Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 78 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 3:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

This episode reminded me more of “Progeny” from Stargate Atlantis than BOBW, all were really good though. I wonder if Isaac will be redeemed, I genuinely don’t know.
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 1:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

I have to say that this was the best episode of Star Trek Discovery to date, and by a massive margin. If the show becomes more like this in the future then it may have hope from me.
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Tue, Feb 19, 2019, 2:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

@Jammer the way I see it, if Section 31 had previously been a public arm of Starfleet, for Bashir it would be like if you today encountered someone who revealed that they were a member of the Spanish Inquisition (or the Knights Templar for that matter). The reaction wouldn’t be “never heard of them” it would be “but they ceased to exist centuries ago!”. Especially for genetically enhanced memory Bashir.

Also, Section 31 is such an affront to Federation values that it makes no sense that the public could be aware of it without significant political and diplomatic reprecussions. Why would any other planet join or even trust the Federation when they are so openly hypocritical about their core philosophy? Why would the people of the Federation (especially the true believers on Earth) tolerate it’s existence? And how could they ever forget something like that was once part of their society?

Tbh there’s no reason they needed be depicted this way. The story could easily work without this retcon. It’s a shame.

Regarding Kurtzman, I’ve personally never voiced an opinion of him here but suffice to say I’m not a fan and I seriously doubt that he has done his homework (or even cares enough to). And that’s not an assumption, it’s an observation based on everything he has been involved with in the franchise so far.
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Fri, Feb 15, 2019, 4:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

@Thomas, ok sure but saying “we’ll look into it” implies they don’t know but can’t say that it’s not true, so they’re not denying the existence of it but they certainly seem to be denying knowledge of it
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Fri, Feb 15, 2019, 4:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

@Mac

It’s kind of a spoiler to explain but since you asked I’ll tell you (but this is your last chance to scroll away :p)

Section 31 is a secret organization that operates outside of official starfleet channels. Their goal is to ensure the security of the Federation by any and all means necessary. They do not conform to the ideals of the Federation or Starfleet to achieve their goals and they are not accountable to anyone. They justify their existence by reference to an obscure passage in the Starfleet charter (article 14, section 31) dating back to Starfleets original inception (before the Federation). Starfleet command denies all knowledge of their existence, and indeed even high level starfleet officers are not necessarily aware of them (unless they have some reason to be).
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Fri, Feb 15, 2019, 1:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

I simply can’t understand how the writers could write a Section 31 like this if they actually knew what section 31 was. They seem to be under the mistaken impression that Section 31 = Starfleet Intelligence. This story would actually be fine if it was just starfleet intelligence we were talking about here (and then maybe Emperor Georgeo could actually be in Section 31 but using Starfleet intelligence as a cover under Captain Georgeos identity). Why didn’t they just do that? It makes no sense!
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Mon, Jan 29, 2018, 1:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

Very much enjoyed this episode! I think this series may be headed in the right direction finally
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Thu, Jan 25, 2018, 4:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

I just rewatched this and I believe the bulk of the confusion over what happened to Tyler/Voq stems from these two sentences spoken consecutively by L’rell:

“We modified Voq into a shell that appears human. We grafted his psyche into Tyler’s.”

The first sentence implies that Voqs body was modified to look human. The second sentence implies that Voqs mind was implanted into Tyler’s. Since the first one is consistent with what Dr Culper said, I assume that she meant that Tyler’s psyche was grafted onto Voqs. Or maybe she meant Voqs psyche was transformed into Tyler’s in which case grafted was a poor choice of words.
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Tue, Jan 23, 2018, 8:31am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

The way L'Rell explained what happened to Voq/Tyler was very confusing. Dr. Culpers data suggested that they modified Voqs body to look human and imprinted Tyler's personality on to his mind. By the way L'Rell explained it it sounded like they out Voqs mind in Tyler's body. It was confusing.
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Mon, Jan 22, 2018, 1:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

Can I just ask what is going on with the ships on this show?

Why did Burnham and Lorca have to warp to the imperial flagship when at the end of the last episode the Shenzou and it were in orbit of the same planet? It’s like when the Cooper shot the rebel’s but didn’t show up until much later. And how Discovery was about to beam Tyler on board. Wtf is going on?
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Mon, Jan 22, 2018, 1:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

Well of course Lorca is from the MU. What I want to know is was his security chief from there too? Although I think I saw her in the preview for the next episode.
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 7:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@Neliz I highly recommend you check out TOS “Mirror, Mirror”. It’s one of the best TOS episodes there is and highly relevant for this story.

My perspective regarding the issue about how Discovery beamed Tyler on board, while I was watching the scene I was trying to figure out how they were going to keep Tyler alive. I thought maybe she would store him in the pattern buffer instead of completing the transport, or beam him somewhere else on the ship (maybe she put Lorca somewhere he could take care of him from). I had ruled out beaming him to the Discovery because there was no way the Discovery was near by. They were on a mission from the Empire, they would be detected and the opening scene established that Discovery was still in the debris field and damaged. So it was a jarring experience to see him materialize on the Discovery transporter.
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Wed, Jan 17, 2018, 6:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

Saru said something odd in this episode. That the navigational computer was confused because nothing was where it was supposed to be but ultimately their coordinates relative to the galactic center were correct. This implies that all the stars are in a different configuration in the Mirror universe. I thought this was a silly thing to introduce, but I just rewatched Mirror Mirror and there was this exchange:

Kirk: Star readings?
Scotty: Everything's where it's supposed to be. Except us!

So... there's that. proof this isn't the same mirror universe I guess? :P
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Wed, Jan 17, 2018, 5:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

"So you die Captain. And we all move up in rank." - Mirror Chekov. The killer doesn't become the captain.
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Wed, Jan 17, 2018, 12:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

My impression of what subspace was was that it was extra spatial dimensions (which is a part of many mainstream scientific ideas, like the small curled up one's predicted by String theory) and that the warp drive must warp space along these dimensions in addition to the usual 3 plus time. However, I don't think subspace was ever explicitly defined on the show.
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Mon, Jan 15, 2018, 7:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@Gul Densho-Ar
“It's just that I am currently on a VOY marathon parallel to watching DSC, and Janeway's transformations from caring mother to psychopath murderer and back are confusing to say the least.”

I actually find the psychology of Janeway pretty interesting to think about! But that’s a whole other conversation.

@LG
“for those tho are saying it's too fake-science a concept, compared to old-school Trek technobabble, well, it's not. “

It is. Mycology is not even remotely related to cosmology. The “science” in the show is based on nothing but a random association with an irrelevant field. This is like saying that the Force is real science because hammers can force nails into wood. I saw the real Paul Stamits on After Trek... let’s just say he didn’t do the cause of justifying this any favors.

@Troy G
“I've only seen the episode once, but my only quibble is the "execution" of Tyler. How far away are the two ships? How did Burnham get the message to Discovery that Tyler would be beamed into space and to be ready to beam him back? Perhaps somebody can help me with this.”

It’s a plot hole, there is no explanation. If the Discovery was nearby then it doesn’t make sense, if it wasn’t nearby then that also doesn’t make sense. Convenient for keeping Tyler alive though.
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Mon, Jan 15, 2018, 3:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@Gul Densho-Ar
When Sisko did that, the whole point was that he was betraying his principles. It wasn’t the default behavior of the shows characters. The inadequacies of VOY and ENT don’t excuse DIS. In fact, if we are supposed to believe that Michael is as she’s described then her character has been mishandle just as incompetently as Captain Archers was imo (Archer was a buffoon who should’ve never been in command of anything, in universe he was probably just riding the coattails of his father).
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Mon, Jan 15, 2018, 2:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

Suddenly they all care about starfleet principles. Are these the same people we’ve been watching all along?
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Mon, Jan 15, 2018, 2:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

Apparently Burnham is decent and compassionate? Are we sure those words means the same thing in the mirror universe? And here I was thinking she was a massive narcissist. Good thing they wrote some dialogue to explain it to me rather than characterization, otherwise I would have the completely wrong impression...

How can the Discovery be in transporter range of the Shinzou without being detected either by the Shinzou or the Emperors ship?
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Tue, Jan 9, 2018, 12:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

@Jammer
"Culber's death is important because it shows a character (Tyler) that has now done something truly awful that he will have to answer for -- something that cannot simply be undone"

Just like all the other characters, he finally fits in now :P

Sorry couldn't help myself on that one. This is why I don't like the characters though, they've all done awful things (with a few minor exceptions). As a result I can't care about what happens to them. For instance, I'm sure Michael is going to be devastated when she finds out what Tyler did, but the drama from that is lost on me because I don't care about Michael at all.
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Mon, Jan 8, 2018, 2:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

Aaaand they killed off one of the only likable characters they had. That leaves just Tilly now, unless when Stamits comes back he’s likable Stamits and not asshole Stamits.

And they added a delta to the Terran empire logo... why?! WHAT IS THEIR OBSESSION WITH DELTAS??!! It’s comical at this point.

I really didn’t think they would go there and tamper with the Connie. I thought they’d have the sense to just never show one on screen. But no... and if you think this was just a MU upgrade, then why didn’t the I.S.S. Enterprise look like that?

I would like if it turns out that Lorca is from the MU, that would at least justify his character. I wonder if his security chief was too. Unlikely I guess.

The whole Tyler/Voq thing is just really boring at this point. Just say it out loud already.
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 9:32am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Different is fine as long as it's good. Whether it's good is subjective and up for debate. Just because some people don't like what Discovery is doing doesn't mean it's because they just want rehashes of what we had before. There are legitimate criticisms of this show (and in my opinion one of those criticisms is the lack of good characters).
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 4:23am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

I agree this episode was very entertaining. Only the second episode I can say that about. Ash is for sure Voq. It was obvious before and it’s super obvious now. And yeah, mirror universe alert! Though them getting lost at the end was extremely predictable.
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Fri, Nov 10, 2017, 12:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

@Peter G.

I would just add that one reason the negative comments declined after the pilot is that it got a lot better after the pilot.
Set Bookmark
Dobber
Fri, Nov 10, 2017, 11:45am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

@Norvo

I don't think Ed is bisexual, it was just the influence of the pheromone. Malloy tried to point this out as a reason why he was confused.
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.