Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 134 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 6
Set Bookmark
The President
Sun, Feb 28, 2021, 11:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

Minister Odala would have made an excellent cabinet official in a certain U.S. political administration.
Set Bookmark
Rosencranz Not Gilendens
Sat, Feb 13, 2021, 4:50am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

Er, did Wesley get laid in this episode or not?
Set Bookmark
Episodenull
Mon, Feb 1, 2021, 11:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Rogar Danar

"Discovery has no real purpose, no real trajectory. The entire series is made up of random crap thrown at a wall until something sticks."

Which is why the premium cable, heavily-sterilized style is a bad look on modern Trek. That kind of thing is fine -- an advantage even -- on an episodic, procedural show like Trek used to be. Kurtzman et al are just making it harder on themselves trying to ape GoT or whatever show they want to be. Just let Star Trek be Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
Episodenull
Thu, Jan 28, 2021, 12:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Jammer

Would money from a Patreon or a tip jar make it viable for you to cover other shows like Lower Decks, TAS, or even the Stargate shows? If so, I'd be all for it. Doesn't need to be a Patreon exclusive, just put it up and we'll pay you for it.

(I would personally prefer a tip jar as I've never done a Patreon and don't know or care how any of that works.)
Set Bookmark
Episodenull
Wed, Jan 27, 2021, 1:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Mal
@Roga Danar

IMO, the rise of omnipresent online politics also played a role in things. TrekBBS has had a minimally-moderated, opt-in forum called The Neutral Zone (TNZ) for many, many years; due to its nature of allowing discussion that's off limits elsewhere on the site, it's effectively become a high school clique of people talking smack about other members behind their backs and engaging in politics-related infighting. As a result the rest of the form has slowly turned into a place where seemingly non-political topics become proxy battles over who doesn't like who for having the wrong opinion of whatever. It's nasty, exhausting, and drives away people like me who don't want to see or participate in any of that.
Set Bookmark
Episodenull
Sun, Jan 24, 2021, 9:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Roga Danar

I've completely abandoned the TrekBBS for that exact reason. Too many attack dog fans who jump down your throat for disliking whatever the Trek Du Jour is doing. I experienced it as far back as the first JJ reboot, where even the mildest statement going against the grain was piled on mercilessly, and it's never abated. Just smug, condescending crap masquerading as enlightenment, and rigid conformity as intelligent discussion. It's a shame; I used to spend a lot of time there.
Set Bookmark
hiddensun
Tue, Dec 1, 2020, 11:47am (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 13: The Jedi

Jason Isaacs for Thrawn, please.
Set Bookmark
Den
Tue, Nov 24, 2020, 1:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Dark Frontier

Just about to watch the episode where human parents recklessly put their child in danger. The Hansens should have been locked up for child abuse. Apart from that entertaining episode with a good backstory for Seven. I guess the Hansens were working for Section 31 since mainstream Starfleet officers like Picard were new to The Borg since Archer's experience and the El Aurians refugees stories, must have been classified
Set Bookmark
NoIdentity
Fri, Nov 13, 2020, 3:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Forget Me Not

"Literally the only people on this forum who complain about inclusion aka identity politics are white heterosexual men."

Err...maybe 'literally' has another meaning in German, but nope. Rahul was the one who brought it up first.
Set Bookmark
Den
Wed, Sep 23, 2020, 11:36am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

Watching this now, I give it two stars for making me laugh, knock off half a star for abandoning the salamander babies!
Set Bookmark
Den
Tue, Sep 22, 2020, 6:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Family

David -"I always found Picard's brother and wife to be too old to have such a young son. Both of them are clearly in their 50s, yet their son is no older than about 10. Robert is old enough to be his grandfather!"

What an ignorant and ageist statement

There are parents who reproduce in their 40's and have young children in their 50's whether by adoption, IVF or natural means, plus its the 24th century, humans having kids after 40 or even 50 should be as normal as sleeping, after all they can live to 140 years
Set Bookmark
Den Lewis
Thu, Apr 30, 2020, 5:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Distant Voices

Siddig was 30 at the time he played this part, he gets a 4 star for how he played and old man.
Set Bookmark
Den Lewis
Tue, Apr 28, 2020, 7:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Jem'Hadar

I recall watching this back in the 90's and beoing open mouthed that the Odyssey was blown up and definitely did not see the twist at the end coming. I am rewatching the Star Trek franchise in in universe order since 2018 and a now am at the DS 9 time period. This episode is on the T.V right now as I type, I give it 3.5 stars, it wold get four stars if i did not ignoe the gfamping plot hole of sending a startship for a rescue missiopn rather than the Starfleet verison of Macos to resuce the commander who is an important offcerin being in charge of the wormhole via the Bajoran state. The teen actors are great in this, well written and well acted.
As for the Dominion's 'we claim the whole Gamma quadrant' attitude, I disagree with their claim and UFP was right not to recognise it, however the UFP does have a habit of sticking its flag in areas before checking that is ok with the neighbours hence their issues with the Cardessians. A reflection of real life Western European colonial attitiude perhaps? Space is vast and in the Star Trek universe, homeworlds live almost rescource excess lifes so why would you want to lay your bed right next to Klingon, Romulan or Dominion territory? Madness!
Set Bookmark
Denny
Thu, Apr 23, 2020, 2:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

Just watching this episode now, a reminder how easy it is for a strong personality to deceive people and encourage them to do destructive things with their eyes wide open. It reminds me how these days people are decieved by some of our forceful politicians. Yes I can easily see how these villagers follow Alixus blindly, because real life people do this at the ballot box.
Considering how few in number the colonists were, the lack of genetic diversiy will be their doom anyway.
I hope the Federation sends Alixus and her son to Rure Penthe
Set Bookmark
Dennis
Wed, Apr 3, 2019, 9:57am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Vengeance Factor

I think i read somewhere that Roddenberry was on Vacay, or something like that, when this episode was being shot, and when he got back, and found out that Riker killed Yuta outright, he had a cow.......

Totally ridiculous ending. As others pointed out, there were numerous methods to either restrain her, or get her target out of the way.
Set Bookmark
Gul Densho-Ar
Fri, Mar 22, 2019, 12:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

It's not like Discovery had ever made any sense, but this is... wow. Speechless.
Set Bookmark
Dean Dent
Tue, Mar 5, 2019, 3:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Parturition

Not a particularly good episode. The predicted "Breakout Character" Neelix was a poorly written character (No bearing on Ethan Phillips), who is jealous, insecure and an alleged perv (Involved with the barely one year old Kes).
Set Bookmark
Gul Densho-Ar
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 7:17am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

A watchable episode, but yeah... "they were smiling on photos, that's proof the killer is Vulcan" ...erm, what?
Set Bookmark
Gul Densho-Ar
Tue, Jan 22, 2019, 1:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Magnificent Ferengi

In another of my totally-not-grumpy-and-waving-walking-stick comments, I have totally missed where this was any funnier or more entertaining than any other Ferengi episode. I chuckled at that scene where Quark and Rom took a wrong turn in the tube and found themselves in Sisko's office, but that's about it. But then, "Let he who is without sin..." made me laugh at one point too. Everything else was just as bad and cringeworthy as usual to me. Again I could list what all I found terrible, but that list can again be summed up with "pretty much everything".

1 star.
Set Bookmark
Gul Densho-Ar
Sun, Jan 20, 2019, 1:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Statistical Probabilities

"Let He Who Is Without Sin..." ...BS episode with no redeeming feature except that it made me laugh at one point. For that I give it 0.5 stars.

"Statistical Probabilities" ...BS episode with no redeeming feature. 0 stars.

It also seems to ridicule mental health patients, so I wish I could give less than 0 stars. Oh wait, I can: -0.5. Worst episode. Of everything.
Set Bookmark
Gul Densho-Ar
Wed, Jan 16, 2019, 6:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Resurrection

Not a neutral episode, just a bad one. The narrative's bad, the soundtrack is bad (how can I evoke emotion and spirituality? ...whatever, just get the pan pipes again!), Mirror Kira is as bad as always. Nana Visitor is great at being Major Kira but she's shit at being mirror Kira. Only Alexander Siddig is even worse at being evil Bashir.

DS9 mirror universe episodes aren't good, and this is no exception. However the others at least had some trashy action stuff - arguably even stories - going in their favour, this episode on the other hand is just pointless BS.

1 star.
Set Bookmark
Gul Densho-Ar
Sat, Jan 12, 2019, 8:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: In the Cards

I'm surprised too by the praise this episode gets here. I thought it was solid, competent at what it's doing, but not particularly interesting or funny or anything. I don't see anything standing out in any way, or what's so funny about Geiger and why stupid theory equals hilarious. Star Trek often makes me laugh, but not in this episode. Seeing how people put this on a level with The Visitor makes me wonder if I was watching the same show.

Again, a watchable episode, but for my liking pretty standard and forgettable. 2.5.
Set Bookmark
Gul Densho-Ar
Sun, Dec 30, 2018, 4:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

I actually laughed when Leeta revealed she was leaving Julian for Rom and Quark gave him that idol thingy and said: "you need this more than I do". But I guess that's the only good thing I can say about this episode.
Set Bookmark
Gul Densho-Ar
Sun, Dec 2, 2018, 7:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Sons of Mogh

A good show until the ending happened. Think about Klingon customs what you will--I think erasing Kurn's memory without consent or even warning, right after he passed out drunk, was more unethical than letting him have his will of being killed by his brother.
Set Bookmark
GENE RODDENBERRY
Thu, Nov 1, 2018, 5:55am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

This episode is a test for trekkies. Nothing more, nothing less.

If your brain was switched-off, it was all ok and the dear old Ben was the dear old Ben.

If you inserted brain, you understood. Do you remember Deanna's test to gain a pip? In this episode, trekkies are Deanna, and the TV is the holodeck.

People who didn't understood and justified the WMD on a planet, was condemned as war criminal. The sentence is: 100 years on Rura Penthe watching any single day Wanker Texass Ranger, never more Star Trek for you. Only Chuck Norris roundkicking you.

That's my sentence... Am Gene Roddenberry from Genesis planet.
Next ►Page 1 of 6
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.