Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 22 (Showing 1-22)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Desi
Thu, Jul 22, 2021, 2:00am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Tsunkatse

I liked the best Seven and Tuvok scenes. They really show how they understand and respect each other, unlike others who constantly mock their interests and trying to change them. What is wrong with finding scientific discovery fun or enjoyable? What is wrong with liking being in companionable silence? Absolutely nothing unless you are some bigot who thinks everyone should be the same and like the same things.
I wish there were more scenes with those two in general, they should be great friends.

Aside from that, ep was okay, nothing special, kinda bland. I wasn't sure that was Dwayne, hah, but comments confirmed it. I'm not a yank, not really into violent sports or action films so my knowledge is sketchy there.

Overall I agree with Jammer **
Set Bookmark
Desi
Wed, May 12, 2021, 9:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Tinker Tenor Doctor Spy

I feel like an alien right now but for me every single Doctor's fantasy aside from one when Janeway sees his speech was cringe/second hand embarrassment inducing. Not funny at all. ** for scenes without fantasy.
Set Bookmark
Desi
Wed, May 12, 2021, 8:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Barge of the Dead

For once I completely agree with Jammer. While there are some logical flaws (why would Captain allowed it, also Chakotey suddenly not thinking that spiritual journeys are real etc), emotionally it was top notch for me. I even teared up at that desperate "What do you want?!" rant. I didn't mind religious/spiritual side of this at all. Considering that I absolutely hated religious plot of DS9 ( along with politics and war lol) that's saying a lot. I think that's because religion was presented here as merely an aid in personal spiritual/psychological journey, instead of restrictive, dogmatic authority that are institutionalised Earth religions, at least most popular ones. This was engaging and effective episode. ****
Set Bookmark
Desi
Mon, May 10, 2021, 8:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Warhead

Interesting concept but very shaky execution. I liked that this is Kim's episode - unlike, it seems the mayority of Voyager's watchers, I really like the guy and empathise with him a lot. **
Set Bookmark
Desi
Mon, May 10, 2021, 6:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Relativity

I loved this episode. First two thirds were tense and somewhat creepy (destruction of Voyager, mysterious device no one but Seven can see), last third was entertaining and funny ( Janeway's always hillarious and relateble reaction to time travel, Seven having high opinion of Seven, captain being arrested before he had done anything). I enjoyed it immensely and it had brightened my day.
**** from me :D
Set Bookmark
Desi
Wed, Apr 14, 2021, 7:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

It's interesting and thought provoking ep but I give one star less because this should be two parter so we see more of alien culture before and after Doctor's revelation about past and maybe even the Doctor in their society and eventual leaving. Also some messages were a bit muddled/questionable. ***

P.S. Enjoyed dark Voyager crew. Favourites: Janeway, Tuvok, Seven and Kim 😈
Set Bookmark
Desi
Mon, Apr 12, 2021, 1:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Unforgettable

Btw if someone wants to watch good tragic love story with losing memory I recc film Little Fish 🐟
Set Bookmark
Desi
Mon, Apr 12, 2021, 1:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Unforgettable

Dull romantic stuff without chemistry or proper characterisation, background disturbing and completely unexplored plot stuff , "seductive" female character who is actually annoying... half of star for Tuvok's jokes and Neelix pretty understated behaviour/advice. Not saving this either in my or digital memory. I guess effect of those aliens influences me too:-P
Set Bookmark
Desi
Mon, Apr 12, 2021, 11:38am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Omega Directive

I loved this episode. Pure **** from me. Several scenes, including Seven "seeing perfection“ stayed with me even after many years without rewatching. Only flaw was excessive number of molecules aliens managed to create, but that is so we can have big impressive containment bubble instead of something smaller. Intriguing SF and believable character piece. Well done!
Set Bookmark
Desi
Sun, Apr 11, 2021, 3:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

A * star for Hirogen leader speech about need for change, and creative way they found to include Roxxan's pregnancy in a plot. Otherwise I Iiked few scenes and ideas but execution didn't work for me...
Set Bookmark
Desi
Sun, Apr 11, 2021, 11:31am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

I love Voyager, it's my favourite Star Trek by far, but this gets half a star from me only based on acting. Story has so many flaws it's ridiculous.

There is real shallowness to it, in how it touches several important themes but then just dismisses them (PTSD, victim blaming) and it's full of plot holes (what about medical evidence before whole repressed memories procedure?, missing two hours?, what about other two people in 7's memory?, crown evidence on regenerating nanoprobes ONLY proves trader fired at 7 - which is only part of the story they both agree on! It doesn't prove anything either way, so trader decided to destroy Voyager rather than face ruined reputation???, complete 180 turn of the crew in second part... I give up).

I think this is episode I missed on my many re-watches on telly and I wish I missed it again.
Set Bookmark
Desi
Sat, Apr 10, 2021, 8:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Hunters

I love this ep. ***
Set Bookmark
Desi
Thu, Apr 8, 2021, 9:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

I loved this ep. So unsettling, never knowing is it real or a dream. I started to dread the moon from this lol. ***


@Peter H I agree, Tuvok is MVP, and I too enjoy his subtle but warm friendship with Janeway, in way I never did when I watched and re-watched series on the telly. Tim Russ is excellent in portraying Tuvok, he is my favourite Vulcan :-)
Set Bookmark
Undesirable Element
Mon, Jan 11, 2021, 11:24am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Every time I reflect on an episode of Discovery after watching it, I find that I rarely have any problem with the specifics of WHAT happens. My qualms with the show always stem from HOW it happens - the execution. After all, Trek has certainly had its fair share of philosophical stories that somehow end up resolving with a meaningless action sequence or an unsatisfying action ending. So I'm not incredibly distressed in theory at the showdown of the season coming down to Burnham and Ossyra duking it out in a random room on Discovery.

It's all just in the WAY it happens. Having a big hammy villain can be fun, but Osyrra just isn't much fun as a hammy villain. She worked really well in the last episode as someone who would do ruthless things but still wanted to be taken seriously as a respected leader. When she plays it over-the-top though, she comes off like a second-rate Power Rangers villain.

The same thing happens with the character development of Tilly. In theory, I like the idea of Tilly taking a command role. That's been an established part of the character from the beginning. But then they just plunk it down here in this season with little or no reason. I actually feel bad for Mary Wiseman because she looks like she has no idea how to play it. Is she an experienced leader or a kid who's in over her head? The script doesn't seem to know, so why should she?

Adira - great character concept that ended up going absolutely nowhere. The show DESPERATELY wants her storyline to MEAN SOMETHING, and *I* really wanted it to too, but it just seemed to drift aimlessly after her introductory episode.

Burnham being the captain at the end should make all kinds of sense. It's where her character arc should have gradually been going all season, and yet, it hasn't. It's just plopped here out of nowhere. Again, in theory, showing the story of a character making a huge mistake and overcoming huge obstacles to finally take command is a great story. This show just can't seem to find a natural way to present any of it.

This show owes its life this season to Oded Fehr as Admiral Vance who can make almost any ridiculous plot point or character development seem almost credible. The man can deliver sincere in a mighty impressive way. He sold a lot of the nonsense this season that should have completely fallen flat on its face.

Of all things, the thing I liked most about this season is the thing I thought I wouldn't - the stuff with Su'Kal on the dilithium planet. The growing bond between Su'Kal and Saru turned out to be surprisingly interesting. Having Saru come to re-appreciate his Kelpien heritage through teaching another Kelpien about it was actually really well done. Doug Jones, of course, sells the hell out of it. Honestly, I think this show works best when it tries to tackle the characters' real emotional truths. It just can't handle the big action stuff with anything other than complete clumsiness.

I give credit to this show for trying to be bold and to take big swings. I just wish that it connected more often than not.
Set Bookmark
Undesirable Element
Thu, Nov 12, 2020, 5:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Die Trying

The Voyager-J definitely got the most attention there in the big future ship show, but did anyone else notice the USS Nog there too? That made me chuckle.

Intriguing episode. I wish we'd gotten more from Nhan before she left the show, as it would have added some stakes. Very similar to the episode where Ariam died, which was intentionally referenced here several times.

I found myself engaged with Mirror Georgiou for probably the first time in the whole series. First, her interplay with the mysterious Richard Beltzer-like interrogator was just a treat. But second, having her grapple with what her status in the universe actually IS... that's long overdue. I could have watched a whole episode of just that conversation.
Set Bookmark
Undesirable Element
Thu, Nov 12, 2020, 8:12am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Forget Me Not

Excellent review, Jammer. You raise some interesting points there.

I feel like mystical mumbo-jumbo is just the standard order when it comes to the Trill. DS9's "Facets" was absolutely ridiculous in terms of how the whole consciousness transfer worked. "Field of Fire" had almost identical mumbo-jumbo to what was presented here, with Joran being manifested as a physical entity that Ezri could talk to.

I actually really like the Trill as a Star Trek species, but from telepathic milky hot tubs, to consciousness transfers, to secret hidden murderers hiding in your subconscious, they are the mumbo-jumboiest of all Star Trek races. :)
Set Bookmark
Undesirable Element
Thu, Oct 29, 2020, 7:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: People of Earth

I quite liked this one. It's an interesting take on the idea of isolationism - Earth itself is a paradise still, but it can't grow, protect its former colonies, or become more than what it is. I wouldn't be surprised if it's technically a paradise but maybe not all it's cracked up to be thanks to their extreme isolationist policy. I wonder if the Adira character will have some insight on this, having grown up on this version of Earth.

Burnham is so much better rounded this season. She feels a lot more like a real human being. Her interactions with Saru and even Georgiou felt more genuine than they had in the previous seasons. I think the addition of Book to this show was a terrific move - he's intelligent and charming in his own right, but he also allows Burnham to interact with someone in a natural, understated way. There's really no other character who has that kind of chemistry with her.

I still don't love the Georgiou character even though I like Michelle Yeoh a lot. The character's backstory is just so ludicrously weird and cartoonishly evil, it's hard to take seriously.

Saru becoming captain was a long time coming and a welcome scene. Doug Jones is really great as this character, and he manages to bring a unique take to the position of captain - much more serene and calm while still maintaining an air of command. It's impressive.

This is such a minor gripe, but I don't care for the way this show lights the space windows. Every time there's a window into space, there's a massive white light shining through. It's clearly being done for some sort of artistic reason, but I don't much like it. Makes sense if they're near a star or orbiting a planet, but this happens every time! It's odd.

I'm intrigued to see where we go next. The previews hint at Trill, which makes sense given Adria's backstory. The idea of a human host for a Trill is a interesting one - we've seen it before way back in "The Host," but DS9 definitely never picked up on that ability. Still, there is precedent for it.
Set Bookmark
Undesirable Element
Fri, Oct 16, 2020, 9:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

I liked this a lot more than I thought I would. There have been MANY times when I thought an episode focused on Michael for no good reason, but here it made a lot of sense. It allows us to see this entirely new universe through the eyes of a single person. We encountered new bits and pieces just as she did. It permitted this new universe to grow naturally instead of providing us with frantic exposition like we've gotten in the past.

I wasn't wild about the idea of the Federation collapsing, but the concept of severely curtailing warp drive made for an interesting starting point. As Michael states, the Federation is more than just ships and technology, so I imagine that we're going to find that a lot of the individual member worlds are intact and continuing the ideals of the Federation, but the ability to link together in common purpose is a problem to be overcome... presumably in this season.

If Book is being set up to be Michael's new love interest (which I think is pretty likely), I think he's a FAR superior choice than Ash Tyler. Giving him a strong level of emotional intelligence provides him with a nice counterpoint to Michael's overtly logical way of approaching all problems. The actor also seems far more capable.

The continuity nods were nicely subtle this time around, and they did address some lingering concerns. Quantum Slipstream is still a thing, and Book mentions needing benamite crystals... which is exactly what was used to power the slipstream drive back in Voyager's "Timeless." The mention that time travel technology has been destroyed and banned after the Temporal Wars alludes to that ridiculous plot from Enterprise and nicely eliminates that can of worms from being opened. After all, if time travel is as everyday as that plotline indicated, we'd have a completely unworkable mess on our hands.

I'm weirdly looking forward to the rest of the story. And I wasn't expecting to say that.
Set Bookmark
Desirewu
Sat, Sep 21, 2013, 11:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

Also, I believe that any TV episode that can spark so much controversy and discussion, cannot be a bad episode.
Set Bookmark
Desirewu
Sat, Sep 21, 2013, 11:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

After reading the many negative comments, I think there is some misunderstanding regarding the plot. The crew of the Valiant was under strict orders to maintain radio silence, hence Starfleet Command didn't know about the Valiant being under command of cadets. Some posts mentioned that it is a plot hole for Starfleet to let cadets maintain commmand. That is simply not true. Starfleet simply didn't know.
Set Bookmark
The Undesirable Element
Tue, Feb 24, 2009, 11:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: No Exit

I couldn't help but be reminded of DS9's "Rapture" with regards to the Kara/Anders plot. In the DS9 episode, Sisko finds all sorts of divine truths as a result of a brain injury, and Jake has a brain surgery performed to save his father.

If one is going to borrow a page from DS9, that's a darn good place to start. And since Ron Moore wrote for that show too, he's really only elaborating on his own themes.
Set Bookmark
Undesirable Element
Wed, Dec 31, 2008, 2:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Faith

I'm curious... did you score these episodes as you watched them originally, or are you basing your opinion on how they all fit in to the overall storyline of these first ten episodes? (I assume you've seen all the episodes by now.)
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.