Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,174 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 47
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 7:46am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

I re-watched this yesterday. Sorry to say, but I have to lower my previous 2,5 Stars to a meager 1,5.

Here's why: I've mentioned many times before that I have a problem with time-travel episodes, because they are cheap storytelling tricks to concoct whatever plots you like without any regard to what has already been established. They never make any sense and work differently in every episode.

So, they all become convinced that if the stranded crew doesn't re-do the accident, the colony will cease to exist; why? They did exist simultaneously for 200 years without any problem, why can't they continue to do so? And with the same logic, if they didn't manage to escape wouldn't they just reboot the whole time sequence, still causing everybody to disappear, effectively creating a time loop? Or are they supposed to build a parallel, duplicate colony to the one that already exists?

The story is extremely poorly thought out if you scrutinize it even the slightest. Which is almost always the case with these type of scenarios. Of course there is something called suspend of disbelief, but that only works if the rest of the story contains elements of very high quality. In Star Trek IV they get a free pass, in Voyagers finale as well, in the Visitor etc,. But here ... The characters you love and respect only come off as stupid.

The main thing they manage to do is to deepen the relationship between Odo and Kira; however I fail to see how they couldn't have done it any other way. The only thing this episode has going for it is Bashirs banter with O'Brien, which is stellar enough to put it just above the 1 Star mark.
Set Bookmark
Stephanie
Mon, Dec 28, 2020, 4:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Child's Play

What I wonder is can't they just decide to have all the actors be consistent with how they pronounce "futile?" It was always Few-Tile, but then Seven started off with Few-Till, which sounded so "un Borg". And now other actors/voices have bounced back and forth. JUST PICK ONE!
Set Bookmark
Stephanie
Mon, Dec 28, 2020, 12:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Collective

I found it weird to the point of distraction that with only 5 young guest star Borg, the identical twins had ZERO lines. They couldn't give them a few lines? Their total silence stuck out like a sore thumb. Also if Seven was assimilated at 6 yrs old, and she was in a maturation chamber for 5 years....so she exited at age 11? Does that sound right?
Set Bookmark
Stephanie Holm
Sun, Dec 27, 2020, 8:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Virtuoso

Jammer is right....the acting job by the woman who played Tincoo was excruciatingly bad to the point of distraction. This was a strangely goofy episode. I did love the duet with his miniature self.
Set Bookmark
stephanie holm
Wed, Dec 23, 2020, 10:24am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Think Tank

Die-hard Seinfeld fan here. Could NOT separate George Costanza from Kurros. Just couldn't. Totally my own fault but Kurros was like George at his most Kurros-ish (brimming with arrogance and self-confidence), like when he first made all that money in the stock market. Just maybe a bit more sedate. Coming so close on the heels of when Seinfeld ended, it would have been good if his face was disguised by alien bumps a little more.
Set Bookmark
Mr Peepers
Tue, Nov 24, 2020, 7:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: In Theory

Jenna was a basket case and train wreck from the opening credits. And she is definitely fatal.

Not sure why, but she seems like a Linda Hamilton clone to me, but she is no Sarah Conner's. Way to clingy with Data. I can't believe he didn't get a Bad Syntax error when trying to communicate or rationalizing with her. Perhaps it is her acting that is subpar, but I knew exactly how this episode was going to end. She was so predictable.

This has always been one of the worst TNG episodes when rating them.
Set Bookmark
JosephB
Thu, Nov 12, 2020, 10:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Die Trying

@Bucktown:

You wrote:
“Ultimately, Star Trek is at its simplest core a workplace drama of elite professionals putting aside differences to solve science-based mysteries or social/cultural/ethical problems that pop up each week. That's it.”

Minus “The Burn”/Universal Music Theme/Emperor references, YOU JUST DESCRIBED THIS WEEK’s EPISODE!! I think that’s why it 100% felt like “Star Trek” to me! Good Job!!
Set Bookmark
JosephB
Thu, Nov 12, 2020, 8:12am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Die Trying

I’ll make this short and sweet:

THAT WAS STAR TREK!!!!!

*****/*****
Set Bookmark
JosephB
Fri, Oct 30, 2020, 8:10am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: People of Earth

OK you “Negative Nellies” , I just wanted to chime in here to state that this life-long Star Trek fan really enjoyed this episode. One thing that has been missing from Discovery’s first two seasons was true human pathos — something TOS had in spades. It’s hard to do without edging over into “schmalz” territory; and this ep, unfortunately, started out with the schmalz. But as the story progressed I saw some true human pathos along with some decent humor. Combine that with a real “Star Trek” plot; fantastic, movie-quality SFX; and a decent twist ending and I was a happy camper.
Gimme’ more like this, please! ***1/2
Set Bookmark
Joseph S.
Mon, Oct 26, 2020, 9:33am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Tsunkatse

One actor in this episode will go on to have a prolific and successful Hollywood career. (Hint: It's not a regular cast member.)
Set Bookmark
Joseph S.
Thu, Oct 22, 2020, 6:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

Fair enough, I liked Star Trek 2009 better than The Big Lebowski too.
Set Bookmark
Joseph S.
Thu, Oct 22, 2020, 5:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

Kurtzman only has writing credit for one episode of Discovery, so this argument is pretttttty dumb. But okay, “Star Trek” (2009) was written by Kurtzman and was critically acclaimed with an aggregate 94% approval rating on Rotten Tomatoes. Take a look at the critical ratings of other Trek movies:

Star Trek: The Motion Picture - 41% approval.
Star Trek: Generations - 50% approval.

Few Trek movies have aggregate approval close to Kurtzman’s - “The Wrath of Khan” with an 88% and “Star Trek: First Contact” with a 92%.

TLDR: Yeah, well, that’s just, like your opinion, man.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Fri, Oct 16, 2020, 3:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

Gotta hand it to part 2 of this double feature. I definitively enjoyed the 1st part, which was essential as a build up. But except for a couple of great scenes which hadn't much with the main plot to do, namely the one with Sisko's father refusing a blood test (amazing and highly relevant scene), there were very little fireworks. In part 2 it kinda continues for a while, throwing the watcher in a couple of directions before finally rolling it all out in a very satisfying, quite spectacular way.

Through the use of the Defiant it even managed to feature the whole DS9 cast, albeit in a somewhat limited manner. It wasn't real clear why the Defiant had to get to Earth, but it didn't really bother me. The showdown against USS Lakota was tense and engaging, serving as an effective story element.

It definitively is a challenge to sell the Federation as the bad guys without having them infiltrated (thus them not being the actual Federation). In this case they do a great job in convincing us that paranoia and fear has gotten to the better of at least some of them - as it surely has happened in Earth's history a number of times already.

The Changelings are there. 27 people are dead. And through clever writing you keep on waiting for them to show up; but they don't, or they almost do - as when Sisko was set up - until one of them finally manifests and tells us that they don't have to do anything, that he (Colm Meany was brilliant as fake O'Brien btw) and three colleagues are basically standing by, watching, as we slowly smoke ourselves. I for one found it quite cogent. Cogent and entertaining.

All in all I give 'Homestead' 3 Stars and 'Paradise Lost' 4 Stars. I feel somewhat generous but I just like the slow burn theme of this double whammy.
Set Bookmark
Louis-Joseph Tremblay
Wed, Oct 7, 2020, 2:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Court Martial

@Chris Arturo, I had no idea that he was from Montréal, to me everything about him just shouts “Toronto” and that’s only because I knew that he’s Canadian.

Anyhow, on it’s own this is an alright episode but I really enjoy it in context, particularly in light of Data and the Doctor. For me, as a biology graduate and someone interested in philosophy, the idea that a robot of any sort is life, let alone a sentient person is profoundly unsatisfactory, they are well designed copies — my sister in law is allergic is shellfish and so when I had them over for dinner the other day used surimi, imitation crab. I think that if I hadn’t prepared it and didn’t t know the truth I would think that it was real, does that mean that surimi *is* crab?
Set Bookmark
catoblepas
Tue, Oct 6, 2020, 10:18am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Final Mission

Well, at least Dirgo was slightly more capable while he was still using the name Alan on Space:1999, Martin Landau's sidekick in my 1970s childhood second favorite (after TOS of course) Sci-Fi show ... To imagine I saw this episode so often without realizing this!
Set Bookmark
Mr Peepers
Tue, Sep 22, 2020, 8:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Family

Just watched this again today.

Jammer was wrong. Worf's father used to be a warp specialist on the previous generation of Starships. He had the schematics for the newer class because his son served on the newest class ship.

My nitpick is that Chief Petty Officer O'Brien is enlisted, but he wears Lt. Pips on his collar. Sergey even commented that he also was an enlisted Chief Petty Officer, and was proud that Worf was commissioned and a higher rank then he was.

I love the episode, but Picard's brother needed a beat down. Knowing how he was, I would never go back and visit him.
Set Bookmark
Mr Peepers
Thu, Sep 10, 2020, 1:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Measure of a Man

It was a crime for Riker to turn off Data, claiming he is just a machine. There would be huge ramifications in that if he did not have a nonvolatile memory. Just like clubbing a man, once you turn him off, you can't turn him back on.

My first computer was a Commodore 64. After powering it on, you could load a program into it and use it for meaningful work. But if you shutoff its power, any data or program it had is lost. Once you power it back on, it is a totally new machine with no residue evidence of what it formally was. The same could occur after Data is disassembled. Once put back together, it may not be the same Data you had before. It would have to relearn everything it formally was. Just like a person can not be reincarnated, or cloned. In either case, you end up with something totally different even if it was possible.
Set Bookmark
Mr Peepers
Mon, Sep 7, 2020, 5:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Skin of Evil

Not a favorite episode for me. I did just watch the last part today. Picard ordered the downed shuttle craft destroyed which was next to the creature. Was this just a rated G way to cover up that they killed this monster? It looked like a photon torpedo which would destroy everything in a many kilometers radius.
Set Bookmark
JosephB
Sat, Sep 5, 2020, 1:54am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

@ Bobba Fett — I’m sure Jammer will have his review of “Rise of Skywalker” up prior to the next Star Wars movie. 🤨
Set Bookmark
Mr Peepers
Fri, Sep 4, 2020, 8:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: The Chase

The only thing I learned from this episode, was that Cardassian's knew about making biscuits.

I liked this episode until I discovered it used the same climax as the movie, Mission to Mars. The martians also seeded the galaxy with their spawn.
Set Bookmark
Mr Peepers
Fri, Sep 4, 2020, 7:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Aquiel

I knew the future was going to be bleak after watching Demolition Man, in 2036. In that one, Huxley introduced Rambo to putting on a helmet, give him a towel, then proceeded to have mind sex. A few centuries later, Geordi gets mind fracked instead of doing the Hunka Chunka, you know, Fluid Transfer.

Did this guy ever get a woman, even in the feature films? At least he got out his jollies with Leia on the Holodecjk. You know, one fro each day of the week? He never actually denied it. The only other female Geordi became insubordinate with his commanding officers was when he believed his mommy was trapped on a planet.

Aquiel, was not one of my favorites episodes. It centered on one of the most uninteresting crew members on the ship, Geordi. As long as he is solving a problem by using Tachyon pulses, he is ok. Not with affairs of the heart.
Set Bookmark
Mr Peepers
Fri, Sep 4, 2020, 7:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: When the Bough Breaks

Just watched this again today. My main question is. . . Exactly how were these six prepubescent children and Wes, going to repopulate the planet??????? The people seemed so desperate, so were they going to wait 12 to 20 years for them to get old enough to mate with each other? Were the adults going do it with them? And unless they turned the three little girls into baby factories once they become of age, the few children they would naturally have wouldn't increase their population in the least. Even Crusher told them the children would just become infertile themselves.

Some of the planets people were in their 70's, while others were in their 30's and 40's. How were the younger ones born? And if the issue was radiation from the Sun, but they all seemed to stay inside because of their sensitivity to light, how were they still infertile?

At least the episode, Up the Long Ladder, was far more plausible with their dilemma of not being able to have children. Send in the Clones!!!
Set Bookmark
Mr Peepers
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 5:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Datalore

Biggest pet peeve I've had with Trek, starting with TOS is this. Why does the Captain allow any Joe Blow or alien full access to the ships computer archives? In Space Seed, Kirk gave Khan access to the ships schematics, which he used to take over the ship. Likewise, Picard gives Lore the same level access which he also uses to to his advantage in knowing when the Entity can destroy the ship. There were other aliens who did the same. "Captain, do you mind if I look into your computer to gain a tactical advantage over you"? Sure, go for it.

Of course other aliens who know nothing about the ship, knows how to reprogram the ISO chips to shut down or block systems. I'm guessing all the info is on the internet.

And Lore has been taken apart and reassembled so many times, you would think his screws were worn out. How about vaporizing him once and for all? Well they did transport him into space, but somehow he came back to to come after the Enterprise again, even though they were a few hundred light years from where they last dissembled him. An exploration ship that seems to backtrack to areas they explored before.
Set Bookmark
Mr Peepers
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 4:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: 11001001

I liked the episode except for one HUGE flaw.

Both Riker and Picard were so fascinated the Minuet was so real, and that the Holodeck is a millions times more improved than before, except it was exactly the same. They go on and on how she reacts to them, her knowledge of things, etc, except the Holodeck already does that. It was the same a few episodes before, and all the episodes afterwards. Then you see Riker is so disappointed at the end when he goes back to hookup with Minuet without 3rd wheel Picard around, then she seems more like a two dimensional cardboard cutout who doesn't even seem to be able to speak. Again, Holodeck characters a few episodes before, and all the ones in future episodes are all fully fleshed out 3D characters that the crew interacts with just like with real life humans.

My believeabilty factor went way down rather than get immersed in the show.

Also, I have no idea why Wesley was even in this episode. He just babysat the Binars and kept asking pointless questions while they were trying to plot to steal the ship.
Set Bookmark
Mr Peepers
Wed, Sep 2, 2020, 12:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Where No One Has Gone Before

This is the first of many times when Tasha talks about the rape gangs she grew up with. Pretty sure everyone has gotten tired of her bringing it up every few episodes. To hear her tell it, she ducked and dodged them for many years and had never gotten caught.

This first season only had a few good episodes, and this wasn't one of them. It seems that every crew member has an advanced doctorate in astrophysics. No way our current astronauts could figure out how to get out of the space jams this crew gets entangled in on a weekly basis.

The Traveler tells Picard to encourage Wesley to develop to his potential, but in later episodes, this isn't the case. He is merely tolerated but reminded to act right, or he is off the bridge.
Next ►Page 1 of 47
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.