Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 442 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 18
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 8:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

'Every revolution begins with one man trying to make a difference"

Remember folks? The original Mirror Mirror? Is there anything like that here?

A character dies and is brought back to life but dies again maybe and lives again and who cares?

A character is good in one episode and bad another with apparently the only purpose to defy expectations that the writers begin with originally. Aren't they so clever?

How did the Klingons lead the resistance? Oh by leading? How profound.

Isn't it cool? All the explosions in the flashing lights and the blinking lights and the fight scenes and the phasers?

And hey, this character in the Prime universe now is different in the Mirror universe! Can you imagine it? Isn't it cool?
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sat, Mar 23, 2019, 12:15am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

Very good episode. At last Orville can take it's place among high quality Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
David S
Fri, Mar 22, 2019, 6:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

SlackerInc wrote:

“"I was under the impression that Disney doesn't have all of Fox's assets, that Fox still exists as a broadcasting network, so maybe the Orville still falls under that umbrella."

You are correct.”

The thing is, that The Orville is produced by 20th Century Fox TV Studios, which is now owned by Disney. So it’s very much Disney’s call whether to keep production going.
Set Bookmark
David
Fri, Mar 22, 2019, 3:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Captive Pursuit

Michael, I went through your comments.

In some you say that you’re black, in others you say that you are Jewish, in some you say you’re a lawyer, others you say that you’re in finances regardless you always say terribly racist, bigoted garbage, like right here. To be honest I think that you belong in jail.
Set Bookmark
another david
Wed, Mar 20, 2019, 12:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

re DLPB and others, it wasn't "akin to rape" it was rape. Riker wasn't consenting, he was clearly coerced into agreeing by his need to escape. The failure to escape nearly cost him his life and would have if left to the Malcorian level of technology. Consent means freely agreeing: Riker was a prisoner and desperate to escape. That's not consent.
Set Bookmark
david x
Mon, Mar 18, 2019, 8:06am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Galileo Seven

Yes, I noticed that too - that really is the transporter effect on the planet, right? Maybe it's the sound of the Enterprise beaming those test objects up and down somewhere in the distance ;)

Spock's decision to go look for Gaetano doesn't strike me as especially human *or* Vulcan - it's a guy under his command, period. I would expect that from any Starfleet officer. What's really illogical and overly heroic is to leave the phaser behind. Scotty can only work with one phaser at a time, and what the hell was your plan going in there unarmed?ë

Anyway the final scene is great 20th century television. Kirk fails miserably in his attempt at a racist joke - all he can come up with as an insult is "you're a stubborn man" -, and then everyone is just laughing hysterically for like 20 minutes straight. As the camera pulls away Scotty can be seen laughing so hard he has to lean against the turbolift door. Meanwhile, two people are lying in their cold graves on a distant, barren planet, never to see Earth again. Oh well.

(By the way for me it's original effects all the way. That really takes me back to my childhood, and they are often surprisingly good. And yes, if anyone's asking, the blu-ray box set does give you that option.)
Set Bookmark
David from AUS
Thu, Mar 14, 2019, 3:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Progress

Luke, why do you think Mullibok is an asshole? He isn't, he's putting up a front/facade. We can clearly see that the guy is intelligent, witty, has charm and a (dry) sense of humour. Yet you say he has no positive qualities? Seriously, if someone came to force you from your home, would you act any differently?

Also, by having Mullibok forced out of his home at the end, the episode isn't sending us any "message". It's simply telling a story. Seriously, I think you people look way too deep into some of these episodes. From the very beginning, we know that there's no way the episode can end any differently than it does. Therefore, the interest lies in how it plays out, and I found it entertaining. There's nothing wrong with a slow pace, either.

Overall, I give it a 3.5 out of 4.
Set Bookmark
David F
Tue, Mar 5, 2019, 5:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Naked Now

I started re-watching TNG a while ago and and I am going to re-watch all of the episodes in order. I jotted down some ideas, but as it progressed it got much more in depth. I feel at this point I jotted down (what I thought was) funny ideas. Is it campy? Yes. Did I enjoy it? Yes. Would I randomly watch it unless I was re-watching it in order from the premiere? No. However, the performances were all on point and the actors, who had to act out of character but still within character nailed it (especially Gates McFadden - I loved her performance this episode and her body language with Patrick Stewart). Wesley Saves The Day [TM] had its premiere in this episode and it was acceptable here, and the tension at the end was actually built up when the Enterprise had to destroy the asteroid. Tasha Yar does have the best line: “Helping people is better.” Some of the lines were incredible corny and over the top - not sure who wrote those in? However, it is still an enjoyable episode that showcased all of the characters and that is where TNG worked best - when it was an ensemble show. ***
Set Bookmark
David F
Tue, Mar 5, 2019, 5:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Encounter at Farpoint

A good, not great opening, for the TNG crew. A lot of the terminology used is different but it does a good job of establishing all of the characters, except Beverly Crusher (who was far better established in the next episode). Marina Sirtis’ performances were thankfully reigned in for the remainder of the series. However, on a re-watch is it me or was the focus moreso on Riker than Picard? Riker seemed to get the best lines. Furthermore, what’s up with the Bandi village looking like the middle ages next to the station. Did the natives still live there? A lot of questions that would make this episode not plausible in later Star Trek, but it’s the premiere twenty-one years after the premiere of the original show so it definitely would need work. The performance of Patrick Stewart was as usual on point. The effects of the re-mastered were amazing and really gave this episode new life. Overall, I may be in the minority but I actually really enjoyed this premiere.
Set Bookmark
David
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 2:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

Did anyone else think it was unusual for a security chief (Landry) to have long hair tied back in a ponytail? Women in the military and police usually are required to have short hair, or tie their hair up in a bun. Think back to Tasha Yar in TNG, with her short hair. Janeway also had her hair tied back or cut short. Anyway, Landy only lasted for 2 episodes, so it's not a huge issue - just something I noticed now after re-watching the episode.
Set Bookmark
David
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 5:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Q-Less

I only wish that Q and Odo had a scene together in this episode - that would have been amusing to say the least.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sat, Feb 9, 2019, 12:30am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

There's simply no place for these kind of juvenile sexual jokes and relationships that really are harassment. People should be thrown in the brig for.

The jokes can certainly be in place in a sitcom environment (I am a fan of South Park) but not on the job and certainly not in the military.

I guess he's just running out of ideas.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sun, Feb 3, 2019, 1:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Collaborator

I just can't understand why people like this soap opera stuff. Ooh... there's a twist! Really? There has to be a plot twist since they can't afford to do real action or develop characters by showing instead of telling.
Set Bookmark
David
Sun, Feb 3, 2019, 1:16am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Phantom Menace

I saw this in cinemas back in 1999 (when I was in 12th grade), with 3 friends. After the movie was over, we all agreed it was a good film. Even to this day, I still see it as a solid 3 stars. The special effects were amazing for the time period and hold up well today. The action sequences were never dull. The only negative for me was Natalie Portman's acting, which was a bit wooden. Anakin's acting was acceptable (mediocre acting in children can be forgiven, to a certain extent). Jar Jar never bothered me either.
Set Bookmark
David
Sun, Feb 3, 2019, 1:01am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

I'm not sure whether or not to give this episode a 1.5 or a 2. For one, it makes the huge mistake that Star Trek does, of assuming that an entire planet only has one ruler - i.e. one country. However, the major issue I have with the episode is that the aliens want to imprison the officers on *their* planet. Why wouldn't they hand them over to the Orville crew for prosecution? Mercer could just play along, telling them that they will be imprisoned on their own world. Problem solved?
Set Bookmark
David Ellis
Fri, Jan 25, 2019, 3:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: New Eden

A minor point: I'm disappointed Wilson Cruz was dropped from the title credits after having been added just the previous week.
Set Bookmark
David
Thu, Jan 24, 2019, 8:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

Yes Gary, I’m sure you’re a black person...funny that. In real life one never meets black people who bend over backwards for racism and tell the world how great of Uncle Tom they are, but online they’re everywhere. Lol
Set Bookmark
David
Sat, Jan 5, 2019, 11:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

Luke, you can’t be racist against a white person, just like how a black person can’t be a ‘colonist’ racism and colonialism are things that whites do to others intrinsically.

However, you can be prejudiced against whites and there’s nothing wrong with that, just like there is nothing wrong with being prejudiced against the influenza virus. It’s natural to despise something that has bring nothing but destruction and pain.
Set Bookmark
David
Mon, Dec 24, 2018, 12:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges

@Nejer

“the USA has been more of a positive influence on the world than a negative one”


Are you serious? The USA has been the greatest scourge on the planet in all history, worse even than the British, Spanish and French Empires. Undoubtedly you’re a white person who thinks in white terms about what benefits whitey, and not anyone else.
Set Bookmark
David
Mon, Dec 24, 2018, 12:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

Wow, this comment section is filled with the effeminate whines of impotent, racist white boys who are so bothered that a black man dared to mention the white racism perpetrated against his people. As long as there are whites there will be racism, just like there will be sickness for as long as viruses exist.

That you’re okay with nonsense about aliens existing and faster than light travel but something real like the oppression that whitey has wrought is something forbidden shows how fragile you awful people are.
Set Bookmark
David
Mon, Dec 17, 2018, 10:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Chosen Realm

@Yanks

1979, the year when Iran overthrew their western puppet government? When the Zionist entity was forced to give back the Sinai peninsula?

“Islamic terrorism” is a misnomer. If you abuse someone for centuries, they’re going to respond. The West has occupied and ethnically cleansed entire countries and that’s just fine by you but desperate people fight back and that’s an outrage?

Anyhow, this is a moot conversation. Whether you like it or not, hate speech is illegal in most of the world (and before you go on about hate speech against whites, there is no such thing, just as there is no such thing as bigotry against the flu, it is reasonable and logical to despise a death bringing scourge) and soon it will be in Yankland as well. You belong in jail and to be perfect frank so does the person hosting this site and the writers of this episode as well.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sun, Dec 16, 2018, 5:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Attack of the Clones

I guess it is more interesting to try to find the movies good points rather than bad, so, sure the Emporer's plotting in and if itself is great.

If only the Game of Thrones people were in charge, you might have gotten a tolerable movie out of it.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sun, Dec 16, 2018, 5:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Phantom Menace

Excellent review. I always thought RLM to be the gold standard review, but this is quite good.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sun, Dec 16, 2018, 4:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Return of the Jedi

This movie confuses character development and story with plot and effects. A rescue mission is entertaining when we like the characters and the characters are developed. But the character development was in other movies, not this one.

we care about Luke and his father but mainly because of the character development in the previous movies.

So there's a lot of cool visual effects and wonderful practical effects so it may disguise the fact that this movie by itself is so empty-headed. And really blowing up the death Star again?

why not just have Luke save his father and his father turns in the second movie?
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sun, Dec 16, 2018, 3:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: A New Hope

perhaps this is heresy, but I would like someone to explain the principles of why they like this movie and then apply it to any other movie.

I have never seen it successfully done.

Could anyone really imagine people liking this movie if they released it today and no one ever heard of it before?
Next ►Page 1 of 18
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.