Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 24 (Showing 1-24)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Fri, Jun 22, 2018, 2:37am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: If Wishes Were Horses

Unlike the better Shore Leave, the creations of people's imaginations lead to very little. We learn almost nothing of any character and the imaginary characters teachers almost nothing about Odo or Quark or Sisko. And the stuff about Bashir just borderline harassment or juvenile stupidity.

We do learn that the chief loves his daughter, that Cisco likes baseball, that Bashir like Dax, the Quark likes human women. Perhaps the best scene is when we learn that Odo likes to put Quark in prison. But all this is so superficial and sporadic has to be almost trite and silly.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Mon, Jun 11, 2018, 7:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: The Storyteller

It is so refreshing to see Colm Meany play this part rather than the sanctimonious Stewart or pompus Shatner.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Wed, Jan 10, 2018, 4:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

There are a lot problems to the basic story here.

First, there are three different stories. And they really don't have anything to do with each other in terms of the larger story.

And each story has some real fatal flaws:
1) The Las Vegas scence is mainly action, and it's meaning is all done in brief exposition
2) The' Po shouldn't take so many risks' is arbitrary. Should Luke not have risked the life of piolets to knock out the death star? Are we just talking bad risk assessment here?
3) As great as Hamill is, ultimately his final conclusion that we don't need the Jedi is of course ridiculous. As with the end of Rey's and Kylo's conversations. What starts out as a great affirmation that anyone can be a Jedi turns into bizarre remarks about putting on a shirt.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Wed, Jan 10, 2018, 3:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Preemptive Strike

The only things wrong with this episode is that Picard would never have asked Ro to do it!

Also this one action scenes are really pathetic - like most TNG.

Otherwise, great character development.

Certainly one of the best season 7, for sure.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 1:30am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

I think the first act is so funny that i like it for it's comedic effect. It is TNG's Spock's Brain.

Dark Page and Sub Rosa are still worse because they are just too soap opera.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Mon, Oct 23, 2017, 1:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

I think any lwaxana episode may be worse than this, but maybe not. Then there is Dark Page.

Spock's brain does not make me sick.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sun, Oct 1, 2017, 4:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: The Pegasus

This is a fine episode. What prevents this from being a great episode is that it is dull. Riker's main conflict - his story - is all in exposition. This makes the conflict between Pressman and Riker central, but I think it is obvious that Pressman is an antagonistic character. I mean he is an officer from the Federation, right? And the theme is to abstract to be of too much interest.
Set Bookmark
davidw
Wed, Sep 20, 2017, 1:42am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Mudd's Women

This was a good dramatic episode that explored really interesting issues , as Jammer says - about prostitution and drug addiction, and I would woman's rights and opportunities. This was 'Wagon Train to the Stars' Star Trek - a bit slow - but nonetheless I thought the drama was pretty intense, especially when you find out the women were there 'by choice' - of course in a Western that is often the only 'choice' a woman has.

Set Bookmark
Davidw
Wed, Sep 20, 2017, 1:37am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Enemy Within

This is it. This is why everyone watches Star Trek. We love to laugh at Kirk and make fun of him, and wanting to be him, and wonder what our own dark and light sides are.

That's why the best of TNG is like reading a fine, dusty old book.

Set Bookmark
davidw
Wed, Sep 20, 2017, 1:29am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

There are a lot of dull episodes on TNG with a great theme or idea or character device.

So, the idea that Data got left behind on purpose because his mother couldn't bare shutting him down if he went crazy is kind of cool, as is the idea that there were other bad data before.

And of course the great plot twist at the end where Data decides not to tell the women she is an android is interesting moral dilemmas.

But man, think of movies like Deus Ex Machina that do this really well. Or maybe Blade Runner? Whatever. The point is that you can't just come with a great idea and put it in boring soap opera. Not that I have the least idea about how to do this. I just know that Measure of a Man explores some of these issues quite well, with drama, interest, conflict and suspense. If only they learned the lesson from Measure of a Man and admitted Data might be able to feel some emotions. I always thought that Data is a far inferior version of Spock, since Data had no emotions at all and yet for Spock it was a constant source of conflict and suspense.

Set Bookmark
Davidw
Fri, Sep 8, 2017, 5:18am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Phantasms

I just felt tired of the gags - just seemed to be contrived and pointless. Actually, annoying.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sat, Jun 17, 2017, 2:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Cloud Minders

Yeah, this is a good episode. Nice morality lesson. Great babes. Cool man-o-man action. But, I'm really done with it. It's time to move on. I mean, I can take only so abstract theorizing that has nothing to do with real conflict and morality.
Set Bookmark
davidw
Sat, Jun 17, 2017, 2:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Savage Curtain

The 'message' of this show? Don't try for peace. Tell Edith Keeler that too.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sun, Jun 4, 2017, 1:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: For the World Is Hollow and I Have Touched the Sky

Love the security guards Italian clown outfits.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Wed, May 31, 2017, 10:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: And the Children Shall Lead

This is so bad it could have been a TNG episode. Is it the worst TOS episode? Why not?
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Wed, May 17, 2017, 1:06am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

"For every episode like City on the Edge of Forever or A Taste of Armageddon, there were ten episodes like The Arena and Amok Time."

But we want the movies to be of the best of Star Trek. They have years to work on them and develop them. We should except character development, themes, stories and plots that drive the action.

But even in Arena, they have Kirk forgiving the Gorn - and it is that forgiveness that the Melatrons think that the human race might have a decent future. In other words, back then, you actually had to go through the motions of having some message or theme.

Amok Time was a great character study, and really explored Vulcan culture.

Even in some the worse of the TOS (but unfortunately, not all), there is usually some theme about how mankind must do better and strive and struggle to achieve peace and prosperity.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Wed, May 17, 2017, 12:50am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

I don't see what people see in this movie.

Character development? What character developed? There was no character development. There were character *moments*, which is nice. But the character moments had nothing to do with the plot and story. There is nothing in the characters of movie that made decisions that drove the plot.

For example, the movie hinted that Sulu was gay. But why? The movie did not deal with issues about gays, about how gays are oppressed. Remember X-Men? They dealt with the issue far better - and hardly at all.

You can go down the list. Current Spock sees a picture of the now deceased Spock and decides to leave his girl friend and become an ambassador, fulfilling the elder Spock's ambitions. But the movie did not address these issues, did not deal with it, and did not tell us why Spock changes his mind.

Same with Kirk. Kirk is burnt out - like he was in the Cage and Star Trek II, and - am I forgetting other episodes and movies? And, for some reason, after extended chase scenes and quips changes his mind. Why?

Any other character arcs in this movie? What about the villain? He actually had a nice little story. But it was at nearly the end of the movie!

If you think about it, what was this movie really about? It was lots of action scenes. It was blowing up the Enterprise. It had that cool looking planet from Elysium. It was flipping the saucer section over. Phaser and hand fights. There was a cool chick that sounded like the girl from the Fifth Element. More fight scenes. More Quips. A motorcycle chase scene with bad CGI. And two people leaping toward each other while simultaneously being beamed up.

That is what this movie was about. That is what it spent it's time, energy and money on. Those few character moments? Afterthoughts. All exposition. Asides. Melodrama.

I am sort of glad it lost money. Perhaps it will make them re-think what they are doing.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sat, Apr 22, 2017, 12:43am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Heart of Glory

Best episode of Season 1. Great character development, good acting. This is the first one that didn't make me sick to my stomach with wooden acting, boring story or sickly kids.
Set Bookmark
davidw
Fri, Nov 15, 2013, 9:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

We get the Star Trek we deserve.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Tue, Jun 2, 2009, 7:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

Jammer, your spot on there, as usual.

I would give it 4 stars, not because it was great science fiction, but because the production, pacing, script, all were excellent. There was steam pouring out of vents, the ceilings were 100's of feet high, pipes and nozzles everywhere, background chatter, the light was chaotic, the camera was set right. It was just a glorious movie. Everything oozed wonderment, sincerity and realism.

I am afraid, though, of where the movies will go next. It is as likely for them to do a story about humanity or society as a story about mickey mouse. But let us hope.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Wed, May 13, 2009, 7:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2


Overall comment - yes, BSG was great. No, beyond that, probably some of the best Science Fiction on Television (if you can make such comparisons) but I think all this about the final 5 or 6 and is you or is you aint a Sylon to be rather just too much. I think the Boomer subplot should have been it. Once you do this once, to do it again is really manipulation. If you want to do to a lot of people, confine it to one episode and then end it. But to start doing it to different people at different times to simply make a climax is insufferable. I would almost expect the characters to start saying 'guess what, I'm a Sylon too


I don't know why you guys can't handle that Kara is simply a angel (perhaps an arch angel or something different than the other two we saw) and it was her time to go somewhere else.

Maybe that is not consistent with Kara's remarks and her finding Earth(1), or her saying "I found Earth, It's all right" and then leading them to wrong place. OK, so maybe that is contradiction, but otherwise she is probably some type of angel - maybe she is half angel or whatever.

I am going to watch the whole

Set Bookmark
davidw
Sat, Apr 18, 2009, 6:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Silent Enemy

"which seems like a bit of a different attitude compared to what he might've done a few months back. Perhaps he's been learning the value of caution. Which is good; I like that."

I liked this episode precisely because for the first time in Trek we actually have a character evolving and growing reasonably relating to his new found fascinating environment. Archer changes from happy go lucky Starship captain to angst ridden commander. Unfortunately for the rest of the series, we get more and more of this, until Archer gets real bitter and starts torturing people (the 'Bush' effect). But it's incredible to risk the central character, and I don't think it has been done like this before. Certainly Kirk and Picard were nearly always the same from start to finish. Sisko found a bit of religion and Janeway apparently got a bit more tough. But it is definitely unusual.
Set Bookmark
davidw
Sat, Apr 18, 2009, 6:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Cold Front

The problem is that time travel is not necessary in this episode. You could just have two people, who both proclaim to be good guys and the other guy is evil. Usually, though it is solved in a more interesting way than for one guy to simply shoot at the Captain (or protagonist) and hence prove he is the real enemy.

Good time travel episodes *have* be time travel episodes. City on The Edge of Forever, the most famous time travel episode, prevents Kirk from saving what's her name because of something in the future will happen. That is necessary and substantial (given the well developed relationship).

All Our Yesterdays was saved solely because of it's effect on Spock - who now has the psychology of his race thousands of years in the past.

But Cold Front is a good episode, it just isn't a good time travel episode. In fact, of all the time travel episodes, I think the only one that covered interesting ground was the one where the meet future versions of themselves. Now *that* required time travel and character development and was a great show.
Set Bookmark
DavidW
Sat, Mar 21, 2009, 6:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

The ending bit with the new Robot was amazing. I even saw that article last week, and was going to email to someone saying 'they have arrived'.

It seems like the show has its high and low points. The high points are when things hold together for valid reasons, and the low points are the 'come on, that's absurd' points.

Certainly, having problems because people behave like people and not like perfect people from Star Trek is refreshing and wonderful. I like them talking about torture, running out of supplies, politics, Democracy etc... But then the showed stalled a bit on this notion of not knowing your a Sylon or not. Then there was the great ending on the first earth. The show really ended there, in my and another's opinion.

The last show was really great, but the shows preceding it did not build up to well. There is one too many revolts. One too many turns of Baltar, too much nonsense. And Kara just sat around doing nothing. There was nothing really left to do with the show, in general. Perhaps they needed a 'let's get depressed show' and then the end.

And let me say, BSG was not great because of it's action. I didn't watch BSG because it had gunfire and things blowing up. I thought that part of it was rather weak. Would Adama really have launched such a rescue?
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.