Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 27 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
E. Kristjansson
Sat, Feb 2, 2019, 10:26am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

I watched this episode, then looked up your review. I fully expected you to thoroughly bash it, possibly even giving it a rare "zero stars" rating.

But, no... You actually gave this piece of shit 2 1/2 stars.

My trust in you, is fading.
Set Bookmark
Ben E.
Fri, Jan 26, 2018, 5:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Someone to Watch Over Me

Some of this episode fell off into the land of corniness, but everything involving the ambassador was absolutely hilarious. The duet was cringy, but otherwise the dating lessons felt natural. Definitely up there for me. Relatable and melancholy ending.
Set Bookmark
Ben E.
Fri, Jan 26, 2018, 12:38am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

Biggest problem with this episode: The copies can't breathe oxygen (see Demon). You'd think doc woulda noticed that.
Set Bookmark
Ben E.
Wed, Dec 20, 2017, 5:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

I thought this was wildly goofy, and part two seriously lost focus, but it was all around extremely fun and seeing Paris and Chakotay in the army tent was hilarious and awesome. Generally a creative premise and in my eyes and entertaining two parter. Good Trekian fun.
Set Bookmark
Ben e.
Sat, Dec 2, 2017, 6:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Sacred Ground

I have to give this a 0. The entire story felt contrived and none of the characters seemed true to themselves. Kes is not so stupid that she'd run into a sacred shrine. I thought they were going with a psychic thing where she could hear the spirits, but that's never explored and so it just flows like one random event following another for a frustrating 45 minutes. This is the first episode of the show I've had trouble sitting through. If it all is explainable by science in the end then the monks scolding her ends up being meaningless.
Set Bookmark
Walter E. Gough
Mon, Jan 23, 2017, 9:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Relics

Worth noting, when this episode first aired, it seemed (pardon the expression) light years beyond the original Star Trek. Everything about the "new" Enterprise was bigger, better, more plush (wood trim on the bridge horseshoe) than the old formica-laden ship. But that old 1701 was the Enterprise we'd all fallen in love with, without which there would have been no 1701-D.

So that moment when Scotty (Scotty!) recreates the old bridge which we'd not seen in a new contex for about two decades was pretty special, at least to me.

Scotty and PIcard talking shop on the Constitution-class Enterprise. Loved it then. Still love it now.
Set Bookmark
Walter E. Gough
Sun, Jan 15, 2017, 2:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Devil's Due

Trouble with this episode is that the writers cheated their way out. Ardra -- considering her long criminal record -- has some pretty incredible technology at command... better even than that of the Federation.

So what starts out as a "now, how did she do that?", gets a neaty, tidy ending with nobody questioning how she came by technology that allows her to cloak her ship and the Enterprise and to materialize and disappear people and things in the blink of an eye.

In any other context, who IS she and HOW did she get all this stuff could have made a good tale all by itself, maybe even better than the one we got.
Set Bookmark
Walter E. Gough
Mon, Dec 19, 2016, 8:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Best of Both Worlds, Part II

Solid solid solid.

Unsung: The closing scene of Picard, alone in his ready room, his headwounds bandaged, turning to peer out his window at the Earth below [fade].

Really beautifully done.
Set Bookmark
Walter E. Gough
Sun, Dec 18, 2016, 8:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Best of Both Worlds, Part I

Five stars?
Set Bookmark
Walter E. Gough
Sun, Dec 18, 2016, 8:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Transfigurations

I may have missed this episode in its initial airing, or simply forgotten about it, but having watched it last night I'm struck by its overt religious message.

Star Trek, historically, has avoided direct message shows and dealt with issues via anology or allegory. There was talk of the son of god near the end of Bread & Circuses, but overall the franchise has been overwhelmingly about science and only sometimes -- and then only impliedly -- about faith.

Here we have an episode, first aired in June 1990 according to the Memory Alpha wiki (so it wasn't a Christmas show), titled Transfigurations, a direct reference to an event described in the gospels of Matthew, Mark and Luke.

I found its vaguely proselytizing message strange, and -- with all due respect to DutchStudent82 above -- for somebody like me who seeks answers from science, not faith, a disconcerting departure from what I expect from Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
Walter E. Gough
Thu, Dec 15, 2016, 9:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Allegiance

A good idea gone awry. This episode held up until its authors needed to find a way out of their created conundrum.

First there was the Picard trivia trick to identify the fake hostage and then, once safely back on the Enterprise bridge, the FORCE FIELD to immobilze the bad guys while Picard delivered his sermon on involuntary confiment.

But... but... Since when is there a security force field on the bridge?

I can't recall ever having seen it before or since (though there was a security phaser mounted on the bridge in the TAS episode Beyond the Farthest Star).

So was this a single-episode plot contrivance, like the otherwise useless rods stuck in the engineering panel for beating up genetically engineered 20th century supermen in Space Seed?
Set Bookmark
Walter E. Gough
Mon, Dec 5, 2016, 9:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

Meh too.

Interesting concept, but somehow this episode is less than the sum of its parts.

Daynar's ultimate escape from the ship seems to take forever and somehow, on a starship with more than 1,000 people, there's just Worf and two security men available to hunt this guy? How is that possible?

Also, at the risk of being rude, at what point does somebody just hit Daynar with a phaser set to heavy stunn or simply kill him?

Overall, the episode seems needlessly drawn out for its preordained conclusion.
Set Bookmark
Walter E. Gough
Tue, Nov 29, 2016, 9:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Vengeance Factor

The Gatherers looked like an out-of-work 80s metal band. Kept waiting for them to break out the guitars and amps.
Set Bookmark
Walter E. Gough
Tue, Oct 18, 2016, 9:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Icarus Factor

What really makes this episode difficult to watch is Wesley the Wonderboy. Sorry Wil Wheaton, I know you're not responsible for the script writing. I have no quarrel with you. Its just that his naivety comes off as grating more than it does as sincere.

Diana Muldaur's Dr. Pulaski was a fine character. She had grit and depth that it never felt like the writers were willing to impart to Gates McFadden's Dr. Crusher,

I join the commenters above in observing that the Rikers quarrel went away just a little too easily to be believable, while Will Riker's sudden decision to turn down the Ares seems woefully unexplained. Oh well, there's always the Melbourne.

Oh, wait...
Set Bookmark
Walter E. Gough
Wed, Sep 28, 2016, 8:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

Star Trek Umpteen: Been There, Done That

ST:NEM isn't really a bad story, as far as stories go. Arguably it was a better story than its goes-nowhere, does-nothing predecessor, the overly technobabble-filled pseudo-Insurrection (in which the most lasting consequence was Troi and Riker hooking up).

Unfortunately, they made Insurrection first, which pretty much doomed Nemesis.

What else doomed Nemesis? The resurrection of plot devices trotted out elsewhere:

* Data's bad sibling;
* Riker's "Kirk kicks Kluge in the face" finish to his fight with the Viceroy;
* The "Stop the Bad Guy and His Death Ray in the Nick of Time" finish we'd just seen in the prior film; and
* Kill off the beloved character, sort of.

Pity. Nemesis held some promise. The awesome opening Roman Senate scene; the desert chase; the intriguing Picard clone concept ("the triumph of the echo over the voice"); the Remans, the Scimitar, the vicious space battle.

This was a more entertaining movie than Insurrection but also showed the franchise running out of new ideas.

One wonders what would have happened if they'd skipped the bloated TV episode that was Insurrection and gone directly from First Contact to Nemesis. My bet is that would have left room for a better finale, perhaps one that could have woven together some of the contemporaneous characters from DS9 and VOY.

Now that could have been a heck of a send-off.
Set Bookmark
cant.believe.only.1.other.noticed.flaw
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 3:26am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Warlord

@Alex
yup. I noticed. was complete kakamany (or however it is spelled). completely bogus writing. they fudged up the whole synaptic simulator thing by their own description and directions.

@MartinB
Alex is right, you're wrong. I even rewound my DVR to double check myself. the doctor said the "doodad" would work based on the implant's tech to force the warlord out. it was discussed that KES would have the transfer implant most likely and that they would use it against her. they were counting on her having a transfer implant. only way the "doodad" (synaptic simulator) works on the dude at the end is if he had an implant setup as a pre-plan that the warlord would escape to him which was never mentioned.

as it was never mentioned, counts as a huge plot hole in my book for a series that tech is a huge part of.
Set Bookmark
Walter E. Gough
Sat, Sep 24, 2016, 11:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek III: The Search For Spock

While predictable in outcome (might as well have called it Star Trek III: Spoiler Alert), the Search for Spock may be the most underrated movie in the canon.

The story is tight and taught. The action is purposeful. There's no meandering, no digression. It is a tale that proceeds from start to fore-ordained finish.

Perhaps the reason I really like this movie is it departs from what has, unfortunately, become a Star Trek movie formula that continues right through Beyond, the James Bond-like "stop the bad guy with his death ray," tale that must end in a climactic fight to save some or all of humanity.

We saw this template used in ST:TMP (Stop V-ger from killing everyone on Earth); WOK (The Genesis Wave. "Scotty, I need warp speed in three minutes or we're all dead."); The Voyage Home (Stop an alien probe from killing everone on Earth); less so but still the Final Frontier ("what does god need with a starship?); Generations (Stop Soran's trilithium missile, save Veridian III); First Contact (Stop the Borg from assimilating Earth in the past); Insurrection (Stop the Son'a from killing the Baku); Nemesis (stop Shinzon from killing everyone on Earth); ST re-boot: (Stop Nero from killing everyone on Earth) and in Beyond (Stop Krall from killing everyone on Starbase Yorktown).

So that leaves arguably three ST movies, of which this is one (the others being The Undiscovered Country and Into Darkenss) where the story takes us someplace else, to some different kind of conflict and a different kind of resolution.

At the same time, Search for Spock is more intimate, more personal, certainly more anguished in tone and story and really really hardcore. This is a sequel for folks who really bought into the franchise, bought into the Wrath of Khan storyline and bought into Spock's death and Kirk's encounter with his son. This film, in that sense, cannot exist without its predecessor.

If you haven't seen the Wrath of Khan, you don't want to watch this.

In that light, it's too bad we never got to explore the Saavik/David understory related in the WOK novelizaiton, never got to pick up the thread of Saavik helping young Spock through Pon Farr (and perhaps dropping out of Star Fleet to raise their child). Also, for as well as William Shatner portrayed Kirk's stunned reaction to David's death, one could make the argument it was a bit underplayed, with nary a nod to the explanation he's going to owe Carol Marcus.

All in all though, a tight, taught story, well told, even if we all knew how it was going to end.
Set Bookmark
I'm Brian! And so is my wife...
Fri, Jul 29, 2016, 6:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

...oh yeah, a couple more things. I too enjoyed seeing Spock taking the picture of the original cast out of Spock-prime's memento box that he had been given. Nice touch, I thought. And, shortly thereafter, seeing the Enterprise-A quickly being built, followed by the "Space, the final frontier..." speech for the close. (And it did occur to me: Star Trek III Search for Spock saw the destruction of the original Enterprise; couldn't help but notice that this third installment of the Abrams/Lin Star Trek also saw her destruction).
Set Bookmark
I'm Brian! And so is my wife...
Fri, Jul 29, 2016, 5:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

Very interesting. Seems many here agree that this was probably the best of the three Abrams/Lin ST movies. Well, I just watched it with the kids this afternoon at the matinee. I have to say, I am in complete agreement. Definitely better than ST 2009 and Into Darkness, especially the latter. It was much better than I had anticipated. The pace felt different (it slowed down when it needed to I think), and it seemed to have better character development (well, at least with Spock, Bones, and to a lesser extend Kirk). Definitely had a different feel for me. I agree with Jammer, though, that it might've been nice to have the revelation that Krall was Captain Edison a lot sooner. Krall just wasn't that interesting a villain UNTIL that revelation, which, as Jammer notes, came too late in the movie.

Overall, I would've given it 3 out of 4 stars, compared to 2/4 for STID and 2.5/4 for ST 2009.

Thanks for the review Jammer!
Set Bookmark
Rob E.
Tue, Jul 26, 2016, 10:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Most Toys

Just half-watched/half-listened to THE MOST TOYS on TV after 25 years.

Listen to Saul Rubinek - his phrasing, his inflections of speech. Watch his gestures.

It's Shatner.

Saul Rubinek is channelling William Shatner in his performance.

Interesting......
Set Bookmark
Take my Warf please.
Mon, Jul 11, 2016, 8:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

At the end she literally talks smack to each member of the community. "You'd just be a repair man without me! and you'd be in JAIL!".

How could she possibly know where they'd actually end up in 10 years?
Then everyone just takes it on the chin, like "ah yeah, she's right. We'd better stay."

What the fffff
Set Bookmark
Use Google.
Mon, Apr 18, 2016, 10:24am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The First Duty

"I think I read where they changed "Locarno" to "Paris" so as not to pay royalties."

To who? All series are owned by the same company. Do you mean to a specific writer? That's not how IP works. Whoever told you that is fuzzy on what "royalties" means.

<

Actually, you could have just used Google and found out that the original writer would have had to be paid for EVERY episode that "Nick" appeared in. Use Google before commenting.
Set Bookmark
E.
Fri, Feb 26, 2016, 10:24am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

I think my problem with the Sisko racism lines was that it was very uncharacteristic of Humans in this time period. I think that it could've been broached more tactfully by the writers (with respect to how future humans have always been portrayed), where instead of a controversial self-identification by Sisko with, "our people," it could've been made more general without losing any content. At this point, all humans are just human. I doubt that Bashir and O'Brien think of Sisko as a black man, or each other as an Irish man and an Arab/British man, rather than just human men. I definitely think that it was a point that needed to be said, but a 24th century human drawing specific racial lines within 24th century humanity was completely out of character for a Trek show, and shattered my suspension of disbelief. Star Trek is one of those shows that I can watch and everyone is just who they are, separated from any racial or gender baggage that a show set in a more contemporary time period would package with their characters. Trek is a show where you can forget that race is still an issue, where you never think of the human characters as anything other than human (as opposed to the African comm officer, the Japanese science officer, the Scottish engineer, etc.) That's what rubbed me the wrong way about the whole thing. Sisko and Cassidy became black for that scene, a racial adjective that has never applied to 24th century humans sitting in the 24th century, instead of being humans free from any racial identifiers.
Set Bookmark
Tom E.
Fri, Jun 14, 2013, 9:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Assignment: Earth

Actually, orbiting nuclear platforms were indeed a concern of the mid-1960s. Check out the beginning of the space sequence of "2001: A Space Odyssey" (released Summer 1968) - it looks like everyone has militarized space!
Set Bookmark
David E. Miller
Thu, May 2, 2013, 2:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

Just read the novelization of this film. In the book, Veridian III is a jungle planet, and the breech in the force field is through a hole created by tree roots. Also, Kirk is simply killed by Soran's hand weapon (a "disrupteur" is what the French translation called it). I liked the use of an actual bridge on the planet as the death device (one thinks immediately of a starship bridge, and the fact that the movie is a bridge between generations). But it's true that the Nexus makes no sense whatsoever. I've been to Valley of Fire many times, but unless I took movie photos with me, I wouldn't be able to know exactly where the death scene was shot. The park personnel is a bit more helpful now than back in the day, but....
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.