Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 51 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Wed, May 20, 2020, 8:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Glom

Im fairly certain Plinkett has done Star Trek 7-10 and re:view did Star Trek The Motion Picture.
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Wed, May 20, 2020, 8:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

"Galatic Treaty








SHUT THE FUCK UP!!!"

gets me every time
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Mon, May 4, 2020, 1:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

"The Dominion were just generic bad guys, scary af when first introduced but watered down to nothing by the time the war rolled around. The same Jem Hadar fighters that took down the Odyssey with ease could later be killed by a handful of photon torpedoes (if only Keogh had thought to use his!) or a single volley from a scout ship class Klingon bird-of-prey."

It was brutal how the Federation and Dominion skips could be taken out like they were TIE-fighters by the 6th and 7th season of DS9. Galaxy Class star ships being blown to bits by Cardassian phasers? Give me a break
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Mon, May 4, 2020, 1:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

"The Dominion were just generic bad guys, scary af when first introduced but watered down to nothing by the time the war rolled around. The same Jem Hadar fighters that took down the Odyssey with ease could later be killed by a handful of photon torpedoes (if only Keogh had thought to use his!) or a single volley from a scout ship class Klingon bird-of-prey."

It was brutal how the Federation and Dominion skips could be taken out like they were TIE-fighters by the 6th and 7th season of DS9. Galaxy Class star ships being blown to bits by Cardassian phasers? Give me a break
Set Bookmark
dexter
Fri, May 1, 2020, 3:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

wow LOL that was sure something else!!

Even seeing the zero star rating didn't quite prepare me for this one! Was expecting something like Profit and Lace bad, although this was at least surprising!!

I am kind of noticing that a lot of Voyager when its bad, it seems like they often start from a good, if slightly generic premise, Tom breaks the warp barrier and becomes a super creature (something right out of TOS premier), but then they take a bunch of left turns just out of..... sheer boredom? Trying to be "different" form other Trek but not having any clear idea as to how or why they want to be different? Or just sheer incompetence???

Theres a kernel of an idea here about Tom dealing with his daddy issues. I wish they stuck with that! Maybe they felt boxed in since if this was TOS then his dad would have showed up at the beggining of the ep and added to the arc of the story. But being stuck outside of Federation space they can't guest star easily. They could have gone the flashback route like they successfully did with Chakotay a few eps back, but maybe they felt that would have become rote? I guess they didnt' have Lost to rip off of yet.

Anyway. Yeah. Thats quite a left turn for the end.

I also love how Captain Janeway spends almost every episode fretting about the Prime Directive to the point of absolute insanity and in this ep with the future-human-salamnder-children run off into the river Tukov just shrugs his shoulders and is like.. eh whatever.
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Sun, Apr 26, 2020, 9:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Trent

Because Alex Kurtzman is a moron and a terrible TV writer and producer.
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Mon, Apr 13, 2020, 2:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ao99bNrJ_1Q

oh my god, I cant wait.
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Thu, Apr 9, 2020, 10:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@msw188 @glom

I actually liked Picard's Romulan butler even though she was an overbearing bitch but she was a well acted character that had some potential depth. You knew immediately that she had some meat on her character. It pissed me off to leave those two on Earth while we got Jurarti, Elron, and Raffi as the crew. I also liked Dahj (sp?) way more than I liked Soji for some reason.

I dont feel like debating the male vs female aspect of this show (its absolutely horrendous), I just wanted to voice that I pretty much disliked every female character this show offered. I dont know if it was trying to be some form of female empowerment, but it didnt work for me.
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Thu, Apr 9, 2020, 12:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Someone mentioned female leads, I wanted to say how awful i thought all the women were portrayed in this show. Right from the foul mouthed Admiral, to Raffi the drug addicted deadbeat Mom. There wasnt a single likeable female character, aside from Seven (an existing character, and even then.....) in this show. I wonder if Alex Kurtzman is Misogynistic
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Tue, Apr 7, 2020, 10:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Tom

I think The Expanse is an incredible show backed by an even more incredible set of books.
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Tue, Apr 7, 2020, 12:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Brian L

"Well? Did you fuck any of them?" - One Romulan to another Romulan

That line of dialogue sums everything up for me. This was not some well thought out character piece of Data LOL.
Set Bookmark
Dexter
Thu, Apr 2, 2020, 10:22am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I feel that the show "Picard" is the Admonishen on The Grief World and the Star Trek fan base are the Zat Vash. We all placed our hands on the circle, "watched" Picard, and a select few felt the need to take action defending what they saw while the rest of us wanted to either rip our hair out, bash our brains in with a brick, or shoot ourselves with a phaser. That scene was almost the perfect metaphor for how this show has turned out.
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 7:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

"No, what this season of Star Trek: Picard is actually about is Picard saying goodbye to Data."

Well, no it wasnt, because they shot that all after the fact because the original story they had was even worse than what they put on TV. This statement is giving way way too much credit to the writers.

@Dave in WN

"I read that both Riker's and Data's appearances in the finale were part of the reshoots. "

I thought I had read that Riker's episode "Nepenthe" was the thing that was added after the fact which would make sense because his appearance as Captain of the Jeng He makes sense in terms of the story being told, but absolutely no sense from where we left Troi and company on Nepenthe.
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 7:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

"his upcoming deep pleasure from reading a two-hour review consisting of hatred on a show (that he chooses to continue to watch"

No. The finale had already aired when I said that, so no, I will not be "continuing to watch". And I recommend everyone to watch Redlettermedia, they are hilarious and Mike Stoklasa is a diehard Trek fan, so I appreciate his take on the subject matter, whether he likes it or not. I just know they will thrash this show like the simple minded trash that it is.
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 5:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

"So sorry that Jammer's review does not fulfill your intense addiction to hate-orgasm that some feel."

No need to apologize, you didnt write the review.

"But feel free to spend hours of your weekly life on the pleasure that you get from watching a show you loathe with a passion, spewing your hatred about it, and pleasuring yourself to the hatred of others on it. That show must really have a permanent space in your mind."

I only spent 45-55 minutes of my weekly life on this show, and I dont need to feel free to do it anymore as it is over for the foreseeable future.

I can see from your previous comments that you are a simple person who is easily manipulated and entertained. The perfect demographic for this show!
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 4:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

3 out of 4 stars for this garbage? Is this a sick April fools joke? I was pretty numb to the last 20 minutes because you knew they were just going to bring back Picard at the clone. Its complete garbage. And no, even if the final 20 minutes moved me, it doesnt negate the bullshit that was the previous 9 episodes (with the exception of a few nice scenes and moments). The entire show was a waste of time.
Set Bookmark
Dexter
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 9:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Q: Does Jurati get away scot-free for the Bruce Maddox murder? Seems like she was going to get arrested.
A: Well, I mean, in fairness she hasn’t had a chance to turn herself in, yet.

Gross. Alison Pill is going to be back next season then.....
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 7:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I cannot wait for redlightmedia's two hour evisceration of this puke of a show. Its going to be glorious.l
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Fri, Mar 27, 2020, 11:13am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Dom @Glom

In DS9, I always found it disjointed how the Defiant and Sisko & Company became the Federation flagship/crew during the time of the Federation's greatest threat. Where was the Enterprise? Obviously I know they were making TNG movies while DS9 was fighting the Dominion and you were never going to get any cross over due to a variety of reasons, but still, I really found it strange back then how Sisko became the most prominent Captain in Star Trek history.
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Fri, Mar 27, 2020, 10:51am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Some things ill never get over with this show:

1) So the Romulans have these visions of the past, that are so horrific that people literally bash their fucking brains in with a brick, the visions that are so horrific that were going to send a fleet of 218 ships to wipe out a planet of 20 androids, visions so bad that weve established secret police forces over, murdered tens of thousands (maybe millions?) of martian colonists over, the thing some people have devoted their entire lives to, were just gonna turn around and never come back because the head android decided to be nice for a moment???

2) Where are all the scientists, doctors, guards, random personnel on the Borg cube while its flying and crashing into this random planet? Dead? Assimilated? Shot out the airlock?

3) What was the point of any of this?

4) Lesbian seven of nine and Raffi? GTFO

This show was an insult and a disgrace.
Set Bookmark
Dexter
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 11:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

Where the fuck we’re all the doctors, scientists, guards etc on the Romulan Reclaimation Project Cube??
Set Bookmark
Dexter
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 10:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

This was one of the worst, most poorly written seasons of TV alive ever witnessed. Other than a few bright moments, utter and complete trash.
Set Bookmark
Dexter
Sat, Mar 21, 2020, 9:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Isnt anybody curious as to where all the scientists are on the borg cube when the evil meanie woman is going around shooting things and venting drones into space? I assume Seven is going to take the cube and save Picard in the big ole battle in the end right? So where are all the people in this "project"?
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 12:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

I think the writing on this show is beyond awful. It has some decent moments, and I feel the mystery of the AI is fine, but god damn, the dialogue and story telling is awful. This is a forgettable show outside of the Riker episode.
Set Bookmark
Dexter Morgan
Tue, Jan 2, 2018, 9:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

"An original and interesting story that seamlessly segues into a new hope."

This is not true. Go watch A New Hope seconds after Rogue One ends, and the ending of Rogue One makes no sense.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.