Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 125 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Den
Wed, Sep 23, 2020, 11:36am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

Watching this now, I give it two stars for making me laugh, knock off half a star for abandoning the salamander babies!
Set Bookmark
Den
Tue, Sep 22, 2020, 6:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Family

David -"I always found Picard's brother and wife to be too old to have such a young son. Both of them are clearly in their 50s, yet their son is no older than about 10. Robert is old enough to be his grandfather!"

What an ignorant and ageist statement

There are parents who reproduce in their 40's and have young children in their 50's whether by adoption, IVF or natural means, plus its the 24th century, humans having kids after 40 or even 50 should be as normal as sleeping, after all they can live to 140 years
Set Bookmark
Den Lewis
Thu, Apr 30, 2020, 5:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Distant Voices

Siddig was 30 at the time he played this part, he gets a 4 star for how he played and old man.
Set Bookmark
Den Lewis
Tue, Apr 28, 2020, 7:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Jem'Hadar

I recall watching this back in the 90's and beoing open mouthed that the Odyssey was blown up and definitely did not see the twist at the end coming. I am rewatching the Star Trek franchise in in universe order since 2018 and a now am at the DS 9 time period. This episode is on the T.V right now as I type, I give it 3.5 stars, it wold get four stars if i did not ignoe the gfamping plot hole of sending a startship for a rescue missiopn rather than the Starfleet verison of Macos to resuce the commander who is an important offcerin being in charge of the wormhole via the Bajoran state. The teen actors are great in this, well written and well acted.
As for the Dominion's 'we claim the whole Gamma quadrant' attitude, I disagree with their claim and UFP was right not to recognise it, however the UFP does have a habit of sticking its flag in areas before checking that is ok with the neighbours hence their issues with the Cardessians. A reflection of real life Western European colonial attitiude perhaps? Space is vast and in the Star Trek universe, homeworlds live almost rescource excess lifes so why would you want to lay your bed right next to Klingon, Romulan or Dominion territory? Madness!
Set Bookmark
Denny
Thu, Apr 23, 2020, 2:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

Just watching this episode now, a reminder how easy it is for a strong personality to deceive people and encourage them to do destructive things with their eyes wide open. It reminds me how these days people are decieved by some of our forceful politicians. Yes I can easily see how these villagers follow Alixus blindly, because real life people do this at the ballot box.
Considering how few in number the colonists were, the lack of genetic diversiy will be their doom anyway.
I hope the Federation sends Alixus and her son to Rure Penthe
Set Bookmark
Dennis
Wed, Apr 3, 2019, 9:57am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Vengeance Factor

I think i read somewhere that Roddenberry was on Vacay, or something like that, when this episode was being shot, and when he got back, and found out that Riker killed Yuta outright, he had a cow.......

Totally ridiculous ending. As others pointed out, there were numerous methods to either restrain her, or get her target out of the way.
Set Bookmark
Gul Densho-Ar
Fri, Mar 22, 2019, 12:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

It's not like Discovery had ever made any sense, but this is... wow. Speechless.
Set Bookmark
Dean Dent
Tue, Mar 5, 2019, 3:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Parturition

Not a particularly good episode. The predicted "Breakout Character" Neelix was a poorly written character (No bearing on Ethan Phillips), who is jealous, insecure and an alleged perv (Involved with the barely one year old Kes).
Set Bookmark
Gul Densho-Ar
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 7:17am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

A watchable episode, but yeah... "they were smiling on photos, that's proof the killer is Vulcan" ...erm, what?
Set Bookmark
Gul Densho-Ar
Tue, Jan 22, 2019, 1:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Magnificent Ferengi

In another of my totally-not-grumpy-and-waving-walking-stick comments, I have totally missed where this was any funnier or more entertaining than any other Ferengi episode. I chuckled at that scene where Quark and Rom took a wrong turn in the tube and found themselves in Sisko's office, but that's about it. But then, "Let he who is without sin..." made me laugh at one point too. Everything else was just as bad and cringeworthy as usual to me. Again I could list what all I found terrible, but that list can again be summed up with "pretty much everything".

1 star.
Set Bookmark
Gul Densho-Ar
Sun, Jan 20, 2019, 1:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Statistical Probabilities

"Let He Who Is Without Sin..." ...BS episode with no redeeming feature except that it made me laugh at one point. For that I give it 0.5 stars.

"Statistical Probabilities" ...BS episode with no redeeming feature. 0 stars.

It also seems to ridicule mental health patients, so I wish I could give less than 0 stars. Oh wait, I can: -0.5. Worst episode. Of everything.
Set Bookmark
Gul Densho-Ar
Wed, Jan 16, 2019, 6:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Resurrection

Not a neutral episode, just a bad one. The narrative's bad, the soundtrack is bad (how can I evoke emotion and spirituality? ...whatever, just get the pan pipes again!), Mirror Kira is as bad as always. Nana Visitor is great at being Major Kira but she's shit at being mirror Kira. Only Alexander Siddig is even worse at being evil Bashir.

DS9 mirror universe episodes aren't good, and this is no exception. However the others at least had some trashy action stuff - arguably even stories - going in their favour, this episode on the other hand is just pointless BS.

1 star.
Set Bookmark
Gul Densho-Ar
Sat, Jan 12, 2019, 8:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: In the Cards

I'm surprised too by the praise this episode gets here. I thought it was solid, competent at what it's doing, but not particularly interesting or funny or anything. I don't see anything standing out in any way, or what's so funny about Geiger and why stupid theory equals hilarious. Star Trek often makes me laugh, but not in this episode. Seeing how people put this on a level with The Visitor makes me wonder if I was watching the same show.

Again, a watchable episode, but for my liking pretty standard and forgettable. 2.5.
Set Bookmark
Gul Densho-Ar
Sun, Dec 30, 2018, 4:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

I actually laughed when Leeta revealed she was leaving Julian for Rom and Quark gave him that idol thingy and said: "you need this more than I do". But I guess that's the only good thing I can say about this episode.
Set Bookmark
Gul Densho-Ar
Sun, Dec 2, 2018, 7:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Sons of Mogh

A good show until the ending happened. Think about Klingon customs what you will--I think erasing Kurn's memory without consent or even warning, right after he passed out drunk, was more unethical than letting him have his will of being killed by his brother.
Set Bookmark
GENE RODDENBERRY
Thu, Nov 1, 2018, 5:55am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

This episode is a test for trekkies. Nothing more, nothing less.

If your brain was switched-off, it was all ok and the dear old Ben was the dear old Ben.

If you inserted brain, you understood. Do you remember Deanna's test to gain a pip? In this episode, trekkies are Deanna, and the TV is the holodeck.

People who didn't understood and justified the WMD on a planet, was condemned as war criminal. The sentence is: 100 years on Rura Penthe watching any single day Wanker Texass Ranger, never more Star Trek for you. Only Chuck Norris roundkicking you.

That's my sentence... Am Gene Roddenberry from Genesis planet.
Set Bookmark
Gul Densho-Ar
Tue, Oct 30, 2018, 2:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Distant Voices

God what a load of pointless crap. It's rare that an episode has not even a trace of anything interesting going on anywhere. Probably the worst Trek episode since Shades of Grey. Not sure if 0.5 or just 0.
Set Bookmark
Gul Densho-Ar
Mon, Sep 10, 2018, 6:50am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Babel

"But what's most interesting is the virus itself, which has an inspired, aphasic side effect that causes a breakdown in verbal communication, reducing everyone to babbling incoherence."

I wonder if Geordi and B'Elanna have it too
Set Bookmark
Gul Densho-Ar
Sat, Sep 8, 2018, 12:43am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

@Springy

I don't actively dislike Beverly, unlike Wes she's not an annoying character. She's one of the prominent faces of beloved TNG, so I do like her, and of course she means something for Picard--but so I think ironically she does more to add some depth to Picard than to have any depth of her own.

On her own she's a pretty bland character, and I'm sorry to say Gates McFadden's acting is pretty poor. Certainly worse than Diana Muldaur as Dr. Pulaski. Beverly always is a character who I feel is underdeveloped and underacted.

I can see what they were trying with Sub Rosa, but it was doomed to failure because the whole episode was incredibly stupid and Gates McFadden was visibly overchallenged with the more eccentric acting it expected from her.
Set Bookmark
Gul Densho-Ar
Fri, Aug 24, 2018, 5:31am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Starship Mine

Didn't recall this episode when re-watching it yesterday, and seeing Tim Russ there, less than two years before Voyager, misled me to think this was a Maquis plot :P
Set Bookmark
Tom Lyden
Wed, Aug 22, 2018, 7:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: Return of the Anykey

I have been using Anykey keyboards for years. My 7 year old computer's PS-2 Keyboard input port died. I bought a "smart" PS-2 to USB adapter but the programming didn't work on my Anykey keyboard. So I bought a $15.00 PCI 32bit Dual PS2 PS/2 Card and pluged my keyboard into it. It took several weeks for a slow boat from China to deliver it but everything works fine.
Set Bookmark
Gul Densho-Ar
Tue, Aug 21, 2018, 12:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part II

I don't mind Worf's typical remarks about Klingons don't do this and that, honour, Klingons, warrios, Klingons, honourable, etc. too much in small doses, but this is an entire episode where he hardly ever says anything else. I really felt like gimme a break, I'm getting really tired of this Klingon BS.

And you can never be sure if he's not just making stuff up like his earlier "Klingons don't laugh".
Set Bookmark
Gul Densho-Ar
Sat, Aug 18, 2018, 12:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: A Fistful of Datas

Dreadful epsiode. The only time in TNG I actually loathed Brent Spiner for his painfully unsuccessful attempt at playing that bad guy. Terrible, 0.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
August Denys
Thu, Aug 16, 2018, 8:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Manhunt

This episode was purposeless, but I feel two interesting things came out of it. The first being Riker and Troi's disclosure about their relationship. The second, which got a laugh out of me, is when Troi tells Picard about this Midlife change of her mother, Riker saying that it makes their race 4x times as sexually active, with Troi interjecting to say or more, and then Riker's reaction and smile that follows.
Set Bookmark
Gul Densho-Ar
Wed, Aug 15, 2018, 3:13am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

Amazing how long it took them to find a cure. A few years later, EMH would just have changed their young DNA back to old DNA, problem solved. This may sound nonsensical, but that has never stopped EMH.
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.