Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 476 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 20
Set Bookmark
David
Wed, Oct 21, 2020, 8:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

@Yanks - Thank you! Looking forward to discussing.
Did you enjoy the Discovery premiere?
Set Bookmark
David
Wed, Oct 21, 2020, 1:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

I am re-watching Star Trek in airdate order and I am finding myself often times disagreeing with Jammer (but LOVING) his reviews as I genuinely prefer TNG/VGR to DS9 with ENT coming in behind. As I write down notes after I finish the episode and give it my own rating for fun, I find myself comparing it to Jammer. Here is the funny thing - we match a lot for Discovery. This review is spot on - 2.5 stars. It was an average opening with a storage that was average, masked by amazing effects and cinematography. It looks beautiful but the actual story is lacking. After 18 months, I was hoping for something more engaging for an opening. Once we arrived in 3188 and things in the galaxy went downhill fast and we found ourselves in a retread of "Andromeda", I am cautiously optimistic that the writers will avoid that. However, it just did not feel original to me - the Federation fell, things went terrible. I am hoping this season explores it well because for me Discovery always starts off great and then sputters by the finale.

I hope some details are explored, i.e., did the Federation fleet just blow up at once given there is quantum slipstream technology?

Also, is anyone like me in that they actually like the cast very much BUT their least favorite character is Michael - the main character?
Set Bookmark
David J
Sun, Oct 18, 2020, 12:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Deadlock

This is the way voyager should’ve been throughout its run: desperate. We could’ve had a Firefly-esque desperation journey where the ship is constantly near destruction only to be hodge-podge put back together with random Delta quadrant scraps, a crew of maquis and starfleet barely getting along; ultimately ending the series with voyager looking like a completely different ship and a limping, threadbare crew. Can you imagine the impact of a return home with that crew instead of the middling finale we got? But this was the 90’s, no walking dead, no GoT, no breaking bad. Everything had to be glitzy and clean. Kind of strange given that the predominant style was grunge...
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Wed, Sep 30, 2020, 1:15am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: His Way

This episode would have been fine before odo's betrayal and the other episode children of time I think you called it.

Not great but fine. Darren is great.

but coming after those episodes it just violates what we know about their chemistry and history and so is not a good episode.
Set Bookmark
David
Fri, Sep 18, 2020, 5:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Nth Degree

One thing I always wondered about that episode was whether the uncanny knack for 3D chess was something the Cytherians intentionally gave Barclay or whether it was just the tag end, temporary effect of the brain boost?
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sun, Sep 6, 2020, 12:24am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Honor Among Thieves

A great and well done episode - for a genre cop show.

I'm done with this stuff. This is simply not Star Trek, not science fiction. I have forgiven much of DS9, but this paint by numbers genre informant plot is just ridiculous - despite the great acting.
Set Bookmark
David Lyttle
Mon, Aug 31, 2020, 5:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: The Chute

The final scene with Kim and Tom as Tom says he remembers hearing someone say "This man is my friend... nobody touches him." That was the payoff and a reminder of what it means to have and be a great friend. One of my favorite scenes in all of Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
David
Sun, Aug 30, 2020, 8:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Tomorrow Is Yesterday

Some of you are trying too hard to act like the show was too hard to be believable. Its a science fiction show for goodness sake. Everything is not going to be logical. 200 years ago, people would have called us crazy for wanting a phone that was portable. They would say thats not possible. Enjoy it for what it is. Its not supposed to be totally predictable. Wow.
Set Bookmark
David K.
Fri, Aug 21, 2020, 1:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Minefield

Lots of needless nitpicking of elements of the episode that make perfect sense. Just because they don’t say why they can’t use the transporter for example doesn’t mean they can.
They part that stuck out to me as weird is how Reed is suddenly so uncomfortable around Archer. We saw them drinking beers together in season 1! We saw them give Reed cake. This episode would have made far more sense in the first season than the second.
Set Bookmark
David K.
Fri, Aug 21, 2020, 4:24am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Shockwave, Part I

This episode falls apart from the beginning because of the ridiculous premise. Who settles on a planet that can be destroyed in such a trivial manner? A slight malfunction that can ignite an ENTIRE planets atmosphere? You’ve got to be kidding me. At least TRY and come up with a plausible situation for the tragedy. This one is just too far out there.
Set Bookmark
David Staum
Sun, Aug 9, 2020, 10:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: The Void

I agree with most of the reviewers - I liked the episode quite a bit, as well as the optimism displayed.

One reviewer mentioned that Janeway should have deployed warning buoys. How about taking it a step further and sending vast quantities of supplies into the void, including the technology to escape? It would have shown magnanimity to those still trapped there, despite their treachery towards Voyager. That would have been a true Starfleet moment.
Set Bookmark
David K.
Tue, Jul 21, 2020, 6:04am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Hope and Fear

IMO the biggest plot hole, bigger than any of the ones mentioned above, is how did Arturis, or ANYONE, know that voyager helped the Borg? It’s not like the Borg would have gone around advertising it and it’s unlikely Janeway and co. would talk about it. So how did he know? He couldn’t have known. He has no way of knowing. It makes no sense.
Set Bookmark
David S
Sat, Jul 18, 2020, 9:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

I loved this episode. Just rewatched it after many years.

I'm going to text Garrett Wang right now and see if he could send a message to late 2019 warning us about Coronavirus.

Then, again, social distancing is probably why I'm rewatching old TV shows again (when my kids let me).
Set Bookmark
David A Korman
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 1:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

The question of how the Doctor was duplicated, always bugged me. Btw Jammer, been reading your reviews since the beggining. I was 13...
Set Bookmark
David K.
Sat, Jun 20, 2020, 8:58am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

I disagree completely, I found this to be a terrible episode. The premise is fine, but the execution is terrible. The writers force a conflict using contrived circumstances and irrational behavior including from Odo.
So people are uncomfortable around Laas shape shifting in to fog around them? Yeah they have every right to be and law and order Odo should have seen through that little ploy by Laas, in a society everyone is expected to refrain from some behaviors in public. It’s got nothing to do with being shapeshifters. Klingons aren’t allowed to brawl on the promenade, Ferengi aren’t allowed to cheat people on the promenade, etc.
Plus, the Founders, aka all the non-Odo shape shifters these people have ever met started an unprovoked war against the alpha quadrant, it’s utterly rational for people to be skeptical about him and skeptical Odo of all people should understand that.
Plus there is the irony of Laas lamenting the smug superiority of humanoids over “lesser beings” while exhibiting it himself isn’t even commented on.
The conclusion where Odo finally stops being an idiot is good, but otherwise it’s a total letdown for me.
Set Bookmark
David K.
Wed, Jun 17, 2020, 1:12am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

All these posts and no one points out what a terrible call Odo made? Sisko and Worf were right, it was totally a ball!

Great episode! Totally fun. Who cares if its cliche?
Set Bookmark
David K.
Sat, Jun 6, 2020, 3:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Ferengi Love Songs

Wait, wasn’t Ishka supposed to have been sold in to servitude when Quark broke his contract? That was supposed to be one of the consequences. Why was that never addressed, even with a throw away line about how she had to spend half her fortune bribing people or something.
Set Bookmark
David K.
Thu, Jun 4, 2020, 5:30am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

So many people were absolutely jerks in this episode.

Odo, for inexplicably being completely hostile to Dr. Mora again after the writers had them make peace in the previous appearance.

Shakaar for inserting himself in to the birth, something he had exactly nothing to do with.

Kira for not putting Shakaar in his place and standing up for Miles. Also for forcing him to almost miss the birth of his second child, ESPECIALLY after he had to miss the first. Also, for not taking in to consideration the unique medical situation she was in and insisting on following Bajoran traditions for a baby that wasn’t even Bajoran.

Keiko for not standing up for her husband.

This had potential to be a great episode but it was only mediocre because of the bad writing/character behavior.
Set Bookmark
David Ellis
Fri, Mar 20, 2020, 2:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

It looks like the Picard finale Et in Arcadia Ego is getting uncomfortably close to a ripoff of the Orville episode Identity.
Set Bookmark
David Westfall
Tue, Mar 10, 2020, 12:14am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Patterns of Force

I started watching Star Trek about 50 years ago. The Vietnam War was still hot, right in the middle of the Cold War.
Ho Chi Minh had led the Vietnamese to shrug off the European yoke, and he has much inspiration from both the USA and Marxism; the latter dominated. It also motivated his lieutenants, and they were much more ruthless. Ho wanted the revolution, but the lackies gladly made sure there was no outer OR inner threat. Ho was the figurehead, the man on TV who impressed world society; the thugs ran the show.
I believe that, at the very least, heavily influenced the episode, and Nazi uniforms were the visual portrayal. (National Socialism and Communism are virtually identical, largely differing in purpose/justification of expansion.)
Set Bookmark
David Strobel
Fri, Mar 6, 2020, 4:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Marco,

Yes, exactly! Niven's Kizinti only appeared in the animated series in the Trek universe as far as I know. But I'd love to see them in more than a throwaway line and tip 'o the hat to TAS. Still, nice detail.
Set Bookmark
davidw
Fri, Feb 14, 2020, 1:56am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

Wait, so Picard could have saved some Romulans and didn't?

Because he is a jerk?

And Starfleet is racist against Romulans and Androids? And has racist, tabloid journalism?

Let me guess, this is the Mirror Universe Star Trek?
Set Bookmark
davidw
Mon, Feb 3, 2020, 1:29am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

This show is really, really dumb.

The Tal Shari is not good enough, they need another and another and introduce one silly stupid plot point after another?

I suppose the reason Star Trek failed is because people want to see this garbage. They want to put characters in danger and see how they escape it.

Good for them.

This is not Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
Dan Davidson
Sat, Jan 25, 2020, 1:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

I really enjoyed this pilot, and I think I'll mostly just leave it at that seeing as the nature of the series is that not all the answers are going to provided by episode's end.

Just a few thoughts:

~ It's awesome to see Sir Patrick back as Picard, and I think the writers did a great job showing him as a man affected by what's transpired, but not "broken" as I've seen other suggest. He's still the thoughtful, intellectual and compassionate man I remember. I trust we will *not* being seeing him taking down an army of Romulans/whatever with a phaser rifle in this series...

~ Also awesome to see Brent back as Data, and I'm glad they didn't retcon Data's death just so he can be there. Hopefully he has more appearances in store.

~ Loved the little things that touched upon the past (Ten Forward, poker, the Picard Day banner, etc.), but also that the show is clearly not going to be stuck there.

~ So much potential to being other past Trek characters into this show and see where they're at and how they might contribute to this storyline. I know several are coming up, but I find myself thinking about ones we have't seen in the previews. Hopefully the writers can find a way to do this without taking away from the main characters. With Voyager represented, I hope DS9 will find a way in too.
Set Bookmark
DavidR
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 11:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Let’s begin with an exercise in willing suspension of disbelief. Which of these two scenarios sounds more far-fetched: that over the course of the next several centuries humanity could master interstellar travel, conquer all material needs, become a race of peaceful explorers, discover countless alien races and build a utopia on a foundation of individual rights and dignity?
Or that they could make a new Star Trek show starring Patrick Stewart that I wouldn’t greedily devour like a taspar egg after a hunger strike?
The series opens back in Ten Forward on the old Enterprise D with Brent Spiner reprising Mr. Data across the table from Stewart’s Jean-Luc Picard. And they’re playing poker in a spiritual continuation of the final episode of TNG (I will not acknowledge the four dreadful studio movies. For me, as for most fans, the Next Generation I know and love ended with “…and the sky’s the limit” from the final TV episode.)
As in the finale, the poker chatter here veils a deeper meaning. As Picard mulls a call or fold, Data wants to know why he’s taking so long to decide. “I don’t want the game to end,” Picard replies. “I’m all in.”
With the weight of seven seasons and four movies of TNG behind it, this seemingly innocent remark nods to the mortality of Picard and even to that of the 79-year-old Stewart. It’s also directed at us, the convention goers, the cosplayers, the usenet-turned-Redditors who have watched, discussed, critiqued, dissected and loved Picard for decades now.
An extra-narrative angle like this can easily turn overindulgent, but director Hanelle Culpepper displays a light touch (and nice to see a black woman in the “captain’s chair” as well.) Perhaps she learned what not to do watching the latest Star Wars movies, where the camera fawned over original movie characters for so long it turned gratuitous and plodding.
Things take a turn for the worse as Picard sits for an ostensible interview that quickly devolves into some extremely sloppy exposition. Sample question: so Admiral, can you catch us up on what you’ve been doing for the last 20 years? Stewart does a voiceover (cringe) and explains how Starfleet dropped the ball on helping out the Romulans in their hour of need and banned synthetic life forms like Data, so he quit in disgust. Stewart is Stewart, so he sells the heck even out of this lazy backstory. “Because it was no longer Starfleet,” he mutters. “BECAUSE IT WAS NO LONGER STARFLEET!”
Newcomer Isa Briones plays Dahj, a young woman recently “activated” by mysterious assassins and now searching for answers from Picard. Here the fanservice, so deftly executed in the opening scene, takes a turn toward the maudlin. “Everything inside me says I’m safe with you,” Dahj says, with a very obvious double meaning most children of the eighties (me included) can probably decode. “Be the captain they remember” urges one of Picard’s assistants. That’s a little thick for my taste.
Picard is flummoxed when he realizes that Dahj’s face is identical to a painting that Data created decades ago. A quick trip to Starfleet HQ confirms Picard’s memory and establishes that Data named the painting Daughter. Even the thickest viewer realizes that Dahj is Data’s creation, an outlawed synthetic person hidden in respectable human society, though she herself doesn’t yet recognize her true nature.
Picard is trying to explain all this to Dahj when the posse of shrouded assassins returns and Dahj has to beat them off. Dahj drags a wheezing Picard to safety while she continues to kick butt of every hooded dweeb who beams in. These fight scenes are outstanding: fast, bone-crunching and visceral. The earlier fight scene where Dahj was first “activated” really had some shock value. I have no idea if Briones is doing her own stunt work, but we’ve come a long way since Kirk faced off with a Gorn in a rubber suit.
Picard gets a look at one of their faces and….they’re Romulans! The last one spits some acidic green blood on Dahj and for reasons I can’t understand her gun explodes. Yeah, not sure I buy for one minute that Dahj is permanently dead. “I owe it to her to find out who killed her and why!” Picard declares. Oh how motivated your character is! JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE.
Picard meets with Dr. Agnes Jurati (Allison Pill), a cybernetics expert and disciple of Commander Bruce Maddox, last seen arguing in TNG Season 2 that Data should be disassembled and reverse-engineered. Picard and Jurati ogle the disassembled B4, a Data precursor also played by Brent Spiner. In a plot twist everyone who watched Star Trek: Nemesis saw coming, “The essence of Data may be alive!”
Pill’s character intrigues me and I like what the actress is doing with it. “This is everything that ever mattered to us…to me,” she says of the now shuttered Federation robotics lab. Her backstory is convincing and interesting. Pill has some fine comic timing, too! She figures in a number of scenes from the end-of-episode trailer, so I guess she’ll be a big part of the new show’s cast. Thumbs up for initial impressions.
The other big reveal is that androids are created in pairs! (Remember Data and Lore? See, it works with the established universe.) Dahj has a Romulan twin working her flirt with a Romulan with a “sad story”… but what dreamy eyes! And are they in a….why yes they are in a Borg-like cube, either under construction or maybe damaged.
The ship designs look very cool here, with an updated, sleek Romulan warbird and a menacing cube that feels absolutely and appropriately huge. The pullback shot that reveals the cube is handled well, more props to Culpepper and the visual effects team.
So off we go with the launch of a new show. I’m pretty impressed so far and looking forward to the next installment. Let’s see what’s out there.
Next ►Page 1 of 20
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.