Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 118 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sat, Feb 9, 2019, 10:40am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

Most artists don’t make their music or art to try and be iconic. They make it to soothe an internal need. The culture and society determines if it becomes iconic. They also make their art to... eat. It’s a job. We need to be careful tossing around names like Shakespeare. There’s direct evidence that Bill Shakespeare was as much a writer as a publishing house, a la Alfred Hitchcock. He, like some of the other greats, gets credit for the works of employees who labored at his great publishing house, at which he was chief editor, of course.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Tue, Feb 5, 2019, 3:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Worst Case Scenario

I like this episode for its quirky humor and lighthearted fun. Definitely feels like the second half was written after dinner. The Staff meeting scene is classic. Given Janeway’s typical pragmatism I was surprised she’d allow the holodeck to be used in this fashion and overrode Tuvok. How do they know what holodeck files have been run and how many times? There are no “personal” holodeck files? Hmm.

What’s interesting about the episode is it’s rating at 3. I try to balance this and Distant Origins at the same level. They are both great showings and as one who watches Voyager constantly (I cycle through every 4-6 weeks), these are two that I look forward to in S3 in repeat. Macrocosm is a 3rd episode that qualifies but is rated much lower.



Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sun, Jan 27, 2019, 4:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

Eh I owe nothing more than what I feel at any time, and you excoriate no one else for the same, nor for coming by and saying “great epsiode” with no support, and anyway, why the hell do you care? so it’s just another personal attack. Just ignore me. I’m there with you. I tried one last time. That’s definitely cool.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sun, Jan 27, 2019, 2:01am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

I feel my writing on past episodes and last episode especially related to the Shaktal (I prefer my spelling) was quite exacting. If you do not feel that my philosophical review of this episode is on the mark, you’re not seeing how it fits the big picture as I am. These writers and actors aren’t even showing up. I asked a while back: are they watching the final product and driving home proud? In my line of work I would not, and could not release a product with this many flaws.

Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sat, Jan 26, 2019, 9:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

“The Descent” is a hunk of shit and not worth it’s present IMDb rating. Either the ratings are manipulated or we have to acknowledge America’s tastes
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sat, Jan 26, 2019, 5:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

Lol this episode is so aptly named. It’s the writers’ Let Them Eat Cake episode to us. They clearly do not give a crap and will serve up anything. The fact that the actors will paycheck it validates me. I felt the adhd I had as a child coming back. +1 anyone who rejects this including Orville advertisers, they should complain for treating the audience this way.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Fri, Jan 25, 2019, 12:18am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

Thinking I should skip this one. Patterns emerge, and watching how the reviews are clustering is fascinating! Two of three Sentinels already reported. Amazing the correlations. This is beyond fun now.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Tue, Jan 22, 2019, 7:09am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Nothing Left on Earth Excepting Fishes

A lot of critiquing going on. A lot of discussion of poor writing and bad acting and thoughtless tropes (hmph btw)

I am relieved. - Chris Pike
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sat, Jan 19, 2019, 10:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Nothing Left on Earth Excepting Fishes

Futurama took the time to create future music, the Hip Joint featured it in Season 1 Episode 4. I searched for that music later online and found a few excerpts on mp3 sites as I wanted it as a ringtone. I hadn’t noticed but learned later it’s the same music Fry heard in S1E1 when he first exited into the outside in the future.

I do consider most things Groening to be genius and futurama was light years ahead of its time.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sat, Jan 19, 2019, 12:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Nothing Left on Earth Excepting Fishes

@Yanks I don’t know if the Krill are lining up to be the baddest, the Shaktal seem to overrun their ships with ease. And certainly they are an aggressor species, will head into a planetary system and fire at will upon an unknown shuttlecraft that could be armed to the teeth. The fact that Bortus didn’t defend the shuttle is questionable, I say it shows tactical weakness. I still feel like something with an Admiral ended up on the cutting room floor.

I could point out this is the job for esophagus bro, but, he’s gone anyway to your point.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sat, Jan 19, 2019, 9:10am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Nothing Left on Earth Excepting Fishes

Ongoing species blindness is writer laziness. It could be a bad trope forming. From Moclan customs to Xeleyan health to Esophagus bro, the Union doesn’t seem to know much about senior officers onboard the bridge. That poses its own issues which often tries to play off as episode material, marginally in my opinion. It can be done and I’ve already given exact directives on how to repair.

We see it a different way and much more dangerously when the Krill are engaged in annexation of another species.

The Union is unaware of these activities and has no contact with the Shaktal? This has it’s own connotations — no spying or intelligence ops past what Mercer did last season, etc, as well as reveals significant limits in Union astrocartography. No survey missions or probes? Voyager had a probe in the delta quadrant... There were a couple times I thought Mercer would simply call out “Hey, Union guy here, don’t shoot!” and something different might happen.

We now have a secondary low level engagement as the Union, like it or not, has been fired upon by Shaktal warriors during a Rescue Mission. Regardless of sides, firing during rescue is engagement, the activity is warlike. The Shaktal either did or did not recognize the shuttlecraft they fired upon. And they fired upon it. That’s pretty aggressive right there. Who claimed the planet and sector? Who had rights to fire in that region of space?

When arc writing is well done and thoughtful you can pull this off so I assume the Shaktal like the Krill are coming back. The missing piece here may have been a discussion with a Union Admiral in the final act to tie up negotiation or discussion with a Shaktal delegation.

Or are the Shaktal the galactic Sentinelese, who have left their island but don’t leave any survivors. That can’t work.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 8:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Nothing Left on Earth Excepting Fishes

I would say the episode relies heavily on sentimentality and relationship issues. The story woven through these is interesting but I admit I saw it almost within the first 10 minutes. I don’t recall the exact moment but I thought “she’s a mole, this is a setup” - it might have been during the beer with Gordon. I just couldn’t know it with certainty.

I don’t watch Dicovery so many of those references are lost on me. The Corbomite Maneuver scene with Gordon wasn’t as funny, but the rudimentary lathe gag on Galaxy Quest is re: The Gorn, is it the delivery?

I liked the interaction between the Krill and Shaktal. “It is ours by divine right but they do not see this.” Krill Hegemony. Coming from a group that sympathized with the Nohtzees in the Lost Ark. There were things to explore in this episode that Star Trek might have given some treatment that I think Orville glazes over.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Tue, Jan 15, 2019, 8:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Home

@Jammer, it’s inexpensive fixes for compliance with both GDPR and CalOPPA. The point of posting a portion of the IP is to dissuade the sock puppetry as well as general security. Edit and delete do not require registration, that’s an older methodology.

What I am not appreciating is passive aggressive coordinated personal attacks whereas several of the sock puppets come by, light me on fire, then suggest “oh Jammer won’t approve let’s not do that again” until the next time and plead to divert the subject from the coordinated effort.

I’ll request it again: Do not review me.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Tue, Jan 15, 2019, 3:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Home

Jammer,
As a favor to posters who have been here for a long time and have been participative and brought you tons of page views, good times, and possibly revenue - would you consider adding the IP Address with each posting? I’d also request you add either an Edit or Delete post button.

These are generally accepted forum features that allow posters to protect themselves and have GDPR/CalOPPA features. If someone ultimately wishes to be forgotten or not be tracked the website should be compliant with these. Thanks for considering.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Tue, Jan 15, 2019, 8:38am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Home

Stop reviewing me.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Tue, Jan 15, 2019, 1:35am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Home

Is this a space show? I honestly forgot. Pass. Fanboys will trip over themselves, from picardo to warburton (talk about stunted acting, Putty). It’s got enough retread. No space, no science, no trekking. Loathed this episode and I hope every single frame dematerializes. Now I’ll go read all your comments with zeal!
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sat, Jan 5, 2019, 11:23am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Primal Urges

@Dave,

Short answer, Yes. I'm not immortal. It's a good line, you captured existence beautifully.

Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sat, Jan 5, 2019, 5:18am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Primal Urges

Would mammals, fish, microbes, any species on earth stop procreating at any point immediately prior to an asteroid hitting?

Would those same species stop procreating prior to the situation presented on Orville? Yes, because the conditions on the surface would have prevented it, but in the caverns below... stress would have caused procreation. There are kids because these "aliens of the week" had stress sex.

Toss in morality and philosophy and religion framework and suddenly the viewpoint changes. We humans begin to examine things in relationship to time and our notions of what is worthwhile. Other species: Time is not important only life.

Possibly in the earliest stages of life clinging to this planet going through Filter stages, this is extremely important. Later on, a society could choose it is not worth saving itself... this one certainly did not do a moonshot. There are complex thoughts to us in relation to us as well, and I damn well hope that those NASA guys pulled a fast one with Voyager 1 & 2.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Fri, Jan 4, 2019, 11:51am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Primal Urges

I enjoyed watching this episode.

Perhaps the funniest moment for me was the set of standard metal basement doors protecting the underground civilization.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Fri, Jan 4, 2019, 9:31am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

@Booming definitely. They appear to work in concert, having ample resources via replication, and transparency via not-so-subtle continuous monitoring, we arrive at the Roddenberry future. Orville presents another version of the future.

If life is a VR, and we get to choose, which Future? I might pick Future Gene.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Thu, Jan 3, 2019, 12:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

@Brian, there’s a reason Star Trek has minimally flawed characters in my opinion.

“The Computer”

The Computer is in every room, every hallway, every urinal, every Jeffries tube... audio, video, pulse and respiration rates, environmental monitoring, all systems, all things, gigaquads at a time. So, with immediate real-time recall of pretty much any situation and conversation, lying in the 23rd century and beyond becomes extremely difficult. The repercussions of this environment evolving over generations has never been dealt with that I’m aware of, but culturally, yes, society would appear much more stilted and “perfected” to our tastes.

It’s not an unreasonable take, and shows the depth to which the writers of Trek considered the philosophy. It doesn’t make them perfect as they made a lot of errors but shows how they did think. Does Orville not have these technologies? I’m only aware of them not having transporters. In the episode where the Security Chief loses her sense of command, she’s monitored through the ship quite closely. Orville appears to have the sensors and computer. I guess the writers just ignored this? Maybe Braga never understood it? I’d like to hear the table read discussions!
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Thu, Jan 3, 2019, 9:59am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

Anyone up for non-stop Alexander episodes?
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Thu, Jan 3, 2019, 1:58am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

Kermit the Frog and muppets represent Sunday night family values. Jerry Garcia, the Grateful Dead and LSD represent hippies. One preceded Disney on Sunday night, the other not so much.

The muppets were a comedy show - and Pigs In Space was funny. There’s a compilation on YouTube worth a watch. Why is this show not funny and trying any type of drama, and utterly failing at that? Then the compare to Galaxy Quest - same question, it’s not funny so why make the comparison.

Elevator Alien is funny? Really? That’s what we will accept? Again, the writers insult us.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Wed, Jan 2, 2019, 12:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi,
When my brain attempts to reconcile the “Ed” character as compared to the “Janeway” character or the “Picard” character, the delta between the Star Trek characters and the Orville character is so great, that I see it is a comedy setup. This is a show that uses Star Trek at every turn, so it can’t just conveniently shove it away at any point and suggest creative differences.

Picard and Janeway vs Ed.

I simply cannot imagine Picard, in any capacity, acting in this way. The closest he writers had Janeway behaving this erratically is during Ep 2 of Equinox.

Would you follow Ed as a leader? What are the qualities of Leadership he shows that make him worthy of a Captain chair? None, and that is why he was given the chair as a favor to Kelly Grayson.

If we digress, the entire premise of the show is built mostly upon the Peter Principle or nepotism or favoritism. We can certainly do a serious show about that these days. And maybe even pull off a hit comedy if expertly written. What this is, doesn’t make it because it won’t go either way.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Wed, Jan 2, 2019, 6:29am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

Kermit the Frog on Ed’s desk. This is how the writers treat the viewers of this show. This is the food for which our intellect hungers, they assume. Or I guess this is the humor base from which they’ll build a show foundation.

Ed as a character is challenged on too many levels. From leadership to basic protocol, the person is a failure. MacFarlane as an actor is cardboard. Put together, you have a difficult lead role. Not funny and not interestingly written, with scripts that require finesse - is that the kind of acting Seth MacFarlane is known for? Not I’m my opinion.

When viewed this way my logic suggests the true format for the program should be comedy. Funny. Cut scenes, edgy dialog from a racist robot (as billed from original advertising sequences), true slapstick. Example: If you’re going to take on #MeToo, have Ed bump the shuttle into the side of the ship when he’s out nosing around.

I remember Kermit when I watch and think Picard's desk with ship models. I remember Janeway’s Office and decorum as a captain. When my brain processes how far away from that we are, it’s clear the show has no reason other than to be a deep comedy. And it’s not, so the show misses completely.

Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.