Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 306 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 13
Set Bookmark
DonMel
Tue, Mar 16, 2021, 8:29am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Insurrection

They say with age comes wisdom so the longer you live the more knowledge you posses, the more ypu learn from your mistakes and evolve intellectually.

Dave in MN said "But behavior-wise, I doubt a 120 year old with a young body wouldn't do all the things a younger person with the same body would: they'd have fun, have romantic partners, hold down a job, etc."

Yes but I doubt someone with 120 years of life experience would describe having fun the same way that a younger person would same body or not. Their choice in a romantic partner who they choose to invest time in would not be the same either nor what they'd consider doing for a living.

Just because your body does not grow doesn't mean your mind won't. Your outlook on life would be greatly affected the more you are alive therefore things that you are passionate about and even how you react to certain situations will change as a result of that.
Set Bookmark
DonMel
Tue, Mar 9, 2021, 6:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

@Katie Yes I agree I even said this I think just lask week on here that the premise of Voyager is depressing, but even through all the hostile aliens and false hope of returning to the AQ the crew, especially Harry, still managed to keep an optimistic outlook that someday they would make it home.

Also, Janeway as a Starfleet captain (inconsistent as she was written) tried her best to be a model representation of what the Federation and its values were while in the DQ.

They were still stopping to explore. They still used diplomacy as the primary reaction to conflict. They were still promoting peace. To me the show never felt depressing because of how determined they were to keep going and how Janeway for the most part never conformed to the environment around her.
Set Bookmark
DonMel
Mon, Mar 8, 2021, 4:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Expanse

Nicely put together finale full of continuity as it includes the Archer evading capture from the Klingons arc while introducing and laying the ground work for the upcoming season long Xindi arc.

There's been a massive terrorist attack on Earth that killed 7 million people, including Trip's sister. It hits home in the sense that it's Earth and also one of our own is directly affected. The 9/11 parallels work well here probably even more so at the time this episode came out.

Archer is informed by the Shadow man of the future that a race called the Xindi are responsible, that they must travel to a place called the Delphic Expanse to prevent further attacks from them. He instantly believes it and the fact that the High Command doesn't think he should go only makes him want to do it more. Archer would pretty much do anything if a Vulcan told him he couldnt.

Since the High Command doesn't agree with Archer's decision T'Pol is now torn between obeying her people and her new found loyalty to Enterprise. She's come along way from the arrogant Vulcan she was in the beginning who couldn't stand the smell of humans and Porthos. T'Pol actually cares for the crew now and have grown accustomed to being around them (I think it was the movie nights that did it lol). They aren't too pleased to see her go either. It's nice to watch her open up in her own little Vulcan way.

Archer and Trip's conversation when they are alone drinking in their regular clothes holds much weight and basically sets the tone for what's ahead. You get the sense that they are gonna have to temporarily put their explorer hats to the side to go on a mission to literally save the world. Things will take a dark turn and lines will have to be crossed. "Whatever it takes." It actually makes you feel anxious for what's to come!

3 and a half stars from me. Now on to season 3 let's see if it held up as good as it did the first watch.
Set Bookmark
DonMel
Mon, Mar 8, 2021, 9:17am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

I have no intention on joining the discussion I just wanted to applaud Jason R. on his view of things. Very interesting thoughts maybe even spot on.
Set Bookmark
DonMel
Sun, Mar 7, 2021, 8:25am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Thirty Days

The concept of an ocean planet was hella unique and aesthetically pleasing. The special effects in this show never fail (well 90% of the time).

I'm on Janeway's side with this one Tom had no right and deserved to be dressed down ...wasn't what he did basically terrorism? I just wish she'd kept the same enery for The Doctor on several upcoming occasions.

Someone in this thread compared Janeway to Trump ...no words just wow.
Set Bookmark
DonMel
Sat, Mar 6, 2021, 5:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Juggernaut

Bob said "B'Ehlanna is angry! What an interesting, fresh character development."

Literally her whole persona is making bitchy remarks, threatening to break your nose and hating being Klingon. All of which gets tired very quickly.

I do like how this episode demonstrating the parallels between B'Elanna's emotional toxic waste and the Malon's actual toxic waste. You can't dump your mess (anger) out wherever you want just because it's convenient. That negative energy will eventually start to affect everyone around, yourself included.
Set Bookmark
DonMel
Sat, Mar 6, 2021, 10:00am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Canamar

I enjoyed this one I would have to give it 3 stars. Not every episode has to have some deep social commentary to be good. It was fun, entertaining to watch and didn't involve Archer playing space cop which for me is a nice change.

Also, I genuinely don't mind rehashed or cliche plots as long as they make sense and at least tries to be original. I just look at it like 'hey I haven't seen these specific people in this situation before let's see how they handle it.' *shrugs*

Archer's bad boy criminal act leaves much to be desired. He maneuver effectively though gaining the trust of Kuroda, who I think is an interesting villain. Even though Archer is good at deceiving him he does pose as a real threat. As the story goes on you can see why he is persistent on not going back to Canamar.

The Enolians surprisingly admitted to the wrongful arrests without much of a hassle and proceeded to help, although you can pretty much tell what kind of people they are when one of them orders their patrol ships to destroy the prison vessel killing everybody when finding out Kuroda is aboard. Harsh.

Of course Archer has to do something stupid before it's all said and done or it wouldn't be right. Risking not just his life but everyone on the shuttle to save Kuroda who cleary doesn't want to go. This guy here man.. *shakes head*
Set Bookmark
DonMel
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 8:46am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Tinker Tenor Doctor Spy

I think I liked The Doctor better when he had terrible bedside manner. It's a fun episode but here is where the character starts to get annoying to me.

He's like a kid genius. He has all the answers so he thinks he can handle real life situations but lacks the emotional maturity. Which is why I don't understand why Janeway even considers his ECH request. One flick of a button turns off his ethical subroutines. Captains sometimes have to order someone to their death (indirectly) or kill to protect the ship. The Doctor wouldn't be able to do that without having a breakdown. So much could go wrong.

The daydreams themselves were entertaining. Of course all the women are fighting over him. When he had to actually pretend to be captain was hilarious! Him improvising and Janeway rubbing her temples visibly annoyed with him.

Although he could've just went to the holodeck if he wanted to live out a fantasy world instead of making himself drift off at times he should be paying attention.
Set Bookmark
DonMel
Mon, Mar 1, 2021, 12:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Outrageous Okona

Was I seeing things or was Wesley crushing hard on the Okona? He couldn't take his eyes off that man.

That brings to me ask with a show about the progressive optimistic future why no gay characters?
Set Bookmark
DonMel
Sun, Feb 28, 2021, 11:11am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: The Q and the Grey

I agree with Bob, Q on Voyager especially is just wrong. Anything other than him not sending them home seems like torture and not in a funny way ...not that any kind of torture is funny.
Set Bookmark
DonMel
Sat, Feb 27, 2021, 4:35am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Unforgettable

This was Robert Beltran's favorite episode? No wonder he wasn't a fan of Trek... he wanted to do pointless dull love stories.
Set Bookmark
DonMel
Fri, Feb 26, 2021, 11:20am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Prey

I really am having a hard time trying to understand Starfleet's approach to this compassion for all sentient beings thing and where is the line drawn. Are you supposed to help the wounded even if they are a known threat to you?

That's like the Defiant stopping to help an in distress Jem'Hadar ship. It doesn't make any sense.

Janeway is risking the whole crew for this alien that 1. broke onto the ship causing a breach 2. attacked crew members 3. Is being hunted by the Hirogen who have them outshipped.

I get showing compassion but this seems pretty dangerous. They are in a unique situation in the Delta Quadrant where the same rules shouldn't apply, or at least not be as black and white as Janeway tries to make them seem to Seven.

Sometimes I think she tried so hard to uphold her morals and commitment to the uniform that she forgot they were on their own far from home and didn't have the luxury to be the perfect little Starfleet officers.
Set Bookmark
Landon
Thu, Feb 25, 2021, 9:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Harbinger

Additional thought: I also couldn't believe Chosen Realm only got two stars, just because it had some (well done) action it seemed. Some action is actually ok esp when it's good right? I haven't found any of it tired or cliche. Chosen Realm had many great, powerful scenes and is among the better Trek episodes exploring the absurdity and danger of religion.
Set Bookmark
Landon
Thu, Feb 25, 2021, 9:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Harbinger

I agree with Triniray. This was an appealing episode that did some different things we haven't seen much of. It never pretends to be some deep classic episode. Not every episode needs to be. The sex and the Maco stuff is welcome and works. Trip and Tpol work. I'm going back over this season on blu ray and it quite works. I'd never seen The Shipment before and it really made me appreciate the Xindi more.The idea of multiple sentient and distinct species evolving and surviving together in the same planet is actually fascinating. It makes one think about earth and it's history. Anyway, I found the criticisms on this ep ridiculous even as I agree media is often too shallow and ADD. There was nothing embarassing about it.
Set Bookmark
DonMel
Thu, Feb 25, 2021, 8:07am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Hard Time

I kept thinking of how they would reverse this but he actually had to live with 20 years of prison and everything he experienced. I would've liked to see the Argrathi pay for wrongfully convicting him.

This show has a kink for torturing O'Brien poor guy, but somehow he never fully breaks and for the most part lives a happy life.

Also, the whole episode I was trying to figure out where I knew the actor who plays Ee'Char from. It's the Doc from Nightmare On Elm Street 3! One of my favorite movies.
Set Bookmark
DonMel
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 2:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Deadlock

Very true Bob, I see alot of people say Voyager had elements that were never fully explored and because of that the show didn't reach its full potential. I definitely understand that and I agree to a certain extent. The Federation/Maquis tension is a perfect example that could've lasted for years had they kept at it.

I think Voyager running the same time as DS9 had alot to do with that as well. Since DS9 became so serialized they didn't want both Trek shows that were on air at the time to have the same format. You could tune in to Voyager at any point and not have to see the previous episode to necessarily know what's going on.

The reset button that most have a problem with (which this episode Deadlock does in such a unique way that you have to give credit for), I appreciate that we don't have to see them suffer for extended periods.

There are times watching DS9 that I get sick of the Dominion and war. Defeat after defeat gets tiresome, but the storytelling is so good it keeps you coming back. I don't think Voyager would hold up the same way.

I guess I look at both shows as answers to each other in a way.
Set Bookmark
DonMel
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 6:00am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Deadlock

Idk what's the obsession with wanting to see Voyager torn to shreds and have them limping home throughout the whole series. People even wanted Year of Hell to be a season long arc. It seem like it just wouldn't work for Voyager.

Being the only people stuck in the Delta Quadrant is depressing enough, besides we have DS9 for all the heavy stuff. Let this show give you an hour of action then let it have its reset button. Enjoy Voyager for what it is.

This still had an intense and high stakes feel to me. The later half of season 2 has some of the best episodes in the early seasons.
Set Bookmark
DonMel
Tue, Feb 23, 2021, 5:32am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

Everybody wants to be human so bad I honestly don't see the appeal. Like the person above me said I wish I could delete bad experiences from my memory and continue on. As a hologram by all means reprogram me I won't put up a fight. I'll just happily exist in my naive little world, but that wouldn't make for an interesting character I guess.
Set Bookmark
DonMel
Mon, Feb 22, 2021, 7:42am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Marauders

Usually not a fan (absolutely hate) when Archer plays space cop but I found this one pretty good. No one likes to see someone get bullied. I think it would've worked better if the marauders weren't Klingons though. Doesn't seem very honorable to bully people that won't even fight back, and then they run when the colonists finally start to put up a fight. Klingons love battle.

Also these aren't violent people so I get why they don't want to just kill them. Direct solution? Yes but not everyone is going to be able to kill in self defense or otherwise. It's a nice and simple episode that gets the point across.
Set Bookmark
DonMel
Mon, Feb 22, 2021, 4:14am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

This is a great review Jammer I agree with everything you said. The Thaw is one of those episodes you either absolutely hate or absolutely love, I'm the latter. It's weird, fun, creepy all at the same time and not many episodes can pull that off. The entire last scene to the fade out damn near gave me chills! Leave it to Janeway to overcome fear.
Set Bookmark
DonMel
Fri, Feb 19, 2021, 3:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

Archer is all emotion no brains I wish he'd stop trying to tell T'Pol that's all that humans are. Speaking of T'Pol she's the only one with any sense on that ship. Must be the logic.

That funeral scene was pretty cool too.
Set Bookmark
DonMel
Fri, Feb 19, 2021, 8:25am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: The Voyager Conspiracy

This one was very clever and entertaining. I commend the writers for the continuity going back to previous episodes and events, also Jeri Ryan for memorizing all that dialogue! Her delivery of it all made me laugh so hard my first time watching it. Seven literally blurting out dates and accusations... priceless! I can't help but to compare her being overloaded with information trying to put two and two together to going down a rabbit hole of conspiracy theories on YouTube hahaha we've all done it.

I can see why Janeway and Chakotay started to believe Seven though. It's easy for the viewers not to fall for it but without knowing what we know and absoring all that information with no time to process it could all seem plausible. The scene where they are suspicious of each other was pretty funny lol at least they figured it out shortly afterwards. They were just talking about rumors on the ship though which makes this whole thing ironic.
Set Bookmark
DonMel
Tue, Feb 16, 2021, 8:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

Janeway was so badass in this episode! The twists and turns just kept coming how could anyone say it was boring and predictable? Damn having that much foresight must suck if you can't enjoy an episode as good as this one.

I have to say I thought Janeway fell for him, I owe her an apology. He was right her selflessness makes for an easy target but in the end she never trusted him and was always one step ahead. This is where I knew Captain Janeway was no slouch.

The only part I didn't like was them transporting the alien from his ship because he didn't want to help lol what? Janeway you have people boarding your ship and forcing inspections on you and your crew, you know how wrong it feels to be violated like that so why do it to him? Other than that 4 stars.
Set Bookmark
DonMel
Mon, Feb 15, 2021, 7:55am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Statistical Probabilities

Episodes like this and "Hippocratic Oath" really make me hate Bashir. First he is feeling sympathy for the Jem'hadar and works on a cure to make them stronger now here he suggests that the Federation surrender the war to them. Dude are you secretly working for the Dominion?

Then he thinks because he is genetically engineered that he's the smartest and what he thinks is always right "I know what's best for everyone how dare you not see that?" That and his sense of moral superiority makes him such an unlikable character to me.
Set Bookmark
DonMel
Sat, Feb 13, 2021, 5:07am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Dead Stop

Almighty Archer still quite fresh into space makes it his job to answer every distress call and be self righteous all through the quadrant can't stand the fact that he has to ask for help, that's hilarious. His ego is too big for his own good.

Otherwise this was a interesting and unique episode. Nice concept, visuals and suspense. After so many Trek plots it's hard to come up with something new. I like how the previous episode ties into this one's plot. Continuity isn't a must but it's always nice to see.

And another thing, DAMN Travis hiding all that body under that uniform. Ok, I'm done.
Next ►Page 1 of 13
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.