Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 82 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Fri, Aug 7, 2020, 7:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Blaze of Glory

A great big WHOLE CARES from me. Don't like Eddington, didn't buy the scene where Sisko was going to let them be destroyed. I guess the rest of the cast were on vacation? Big boring waste.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Thu, Aug 6, 2020, 12:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Soldiers of the Empire

I'm going to assume the script was rushed in the writing stage. The material isn't compelling at all. Martok is my favorite Klingon, and JG Hertzler's acting is always a treat. But, as many have mentioned, this is just another retread of stereotypes. Nothing really convinces us that Martok is lesser for his incarceration.

Strangely, this really reminded me of an AA meeting, especially one where no one there has anything interesting to say.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Mon, Aug 3, 2020, 7:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Doctor Bashir, I Presume

Siddig really nailed this one. This is the kind of acting I'd expect in professional theater - and if DS9 weren't constrained by the standards of the TV money machine, it would have worked as a character study in the form of a play.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Sun, Aug 2, 2020, 7:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: In Purgatory's Shadow

"At the first sign of betrayal I will kill him but - I promise to return the body intact."
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Thu, Jul 30, 2020, 6:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Nor the Battle to the Strong

I think DS9 was very successful in having a realistic teenage character. Jake is awkward, naive and sheltered to a degree. After Wesley (Roddenberry's creation if I recall) I know that DS9 creators did not want an insufferable brat like Wesley. DS9 is so much more realistic about a lot of things, and I appreciate that. Captain Sisko is such a conscientious and committed father, and it's one of his better traits. I seems like television doesn't want to portray men as competent parents, and I'm always grateful to see it on DS9.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Wed, Jul 29, 2020, 5:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ascent

Pretty dull episode. I would have much preferred to see Vulcan Love Slave.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Mon, Jul 27, 2020, 9:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

Since I found the Tribbles episode hilarious, I thought I'd check this out and see if it was comedy and maybe not many got the joke.

It started out with some absurdist humor - funny, in a Monty Python sort of way. And then it just got dumber... and dumber... and dumber. I started fast forwarding about half way through. I can only guess that the script writers were extremely stoned when they wrote this.

Nothing could save this script. Julian's little outfit was amusing for a minute, but the only potential strength would be if you find Farrel attractive (I really don't).

Incompatible people trying to force a relationship to work isn't comedy material. Its shit material. Its a dreadful experience, and even in a dark story, it isn't emotionally moving, it's just people being stupid.

I think they should just delete this one from the catalog when they remaster DS9. Which they really need to do.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Sun, Jul 26, 2020, 7:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Trials and Tribble-ations

Utterly satisfying episode, and really pays homage to the original Star Trek. I know I've watched this at least ten times, but I enjoy it more each time. I grew up watching TOS, it really melds the original and DS9 together with artistic flair and a great script. Nearly every character is given at least one good scene. Even Dax, who I usually find grating, is tolerable ("and women wore less" - she sure has the legs for that uniform). (My biggest issue with Dax is that she has many lifetimes of memories, but doesn't act like it - I expect someone that depth to be wise and measured and unfortunately she's mostly written like a giddy schoolgirl.)
I won't repeat the many good comments here except to note that the production, editing and pacing were all top notch.
"Do your people still sing songs of the great Tribble hunt?" The constable at his sarcastic finest!
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Fri, Jul 24, 2020, 9:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Looking for Par'mach in All the Wrong Places

I almost skipped this one - so glad I didn't! One of Dorn's best performances. Bravo!
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Thu, Jul 23, 2020, 11:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ship

I didn't think Dax could get more worthless, but I was wrong. Making sexist jokes over a dying man in a battle situation just shows what a shallow and meaningless character she is. I kept thinking, gee I bet O'Brien wishes there was a science officer to help him save the day. And there was - Dax - sadly getting by on her conventional, pedestrian physical attractiveness, as usual. Really a waste of a uniform. And Farrell has very limited range as an actress. I can appreciate Brooks' portrayal of Sisko, because I know military men who act and speak just like him. I think he lends realism to the show. He's not Picard and he's not trying to be. Farrell, on the other hand, doesn't seem to act as much as pose and flirt, like a dopey teenager. Only Tom Paris could ruin a show more than Jadzia.

I thought the script was a poor effort, but contrary to popular opinion, I thought the Vorta was meant to be super annoying and she accomplished that.

It seemed outright stupid not to take the Defiant in the first place. And as for Bashir... uh, whatever. An away mission with heavy casualties is enough for him to override any order and go with the rescue team. (I guess they are still pretending Kira joined Starfleet.)
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Sat, Jul 18, 2020, 7:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Broken Link

"You fight well, for a tailor."
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Sat, Jul 18, 2020, 3:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: To the Death

This episode starts well and just gets dumber and dumber. The Founders have attacked Earth, attacked the station - what more exactly does Starfleet need to know they are at war? A written invitation? The Defiant comes across an enemy ship that's about to explode. What possible sane decision could there be other than to watch it happen, or toss out some phaser fire to hasten it? Sisko, for no logical reason, decides to beam the survivors aboard. And naturally the first thing they get are threats. Grow a pair, Benjamin. God.

And the combat sequences - I realize that it's a risk to the ratings and the appeal to younger viewers, but any kind of battle with edged weapons is going to leave the ground soaked in blood.

I really feel like they are doing to the Jem Hadar what they did with the Borg - making them less of a threat, less of a challenge. Given what we know of the Jem Hadar, the Defiant never should have made it back from a mission so carelessly commanded.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Wed, Jul 15, 2020, 7:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I know my opinion is going to be rather unpopular, but ever since The Simpsons, I've just never understood cartoons for adults. Cartoons are for children who don't value the subtly of facial expressions, body language, etc. Leave childhood to children. Same goes for video games. A radio play is a different animal altogether; voice actors work to build a story in the mind's eye. A cartoon is just lazy entertainment. And I agree, Trek - and written SF - are a very niche field. Most people don't care to expand their minds.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Tue, Jul 14, 2020, 6:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Hard Time

Damn. This one will sit with me for a while. I've had a hell of a lot of PTSD, and I wept when this was over. Incredible script, by any standards, and it certainly deserved a major SF award. Colm Meaney proves yet again that he's a top notch professional actor, and we are lucky to have him.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Mon, Jul 13, 2020, 7:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Crossfire

I loved the introvert conversation between Worf and Odo. Funny but so true!

I thought the scene with Odo and Quark in Odo's quarters was poignant. Two guys on opposite sides of the law, but highly observant. Quark is a really well portrayed character - and I can appreciate that while also loathing the character.

Painful to watch...and not especially entertaining; but useful for many reasons.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Sun, Jul 12, 2020, 10:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

I kept almost falling asleep during this one and took a really satisfying nap when it was over. Aside from the memorable Colm Meaney scene, with all its icy hatred of the Federation, I thought the episode was a great big "who cares!"

People in upper management are power mad? Shocking! Governments often play both sides against their own people? No way! (lol) As a few commenters mentioned, the petty internal politics derails what could have been an interesting science fiction script. Overall I thought this was a fairly naive, black and white episode, whereas DS9 is usually a lot of grey. American TV and film tend to spoonfeed its audience; and I really enjoy a story that makes me think and gives me the chance to decide what it meant. The nicest thing I can say about the episode is that it's superfluous. (And that Dax isn't in it.)

I really like Brooks, but this is the first time I thought his acting was deficient. I've always thought that Brooks played Sisko as a stiff military man, who really only relaxed around family and close friends. That's actually realistic to me. However, next to an Auberjonois or another really gifted actor, Brooks' lack of sophistication sticks out, and his performance is barely adequate.

Minor notes: I'm old enough that I kept thinking of the admiral as "Admiral Falcon Crest." And I kept wondering when Leah Brahms joined Starfleet command? I thought she was in engine design.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Thu, Jul 9, 2020, 8:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Little Green Men

@Mike
“They irradiated their own planet?”

Always reminds me of an old Asimov story where first contact with Earth is about to happen, and then the aliens realize humans have tested nukes on Earth. They decide we are fools, and pass us by.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Thu, Jul 9, 2020, 7:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Little Green Men

Great pulp SF, nothing more, nor does it try to be. I love how DS9 never forgets their roots.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Tue, Jul 7, 2020, 6:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Hippocratic Oath

I just felt sorry for the Chief the whole time.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Mon, Jul 6, 2020, 9:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

And hooray for the bald and bearded Sisko. He seems SO much more confident, too. The shaved head and beard signal a real turning point for the show. I always thought he looked so sanitized before, and now he seems more realistic.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Mon, Jul 6, 2020, 9:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

Okay so this wasn't the worst Klingon episode ever, but it was pretty ludicrous. I just can't take Klingons seriously - they are like the drag queens of Trek (no offense to drag queens) with their camp and melodrama. As for the battle at the end - why the hell wasn't the Defiant out there fighting, or why wasn't it targeted? And everyone involved in the battle on the station should have been drenched in blood by the end.

Also, is O'Brien senior staff now? It seemed out of place for him to be in a strategy meeting.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Sun, Jul 5, 2020, 8:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Adversary

Too many problems in this episode. Risk of war with Zen Kathy? Who's she? - Sisko should have asked. Doesn't he contact Starfleet before going on major missions like this?

And no, I'm never going to believe that the founders have never harmed each other. Cultures have their myths that are widely accepted, despite being ludicrous.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Sun, Jul 5, 2020, 7:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Facets

As much as I dislike Jadzia, this remains one of the DS9 episodes I never tire of. The cast get a chance to show off their acting chops, and except for Sisko, they all work. Given that Kurzon is mentioned in almost every episode, I would have liked for that Odo-Kurzon person to have been an entire episode.
I'm looking forward to Sisko shaving that head, getting laid, and lightning up.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 7:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Heart of Stone

Loved the Nog story. Wonderful acting from Aron Eisenberg. Sisko was in top form.
The Kira and Odo story seemed pretty fishy to me, especially after the constable started saying "something isn't right." Rene's acting, especially in Odo oriented episodes, is the one of the high points of the Trek franchise for me.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 7:07am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

@Dave in MN

I've been wondering if anyone else thought this. Worf has a pretty limited range as a character, and he did that well in most of TNG. And as much as I loved DS9, I didn't think he fit in (he usurped Odo's part in the crew). His character just wasn't dynamic enough for the stories, and his 'character development' came off as melodramatic.
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.