Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 34 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Dimitris
Sun, Sep 30, 2018, 2:49am (UTC -5)
Re: Solo: A Star Wars Story

Hey Jammer, can you please advise if you show SOLO yet? Thanks!
Set Bookmark
Dimitris
Mon, Jul 16, 2018, 7:52am (UTC -5)
Re: Solo: A Star Wars Story

True, seems not even Jammer watched it!
Set Bookmark
Dimitris
Wed, May 30, 2018, 1:51am (UTC -5)
Re: Solo: A Star Wars Story

It was a pleasant movie. The 1st half so-so, but the 2nd half much better. Is it me or the droids in Disneyverse can do anything now? With the abilities of the droid here and the one in Rogue One, even BB8 who drove an AT-ST Walker in EpVIII, i'm wondering how come and droids dont rule the galaxy yet. I mean, what was the function of the droid here? A pilot? A fighter? A Rebel? A programmer? All the droids who dont get their memories wiped out develop human emotions? An imperial droid can be reprogrammed to be a better fighter than a stormtrooper, like the droid in Rogue One? How come the rebels dont get 1000 such robots and make a killer army?

I think that if disney had made Ep.IV, when the sandpeople had attacked Luke, 3PO would had fought them with karate moves instead of tripping and falling.

Only when the scenario calls for it, the droids become dumb again. I mean, in EpVIII the ship who got sacrificed had to be piloted by the ADMIRAL. No droid was good enough to press the 2 buttons required. The lady Admiral was required to do it, in order to press the buttons with determination! :)
Set Bookmark
Dimitris Kiminas
Tue, Jan 19, 2016, 8:08am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Force Awakens

I liked the movie and had a good time seeing it.

I only expected to see that the Jedi had indeed Returned. That the knights were back to their prequel status, albeit under a new administration structure.

Instead we got no Jedi and Luke hiding. I cannot understand how Luke could abandon everything, even if a disciple of his did wrong, and not try to fix things as it should. Luke running into hiding strikes me as something uncharacteristic of the Hero we met and followed in the original trilogy.

It felt as a cop-out, a fabricated plot point so we don't have many Jedi so that the situation remains like the one in the original trilogy...
Set Bookmark
Dimitris Kiminas
Tue, Jan 19, 2016, 7:59am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Phantom Menace

Well, the battle of Qui-Gon & Obi-Wan against Darth Maul complete with the excellent music cue that accompanies it is worth 2 stars on its own, so you could say these are the stars it gets!
Set Bookmark
Dimitris Kiminas
Tue, Jan 19, 2016, 3:08am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: A New Hope

I got the automated mail and I couldn't believe my eyes!!

'Jammer is making fun of us' I thought, but no, here are the reviews!! Unbelievable!!

Jammer, thanks for letting us revisit the films through your thoughts!
Set Bookmark
Dimitris Kiminas
Sun, May 26, 2013, 9:56am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: A Measure of Salvation

I'm watching Galactica all over again these days and saw this episode yesterday night, and you know what hit me? THIS EPISODE DOES NOT DESERVE THE 3 STARS RATING, because it has a huge RESET button at its end, the likes of which would make TNG and Voyagers' scriptwriters jealous.

Furthermore, it 'fakes' huge stakes to steal your attention only to pull the rug right under your feet at the end with the most contrived way possible.

Let me elaborate:

AA. Using any means necessary to build huge stakes

1. We make a 'wireless' virus that can somehow travel through a data stream and infect a newly created body by downloading into it. Then it must be it a state-of-the art cybernetic virus that an advanced civilization spend hundreds of hours to invent and perfect? Eh, 'NO,' the episode tells us: it is a virus that entered a 3000-old robotic probe because someone of its makers 'sneezed on it'. Then how is its 'wirelessness' possible? Because it is convenient for our plot!

2. We make it appear that if the 'download' happens, all the cylon race will disappear from the face of the earth. Jammer elaborated on the improbability of this in his above review but I'll just remind you that the Borg at some time terminated 10 or so borg cubes in order to eliminate the possibility of spreading an undesirable behavior. So I suppose the possibility of the cylons destroying their own resurrection ship the minute it becomes infected does not cross any minds, not even the cylons'. Why? Because the writers want us to believe that this IS it: Download success=genocide of the cylons!

3. All the other points listed by Jammer in his review, that were disregarded by the writers to set up their convenient premise: (1) (2) (3) (4).

BB. Checklist for pulling the biggest RESET switch in Galactica History.

1. Planning a cylon genocide in the presence of a minor officer who happens to be married to a cylon: CHECK

2. Said minor officer who spend time in Caprica where the cylons exterminated billions of people suddenly decides that it is 'bad' to do the same to the cylons (although his wife is in no danger from this). CHECK

3. Being able to reverse the airflow in a room by removing the internal PC power cord from your Hard Disk and connecting it to your DVD ROM drive (takes 2 seconds): CHECK

4. Putting said box of the PRISON CELLS in an unguarded place where even the janitor can trip the oxygen reversal by storing his brush inside by mistake. CHECK.

5. Forgetting about the possibility to use the virus samples you have in order to infect the first cylon that comes onboard in another episode, or even make a missile with a biological warhead to infect cylons in every basestar you encounter (or a cylon raider, since they ALSO download). CHECK.

6. Forgetting everything that happened in this episode so the next episode can be whatever. CHECK

CC. The specifics of Forgetting Everything That Happened In This Episode (TM).

1. Roslin says 'there are only 2 suspects for doing this', meaning Helo and his cylon wife. Do we investigate if the cylon we have onboard on hearing of the genocide decided that Galactica is again the enemy? No. Adama previously had Sharon paraded in iron bars just because she breathed the wrong way. Now? "I think I'll close the book on this one". Besides, putting Sharon back in the cell? Been there, done that.

2. Should we check if Lt Agathon who's our current XO is loyal to us? Besides, an episode ago we give a gun to Kara and Tigh to kill us because they said 'bad' words and dropped ship morale (ah, the danger!). But No! "I think I'll close the book on this one".

3. Do we mind that the person who actually did this, is in fact the murderer of EVERY human being that is killed by the cylons until the end of the series? "I think I'll close the book on this one".

(And by the way, WHY it had to be Halo the one to kill the prisoners? Couldn't one of the guards WHO DID NOT KNOW ABOUT THE PLANNED GENOCIDE kill them out of revenge for what they did to them on New Caprica? When Sharon was in jail, and that was before the incidents of New Caprica, every 2-3 episodes somebody was trying or demanding to kill 'the cylon prisoner'.)

4. We have 6 cylon bodies full of virus, we have blood samples full of virus, we have the virus DNA analyzed by Dr. Cottle, we have a vaccine that would make any infected cylon begging us to help him. Then, what do you say we use this AMAZING weapon in EVERY future episode we meet a cylon? Nah, "I think I'll close the book on this one". (Perhaps we cannot because the virus is short-lived? No, we are talking about a virus that survived 3000 years exposed to space.)

The bottom line: I don't know if it was because Galactica has not used us to reset switches, but I'd take TNG's 7th season 'Genesis' episode any time, instead of this. At least Genesis' goofiness was enjoyable.
Set Bookmark
Dimitris Kiminas
Wed, Dec 5, 2012, 5:33am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

Whot? Only one star? This groundbreaking episode can be de-evolved as follows:

One Million Years BC (alas, without Raquel Welch) meets Aliens, with a touch of The Hunchback of Notre Dame and The Little Mermaid thrown in for added immersion! :)
Set Bookmark
Dimitris Kiminas
Wed, Dec 5, 2012, 5:13am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Masks

Come now, only one star? This episode was the whole Lord of the Rings trilogy compressed into 40 minutes! :)
Set Bookmark
Dimitris Kiminas
Sat, Sep 1, 2012, 5:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

This is a nice example of why Jammer's negative reviews have more re-readability than the serious ones -- I certainly had more fun reading this review than seeing the actual episode!
Set Bookmark
Dimitris Kiminas
Sat, Sep 1, 2012, 5:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: The Chase

Ridley Scott took this episode, changed some bits in the plot, and released it as a movie called 'Prometheus'. Go figure!! :)
Set Bookmark
Dimitris Kiminas
Sat, May 14, 2011, 7:37am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

The 'total reset' mechanism was the most irritating thing of TNG. And then you had Babylon 5, where a main character (Ivanova) broke a leg in an episode, and then in the next (unrelated) episode she was still using a walking aid, without the writers feeling the need to explain why she needed to use the walking aid! Thank god DS9 later copied that aspect of B5 and we at last saw some proper continuity in a ST series...
Set Bookmark
Dimitris Kiminas
Sat, May 14, 2011, 7:12am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Cost of Living

If you want to see Majel Barrett excel in a serious Sci-Fi TV role, you have to see her in Babylon 5's 3rd season epidode 'Point of No Return' as Lady Morela. The episode currently is rated 9.5/10 in imdb.com (too bad you have to see the whole B5 arc that led to that episode to truly appreciate her relevations...)
Set Bookmark
Dimitris Kiminas
Wed, Jun 17, 2009, 5:12am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

I'd go for the following ratings breakdown:

We start with a possible: +4 stars
Intelligence-Insulting plot: -2 stars
Characters out of character: -1 star
Unsuitable/Unutilized guests:-1 star
All comedic attempts unfunny:-1 star
Earthquake-o-matic satelites:-1 star
Dax in a swimsuit: +1 star
=======
Net total -1 star

Jammer you must introduce negative stars and award one to this episode! :)
Set Bookmark
Dimitris Kiminas
Wed, May 27, 2009, 12:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Broken Link

Or maybe thay need some extra effort to take a perfect human form, an effort that's only worth taking when there's a special objective to be accomplished (like spying!)
Set Bookmark
Dimitris Kiminas
Wed, May 27, 2009, 12:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: To the Death

In the review Jamahl complains that the entire Odo/Weyoun scene felt redundant. He thought it was difficult to believe that the Founders still wanted their rogue Changeling to come home... And he couldn't be more right!

At the time he couldn't have known, but something very important happened in this scene: Weyoun touched Odo and infected him with the virus that will force him to return to the Founders' homeworld after two episodes to face judgement.

Jammer understood there was something fishy going on, only he couldn't understand what! Talk about reviewer's intuition!!!
Set Bookmark
Dimitris Kiminas
Tue, May 5, 2009, 1:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Starship Down

Regarding the chain of command aboard the Defiant, I suppose since it is a Federation vessel, the next Starship officer should take command and Kira is not a Starfleet officer.
Set Bookmark
Dimitris Kiminas
Tue, May 5, 2009, 1:24am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Indiscretion

In other words, "We've had a good laugh, right? Now our relationship will never be quite the same again." - Thanks, but no thanks!!
Set Bookmark
Dimitris Kiminas
Sat, Apr 25, 2009, 6:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

Great episode, but I cannot understand the 'temporal mechanics' of Sisko returning to the original time of the accident.

I understand that originally Sisko was there, then had the accident, then vanished. I was expecting that after the bond with Jake was cut, he would re-appear right after he had vanished.

Now, I guess to make it more dramatic, they show him a little before the accident, like he came back then. But how could he? There was a Sisko there already. Shouldn't there be 2 Siskos' until the previous one vanished? He was somehow switched with the original Sisko? (remember that we now see a Sisko who before the accident possesses the knowledge to avoid the accident, knowledge that was gained after the accident!)

And if he was switched, wasn't the moment in time he got back selected arbitrarily just to suit the plot? Why not appear 1 hour before the accident or 1 hour after? I mean the only logical time for his re-appearance would be the exact moment of his original disappearance...
Set Bookmark
Dimitris Kiminas
Sat, Apr 11, 2009, 4:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Life Support

There's also a B plot in this episode, in which Nog ruins a date of Jake's (Strangely Jammer does not mention it at all).

In any case, the levity and comedic nature of this B plot makes the choice of the writers to pair it with the very serious A plot seem poor, if not puzzling.
Set Bookmark
Dimitris Kiminas
Mon, Apr 6, 2009, 8:54am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Meridian

I just can buy that a person like Dax who have lived so many lifes (and have been both a father and a mother in them) would fall so deeply in love in 10 days that would decide to abandon everything for her love. I find it totally out of character.

@Jammer, your bot-elude maths are becoming more and more complicated. Aren't you afraid that you'll reach a point were some of your readers won't be able to answer them? :))
Set Bookmark
Dimitris Kiminas
Mon, Apr 6, 2009, 8:10am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Search, Part II

This episode was really the epitome of 'cop-out'.

Furthermore, even the test became pointless. It was supposed to be a test on the crew reactions, yet the idea for the destruction of the wormhole was planted by Garak, a character supposedly 'simulated' (as he was not amongst the captured persons)! Certainly, for a 'simulated' character Garak played a very central role in the proceedings, puzzlingly dictating the test's results to the test's subjects.

And it seems the 'simulated' death of the Romulan overseer-of-the-cloaking-device spilled into reality, as that's the last time we'll see her!
Set Bookmark
Dimitris Kiminas
Sat, Nov 22, 2008, 2:05am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Six of One

Jammer gave the best possible reply to this: a new review!
Set Bookmark
Dimitris Kiminas
Wed, Nov 19, 2008, 2:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Six of One

That's a bold pledge Jamahl, takes guts to put it in writting! I hope you manage to keep your outlined schedule as it'll keep us great company for the months to come... (and I pray no external diversion blocks your good intentions!!)
Set Bookmark
Dimitris Kiminas
Tue, Nov 18, 2008, 4:21am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Six of One

Personally I wouldn't mind reading capsule reviews for the remaining episodes of Galactica (like the ones for TNG) if Jammer's time is limited. Real life must take always priority over the web. So I'd say, Jammer, if you feel you don't have the time any more for in-depth reviews, go capsule. Reading your opinion for each episode is what I hold most important.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.