Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,093 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 44
Set Bookmark
EpUk
Sat, Feb 22, 2020, 1:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

I love how when this page was just open to discussion, everyone loved the episode. Then when jammer said he didnt like it, every stopped liking it.

I dont really care about “what’s trek” or not. It can be whatever it needs to be to tell good stories. Picard and Discovery are NOT good stories. They are cynical, generic sci-action cynicism that confuses darkness of tone with weight of narrative. DS9 got dark but had the courage to take a position on it. BSG was dark but allowed the narrative to make a statement about it. Picard just wants to be about MYSTERY because MYSTERY! It thinks its audience is stupid and treats you as such. Because it thinks if they just promise MYSTERY you’ll eat it up. It’s never the mystery that matters because no mystery, once revealed, will ever live up to the promise. Rather than use darkness to justify smoke and mirrors with the promise of a payoff that rarely matters, just tell smart stories that say something about living in dark times, or whatever.
Set Bookmark
Episode 10
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 11:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Opening scene: bright white light. Fade in to JL standing alone, looking around unable to discern anything but the bright white around him. He’s dressed in his Great White Hope outfit.

Q’s voice: And so Jean Luc, this is what happens when you resigned from Starfleet and chose not to pursue your convictions, and went back to your chalet, and left everyone and everything you knew
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 7:24am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: By Any Other Name

-No one likes a predictable story; I therefore salute the death-by-cube-crushing scene. Even today that would be unpredictable, not to mention the late 60's (!).

-Scotty drinking the alien under the table has to be one of the best Trek-moments in history.

-I like the idea of Bones injecting the alien with crystal meth, but it isn't very exciting TV. Perhaps it could've been.

-Flirtatious Kirk makes my skin crawl.

-To those of you who are upset the aliens got away without being punished: do you really think the circumstances permitted that?

II of IV

@Springy - Great comment! =]
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 1:15am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Patterns of Force

I don't know; this is pretty far from everything I associate with good Trek. "A Piece of the Action" at least had a bunch of hilarious moments, whereas this has nothing going for it. The ending felt like a contrived mumble, and seriously what the devil was that speech by the führer?

For some reason, it also bothers me when Kirk and Spock beam down to a simpler culture and end up being captured without any direct means to solve the situation. It just feels so stupid. Like a federation observer who breaks the prime directive so that he can introduce nazism to an alien culture. ...

I/II of IV
Set Bookmark
PleasurePlanet
Thu, Feb 20, 2020, 3:23am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Still feeling gutted by that first scene. Things definitely happen in this episode.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Mon, Feb 17, 2020, 4:05am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Return to Tomorrow

-The risk-speech was a bit over the top in its execution; for a while I was convinced Kirk was still possessed by the alien.

-Immediately when Sargon enters Kirks body, he starts to talk ... like ... Kirk. That was a bit dissapointing, but I understand.

-Once again a missed opportunity to use Uhura. She would've been a perfect host for Thalassa. I understand why though; but what a shame.

-Didn't really buy into the whole android body main plot, but on the other hand, I feel it really wasn't about that.

-Bones gets no credit but he is the true hero of this episode.

III / IV
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Feb 8, 2020, 4:51am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Gamesters of Triskelion

I love the aesthetics and simple premise. Not too found of over-the-top Kirk, and would have loved to see more of Chekov and especially Uhura, who once again were underused. What's the point of building them into the story if they are just going to serve as background? I mean they manage to give Spock and Bones proper roles in every Big 3 episode.

On another note: Anybody else noticed the general BDSM flirtation of the episode? The dungeons, the harness, the whipping, Shahna, Chekov tying up the female Thrall and Uhura getting pseudo-raped? Maybe it's just me, but it felt somewhat blatant.

Anyway, it sure was entertaining.

III / IV
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Feb 8, 2020, 1:10am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: A Piece of the Action

In a time before holo-decks were invented...

I won't lie, this is incredibly silly and to a great extent: downright stupid.

But there's also no denying in that it's absolutely hilarious.

Sawbones, Spocko and the last scene with my favorite quote "Captain. I'm also curious as to how you propose to explain to Starfleet Command that a starship will be sent each year to collect our cut."

III / IV
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Fri, Feb 7, 2020, 8:33am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

Voyager at its most entertaining mood. After the tear jerking "Homestead", this is a most welcome hour of witty, well written and pleasant to the eye entertainment: featuring a balanced exposé of the crew members we have come to love over the years.

If you don't like this I don't get how you could get this far to begin with; you'll have to be a masochist.

This is good ol' VOY shining.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Fri, Feb 7, 2020, 4:53am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

Could very well be the worst VOY episode ever. I just pretend it doesn't exist.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Fri, Feb 7, 2020, 4:30am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Homestead

Voyager isn't as even as the previous Trek series, but what it lacks in uniformity, it makes up for in episodes that reach deep inside, and touch your heart in a most profound way.

This is one of those episodes.

Live long and prosper, Mr Neelix.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Fri, Feb 7, 2020, 3:09am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Natural Law

Way too little substance for the amount of screen time. It was nice and cozy, but served poorly as anything but filler. It's a shame we don't get more when we're so close to the finale.

1,5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
PleasurePlanet
Sun, Feb 2, 2020, 8:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

Yes, the original Chateau Picard burned down. The wood and stucco house seen in TNG’s episode Family is not the same one we now see in Picard. The new Chateau Picard appears to be made of stone.
Set Bookmark
Amtep
Sat, Jan 18, 2020, 8:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Future Tense

I spent most of this episode being angry at how stupid they're being. They've dealt with any number of weird contagions and mysterious gases in their explorations, so they should know to be careful. They even have that whole decontamination chamber.

But when they find a derelict pod, they just take it into Enterprise and open it up. The hull even blocked them from sscaninginside! They have no idea what's in there. Could be a chlorine armosphere or something. Could be that whatever made it go derelict is still lurking inside, too. But no, they just stand around it with no protective gear and open it up.

Then later with the Trip and Malcolm scenes, they're not even wearing gloves. They're just touching everything (including objects covered in strange fluids) with their bare hands. It was icky to watch.

But I guess the writers had told them that this was not a "mysterious disease" episode so they had nothing to worry about.
Set Bookmark
Amtep
Sat, Jan 18, 2020, 8:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Stigma

I had to roll my eyes when Archer was upset that the Vulcans wouldn't cure the disease because of political reasons. Archer did exactly that to an entire species!

But now the shoe is on the other foot. Protagonist-centered morality at its finest.
Set Bookmark
Amtep
Sun, Jan 12, 2020, 11:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

I'm assuming she dealt with Mestral by killing him and incinerating the body. You don't leave loose ends like that on an uncontacted planet.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Jan 11, 2020, 11:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: The 37's

Oh, and Blue alert (!)
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, Jan 9, 2020, 11:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: The 37's

Thank you Carmen, for putting down my thoughts in such and eloquent way.

Rewatched this yesterday and kept wondering why it had qualified to my list. Apparantly it was that end scene.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, Jan 9, 2020, 12:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Repentance

I didn't want to comment on this episode as I find it somewhat mediocre; but instead I would like to comment on the comments, in particular those who support the death penalty.

1. Statistics prove that the death penalty does not deter people from committing violent crimes. This is a fact, nothing to argue about.

2. Innocent people have been, and are continuing to be, executed because of wrongful convictions. Fact.

3. Executions (in the USA at least) often cost more tax money than a life time in prison. Once again, fact, nothing to argue about.

4. How can you execute somebody without committing murder yourself?

5. We as humans decide how much a human life is worth. Why would you decide that a human life is fundamentally disposable? This is deliberately giving your own life less value. How can we as humankind hope to one day reach the stars if we do not first start seeing all life, not the least ourselves, as sacred?

Ultimately it's not political, but rather a philosophical question with some solid facts to boost.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, Jan 9, 2020, 12:07am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Doomsday Machine

By the way, I'm watching TOS for the first time (yeah I know in 2020, sic!) and unfortunately the batch I have only feature the re-mastered versions with CGI. So far I've preferred the original version for every episode (I'm comparing with clips on YT), but "The Doomsday Machine" might very well be the first one which actually looks better with the new graphics. For one, the scale of the ships has been greatly improved.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Wed, Jan 8, 2020, 11:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: I, Mudd

Have to concur with all of you who liked this episode - it was 50 minutes of good entertainment!

The last 15 minutes is handsomely executed by the whole cast. And in general it was nice to see Uhura getting more screen time as well as hearing Chekov delivering yet another outrageous Mother Russia line, "This place is even better than Leningrad!" XD

Mudd is actually a somewhat likeable character thanks to Roger Carmel's pompous portrayal; and even though it was meant to be funny, I couldn't shake the feeling that it indeed was inhuman to leave him on the planet with 500 nagging wife androids. Uncharacteristically cruel punishment by Kirk & co.

II I/II of IV
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Jan 7, 2020, 2:13am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Doomsday Machine

A great one for sure. But where was Uhura? =[
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Jan 7, 2020, 2:03am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

It is, if you misunderstand it.

If you actually read through all my comments on this episode, my arguments are quite clear. However, I regret that there's nothing I can do to keep someone from falsely interpret them into being specifically about, for example, the H-Bomb.

Have a good one, Chrome =]
Set Bookmark
Skeptical
Mon, Jan 6, 2020, 6:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Unnatural Selection

Don't worry Jason, it was only a half-serious callout on my part. But it does seem like the trend recently is that everyone should love Pulaski or at least respect the character (while, of course, the trend back in the day is that everyone should hate Pulaski). The truth is in the middle. She's not an overly atrocious character, but the character is flawed, and with only one season (and a shortened one at that), there just wasn't enough time for those flaws to be smoothed over.

As an aside, I'm not as much of a fan of the Kirk-Spock-Bones dynamic as its legendary status might suggest. There were way too many times that Bones was being contrarian just for contrarian's sake, and it hurt his character. He was fine in serious scenes with Kirk, and he was fine in lighthearted back-and-forths with Spock, but in the serious scenes with Spock he often looked just dumb (I think it was Gamesters of Triskelion where it just got too annoying for me). It hurt his character there too. So trying to ape Bones leaves a double-negative impression for me; one for being unoriginal and one for Bones himself sometimes being a weak character.
Set Bookmark
Skeptical
Mon, Jan 6, 2020, 5:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Unnatural Selection

Sorry Jason and Sen-Sors, but I must disagree. Calling anyone who disagrees with your opinion as sexist isn't fair. There are plenty of other reasons to have a negative opinion on Pulaski and/or a more positive opinion on Crusher.

- It wasn't JUST her antagonism towards Data that put people off; the very first impression of her is disrespecting Picard by ignoring protocol when she came on board the ship. So she starts off antagonistic towards BOTH of the beloved Trek characters. And while the Data bit may just be an attempt at cloning McCoy, the second was just uncalled for. She's a senior professional, she should REALLY know better than to blow off the captain like that. It's not a good look.

- Likewise, there was a bit of "try-hard"ness to the way the writers tried to push her character. There seemed to be a lot of pushing her to extremes on both ends. She's a luddite who hates transporters. But she's also the only person who can save Picard's life! She's antagonistic to Data. But she loves Klingon tea ceremonies! She was never really given a shot to just naturally blend in. You can say she has a strong personality, but it was more like the creators were forcing her to the front every chance they could get. It's like Wesley Part II. A genius kid could have been a good character, and in Seasons 3-5 he is a pretty good character, but the overt Mary-Sueness of his Season 1 basically killed any chance of making him likable. It's not quite the same with Pulaski, but it's still pretty in-your-face. (I think Ezri suffered from a similar situation as well)

- To piggyback on that, she only had one season. It sometimes takes time to settle in and become a natural character. Heck, Season 1 Picard is downright unpleasant, and obviously his character improved tremendously. Yes, some characters can hit the ground running like Ro, but maybe if Pulaski had stayed on she could have mellowed more, and more people would like her. But we'll never know.

- Crusher played a unique role in all of Trek, being the only main character that was also a mother. Trek has been outright hostile to family life at times (practically every main character is at odds with their family), but TNG was, in part, supposed to show that families and Starfleet could co-exist. Having a positive family unit in the main cast is a good idea. Or do you think motherhood isn't an important attribute? NOW who's the sexist one? =)

- And not character-related, but Diane Muldaur's voice is kinda grating. Sorry, but TV is an audio and visual medium, and these things are still important, no matter how much we might like to consider ourselves intelligent critics and say it's irrelevant. How often do people say they could sit and listen to Patrick Stewart read the phone book? Well, this is the opposite of that. And yes, Stewart's voice IS a legitimately positive aspect to Picard's character, so Muldaur's voice can be a negative aspect. And no, this isn't sexist either. I would say Auberjenois' voice did give me a negative impression of Odo as well (a minor one, of course... there are many other problems I had with his character).

So no, it's not fair to just call it sexist. Besides, it's a ridiculous claim to begin with. You do realize that women like watching handsome guys too, right? Are they being sexist if a hot guy is replaced by an ugly one?
Next ►Page 1 of 44
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.