Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 159 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 7
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sun, Sep 29, 2019, 11:16am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Q2

The most interesting aspect of this episode is Q Sr handing Janeway a tablet with course adjustments on it that she looks at and turns to him and says “not that I don’t appreciate it but this will only take a few years off our journey, why not send us all the way?”

One expects in the next scene to see Voyager warp off — no doubt on an adjusted heading. But we do not. It sits stationary in space for the long pause.

Therefore, Q Sr apparently knows of Endgame, and the rollback of the Universe, and even no Starship Relativity interference for a TPD violation.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sun, Sep 29, 2019, 5:40am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: A Matter of Honor

I’m with DLPB. After a rewatch last night, the Klingons are a supposed “Master Race” yet what we witness is really a crude regurgitation of Might Is Right philosophy. Their code of honor is a patchwork of contradictions and failed ideologies centered around individualism, sexism, racism, and xenophobia yet it requires allegiance/obedience to a hierarchy.

Their scientists would stab and kill each other designing the console layout on the bridge.

Their doctors would kill each other trying to decide symptoms of cold vs flu.

Family honor killings for 10 generations would ensue over naming rights for whether it was Kor Beer or Korath Beer.

I could do this all day. The single tone writing of TNG Klingons is pure crapulence on display. I actually prefer TOS Klingons. There’s a clear indication that Pakled genealogy at some point intermingled with the Klingon genome. Im guessing about 20 generations prior, some massive extinction level event took place and Pakleds saved the last few remaining Klingons, forever adding their stupidity to Klingon evolution.
Set Bookmark
Doug Willis
Tue, Aug 27, 2019, 4:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Dark Frontier

Anyone hate that fucking Elliott guy and his childish comments about DS9?
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Mon, Aug 26, 2019, 12:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Squire of Gothos

I would visualize this as Q having a daydream, as a young Q. Specifically our De Lancie Q so as to keep the theme working later in development. Otherwise there’s no real place for this in the modern Star Trek galaxy. Q would need to be looking at Trelane in a snow globe, ready to shake it. Similarl to his absence during Species 8472, I think it’s more a convenient writer miss.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Thu, Aug 15, 2019, 3:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Paradise Syndrome

@Brian S.

Wading through pages of bonfires, wasted pixels, repeated blather of the Nth by the same characters using different handles AND THEN I FIND YOUR GEM.

Thank you for the best funniest comment - in years.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Tue, Aug 6, 2019, 8:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

There’s a lot said and I think NoPoet captures it best:

“This episode is hard to enjoy because it is a tragedy. And it hits very hard. There are some things you can't win. That's life. No-one survives life. Within a few decades of an average person's death, there will be no-one left who remembers them. Does that mean nobody's life has any context? To even suggest that reeks of nihilism, and misses the point of life: do the things you enjoy with the people you love in the time you have. If you do this, does it matter if no-one else will ever read your diary? Really?”

Looking past any writing problems, the episode causes one to explore their own situation - and how closely our lives resemble theirs. Ashes to ashes, dust to dust.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sat, Jun 1, 2019, 3:58am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

FutureQ,
I like your read. I’m generally not a huge fan of this episode, although precisely because it’s cringeworthy. Personally I don’t think Geordi would have made it to a senior role with his relationship issues. Psych evals would have revealed this blind spot long ago.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sun, May 12, 2019, 1:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

/ˈ(h)yo͞obrəs/
On a dark night, during a violent storm over the ocean, some people on shore observe the oscillations of a floating collection of many colored electric lamps, connected with each other at long intervals and at the ends with two wires.
Although these colored lamps draw their current from one and the same source, yet since their rays pass through changing conditions of various kinds, some shine out to a distance, others affect each other as they interpenetrate, still others are completely swallowed up either mid- way or at the very place of their arising.
If two people are together, the closer they are to each other, the more intimate is the mixing of their atmospheres, and therefore the better is the contact achieved between their specific vibrations.
The blending and fusion of the specific vibrations given off by different people take place mechanically, depending on their situation in relation to each other and on the conditions they are in.
And so, among the people with whom I come in contact, the formation of the psychic factors necessary for the manifestation of attitudes diametrically opposed to me must inevitably occur in the following way:
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sat, May 11, 2019, 6:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

@Karl
Solipsism, and it's variants, is the philosophy of which you speak, and it is my philosophy. In my form, I believe only I exist - everything is an aspect of me. People might translate this as 'I am God'. It's more like: I am all and everything. It is not a narcissistic view. Actually, I've debated long and hard with my best friend whether it's really his universe, and I'm just an aspect, and would he please just relent and like tomatoes already.

The philosophy is considered "non verifiable." I have been trying for all my years to find the edge, peel it back, and find if it's real. This includes some very extensive experimentation in the 80's and 90's with the Dead. Extensive.

I admit that it can be just a feeling, but then life things happen that reinforce it. It falls in line with my death belief, so I think on the continuum, it all works out.

As for any alleged meaning to all this (waves arm), as it's my universe, I think Jerry and Bob said it best (by the way, one of my greatest creations) - we're going to hell in a bucket, shall we at least enjoy the ride?
Set Bookmark
Douglas Schmidt
Tue, Apr 2, 2019, 9:24am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Inside Man

I mean they don’t even show 7 of 9 getting back to the ship from the escape pod. They don’t explain what happened to the Ferengi. And how did an escape pod shake the Ferengi ship like that? Nothing about the ending made sense. Perhaps the reruns cut out scenes that aired during its initial run??
Set Bookmark
Douglas Schmidt
Tue, Apr 2, 2019, 9:21am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Inside Man

I really felt it ended abruptly without any real explanations. I feel like I wasted an hour of my time for absolutely nothing at all
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sun, Mar 31, 2019, 10:20am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Elogium

@Sleeper
I’d always felt they wrote Neelix as suffering from personality disorders associated from the war on Talax and his isolation in space. He has some pretty classic B cluster type stuff going on and when you view him this way, on multiple repeat, the character fits a little more. He’s always still an annoying space chicken though.

I never liked any of the Kess/Neelix/Tom arc.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 2:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

One thing I really wish this forum did, is if you click on a comment in the Comment Stream, have it take you to THAT COMMENT in the actual Episode posting. Come on, these are anchor links with a div. html 1.0. By making me scroll and find the comment within the episode post, knowing there are probably a hundred plus, it discourages me from doing that and reduces page views.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 2:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

Having just watched this with @Sean Hagins and @Peter G comments in mind, it sure seems that this is meant to give the flavor of the Bible’s Genesis beginning redone through Star Trek.

In the beginning
There is darkness
The emptiness of a matrix
Waiting for the light

Then, a single photon flares into existence
Then another
Soon, thousands more
Optronic pathways connect
Subroutines emerge from the chaos
And a holographic consciousness, is formed

Darkness to light, chaos to order, something from nothing.

At the episode start, the doctor sees himself as a biblical figure, an entity of A Creation, of such importance he requires his own Genesis introduction. Through the episode, we see him take on so many human traits that he becomes fallen man as he gets his doses of “the way things work.”

He becomes part of a parable in many parts. Treachery, avarice, love, hate, friendship, trust, it’s all here. Betrayal, makes a strong appearance, with the publisher playing many roles including his eventual Judas.

The holodeck rewrite by Paris - some of the best writing of the series. I’ve always said, the cast and writers were at their best when they were playing caricatures of themselves.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 1:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Innocence

I’d always struggled with Tim’s singing. Makes me shiver. Thanks Elliott wish I could follow you or you had a section for these.

Would you consider Author! Author! From S7?
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Thu, Mar 28, 2019, 11:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

@gerontius
It’s possible to have dozens of IP addresses through a day, and with Tor it would be impossible to block someone via IP. I can get a new one on my phone by power cycling over LTE. User agent trapping doesn’t work they’re not unique. Dont minimize it, users walk away. They take thousands of pageviews per year with them.

If you knew the lifetime value of a visitor to a site with advertising and it was your retirement, you’d get it. It’s an important analytic. After all, this is a business designed to look like a forum.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Thu, Mar 28, 2019, 6:36am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

@perry

“Jammer is always the last person to write up his formal review.”

I’ve caught times where in my opinion the official review does not sound as though the show was watched, but is sewn together from the fan reviews in the forum. Specific unusual words used in fan reviews mysteriously appeared in the official review, much like a hypnotist would use post hypnotic suggestion.


“He wouldn't be here doing these things for free if no one offers his input.”

You see those banner and 300x250 ads everywhere? Nothing is for free. You see those older reviews on the other forums getting dredged up with comments like “liked this. Ima Fan” that’s SEO dredging and audience acquisition.


“Trolls on the other hand is a hard one to stop, who wants to be a moderator for a modest fee? Looking forward to the battle zone in the next episode.”

Not really. A message board that is balanced will be fine. One that is fan based will erupt when someone who brings either a centrist, or negative view posts. An anonymous sock puppet type forum will be chaotic. There’s no way to block a member who is disruptive, and moderation tools are useless. What else could be the expectation. As readers we are helpless, there’s no way to sift through the noise, block a bully, rate a member, follow someone you appreciate like Elliott. The forum master complains that he has trouble getting through all the posts to find the important ones and then make decisions about what’s right or wrong in context. Well, if that’s a problem for them, SAME FOR US JEEZ LOUISE. It’s 1996 here and that’s the way I’ve been told to accept it so I mostly stay in the current year and drop by when I feels 1996.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Wed, Mar 13, 2019, 3:07am (UTC -5)
Re: Interstellar

Glad to see even a brief mention of Passengers. I very much like the movie, it’s a great sci fi horror flick. I find myself rewatching to ponder the what-ifs and what-would-i-dos.

Jammer, would you consider a review and comments for Passengers even though it’s been out a couple years?
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sat, Feb 9, 2019, 10:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

Most artists don’t make their music or art to try and be iconic. They make it to soothe an internal need. The culture and society determines if it becomes iconic. They also make their art to... eat. It’s a job. We need to be careful tossing around names like Shakespeare. There’s direct evidence that Bill Shakespeare was as much a writer as a publishing house, a la Alfred Hitchcock. He, like some of the other greats, gets credit for the works of employees who labored at his great publishing house, at which he was chief editor, of course.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Tue, Feb 5, 2019, 3:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Worst Case Scenario

I like this episode for its quirky humor and lighthearted fun. Definitely feels like the second half was written after dinner. The Staff meeting scene is classic. Given Janeway’s typical pragmatism I was surprised she’d allow the holodeck to be used in this fashion and overrode Tuvok. How do they know what holodeck files have been run and how many times? There are no “personal” holodeck files? Hmm.

What’s interesting about the episode is it’s rating at 3. I try to balance this and Distant Origins at the same level. They are both great showings and as one who watches Voyager constantly (I cycle through every 4-6 weeks), these are two that I look forward to in S3 in repeat. Macrocosm is a 3rd episode that qualifies but is rated much lower.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sun, Jan 27, 2019, 4:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

Eh I owe nothing more than what I feel at any time, and you excoriate no one else for the same, nor for coming by and saying “great epsiode” with no support, and anyway, why the hell do you care? so it’s just another personal attack. Just ignore me. I’m there with you. I tried one last time. That’s definitely cool.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sun, Jan 27, 2019, 2:01am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

I feel my writing on past episodes and last episode especially related to the Shaktal (I prefer my spelling) was quite exacting. If you do not feel that my philosophical review of this episode is on the mark, you’re not seeing how it fits the big picture as I am. These writers and actors aren’t even showing up. I asked a while back: are they watching the final product and driving home proud? In my line of work I would not, and could not release a product with this many flaws.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sat, Jan 26, 2019, 9:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

“The Descent” is a hunk of shit and not worth it’s present IMDb rating. Either the ratings are manipulated or we have to acknowledge America’s tastes
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Sat, Jan 26, 2019, 5:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

Lol this episode is so aptly named. It’s the writers’ Let Them Eat Cake episode to us. They clearly do not give a crap and will serve up anything. The fact that the actors will paycheck it validates me. I felt the adhd I had as a child coming back. +1 anyone who rejects this including Orville advertisers, they should complain for treating the audience this way.
Set Bookmark
Dougie
Fri, Jan 25, 2019, 12:18am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

Thinking I should skip this one. Patterns emerge, and watching how the reviews are clustering is fascinating! Two of three Sentinels already reported. Amazing the correlations. This is beyond fun now.
Next ►Page 1 of 7
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.