Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 431 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 18
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sat, Feb 9, 2019, 12:30am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

There's simply no place for these kind of juvenile sexual jokes and relationships that really are harassment. People should be thrown in the brig for.

The jokes can certainly be in place in a sitcom environment (I am a fan of South Park) but not on the job and certainly not in the military.

I guess he's just running out of ideas.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sun, Feb 3, 2019, 1:42am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Collaborator

I just can't understand why people like this soap opera stuff. Ooh... there's a twist! Really? There has to be a plot twist since they can't afford to do real action or develop characters by showing instead of telling.
Set Bookmark
David
Sun, Feb 3, 2019, 1:16am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Phantom Menace

I saw this in cinemas back in 1999 (when I was in 12th grade), with 3 friends. After the movie was over, we all agreed it was a good film. Even to this day, I still see it as a solid 3 stars. The special effects were amazing for the time period and hold up well today. The action sequences were never dull. The only negative for me was Natalie Portman's acting, which was a bit wooden. Anakin's acting was acceptable (mediocre acting in children can be forgiven, to a certain extent). Jar Jar never bothered me either.
Set Bookmark
David
Sun, Feb 3, 2019, 1:01am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

I'm not sure whether or not to give this episode a 1.5 or a 2. For one, it makes the huge mistake that Star Trek does, of assuming that an entire planet only has one ruler - i.e. one country. However, the major issue I have with the episode is that the aliens want to imprison the officers on *their* planet. Why wouldn't they hand them over to the Orville crew for prosecution? Mercer could just play along, telling them that they will be imprisoned on their own world. Problem solved?
Set Bookmark
David Ellis
Fri, Jan 25, 2019, 3:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: New Eden

A minor point: I'm disappointed Wilson Cruz was dropped from the title credits after having been added just the previous week.
Set Bookmark
David
Thu, Jan 24, 2019, 8:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

Yes Gary, I’m sure you’re a black person...funny that. In real life one never meets black people who bend over backwards for racism and tell the world how great of Uncle Tom they are, but online they’re everywhere. Lol
Set Bookmark
David
Sat, Jan 5, 2019, 11:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

Luke, you can’t be racist against a white person, just like how a black person can’t be a ‘colonist’ racism and colonialism are things that whites do to others intrinsically.

However, you can be prejudiced against whites and there’s nothing wrong with that, just like there is nothing wrong with being prejudiced against the influenza virus. It’s natural to despise something that has bring nothing but destruction and pain.
Set Bookmark
David
Mon, Dec 24, 2018, 12:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges

@Nejer

“the USA has been more of a positive influence on the world than a negative one”


Are you serious? The USA has been the greatest scourge on the planet in all history, worse even than the British, Spanish and French Empires. Undoubtedly you’re a white person who thinks in white terms about what benefits whitey, and not anyone else.
Set Bookmark
David
Mon, Dec 24, 2018, 12:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

Wow, this comment section is filled with the effeminate whines of impotent, racist white boys who are so bothered that a black man dared to mention the white racism perpetrated against his people. As long as there are whites there will be racism, just like there will be sickness for as long as viruses exist.

That you’re okay with nonsense about aliens existing and faster than light travel but something real like the oppression that whitey has wrought is something forbidden shows how fragile you awful people are.
Set Bookmark
David
Mon, Dec 17, 2018, 10:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Chosen Realm

@Yanks

1979, the year when Iran overthrew their western puppet government? When the Zionist entity was forced to give back the Sinai peninsula?

“Islamic terrorism” is a misnomer. If you abuse someone for centuries, they’re going to respond. The West has occupied and ethnically cleansed entire countries and that’s just fine by you but desperate people fight back and that’s an outrage?

Anyhow, this is a moot conversation. Whether you like it or not, hate speech is illegal in most of the world (and before you go on about hate speech against whites, there is no such thing, just as there is no such thing as bigotry against the flu, it is reasonable and logical to despise a death bringing scourge) and soon it will be in Yankland as well. You belong in jail and to be perfect frank so does the person hosting this site and the writers of this episode as well.

Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sun, Dec 16, 2018, 5:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: Attack of the Clones

I guess it is more interesting to try to find the movies good points rather than bad, so, sure the Emporer's plotting in and if itself is great.

If only the Game of Thrones people were in charge, you might have gotten a tolerable movie out of it.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sun, Dec 16, 2018, 5:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Phantom Menace

Excellent review. I always thought RLM to be the gold standard review, but this is quite good.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sun, Dec 16, 2018, 4:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: Return of the Jedi

This movie confuses character development and story with plot and effects. A rescue mission is entertaining when we like the characters and the characters are developed. But the character development was in other movies, not this one.

we care about Luke and his father but mainly because of the character development in the previous movies.

So there's a lot of cool visual effects and wonderful practical effects so it may disguise the fact that this movie by itself is so empty-headed. And really blowing up the death Star again?

why not just have Luke save his father and his father turns in the second movie?
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sun, Dec 16, 2018, 3:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: A New Hope

perhaps this is heresy, but I would like someone to explain the principles of why they like this movie and then apply it to any other movie.

I have never seen it successfully done.

Could anyone really imagine people liking this movie if they released it today and no one ever heard of it before?
Set Bookmark
David
Fri, Dec 14, 2018, 1:52am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Chosen Realm

So much Islamophobia on this website’s comments, wow! You do know that’s illegal right?? Jammer, I request that you remove all of the anti-Muslim incitement, this is the sort of thing that causes terrorism (most terrorism is done by Western racists and bigots, and most of what they call Islamic terrorism is a response to constant dehumanisation and oppression by white westerners)
Set Bookmark
another David
Wed, Oct 17, 2018, 8:40am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

If I recall correctly, after securing a "no death penalty" for Thomas Riker they said personally to him that they'd get him out...but unless I'm mistaken, they never did and never attempted a prisoner exchange or political fix to break him out, leaving him to rot in the Cardassian prison, breaking rocks. I was watching for something to happen in that regard after that episode.
Set Bookmark
DavidB
Fri, Oct 12, 2018, 8:56am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Lessons

Due to Stewart's terrific acting, this romance episode was entirely engaging until near the end when rescue away teams were sent to set up thermal deflectors to temporarily protect a remote base from an approaching firestorm. Why were they only wearing on board uniforms instead of thermally protective space suits? Eight of the team died because the deflectors could not cross-connect automatically, requiring the away team to stay in place to make manual adjustments until all of the colonists were evacuated.
Spiner, as Data mimicing a small talk master in the previous episode shows that he is another terrific actor in this series.
Set Bookmark
David Lyttle
Sat, Sep 1, 2018, 9:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Journey to Babel

I think this is an outstanding example of what Star Trek can be. I especially the conflict between Spock and both his parents, particularly when Spock's mother slaps Spock, leaves him alone and he places his hand on the door that closed behind her. But I do have one gripe. Kirk leaves Ensign Chekov in command while Lt. Uhura, a senior bridge officer is passed over. 60's sexism in action.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Fri, Jun 22, 2018, 2:37am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: If Wishes Were Horses

Unlike the better Shore Leave, the creations of people's imaginations lead to very little. We learn almost nothing of any character and the imaginary characters teachers almost nothing about Odo or Quark or Sisko. And the stuff about Bashir just borderline harassment or juvenile stupidity.

We do learn that the chief loves his daughter, that Cisco likes baseball, that Bashir like Dax, the Quark likes human women. Perhaps the best scene is when we learn that Odo likes to put Quark in prison. But all this is so superficial and sporadic has to be almost trite and silly.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Mon, Jun 11, 2018, 7:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: The Storyteller

It is so refreshing to see Colm Meany play this part rather than the sanctimonious Stewart or pompus Shatner.
Set Bookmark
David Ryan
Fri, Jun 8, 2018, 5:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: Solo: A Star Wars Story

As with a few others on here, I haven't seen this in the cinema and I must admit I'm in no real rush to either. The Force Awakens, Rogue One and especially The Last Jedi have sapped any enthusiasm I had for future films (which even the prequels didn't manage), and judging from the box office performance I suspect I'm not alone in that respect. Fingers crossed Disney takes heed and changes tack, but equally I'm not holding my breath.

Never thought I'd end up such a negative nancy about Star Wars, but I guess life is full of surprises.
Set Bookmark
David
Thu, May 24, 2018, 5:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

I loved this episode, but can't see a continuity problem; this is a classic causal loop. An event (the Borg travel to the past) causes another event (the sphere is discovered in the past leading to the events of this episode), which then has an effect on the continuing timeline until the original event occurs. Both cause and effect then exist in spacetime but it is no longer possible to isolate an origin because there technically isn't one, its become a loop.

As to why the 24th Century crew were unfamiliar with the Borg at J25? I simply assumed that this episode depicted a brief random incident with an unknown lifeforms of which there were no survivors. I doubt that 200 years later it will have flagged up.
Set Bookmark
David
Sat, May 12, 2018, 8:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Drone

If you pick away at an episode for long enough you can come up with enough plot holes and things to complain about to ruin it for yourself. I think Jammer hit the right note with it's an enjoyable hour of trek. I did agree with one of the commenters that One should have had Two...episodes, that is. Obviously, he was too advanced to remain on board but making him a two episode character would have been completely unexpected and given a lot of opportunities to flesh out the character and integrate him into the series.
I'm reminded of Battlestar Galactica, where everyone expected the second battlestar to buy it immediately, but surprisingly was integrated into the series for weeks. A similar unexpected addition, for at least a second episode, would have been a fresh aspect to treks usually too episodic nature. Nevertheless, yeah, it's 4 stars.
Set Bookmark
David Ryan
Sat, May 12, 2018, 6:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Likewise surprised by Jammer's review, and stand by my 2.5 (at best) assessment. Can't help but feel it's been given a bit of a free pass on account of being 'different from previous Star Wars films' if I'm honest, but each to their own.
Set Bookmark
another David
Fri, Apr 13, 2018, 4:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

One of the few beefs I had with Battlestar Galactica, and one of the things I like best about all the incarnations of Star Trek is the music. Voyager as a series is especially rich in this regard and especially in this episode with Mahler Tchaikovsky and other episodes highlighting Picardo's and Jeri Ryan's vocal prowess. Orchestra's are expensive, I guess, but you can't beat them for adding to the atmosphere and drama. With any episode there are points you can quibble about but I'd give this one 4 stars just for being so enjoyable on so many levels.
Next ►Page 1 of 18
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.