Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 984 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 40
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Jul 13, 2019, 8:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

I'm with Ben E on this one.

Time jump stories seldom impresses me more than they plain annoy me. This one is no exception. There's no satisfying explanation as to why Kes experience her whole life backwards and there's really nothing in the story that is interesting except for the Krenim race. And to top it all off it ends with an excruciatingly crinchy "Carpe Diem!" message, which misses the point of the expression completely - I mean did she really abruptly ditch a party in her honor just to write a report? How lame, not to mention rude.

Usually I agree or at least understand why some episodes are popular, but regarding 'Before and After' I'm left clueless. Trek junk.

0,5 Star.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, Jul 11, 2019, 3:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Rise

@Wouter Verhelst

Right on.

Anyway, pretty solid episode; almost worthy of a re-watch sometime down the line. No guarantees though =]
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, Jul 11, 2019, 3:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Favorite Son

I found this episode to be quite entertaining actually. No barn burner by any means, but definitively not the worst.

2,5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Jun 18, 2019, 11:40am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Macrocosm

@Silenus: Right on!

My thoughts:

I'm a huge fan of 90's b-action movies, especially if it takes place in a sci-fi setting. Some of them I actually consider to be personal film favorites of all time (Project Shadowchaser, Trancers, Dark Side of the Moon to name a couple).

Naturally, there also exist a bunch of them which quite frankly stink, and when I watch "Macrocosm" I see the exact same elements which cause those movies to suck: repetitive environments, boring enemies, lame action scenes ... all this in a cliché deluxe package, including techno-babble and Neelix.

I'm tempted to bust out the zero, but alas, how could I give anything, which features Janeway in a tank top blasting alien scum, anything less than 1 star?
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Mon, Jun 17, 2019, 4:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Coda

This does what many VOY episodes have done so far: it forces you to watch a painfully mediocre story, with scenes bordering on snoozefest, for the first 2/3 or 3/4 of the episode.

Then it surprises you with a top notch if not brilliant last 10-15 minutes, often thanks to a clever twist and/or intriguing element in combination with Janeway kickin' ass.

Still, there are many episodes better than this one, which I would probably skip if I would ever do a rewatch (God forbid!).

1,5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, Jun 13, 2019, 1:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: False Profits

The 0,5 star is for:

"Expand or die." (Rule 95)

"When the messenger comes to appropriate your profits, kill the messenger." (Rule 257)

Plus the unofficial stuff which, if nothing else, were wholly entertaining.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, Jun 13, 2019, 1:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Warlord

Standing in the shadow of Lien's splendor, it's easy to forget the rest. But let us also remember that Mulgrew is on point with her Bad-ass Janeway in this one. The story reminded me of an Elizabethan revenge tragedy.

3 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Jun 8, 2019, 4:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Sacred Ground

@David H (Tue, Jun 4, 2019)
Agreed.

Very clever writing. Overall the portrayal could've been more entertaining, but I really like how the story wraps it up; ending in a most eloquent and stimulating way. On the contrary to most comments I believe, with exception of Neelix's presence, it was anything but meaningless, especially for Janeway.

A solid 3 star rating.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Jun 2, 2019, 11:45am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: False Profits

I love Janeway.
I love the Ferenghi (thanks to DS9).
I hate this episode.

0,5 Star.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Jun 2, 2019, 6:43am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

Dimitris Kiminas and Dirk Hartmann nailed everything that bugged me about this movie.

All in all, a Star Trek movie for people who don't watch Star Trek.

0,5 Star.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Jun 2, 2019, 6:35am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: First Contact

I never liked episodes that features distorted timelines et.al., as they mostly use the element of time to create whatever scenario they want without having to bother with explanations. Therefore one can imagine my great disappointment when it in the beginning of First Contact turns out that the Borg has time travel technology.

"just before it explodes, the Borg cube launches a smaller sphere which creates a "temporal matrix" that allows it to travel back to the latter half of 21st century"

Come again? Time travel technology which they for some reason only use as a last resort to get away from Enterprise AND at the same time to assimilate Earth one day before humanity makes first contact with the Vulcans.

This plot alone is not very intelligent, but it's the best we get in this mess; because the rest is basically the rest of the crew trying to convince this alcoholic dimwit that they have to fly his ship as planned(?). The scenery is nice, but why the film makers decided to depict Cochrane and Co. as some hillbillies in a Mad Max-style commune - which a part from the first space ship that can transcend light speed only houses a giant juke box and some bar stools - is beyond me.

Meanwhile, Picard spends an eternity on a Borg infected Enterprise, going from the identical room to the next, either executing assimilated crewmen or tinkering with some circuits.

The Borg queen starts out as an interesting villain, but rather quickly descends to something all too human. The interaction with her and Data is at first quite intriguing, but after a while it seems pointless. It doesn't seem plausible that Data can be converted to a human; and I fail to see the ultimate purpose behind it.

As a long time fan of the series it's heartbreaking to see one of the most enigmatic and iconic villains in sci-fi history be portrayed as something which not correspond with earlier characterizations. Being able to destroy the Borg cube so easily, the Borg queens human like persona and their (new found) ability to travel in time are all things that frankly disrespects what the series established.

It sure looks good, especially the animations in space and the interior of the Enterprise. They also really made an extraordinary effort with the make-up and costumes. The music and sound effects are also of high quality.

However, it's neither convincing, captivating nor, in the end, very entertaining.

1,5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Jun 1, 2019, 3:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Insurrection

Definitively the best of the TNG films. The pace and delivery of the story was excellent. The bad guys were great in that they started out as an ally, but slowly evolved to end up as these deranged freaks (I love it when a stream of blood pours down from a crack in Ru'afos forehead). However, in classic Star Trek fashion, one of them however, returns to his parents, thus adding nuance to a palette which is very back and white in the other (TNG) movies.

As many have pointed out, it feels like an good old episode. Personally, I welcome this, seeing as the best episodes of Trek are among the best entertainment the world has seen.

3 solid stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, May 23, 2019, 12:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Squire of Gothos

Very enjoyable, mostly because of Campbell's extremely solid acting.

3 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, May 21, 2019, 2:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Galileo Seven

Brian S. nailed what was going through my mind most of the episode.

Solid one, but nothing that will stick in my mind for particularly long, I bet.

2,5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Wed, May 15, 2019, 11:56am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

Since they already knew that fear was an issue, they should've at least considered sending Tuvok to the clown.

Apart from that, this episode absolutely blew me away. Twisted and unique; it had me on the edge of my seat the whole time.

I tip my hat.

4 Stars
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, May 14, 2019, 2:30am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Deadlock

@Sketchy
Thank you for that comprehensive list of technobabble terms. The Viidian take over was by far the highlight of this episode, but it only lasted for about 10 minutes. The rest was almost painfully boring - then again, I've never been a fan of the time shift/dimensional/parallell universe ep's.

1,5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Mon, May 6, 2019, 4:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Investigations

Sloppy writing aside, this episode turned out to be quite entertaining. Neelix managed not to be irritating, Seska shined and the Doctor nearly stole the show! I also loved Janeway's impeccable delivery of the line "Fire at will" at the end. Unfortunately Paris still annoys me, and I would have liked to see Tuvok and Chakotay not being utterly useless. Jonas was a big waste of a character.

2,5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, May 2, 2019, 3:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Dreadnought

We get the same basic plot in DS9's "Civil Defense", only this time it isn't nearly as interesting.

2 Stars, but only barely.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, May 2, 2019, 12:02am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Meld

There's something about dark and bad ass trek stories that always gets to me.

4 Stars. Easy.

PS. "I love the fact that Tuvok has a "Kill Neelix" hologram program, though I suspect it's part of the ship's general library for any crew member to use."
Great comment XD
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Wed, May 1, 2019, 1:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

4 things that were quite enjoyable in this episode.

-"I don't know how I'm going to enter this into the log."
"I look forward to reading it."

"Can you wake him? "
" Of course. WAKE UP, LIEUTENANT! "

"Here lies Thomas Eugene Paris, beloved mutant... Beloved radioactive mutant. "

"... Neelix's coffee."
" It's a wonder he's survived. "
Set Bookmark
Joseph B
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 7:52am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Thought it was a great episode to end the Season with!
There were lots of callbacks to previous eps and was very exciting to boot!
The VFX and the music were all sensational.

I know the whole “time travel” thing inevitably ends with a “reset” but it was fun seeing it play out!

This is an easy 3.5/4 for me!
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 12:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Prototype

Excellent episode. Sure, some dialog where somewhat lame/lazy, but the story was captivating and well directed. Stop nit picking', h8rs.

3 solid stars.
Set Bookmark
Skeptical
Wed, Apr 24, 2019, 5:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: To the Death

Of course, if Starfleet isn't military, that opens up a whole new can of worms. It means the Federation has authorized a non-military group to carry around weapons of mass destruction and use them as it sees fit. It means the Federation has authorized a non-military group to kill people in territories beyond the Federation's control whenever they deem it necessary with no clear Rules of Engagement. It means the Federation has authorized a non-military group to engage in military endeavors, including attacking the military of other sovereign peoples during times of war. It means the Federation has authorized non-military personnel such as Jean-Luc Picard to risk the lives of up to 1000 people at a time to take actions with virtually no oversight. It means the Federation has authorized non-military people to incarcerate other non-military people if the other non-military people refuse to listen to some of the non-military people.

Really, is that a better outcome than a world where Starfleet is also a military organization but performs other duties as well? I mean, seriously, do people really think the US military does nothing but kill people? They have other duties, including humanitarian missions. So why the downright aversion to the use of that term? And would you really want a non-military organization to have as much power and control as Starfleet?
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 10:37am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Resistance

A stellar story. Out of all the captains in the previous series I like Janeway the most, in this episode she is at her best. Very moving.

4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Apr 20, 2019, 2:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tattoo

Consider, if you will, that at the time this episode aired, the idea of ancient aliens wasn't as prevalent in pop culture as it is today.

Those who have actually looked into the myths of indigenous (american) cultures know that the they feature the basic story of this episode i.e. people coming down from the skies and interacting with them.

The fact that they mention the mainstream understanding of life as evolving from one single organism as a "pretty much proven fact", gives the story way more weight than just a simple analogy for imperialism as many here seem to view it.

Ingredients like symbology and destiny, not to mention the extremely entertaining b-story, makes this one a stellar episode and the first VOY that gets 4 stars from me.
Next ►Page 1 of 40
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.