Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 39 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Dominick
Fri, Jun 9, 2017, 7:25am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Pathfinder

Loved this episode, I can forgive the obvious plot hole (it being practically impossible to predict Voyager's current whereabouts) because the story was fun to watch and the emotional payoff in the end was great, had me in tears :')
Set Bookmark
Dominic Jerry Nardi Jr.
Tue, Apr 25, 2017, 6:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

@Peter G., yes, you are right. That is a pretty glaring continuity gap. That said, I can't get too upset about it because Star Wars is a franchise that has always played loose with continuity. Remember, Obi-Wan said Luke's father died, yet we later learn what he said was from a "certain point of view." Heck, Obi-Wan ages 40 years in between ROTS and ANH. Star Wars fans have always had to retcon inconsistencies. I wish we didn't have to, but for me at least the ending of Rogue One doesn't ruin the movie.
Set Bookmark
dominc
Thu, Sep 8, 2016, 9:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Eye of the Beholder

I actually sort like this episode, a lot in certain ways, and I think that's because I'm a sucker for this kind of creepy surrealism. Another reason I like the episode is for the cool set of the inside of the nacelle, and the plasma waterfall thing.

My main problem with this episode is how everything comes to a screeching halt when Troi is "woken up" for real by Worf tapping her on the shoulder and we realize half the episode was a hallucination that occurred over the course of a couple of seconds. Then the episode was over. The ending was abrupt and such a let-down.
Set Bookmark
Dominic Jerry Nardi Jr.
Mon, Dec 14, 2015, 7:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: Trailer: Star Trek Beyond

@John W, I agree. It's incredibly hypocritical that Pegg complains about sf/fantasy/superhero movies as being superficial, yet when he's given the reigns to help write the next Star Trek film he seems headed in the same direction. Shame he didn't take his own advice and try to present viewers with better material.

RIP Star Trek: 1966-2009
Set Bookmark
Domi
Sun, Oct 12, 2014, 10:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Unnatural Selection

Call me crazy but I actually like this one, although my opinion might be different if I had watched TOS first.

I would like to address some alleged plot holes and allege my own as well. First, someone noted that it was a little too convenient that no one boarded the Lantree as would normally be expected--they exercised an abundance of caution before there was a reason to believe such was necessary. But is it really true that the Lantree crew could pass the disease to other people? The way the disease is explained, it would see that one would have to come into contact with the genetically engineered children in order to contract disease, as the children's immune systems emit antibodies that change human DNA. I don't see anything in that explanation that a victim could then pass on the same disease to another.

Also why did Data beam up, thus abandoning the shuttlecraft at Darwin Station? Furthermore, why did they beam the child off the shuttle and back to the station, only to take the shuttle there anyway? Pulaski was already exposed, although I suppose that one could make the argument that the longer one is contact with the children, the quicker the illness progresses, thus they wanted to get rid of him ASAP.

Finally, it always irritates me a little when Star Trek invents was of avoiding having characters speak (because he's telephatic, of course) so that they don't have to pay for an "actor".
Set Bookmark
Domi
Fri, Oct 3, 2014, 10:00am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Starship Down

Something wasn't quite right in this episode. The whole thing just seemed a bit off. The characters seemed so nonchalant about the fact the ship was about to be destroyed. The actors seemed bored. The pacing was very slow. The direction, lighting, and music seemed very phoned-in and bland. The ‚ÄĚcharacter growth" subtext (e.g., Worf) was very ham-fisted. Not every episode needs to be about characters finding themselves.
Set Bookmark
Dominic Jerry Nardi Jr.
Fri, Sep 19, 2014, 2:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

What a shame, but I think you're right.

I checked STID on Amazon recently. There are almost 8,000 reviews and a very positive (4.5 stars) score. That makes it almost as popular as Avengers. What's going on? Does the general public really like this movie so much? Am I so far out of the mainstream?
Set Bookmark
Domi
Thu, Sep 18, 2014, 7:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Explorers

Why does Jake change his mind about going on the trip? I thought he had a date. It seemed to be implied that he broke up with his girlfriend, but then it was swept under the rug.
Set Bookmark
Domi
Sat, Sep 13, 2014, 10:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Through the Looking Glass

If this is a 3.5-star episode I should just quit watching DS9 right now. I find the whole mirror universe storyline to be incredibly contrived, and this episode full of cliches. The mirror universe Kira was a character on par with that of Doctor Chaotica from the Voyager holodeck, and by that I mean a caricature more appropriate for a comedy episode. The only redeeming quality of this installment is the interaction between Sisko and Jennifer which lasts all of four minutes.
Set Bookmark
Domi
Wed, Sep 3, 2014, 3:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Meridian

Here is another example of a DS9 episode automatically getting a 1/2 to 1-star bonus for the sake of being a DS9 episode. The love interest between Jadzia and Deral was as bad as 7of9 and Chakotay. And Avery Brooks hasn't had acting this poor since the pilot episode, he looked like a child actor in a school play. The B-story was better!
Set Bookmark
Domi
Tue, Sep 2, 2014, 11:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

I agree with the 2-star rating, but not the actual review. I like the very beginning with O'Brien, Sisko, and Jake, and I also like the Odo/Quark scenes. The rest was either cliche ridden, cartoonish, or too much like TNG's Disaster.
Set Bookmark
Domi
Fri, Aug 22, 2014, 9:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Collaborator

Three stars? I could not be more bored.
Set Bookmark
Domi
Sat, Aug 16, 2014, 7:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

I was waiting for Sisko to shout at Alixus something about there being four lights.
Set Bookmark
domi
Sun, Jul 20, 2014, 11:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: The Void

So I guess what's old is new again, and by that I mean the "Season 1 Janeway" is back and the one that made an alliance with the Borg and almost murdered the Equinox crew is gone? Talk about inconsistent writing.

But really bothers me in this episode is that Chakotay and Tuvok (and others) gang up on Janeway and give her a hard time about wanting to stick to principles. Do they really want to become thieves? I don't get it.

The argument between Paris and Seven about the salt did absolutely nothing for the episode, or the characters, and it was not funny.

Despite these and other grips, I liked the episode anyway. Btw, it was cool to see a ship firing on Voyager from the mess hall. We don't get enough views out actual windows on this show.
Set Bookmark
domi
Wed, Jul 16, 2014, 12:18am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Shattered

Although this was "like" a clip show, it was way better than an actual clip show.

This review tells me that Jammer really did not like Voyager as a series and probably should have stopped watching it.

I would have chosen this quote instead:

"It sounds like it's going to be one disaster after another on this ship."
"You're going to have the opportunity to study things no human has ever seen before."
"Including some very large germs."

It's a comical exchange but Mulgrew's delivery nails it.

Another favorite was Doc: "Tell me more about this...mobile emitter" as the door slams shut on his face.

Overall I thought the episode was great--some very touching dramatic moments as well as many hilarious ones. It was cool to see some of the old characters, as well as the current characters in the past and future. (On that note, this episode did a much better job than Fury, in which a lot of the "characters in the past" didn't look quite right.)

I do appreciate the focus being on Chakotay for a change (normally he is a cardboard cutout, but he did pretty well here), and the fact that a number of characters were utilized. Put together with the previous episodes, "Flesh and Blood" parts 1 and 2, gives me hope that Voyager finally stopped being the "7 of 9 and the Borg" show and started being Voyager again.

Probably the only scene I didn't care for was the Chaotica one. It might have been okay if it was shorter. Also, although I like Seska coming back, she is portrayed by the writers as a little too cunning which gets on my nerves.

I do have one question though. How come whenever Janeway travels between time periods, nobody ever asks her why her hair suddenly changed?

BTW I assumed she knew about the cider some other way. Chakotay said he was hiding it from Neelix, not from everybody.
Set Bookmark
domi
Sun, Jun 29, 2014, 11:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Live Fast and Prosper

"They're hailing. It's...Captain Janeway."
"Our Janeway...or theirs?"

lmao.

Agree with Jammer and Chris P. about this episode's flaws. I also found the ending rushed and confusing.
Set Bookmark
domi
Sun, Jun 29, 2014, 10:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Good Shepherd

I found the guest characters annoying and unsympathetic. Once the stage was set, the rest of the show was dull, predictable, and again cliche ridden. Hypochondriac gets infected with an alien centipede? How appropriate. He shouldn't worry though, it probably means him no harm and seeks peaceful coexistence.

By the way, you don't get to be captain of Starfleet's newest ship without knowing the deck plan. Even if she didn't before, she had 6 years to become familiar with a whole 15 decks. Come on. I know that scene was meant for comic relief, but this stupid writing makes Janeway look bad.

The only thing I liked about this episode was the brief exterior shots at the beginning and end. I remember them doing this occasionally in the first couple of seasons, then they seemed to forget about it? It's a shame this effect wasn't used more.
Set Bookmark
domi
Mon, Jun 23, 2014, 10:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

I knew this was going to be a terrible episode within the first 60 seconds. I thought Tom's turning Harry's holo-girlfiend into a cow was mean-spirited. And I was stunned when Janeway tried to persuade us that Fair Haven was more important than getting Tom and Harry back ASAP.

With as many things that have gone wrong with the holodecks on Star Trek, and especially on Voyager, you'd think holodecks would be outlawed by now. I can picture Ralph Nader's next book, "Unsafe with safeties on", or something like that.

The one part I thought was cool was when the computer said, "62 percent compliance."

Everything else has been done before in TNG.
Set Bookmark
domi
Sun, Jun 22, 2014, 9:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Virtuoso

It seemed as though the writers weren't sure whether they wanted a comedy or a serious drama and so they tried to have both--and that didn't work so well. I agree with Jammer that this episode had high high points, and low low points, but I think the two-star rating is harsh. I would give it a 2.5 at least.

I loved the final concert scene and it is that scene which I believe really makes this epsiode a worthy one. (One thing I wasn't clear on though was whether or not the crew at that point knew that the Doctor had changed his mind and would not be staying on the planet after all. After his final performance, they show Janeway wiping away tears, and I wondered whether she cried because of the music, or because at the time she thought it would be the last time she saw the Doctor?)

Jammer wrote, "Tincoo brings out her new-and-improved singing hologram, which sings a technical piece that's truly weird and emotionally vacant; a human would call it awful. It's a spectacle that's simultaneously bizarre, hideous, hilarious, and painfully heartbreaking. "

I wouldn't call the piece "awful" or "hideous" but agree with all the other adjectives. The piece was so weird and bizarre that it was hilarious. Yet I still find it interesting.

And it was sung by the hollowest of holograms (Picardo did a great job playing the emotionless Qomar-ized hologram), hilarious (lol @ Janeway's eyebrow-raise), and heartbreaking because you realize that the Doctor has just been replaced by the Qomar in the same way that you might excitedly replace an old refrigerator with a new one that has an ice maker.

I liked Janeway's line at the end and Mulgrew's delivery: "Resume your normal activities. All of them."
Set Bookmark
domi
Sun, Jun 22, 2014, 9:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Memorial

I hated this one. Predictable, boring, and a retread of several past episodes.
Set Bookmark
domi
Sun, Jun 22, 2014, 9:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Tsunkatse

This episode is okay entertainment...but in the end, pretty bland and forgettable. Nothing special or memorable at all. I agree with Jakob that Virtuoso is better.
Set Bookmark
domi
Tue, Jun 17, 2014, 1:40am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Dragon's Teeth

I found this episode to be interesting considering the complex political and ethical factors involved. Although the "alien double-crosser" was a little bit predictable, the episode still had plenty of suspenseful and unique elements. It's hard to understand why this episode got a lower rating than the shallow and cliche-filled "Alice".
Set Bookmark
domi
Tue, Jun 17, 2014, 1:28am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: One Small Step

Well I've had enough of Voyager finding random junk from the Alpha quadrant. I have a better chance of randomly and accidentally finding a 100 million dollar lottery ticket in a haystack whilst simultaneously being struck by lightning whilst simultaneously being attacked by a shark.

The plot was contrived, the acting was terrible (especially Chakotay...albeit he was written poorly in the first place), and the drama was forced--and all this was wrapped up in the most pretentious package since Timeless.
Set Bookmark
Domi
Mon, Jun 16, 2014, 8:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: The Voyager Conspiracy

Clearly some people don't get dry humor. I thought this episode was not just hilarious, but an ingenious use of prior Voyager events providing continuity.

True, Janeway and Chakotay were a little too easily persuaded by Seven, but the exposition explains why -- her just-as-convulted firefly theory turned out to be true...and they realized how silly it was after the fact.

I was worried toward the end that Seven was going to successfully destroy the space slingshot. That would have been a huge mistake on the writer's part.
Set Bookmark
Domi
Sun, Jun 15, 2014, 12:17am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Alice

"We already have a full complement of shuttles" has got to be the dumbest line in all 7 seasons of Voyager.

One thing that struck me about this episode was that it wasn't quite as bad as I remembered it. It was mainly the ending that was abrupt and unsatisfying. The motives of the ship's builders, and the ship itself as personified by Alice, never explained.

There were too many cliche lines. "Just you, me, and the stars." "What's that?" "Home!" Please.

I did like the scene in which Seven confronts Paris in Astrometrics and Alice appears and tells him what to do.

In the beginning of the episode, the way the alien trader recognized Neelix as a fellow trader was a nice touch for continuity's sake (as was Neelix's reminiscing about his ship). In fact the opening scene where we met the alien trader reminded me quite a bit of the way we met Neelix.

Anyway I don't get the two-and-a-half star rating--it seems Jammer has been grading on a curve lately. With a better ending this episode might deserve two stars, otherwise it gets 1.5 from me.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.