Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 10 (Showing 1-10)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
David Staum
Thu, Dec 3, 2020, 8:31am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

Here's my succinct analysis of the problems with DSC:

The plots? Sometimes strong, sometimes weak, could use more world building.

The character interactions? Mostly cloying and contrived with cringeworthy dialogue.
Set Bookmark
David Staum
Sun, Nov 1, 2020, 1:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: People of Earth

Regarding some commenters' looking askance at the idea of The Burn, my guess is that it'll be explained through some pseudo quantum mechanical idea, that somehow all dilithium atoms are linked via quantum entanglement.
Set Bookmark
David Staum
Sun, Nov 1, 2020, 1:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: People of Earth

A lot of people on this and many threads about Star trek seem really focused on inconsistencies. But inconsistencies in Star Trek are as old as the franchise itself. My feeling is that it's fiction, and as long as the story is well told I don't mind some inconsistencies, as long as they aren't glaring within the story being told itself. Star Trek is a modern cultural myth, and different interpretations are welcome. There are many retellings of Shakespeare as well. I have plenty of issues with Discovery, but that has to do with the writing, the dialogue, and the characters in general. It doesn't have to be firmly consistent with other trek shows or movies.
Set Bookmark
David Staum
Sun, Aug 9, 2020, 10:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: The Void

I agree with most of the reviewers - I liked the episode quite a bit, as well as the optimism displayed.

One reviewer mentioned that Janeway should have deployed warning buoys. How about taking it a step further and sending vast quantities of supplies into the void, including the technology to escape? It would have shown magnanimity to those still trapped there, despite their treachery towards Voyager. That would have been a true Starfleet moment.
Set Bookmark
David S
Sat, Jul 18, 2020, 9:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

I loved this episode. Just rewatched it after many years.

I'm going to text Garrett Wang right now and see if he could send a message to late 2019 warning us about Coronavirus.

Then, again, social distancing is probably why I'm rewatching old TV shows again (when my kids let me).
Set Bookmark
David Strobel
Fri, Mar 6, 2020, 4:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Marco,

Yes, exactly! Niven's Kizinti only appeared in the animated series in the Trek universe as far as I know. But I'd love to see them in more than a throwaway line and tip 'o the hat to TAS. Still, nice detail.
Set Bookmark
David Strobel
Sun, Jan 19, 2020, 1:28am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Way to Eden

A little 60's sci fi TV trivia: this episode wasn't the only one with space hippies. Lost in Space did it at least twice. First was a bit over a year before "Eden" with "Collision of Planets," then a few months later in "The Promised Planet."
Set Bookmark
David S
Fri, Mar 22, 2019, 6:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

SlackerInc wrote:

“"I was under the impression that Disney doesn't have all of Fox's assets, that Fox still exists as a broadcasting network, so maybe the Orville still falls under that umbrella."

You are correct.”

The thing is, that The Orville is produced by 20th Century Fox TV Studios, which is now owned by Disney. So it’s very much Disney’s call whether to keep production going.
Set Bookmark
David S.
Thu, Feb 2, 2012, 5:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Storm Front, Part II

I'm inclined to think that Shadow Man/Future Guy is no other than Rick Berman. He came to see the damage his time line manipulations wrought.
Set Bookmark
David Shankle
Mon, Nov 5, 2007, 5:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: Trek's Musical Problems

Most Trek music (TNG and on) is bland. I agree with your article. Aside from some of the kitch of the era, TOS music really stands out from its descendants because it regularly conveys a sense of the otherworldly and unknown, a must-have for a sci-fi series. And those composers did it with limited TV orchestras too. When it's just an action scene with little or no dialogue, an interesting score is a must. Bland brass chords with a maddening use of the snare drum is totally uninventive. Yet, episode after episode features such music. Some more creative music could definitely have punched-up some uninvolving cliff hangers (before commercials). Music doesn't have to be bombastic (draw attention to itself) to be effective either. You can get a lot of color out of percussion and woodwinds to create a mood of mystery.

I applaud you for your thoughtful, professional reviews. I don't always agree with you, but your writing is excellent and thought-provoking. You should be screenwriting.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.