Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 99 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Wed, Sep 9, 2020, 6:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Dogs of War

I don't think the Ferengi are funny at all. Quark is just a criminal and while well played, is despicable. A fitting end to his story would be him getting tossed out of an airlock by his employees.

I really was looking forward to these last episodes, but the 31 episode was shit and aside from the Damar scenes, this episode was depressing and pointless.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Wed, Sep 9, 2020, 6:47am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Extreme Measures

Excellent review, abysmal episode. In very bad taste at the least. I wonder if the original script was as dark but more self aware, and this was a botched attempt to tone it down? I wouldn't have minded a real buddy episode - like a look at their holodeck adventures - but not inside the mind of a dying man. Disgusting. Bashir should have lost his medical license and everyone involved ought to have been court martialed.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Wed, Sep 2, 2020, 10:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

This is the first Vic episode I haven't loved. The script had a lot of good ideas but I don't think they were properly thought out. So, we have a cute piece of fluff that doesn't feel like part of the story - and on my 8th re-watch, I was surprised to remember none of it.

I think the main problem is that so many characters are simply out of character. I don't find it believable that Kira would flirt so completely with a greasy criminal, especially in front of Odo. Odo seemed to be in too good of a mood...even sociable, and that's not really him. I can't believe Sisko went from totally opposed (for a very good reason) to buying into it and then singing a duet. I guess Brooks has an okay voice, but he makes a much better Captain than a singer. I kept expecting Worf to show up and kick some ass.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Tue, Sep 1, 2020, 8:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

Wow, I thought this episode was a total waste of time. A one-note character, arrogant, insufferable, and just plain boring. It's no wonder the guy was lonely; anyone that aggressively neurotic, manipulative, and transparently insincere doesn't have a chance at a meaningful relationship.

I did love the Quark scene. Odo knew he was in trouble when Quark was giving him good advice. Serious Quark is great to watch.

I regret skipping the Ezri family drama now. God, what a headache of an episode. Laas has to be the most forgettable character in all of Trek. For someone so masterful at shape-shifting, he was forever unable to get the chip off of his shoulder.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Tue, Sep 1, 2020, 5:13am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

Well I thought this was a heavy story, although some people will disagree. Always been a huge fan of the music, and Darren is a veteran actor with much skill. It really says a lot about the talent of the late Mr. Eisenberg that he could pull off an entire episode with an actor who has dozens of years more acting experience.

Having been in a similar situation as Nog, I could really empathize. You just need reality to go away for a while. I think Sisko understood this, and a few others. The only poor part of the script for me was Ezri's very clumsy way of forcing the situation to end. Her lack of experience as a therapist really shows - and things could have gotten worse for Nog. I realize that the script writers had to wrap it up, but they handled it crudely. The way Vic pulled the plug so swiftly was a little misguided and out of character.

Ezri's neotenous features were endearing to me when I was younger, but I wanted to slap her in every scene this time around. I found her pretentious and obvious, and not nearly as subtle as Dax's previous hosts. As a therapist, her efforts were sophomoric at best.

Still, an overall brilliant episode that highlights why DS9 was so special. It followed where the story went, and that is a brave thing for any writer.

Briefly - in defensive of Jake, I do believe his character is being handled realistically. Having been a young aspiring writer myself, I spent years spinning my wheels, fairly aimlessly, and gathering experience. One of the things I love about Captain Sisko's parenting style is that he gives Jake the room to make his own mistakes to find his own path.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Sun, Aug 30, 2020, 8:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Once More Unto the Breach

Initially skipped this one, but I'm glad I went back. Seeing that Moore wrote it convinced me to give it a try. It's not perfect but at least we finally have a Klingon episode that is more than just chest thumping. I enjoyed seeing a Klingon crew working together as a solid team, and seeing Martok's mansevant show compassion towards another marginalized warrior.

Good review, Jammer. Honestly I disagree with almost all of your reviews - so I was surprised to agree with you for a change. (And, as always, I appreciate the work you've put into this website and providing fans a chance for thoughtful and civil discussion.)
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Fri, Aug 28, 2020, 10:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Treachery, Faith, and the Great River

This episode has a little bit of everything, except Ezri - who we've had too much of at this point. It's really nice when forty minutes of filming feels like a nice long tale, and they succeeded in doing that here.

I was really glad to have a decent Odo episode - he's off screen far too much in the later seasons, and this was one hell of a good episode for Odo. It was great to see him drop his guard and soften a little. He's usually such a brick wall. Some of Auberjonois' best scenes here, I believe.

Aron Einsenberg proves what an effortlessly great actor he is, and I enjoy how Nog uses his Ferengi roots in service to his Starfleet duty. For a change, O'Brien's headaches aren't a personal hell. And Combs does wonders here as an actor, cementing his place forever in Trek fandom and SF drama. Every supporting character feels important by this point: Garak, Martok, Nog, Weyoun, and Damar.

Overall great, pivotal episode to service the final narrative of the series.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Thu, Aug 27, 2020, 8:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Image in the Sand

Computer begin recording, personal log, Miles Edward O'Brien, to Keiko, Molly and... the new one. As you know - or don't know actually - before I go into a life threatening battle I always record a message to you. And tomorrow I will be departing on a special and dangerous mission. You see, Jadzia died. We all knew she had to go, but it was a really dumb death. And Julian loved Dax. And I love Julian... and Garak loves Julian... I think.

Anyway, we have to help Jadzia get into to Stovokor. Actually I'm not the one helping her, Julian is, or actually Worf is, but Julian used to have the hots for her and wants to go for some reason. Quark thinks we're both touched.

It's probably good that you're not on the station. Captain Sisko left three months ago and the last I heard he's scrubbing clams. Not those kind of clams. Molly you didn't hear that. No he's in New Orleans, working in his father's restaurant and probably not coming back. And the station will be without a doctor, and it's Chief Engineer, and without me nothing works right. And I guess our tactical officer will be gone too.

[PAUSE]

Replicator, four drams of Highland Park. Make that six. Eight.

Still, Colonel Kira and Odo should have things under control, although they are a couple now finally - yes FINALLY - and one has to wonder about just how things are for them in the sack, with Odo being able to shapeshift like he does and... you know what, computer delete personal log.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Thu, Aug 20, 2020, 8:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: His Way

I'd pinpoint this as the moment DS9 because genius.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Wed, Aug 19, 2020, 8:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

I kind of wish Garak had given Sisko a good beating at the end of this one. Sisko is a fine character at times but rather naive - he comes across as being a bit too privileged and comfortable, the kind of comfort that keeps distance between the powerful and those dying for convenience's sake. Like his absurd idea to beam Jem Hadar survivors aboard, or attempting to negotiate with them...those rosy Boy Scout days are over for Starfleet. He needs to wake up and realize just what the Romulan said - the Federation is getting their asses handed to them.

Sisko knew unconsciously that the Garak option was their best chance even if he didn't want to admit it to himself. Garak knows how to play the game and was probably never addled with illusions of peace. After Far Beyond the Stars, you'd think Sisko held a better understanding of fighting for existence against a merciless opponent. Drink up and kill some commies, Captain.

And once again... where's Odo?
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Tue, Aug 18, 2020, 3:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Wrongs Darker Than Death or Night

I really wish this series would have given Dukat a rest. There are too many superfluous episodes about him and he's just not interesting - especially after he 'goes crazy.' I could tell Behr wrote this after 2 minutes. I think he got his jollies writing sadists, and plenty of SF shows have suffered or self destructed as a result of becoming Horror-SF.

Jesus, how about a nice Kira episode where she and Odo get trapped in a cozy bed.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Mon, Aug 17, 2020, 7:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Change of Heart

@Mike

Agreed. Physically speaking, Worf probably could have carried her from the time they landed without much trouble.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Mon, Aug 17, 2020, 7:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Change of Heart

Good episode, it could have been stupid but Moore is a very skilled writer. I thought this was a great opportunity for Dorn and it shows how much he enjoyed playing Worf. As for Dax... I've said it before, but I don't find her to be a credible character. She may have the memories of six lifetimes but she always plays the innocent girl routine - calling everyone by their first name, breaking a lot of rules without repercussions, casual sexism. An absence of accountability - she knows Sisko will baby her. She doesn't strike me as a futuristic female the way Major Kira certainly does. She definitely doesn't seem to earn the moniker of "old man." She just seems along for the ride. I don't find her body or personality attractive, but I guess that's why she's tolerated. That said, Farrell did a great job playing Worf's damsel. And it was a mistake to not end her story here - although Captain Sisko keeping it real at the end was very well done.

I thought it was a real letdown that O'Brien did not play like an engineer and fix that table so he'd beat Quark (hell, the table was probably rigged in the first place).

This also reminds me that we have another episode without Odo. He seems to have faded in the background for much of the non-Dominion episodes and it's a real shame. I always thought Worf usurped Odo's place in the ensemble (and despite being command now, Worf is still default security much of the time). As others have mentioned, Odo would have been a much better choice to accompany Worf.

At the start of the episode it didn't seem clear that this was going to be such an involved mission. It sounded like they were just going to receive a message and head back. If all the details (jungle, etc.) were known ahead of time I do not believe Dax would have been chosen for it.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Sun, Aug 16, 2020, 8:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

As near to perfect as a television show can get. Those who don't get the point of the episode should consider themselves very lucky.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Sat, Aug 15, 2020, 10:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Honor Among Thieves

@P'kard

Agree wholeheartedly. There's a reason Meaney still, to this day, has more film offers than he has time for; he's an actor's actor. I can't blame DS9 for wanting to show him off. Like Empok Nor, this was more of a psychological study of O'Brien than anything else.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Fri, Aug 14, 2020, 3:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Waltz

@Hiroshi Your comments surmise my reaction. I also felt like the writing was dull and predictable - not my usual reaction to Moore - although I think Auberjonois did a great job with the material he had to work with. Self absorbed politicians are not very interesting. And Dukat going 'crazy' is more of a Hollywood version of mental illness, than a serious examination. It weakened him as a character and while I was sickened by him before, in subsequent episodes I am just sick of him.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Tue, Aug 11, 2020, 3:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Behind the Lines

Nana VisitorĀ is quite the actress. In the past I didn't pay much attention to her - for various reasons. I can really appreciate her now. She never fails to put in a great performance - a born actress to be sure.

Heavy episode for the most part, although the 'captain being reassigned' has been used for dramatic effect in every Trek show and it just seems dumb. I really wish Dax would die, her shallowness ruins every scene she's in. She does not act like an old man and Sisko calling her that is really getting old. Also, not sure I buy having a cadet on a warship or going on crazy dangerous missions - although it has certainly not been unusual in real wars.

Outside of linking with the changeling woman, has Odo used his ability to change shape at all recently? It really seems like he could get some shit done that way but we never see it.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Fri, Aug 7, 2020, 7:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Blaze of Glory

A great big WHOLE CARES from me. Don't like Eddington, didn't buy the scene where Sisko was going to let them be destroyed. I guess the rest of the cast were on vacation? Big boring waste.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Thu, Aug 6, 2020, 12:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Soldiers of the Empire

I'm going to assume the script was rushed in the writing stage. The material isn't compelling at all. Martok is my favorite Klingon, and JG Hertzler's acting is always a treat. But, as many have mentioned, this is just another retread of stereotypes. Nothing really convinces us that Martok is lesser for his incarceration.

Strangely, this really reminded me of an AA meeting, especially one where no one there has anything interesting to say.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Mon, Aug 3, 2020, 7:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Doctor Bashir, I Presume

Siddig really nailed this one. This is the kind of acting I'd expect in professional theater - and if DS9 weren't constrained by the standards of the TV money machine, it would have worked as a character study in the form of a play.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Sun, Aug 2, 2020, 7:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: In Purgatory's Shadow

"At the first sign of betrayal I will kill him but - I promise to return the body intact."
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Thu, Jul 30, 2020, 6:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Nor the Battle to the Strong

I think DS9 was very successful in having a realistic teenage character. Jake is awkward, naive and sheltered to a degree. After Wesley (Roddenberry's creation if I recall) I know that DS9 creators did not want an insufferable brat like Wesley. DS9 is so much more realistic about a lot of things, and I appreciate that. Captain Sisko is such a conscientious and committed father, and it's one of his better traits. I seems like television doesn't want to portray men as competent parents, and I'm always grateful to see it on DS9.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Wed, Jul 29, 2020, 5:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ascent

Pretty dull episode. I would have much preferred to see Vulcan Love Slave.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Mon, Jul 27, 2020, 9:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

Since I found the Tribbles episode hilarious, I thought I'd check this out and see if it was comedy and maybe not many got the joke.

It started out with some absurdist humor - funny, in a Monty Python sort of way. And then it just got dumber... and dumber... and dumber. I started fast forwarding about half way through. I can only guess that the script writers were extremely stoned when they wrote this.

Nothing could save this script. Julian's little outfit was amusing for a minute, but the only potential strength would be if you find Farrel attractive (I really don't).

Incompatible people trying to force a relationship to work isn't comedy material. Its shit material. Its a dreadful experience, and even in a dark story, it isn't emotionally moving, it's just people being stupid.

I think they should just delete this one from the catalog when they remaster DS9. Which they really need to do.
Set Bookmark
Dirk
Sun, Jul 26, 2020, 7:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Trials and Tribble-ations

Utterly satisfying episode, and really pays homage to the original Star Trek. I know I've watched this at least ten times, but I enjoy it more each time. I grew up watching TOS, it really melds the original and DS9 together with artistic flair and a great script. Nearly every character is given at least one good scene. Even Dax, who I usually find grating, is tolerable ("and women wore less" - she sure has the legs for that uniform). (My biggest issue with Dax is that she has many lifetimes of memories, but doesn't act like it - I expect someone that depth to be wise and measured and unfortunately she's mostly written like a giddy schoolgirl.)
I won't repeat the many good comments here except to note that the production, editing and pacing were all top notch.
"Do your people still sing songs of the great Tribble hunt?" The constable at his sarcastic finest!
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.