Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 763 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 31
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Wed, Jan 15, 2020, 1:56am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Past Prologue

Hello Everyone!

Plain and simple... Garak.

For me, when this first aired, I figured Garak was trying to over-emulate human behavior, for a sinister reason... he was acting that way to ingratiate himself with a naive Julian

We knew nothing about Garak, just that he was the lone Cardassian on the station for some reason. The C's we'd seen recently valued family (the pilot episode being just after "Chain of Command", I think), but were pretty strict in general, and condescending and/or humorless toward humans (the exception being the fellow in the bar ("The Wounded"), as it seems a bit of synth/alcohol makes even C's a bit more chummy/chatty).

Garak was acting differently, enough that it made us notice and keep a side-eye on him. I figured it was all part of his plan.

In conclusion, he was being above-and-beyond with his niceties to get Bashir interested in him, since that wasn't how C's normally acted. And nothing more.

I really try to remember these as I first saw them, and not let what might have happened later cloud me...

Have a Great Day Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sat, Jan 4, 2020, 12:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Desert Crossing

Hello Everyone!

Heya @Quibbles, Archer had a small line about a protocol (or training, that I've never heard before or since) that has you looking at the surroundings as you fly into a place. He'd spotted the building on the way in, only 30km away (!), if I recall correctly.

Along with some others, I wondered why they didn't just close the door to the shuttle and try to take off. And it seemed the only survival gear they grabbed was water. There must be a all-season hat in there as well, and later thought about how badly their necks were burning. Heck, as an actor, I'd just tell them I wanted Something made for my head to keep the sun off of it. But the sun and I don't get along too well. :)

Have a Great Day Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
domzer
Mon, Dec 23, 2019, 2:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: His Way

great episode. kira and odo are so great with each other and a sweet fun episode to finally break the ice... the kiss at the end with them not giving a crap about what anyone thinks was awesome

james darren is fantastic here... i remember him from tj hooker and he looks so good... and what a terrific voice. i think they did an album of his ds9 songs. vic fontaine was such a breath of fresh air considering how much dread is going on in the galaxy at the moment.

they still do the rat pack songs inspired by all of this at big trek conventions... nana did it this year... jeffrey combs and max and casey do it...

this episode works better in the streaming era... if you had to wait a week and are dying for some dominion stories you'd be disappointed but with streaming it's right on to the next one.

i liked how there was no b-story

the scenario with odo thinking he's with hologram kira but she's the real one is pretty original... nice twist on a screwball setup.

and loved the idea that vic can access any part of the ship... it makes sense that since bashir is a genetically engineered genius he could create a sentient hologram. though it brings you back to the episode where they were gonna use bashir as the hologram dr prototype or something...

3.5 stars
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Tue, Dec 3, 2019, 8:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: I, Borg

Hello Everyone!

My thought was if, for example, the Borg assimilated an entire planet or species, some of the ladies would be with child. The maturation chambers would then be used to bring up the children.

Oh, and they'd assimilate children as well, down to the wee bairns.

I don't figure they'd bother with making their own babies, unless they were stranded without enough drones, or something...

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Mon, Oct 28, 2019, 7:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Seventh Season Recap

Hello Everyone!

I was thinking about how they knew the series was ending, but finished it with one episode. Only Neelix got a sendoff. I still believe they missed the boat, not having something like, oh, at least a two or three episode arc, with the last half of the last one showing them getting acclimated to Earth again. I had forgotten how there were no episodes, apart from Neelix's, that allowed us to say goodbye, if even for a few moments.

I'd read a few comments over the years about them wanting episodes to be somewhat self-contained, for the casual viewer. I understand that can help if just sitting down to watch one now, but if any show screamed for continuity, it was this one. And back in the day, I didn't know any casual viewers, or any who said they watched it here and there to see a catsuit. It was all or nothing. Nearly everyone I knew who watched it, recorded it to VHS for their collection.

While there were characters I enjoyed, watching a few shows a week made me realize how some of them just had too many episodes dedicated to them. I liked Doctor and Seven, but believe they went to the well a few too many times. Also, there were no characters I truly disliked. They just "were" and I, along with my buddies, accepted them as-is. None of the folks I talked Trek with ever mentioned they hated this or that character, but we all had ones we liked a bit better.

Eh, I think that's about it for now. Thanks, again, Jammer for the wonderful site.

Take care... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Mon, Oct 28, 2019, 7:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Hello Everyone

A few mild thoughts on this one that I don't recall seeing above. They might be there, I'll admit my eyes glazed over a few times reading all the messages...

There was an episode where the "Time Police" came and got Braxton before he could change the timeline, even though he didn't seem to be considering it right then. Why wouldn't they go after Janeway? Maybe she was just setting things right. :)

With the Borg skill at adapting, wouldn't that special armour plate and weapons be nearly useless against them in a short time? It should make Starfleet head-and-shoulders above the other races in the Alpha quadrant, though. Oh, wait, they would probably just shelve it for 15 years or so while studying it, like Voyager seemed to do with every advance they obtained... heh.

I agree they should have gotten to Earth a few episodes earlier, then dealt with the aftermath. Not as bleak as BSG would later do when they found Earth, but just a general unease from some of the crew could have happened. I would understand some of them having a problem adjusting to normal society or regular Starfleet again, and instead getting a nice civilian ship (with a few augmentations), picking a direction (maybe... up?) and heading out. Why, it could even be a spinoff! *ducks quickly*

Have a Great Day... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Fri, Sep 20, 2019, 5:42am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Dark Frontier

Hello Everyone!

I always like reading Elliott, even if I don't agree with what they have to say every time.

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 2:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Wounded

Strange how something can just strike a person so funny:

Kardashian War...

I had to take off my glasses, wipe my eyes, take a sip of coffee, all before I could continue.

I'm picturing nice-looking but largely expensive, useless ships; with huge engines.

Enjoy the day everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Thu, Jul 18, 2019, 6:05am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Conspiracy

Hello Everyone

From the time I watched this first run, to the last time a couple of years ago, I always thought the way he malevolently said "peaceful co-existence" meant that was the last thing they wanted. He said it to mock the Feds, not offer the hand (heh) of peace. Federation sentient beings were taken over and at least one ship was destroyed along the way, with the loss of all hands. This was an invasion, pure and simple, and they stopped it.

I do recall being a bit surprised they made it all explody, instead of beaming it to a holding cell, but I think it is a case of shoot first/remove the threat, and figure out the rest later.

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sat, Jun 29, 2019, 8:28am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

@Bobbington Mc Bob

Heh, I liked how you put that, at the end. And two manly things I can still do, as well. :D

Regards... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Fri, Jun 28, 2019, 10:48am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Nightingale

Hello Everyone!

My main concern was with helping the Kraylor get their cloaking device. We've seen races in ST who were destroyed, or nearly so, because they were "bad" and there was a good reason for them to be confined to their own world.

In Voyager, we've had the Trabe be homeless because they'd been jerks, and we've had those few thousand folks in the 800-year-old ships who'd been naughty in the past as well (not on my normal computer, so I'm not looking the names up today). Now these folks with Sheppard Book (he even had the same haircut as on Firefly!) ask for help to escape their world, which is under blockade. Until I knew if the blockade was bad, or for the good of the galaxy, I'd not help either one of them.

As far as promotions, it has been noted here and elsewhere that there were only two that we ever saw/noticed: Paris and Tuvok. I don't really believe those count. Paris had no rank when he started, and flipped back and forth between Ensign and Jr. Grade, while Tuvok started out as a Lt. Commander. I think they just fouled up by giving him Lieutenant pips and kept him there, and fixed/retconned it later.

I figured since we didn't see anyone else ever get promoted, they decided to leave everyone where they were at, and if/when they got home, the ranks could be adjusted. I mean, if it were to actually be 70 years to get home (as originally postulated), who'd care what your rank was when you retired on the generational ship? That was how I thought of it anyway. :)

Have a Great Day Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
Dom
Thu, May 23, 2019, 6:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

So the Picard teaser:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f3om4V_-Y0Q&feature=share

It's fine. It's a teaser. There's obviously a mystery about where Picard's been. He's no longer in Starfleet. He's downcast. It's beautifully shot. Didn't make me more or less excited for the show.
Set Bookmark
Dom
Thu, May 23, 2019, 5:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@William B, it's amazing how many people forget that, but it's so true. Reboots can actually be good if you actually get good writers and have some good ideas. Battlestar Galactica and Rise of Planet of the Apes are to me the gold standard for reboots.
Set Bookmark
Dom
Wed, May 22, 2019, 5:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Chrome, yes, that's the one. I tuned in because I was a Darkwing Duck fan, but came away very impressed. It also had some interesting things to say about what it means to be a fan. I agree, it's a bit puzzling that Ducktales has better social commentary than the current Star Trek show.
Set Bookmark
Dom
Tue, May 21, 2019, 10:00am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi, absolutely. I've been really frustrated with the hypocrisy in fandom. I've seen people who claim to just want a "genuine dialogue" with fans who disagree, and then turn around and trash those fans when they do disagree. People are far to ready to dismiss any opinion that doesn't line up with theirs.

@Chrome, I just watched the most recent episode of Ducktales and you're not wrong. I hadn't been watching that show, but it's actually quite good (and clever). If I had more time I'd dig into it.
Set Bookmark
Dom
Sun, May 19, 2019, 9:22am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Booming, at the end of the day, I do tend to err on the side of giving fans more rather than less freedom to voice their opinions. Disney, HBO, and CBS are massive corporations and already have a lot of power to shape the public discussion about their products. The actors and writers give interviews, hold events at cons, etc to promote their work. Your average fan on Twitter or Youtube is nothing compared to that. I do worry about a world in which these corporations deliberately whip up fans of their works to shout down fans who are more critical. I think we already saw a bit of that with The Last Jedi, which was a PR disaster. I refrained from talking too publicly about certain parts of that film for months because I didn't want to get labeled as a sexist or racist manbaby. Now, a worrying trend on the other side is that in aggregate fans do seem to have increasing power to shape the public discourse on the other side. I do think part of that is the media attention the most extreme parts of fandom get. If mainstream media outlets hadn't covered the GoT or Last Jedi petitions, I doubt they would have gotten nearly as many signatures. The outrage industrial complex shines a spotlight on fan outrage, increases fan outrage, and so on.
Set Bookmark
Dom
Sun, May 19, 2019, 7:53am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Booming,

I actually agree strongly with your first point on GoT. I was grinning during the episode, not because I'm a sociopath, but because for years I felt like that's where Dany's arc was going but I didn't think the show would have the guts to go through with it. Glad I was wrong.

I actually meant the Washington Post article (posted much higher in the thread), not that Vox article. I find it to be a useful attempt to structure film criticism. It suggests we ask three questions: "What was the artist trying to achieve? Did he or she achieve it? And was it worth doing?" What I like is that it gets us away from actually critiquing the art on its own terms rather than measuring it against our own expectations. So for me, for example, Discovery in Season 1 was trying to tell a war story, but it didn't succeed in the building the stakes or providing a satisfactory payoff. As much as I might want my Trek to be high-concept episodic sci-fi, Discovery was never going for that, so that might be a reason why I personally don't enjoy the show, but that's not a constructive critique of the show.

Which gets back to my point above. There's a difference between allowing fans to have their criticisms and those criticisms being constructive and leading to productive discussion. I believe strongly fans can and should be allowed to say whatever they want about a show and not attacked. At the same time, while I respect their right to disagree, that doesn't mean I have to respect their argument. If someone is launching ad hominem attacks, I'd say don't engage. That person just isn't worth your time. People online seem to think we're going to persuade people who disagree with us, but we just aren't. The social science on persuasion shows that it's much, much harder to get people to change their minds with facts and reason than most people believe.

You're right though, the line between critiques of the show and attacks on fans can perhaps become a bit blurry. Is "the writers must think the audience is stupid" an attack on show or on fans? I could see how someone might think they're just criticizing the art, but fans of the show would take it as a personal slight.
Set Bookmark
Dom
Sat, May 18, 2019, 10:38am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@booming, the Washington Post article I posted above is a good guide to constructive criticism. Criticizing a story because it's not the story you want isn't good practice. There's a difference between "it didn't meet MY expectations" and "it didn't meet the expectations set up in the story itself"
Set Bookmark
Dom
Sat, May 18, 2019, 10:24am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Booming, I probably wasn't clear, I was talking about criticism generally, including but not exclusively Disco. I don't know of the creators of Disco attaching fans, but Trek websites and Disco fans certainly have attacked other fans. With Star Wars, people associated with Lucasfilm certainly attacked fans (and I don't just mean calling out bigots).

I'd certainly never deny an artist's right to feel hurt! What we're seeing though I think is fundamentally different. As you alluded to, I think this is more about companies trying to shut down negative criticism. Ultimately, I come down on the side of saying ANY critique of the art is fair, whereas critiques of the artist - especially ones focusing on the artist's race or gender - should not be fair game. If people disagree with a critique, they can muster the evidence and analysis to support their side.

With all due respect, I do wonder if your attitude about GoT episode 5 isn't part of the problem. Why would people going "crazy" increase your enjoyment of the story? Isn't that a bit sadistic? Schadenfreude much? Why not just enjoy/dislike the story for what it is and let people who disagree go their own way?
Set Bookmark
Dom
Sat, May 18, 2019, 8:19am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Booming, it's all over the internet, include sometimes in these forums fans attacking other fans. Vox just published an article about this:

https://www.vox.com/culture/2019/5/16/18618425/let-people-enjoy-things-criticism

I obviously don't condone people sending vile messages to creators, and it's a shame that it happens, but there's actually a pretty simple solution: don't check Twitter. I get that creators have to post things on social media, but they don't need to actually respond to every tweet. For fans, I'd say something similar. If someone disagrees with you, don't attack the person, attack the argument. If a bunch of fans start a petition to remake a film or TV show, ignore them. It's their right to be dumb (for the record, I loved the recent episode of Game of Thrones).

What we're seeing online isn't just disagreement about a movie or TV show, it's this notion that a lot of fans and creators have that disagreement itself can't be tolerated. I think a lot of fans want to feel like there's consensus and the fact of the matter is with millions of people out there consensus might just not be possible.

Huge caveat to this: if someone is being a bigot or harassing other people online, it absolutely makes sense to call them out. I don't know if that's always the most effective approach, but that's certainly morally defensible (I think blocking or ignoring trolls is probably more effective - trolls thrive on conflict).
Set Bookmark
Dom
Sat, May 18, 2019, 7:21am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi, I agree and I was trying to support your point. I was also trying to go a step further though and defend the idea of criticism in general. But you're right, and I think one thing you point to shows a disturbing trend in pop culture. Back then, showrunners and actors and studios didn't publicly trash their fans. Yes, it must be frustrating to get letters or tweets condemning the show, but that's part of the process of the game. That's an inherent risk of putting your art into the world for all to see. Now, some of the people associated with these shows, professional critics, Trek websites, and fellow fans attack fans critical of a TV show or movie. And unfortunately this is a problem with both sides. Fans who don't like a show will harass critics, fans, etc who disagree. This level of personal attack is new for pop culture and deeply frustrating. We should all vigorously talk about our opinions about a show, but refrain from attacking the people expressing those opinions.
Set Bookmark
Dom
Thu, May 16, 2019, 5:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi, agree very much. We're in this weird place with pop culture discourse where we not only disagree about the quality of a movie or TV show, but also about the extent to which it's legitimate to critique that quality. Vox just had a good piece about this with respect to Game of Thrones, but could equally apply to Discovery and The Last Jedi:

https://www.vox.com/culture/2019/5/16/18618425/let-people-enjoy-things-criticism

I generally liked the DS9 doc, but I thought that first scene came across like an undeserved pity fest. People need to realize that when you're talking about a pop culture franchise like Star Trek, millions of people watch it. Millions. That's a big number. That means you're always going to get a broad spectrum of opinion. Even if only 0.1% of people send nasty letters, that's still a 1,000 people. Fortunately, at the time the writers of DS9 had enough confidence in the show and pushed ahead.

There's another aspect to this discussion the doesn't get discussed nearly enough. A lot of these complaints about DS9 and TNG came during their first two seasons. A lot of fans, and even the DS9 doc, want to portray this as evidence that Trek fans are always resistant to change. But guess what? The first seasons of both shows were pretty bad! Would anyone associated with Trek really defend "Move Along Home" or "Code of Honor"? Sometimes the fan complaints were ridiculous (the captain's bald!), sometimes they were rude, but I also don't think the writers deserved glowing compliments at that point in their respective shows. If they hadn't gotten complaints, they might have gotten complacent, and then the shows wouldn't have pivoted around the end of Season 2 to become the classics that we all know and love. And guess what? Most of the fan complaints stopped once the shows got better!

Call me old fashioned, but the best complaint to fan criticism is to make a good show. Not to give in to fan demands or lavish fan service, but to make a quality piece of storytelling that you're proud of.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Tue, May 14, 2019, 1:49am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Deadly Years

Hello Everyone!

@Jason R.

I really must agree with most of your comments. My thought is (without reviewing the comments again), how could that fellow be a Commodore, above a Captain, having never commanded a ship? Did he get that commission by being a good "supplies" commander, over time? A "chair-bound paper-pusher"?

Then he dis-regards the comments of the junior officers about traveling across the neutral zone. Is there a bulge in it they cannot go around? Or are they on the other side so, so far away that they have to cut across it to save time and they'll wave hello to Romulus and Remus along the way? Even an idiot would have known to take the fastest safe passage that doesn't break the treaty.

On the other hand, when I was 12, and Checkov finds the body, I was hooked/stunned. And we had ships shooting? Oh my gosh! I still have a soft spot for this episode, but not as soft as it used to be. Even then, I wondered how the Commodore could be so... stupid. He'd have been "retired" as soon as they got back to the Starbase....

Enjoy the day Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Sat, May 11, 2019, 1:24am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Memorial

Hello Everyone!

@acd hit it on the head for me. Partially fix the memorial, making it voluntary. Explain in the buoy message (multiple languages they've come across, I'd think) what the memorial is and what it says it's for. Tell about the BIG BUTTON they've added to it. Hit the button, relive the memory.

I thought about the ST:Voy episode Nemesis throughout the story.

Regards, Everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Fri, May 10, 2019, 9:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Virtuoso

Hello Everyone!

I won't post too much. I mostly agree with both the positive and negative assessments that have been posted before.

I did like how the folks on the planet didn't just say "Oh, you're right, we must see music your way" and went off doing their own thing.

But I did wonder how they never, even by accident, ever invented a wind chime? :)

Have a glorious day... RT
Next ►Page 1 of 31
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.