Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 438 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 18
Set Bookmark
Andrew E
Fri, May 28, 2021, 1:11am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Mark of Gideon

The idea of a government trying to control a population through introducing an untried vaccination during COVID 19, was found to be bogus and unsubstantiated by the Reuters Fact Check Team.
Set Bookmark
Andrew E
Fri, May 28, 2021, 1:10am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Mark of Gideon

The idea of a government trying to control a population though introducing an untried vaccination during COVID 19, was found to be bogus and unsubstantiated by the Reuters Fact Check Team.
Set Bookmark
Drew
Tue, Mar 9, 2021, 7:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Concerning Flight

Also, my least favorite lines at this point:

"Evasive Maneuvers" *Insert Greek Letter here* Omega, Alpha, Beta, Delta pattern etc. They always say they are evading, but it never actually seems to work at all. -.-

100% of the time, immediately after saying they are taking evasive maneuvers the enemy weapons fire strikes them anyway, resulting in the camera shaking impact. Flashes of light from the various consoles, immediately ruined Janeway Hair, and on occasion a random dead side character with no name.

"Command Override Janeway Pi one one zero" Really Biotch? You haven't changed your damned password in 3 years?! The password dozens of people and even some aliens have -heard you use-? No wonder the security protocols are always being locked/overridden. -.-
Set Bookmark
Drew
Tue, Mar 9, 2021, 7:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Concerning Flight

Nothing like Covid to get a guy to watch old science fiction shows. I can see by the review and the comments that this episode is somewhat unpopular. The story seems uninspired, and I was 100% fine with the Da Vinci hologram when it was on the holodeck where it belonged, but giving him his own planet-side adventure just seemed weak to me. "It's America!". Ha. Right. In the 1500s [Da Vinci died in 1519] it took 6 weeks to cross the atlantic [if the ship made it at all]. Here we have arguable a genius inventor believing he was "knocked out, and spirited away on a ship to america". Really buddy? You think you slept through a 6 week journey?

Aside from that, my biggest issue with this episode, is the inherent lack of concern that the crew feels about leaving behind most of the star fleet technology. In earlier seasons, when the crew was interacting with the Kazon, they wouldn't let a single scrap of their technology be left behind or used. Even as they have traded with other races of aliens since then, they trade things that are not starfleet technology but rather are consumable resources like...minerals, or plasma, etc. I believed in the fundamental understanding that they refused to leave starfleet alpha quadrent tech behind as they traveled. So I feel somewhat betrayed by the writers who so flippantly left it behind in this episode. Chakotay even let the guy they beamed aboard with the stolen tech TAKE IT BACK WITH HIM! Like really Chakotay? I have seen you make bone-headed decisions, but this one takes the cake. Perhaps they should have left you back on that planet to "fight the nemesis" after all. You couldn't compensate him for his loss in some other way than letting him walk out the door with starfleet tech?

Finally, while I understand that Voyager couldn't engage the planet or ships in combat freely while they were missing their computer processor, but once they had it back and were fully operational, I really wanted to see them take back ALL of their stolen technology, and punish the Prince of thieves by disabling or taking away the transporter technology he is using to Space pirate innocent passerby. [We learned during the episode that Tau stole that technology too, and is using it to make himself wealthy]. I really missed that karma and justice of this episode...just leaving half the stolen goods behind and sailing off seemed very unsatisfying to me. Missed opportunity here.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Lloyd
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 11:28am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

These are my least favorite episodes. To begin with, the acting comes off as pure community theater quality. I suppose this is because of the premise which is basically "act evil." The performances border on satire. This brings me to my second issue with these episodes. I watch Star Trek for the basic message of goodness and progress that it embodies. The mirror universe episodes turn that on its head. If the mirror episodes came off as more believable I might enjoy the contrast, but they do not. Finally, until Discovery, the episodes play no substantive part in the broader themes and story lines of the Trek series. The very worst mirror episodes are definitely from DS9. Watching Kira slink around all seductively comes off as an SNL parody skit. Kira is my least favorite Trek character and she is at her worst in the mirror episodes. The best of the mirror episodes is Discovery because they do play a broader role in the story, and aren't just an excuse to dress women in skimpy clothes and have everyone act like dime store thugs.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Jabore
Sat, Jan 30, 2021, 3:45am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Phantom Menace

I adore this movie.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Tue, Jan 19, 2021, 11:49am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

It's the whole point of doing reviews in the first place, by expressing your opinion of something.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 6:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

Wow! Such an intense ending, though it raises some important questions.

Ahsoka seemed to suggest that Grogu could turn to the dark side and it would be better if her were not trained. "There is much fear in him" similar to Yoda's comment about Anakin in Phantom Menace, and she says it's better if Grogu's abilities waned over time. But Luke takes Grogu without hesitation, and I wonder if just means Grogu should have been with Luke all along, or if Luke is making an error by deciding to train Grogu.

Also, the sequel trilogy seems to say that Luke's trainees were killed by Kylo Ren, so Grogu going with Luke is actually not a good sign. Does this mean Grogu is off the show? Or will he come back somehow? I feel like Disney has made so much money off of Baby Yoda dolls, that's it's hard for me to believe that Grogu is off the show.

Going into the season 2 finale, considering Ahsoka's statements and Grogu's absence from the sequel trilogy, I thought they were setting it up to have Grogu not be trained, and instead be raised as a Mandalorian, just as the main character was rescued as a child and raised to follow "the way." Also, this season they've gone out of their way to have Grogu not be completely good, such as with egg eating, cookie stealing, force choking etc., so if he just goes on his merry way and becomes a Jedi, that seems too easy.

Very cool episode though. When that X-wing flew in, I knew things were about to get real. Fan service at its best. People just love seeing R2-D2 beep, even though it's unclear whether R2-D2 had an prior connection to Grogu.

When the dark troopers were blown out into space with the push of a button I said out loud "that's convenient" so I was glad when they came back to raise the stakes. Though I agree, why doesn't the empire rely on them more, instead of stormtroopers who can't hit anything or the incompetent droid army of the prequels.

Like others, I wish Boba Fett had more to do, but apparently he is getting his own show??? Seems odd to have two shows running simultaneously that both involve Mandalorian bounty hunters, but what do I know? I worry Disney will react to the success and acclaim of The Mandalorian by churning out a ton of shows that are of lower quality.

But this episode was so enchanting. Can't wait until Season 3. Hope to see more of "Kara Thrace" Bo Katan.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Tue, Dec 1, 2020, 12:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

It's such a disappointing end to the new trilogy.

I wonder if Jammer has put the review off as he knows he'll have to watch it again, making in-depth notes.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, Aug 2, 2020, 5:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

I do think the episode acknowledges its darkness, Jake's obsessiveness, while combining it with sweetness. Sisko saying that he is OK now is also him believing, hoping, having to believe that Jake will be OK now, that it was losing him at that time and way that was wrong and that he can be a better father so that Jake would not be so distraught at losing him later.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, Aug 2, 2020, 4:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

I did think this episode was just OK when I first watched it (on video, and having mostly just watched the last two seasons), I think because I thought it just crammed in/rushed through too much story and concepts in one episode and maybe tried a little too hard to pull on heartstrings and otherwise wasn't that different or more impressive than other look-at-possible-future and/or reset episodes.

Rewatching and in the concept of the whole series, it is one of the best episodes (although 3.5 stars, and barely that, rather than 4), I think mainly because it effectively combines the sentimentality and also being pretty dark in themes and implications, it acknowledges that Jake Sisko becomes obsessive, even arguably wasting his life, Benjamin Sisko sees and is unnerved by that and yet doesn't condemn him, understands it. I don't think altering the timeline/history is necessarily a monstrous thing but it is a big thing and the episode realizes that without harshly condemning it.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, Aug 2, 2020, 10:21am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Overall I loved the episode. The depiction of the war, both the space combat and depiction of the Cardassian Resistance, was some of the best it had ever been, appropriately much more intense than in most episodes, and the conclusions were strong. The conclusions to Kira's and Odo's stories both together and individually were really strong.

The nostalgia and sense of farewell was earned, appropriate, effective. Worf becoming an ambassador was definitely random, even a little half-hearted, but still a fine end as was Bashir and O'Brien parting and, though a little obligatory, Bashir and Dax ending up together at least for now. Sisko being with the Prophets and not anxious to return also felt a little random but in-line enough with his characterization and plot threads through the series.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, Aug 2, 2020, 10:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

The impact of Jadzia's death had frankly been overfocused on already especially "Penumbra", that episode already concluded the focus on her, not having her in Worf's memories in the series finale was a *little* odd but understandable and not a big problem.
Set Bookmark
Mr Drew
Thu, May 21, 2020, 11:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Great episode. I've never really cared too much for TNG, but you could really see their bond in the reunion with Picard, Troi and Riker.

Also probably the first time Troi has never been completely useless and annoying in a scene.

3.5/4 sounds right
Set Bookmark
drewsg
Wed, May 13, 2020, 7:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

Why do all Star Trek parallel universes turn women into scantily dressed sluts?
Set Bookmark
Drew
Thu, May 7, 2020, 10:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fallen Hero

Well, it took 22 episodes but finally a really good episode. 3.5/4, maybe 4 stars..
Set Bookmark
Drew
Fri, May 1, 2020, 7:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: The Haunting of Deck Twelve

It's hard to take a 'Tell a scary story in the dark' episode seriously when Neelix is the one narrating, that alone made this episode a bore.
Set Bookmark
Drew
Thu, Apr 16, 2020, 3:30am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

Fantastic episode, I'm partial to episodes of Star Trek that boldly go where no Trek has gone before, and this was great.

I'd give it 4 stars
Set Bookmark
Drew
Tue, Apr 14, 2020, 11:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

Bajor?

More like BajSNORE... ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ
Set Bookmark
Drew
Tue, Apr 14, 2020, 10:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: His Way

Great episode. I'd actually give it 3.5 stars. I love the part with Kira singing an amazing version of Fever.
Set Bookmark
Drew
Tue, Apr 14, 2020, 5:09am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Who Mourns for Morn?

Decent, entertaining episode.. The highlight definitely was Quark's self serving eulogy for Morn
Set Bookmark
Drew
Tue, Apr 14, 2020, 3:10am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Waltz

This would be a solid episode were it not for the ridiculous amount of times that fate would intervene in preventing Gul Dukat from killing Sisko
Set Bookmark
Drew
Sun, Apr 12, 2020, 9:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

Boring and cheesy. This is probably the worst 4 star rated episode I've seen on Jammer, and usually if there's a variance it's only by half a star, maybe one.

1.5 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Andrew S Gill
Fri, Apr 10, 2020, 11:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Trials and Tribble-ations

I just started binging the entire Star Trek timeline starting with the TOS which I absolutely loved. I thought TNG was good, but I'm liking DS9 better though not as much as TOS. I have to say this episode is probably my favorite Trek episode I've watched to this day. I don't think I've seen a better show do a better job paying homage to its predecessor as well as this episode did..

5 out of 4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Drew
Thu, Apr 9, 2020, 12:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Accession

The Bajoran centric episodes are so boring, at this point I prefer Ferengi episodes to them. Seeing Quark's mother drop her robe is infinitely more interesting than anything Bajor related.
Next ►Page 1 of 18
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.