Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,040 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 42
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Nov 17, 2019, 2:36am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Muse

This is the second time in a row now, that we get an episode with barely no Seven; but instead it's all about B'Ellana, and thank God for that!

A beautifully paced story with a wonderful theme and a flawless performance by Roxann Dawson. I really like B'Ellana and unfortunately I feel many of the episodes focusing on her lacks in story and execution. Therefore "Muse" is a real delight.

3-3,5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Nov 16, 2019, 7:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Live Fast and Prosper

Really refreshing with an almost complete abscence of Seven.

Otherwise it was a funny plot with some really good scenes, I especially liked the one with Neelix, Paris and the Doc in the mess hall. Janeway meeting her imposter was also good as well as the cave monks scheme.

The overall execution could have been better, it feels a bit unpolished; but other than that there's not much to complain about. It had a classic Trek feel to it, something I always appreciate.

2,5 strong Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Fri, Nov 15, 2019, 1:31am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Return of the Archons

Far from perfect, with some really dragged out scenes in the middle to fill it up. But as some have already pointed out, it's strength lies in its goofyness.

The end, especially, had me laughing several times.

Mr. Lindstrom reporting from the surface to Kirk.
"How's it going?"
"Couldn't be better. Already this morning we had half a dozen domestic quarrels and two genuine knockdown drag-outs. It may not be paradise but it's certainly human."
"Sounds most promising."

or when the computer has been destroyed and Marplon and the robed servants looks upon it as Kirk leaves.
"Let's go see how the others are doing. Marplon can finish up here."

Yeah, they can thank them later XD Let me tell you, had it been Janeway instead of Kirk people would absolutely LOSE it.

1,5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, Nov 14, 2019, 1:07am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Good Shepherd

@Jo Jo Meastro (Aug, 2013)

Your comment summarize my thoughts exactly.

A nice 3-solid-stars-story.
Set Bookmark
Skeptical
Wed, Nov 13, 2019, 6:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Most Toys

Peter and Chrome, I know the comments have gone round and round on this issue, but I must object. Data's action to fire was NOT about preventing crimes in the long-term future, but about preventing an IMMINENT crime. Fajo told Data to return to his cell or he would kill another crew member. That was an imminent threat (backed up by the fact that he just killed a different one). Submitting under that threat would still be kidnapping, so it's a crime. If Data left, he would be guilty by omission of allowing someone else to die immediately. It's effectively a hostage situation (ie, a current situation), rather than vague threats about the future.

That's why I don't think this was a huge stretch to his ethical programming. It's SOP in a hostage situation that the hostage takers' lives are forfeit if they threaten the hostages and if the hostage takers can be killed without harming the hostages. That's the clearest analogy to Data's situation. He should have had no problem, relatively speaking, in killing Fajo. In fact, he should have even less qualms than a human, who might intellectually understand that it's the proper course of action in a crisis situation but might balk at the emotional side.
Set Bookmark
Skeptical
Wed, Nov 13, 2019, 6:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Hunters

Proteus, just because I am not a strong author does not mean I should blindly accept all stories from anyone who is marginally better at it than me. Yes, the Voyager writers are better than I am at making good stories. But so are thousands of others. So why can't I be picky?

I don't have the time or energy to go through all characters, but let's just look at Kim for a moment. And for the record, I'm not a nitpicky, hate everything type of person. I did think the Seven/Kim "romantic" subplot was a pretty good idea. I don't mind that he is the straight man, as it were. But there are still severe problems with his character.

Star Trek has a long-standing tradition of having two technobabble characters. The "royal smart one" (as SFDebris puts it) is in charge of providing exposition on the weird stuff they encounter and coming up with the solution to it (Spock, Data, Dax), while the engineer is in charge of saying what's wrong with the ship and how to fix it (Scotty, LaForge, O'Brien). Torres is obviously the engineer here. But that makes Kim, the other technobabble character, the Royal Smart One. Except Spock is a superintelligent Vulcan, Data is a superintelligent android, and Dax has a dozen lifetimes of experience. Kim is fresh out of college. There's nothing wrong with being fresh out of college, but you put those people in entry-level jobs, not Chief Science Officer. Chekov had a vague bridge job that made sense as entry-level. Wesley just had to punch coordinates into SpaceGoogle Maps, which works as entry-level. Nog's role was also nebulous, so still entry-level. But Kim is given the job of Ops (nebulous, but we know that superintelligent android Data had the job before) and is seen as a Senior Staff, despite being entry-level.

This gives his character a sense of unbelievability. Sure, presumably the real ops officer died in Caretaker and Kim had to fill in, but we never got a sense of his character within that. He never felt like a n00b in his job, even though he really is. Even worse, because he is not believable as a Royal Smart One, he didn't really get that job either. If anything, Janeway (who had a background in science, and thus is believable as Royal Smart One) had that role in the first half of the show. And obviously Seven (with Borg experiences, believable as Royal Smart One) got the job after that.

Which means, well, what's the point of Kim? It's one thing to say he's the straight man, but this isn't a buddy show or a comedy. It's very much a procedural show similar to cop shows or whatever (obviously more variety though). And in procedural shows, each person has a specific role to perform. But now there's three technobabble characters, and Kim's the least believable, least valuable of the bunch. What, exactly, does he do here? He never grabbed the niche of Royal Smart One because he's not believable at it, and he never grabbed the niche of being the kid (at least in the "work" part of the show, he obviously grabbed it in the "character" part of the show) since he was given such a prestigious position. It made his character superfluous. That's why many people think he should have been the one to go during Scorpion. Seven is believable both as the Royal Smart One and as the kid, and you also would still have Kes as the kid as well. It would have made for smoother storytelling overall rather than trying to justify Kim's presence.

Or, in summary, Kim's procedural role (Royal Smart One) is at fundamental odds with his character role (the newbie), which makes him an unrealistic character. I mean, sure, there was Wesley, but they had to shill him up as a Mozart-esque genius just to get us to barely tolerate him. Kim doesn't even have that.

Next, about him being the straight man compared to the weird character traits. Yes, that's fine. You can have a character like that. But the problem is, that's not his only character trait. The other one was being the kid as I alluded to previously. And the problem was the writers were inconsistent with how well they had him grow out of being the kid. Because let's face it, being the kid is MEANT to be a transitory character trait over time. Personally, I think they (and Wang) did do a better job on this than a lot of people think, but it still was inconsistent.

In NCIS, the character of McGee was brought on to the show as a second straight man (other than being nerdy, he was basically competent, serious, decent, and "normal") in the 2nd season. He also acted as the newbie. So y'know, Kim. Except the newbieness was shrinking dramatically by Season 4 and essentially gone by Season 6. As he gained experience, he stopped being a newbie! He became more confident, more self assured, less gullible. Again, Kim did grow a little bit, but there were many times where he would snap back and be just the kid again. He never truly grew.

Also, even if Kim is the straight man, it doesn't mean the straight man can't be interesting. You described him as being the boy scout. But you know who fits that role even better? Jean-Luc Picard. He is essentially the Roddenberry Ideal made flesh. He is the ultimate straight man. And he was a billion times more interesting than Kim ever was. Sure, the odds were stacked in his favor by being captain rather than a utility man, but still... Picard made TNG what it was. Patrick Stewart made Picard who he was. Maybe it's not fair to compare Wang to Stewart, but the reality is that Kim faded into the background while Picard burst into the foreground (and considering when TNG started they were hyping up Riker as the big deal, the ascendance of Picard in TNG was not a foregone conclusion).

And regarding the promotion bit, well, I agree that it SHOULDN'T matter on a ship that has no real opportunities for advancement. The problem is that the show did seem to think it mattered. Tuvok got promoted. Paris got demoted and repromoted. And yet Kim was the perpetual ensign, DESPITE running a critical department. It made no sense.

OK, I know I said I wasn't doing everyone, but Chakotay's reaction was perfect? So, 10 minutes after finding out that his friends and colleagues all died a brutal death, he... inquires as to the availability of Janeway's pants? That's perfect??? No grief at all?
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Wed, Nov 13, 2019, 5:59am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Court Martial

Beautifully written and played out from the beginning to the end. If not 4, than definitively 3,5 Stars.

PS. That giant wrench in the end was hilarious.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Nov 12, 2019, 5:53am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Child's Play

Uncompelling for the most part, but manages to turn up the heat in the last 10 minutes. Though, I have to say that the Borg kids don't do anything for me, and I'm getting really tired of the over exposure 7of9 is getting.

As is the case with most of the episodes in the second half of season 6, they won't be included on my VOY re-watch list.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Mon, Nov 11, 2019, 4:25am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Tsunkatse

I understand that when this was filmed the times were different, but I really think the story would've benefited if Seven had finished the Hirogen off at the end. Not only would it be visually cool, but her guilt would be way more convincing and harder hitting (no pun intended) for the audience. Also, too bad we didn't get to see Tuvok fight.

3 solid stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Nov 10, 2019, 11:32am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Virtuoso

Oh come on everybody! Janeway obviously knew he wouldn't go through it in the end. Her reaction in their last scene clearly shows it.

If one doesn't take this one too seriously it's quite enjoyable - and this is coming from someone who isn't very big on the Doc.

Ryan and McNeill are great, Dawson and Mulgrew magnificent.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Nov 10, 2019, 6:02am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Fair Haven

In "Counterpoint" (S5), they pulled off a Janeway romance with flying colors, much thanks to great attraction and a superb main story. In "11:59" (S5) the chemistry was non existent and because the story was otherwise lacking, it kind of bombed.

In "Fair Haven" the affection is at least half way there, but because there's nothing else of substance it still falls flat on an overall scale of things. There's not much of a main plot, no b-plot and it's not even remotely believable that the whole Voyager crew is going gaga over Paris mega lame rendition of early 20th century Ireland.

With that said, it's still a treat to see Kate Mulgrew shining in every scene; among other things showing the audience a girly side of the Captain, not seen often before and done to perfection.

So it's worth 2 stars or maybe 2,5 at most, but I'd probably still include it on my re-watch list - simply due to my Janeway bias.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Nov 9, 2019, 1:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Pathfinder

Even though I like Troi she didn't really had any purpose in the story, as for Barclay I liked him more in TNG, he just seemed a bit over the top in this one. The touch with Maquis uniforms and Barclays hero fantasy on board Voyager was indeed entertaining. And it felt like the ending managed to give a well needed boost to the over arching Voyager story.

There are many better episodes though.

2,5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Skeptical
Wed, Oct 30, 2019, 3:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Man of the People

I don't care about how JFK will be remembered, but I do take issue with Rebecca's claim that this episode deserves to be praised just because it brought up an important issue or whatever. I've said it before, but if all you're looking for in fiction is to present issues important to you, I'd be happy to prostitute myself out to whatever position you want and write a book for you. Of course, my skills in writing fiction approach zero, so these would be terrible books, but hey, who cares? "Sure, it has its problems, but it tackles a much more interesting human problem than the usual “attacked by aliens” or “warp core breach” plot. " So 3 stars for my crappy fiction!

I mean, take Jackie for instance (as an aside, I find it humorous that Rebecca didn't choose the more recent Hillary Clinton as an example, since it's MUCH more obvious she's power-obsessed and thus doesn't really fit as a "victim"). She COULD have exposed JFK's infidelities and filed for divorce, but didn't. Oh, Rebecca might say, there was societal pressure and blah blah blah, fine, whatever. But the 24th century DOESN'T have that pressure (especially since Betazed is generally presented as at least slightly matriarchal). Troi is SUPPOSED to be a strong, independent woman. So doesn't analogizing her to other people ruin her character? Besides, this isn't even a marriage, Troi knew this guy for, like, a week; how much societal pressure can build up in that time frame?

That's the sort of reason why most of us call this a bad episode regardless of how important the message is. There's only 3 options here:

1) Troi was too weak or cowed to defend herself against Alkar's assault. This would fit the analogy Rebecca wants, but goes against her character that's been built up for 6 years. So it's inconsistent writing of character, which is a flaw in the story.

2) Troi was unable to comprehend what happened to her. This is rather incredulous, since you think you would notice aging 20 years in a day. And she is clearly in a strong enough mental state to perform her therapist duties, even if her persona has changed. Since it strains credibility that she can function semi-normally without noticing the rapid aging, this is poor plotting, ie, a flaw in the story.

3) Troi was physically powerless to stop Alkar's assault. Again, this is somewhat incredulous given her ability to do other stuff, but let's say that Alkar was basically controlling her mind. This does not gel with what we are told, meaning it too is inconsistent and a flaw in the story. But just as importantly, JFK was NOT controlling Jackie's mind, so even if this is the case then the episode fails as an analogy. As I said previously, I have no love for JFK or Clinton, and thus might be predisposed to accepting a story critical of them, but even I think mental slavery is a bridge too far in comparing their sins. So if the intent is to draw attention to real-world issues, then this becomes a flawed analogy, and thus also a flaw in the story.

Regardless of what happened, the story as presented was flawed! Hence why most of us criticize it. Heck, I agree with Rebecca that watching Troi dress down Janeway was a "highlight" of the show. But that was meant to show something was WRONG with Troi. And yet for people like me, it came off as Troi becoming a BETTER character, meaning it didn't do it's job. So it TOO was flawed!

And that's not even touching the magic de-aging at the end, which is extremely lazy. I mean, yes, character or plotting flaws are more important flaws than technobabble flaws, and you have to be willing to take stuff with a huge grain of salt in the Trek world, but they didn't even TRY to paper over how absurd that is!

Given the very real flaws of the story as presented, what good is it if it raises issues?
Set Bookmark
Skeptical
Fri, Oct 25, 2019, 5:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

A quick and perhaps not well thought out counterpoint, Peter:

Perhaps it is actually S1 Tasha that is what her true nature should be, someone who can be prone to emotional moments (not as bad as S1 portrayed since S1 was terrible, character-wise, all around). I could see the cold, serious, "heavily on her guard" nature from YE as simply being a continuation of her life from the failed colony instead. In YE, she moved from one war zone to another. Thus, her cold demeanor is simply her being in survival mode, and she never grew out of it.

One could even argue that, combining S1 emotional Tasha to YE cold Tasha, we have an argument that the Trek utopia had a positive impact on her. In S1, she is no longer cold and weary, but rather can relax and act naturally due to her new and improved environment. Perhaps she is able to still take her skills learned on her planet and use them for security (ignoring how incompetent Starfleet security is in general...) but without the crippling fear of home can do it without repressing herself.

Enh, or it's just bad writing in S1... Hard to say what Tasha's true character would have been based off how bad it was. Remember, Picard was a grumpy old man throughout the entire season!
Set Bookmark
Skeptical
Fri, Oct 25, 2019, 5:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Sons and Daughters

I think it's even simpler than that. Not that I've done an exhaustive sampling or anything, but I think the general trend in fiction is that men have strife with their fathers and women have strife with their mothers. Men in conflict with mothers is much more rare, and women in conflict with fathers occurs, but usually with more serious conflict (ie, abandonment or physical abuse rather than "emotionally distant" or something like that). I won't try to explain why that's the case, but it does seem prevalent from my perspective. And since there's more male Star Trek characters, that means more daddy issues rather than mommy issues.

(Of course, my above assumption only works with adults and their parents. Kids can be in conflict with either parent pretty regularly I think).

In fact, this is almost universally the trend in Star Trek. Ignoring Enterprise and Discovery since I don't watch those, here are all the main characters with family problems:

Spock - Dad
Picard - Dad
Riker - Dad
Troi - Mom
Worf - Son
Quark - Mom (the exception!)
Bashir - Both for the same reason (although I think Dad was more?)
Odo - "Dad" (The scientist who studied him)
Ezri - Mom (although in fairness, her brother also had a problem with Mom, but would it still be with Mom if he was the main character?)
Paris - Dad
Torres - Both for different reasons (probably moreso Mom than Dad)

So other than Quark and the two characters that had problems with both parents, the pattern seems clear to me. Also, for being a utopia, family life seems pretty terrible in the future...
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Mon, Oct 21, 2019, 2:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Barge of the Dead

Seems a lot of people are having trouble accepting that there are things in the universe that can't be scanned with a tricorder.

Supreme episode, 4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Oct 19, 2019, 4:39am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Equinox, Part II

There's always two ways of looking at things; from the light of a star, or from the shadows of a deep valley. Both are equally legit, but for your own sake, why not chose a perspective that lends a joyful nature?

The comments are many here, which have a negative ring, especially regarding Janeway. This quote from James (Oct, 2016) for example:

"But - even with her sonic showers and replicators intact - all it takes is a couple of hours and a flimsy desire for 'revenge' for Janeway to lose the plot?"

A similar comment about Captain Sisko in "From the Uniform" is yet to be found, even though the storys are fundamentally identical. Not in million years would the other captains be described as having a "flimsy desire for 'revenge'". We all know why.

As there are so many comments of similar character, I can only come to the conclusion that most people seem to expect Janeway and VOY to be something that they aren't.

But it is what it is, and when it all comes down to it, the characters are supposed to be human beings. In Equinox Janeway experiences serious exasperation, this is something we all do, especially in tense, demanding situations. And even if one is expected to behave in a certain way, things sometimes fold out in an unpredictable fashion.

Now there lies the strength in Mulgrew's portrayal of Captain Janeway. She is a competent Captain, loyal to Starfleet, beloved by her crew. Certainly very powerful but not without a playful side and a sense of humor.

And at the same time, underneath that duty mask she is a lonely, vulnerable woman; never afraid to sacrifice herself for the greater good just as she isn't afraid to do what she thinks has to be done, be it of a very controversial nature or not.

There is great beauty in the balance of Janeways many nuances; if one would only refrain from readymade expectations, its there for everybody to behold.

Just my 2 cents.
Love & Light
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Oct 13, 2019, 4:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Equinox, Part II

The first part was pretty good, the second part, however, is magnificent.

Mostly thanks to Mulgrew, who is absolutely ravishing as dark Janeway. The interplay between her and Chakotay also added an interesting dynamic to the duo (although I can't for the life me understand why anyone would disobey Janeway).

Also, Savage does an excellent job as Equinox's Captain. I thoroughly enjoyed the Doctor without the ethical subroutine as well, reminded me of the great movie "The Dentist".

4 Stars, thanks to the Janeway factor.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Fri, Oct 11, 2019, 3:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Warhead

I have to admit I'm somewhat perplexed over the negative opinions that many seem to have about "Warhead".

I thought it was an interesting story, beautifully filmed and with strong performances by all - except Picardo. He was too similar to the Doctor, should've switched it up a bit more. I loved the sounds the warhead made to communicate btw.

3 very solid stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Oct 8, 2019, 2:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: 11:59

If Henry Janeway would only have been played by a more suitable actor this would've been a total slam dunk. With that said, this is a super cozy VOY episode and a welcome breath of fresh air (just like the previous episode).

After half a dozen more or less forgettable episodes in the middle of season 5, I'm really glad things are shaping up just as we are nearing the end.

Things I liked about 11:59:
-Mulgrew once again giving a grandiose performance. She really is the pillar of Voyager.
-"Ferengi talk about Wall Street as if it were Holy Ground."
-That out of focus "Fish Tales" pinball machine in the background at the pub.
-Harry Kim's family story.
-Neelix theorizing about 7of9.5
-The NYE feeling.

Things I didn't like:
-Neelix and Paris battle of useless earth trivia.
-Paris being a human encyclopedia of Mars projects from the 1970's 'til current Star date. (really? wtf)

3 Solid stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Mon, Oct 7, 2019, 10:04am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Juggernaut

I really like B'Elanna. Too bad the story is just an extremely lame version of Alien.

1 Star.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Oct 5, 2019, 12:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: The Fight

I liked it. So shoot me.

It was quite enjoyable to see Beltran flipping out again and again, a fresh take on the ordinary, often sleepy Chakotay. A big plus for the evil Doctor =]

3 Stars.
Set Bookmark
bleepbloop
Thu, Oct 3, 2019, 9:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

remember fellas. Always get your Significant Others permission before you link with someone on the side. Or at least be smart enough to keep it on the DL
Set Bookmark
Skeptical
Thu, Oct 3, 2019, 5:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Second Season Recap

Peter, I'd actually disagree that S2 of Voyager was one of being out of ideas, or just doing a show for the sake of doing a show (S3 of Voyager, on the other hand, I think definitely fits that pattern). For what it's worth, I think they were trying to be bold or to use the conceit of the show for new ideas, but the problem was usually in the execution.

They did try their hand at a season-long arc with the Kazon and the mysterious traitor. It may not have been a good showing (the traitor part in particular felt completely awful to me), but they were experimenting there.

As William said, Meld does fit with the unique concept of being away from any other support from the Federation. Other episodes that work with the Voyager conceit include Resolutions, Alliances, 37s, the Samantha part of Elogium, and (sigh...) Threshold. And after mentioning the last one, needless to say they weren't all winners...

The writers did try some bold ideas I think, including Tuvix, Deadlock, and, ugh, again... Threshold. It wasn't just uniform blandness and making episodes via checklist, they were trying to come up with something to say! Or at least the premise of some of them seemed that way.

The writers did seem to go for one last push at setting up the characters according to the bible they were given. Chakotay got one strong push with the Indian nonsense in Tattoo. Paris being a flirt and a rogue gets brought up with his spat with Neelix. They tried to make the Ocampa more interesting than just a little pixie girl with Cold Fire. They pushed Kim's youthfulness and homesickness front and center with Non Sequitur. Of course, the main theme of all of these is that they ALL failed. And seemed to be part of why characterization essentially stalled for most people on the show afterward, since everything they started with ended up crashing and burning so spectacularly. But they were still trying here.

Essentially, I'd say S2's fault is a lack of execution, not a lack of attempt. This seemed to lead to an aimless S3 before the show got retooled into Star Trek: Seven of Nine (guest starring Janeway and the Doctor).
Set Bookmark
Skeptical
Thu, Oct 3, 2019, 4:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Enemy

Springy, I definitely agree that it was an excellent choice to have Worf stay firm. From what I understand, one of Roddenberry's rules for the show was that there would be no internal conflict among the crew, which if kept would have made for a very boring series. I know Piller tried to keep things within the Roddenberry box, but it works so much better when you flat out break it at times that it makes sense, and Worf sticking with his Klingon side in this case is one of them.

I think I'm just happy whenever an alien actually acts like an alien rather than a human with one exaggerated characteristic and some silly putty on their forehead. What's the point of a space opera if everyone acts all the same?

I was actually thinking of this situation a few days ago randomly. I know the writers probably didn't put more thought into it than "Worf hates Romulans, so he refuses to help them." But I was wondering if a plausible case could be made that it is more than that.

I've been becoming very receptive to the idea that one alien aspect of Klingons is that they are more in-tune with their animalistic bodies and instincts than we are. When we think of who we are, our self, we usually think of our minds, our personalities. But to Klingons, their Klingon-ness is a key part of who they are. I think this is most clear in Birthright [Spoilers Alert!]. The Klingon kids were curious about Klingon traditions and cultures, yes, but that wasn't what made them rebel. It was simply that one kid going on a hunt. Not honor. Not war. Not anything we normally associate with being Klingon. But an instinctual, physical, animalesque endeavor. It gave him a purely biological high, something he had never experienced before. And it made him feel more alive than he had ever felt before, awakening his sense of self to the point that he couldn't go back to the half-life he was living without his animal side. It was a purely physical response; no culture needed.

Or consider K'Ehleyr, who has absolutely zero respect for Klingon culture or civilization. And yet, IIRC, she got just as involved in Worf's calisthenics program as Worf did. Became just as in-tune with her animal side. Whereas when Riker went through it, he clearly wasn't feeling it like that. To hunt, to be hunted, it's a part of Klingon life at a more basic, fundamental level than even honor or glory. That is the trapping civilization uses to codify and redirect the Klingon's animalistic, adrenaline-seeking ways. But it is biologically ingrained into them.

(Even B'Elanna, when she started suffering from depression, self-medicated by seeking an adrenaline high).

OK, so I'm pretty convinced of that, that a pure instinctual response is part of Klingon biology and way of living. And admittedly, this next part may be a stretch. If they feel that their bodies are more important to who they are than we humans do, perhaps they also think of their precious bodily fluids as being a greater part of themselves than we do?

I'm not saying intellectually they don't understand how the body works, but simply that the body (at least while alive) is more sacred to them than it is to us, for lack of a better word. We use blood as a symbol or metaphor for life, of course, but perhaps they take it deeper?

In Sins of the Father [More Spoiler! Weird writing that when it's 30 years old...], Kurn taunts Worf by saying that his blood has been thinned, and is not true Klingon blood. It's the clearest evidence of my hypothesis here, using blood as a symbol for Worf's personality, his life. Worf's physical blood is equivalent to who he is. If he is no longer Klingon, then his blood is diluted.

I know, I know, we use the heart as a metaphor for emotional state, and have no problems with understanding that it is just a metaphor. I'm sure they understand that too, intellectually. But if their instincts and animalistic ways and adrenaline are a key part of their personhood, then they may see that being pumped through their veins as a key part as well.

(Also, I know this is about a ribosome transplant and not a blood transfusion, but the idea of a ribosome transplant is stupid so we're going with the obvious analogy).

Meanwhile, we also know that Klingon culture is very ritualistic in many respects. We've seen some of the rituals. Let's look at two important ones [La-dee-da, Spoilers Away! I hope someone who reads this hasn't actually seen the rest of TNG and thus justifies these warnings....] 1) in Redemption, Gowron returns Worf's honor by letting Worf grasp his knife, spilling his blood, and 2) When Worf and K'Ehleyr were about to take the oath on the holodeck, Worf pushed her fingernails into her own palm, spilling her blood.

See, two intense rituals, one dealing with honor and the other dealing with love, both involve the willing donation of blood. Showing your physical blood to the tribe or to your mate, showing your true personality. The blood is a part of who they are.

Basically, what I'm saying is that if you or I go down to the Red Cross and drop off a pint of blood, we don't think of it. It was our blood, now its out there, and who cares that it's going inside some random person we'll never meet? But for a Klingon, who sees themselves inside their blood, the sharing of precious bodily fluids or ribosomes is an intensely sacred and personal act. Even outside the body, it is still theirs. Their being is still present in the blood.

Thus, demanding that one's blood (or ribosomes) be placed inside a stranger could be considered a deep violation of Worf's body and personhood, and even worse if it is given to an enemy. If so, it would be no suprise that Worf refused to see the human side of the issue, even if he 100% understood it. One cannot choose to violate oneself in such a way.

Again, I know this wasn't the intent. But I'd like to think that there was a deeper meaning here than just "look at the stupid racist security chief who can't get over daddy dying, what a loser!"
Next ►Page 1 of 42
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.