodes. To hear her tell it, she ducked and dodged them for many years and had never gotten caught.

This first season only had a few good episodes, and this wasn't one of them. It seems that every crew member has an advanced doctorate in astrophysics. No way our current astronauts could figure out how to get out of the space jams this crew gets entangled in on a weekly basis.

The Traveler tells Picard to encourage Wesley to develop to his potential, but in later episodes, this isn't the case. He is merely tolerated but reminded to act right, or he is off the bridge.
Set Bookmark
Mr Peepers
Sat, Aug 29, 2020, 6:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Captain's Holiday

The only redeeming value of this episode was finding out that Picard, knew how to hoist his petard with Vash. Taking a few liberty's with the actual meaning. He was no James T Kirk with the ladies.
Set Bookmark
Mr Peepers
Sat, Aug 29, 2020, 6:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Gambit

Starting with the ending where the death pistol is given back to the Vulcans who claim it will be destroyed, not withstanding the fact they didn't destroy it the first time they got rid of it. Why break the universes most powerful weapon into three pieces and spread the parts in separate corners of the alpha quadrant, instead of destroying it with a phaser? It sounds like it will be split in a few extra pieces then redistributed across the galaxy. Not very logical.

Picard knew about this weapon from history after Saavic told him what they were looking for. Why not destroy the pieces himself and replace them with other discarded artifacts rather then letting the weapon be reassembled? He was the only one who knew which piece made up a part of the weapon. Yeah, I'll let Tallarea, whom he already knew was a fake Vulcan Security Officer, take the weapon to another planet and sell it. I will just figure out something later.

And how did bad guy know just where to look in the galaxy to find the pieces of the weapon? It seems like the Vulcan's cataloged the location of each piece, then allowed this information to be stolen by the bad guys. For what purpose? So they themselves could put the weapon back together many centuries later?

A lot of TNG plots make no sense.
Set Bookmark
Mr Peepers
Mon, Aug 24, 2020, 4:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Liaisons

Another gender bender episode, but this time it's Picard's turn to be cat fished.

The ambassadors plan would had worked on Picard if they used the right bait to get him to fall in love with him. Had he took the form of the Perfect Mate, Kamala (Famke Janssen), Picard would had been all over her.

Not sure what the other one who liked food as pleasure. He could had had Door Dash deliver everything off the Enterprise replicator menu, and stayed on his home world. I didn't see a single thing he learned from Troi. The one that Worf had seemed lacking too. It was obvious he already knew how to fight, so what did he need Worf for? He and the "Love Me" guy could had fought it out trying to get the other to submit.

All they all did was bring their own preconceived notions with them. Neither of them experienced anything except what they wanted to see happen. Why wait for love to develop naturally when you can just rape someone? And egging someone on to whip your butt isn't antagonism, its just pissing someone off. And lastly, coming aboard the ship and eating like a pig isn't pleasure. He should had either gone to Risa, or DS9 and visited a Halo suite.
Set Bookmark
Me Peepers
Thu, Aug 20, 2020, 6:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Lessons

First, I really liked this episode, and that it was tied to The Inner Light, my favorite was a bonus.

It ended exactly as he should. Would had been a real downer if Nella died on the planet. Picard didn't need a wifey. He already had one in Crusher. But for me, I couldn't have that deep of a platonic relationship with a woman. Close female friends were friends with benefits. Of course everytime we had an understanding, the woman would mess it up by falling in love, saying they can't help it. I get enough seeing Miles going home to his wife in a few episodes. It wouldn't be Trek if Picard went on an away mission, and turned down some strange that was thrown his way because Nella was waiting with dinner as soon as he got back, and he better not be late. "It's Good to be the King".

I know this was an episode from 1993, but 15 years later, that roll up keyboard is common place. And if you want to call that flute playing music, well ok. It sounded just like the plastic flutes we played when I was in the 5th grade. I was so happy when in the 6th grade you could take band class and get a real instrument to play. I chose the Trumpet.

As for Riker getting all miffed when Nella made an offer to a crew member. It looked like that was the only job he had on the ship, and she took away the hard decision to allow a crew member to move to a new section on the ship from him. "It was my job!!"

Not sure why the crew would care who the captain hooked up with. As long as they aren't making out in public, who cares? Picard never had a problem with people seeing him hanging out with Crusher all the time. And she visited his cabin on the regular for talk and tea. There would be speculation in what they did behind closed doors. He definitely never pretended he didn't know her in the turbolift. They were close buddies. Nella was a Commander, so why couldn't they also be friends without him being all up tight about it? How many times has Troi been in his Ready Room? Never saw him leave the door propped open for appearances sake while she did some "counseling" . The writers write these episodes thinking people hadn't seen all the other episodes.

At least Riker didn't have a problem marrying some chick he met in a holosuite in the episode where the little boy made him believe he was married with a kid while the boy catfished him. Just like the advice the Lt. Rasczak gave Johnny Rico in Starship Troopers, "Never pass up a good thing".
Set Bookmark
Mr Peepers
Sat, Aug 15, 2020, 10:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

I always thought all along why the transporter couldn't make copies of people. They make it seem like it is virtually impossible to do this on purpose or by accident, which it does by bouncing beams or something. At least it wasn't as hokey as when the transporter merged Neelix and Tuvok on Voyager.

The two Riker's were interesting in how they interacted with each other. I would had expected Thomas to have a scraggly beard and be thin, but I guess eight years of replicator food can keep you fit as well adhering to Star Fleet personal grooming standards no matter what. You would think Will would cut his twin some slack after all that he's been through, but he was expected to toe the Star Fleet line regardless.

The relighting of the fire between Thomas and Troi wasn't that remarkable. She fell for Thomas and jumped into the sack with him just as easily as she does with every other visitor who shows her some attention. She forgot about him just as easily once he left the ship. Not sure why any staff officer would want to get married anyway. How could you be married and have time for a relationship while stuck aboard a ship for years? Or worse while being away from your spouse while the other is 100 light years away.
Set Bookmark
Mr Peepers
Wed, Aug 12, 2020, 7:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Masterpiece Society

The scene with Geordi saying he was glad he wasn't aborted because he was blind, reminded me of a Chris Rock skit.

"Doctors haven't cured anything in the last 50 years. Like blindness. You go blind, they don't got nothing for you. You go to a doctor, tell him you're blind, he says, "Hey why don't you get this dog to drag your blind butt around."

This society would bore me to death. Everyone is perfect, and nothing ever goes wrong. You are told that according to your genetic profile, you'll make an excellent sanitation engineer. It's what you were bred to do. I doubt you would be allowed to change professions because Martin will tell you that will upset the alignment of the stars or some other nonsense.

Hard to believe with these people's advanced scientific minds, they wouldn't build a few spacecraft to check out what other planets are doing. In 200 years, all they have done was create a few glass domes. How about finding a new planet where you can breathe fresh air?

And once again, Picard disapproves of any female senior staff member from getting a little action unless he is getting some too. Troi and Crusher and never had a relationship with anyone aboard ship, except Troi , who mostly grinds on Riker. He and the Captain do their do off the ship. Both hangout on Risa to get some action. It's no wonder these females hookup with some alien visitor before the first commercial break. Are they even sexually compatible? If you have spots, or a ridge on your forehead, I can't imagine what they got down below. Crusher hooked up with an alien whose body is controlled by a giant maggot. That copulation would totally gross me out. YUCK!!

These people would get along great with that planet that was made up of clones to survive. Both were made up of leaders who were insufferable dictators. Both were isolated and living with issues that were totally unnecessary. When a Starship visited, they all should had jumped onboard and got off the rock they were merely existing on, instead of lying and claiming their way of life was perfect.
Set Bookmark
Mr Peepers
Fri, Aug 7, 2020, 5:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Perfect Mate

This episode just confirms that Picard will never be the Captain that Kirk was. Kirk knew about Captains prerogative, and took advantage of every chance to get some action from the weeks guest star hotty. Most likely off screen too.

On Picard's watch, all crew members are free to have relationships with the inhabitants of whatever ship or planet they interact with. Picard himself said all crew members are free to have relationships with whomever they want, but he blocks Framke when she wants to do the same thing. Picard had more than a stiff upper lip with this woman. Yeah she was promised to some old ambassador, but it wasn't his business to restrict her. I never saw him putting moral values on Okona, who, according to Worf, was reportedly seen in several crew women's quarters. He even C-Blocked Wesley when he tried to hook up with the Dauphin But Riker was allowed to put the moves on the trans woman/man.

I can't enjoy an episode when the Captain is so hypocritical when it comes to short term relationships. They wasted the entire episode trying to keep this woman confined. More puzzling, is why they just didn't put her back in stasis or a medical induced coma if they didn't want her interacting with anyone?
Set Bookmark
joseph woodworth
Mon, Jul 27, 2020, 6:57am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

I rewatched this, and Wynn’s decision makes a little more sense to me now, there’s a small detail - She says , if the prophet wins there will be a thousand years of peace, and we won’t need vedecs or kais or even the emissary. It’s almost as if She thinks a prophet victory will remove the need for her office, and her power would disappear...
Set Bookmark
Mr Peepers
Fri, Jul 17, 2020, 3:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Emissary

I want to file a complaint with Star Fleet HR. Do they hire "any" full blood aliens? All of them are half human. Troi is half Betazoid; Worf and K'Ehleyr are half Klingon. Even Spock was half human and Vulcan.

Worf never even had a woman, even on Risa, so you would think he would instantly do the Riker Leap on K'Ehleyr. Poor Alexander is only 1/4 Kilngon from their mating? Although he looks full Klingon. At least they look better than the pure Klingon's. I could never do the deed with the Duras sisters, L'Ursa and B'Etor. I would take K'Ehleyr off Worf's hands had he not knocked her up.
Set Bookmark
Mr Peepers
Fri, Jul 17, 2020, 1:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

Just watched this episode a few minutes ago.

Evidently, the hypocritical Riker did indeed inject his DNA into the mix. There will soon be a little Riker in the Mariposa gene pool. Sometimes you have to bow to the absurd. I can't believe Brenna was only in a few short scenes. Now we'll never know if she picked Eddie Murphy as a DNA donor.
Set Bookmark
Mr Peepers
Thu, Jul 9, 2020, 1:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Naked Now

Showing that Data gets drunk is as big a fail as when they showed Luke and Leia making out. It two more films before they reversed course and made them brother and sister. After this episode season, Data didn't even have emotions, much less et drunk. Reminds me of the first season of TOS, where Spoke was shown to smile. He later became serious as a heart attack.
Set Bookmark
Mr Peepers
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 4:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

Sorry, Guinan is no Ben. She doesn't hangout or play poker with junior or senior officers. In fact other than Beverly, Deanna, and and maybe Worf, she doesn't interact with no one else other than Picard. Never cared for Whoopie, and hated the fact she was even on this show.

I also despised Picard for manipulated this young woman into this mission. And if Star Fleet isn't a military organization. then what is it? Is it like the Merchant Marines? And if it isn't military, why are members putting their lives at risk on missions? Also, if the current society is not based on the accumulation of things, but to better ones self and not get paid, why would anyone want to join Star Fleet, and fight like the devil to keep from getting kicked out?

Sito, almost got kicked out of the Academy after covering up a classmates death. She was almost in tears as she told Picard how she no longer had no friends, and almost quit. What would actually happen to her if she did? It seems like you would live an easy life if you weren't in Star Fleet.

I did like seeing how you got to see junior officers, and how they progressed through the ranks. These four Ensigns didn't have a very glamorous life on the ship since they were the bottom rung. They even had to share a room with someone. Makes you think why Wesley wanted to be an acting Ensign so bad, and thought it was the best thing ever. Having been in the military, the first three officer ranks were based on time in grade. That means you automatically got promoted to the next rank. There were special boards where you competed to get accelerated directly to the 3rd rank, but these four weren't doing that.

It was eye opening that within an organization, there were secrets that were kept from even junior officers. Maybe I could see the enlisted folk being kept in the dark, but not officers. The more they pretend this isn't a military organization, the more it looks like one. Uniforms, rank insignia, a hierarchy, and military bearing. I laughed when Riker dressed down Lavelle that a single Aye was sufficient when acknowledging an order.

Having been in the military, there is no way I would join Star Fleet. Not a career I would want to be part of. Until I saw this episode, I used to think being on a Star Ship to be kinda cool. But that's because you only saw life through the eyes of the Senior Staff, who were given great leeway in their jobs. Hooking up with aliens for a few days, and problem solving. What's not to like? The junior officers don't seem to do anything but training and routine work. They aren't seen to have anything to do with missions even though they are sitting on the Bridge. All you ever see is them navigating the ship to the next great adventure, then ignored. Again, I never really thought about them until this episode.

I like the political maneuvering episodes with Worf, and even this episode over the ones when some demon alien gets inside an officers body, or the ship caught in some snare.
Next ►Page 1 of 47
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.