Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 33 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
davidw
Fri, May 17, 2019, 6:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

"Are the Discovery producers just messing with us now?"

Absolutely. This show is a farce.

Who the f cares about 'The Red Angel'? Are we 10 or something?

Character flipping is not the same as character development.

Does everyone who dies come back to life? WTF???

This show is stupid. Period. End of Story.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 8:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

'Every revolution begins with one man trying to make a difference"

Remember folks? The original Mirror Mirror? Is there anything like that here?

A character dies and is brought back to life but dies again maybe and lives again and who cares?

A character is good in one episode and bad another with apparently the only purpose to defy expectations that the writers begin with originally. Aren't they so clever?

How did the Klingons lead the resistance? Oh by leading? How profound.

Isn't it cool? All the explosions in the flashing lights and the blinking lights and the fight scenes and the phasers?

And hey, this character in the Prime universe now is different in the Mirror universe! Can you imagine it? Isn't it cool?
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sat, Mar 23, 2019, 12:15am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

Very good episode. At last Orville can take it's place among high quality Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sat, Feb 9, 2019, 12:30am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

There's simply no place for these kind of juvenile sexual jokes and relationships that really are harassment. People should be thrown in the brig for.

The jokes can certainly be in place in a sitcom environment (I am a fan of South Park) but not on the job and certainly not in the military.

I guess he's just running out of ideas.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sun, Feb 3, 2019, 1:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Collaborator

I just can't understand why people like this soap opera stuff. Ooh... there's a twist! Really? There has to be a plot twist since they can't afford to do real action or develop characters by showing instead of telling.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sun, Dec 16, 2018, 5:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Attack of the Clones

I guess it is more interesting to try to find the movies good points rather than bad, so, sure the Emporer's plotting in and if itself is great.

If only the Game of Thrones people were in charge, you might have gotten a tolerable movie out of it.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sun, Dec 16, 2018, 5:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Phantom Menace

Excellent review. I always thought RLM to be the gold standard review, but this is quite good.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sun, Dec 16, 2018, 4:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Return of the Jedi

This movie confuses character development and story with plot and effects. A rescue mission is entertaining when we like the characters and the characters are developed. But the character development was in other movies, not this one.

we care about Luke and his father but mainly because of the character development in the previous movies.

So there's a lot of cool visual effects and wonderful practical effects so it may disguise the fact that this movie by itself is so empty-headed. And really blowing up the death Star again?

why not just have Luke save his father and his father turns in the second movie?
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sun, Dec 16, 2018, 3:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: A New Hope

perhaps this is heresy, but I would like someone to explain the principles of why they like this movie and then apply it to any other movie.

I have never seen it successfully done.

Could anyone really imagine people liking this movie if they released it today and no one ever heard of it before?
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Fri, Jun 22, 2018, 2:37am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: If Wishes Were Horses

Unlike the better Shore Leave, the creations of people's imaginations lead to very little. We learn almost nothing of any character and the imaginary characters teachers almost nothing about Odo or Quark or Sisko. And the stuff about Bashir just borderline harassment or juvenile stupidity.

We do learn that the chief loves his daughter, that Cisco likes baseball, that Bashir like Dax, the Quark likes human women. Perhaps the best scene is when we learn that Odo likes to put Quark in prison. But all this is so superficial and sporadic has to be almost trite and silly.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Mon, Jun 11, 2018, 7:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: The Storyteller

It is so refreshing to see Colm Meany play this part rather than the sanctimonious Stewart or pompus Shatner.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Wed, Jan 10, 2018, 4:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

There are a lot problems to the basic story here.

First, there are three different stories. And they really don't have anything to do with each other in terms of the larger story.

And each story has some real fatal flaws:
1) The Las Vegas scence is mainly action, and it's meaning is all done in brief exposition
2) The' Po shouldn't take so many risks' is arbitrary. Should Luke not have risked the life of piolets to knock out the death star? Are we just talking bad risk assessment here?
3) As great as Hamill is, ultimately his final conclusion that we don't need the Jedi is of course ridiculous. As with the end of Rey's and Kylo's conversations. What starts out as a great affirmation that anyone can be a Jedi turns into bizarre remarks about putting on a shirt.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Wed, Jan 10, 2018, 3:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Preemptive Strike

The only things wrong with this episode is that Picard would never have asked Ro to do it!

Also this one action scenes are really pathetic - like most TNG.

Otherwise, great character development.

Certainly one of the best season 7, for sure.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 1:30am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

I think the first act is so funny that i like it for it's comedic effect. It is TNG's Spock's Brain.

Dark Page and Sub Rosa are still worse because they are just too soap opera.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Mon, Oct 23, 2017, 1:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

I think any lwaxana episode may be worse than this, but maybe not. Then there is Dark Page.

Spock's brain does not make me sick.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sun, Oct 1, 2017, 4:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: The Pegasus

This is a fine episode. What prevents this from being a great episode is that it is dull. Riker's main conflict - his story - is all in exposition. This makes the conflict between Pressman and Riker central, but I think it is obvious that Pressman is an antagonistic character. I mean he is an officer from the Federation, right? And the theme is to abstract to be of too much interest.
Set Bookmark
davidw
Wed, Sep 20, 2017, 1:42am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Mudd's Women

This was a good dramatic episode that explored really interesting issues , as Jammer says - about prostitution and drug addiction, and I would woman's rights and opportunities. This was 'Wagon Train to the Stars' Star Trek - a bit slow - but nonetheless I thought the drama was pretty intense, especially when you find out the women were there 'by choice' - of course in a Western that is often the only 'choice' a woman has.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Wed, Sep 20, 2017, 1:37am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Enemy Within

This is it. This is why everyone watches Star Trek. We love to laugh at Kirk and make fun of him, and wanting to be him, and wonder what our own dark and light sides are.

That's why the best of TNG is like reading a fine, dusty old book.
Set Bookmark
davidw
Wed, Sep 20, 2017, 1:29am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

There are a lot of dull episodes on TNG with a great theme or idea or character device.

So, the idea that Data got left behind on purpose because his mother couldn't bare shutting him down if he went crazy is kind of cool, as is the idea that there were other bad data before.

And of course the great plot twist at the end where Data decides not to tell the women she is an android is interesting moral dilemmas.

But man, think of movies like Deus Ex Machina that do this really well. Or maybe Blade Runner? Whatever. The point is that you can't just come with a great idea and put it in boring soap opera. Not that I have the least idea about how to do this. I just know that Measure of a Man explores some of these issues quite well, with drama, interest, conflict and suspense. If only they learned the lesson from Measure of a Man and admitted Data might be able to feel some emotions. I always thought that Data is a far inferior version of Spock, since Data had no emotions at all and yet for Spock it was a constant source of conflict and suspense.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Fri, Sep 8, 2017, 5:18am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Phantasms

I just felt tired of the gags - just seemed to be contrived and pointless. Actually, annoying.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sat, Jun 17, 2017, 2:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Cloud Minders

Yeah, this is a good episode. Nice morality lesson. Great babes. Cool man-o-man action. But, I'm really done with it. It's time to move on. I mean, I can take only so abstract theorizing that has nothing to do with real conflict and morality.
Set Bookmark
davidw
Sat, Jun 17, 2017, 2:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Savage Curtain

The 'message' of this show? Don't try for peace. Tell Edith Keeler that too.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sun, Jun 4, 2017, 1:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: For the World Is Hollow and I Have Touched the Sky

Love the security guards Italian clown outfits.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Wed, May 31, 2017, 10:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: And the Children Shall Lead

This is so bad it could have been a TNG episode. Is it the worst TOS episode? Why not?
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Wed, May 17, 2017, 1:06am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

"For every episode like City on the Edge of Forever or A Taste of Armageddon, there were ten episodes like The Arena and Amok Time."

But we want the movies to be of the best of Star Trek. They have years to work on them and develop them. We should except character development, themes, stories and plots that drive the action.

But even in Arena, they have Kirk forgiving the Gorn - and it is that forgiveness that the Melatrons think that the human race might have a decent future. In other words, back then, you actually had to go through the motions of having some message or theme.

Amok Time was a great character study, and really explored Vulcan culture.

Even in some the worse of the TOS (but unfortunately, not all), there is usually some theme about how mankind must do better and strive and struggle to achieve peace and prosperity.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.