Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 12 (Showing 1-12)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Dylan H.
Wed, Dec 26, 2018, 2:50am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Meld

I agree completely with the commenters saying that Tim Russ was underused - he had a solid grasp of his character from the beginning, and this episode demonstrates the depths and nuances that could be drawn out with intelligent writing. The smaller touches Russ committed to his performance really stand out as well - like how his hands were twitching and restless in the scene with Janeway immediately after the mindmeld, which provides a foundation of uncertainty to his suggestion of an execution. It isn't explicitly clear if that is something that Tuvok would ordinarily have believed appropriate, if it is an illogical gut reaction that he would have otherwise reasoned against, or if it's a residue of the violent thoughts Tuvok accepted from Suder during the meld.
I also feel like Janeway taking a step forward when Tuvok warned her to not come any closer was very appropriate and in character - at her core, I think she had a Kirk-like arrogance and volatility, and her impulse was always to respond negatively against threats.
There are lots of other smaller additions to this episode which stayed in my mind after watching it a couple of times, like the way the Doctor casually walks through the forcefield, or (as that other Voyager review blog pointed out) the artful direction where Tuvok sees the body (which is obscured), and a bar of line shines across his eyes. Lots of small technological details are emphasised: the type of spanner used by Suder to club Darwin, the interaction of holograms and forcefields, the manner in which Tuvok hacks through the force field with an electrical conduit (very in-character for a security officer), the cortical monitor that he sensitively detaches and deconstructs, etc.
Set Bookmark
Dylan
Tue, Aug 28, 2018, 12:46am (UTC -6)
Re: Frequently Asked Questions

It's interesting to me that most people seem to prefer either Bab5 or DS9. Personally I put them on about the same level (two of the best sci-fi shows ever made) but I'm always fascinated by the reasons people give why they prefer one over the other. With DS9 it's usually related to production quality - better effects, acting, more professionally done, and more consistent across the whole series. While with Bab5 it's the intricately woven arcs, the vision of humanity's future, the emotional highs and lows, the way it takes you on a journey along with the characters. I think both points of view are accurate. You can't deny DS9 is the superior production, but to me Bab5 is like someone you've been married to for decades - you know they have many flaws and you love them all the same. Hell, you love them FOR their flaws. No one's going to convince you that your husband or wife is unloveable just because they have a wart on their nose or they leave the toilet seat up. That's why I genuinely don't see Claudia Christian's acting as "downright awful" - she's very much part of the show's charm and totally inhabits Ivanova. If they proposed to redo the show with a "better actor" I would tell them, as Capt. Sheridan would say - "go to hell!".
Set Bookmark
Dylan
Wed, Dec 20, 2017, 8:16am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

When you read these comments do you feel more like Rey Skywalker or Kylo Vader is writing these posts?

The view from the top of the mountain is the same, although how you enjoy the journey is up to you.

This movie was fascinating. Many moments to ponder. Also the comments made me appreciate the SW movies richness even more.

The journey of a jedi and terran is an arduous one although with a band of friends who appreciate the way every day is filled with light of many suns.

May the force be with you!
Set Bookmark
Dylan S
Sun, Nov 5, 2017, 2:05am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Into the Fold

Where is Elliot (the famous blogger from DS9 Jammer's Review)?
Set Bookmark
Bluedylan
Fri, Dec 30, 2016, 2:50am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

Just a quick comment to say that Greg's earlier comments are the biggest load of misogynist rubbish I've had the misfortune of reading in quite some time. Spectacularly ignorant of almost every level.

'How to deal with women'....haha.

Incredible stuff.
Set Bookmark
Bluedylan
Fri, Dec 23, 2016, 9:51am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Hatchery

Excellent episode, poor review (again).
Set Bookmark
Bluedylan
Thu, Dec 22, 2016, 2:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Doctor's Orders

Another excellent bottle episode. A well executed concept, superbly acted by Billinglsey and Blalock.

As usual, the main review and the majority of comments are (in my view) deeply misguided and betraying pre-existing biases and prejudices.

This is infinitely superior to lots of TOS, TNG and Voyager episodes.
Set Bookmark
Bluedylan
Tue, Dec 20, 2016, 4:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Impulse

Agree entirely with Petrus.

These reviews are becoming so biased, and I'd even say agenda driven, that they are becoming largely unreadable. The show hasn't been given a fair chance by Jammer from the off in my view, and by now he sounds like somebody operating entirely on confirmation bias.

Excellent parts of the show (of which there are many) are mentioned briefly or ignored altogether, and minor issues or flaws are blown out of all proportion.

Without wishing to be too harsh or personal, I've lost all interest in reading the reviews because I can see the biases a mile away. I predominantly come here to glance at the comments for each episode now.
Set Bookmark
Bluedylan
Tue, Dec 20, 2016, 3:09am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Rajiin

These reviews are far too negative and biased. Enterprise is a much better show than you're giving it credit for, and Season 3 is one of Star Trek's very best of any incarnation.

Many of the things you criticise Enterprise for are on display in the precious TOS and TNG in much greater quantities.

It's pure snobbery.
Set Bookmark
Dylan
Wed, Aug 26, 2015, 5:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

Good lord, I came here after talking to a friend about the worst Trek episodes and looking what this one was called. We were *both* dead sure that this was a Season One episode. I mean, come on!!!
Set Bookmark
Dylan
Wed, Jan 28, 2015, 1:14am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Home Soil

Reading between the lines-- fascinating to see Enterprise crew respect the alien life form so much they shut down the entire Terraforming operation--once they realize it is life--just a different from themselves-- ugly "bags of mostly water"

What about the "alien" life on earth? Different than us? Would we treat it differently if we arrived from another planet to terraform ancient Earth? hmmmm

Lately because of the influence of my buddhist wife I have myself had a chance to study another form of life (ants) that crawl all over our house. In the past with a brush of my hand I could wipe out a few of them with ease. Yet now I find it very hard since when you look closely they are intelligent life beings (small, they don't make much noise) yet they are alive. So a few days before this episode I made a vow no more conscious killing of these lifeforms. I still squash mosquitos as they are attacking me.

When I saw this episode it reminded me even though life often cannot communicate with us...imagine what it would tell us if it could? For me this is the beauty of Star Trek--the human culture must make way for other life forms to live along us especially the smaller less fragile ones. If someday we encounter giant evolved ants on other planets...we will be forgiven.. will we?

PS. Reminds me of Spock's mind meld of Horta and the miners eventually ending up living side by side with the Horta and benefiting from the partnership.
Set Bookmark
Dylan
Tue, Jan 27, 2015, 1:57am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: When the Bough Breaks

Enjoyed this episode and also your take on it.

One line that stood out for me was Aldea leader and Riker in the negotiation
Riker says "We sympathize with your situation. But what you ask is not possible."
Aldean Leader says "And that your final answer" and Riker says "Its our only answer"
Picard of course knows that is not true and continues the negotiation stalling for time.

The computer has taken over the planet and what they think is their savior (computer tech) is killing them. Kinda similar to our planet? Hmmm...
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.