Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 42 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Tue, Apr 7, 2020, 10:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Tom

I think The Expanse is an incredible show backed by an even more incredible set of books.
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Tue, Apr 7, 2020, 12:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Brian L

"Well? Did you fuck any of them?" - One Romulan to another Romulan

That line of dialogue sums everything up for me. This was not some well thought out character piece of Data LOL.
Set Bookmark
Dexter
Thu, Apr 2, 2020, 10:22am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I feel that the show "Picard" is the Admonishen on The Grief World and the Star Trek fan base are the Zat Vash. We all placed our hands on the circle, "watched" Picard, and a select few felt the need to take action defending what they saw while the rest of us wanted to either rip our hair out, bash our brains in with a brick, or shoot ourselves with a phaser. That scene was almost the perfect metaphor for how this show has turned out.
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 7:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

"No, what this season of Star Trek: Picard is actually about is Picard saying goodbye to Data."

Well, no it wasnt, because they shot that all after the fact because the original story they had was even worse than what they put on TV. This statement is giving way way too much credit to the writers.

@Dave in WN

"I read that both Riker's and Data's appearances in the finale were part of the reshoots. "

I thought I had read that Riker's episode "Nepenthe" was the thing that was added after the fact which would make sense because his appearance as Captain of the Jeng He makes sense in terms of the story being told, but absolutely no sense from where we left Troi and company on Nepenthe.
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 7:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

"his upcoming deep pleasure from reading a two-hour review consisting of hatred on a show (that he chooses to continue to watch"

No. The finale had already aired when I said that, so no, I will not be "continuing to watch". And I recommend everyone to watch Redlettermedia, they are hilarious and Mike Stoklasa is a diehard Trek fan, so I appreciate his take on the subject matter, whether he likes it or not. I just know they will thrash this show like the simple minded trash that it is.
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 5:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

"So sorry that Jammer's review does not fulfill your intense addiction to hate-orgasm that some feel."

No need to apologize, you didnt write the review.

"But feel free to spend hours of your weekly life on the pleasure that you get from watching a show you loathe with a passion, spewing your hatred about it, and pleasuring yourself to the hatred of others on it. That show must really have a permanent space in your mind."

I only spent 45-55 minutes of my weekly life on this show, and I dont need to feel free to do it anymore as it is over for the foreseeable future.

I can see from your previous comments that you are a simple person who is easily manipulated and entertained. The perfect demographic for this show!
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 4:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

3 out of 4 stars for this garbage? Is this a sick April fools joke? I was pretty numb to the last 20 minutes because you knew they were just going to bring back Picard at the clone. Its complete garbage. And no, even if the final 20 minutes moved me, it doesnt negate the bullshit that was the previous 9 episodes (with the exception of a few nice scenes and moments). The entire show was a waste of time.
Set Bookmark
Dexter
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 9:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Q: Does Jurati get away scot-free for the Bruce Maddox murder? Seems like she was going to get arrested.
A: Well, I mean, in fairness she hasn’t had a chance to turn herself in, yet.

Gross. Alison Pill is going to be back next season then.....
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 7:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I cannot wait for redlightmedia's two hour evisceration of this puke of a show. Its going to be glorious.l
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Fri, Mar 27, 2020, 11:13am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Dom @Glom

In DS9, I always found it disjointed how the Defiant and Sisko & Company became the Federation flagship/crew during the time of the Federation's greatest threat. Where was the Enterprise? Obviously I know they were making TNG movies while DS9 was fighting the Dominion and you were never going to get any cross over due to a variety of reasons, but still, I really found it strange back then how Sisko became the most prominent Captain in Star Trek history.
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Fri, Mar 27, 2020, 10:51am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Some things ill never get over with this show:

1) So the Romulans have these visions of the past, that are so horrific that people literally bash their fucking brains in with a brick, the visions that are so horrific that were going to send a fleet of 218 ships to wipe out a planet of 20 androids, visions so bad that weve established secret police forces over, murdered tens of thousands (maybe millions?) of martian colonists over, the thing some people have devoted their entire lives to, were just gonna turn around and never come back because the head android decided to be nice for a moment???

2) Where are all the scientists, doctors, guards, random personnel on the Borg cube while its flying and crashing into this random planet? Dead? Assimilated? Shot out the airlock?

3) What was the point of any of this?

4) Lesbian seven of nine and Raffi? GTFO

This show was an insult and a disgrace.
Set Bookmark
Dexter
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 11:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

Where the fuck we’re all the doctors, scientists, guards etc on the Romulan Reclaimation Project Cube??
Set Bookmark
Dexter
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 10:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

This was one of the worst, most poorly written seasons of TV alive ever witnessed. Other than a few bright moments, utter and complete trash.
Set Bookmark
Dexter
Sat, Mar 21, 2020, 9:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Isnt anybody curious as to where all the scientists are on the borg cube when the evil meanie woman is going around shooting things and venting drones into space? I assume Seven is going to take the cube and save Picard in the big ole battle in the end right? So where are all the people in this "project"?
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 12:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

I think the writing on this show is beyond awful. It has some decent moments, and I feel the mystery of the AI is fine, but god damn, the dialogue and story telling is awful. This is a forgettable show outside of the Riker episode.
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Tue, Jan 2, 2018, 9:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

"An original and interesting story that seamlessly segues into a new hope."

This is not true. Go watch A New Hope seconds after Rogue One ends, and the ending of Rogue One makes no sense.
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Fri, Dec 15, 2017, 9:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Elise summed up my thoughts pretty good. This was a fine movie, but it was missing.....something. Whether that be the charm of Hans Solo, or good pacing, or the overall length being too long (this movie was way too fucking long). I found getting fairly annoying halfway through by the 11th scene of the Rebels lazily fleeing to the left.

Captain Phasma will go down as one of the most disappointing and useless characters in the history of the franchise. Seriously, what was her role other than to sell toys? General Hux was a one-dimensional, yelly, frowning, growly character who has 1/100000th the charisma of Peter Cushing which is disappointing because Domhnall Glesson is an excellent character actor who I think would have done very well with some better material. So you cast Laura Dern as this supposed bad ass Vice Admiral but someone has to stay behind to pilot the Cruiser to its doom (for whatever reason someone has to stay behind?) Admiral Akbar just....dies?!?! Leia can survive a bridge explosion and exposure to space.....why? Rose, ugh. The Casino planet, ugh. The Bait And Switches, ugh. Snoke dying, ugh (so much for the thousands of hours people spent into his identity, he really was extremely pointless even though it appeared he was the most powerful Sith lord we have ever seen in the franchise. What a waste of time. And how exactly did Snoke turn Kylo Ren?

What this movie did well? Kylo Ren was excellent. This was the stuff he should have had in TFA. I thoroughly enjoyed his character this time around. Rey was very good and the scenes with Luke stole the show. Mark Hamill played the role to perfection. The final battle on the salt planet was a visual masterpiece.

I dont know what to expect from Episode 9. Carrie Fisher dying changes things immensely I imagine.
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Fri, Oct 6, 2017, 6:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: If the Stars Should Appear

"Dexter, at least explain WHY you think it is "horrendous garabage".

Just saying "it sucks" doesn't contribute anything to the discussion."

Fair. I just didnt want to drone on being TOO negative.

My thoughts: Its poorly cast, poorly acted, poorly scripted, poorly rehashed carbon copy trash. It has no ingenuity, it has no pace, and it has no idea what type of show it wants to be. And that is my opinion just from watching the first 20 minutes. Now I get the response would be, "give it a few episodes" in which case ill say, "No". In today's TV landscape you dont have the luxury of a few episodes or a whole season to get your shit straight. You have to hit the ground running with all cylinders firing. The quality of TV out there is amazing and this show simply isnt good enough to warrant my time.
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Tue, Oct 3, 2017, 1:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: If the Stars Should Appear

I dont know how any of you watch this garbage. Its horrendous.
Set Bookmark
Poindexter G
Sun, Jun 26, 2016, 1:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith

I think Vaders "Nooooooo!" moment suffers more from poor execution than from being a bad idea (I think that is true of the prequel trilogy as a whole). If you were to read that whole scene to me from the script, I'd probably love it. But something about how it was done on screen is... off. I'm not even sure what it is, it's nothing I can put my finger on. It just isn't quite right.
Set Bookmark
Dexter
Tue, Oct 13, 2015, 4:12am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Time's Orphan

"There will be no one to grow up to become this Molly"

Muahahaha. What a load of bullshit. "This Molly" has lived alone for ten years in a cave. Literally! You have to say "literally" because it's grotesque.
Let's not deprive her of that experience! Don't erase that part and replace it with ten years of happy childhood.

Isn't this the dream of a lot of people? To do things over again. Don't most of think sometimes: "Ah, if I could go back to this moment 10 years ago and do things differently."
And that is people who just think they didn't study hard enough in college or shouldn't have broken up with their s/o.
This girl had 10 years of solitary confinement - that *really* is something you'd want to forget.

Imagine Bashir using this logic in the episode where O'Brien gets the fake memories of being imprisoned for 20 years. "Well Miles, we *could* erase those memories, but we'd be killing of this new you." -- "F*** You, Bashir."
Set Bookmark
TDexter
Sat, Jul 20, 2013, 2:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

I enjoyed Star Trek (2009) because it had great pacing, and was a fun action/adventure film. I never go into a Star Trek film expecting anything like any of the television series. It's just a different format.

But Into Darkness never quite stuck with me. I was bored. The action scenes dragged on and on. There was zero tension. There was zero drama. I had no investment in any of the characters. The pacing was awful, as was the dialogue (or what little existed of it). It reminded me of the Star Wars prequels at their worst.

My two cents, at least.
Set Bookmark
TDexter
Sun, Jun 23, 2013, 4:20am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Real Life

Not a VOY hater at all, but Paris goes from complaining about Neelix's cooking to complaining about having eaten too much French toast for breakfast to complaining about Neelix's cooking all in one day. Sometimes, I feel like the writers didn't even give their scripts a second glance. (It's possible that Paris used his last ration on the French toast that morning, but it's still sloppy writing because it makes the viewer scratch his or her head.)
Set Bookmark
TDexter
Sun, Mar 3, 2013, 7:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Through the Looking Glass

So much overanalysis in this thread! I have always found the MU eps as Star Trek's excuse to indulge in a little space cowboy pulp fiction, as an homage to the roots of the genre. They are supposed to be y, ridiculous and over the top.
Set Bookmark
TDexter
Fri, Jan 18, 2013, 11:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Royale

I've always enjoyed and had a soft spot for this episode.

I think that the allegory is being missed in this review. The allegory is that man makes his own prison. Art is a means of escaping that prison. When art is schlock, there is no real escape. (This episode was schlock, you might counter; fair enough.) But when art somehow transcends that (as in the case of the 'Star Trek' universe, for the most part), and dares to dream bigger, there can be release.

The Enterprise crew is rescued as soon as it recognizes all the clichés of pop art and low-brow culture for what they are, and then is deftly able to navigate them, working them to their own ends. And that's Star Trek in a nutshell: always transcending schlock, while making good use of it at the same time.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.