Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 466 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 19
Set Bookmark
David Staum
Sun, Aug 9, 2020, 10:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: The Void

I agree with most of the reviewers - I liked the episode quite a bit, as well as the optimism displayed.

One reviewer mentioned that Janeway should have deployed warning buoys. How about taking it a step further and sending vast quantities of supplies into the void, including the technology to escape? It would have shown magnanimity to those still trapped there, despite their treachery towards Voyager. That would have been a true Starfleet moment.
Set Bookmark
David K.
Tue, Jul 21, 2020, 6:04am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Hope and Fear

IMO the biggest plot hole, bigger than any of the ones mentioned above, is how did Arturis, or ANYONE, know that voyager helped the Borg? It’s not like the Borg would have gone around advertising it and it’s unlikely Janeway and co. would talk about it. So how did he know? He couldn’t have known. He has no way of knowing. It makes no sense.
Set Bookmark
David S
Sat, Jul 18, 2020, 9:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

I loved this episode. Just rewatched it after many years.

I'm going to text Garrett Wang right now and see if he could send a message to late 2019 warning us about Coronavirus.

Then, again, social distancing is probably why I'm rewatching old TV shows again (when my kids let me).
Set Bookmark
David A Korman
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 1:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

The question of how the Doctor was duplicated, always bugged me. Btw Jammer, been reading your reviews since the beggining. I was 13...
Set Bookmark
David K.
Sat, Jun 20, 2020, 8:58am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

I disagree completely, I found this to be a terrible episode. The premise is fine, but the execution is terrible. The writers force a conflict using contrived circumstances and irrational behavior including from Odo.
So people are uncomfortable around Laas shape shifting in to fog around them? Yeah they have every right to be and law and order Odo should have seen through that little ploy by Laas, in a society everyone is expected to refrain from some behaviors in public. It’s got nothing to do with being shapeshifters. Klingons aren’t allowed to brawl on the promenade, Ferengi aren’t allowed to cheat people on the promenade, etc.
Plus, the Founders, aka all the non-Odo shape shifters these people have ever met started an unprovoked war against the alpha quadrant, it’s utterly rational for people to be skeptical about him and skeptical Odo of all people should understand that.
Plus there is the irony of Laas lamenting the smug superiority of humanoids over “lesser beings” while exhibiting it himself isn’t even commented on.
The conclusion where Odo finally stops being an idiot is good, but otherwise it’s a total letdown for me.
Set Bookmark
David K.
Wed, Jun 17, 2020, 1:12am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

All these posts and no one points out what a terrible call Odo made? Sisko and Worf were right, it was totally a ball!

Great episode! Totally fun. Who cares if its cliche?
Set Bookmark
David K.
Sat, Jun 6, 2020, 3:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Ferengi Love Songs

Wait, wasn’t Ishka supposed to have been sold in to servitude when Quark broke his contract? That was supposed to be one of the consequences. Why was that never addressed, even with a throw away line about how she had to spend half her fortune bribing people or something.
Set Bookmark
David K.
Thu, Jun 4, 2020, 5:30am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

So many people were absolutely jerks in this episode.

Odo, for inexplicably being completely hostile to Dr. Mora again after the writers had them make peace in the previous appearance.

Shakaar for inserting himself in to the birth, something he had exactly nothing to do with.

Kira for not putting Shakaar in his place and standing up for Miles. Also for forcing him to almost miss the birth of his second child, ESPECIALLY after he had to miss the first. Also, for not taking in to consideration the unique medical situation she was in and insisting on following Bajoran traditions for a baby that wasn’t even Bajoran.

Keiko for not standing up for her husband.

This had potential to be a great episode but it was only mediocre because of the bad writing/character behavior.
Set Bookmark
David Ellis
Fri, Mar 20, 2020, 2:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

It looks like the Picard finale Et in Arcadia Ego is getting uncomfortably close to a ripoff of the Orville episode Identity.
Set Bookmark
David Westfall
Tue, Mar 10, 2020, 12:14am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Patterns of Force

I started watching Star Trek about 50 years ago. The Vietnam War was still hot, right in the middle of the Cold War.
Ho Chi Minh had led the Vietnamese to shrug off the European yoke, and he has much inspiration from both the USA and Marxism; the latter dominated. It also motivated his lieutenants, and they were much more ruthless. Ho wanted the revolution, but the lackies gladly made sure there was no outer OR inner threat. Ho was the figurehead, the man on TV who impressed world society; the thugs ran the show.
I believe that, at the very least, heavily influenced the episode, and Nazi uniforms were the visual portrayal. (National Socialism and Communism are virtually identical, largely differing in purpose/justification of expansion.)
Set Bookmark
David Strobel
Fri, Mar 6, 2020, 4:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Marco,

Yes, exactly! Niven's Kizinti only appeared in the animated series in the Trek universe as far as I know. But I'd love to see them in more than a throwaway line and tip 'o the hat to TAS. Still, nice detail.
Set Bookmark
davidw
Fri, Feb 14, 2020, 1:56am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

Wait, so Picard could have saved some Romulans and didn't?

Because he is a jerk?

And Starfleet is racist against Romulans and Androids? And has racist, tabloid journalism?

Let me guess, this is the Mirror Universe Star Trek?
Set Bookmark
davidw
Mon, Feb 3, 2020, 1:29am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

This show is really, really dumb.

The Tal Shari is not good enough, they need another and another and introduce one silly stupid plot point after another?

I suppose the reason Star Trek failed is because people want to see this garbage. They want to put characters in danger and see how they escape it.

Good for them.

This is not Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
Dan Davidson
Sat, Jan 25, 2020, 1:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

I really enjoyed this pilot, and I think I'll mostly just leave it at that seeing as the nature of the series is that not all the answers are going to provided by episode's end.

Just a few thoughts:

~ It's awesome to see Sir Patrick back as Picard, and I think the writers did a great job showing him as a man affected by what's transpired, but not "broken" as I've seen other suggest. He's still the thoughtful, intellectual and compassionate man I remember. I trust we will *not* being seeing him taking down an army of Romulans/whatever with a phaser rifle in this series...

~ Also awesome to see Brent back as Data, and I'm glad they didn't retcon Data's death just so he can be there. Hopefully he has more appearances in store.

~ Loved the little things that touched upon the past (Ten Forward, poker, the Picard Day banner, etc.), but also that the show is clearly not going to be stuck there.

~ So much potential to being other past Trek characters into this show and see where they're at and how they might contribute to this storyline. I know several are coming up, but I find myself thinking about ones we have't seen in the previews. Hopefully the writers can find a way to do this without taking away from the main characters. With Voyager represented, I hope DS9 will find a way in too.
Set Bookmark
DavidR
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 11:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Let’s begin with an exercise in willing suspension of disbelief. Which of these two scenarios sounds more far-fetched: that over the course of the next several centuries humanity could master interstellar travel, conquer all material needs, become a race of peaceful explorers, discover countless alien races and build a utopia on a foundation of individual rights and dignity?
Or that they could make a new Star Trek show starring Patrick Stewart that I wouldn’t greedily devour like a taspar egg after a hunger strike?
The series opens back in Ten Forward on the old Enterprise D with Brent Spiner reprising Mr. Data across the table from Stewart’s Jean-Luc Picard. And they’re playing poker in a spiritual continuation of the final episode of TNG (I will not acknowledge the four dreadful studio movies. For me, as for most fans, the Next Generation I know and love ended with “…and the sky’s the limit” from the final TV episode.)
As in the finale, the poker chatter here veils a deeper meaning. As Picard mulls a call or fold, Data wants to know why he’s taking so long to decide. “I don’t want the game to end,” Picard replies. “I’m all in.”
With the weight of seven seasons and four movies of TNG behind it, this seemingly innocent remark nods to the mortality of Picard and even to that of the 79-year-old Stewart. It’s also directed at us, the convention goers, the cosplayers, the usenet-turned-Redditors who have watched, discussed, critiqued, dissected and loved Picard for decades now.
An extra-narrative angle like this can easily turn overindulgent, but director Hanelle Culpepper displays a light touch (and nice to see a black woman in the “captain’s chair” as well.) Perhaps she learned what not to do watching the latest Star Wars movies, where the camera fawned over original movie characters for so long it turned gratuitous and plodding.
Things take a turn for the worse as Picard sits for an ostensible interview that quickly devolves into some extremely sloppy exposition. Sample question: so Admiral, can you catch us up on what you’ve been doing for the last 20 years? Stewart does a voiceover (cringe) and explains how Starfleet dropped the ball on helping out the Romulans in their hour of need and banned synthetic life forms like Data, so he quit in disgust. Stewart is Stewart, so he sells the heck even out of this lazy backstory. “Because it was no longer Starfleet,” he mutters. “BECAUSE IT WAS NO LONGER STARFLEET!”
Newcomer Isa Briones plays Dahj, a young woman recently “activated” by mysterious assassins and now searching for answers from Picard. Here the fanservice, so deftly executed in the opening scene, takes a turn toward the maudlin. “Everything inside me says I’m safe with you,” Dahj says, with a very obvious double meaning most children of the eighties (me included) can probably decode. “Be the captain they remember” urges one of Picard’s assistants. That’s a little thick for my taste.
Picard is flummoxed when he realizes that Dahj’s face is identical to a painting that Data created decades ago. A quick trip to Starfleet HQ confirms Picard’s memory and establishes that Data named the painting Daughter. Even the thickest viewer realizes that Dahj is Data’s creation, an outlawed synthetic person hidden in respectable human society, though she herself doesn’t yet recognize her true nature.
Picard is trying to explain all this to Dahj when the posse of shrouded assassins returns and Dahj has to beat them off. Dahj drags a wheezing Picard to safety while she continues to kick butt of every hooded dweeb who beams in. These fight scenes are outstanding: fast, bone-crunching and visceral. The earlier fight scene where Dahj was first “activated” really had some shock value. I have no idea if Briones is doing her own stunt work, but we’ve come a long way since Kirk faced off with a Gorn in a rubber suit.
Picard gets a look at one of their faces and….they’re Romulans! The last one spits some acidic green blood on Dahj and for reasons I can’t understand her gun explodes. Yeah, not sure I buy for one minute that Dahj is permanently dead. “I owe it to her to find out who killed her and why!” Picard declares. Oh how motivated your character is! JUDGE JUDGE JUDGE.
Picard meets with Dr. Agnes Jurati (Allison Pill), a cybernetics expert and disciple of Commander Bruce Maddox, last seen arguing in TNG Season 2 that Data should be disassembled and reverse-engineered. Picard and Jurati ogle the disassembled B4, a Data precursor also played by Brent Spiner. In a plot twist everyone who watched Star Trek: Nemesis saw coming, “The essence of Data may be alive!”
Pill’s character intrigues me and I like what the actress is doing with it. “This is everything that ever mattered to us…to me,” she says of the now shuttered Federation robotics lab. Her backstory is convincing and interesting. Pill has some fine comic timing, too! She figures in a number of scenes from the end-of-episode trailer, so I guess she’ll be a big part of the new show’s cast. Thumbs up for initial impressions.
The other big reveal is that androids are created in pairs! (Remember Data and Lore? See, it works with the established universe.) Dahj has a Romulan twin working her flirt with a Romulan with a “sad story”… but what dreamy eyes! And are they in a….why yes they are in a Borg-like cube, either under construction or maybe damaged.
The ship designs look very cool here, with an updated, sleek Romulan warbird and a menacing cube that feels absolutely and appropriately huge. The pullback shot that reveals the cube is handled well, more props to Culpepper and the visual effects team.
So off we go with the launch of a new show. I’m pretty impressed so far and looking forward to the next installment. Let’s see what’s out there.
Set Bookmark
David Strobel
Sun, Jan 19, 2020, 1:28am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Way to Eden

A little 60's sci fi TV trivia: this episode wasn't the only one with space hippies. Lost in Space did it at least twice. First was a bit over a year before "Eden" with "Collision of Planets," then a few months later in "The Promised Planet."
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Thu, Nov 21, 2019, 4:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Adversary

Great episode. Suspense. Action.

But pointless.
Set Bookmark
David
Fri, Aug 9, 2019, 10:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home

Also, shouldn't introducing a phaser into 1986 have massively changed the timeline they returned to...
Set Bookmark
David
Fri, Aug 9, 2019, 10:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home

So Kirk gets demoted and takes off in the freshly built Enterprise-A that same day?

If the ship was built and ready to go, it must have had a captain assigned to it.

Looks like another command officer got Captain Decker'd by Kirk.

Also, Scotty gives away transparent aluminum, and Chekov gives away a phaser, so whoever invented those in the prime timeline got royally screwed by this time heist.
Set Bookmark
David
Sun, Aug 4, 2019, 4:05am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Symbiosis

Watching Star Trek TNG for the first time starting with season 1 episode 1, and I found this episode ridiculous and terrible enough that I had to do an internet search to confirm that I had just watched something so poorly written and thought-out.

None of the premise or explanation of this episode is rational or believable:

- A planet which has figured out space travel hasn't figured out how to examine and understand chemical compounds and has no conception of what drugs are?

- An entire planet is addicted to a drug and nobody on it has even been separated from the drug long enough to realize that withdrawals pass? Nobody on this planet ever gets lost in the wilderness, doesn't have the funds to acquire the drug, or any of many other scenarios where they'd inevitably get over the withdrawal period? How do newborns come to be addicted to the drug? Nobody ever just wilfully refuses to take it either out of protest or with a goal to suicide, or some other motivation?

- Picard and his crew violate the "prime direction" worse than speaking simple truth to these people all the time. And Picard violated the prime directive worse than telling the 'drug addicts' the truth when he saved them from their decaying ship - that interventionist action ensured that the entire planet would continue to be drugged, while if Picard hadn't done that they would have been forced to go through withdrawal with no alternative. Picard obviously violated the "prime directive" to save Wesley Crusher... but he wouldn't save an entire planet filled with teenagers of Wesley Crusher's age, and of children and babies younger than him?

- Picard gives utmost hypocritical speeches on the prime directive and how critical it is in an episode where he violates it multiple times, including wilfully and knowingly by giving the inhabitants of the drug-using planet the coils they need to fix their cargo ships. Picard later reverses that decision, but not for the sake of the prime directive, but because he wanted to cut their supply of the drug - and he openly acknowledges that he's flip-flopping and being selective in where he applies the prime directive by responding to the drug seller's "that's absurd!" comment by saying, "you did not think so when it worked in your favour". There is just 1 minutes and 50 seconds between Picard selectively applying the prime directive as a tool for ulterior motives and openly acknowledging that he's doing so, and him giving Dr Crusher a lecture on the prime directive's importance in the elevator. This is stupid.

- The planet that makes and sells the drugs to the other is 100% filled with evil persons who eagerly exploit the other planet's people and feel no compassion or sense of humanity towards them? Not one of the people on that planet cared to send a message to tell the other planet that they're just addicted? An entire planet's population has no compassion, doesn't regard other people are equal to themselves? How could that planet then care for each other? They couldn't, they would inevitably rationalize betrayal of each other just as they do the people on the other planet.


These are just some select major issues with the episode, while I think I could point out a dozen more. This whole episode's premise and execution was completely stupid, and it shouldn't have been done. The episode also is entirely ignorant of the topic of drug use and portrays out-dated (were they ever in-date?) tropes of people who use drugs, and is like watching a very old film that features extreme racial prejudices that were normal at the time, but which reeks of ignorance when watched today.

I would not be surprised to find out that this episode was sponsored by the US government or some other third party - though, the DEA seems a very likely possibility.
Set Bookmark
David H
Tue, Jun 4, 2019, 2:52am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Sacred Ground

Very fine episode - underrated by Jammer (though that's almost a given when it comes to Voyager). I especially enjoyed its puncturing of the arrogance of scientism - not science, but scientism, which if anything has only become more prominent since "Sacred Ground" was first broadcast.
Set Bookmark
Another David
Sun, Jun 2, 2019, 7:52am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

I'd give the show four stars also because it was well directed/acted/written and I enjoyed it. But I have the same problem as I do with all time travel stories. I don’t need to reiterate what the problems are as I’m sure they’ve been mercilessly expounded upon. I just wish they’d leave the time travel stuff in a box in their garage!
Set Bookmark
davidw
Fri, May 17, 2019, 6:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

"Are the Discovery producers just messing with us now?"

Absolutely. This show is a farce.

Who the f cares about 'The Red Angel'? Are we 10 or something?

Character flipping is not the same as character development.

Does everyone who dies come back to life? WTF???

This show is stupid. Period. End of Story.
Set Bookmark
David
Thu, May 2, 2019, 12:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Captive Pursuit

Luke, when a white man makes the haughty presumption that his cultural practice or morals are somehow superior that is racist garbage. Who are you to tell someone else that their custom is wrong? What makes your morality superior to someone else’s, aside the fact that you’re white and therefore more moral according to your own beliefs?


Yes Luke, I do think that you belong in jail, or better yet you and your progeny should be put in the service of the coloured people who you think yourself superior to. That is the real future, Luke my boy, not this racist Star Trek nonsense. Whites are dying out and losing more power everyday, the rest of the world no longer has any reason to hide our hatred of you, and there is already talk of dispossession and punishment for your lot which will only get stronger as the years go on. It will be delicious irony when your grandchildren are made to work for the benefit of black and brown people, that is if your children are even allowed to breed :)
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 8:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

'Every revolution begins with one man trying to make a difference"

Remember folks? The original Mirror Mirror? Is there anything like that here?

A character dies and is brought back to life but dies again maybe and lives again and who cares?

A character is good in one episode and bad another with apparently the only purpose to defy expectations that the writers begin with originally. Aren't they so clever?

How did the Klingons lead the resistance? Oh by leading? How profound.

Isn't it cool? All the explosions in the flashing lights and the blinking lights and the fight scenes and the phasers?

And hey, this character in the Prime universe now is different in the Mirror universe! Can you imagine it? Isn't it cool?
Next ►Page 1 of 19
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.