Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 429 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 18
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, Aug 2, 2020, 5:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

I do think the episode acknowledges its darkness, Jake's obsessiveness, while combining it with sweetness. Sisko saying that he is OK now is also him believing, hoping, having to believe that Jake will be OK now, that it was losing him at that time and way that was wrong and that he can be a better father so that Jake would not be so distraught at losing him later.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, Aug 2, 2020, 4:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

I did think this episode was just OK when I first watched it (on video, and having mostly just watched the last two seasons), I think because I thought it just crammed in/rushed through too much story and concepts in one episode and maybe tried a little too hard to pull on heartstrings and otherwise wasn't that different or more impressive than other look-at-possible-future and/or reset episodes.

Rewatching and in the concept of the whole series, it is one of the best episodes (although 3.5 stars, and barely that, rather than 4), I think mainly because it effectively combines the sentimentality and also being pretty dark in themes and implications, it acknowledges that Jake Sisko becomes obsessive, even arguably wasting his life, Benjamin Sisko sees and is unnerved by that and yet doesn't condemn him, understands it. I don't think altering the timeline/history is necessarily a monstrous thing but it is a big thing and the episode realizes that without harshly condemning it.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, Aug 2, 2020, 10:21am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Overall I loved the episode. The depiction of the war, both the space combat and depiction of the Cardassian Resistance, was some of the best it had ever been, appropriately much more intense than in most episodes, and the conclusions were strong. The conclusions to Kira's and Odo's stories both together and individually were really strong.

The nostalgia and sense of farewell was earned, appropriate, effective. Worf becoming an ambassador was definitely random, even a little half-hearted, but still a fine end as was Bashir and O'Brien parting and, though a little obligatory, Bashir and Dax ending up together at least for now. Sisko being with the Prophets and not anxious to return also felt a little random but in-line enough with his characterization and plot threads through the series.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, Aug 2, 2020, 10:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

The impact of Jadzia's death had frankly been overfocused on already especially "Penumbra", that episode already concluded the focus on her, not having her in Worf's memories in the series finale was a *little* odd but understandable and not a big problem.
Set Bookmark
Mr Drew
Thu, May 21, 2020, 11:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Great episode. I've never really cared too much for TNG, but you could really see their bond in the reunion with Picard, Troi and Riker.

Also probably the first time Troi has never been completely useless and annoying in a scene.

3.5/4 sounds right
Set Bookmark
drewsg
Wed, May 13, 2020, 7:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

Why do all Star Trek parallel universes turn women into scantily dressed sluts?
Set Bookmark
Drew
Thu, May 7, 2020, 10:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fallen Hero

Well, it took 22 episodes but finally a really good episode. 3.5/4, maybe 4 stars..
Set Bookmark
Drew
Fri, May 1, 2020, 7:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: The Haunting of Deck Twelve

It's hard to take a 'Tell a scary story in the dark' episode seriously when Neelix is the one narrating, that alone made this episode a bore.
Set Bookmark
Drew
Thu, Apr 16, 2020, 3:30am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

Fantastic episode, I'm partial to episodes of Star Trek that boldly go where no Trek has gone before, and this was great.

I'd give it 4 stars
Set Bookmark
Drew
Tue, Apr 14, 2020, 11:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

Bajor?

More like BajSNORE... ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ
Set Bookmark
Drew
Tue, Apr 14, 2020, 10:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: His Way

Great episode. I'd actually give it 3.5 stars. I love the part with Kira singing an amazing version of Fever.
Set Bookmark
Drew
Tue, Apr 14, 2020, 5:09am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Who Mourns for Morn?

Decent, entertaining episode.. The highlight definitely was Quark's self serving eulogy for Morn
Set Bookmark
Drew
Tue, Apr 14, 2020, 3:10am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Waltz

This would be a solid episode were it not for the ridiculous amount of times that fate would intervene in preventing Gul Dukat from killing Sisko
Set Bookmark
Drew
Sun, Apr 12, 2020, 9:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

Boring and cheesy. This is probably the worst 4 star rated episode I've seen on Jammer, and usually if there's a variance it's only by half a star, maybe one.

1.5 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Andrew S Gill
Fri, Apr 10, 2020, 11:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Trials and Tribble-ations

I just started binging the entire Star Trek timeline starting with the TOS which I absolutely loved. I thought TNG was good, but I'm liking DS9 better though not as much as TOS. I have to say this episode is probably my favorite Trek episode I've watched to this day. I don't think I've seen a better show do a better job paying homage to its predecessor as well as this episode did..

5 out of 4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Drew
Thu, Apr 9, 2020, 12:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Accession

The Bajoran centric episodes are so boring, at this point I prefer Ferengi episodes to them. Seeing Quark's mother drop her robe is infinitely more interesting than anything Bajor related.
Set Bookmark
Drew
Fri, Apr 3, 2020, 6:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Two Days and Two Nights

So I'm actually watching the episode right now. I don't know if anyone else noticed I read a lot of the comments on how people were upset with the story line. But what I noticed on the Risa gal. She had spots an if anyone else would know that means she was a Trill. The plot-story doesn't back it up. Says she was augmented to look that way - human. But if you follow on all the other shows... the spots down the face/neck an stomach would indicate her as a trill
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 10:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Did anyone else see that Seven and Raffi were playing Kal-toh? I just love little tidbits like that.
Set Bookmark
Drew
Wed, Mar 25, 2020, 4:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Face of the Enemy

Really one of my favorite episodes, which is really something considering I'm not the biggest fan of Troi on TNG, but she kills it this episode.

My only criticism of this episode is one that I have of many other good TNG episodes, really abrupt anticlimactic endings that sort of end of a whimper.

I'd give it 4/4, but I think 3.5/4 is fine.. But it's a top 10 TNG episode for me.
Set Bookmark
Drew
Tue, Mar 3, 2020, 10:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Captain's Holiday

Has there been any good episode that started out with people walking around half naked?
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sat, Feb 22, 2020, 6:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

I think jammer is over reacting the gore scene, TNG had gore (Conspiracy) the episode wasn't great and i didn't liked it but condeming the entire series just for one or two small scenes? C'mon...
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Thu, Feb 20, 2020, 7:07am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

@Peter G.

"For instance, Picard needs a bodyguard why?"

I had the same thought, but it kind of makes sense when you think about the Zhat Vash attacks he's been through and witnessed in the previous episodes.
Set Bookmark
Andrew S.
Thu, Feb 6, 2020, 11:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

I enjoyed this episode but I’m a little worried they’re setting up a major retcon of the Romulans that won’t hold water.

We already have a ”Romulans hate androids” plot which seems to conflict with the line from “The Defector” about “Romulan cyberneticists” who would have like to study Data. I suppose it could be explained that those Romulans cyberneticists were people like Agnes from this show who want to study it even though it’s banned, but probably the writers just missed this inconsistency. Admittedly, I didn’t catch it until others brought it up.

But they seem to be hinting that Romulans have some fundamental problems with being assimilated which of course directly contradicts “Unity” from Voyager. Also, didn’t TNG’s “The Neutral Zone” and “Q Who” establish that there was some contact between Romulans and the Borg in the Romulan neutral zone? I really hope the writers wouldn’t be so sloppy as to mess that up. But I’m a little nervous because when Hugh says “these are the only Romulans assimilated as far as I know,” that’s clearly wrong because Hugh as a Borg presumably would have been aware of Orum from “Unity” and the attacks on the Romulan neutral zone in TNG season 1. Maybe for some reason it’s just that these particular Romulans, (who were the last ones assimilated) are the only ones with the “disorder” but it didn’t to be where things were going. We’ll see.

I really hope we don’t have a “we’re Cylons and we have been from the start” thing where all Romulans are actually robots. That seems to rewrite the trek canon a bit too much. The Phantastic Geek podcast also speculated that perhaps the Romulans of ancient times actually created the Borg, which strikes me as an intriguing theory, but unclear why that would translate to the need to destroy all androids. The Borg aren’t really androids, and didn’t Locutus basically say androids are obsolete? Maybe I’ve just revealed myself to be a nitpicky nerd and none of this is really as big a deal as I say it is.
Set Bookmark
Andrew S.
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 10:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

I really enjoyed the first episode of Picard!
-It's great to finally have a sequel set in the main Star Trek universe. No more prequels or reboots or alternate timelines, which frankly, have often been kind of a let-down.
-The writers clearly know their Next Generation. Lots of callbacks to the series: the reference to Bruce Maddox (the guy who tried to have Data dismantled), the stuff in the storage locker like the Captain Picard Day banner, Data painting and having a daughter, poker, the French vineyard, etc.
-This may make people mad, but I'm kind of glad Data is actually dead. I didn't really like Nemesis (though admittedly I haven't seen it in a while), and I didn't agree with the decision to kill Data in the first place, but I'm glad they're not running from the decision. I remember someone had told me that various comic books had made B-4 just like Data reincarnated, which is definitely a stupid and way-too-easy way out. Though I would be ok if this show had a long drawn out "Search for Data" sort of thing going on where they try to bring back some aspect of him.
-In many ways, Data was kind of the heart of Next Generation, so I really like how even in death he's still a central figure in the story.
-I remember being annoyed with the decision made by the J.J. Abrams team to blow up Romulus in the prime timeline for no good reason. On a side note, I've noticed J.J. Abrams movies have a tendency to blow up planets out of nowhere as a cheap way to raise the stakes. (See e.g. the Star Wars sequel trilogy). But anyway, like Data's death, the writers did not run away from or ignore the decision, and the destruction of Romulus is a major plot point in the story. Even after just one episode has made for some really compelling ideas.
-Which brings me to the "interview scene." To me this might have been the most captivating scene in Star Trek since...well...maybe 1999? This is classic Picard, being the moral voice of Starfleet, and completely unwavering in his view that the Federation should have saved as many Romulans as possible even though Romulans are old enemies. One can't help but think of the parallels with the U.S. failure to take in Syrian refugees, and how the true test of a country is its generosity to others during times of a crisis. So when Picard says he left Starfleet "because it was no longer Starfleet," that really really hits home. The show seems to be off to the right foot because it realizes that the best scenes in Star Trek are not usually space battles but instead really compelling stories.
-I was intrigued by Picard's Romulan assistants And I think it was trying to show how people who used to be enemies from a different planet can get along and make wine together. It's sort of a callback to the original Star Trek "Balance of Terror" where the unnamed Romulan commander right before his death tells Kirk that under different circumstances they would have been friends. I thought it was interesting that Picard's Romulan's assistants appear very human in their clothes and hairstyle.
-I want to learn more about this rebellion of synthetic lifeforms, and how the interviewer seems to hold Picard somewhat responsible for what happened. Maybe it's just because people now hate artificial life forms and Picard has always been a champion of the rights of artificial life forms (see "Measure of Man"), or maybe there is something else going on.
-I really hope the show doesn't turn into shoot-em-up action next week, but if this episode is any indication, I think we're on the right track as far as good storytelling goes.
-This might actually be the best Star Trek pilot episode. DS9's "Emissary" is pretty poorly paced, but is way better when you have seen the end of the show because you see how much of the groundwork for the show was laid down right from the start. But as a standalone episode, I think Picard is hands down the best Star Trek pilot.
-My girlfriend and I watched Battlestar Galactica and Season 4 of The Expanse recently, so she made the joke that it's easy to get Picard confused with these other series since we have android sleeper agents and people living on Mars.
-So what's going on with the Borg, anyway? The trailers had totally given away the big reveal of the cube at the end. The finale of Voyager was such a mess I honestly don't remember to what extent the Borg collective is still around or if they were all wiped out by Janeway (or did they ever tell us?). But anyway, the cube no longer appears to have any Borg on it and it's just being used by Romulans as an outpost. I really hope this show doesn't overuse the Borg on this show like Voyager did.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sat, Dec 7, 2019, 12:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

Reacting to the theatrical cut ...
It's very ambition, kind of enjoyably majestic, weighty (the best part was the crew both being different and close enough to how they were before and reuniting), deep/thought-provoking, impressively so different from rather than trying to be Star Wars, but a bit too weighty rather than dynamic or fun and even in its deep themes at times a bit too awkward, abrupt and/or repetitive. It's interesting both in itself and in retrospect how much this film seems like a precursor to the Borg and to TNG-style generally but not really doing it well, TNG definitely did both the style and some of the specific themes much better.
The Kirk/Decker conflict is good but a bit too overdone, the idea of Spock maybe not being loyal way too awkward (McCoy quickly becoming suspicious too out-of-character), too much of the Decker/Ilia relationship, before and after she is replaced, feels too just there to be there and overfocused on. The crew in general, though seeing them reunite was fun, is too often too lacking in energy or warmth/chemistry and does get too overshadowed by the effects (which are strong but too often feel excessive).
A lot of Jerry Goldsmith's music is really good but a lot of it, though mostly with regard to the Decker & Ilia relationship, also feels a little too obvious and clearly-present and repetitive.
Next ►Page 1 of 18
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.