Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 260 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 11
Set Bookmark
phaedon
Mon, Feb 24, 2020, 4:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

My apologies.. I'm committed to the parallel universe where Enterprise and Voyager don't exist. I meant TNG in relation to TOS and DS9.
Set Bookmark
phaedon
Mon, Feb 24, 2020, 12:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

At its core, and despite its campy style, episodic nature, and its reputation as the worst of all the shows, TNG turned out to be a strong work of poetic, mythological creationism. A narrative that despite its detours, could be deeply historical and meaningful, it was joyous but it could make you cry, it introduced the concept of duty but it often critiqued dominant cultural beliefs, both in other worlds and its own. It could involve overwhelming generosity and often brought out the best in people (and androids).

Quite frankly, it was rooted in the creationist tale found in the Bible and in Shakespearian literature. It was something that people even in this thread describe as ‘optimistic’ and ‘aspirational,’ and if you think about, not necessarily just in the context of what were current events back then and what else was on television. It was like it was floating on something. So this doesn’t just boil down to philosophy or science. It’s the entire mythology of a universe and it’s protagonists. Perhaps this is what Roddenberry brought to the table.

Picard on other hand has none of that. I think some of us were holding out for a change in the trend when it came to this show. A trend that is prevalent in every major reboot from Alien (Prometheus) to Star Wars (Luke Skywalker) and now Star Trek. The tearing down of the creation we loved to show the chaos, turmoil, mistrust, mystery and evil that really rules the world. The show is simply not capable of inspiration.

The Inner Light flashed across my mind as I wrote this.
Set Bookmark
phaedon
Mon, Feb 24, 2020, 11:41am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

The common use of the word ‘postmodern’ has a completely different meaning than it does in philosophical circles. I’m not going to address the accusations of vanity and self-obsession. Let’s take a closer look at the charge of moral relativism.

In philosophical circles, moral relativism is not a position anyone holds, including postmodernists. Simply because it’s bankrupt. In a truly relativistic world, even the claim that relativism is true, is itself relative, and therefore cannot be true. This is the type of shit that postmodernists are painfully aware of, and they have to work through.

The mean-spirited idea that philosophy is just philosophers reading and discussing other philosophers is ironically something a lot of postmodernists would agree with. And it is an illuminating thing to say about them, as you’ll see below. But you have to give philosophers credit for being thorough and not pulling any punches.

Philosophical postmodernism is better understood as a form of modern skepticism, a response to the question that was first asked by Descartes and continues to define modern philosophy. Namely, how do we know what we claim to know? And if what we “know” isn’t “real,” and if these terms don’t have the meaning I think they have, then what the f is really going on?

This question continues to be asked and answered in various ways to this day. Foucault is just one of the answers. A popular and arguably minor one, to be honest.

Although Plato did have some things to say about the fundamental nature of reality, classic philosophers were not overly concerned with all of this this. The ancient Greeks were mostly concerned with the proper function of man and defining the well-lived life.

There is a lot more that needs to be said about philosophy and postmodernism but perhaps this is not the place to say it.

One thing I will add is that, it has been noted that philosophers have been going around for thousands of years attempting to answer the same questions, and have now managed to lay waste even to the basic concept of an objective reality. You might say they are treading water or even going backwards in this regard.

And yet, over here we have science - a completely separate field, that has, in a very short amount of time, delivered tremendous results. Results that are repeatable. This, on its own, is incredible; it is arguably the strongest indication of a non-subjective reality that we are interacting with.

And also, science typically eliminates the philosophical, theological or psychological conjectures that existed before it with material explanations that are ‘far more effective’ and ‘more accurate’. Results that are felt throughout society. Measurable improvements for mankind. Whatever these terms might actually mean, anyone can tell you that vaccines are more effective than prayer. This phenomenon is called eliminative materialism.

I say all of this just to clear up some misconceptions about postmodernism.
Set Bookmark
phaedon
Sat, Feb 22, 2020, 10:27am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

I have so many problems with Picard it's not even funny.

It's really not even worth getting into it, but I just want to say I enjoy everyone's comments, especially the mean-spirited ones. If we can't fight like little kids over this, then really what's the point. I give Picard a lot of credit for that. I idolized TNG when I was a teenager, I still idolize TNG, and yes, looking at it a certain way, it's hot garbage, I guess?

But there is so much good television out right now. You really have to turn your brain off to defend Picard on that basis alone.

Westworld jumps to mind. A show defined by hokey costumes, robots run amok, multiple levels of reality, incredible, world-building cinematography, reveals, compromised antagonists and protagonists and their compromised values.

By all means the Star Trek franchise has permission to be a little more laid back than all that. But the production of this show is so bothersome, so simplistic, so dumbed down. Every scene screams CBS.

Extreme close-ups of everything. No cut-aways that establish the location of the set. The scene where Bjayzl and Maddox are talking at the club and the strobes and lens flares are just kind of lifelessly dancing around. Like every boring conversation has to be dollied. It's maddening. Not just Icheb getting tortured on screen; but a front-row seat, with an anamorphic lens and a flare shooting off his face. Just one main all-consuming storyline that isn't even really that interesting. Some incredibly designed sets that are never walked through. I'm not even really sure what the stakes are. It is so lifeless and overcooked.

The worst part about it is that Patrick Stewart is way past his prime and it's not acknowledged.
Set Bookmark
Landon
Wed, Feb 19, 2020, 6:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Dark Frontier

Way back in San 4s The Gift it was stated Sevens parents went off studying the borg 20 years ago, before Q Who. So it could be that there was a very small, vague awareness known to a few ppl in Starfleet, maybe just speculations of sevens parents known only to them, before Q Who, this would not violate continuity. Great to see Seven bsck5 on Picard. One of Treks best characters.
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Sat, Feb 1, 2020, 2:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

Immensely clutzy episode. The bedroom, apartment investigation, and evil plotting scenes could have all been done with a quarter of the dialogue and four times the effectiveness, and the Mars attack scene shouldn't have been there at all. I've rarely seen a Trek episode that felt like so much anxious filler (outside of Discovery).

And a series billed as textured and new as this one has been, should not have Grim Evil™ standing around in open offices pontificating about "taking care of Picard", bwahaha. That's just cartoonish.

On the plus side, the writers are nailing the arc of Picard so far. Seeing his clumsy approach to Clancy and watching his less-than-perfect judgment come back to bite him does pain me, but the man is older and perhaps facing an unpleasant twilight neurologically. That's all playing into the story very well. I also bought his motives for not bringing in his old friends, even though, let's be honest, that's what we're all waiting around to see.
Set Bookmark
phaedon
Sat, Feb 1, 2020, 12:11am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

Picard makes Discovery look like The Sopranos.

Folks, "no record of any incoming or outgoing calls; the information is there, but the indexes have been surgically deleted." My brain almost fell out of it's skull during the opening forensic sequence.

An actual clue tucked inside a false clue. Ghosts in the machine. "I'm saying this transmission.. came from off-world." Cut to Picard sh*tting in his diapers.

I actually stopped the episode and popped in "Measure of a Man" and almost wept at the beauty of it. The look Data shoots Maddox as he crosses the bridge for the first time. Guinan's history lesson in ten forward. A whole generation of disposable people. This episode is a testament to how underrated Season 2 is.

The age of the TNG cast just does not work. I am going to have nightmares of Data with his dumpy butt standing next to an easel for a very long time.

This is "All Good Things" on a $20 million budget and twenty years too late. Picard is in full puzzle-solving mode, which made for some of the worst episodes. There's no ship to tie it altogether. He's lost everything, he's a relic, he wants to find Data and bring honor back to Star Fleet. Good Lord. You can just tell they are going to trot out every TNG character with a pulse as the show continues, and the send-off is going to be some kind of grand reunion of the original crew. Perhaps Deanna emerges from deep Tal Shiar undercover.
Set Bookmark
Donald
Fri, Oct 11, 2019, 11:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

Great episode. I am watching it now.

Jammer’s reviews are pretty much hit and miss. This was a big miss.
Set Bookmark
Gary Gordon
Wed, Oct 2, 2019, 11:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Good Shepherd

Mortimer Harren (Jay Underwood) reminded me of Sheldon (Big Bang). This episode was written 7 years before Big Bang though.
Set Bookmark
Donald
Thu, May 30, 2019, 1:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Q2

2.5 to 3 stars.

This was a lighthearted comedy, not intended to be serious drama or examination of the meaning of what it would mean to encounter an omnipotent being, and you people are judging it as if it were the latter. That is an absurd category mistake.

The Q storyline was always meant to be funny. There is no way you could take any of it seriously in any of the series.

It would have been great if Voyager had been written to be a serious drama like BSG or even DS9, but since it wasn’t, you should take it for what it was and judge it episode by episode. Some episodes were meant to be taken seriously and some were not.
Set Bookmark
Don Meisner's Jubilee
Sun, May 19, 2019, 7:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Emergence

"I want an explanation Mr LaForge. Picard out. "


No shit! Their technology is soooooooooo flaky!

Picard's reaction after hearing about the Theta buildup and the mysterious force that saved their lives is every IT manager's life....

clearly the writers of this had no technical background if they think the shite systems could form an intelligence

I'm all for science fiction but this isn't consistent with the shitty (did I mention that?) systems as they are...

4/10 the lowest of the low
Set Bookmark
phaedon
Sat, Apr 27, 2019, 7:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

DISCO is a train wreck. This season was the worst, but I can't look away. I still can't figure out how they found Tig Notaro. The Sphere is the most ridiculously glossed over Macguffin of all time. All-seeing mom doesn't see the Red Angel stuck in a time loop? When Po showed up, I felt like I was watching Star Trek: NCIS. I will absolutely blow my colon if they bring Picard on for Season 3.
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 5:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Welp, Endgame reviews are upon us, so Jammer's run out of time to keep us interested in his review. See y'all in August :P
Set Bookmark
Eric McDonald
Mon, Apr 22, 2019, 12:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

This episode was awful. That being said, Carey died in the friendship one episode.
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Sat, Apr 20, 2019, 1:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Tim C

Never let it be said that I'm not a man of my word. Paying up now.

But I'm ticked off about what was now obviously just an elaborate fake-out by the writers. ;) It's not like I just made up the connection. The similarities were too close and drew too much attention to themselves to be interpreted any other way.
Set Bookmark
Scott Gordon
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 6:16am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

I was worried about young Kelly's rejection at first, but then I remembered that we were told only that he called her at 9:00 AM the next day. It was also implied that this was not an appropriate time to call and was probably a little off putting to most people. So, since Kelly's memory was wiped (Dr. Finn usually knows what she is doing), I convinced my self that in the original timeline, young Kelly probably react by saying that she didn't see it working out, Ed Mercer is very strong willed and probably got her to come around after the initial reaction. Oh well, at least I was able to satisfy myself with this, but I am not very hard to convince.
Set Bookmark
Sheldonari
Tue, Apr 16, 2019, 11:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

Sarek and Amanda getting in time to the ships, is something actually very straightforward, IMO.

Discovery gets to Enterprise's location at warp speed, not jumping. This is established in the previous episode, at T -1:48 (30 seconds before credits).

Control does the same, their ships travel at warp speed.

This takes 'normal' travel time.

This is also enough time for Sarek and Amanda to rendezvous in time.

Discovery did not spore jump to Enterprise, so no logical inconsistency is there.

Then, in this episode, Discovery spore jumps to the fifth signal, to Xahea.
Set Bookmark
Landon
Thu, Apr 11, 2019, 12:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

Time crystals are getting a little...or much too mystical and not science based for Star Trek...btw Pike was never portrayed as a person of "faith", at all, before by Roddenberry...do not like this contrivance...but this was still decent, nice tos connections
Set Bookmark
Brandon
Fri, Apr 5, 2019, 4:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

I really enjoy and want to see more of every single character on this show EXCEPT the two that keep being given most of the screen time. That is a frustrating place to be in.
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Mon, Apr 1, 2019, 9:36am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

OH, YOU!!!
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 5:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

@Tim C

I'll take it.

I'd forgotten to mention that the stabbed-in-the-eye thing has also been done by a certain cybernetic collective we're all familiar with...
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 2:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

I'd be surprised if it wasn't the Borg at this point. You've got holo-Control telling Leland "struggle is pointless" and choosing to adapt another's face and body as its representative in chilling reflection of Locutus. The similarities seem pretty clear, and intentional. And we know Discovery lacks the shame to pick from yet another existing Trek element.
Set Bookmark
Landon
Wed, Mar 27, 2019, 5:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Stalling-took far too long to get to the planet, underwhelming twists, too much is connected to everything else and that strains believability, seems the budget constraints are kicking in because this was stale, static, small, unimpressive in scope...fairly dissapointing after 3 or 4 good and great eps
Set Bookmark
Landon
Tue, Mar 26, 2019, 1:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

Absolutely loved it. It made me care about the characters and really captured my own deep sentiments about history as a history fan.
Set Bookmark
Landon
Mon, Feb 18, 2019, 3:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Errand of Mercy

Where in ssn 1 besides here and Arena have all powerful beings taught humanoids about non-violence??? Often its humanity-Kirk-teaching this lesson and others to others (A Taste of Armageddon), sometimes all-powerful beings and resisting them, such as in The Squire of Gothos and Where No Man Has Gone Before. I'm struggling to fit Kirks stance here with his stance on war in A Taste for Armageddon, I guess it kinda fits...
Next ►Page 1 of 11
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.