Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 253 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 11
Set Bookmark
Donald
Fri, Oct 11, 2019, 11:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

Great episode. I am watching it now.

Jammer’s reviews are pretty much hit and miss. This was a big miss.
Set Bookmark
Gary Gordon
Wed, Oct 2, 2019, 11:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Good Shepherd

Mortimer Harren (Jay Underwood) reminded me of Sheldon (Big Bang). This episode was written 7 years before Big Bang though.
Set Bookmark
Donald
Thu, May 30, 2019, 1:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Q2

2.5 to 3 stars.

This was a lighthearted comedy, not intended to be serious drama or examination of the meaning of what it would mean to encounter an omnipotent being, and you people are judging it as if it were the latter. That is an absurd category mistake.

The Q storyline was always meant to be funny. There is no way you could take any of it seriously in any of the series.

It would have been great if Voyager had been written to be a serious drama like BSG or even DS9, but since it wasn’t, you should take it for what it was and judge it episode by episode. Some episodes were meant to be taken seriously and some were not.
Set Bookmark
Don Meisner's Jubilee
Sun, May 19, 2019, 7:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Emergence

"I want an explanation Mr LaForge. Picard out. "


No shit! Their technology is soooooooooo flaky!

Picard's reaction after hearing about the Theta buildup and the mysterious force that saved their lives is every IT manager's life....

clearly the writers of this had no technical background if they think the shite systems could form an intelligence

I'm all for science fiction but this isn't consistent with the shitty (did I mention that?) systems as they are...

4/10 the lowest of the low
Set Bookmark
phaedon
Sat, Apr 27, 2019, 7:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

DISCO is a train wreck. This season was the worst, but I can't look away. I still can't figure out how they found Tig Notaro. The Sphere is the most ridiculously glossed over Macguffin of all time. All-seeing mom doesn't see the Red Angel stuck in a time loop? When Po showed up, I felt like I was watching Star Trek: NCIS. I will absolutely blow my colon if they bring Picard on for Season 3.
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 5:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Welp, Endgame reviews are upon us, so Jammer's run out of time to keep us interested in his review. See y'all in August :P
Set Bookmark
Eric McDonald
Mon, Apr 22, 2019, 12:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

This episode was awful. That being said, Carey died in the friendship one episode.
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Sat, Apr 20, 2019, 1:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Tim C

Never let it be said that I'm not a man of my word. Paying up now.

But I'm ticked off about what was now obviously just an elaborate fake-out by the writers. ;) It's not like I just made up the connection. The similarities were too close and drew too much attention to themselves to be interpreted any other way.
Set Bookmark
Scott Gordon
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 6:16am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

I was worried about young Kelly's rejection at first, but then I remembered that we were told only that he called her at 9:00 AM the next day. It was also implied that this was not an appropriate time to call and was probably a little off putting to most people. So, since Kelly's memory was wiped (Dr. Finn usually knows what she is doing), I convinced my self that in the original timeline, young Kelly probably react by saying that she didn't see it working out, Ed Mercer is very strong willed and probably got her to come around after the initial reaction. Oh well, at least I was able to satisfy myself with this, but I am not very hard to convince.
Set Bookmark
Sheldonari
Tue, Apr 16, 2019, 11:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

Sarek and Amanda getting in time to the ships, is something actually very straightforward, IMO.

Discovery gets to Enterprise's location at warp speed, not jumping. This is established in the previous episode, at T -1:48 (30 seconds before credits).

Control does the same, their ships travel at warp speed.

This takes 'normal' travel time.

This is also enough time for Sarek and Amanda to rendezvous in time.

Discovery did not spore jump to Enterprise, so no logical inconsistency is there.

Then, in this episode, Discovery spore jumps to the fifth signal, to Xahea.
Set Bookmark
Landon
Thu, Apr 11, 2019, 12:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

Time crystals are getting a little...or much too mystical and not science based for Star Trek...btw Pike was never portrayed as a person of "faith", at all, before by Roddenberry...do not like this contrivance...but this was still decent, nice tos connections
Set Bookmark
Brandon
Fri, Apr 5, 2019, 4:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

I really enjoy and want to see more of every single character on this show EXCEPT the two that keep being given most of the screen time. That is a frustrating place to be in.
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Mon, Apr 1, 2019, 9:36am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

OH, YOU!!!
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 5:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

@Tim C

I'll take it.

I'd forgotten to mention that the stabbed-in-the-eye thing has also been done by a certain cybernetic collective we're all familiar with...
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 2:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

I'd be surprised if it wasn't the Borg at this point. You've got holo-Control telling Leland "struggle is pointless" and choosing to adapt another's face and body as its representative in chilling reflection of Locutus. The similarities seem pretty clear, and intentional. And we know Discovery lacks the shame to pick from yet another existing Trek element.
Set Bookmark
Landon
Wed, Mar 27, 2019, 5:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Stalling-took far too long to get to the planet, underwhelming twists, too much is connected to everything else and that strains believability, seems the budget constraints are kicking in because this was stale, static, small, unimpressive in scope...fairly dissapointing after 3 or 4 good and great eps
Set Bookmark
Landon
Tue, Mar 26, 2019, 1:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

Absolutely loved it. It made me care about the characters and really captured my own deep sentiments about history as a history fan.
Set Bookmark
Landon
Mon, Feb 18, 2019, 3:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Errand of Mercy

Where in ssn 1 besides here and Arena have all powerful beings taught humanoids about non-violence??? Often its humanity-Kirk-teaching this lesson and others to others (A Taste of Armageddon), sometimes all-powerful beings and resisting them, such as in The Squire of Gothos and Where No Man Has Gone Before. I'm struggling to fit Kirks stance here with his stance on war in A Taste for Armageddon, I guess it kinda fits...
Set Bookmark
Landon
Thu, Feb 14, 2019, 6:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

2 1/2 or 3. The B plot for me seemed to be really annoyingly taking away from the main story, it also didn't serve or converge with the main plot at any point-not good. It was distracting and less interesting here. Also, this thing with the May creature is really, really dragging. So is yet another long term search for Spock story-not good. I for one do appreciate any decent attempt to explain discrepancies between series-theyre all supposed to inhabit the same living universe and thats a cool and special thing. So it sounds like I wasn't a fan, but everything else was interesting enough to get a barely passing grade from me. Same for the season overall so far.
Set Bookmark
Sheldonari
Fri, Feb 8, 2019, 8:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

Suru is the highlight of the episode, and of the series so far.

Now, that's what an empath should be.

Take that Deanna Troi.
Set Bookmark
Landon Haynes
Sat, Feb 2, 2019, 11:05am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

Another very good episode. Three stars. I was absolutely moved by the ending and the ep was packed with good scenes. My only worry was that it's premise was so obviously unoriginal, but they went some original places with it, as this show regularly does. I don't know why this is " 90's" version of a starship, but it's definitely a great McFarlane ode to TNG which for all its unoriginality, actually is pretty original. I'm glad the relationship will continue, unlike with In Theory. Good stuff, and genuinely sweet.
Set Bookmark
Landon
Sat, Jan 26, 2019, 6:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

Very good episode. Could not disagree more. How on earth is it contradicting its universes rules? Like what? It's also fairly original. The episode went from interesting to riveting after Kelly/Bortis were arrested. Like what on earth could this be about? -Astrology-cool. Never seen this tackled anywhere. And it needs to be. Well done. 3 1/2 stars
Set Bookmark
Landon Haynes
Mon, Jan 21, 2019, 7:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Nothing Left on Earth Excepting Fishes

3 1/2 stars. I actually thought it WAS a bunch of boring routine tropes 10 minutes in but then it really went some places. There was good dialouge, more bigger-scope settings off ship, and I really liked the message and the fishes line. The b plot was boring and out of place but at least the show ties in the bplots with the main story pretty well, still, b plots are not necessary. I liked some of krill Tyler's religious dialogue about morality mirroring religious talking points in the real world, though unfortunately Seth didn't give much of substance back despite being a vocal atheist himself. I would note regarding some comments above: I found Tyler's story in Discovery riveting and fascinating and I think this was indeed a very friendly jab, and also calling Treks secular humanism and cosmopolitan universalism "hippie" is rather derogatory, offensive, and inaccurate. It would be more accurate to call it scientific Enlightenment humanism or just Enlightenment values-you know those values that have done everything to better the world far beyond what it's ever been, the values enshrined in the UN Declaration of Human Rights, and our true salvation for the future as a global community of an interconnected, interdependent social species. I'm glad this shows on the air and Mac Farlane is mad talented.
Set Bookmark
Landon Haynes
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 8:26am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Destiny

Worf: All our gods are dead. Klingon warriors killed them long ago. - DS9 ssn 4, Homefront
Set Bookmark
Landon
Tue, Jan 15, 2019, 11:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Destiny

"The Ship" DS9 ssn 5:

Vorta: Do you have any gods captain?

Sisko: There are things I believe in...duty, Starfleet, the federation...
Next ►Page 1 of 11
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.