Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 32 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Dirk Hartmann
Sun, Jun 15, 2008, 7:20am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Distant Voices

I liked this one very much and would give it 3 stars (which is penalty enough for it could have been even better).
Set Bookmark
Dirk Hartmann
Fri, Jun 6, 2008, 3:49am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Heart of Stone

I feel cheated. Shape shifters are known to have problems getting the basic human face "right", but here the founder conveniently is capable of mimicking Kira down to every detail ...
Set Bookmark
Dirk Hartmann
Wed, Jun 4, 2008, 6:26am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Life Support

I didn't like this episode a bit. First of all, there was simply too much of the same: revival-organ replacement-brain replacement ... at a certain point all of this really ceased to have any credibility with me. Second, I think that the motive and urgency behind the decisions to waste Bareil`s life came off as quite forced.
In the end, I think it was a necessary thing to remove Bareil from the show simply because the actor proved to be just too weak in that role.
Set Bookmark
Dirk Hartmann
Sat, May 31, 2008, 5:03am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Fascination

Horrible, horrible episode. I hate it when characters have their personalities and behaviour changed so gratuitously. Feels like a rape to me. Zero stars.
Set Bookmark
Dirk Hartmann
Tue, May 27, 2008, 2:47am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

Despite the plotholes, I found myself extremely touched by this episode. That nobody will ever know about this crew, about what they accomplished, and about what they had to go through and suffer until their final demise, only added to the tragic for me.
Set Bookmark
Dirk Hartmann
Mon, May 19, 2008, 1:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

I for one found the story too predictable ...
Set Bookmark
Dirk Hartmann
Fri, May 9, 2008, 4:23am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Drone

I loved this episode. Actually, I even enjoyed it more the second time around because during the first time I watched it, I constantly feared that the story would eventually decline into a predictable "drone gets out of control, goes on a rampage and must be stopped" setting. Boy, am I glad it didn't!
Set Bookmark
Dirk Hartmann
Fri, May 9, 2008, 4:05am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Night

I would have preferred the episode staying in claustrophobic night mode and "nothingness" until the end (=no story involving aliens etc). This would have been a perfect scenario for more in-depth character development. Could have been a winner.
The other thing that bothered me was Janeway acting out ouf character by isolating herself.
Set Bookmark
Dirk Hartmann
Sat, May 3, 2008, 4:56am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: The Omega Directive

Strange ... with the sole exception of Seven's "private collective", I found this episode extremely boring. The suspense part just didn't work with me and I also found the dangeroussubstancemightdestroytravellingbywarp revelation extremely disapointing. Finally, I could not fathom how the Borg would conduct experiments on their own. That's not at all Borg-like. They should learn by assimilation only.
I would give this episode two stars max.
Set Bookmark
Dirk Hartmann
Fri, May 2, 2008, 5:43am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

I think that this probably could have been a great single hour episode. They just threw too many things into this two-parter. Especially dropping the whole "Klingon" part would have given the story a lot more focus. In the end, I still liked it for the St. Clair restaurant scenes alone.
Set Bookmark
Dirk Hartmann
Tue, Apr 29, 2008, 4:58am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

I have to admit that this is still one of my favorite standalone episodes in Voyager. I think it's as underrated as "scientific method".
Set Bookmark
Dirk Hartmann
Mon, Apr 28, 2008, 2:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Concerning Flight

Unfortunately, that's too true. The two lines most often used for convenience are:

"There's too much interference, I can't get a lock on him."

and

"They bypassed security protocols."
Set Bookmark
Dirk Hartmann
Mon, Apr 28, 2008, 2:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Concerning Flight

... that's too true. The two "convenient" lines used most often are:

"There's too much interference, I can't get a lock on him."

and

"They bypassed security protocols."
Set Bookmark
Dirk Hartmann
Sat, Apr 26, 2008, 5:35am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

I agree with everyone here. This episode deserves something like 2 1/2 to 3 stars. The DNA stuff was only mildly distracting this time. There were so many aspects of the show that were done *right*. For example, Seven walking through the corridors finding the aliens conduct experiments on the unaware crew ... after all these years, I still get the shivers thinking of that scene.
Set Bookmark
Dirk Hartmann
Sun, Apr 20, 2008, 5:50am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

The review is spot on. I think it would have deserved a 4 star rating. I'm beginning to think that over time you've raised the bar regarding ratings. For example, there is a host of (enjoyable, but in the end) rather conventional episodes in DS9's first season that got 3 stars. The margin of distance to the 3 1/2 stars we've got here seems rather too small for me.
And by the way: I'm with those who like Kes' new hair style.
Set Bookmark
Dirk Hartmann
Mon, Apr 14, 2008, 1:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Coda

They really should have sticked with the time loop motive. It somehow seems the writer unsucessfully tried to turn some ideas for different episodes into one show.
Set Bookmark
Dirk Hartmann
Fri, Apr 11, 2008, 4:23am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Macrocosm

I rarely disagree with a review you post, but I do regarding this one. Even though it is absolutely true that the episode is Voyager's try on the "Alien/Outbreak" theme, and thus of course chliched, it manages to succeed in this venture quite well.
The dark atmosphere on the deserted Voyager, for example, reminded me quite a bit of "Resident Evil 2" (the game, not the movie). Mulgrew was up to the challenge of having to be the *sole* actor on screen for a good part of the story. It was also wise to not include a B-story in this episode, which would have subtracted from the tension. Yes, it's true that the level of tension was a bit reduced during the part where Doc explains how the situation came about (it just was a bit too lengthy), but otherwise I was constantly on the edge of my seat until the resolution.
This may not have been a very brainy episode, but it was different from the standard fare and I thoroughly enjoyed it for what it was.
Set Bookmark
Dirk Hartmann
Thu, Apr 10, 2008, 2:37am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: The Q and the Grey

This episode does not deserver two stars. The one and only scene I really enjoyed was the dialogue between the female Q and B'Elanna.
Set Bookmark
Dirk Hartmann
Wed, Apr 9, 2008, 2:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Warlord

This is undoubtedly the best performance we got from Jennifer Lien on Voyager. It's a bid strange to find that this was only possible within a setting that allowed her to act out of character. In the end, this goes a long way in proving that the character "Kes" was simply too weak to retain - even as good an actress as Lien was not able make the role worthwile. So, in the end, I guess it was inevitable that Kes had to go.
Set Bookmark
Dirk Hartmann
Tue, Apr 8, 2008, 1:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part II

I absolutely disliked the concept that it's already settled that there will be a "federation" in the 29th century and that they master time travel at will. Sorta takes out the tension of many things ... I have to admit that I still liked those 90 minutes on a pure "fun level", though.
Set Bookmark
Dirk Hartmann
Mon, Apr 7, 2008, 1:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Sacred Ground

This review is spot on. I guess I only disagree regarding this:

"Also good is how Doc's "scientific" explanation leaves Janeway shaken. She undoubtedly wonders how the elders could be so certain of the temple's effects. Or perhaps she's sorry that Doc is able to explain such a spiritual event in worldly terms. (It's open to interpretation.)"

I think the ending is the only scene really well done. Janeway is shaken because she realizes that the belief that "everything can be explained scientifically" is true in a quite trivial way (that makes it immune to refutation and thus is *itself* not so scientific after all): Doc's behaviour shows that we just *insist* on giving "explanations" for each and every thing. The credibility of his final techno-babble explanation is, however, subtly undermined by the abysmal failure of his preceding theory (the truth of which he was so sure of).
Set Bookmark
Dirk Hartmann
Sat, Apr 5, 2008, 4:42am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: False Profits

I wonder where the one-and-a-half stars come from? With act 5 (at the latest) this episode dropped to zero stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Dirk Hartmann
Thu, Apr 3, 2008, 12:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

@Stefan: Yeah, well, maybe you're right and I have to stretch what we see on screen a tad too far in my attempt to make the crew's reaction fit character. But I basically liked the episode and found it quite thought-provoking, even though its execution surely was a bit "rough" around the edges ...
Set Bookmark
Dirk Hartmann
Thu, Apr 3, 2008, 11:45am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Deadlock

@Stefan: I rather would say that both Voyagers share the same past. Seen like this, no one was destroyed during the split-up - it's just that the word "original" loses its significance within the frame of such a scenario.
Set Bookmark
Dirk Hartmann
Thu, Apr 3, 2008, 11:10am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

As time passes, I more and more come to see this as the worst Star Trek movie thus far (yes, even worse than V). Main reasons for that IMO:

- Picard acting out of character *all* the time
- Shinzon=most unconvincing and lame villain yet
- Superfluous Remans
- Sadly disappointing use of Romulans. I would have expected grandeur, thriving towns, big Romulan army and fleet etc. But no, all we get is a small, even puny excuse for a senate that is easily wiped out.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.