Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 121 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Derek Watts
Thu, Aug 2, 2018, 8:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

Yeah.. I'm not convinced Riker didn't try to rape Apgar's wife. I thought he was guilty until proven innocent. They never proved he was innocent of the sexual assault and attempted rape allegations! Corr, you know.., I always thought he seems the type, that Riker. Nice enough fellow, but when you think about it, he does have that temper doesn't he!
Set Bookmark
Derek DiGiovanni
Sun, Jul 22, 2018, 3:22am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Warhead

I have a lot of problems with this episode and it's really not with the premise presented or the character involvement (which is nice to see the whole crew involved again) but with the sheer lack of intelligent and even idiotic responses which are done with this crew of supposedly highly educated and intelligent group of people.

First, this is yet another episode that makes me further despise the character of the Doctor. Again his superiority complex and complete contempt for the lowly organics he works with is in full force. He shows he fully thinks he's the one that should be making the decisions because his abilities are so more advanced than the animals he's surrounded by. He continues, especially, to show nothing but utmost contempt for Kim (which never changes even with what he says at the end). He's never had to earn anything in his "life" or work for anything, he just simply programs whatever knowledge or ability into himself that he wants and then holds it over everyone's head (another thing he continues to do). When you really think about it, his character goes through any true growth throughout the series. The only reason he changes at all is because of further and further additions to his program. As a comparison, Data had to earn most of his character growth, starting with having to graduate from the Academy. He could have just been programmed with the information too and made "the Emergency Command Android". But, he never demanded that kind of advancement just because he could be programmed, he tried to earn it just like everyone else (even though he could learn it faster).

This is yet another time the doctor's superiority complex and care for machines over people that are supposed to be his friends almost got them all killed. And, yet again, he's NEVER punished in the least for betraying his crew (something else that never changes). Tom Paris is now an ensign and spent 30 days in jail for acting on his moral beliefs, but the Doctor? Nahhhh, we can blame Harry for it all.

Harry gets lot of flak for always screwing up (he was completely inexperienced at first, so of course he's gonna make some mistakes), but if he did this time, its only because everyone decided to go along with the walking medical database. The one that essentially told him he wasn't fit to command an away team as soon as he found out and slapped him again by saying it didn't matter that he sucked so much because the real leader of the crew, the Doctor, would be there to decide everything for him.

I also kind of agree that it always seemed odd that an ensign was designated a senior officer immediately after graduating from the Academy (even though he was 1st in his class, I think?) and even more so that he never got a promotion. The reason they always give is that "there are only so many command positions", but that never made sense to me since he's ALREADY in a command position - he is the Operations Manager of Voyager, he's the command officer of the Operations division. They could promote him to any rank up to Lieutenant-Commander and there would be zero impact on the command structure of the ship.

Obviously, I didn't like this show mostly because it involved a lot of Doctor-Harry interactions, but there were some other WTH moments for me, too. Why didn't anyone conduct an intensive scan of the thing when they found it? Wouldn't they have detected explosives, or large amounts of antimatter, or triggering devices, or something to indicate it would make a big boom? Why not scan the surface for the other bomb BEFORE they beam it aboard? Why not first try to see if it could be worked on on the surface before bringing sentient unknown tech on board the ship? Try to download its navigation data and find where it came before moving it? Just feels like there are way too many logical oversights in this episode to make it fun to watch.

I'm so sorry that my comment turned more into a thesis, but my issues with the doctor have bothered me for a long time, it felt good to vent some of them. Thanks a ton if you bothered to read it all :)

tl;dr - it's all the Doctor's fault AGAIN, but of course the leader of the crew (in his own subroutines) keeps everyone from taking the proper steps and gets another pass for it.
Set Bookmark
Derek
Thu, Jun 14, 2018, 4:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Harbinger

If I were Reed, my new combat strategy would be put the MACOs up front and have them charge in for every combat situation. Let them be the cannon fodder so all the important people behind them are kept safe and sound. Keep the Starfleet personnel casualties to a minimum. :)

Camo is the new red, right? ;)
Set Bookmark
Derek
Thu, Jun 14, 2018, 3:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Harbinger

This is actually one of my least favorite Enterprise episodes. Partly because of what a lot of people have already mentioned, but a big part is that they are trying to do too much with one episode (too many "plots" at the same time). Since there are 3 "plots" they all come off as shallow because there isn't enough time to develop them. This is only made worse by the fact that the material is shock value & sex which are shallow to begin with.

One thing I haven't seen mentioned yet deals with Archer and his complete lack in people management and supervisory talent. He should have known the position he put Reed in when he brought the MACOs aboard and he's never shown managing the situation to ensure that the obvious conflict he created is minimized. He calls Hayes a senior officer when he should absolutely NOT be in the command structure. He should have made it clear that Hayes reports to Reed and that's it. He should have known that Hayes was bypassing the chain of command and told him to bring is up with Reed. He certainly wouldn't accept T'Pol, Tucker or Reed going over his head to the Admiral, would he? And Reed has had legitimate concerns that Archer has largely ignored. Even then Reed never went over his head. His lacking management skills is what led to the fight. He's shown no support for Reed throughout the entire series. He's repeatedly stated that Enterprise is not a warship, but then brings military aboard and by doing so essentially told the entire crew he doesn't think Reed and his (very invisible) security force aren't capable and does nothing to assuage that appearance. And, I agree with Reed when he states that his security force has faced more real threats than the MACOs have. Reed's Klingon technique is one very evident example. A.G. Robinson made a very valid point - Archer is a good pilot but not a good Captain.
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Tue, Mar 6, 2018, 8:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Turnabout Intruder

It has its good moments, but overall a very disappointing way to end a beloved series.
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Sat, Mar 3, 2018, 12:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Spock's Brain

I remember watching this when i was young and thought it was utterly ridiculous. That recollection stuck with me as I read various people rating it as the worst episode of TOS. After many years I just watched it again and I still think it is utterly ridiculous but I enjoyed it a lot more than I thought I would. I would say for me I think Plato's Stepchildren, The Omega Glory (because of the INCREDIBLY STUPID ending when they bring out the U.S. Constitution), and especially And the Children Shall Lead (I cringe when I even think of it) are all WAY worse.
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Tue, Feb 6, 2018, 8:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Attached

Seems i'm in the minority here, but i really liked this one. 3 1/2 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Sun, Feb 4, 2018, 1:14am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Phantasms

People seem to either love or hate this one, and i am one of the latter. I found large chunks of this boring. There was some funny stuff here, but overall it didn't do it for me. 1 1/2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Sat, Feb 3, 2018, 12:54am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Gambit

The second part was more like a 2 star.
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Fri, Feb 2, 2018, 11:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Gambit

Haven't watch the second part yet, but thought the first part was really fun. Loved Data in command and the aggressive, cocky Picard on the alien ship. 3 1/2 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Sat, Jan 27, 2018, 11:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rightful Heir

A very difficult one to judge. I'm usually a huge fan of the Klingon episodes, but even i found this to be too much Klingon too soon after Birthright.

"If you like Klingon politics, you will probably like "Rightful Heir," which is ultimately as intriguing as it is borderline ridiculous. And it's got the juice."

I weight the borderline ridiculousness a little more heavily than Jammer. 2 1/2 stars
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Sat, Jan 27, 2018, 3:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

Despite an incredible number of plot holes, I still enjoyed this one enough to give in 2 stars.

While I love just about every scene Guinan was in up until this episode, I found her scenes with Crusher very wooden and uncomfortable to watch because they were so poorly acted by both of them.

A question: is it mandatory for Vulcans who leave the home planet to marry humans? Just asking.
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Sat, Jan 27, 2018, 12:02am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Lessons

Not at all just a piggy-back on The Inner Light. Many delightful and touching scenes in this one. 3.25 stars
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Wed, Jan 24, 2018, 11:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part II

My all-time favorite TNG episode.
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Wed, Jan 24, 2018, 9:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part I

High marks for this episode. I'd give it four stars except I agree with those of you above who are incredulous that they would send Picard or Crusher into this situation. 3 1/2 stars
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Fri, Jan 12, 2018, 2:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Man of the People

I agree wholeheartedly with Jammer's original review, but for the same reasons would only give this 1 1/2 stars
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Wed, Jan 10, 2018, 11:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Time's Arrow, Part II

I agree with a lot of Jammer's critique, but for many of the same reasons give this one 1 1/2 stars. Mark Twain was a mess. To be that non-chalant about going into the future 500 years (what's the big deal after all) and being on a starship --just amateurish writing--gave no sense or reality at all.
I did like the back story to Guinan & Picard. Other that that, I wanted to like this one, but didn't that much.
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Sat, Jan 6, 2018, 11:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Next Phase

I loved this one. 4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Sat, Jan 6, 2018, 1:13am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: I, Borg

I read a lot of the above comments, but not all, so I'm not sure where my comments will fit in with what has been expressed above.

I really wanted to like this episode (and did like a lot of things about it), but to give up such an incredible opportunity to destroy such a powerful enemy seems ridiculous. I think Guinan was right during the fencing scene when she took advantage of Picard's sympathy to defeat him. In this situation you cannot let such sympathy take away this rare chance. Like many Trekkies, I am also attracted to the idealism of the Trek universe but has Wolf 359 been forgotten so quickly? In that case, ONE Borg cube decimated dozens of starships and came insanely close to assimilating people on Earth. So many cultures had been destroyed by the Borg--didn't the Enterprise have a duty to attempt to stop the future destruction of billions and trillions of lives? I mean, I suppose this episode opened up a sliver of possibility for future negotiation, but the very tiny possibility of that happening versus the very high probability of the Borg wiping out the Federation makes Picard's decision inexcusable.

Btw, I don't remember 7 of 9 having anywhere near as easy a time becoming comfortable with being an individual as Hugh.....



Set Bookmark
Derek D
Tue, Jan 2, 2018, 2:12am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Cost of Living

Positives of this Episode:
Worf: You're just supposed to sit here?...

Worf popping the bubble head

The touching scene when Lwaxana speaks about aging and loneliness and compromising.

Nothing else.

Negative of this episode:
Everything else.
The holodeck scenes--insufferable and embarrassingly bad

This one falls between Code of Honor and Shades of Gray--and yes, i'd sooner watch the latter than watch this one again
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Sat, Dec 30, 2017, 2:00am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

From the comments I read above I appear to be in the minority, but I thought Caroline Kava's depiction of Dr. Toby Russell was awful: hollow, lacking the right emotional tone, unconvincing.

I also disagree with Jammer about Worf's decision to commit ritual suicide as being "absurd." From my perception of what it is to be a Klingon, Worf's desire to end his life since he can no longer be a fully-functioning warrior makes a lot of sense, whether it is congruous with my personal beliefs or not.
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Thu, Dec 28, 2017, 1:16am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Violations

Disliked this episode even from the opening scene with Keiko--the invasion of her mind even for a "positive" reason felt like a dangerous violation. Was not expecting, nor did I enjoy an episode centered on intense psychological rape.

I did enjoy Worf knocking out the creep with one smack.
Usually I'm a fan of Picard's speeches, but the one at the end was smug and out of place.

Btw, Riker's interrogation skills have much to be desired. Perhaps he had some gut feeling that Jev was the culprit, but even so, at the start of an investigation you should play it cool and come across as objective. Here, Riker shoves accusatorily toned questions down Jev's throat while maintaining that he was not accusing him of anything. Right.

1 star
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Thu, Dec 28, 2017, 12:06am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Hero Worship

As I'm rewatching Season 5 I came up to this episode and thought about skipping it because I remember not liking it before. Watched it anyway and came to the same conclusion--weak, boring episode. 1 1/2 stars
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Wed, Dec 27, 2017, 12:49am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

Jason R.
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 5:53pm
Picard's speech was laughable given that he strenuously argued to allow entire civilizations die (on more than one occasion) rather than violate the prime directive, but now suddenly he is going to the wall for this one little colony?

Totally agree

This episode fails on so many levels. 1 star
Set Bookmark
Derek D
Tue, Dec 26, 2017, 8:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

Jack
Sun, May 27, 2012, 10:10am (UTC -6)
It's just ridiculous that Romulus could ever "conquer" a planet that lies within the very heart of the Federation...how could they ever hope to hold it?...it's completely surrounded by vast swaths of Federation territory. Sela's "we'll be there, entrenched" with the likes of 2000 troops was laughable.

My thoughts exactly

Sintek
Wed, Sep 26, 2012, 3:10pm (UTC -6)
When I first saw this I was enthralled until Sela showed up. I don't know why but Crosby's acting always comes across shrill and fake, destroying any suspension of disbelief. I'm glad she left in the first season or the entire series would be unwatchable.

My thoughts exactly

Bright spot: when Data tells Sela she might consider a different job!
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.