Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 423 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 17
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Mon, May 7, 2018, 12:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

@repli:

"Maybe, just maybe, the upcoming episode 9 will shed some light on The Last Jedi and makes it a better film. "

Question: If you have to wait for a future movie in hopes that your movie made sense, have you indeed made a good movie?

In fact lots of us were hoping TLJ would shine some light on many aspects of TFA and that didn't happen. Episode 9 may not either.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Mon, May 7, 2018, 12:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Wow, 3 and a half stars I'm pretty surprised.

I would've thought the whole casino tangent would have deducted 1+ stars all by itself!

But since this site isn't called "Del_Duio's Reviews & Etc" we gotta' respect the man's opinions here, people.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Wed, May 2, 2018, 11:20am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

I didn't mind Insurrection though, aside from the "have you noticed our boobs are firmer!" line from Data haha.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Tue, May 1, 2018, 11:29am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

@ Lt. Chekov:

They should bring Jonathan Frakes onboard as director. He did the only watchable episode of DSC, afterall.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Fri, Apr 27, 2018, 10:21am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

@ Peter Swinkels:

I don't think they'd be able to open the door, would they? It's been a while but I don't think the pod had a normal door.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Tue, Apr 24, 2018, 10:24am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

@James04:

What did you think of the Chaotica holodeck episodes?
That sounds like it'd be right up your alley.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Mon, Apr 23, 2018, 10:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@wolfstar:

"DS9's the most diverse Trek series but it never once felt tokenistic because all of the characters and performances were so rich - they weren't there to fulfill quotas, they were complex, engaging, relatable people who had great storylines and wonderful interactions with each other."

Yeah, man! Well said!
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Mon, Apr 23, 2018, 10:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Yanks-

I wholeheartedly agree. Though they probably brought him in just to "tick a box" somewhere, he's one of the very few characters this side of Saru that I actually like on DSC. Same goes with Culber.

Hell, at this rate they should just christen the U.S.S. Blue Oyster and give us a good series!
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Fri, Apr 6, 2018, 9:39am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Broken Bow

@ Peter G

Yeah I totally agree about the TNG movies. The best parts of Generations are the very beginning and all the Kirk stuff. That's saying something considering how much more I love TNG as a series and I find Picard to be a much superior captain and character.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Thu, Apr 5, 2018, 10:44am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Broken Bow

@ Peter G:

"It's hard to explain what it meant that I didn't want to continue watching a ST show back then."

This is exactly how I feel about Discovery. I hate that I don't really like it and nothing sticks with me aside from it should've been so much more.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Thu, Apr 5, 2018, 10:42am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Broken Bow

@ Peter G.

I have never been able to get into ENT though I tried a few times. I think really the only characters I even remotely give a shit about are Trip and Phlox. For as good as Bakula was on Quantum Leap, he's not a compelling captain at all. The same goes for everybody else. Merryweather might as well not even be there, Reed should be a huge factor on this series but he's kind of just 'blah'. T'Pol is there for the T&A even though the actress tries..

Hey at least Brent Spiner guested on a few episodes!
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Mon, Mar 19, 2018, 12:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Damn, as much as I loved the fact that they were doing a new Star Trek series overall I just don't really care for DSC. I didn't like ENT either but at least they were trying and it mostly made sense.

Now I don't even know if I'll re-up my subscription of S2 unless the show changes a lot.

Man, this sucks. :(
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Thu, Mar 8, 2018, 9:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Encounter at Farpoint

@ Prince of Space:

Yeah TNG S1 is unbelievably bad, even when compared to.. *shudder*.. Voyager.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Mon, Feb 19, 2018, 8:51am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I forget but did we ever get a real answer on why that Discovery-class ship (that wasn't the Discovery) had all those twisted and messed up dead people on it?

Or are we just assuming it was a failed attempt to get to the Mirror Universe?
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Thu, Feb 15, 2018, 7:31am (UTC -5)
Re: Event Horizon

Really the only thing I can remember about this movie was just how gross it was. WAY WAY more gory than I had anticipated going in.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Thu, Feb 15, 2018, 7:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Maybe it'll be "Maury" lol.

Jammer: 'In this episode, he WAS the father!! 4 stars, did not see that coming.'
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Wed, Feb 14, 2018, 9:54am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Peter G:

"TAS would be good for completionism but many people rave about Firefly and it's a light show overall, which might make for good watching. I'll pick the dark horse and guess Firefly will be it."

YEAH! I love Firefly, Jammer you should totally do this! You could include Serenity too. Talk about an awesome ensemble cast where everybody gets a chance to shine. Browncoats, ahoy!
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Wed, Feb 14, 2018, 9:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I canceled my CBS-AA subscription but will likely re-up it after you guys give a few of S2's shows a viewing. I'm hopeful it'll get better, but I don't think I want to pay for another middling season if it continues like this. And I'm not paying $10 a month until 2019 whenever where the only other alternatives are Young Sheldon and CSI: Downtown lower east side Tokyo crap haha.

This is a real shame, as finally I have the opportunity to watch a first-run Trek with my kids, and this is what we got.

I listed my reason of cancelling and 'other' and let them know, albeit in a nice way. In the meantime, we always have old DS9 and TNG to rewatch. :)
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Mon, Feb 12, 2018, 7:02am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@John Harmon:

"And then you watch After Trek and see all the writers patting themselves on the back and it's both embarrassing and gross."

I've never watched After Trek until last night and wow you're right it was incredible stupid. It's set up like a Big Brother end of season cast reunion special with Julie Chen or something.. terrible. I couldn't get past maybe 5 or 6 minutes before shutting it off.

You're right though, they think they're the cat's meow for sure. I don't have a lot of confidence they'll improve much on S2.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Mon, Feb 12, 2018, 6:58am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@MiaBN:

"My optometrist will thank me for cancelling CBSAA this month. He said the eye rolling was beginning to cause permanent occular damage."

Hahahahaha!
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 9:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@JP:

Oh, I 'member!
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 9:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I rather liked it, but I don't know how I feel about the Enterprise at the end. The good news? It actually looked like the Enterprise and not some weird glass ship with feathers (hahah remember those from earlier this season?) but I was hoping the Diacovery could now go and do it's own thing now that this weird war is over. Maybe some exploration?

Captain Saru? Yeah!

I think they should leave TOS alone going forward. The ending theme music was just too much. Just what does this show want to be again??
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Tue, Feb 6, 2018, 10:40am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Defector

Tomalauk: "I'll give you 30 seconds to surrender-"
Picard: "I don't even need one!"

Fucking badass, this whole episode was GREAT!
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Tue, Feb 6, 2018, 10:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

@Eric:

It's funny but I rewatched "The Defector" last night (which had some throwbacks to "The Enemy" in it) and that episode is even better. Even with 10% of the budget and visuals DSC has that was an amazing episode. I didn't remember just how good it was but easy 4 stars from this guy.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Tue, Feb 6, 2018, 10:36am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

@KT:

"To the people who are enjoying this series; have you seen DS9 in its entirety? how does it compare in your opinion?"

Holy God, there's an equation they made just for this sort of thing-

DS9 >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>DSC

It's not like DSC hasn't been entertaining at all, or that ALL of the characters are bad, but DS9 just smokes it. Even the first season, which has maybe 3-4 duds and some standouts. It's just not even close.
Next ►Page 1 of 17
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.