Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 972 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 39
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, May 23, 2019, 12:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Squire of Gothos

Very enjoyable, mostly because of Campbell's extremely solid acting.

3 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, May 21, 2019, 2:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Galileo Seven

Brian S. nailed what was going through my mind most of the episode.

Solid one, but nothing that will stick in my mind for particularly long, I bet.

2,5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Wed, May 15, 2019, 11:56am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

Since they already knew that fear was an issue, they should've at least considered sending Tuvok to the clown.

Apart from that, this episode absolutely blew me away. Twisted and unique; it had me on the edge of my seat the whole time.

I tip my hat.

4 Stars
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, May 14, 2019, 2:30am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Deadlock

@Sketchy
Thank you for that comprehensive list of technobabble terms. The Viidian take over was by far the highlight of this episode, but it only lasted for about 10 minutes. The rest was almost painfully boring - then again, I've never been a fan of the time shift/dimensional/parallell universe ep's.

1,5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Mon, May 6, 2019, 4:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Investigations

Sloppy writing aside, this episode turned out to be quite entertaining. Neelix managed not to be irritating, Seska shined and the Doctor nearly stole the show! I also loved Janeway's impeccable delivery of the line "Fire at will" at the end. Unfortunately Paris still annoys me, and I would have liked to see Tuvok and Chakotay not being utterly useless. Jonas was a big waste of a character.

2,5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, May 2, 2019, 3:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Dreadnought

We get the same basic plot in DS9's "Civil Defense", only this time it isn't nearly as interesting.

2 Stars, but only barely.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, May 2, 2019, 12:02am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Meld

There's something about dark and bad ass trek stories that always gets to me.

4 Stars. Easy.

PS. "I love the fact that Tuvok has a "Kill Neelix" hologram program, though I suspect it's part of the ship's general library for any crew member to use."
Great comment XD
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Wed, May 1, 2019, 1:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

4 things that were quite enjoyable in this episode.

-"I don't know how I'm going to enter this into the log."
"I look forward to reading it."

"Can you wake him? "
" Of course. WAKE UP, LIEUTENANT! "

"Here lies Thomas Eugene Paris, beloved mutant... Beloved radioactive mutant. "

"... Neelix's coffee."
" It's a wonder he's survived. "
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 7:52am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Thought it was a great episode to end the Season with!
There were lots of callbacks to previous eps and was very exciting to boot!
The VFX and the music were all sensational.

I know the whole “time travel” thing inevitably ends with a “reset” but it was fun seeing it play out!

This is an easy 3.5/4 for me!
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 12:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Prototype

Excellent episode. Sure, some dialog where somewhat lame/lazy, but the story was captivating and well directed. Stop nit picking', h8rs.

3 solid stars.
Set Bookmark
Skeptical
Wed, Apr 24, 2019, 5:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: To the Death

Of course, if Starfleet isn't military, that opens up a whole new can of worms. It means the Federation has authorized a non-military group to carry around weapons of mass destruction and use them as it sees fit. It means the Federation has authorized a non-military group to kill people in territories beyond the Federation's control whenever they deem it necessary with no clear Rules of Engagement. It means the Federation has authorized a non-military group to engage in military endeavors, including attacking the military of other sovereign peoples during times of war. It means the Federation has authorized non-military personnel such as Jean-Luc Picard to risk the lives of up to 1000 people at a time to take actions with virtually no oversight. It means the Federation has authorized non-military people to incarcerate other non-military people if the other non-military people refuse to listen to some of the non-military people.

Really, is that a better outcome than a world where Starfleet is also a military organization but performs other duties as well? I mean, seriously, do people really think the US military does nothing but kill people? They have other duties, including humanitarian missions. So why the downright aversion to the use of that term? And would you really want a non-military organization to have as much power and control as Starfleet?
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 10:37am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Resistance

A stellar story. Out of all the captains in the previous series I like Janeway the most, in this episode she is at her best. Very moving.

4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Apr 20, 2019, 2:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tattoo

Consider, if you will, that at the time this episode aired, the idea of ancient aliens wasn't as prevalent in pop culture as it is today.

Those who have actually looked into the myths of indigenous (american) cultures know that the they feature the basic story of this episode i.e. people coming down from the skies and interacting with them.

The fact that they mention the mainstream understanding of life as evolving from one single organism as a "pretty much proven fact", gives the story way more weight than just a simple analogy for imperialism as many here seem to view it.

Ingredients like symbology and destiny, not to mention the extremely entertaining b-story, makes this one a stellar episode and the first VOY that gets 4 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Thu, Apr 18, 2019, 8:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

OMG!!!

I had some misgivings coming in, but this was *FANTASTIC* in every sense of the word.

Four Stars!
.... And the entire Season — and Series — has been redeemed!!

Live Long and Prosper! 🖖
Set Bookmark
Skeptical
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 6:39am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

While it's certainly true that Worf has had medical training and that modesty, therefore, should not be a problem, this episode still has the unfortunate flaw that the main characters are doing everything (except the bridge officer at the very beginning who got a console exploded in her face). Fine, Worf has medical training. But don't the rest of the Starfleet officers have it as well? Yes, there's civilians on board, but how many? I'd imagine at least 25% of everyone on board is Starfleet. And yet no one else could provide medical assistance? In fact, before her labor started, Keiko (a botanist outside of Starfleet who probably did NOT have medical training) was the one assisting with medical help!

It's understandable given how Hollywood works, but it was a bit weird. More egregious was Riker and Data attempting to get to an empty Engineering. So not ONE of Geordi's engineering crew realized that the situation was dire and tried to get there? Every main character was uninjured, but ALL of the goldshirts were and couldn't help? A bit silly. But ignoring that, it's a good episode.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Fri, Apr 12, 2019, 6:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

The premise is good and actually has a lot more potential than was explored in this ep. What if he switched places with the Kim belonging to the alternative timeline? They should really have included one more character who'd been misplaced - at least Paris - but no.

Instead it falls rather flat. Harry Kim is annoyingly incompetent in adapting to the situation. Instead of playing along (and spend some quality time with his fiancée he hasn't seen for months) and ease his way out of the problem, he incomptetently messes everything up way more than necessary.

The fact that he completely lacks personality doesn't help. Luckily Paris has one drink too many and decides to give it all he got anyway.

1 Star.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Mar 31, 2019, 9:26am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Elogium

Until now I haven't had too much of a problem with Neelix. Unfortunately he started to annoy me in S1"Jetrel"; and in this one it only gets worse. Too bad actually, because when he sticks to being somewhat in the background he more often than not gives the show some well needed comic relief.

For some reason Chakotay has been watered down in this and the last few episodes. Many times now I have thought to myself "he used to be a maquis leader - really?". I mean who was that guy punching another starfleet personel in the mess hall recently?

At least one can always count on Janeway.

Not much of interest in this episode. Won't return to it ever.

One star.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 5:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Jetrel

Strong episode with a few issues holding it back.

I. The actor playing Jetrel did an overall great job but unfortunately blew it at two crucial occasions, one being "I have mreonia, I will be dead in a few days" and the moment he takes his last breath after Neelix forgives him. Both instances dampened the potential power of respective scene.

II. Albeit, some moments caused tears, it eventually got tiresome hearing Neelix mentioning Talax again and again.

Some people are provoked by Kes talk with Neelix about forgiveness. I find the scene brilliant. It goes in line with the harmonious (and boring) nature of Kes, as well as giving Neelix humbleness and intelligence by seeing and accepting the points Kes brings up - after all, she is right.

I don't like half stars so I'll give it a 3. And maybe it deserves it, after all, if it caused tears...
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Thu, Mar 21, 2019, 12:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Big Goodbye

@Markus It's because the Federation wanted an alliance with them. The Jarada had a take it or leave it attitude about the situation.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Thu, Mar 21, 2019, 10:45am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

Steven Crowder does a series called "Change my mind." The vibe I got from this episode still stands. Borderline racist and misogynistic. I used the word borderline because you can give reasonable explanations for it but you can't escape it.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Mar 19, 2019, 9:25am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Emanations

Janeway steals the show in the last 2 minutes of the episode. Just remarkable. The first tear jerker in VOY for me.

3 Stars!
Set Bookmark
Joseph
Mon, Mar 11, 2019, 3:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

@Yair

"Art is about introspection of nature (especially human nature). Good introspection does not have to critical of 'us' (whatever that is), or even to deal with us. Fiction about some 12th century BC people could very well be worthwhile art if it examines human nature honestly and incisively."

Does Orville do that? Does it have any valuable insights on, say, astrology or Islam (Krill). Or are its insights there to validate our own beliefs and make us feel more comfortable with what we believe?

"Also, the nature of this particular subgenre is to indirectly critique current human politics by showing a supposedly more enlightened one, rather than critiquing it directly (I haven't seen this episode, so I can't comment on whether it does this). "

I do not find Orville's politics any more enlightened than our own. They seem to have the same self-absorbed beliefs (both the main command officers are concerned with furthering their personal careers and developing special relationships for themselves) and the Union seems to be obsessed with protecting itself.
Set Bookmark
Joseph
Mon, Mar 11, 2019, 1:00am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

Sci-fi and all other fiction is actually useless unless it points out where we (yes, WE) are going wrong and need to do better. If it just points to others (Islam, anti-vaxxers and so on) and condemns them, then what is the point? It is nothing but a smug and self-satisfying comfort blanket while projecting all the world's problems on the other, ensuring nothing will change.
Set Bookmark
Joseph
Mon, Mar 11, 2019, 12:47am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

@Charles J
"This all feels very much like two superpowers who still need to find something deeper and humanitarian that can connect them than mutual survival and existential fear. "

Yes, and it's a bit depressing that fear is seen as the only viable bridge between ideological differences. The Krill's portrayal has now become extremely uneven. I mean, given their reverence for Avis, how likely is it that the destruction of a ship or two by one Kaylon ship would be enough to launch a huge attack to protect a former enemy? There would certainly be some Catholic-like intermediary deciding whether that's the best move, and it would be based on religious and not practical grounds. They've gone from a species whose faith made them interesting and different to just another humanoid race with the same policies and worldview of any 21st century Earth nation.

It seems like the overall picture of the Krill swings between "warmongering" and "zealous", but perhaps the two are identical in Seth's mind. It's the same shallow and unthinkingly biased treatment that we got of astrology in "Birthday Cake". If Seth were so confident in his mind about themes and concepts he disagreed with, there would be no need to constantly portray these cultures as so mean and nasty. There must be at least one writer on the show who understands (as TNG did) that sci-fi doesn't have to be a cheersquad proclaiming the virtues of science and human progress.
Set Bookmark
Sleepytect
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 4:52am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Unforgettable

Some interesting concepts, but a dull episode with little to get the viewer hooked.

The guest star wasn't particularly gripping (she did indeed resemble Kes) and the overall tone seemed very laid-back.

Given the clear advantage conferred by cloaking technology time after time, one wonders why the Federation always refuses to have anything to do with it (use or countermeasures) given their access to it from TOS onwards.

The concept of a 'secretive' race was later explored a little further in 'Riddles' with the Ba'neth going to similar lengths (though in this episode' how a pheromone or computer virus could be relied upon to target ALL biological and technological systems of ALL races with any reliability to 'hide' the aliens is asking a real suspension of disbelief.)

The concept of a 'chaser' targeting runners was more interestingly dealt with in Logans Run, with Michael York similarly playing a gamekeeper-turned-poacher.
Next ►Page 1 of 39
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.