Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 17 (Showing 1-17)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
David H
Tue, Jun 4, 2019, 2:52am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Sacred Ground

Very fine episode - underrated by Jammer (though that's almost a given when it comes to Voyager). I especially enjoyed its puncturing of the arrogance of scientism - not science, but scientism, which if anything has only become more prominent since "Sacred Ground" was first broadcast.
Set Bookmark
David H
Fri, Nov 13, 2015, 11:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Outrageous Okona

For me, episodes like this one and "Angel One" are the litmus test to whether you like Star Trek, or you only like it when it's good. Every television series, from Gunsmoke to The X-Files to whatever your favorite show is now, has a few classic episodes and some good ones and some where the ideas and writing were not up to snuff.

I like Star Trek. I like spending time in that world. Here I like the interactions between Picard and Riker on the bridge, and how Wes and Data relate to Okona. I like the Guinan-Data scenes. It was 45 minutes spent in a better world than this one. That's enough for me.
Set Bookmark
David H
Fri, May 16, 2014, 12:08am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

On the Season 2 blu-ray, there's a commentary track from John Billingsley and his wife, who is also in this episode. It's one of the funniest things you'll ever listen to.
Set Bookmark
David H
Thu, Feb 20, 2014, 9:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Vox Sola

Seems like a mixed response. On the Blu-Ray release there's a behind-the-scenes documentary on the creation of this episode. It serves as a reminder of the hundreds of hours of hard work from dozens of talented people in front of and behind the scenes, all to create an episode that so many of us are pleased to casually crap on.

Some episodes will always be better than others, but every single one of them took a heck of a lot of time and effort to bring into existence.
Set Bookmark
David H
Sun, Jul 1, 2012, 12:24am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fight or Flight

Am starting my third trip through these episodes, and I seem to enjoy the series more each time. I thought this was an excellent epieode. The whole point of Enterprise is showing how we first got out into space, without protocols, without a Prime Directive, without weapons that always locked on their targets, or translators that always worked.

The fact that some are criticizing the episode because Archer didn't do what they thought was right- that's the idea. He's doing his best to follow his conscience, in a universe where that may not always be the wise thing to do.

I do weary of Jammer's faint prsise reviews - "functional," "average," etc. Not every episode can be Best of Both Worlds. As a character piece when we're still getting to know characters, as a depiction of mankind's first voyages into unknown territory, and as an exploration of the moral and ethical issues that are always part of the Star Trek DNA, "Fight or Flight" was everything I could have hoped for. 3.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
David H
Sat, May 12, 2012, 11:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Shattered

Jammer doesn't really like 'Voyager,' hence his consistently low ratings. I'm with the majority on this one - very entertaining episode. 3-3.5 stars, easily, and a nice palate-cleanser after the heavier drama of the previous two-parter. It would have been fun to see Kes again, though, and hopefully give her a better send-off than her previous return.
Set Bookmark
David H
Sat, Apr 14, 2012, 11:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

Just about everything has been said, but I'll add two comments:

1. "Michael" has now clearly identified himself as a troll, and a good one at that. He pushed all our buttons and got the reactions he wanted, but praising this episode is inconceivable for anyone with any affection for Star Trek.

2. I really like 'Voyager' as a series. I like the characters, I like the situations, and I've enjoyed many of the episodes that have been nitpicked to death by others on their comments pages. But I cannot defend 'Fury.' Those who have said it is worse than 'Threahold' are right on the money.
Set Bookmark
David H
Wed, Mar 14, 2012, 10:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Barge of the Dead

As much as I disliked "Mortal Coil," that's how much I liked this episode. I think a lot of the negativity from other reviewers has more to do with issues of spirituality, and whether they belong in 'Star Trek.' It would be hard to fault the script, performances or production design.
Set Bookmark
David H
Sun, Jan 29, 2012, 12:09am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Omega Directive

This is one of my five favorite episodes of the entire Voyager series.
Set Bookmark
David H
Sun, Jan 29, 2012, 12:06am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Vis A Vis

Nic - "last week" to you might be weeks or months on the show - not that hard to figure out, really.
Set Bookmark
David H.
Thu, Jan 26, 2012, 12:18am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

Agreed, Elliott - geez, you'd think everybody hated this show the way some of these reviews read. These kinds of shows are a treat for the cast and crew, and offer fans a new perspective on familiar characters. The holodeck is the means of getting the pieces in place. I personally prefer not to obsess about the capabilities and limitations of this fictional technology. I accept it as a means to an end, and I think once they established the WW II setting the story was entertaining and, as Elliott observed, had a message that was clear (no anarchy that I can see, Jammer) and classic 'Star Trek.'
Set Bookmark
David H.
Sun, Nov 6, 2011, 1:10am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

What does it say about the Star Trek fan community that this episode has 38 (now 39) comments, while most of Voyager's outstanding episodes have maybe 5-10 at the most?
Set Bookmark
David H.
Sun, Oct 16, 2011, 12:33am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Emanations

Well, you may think that Janeway line is worthy of ridicule, Jammer, but for Star Trek, it's a positive revelation. As one of the earlier comments pointed out, the Roddenberry atheist rules are still in place, and religion only exists among the less evolved species, something that the enlightened Starfleet crews have long since outgrown - unless you're an Indian, of course. I'm not saying the episode is brilliant, but it's a refreshing change from the "Who Watches the Watchers" type of arrogance that is usually directed toward issues of faith.
Set Bookmark
David H.
Fri, Oct 14, 2011, 12:09am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Eye of the Needle

Definitely one of the first-season highlights. 3.5 stars from me as well.
Set Bookmark
David H.
Thu, Jul 14, 2011, 10:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

Jammer's star ratings have already been expounded upon, so I shouldn't even go there, but...this gets a lower rating than "The Game"? Really? Besides Ashley Judd's hotness that was one of the worst TNG shows of the run, in my opinion. At least "Disaster" had Ensign Ro, singing Picard, the hilarious birth scene, and the cute tag with the two Number Ones on the bridge. Easy 3 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
David Hofstede
Mon, Jun 27, 2011, 10:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Devil's Due

I find it interesting how viewers see what they want to see in some episodes. Take "Devil's Due," which a couple of commenters here interpreted as another Trek swipe at religion. I'm a Christian and I didn't see it that way at all; for me, it was a story about trusting false prophets, something that every religion warns against. I also think it deserved higher rating- 3 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
David H
Mon, Jun 13, 2011, 9:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

Elliott, you are absolutely right about the premise of "Who Watches the Watchers", and that is why it is my least favorite episode of an otherwise stellar season. I understand that any series will reflect the views of its creator, but I also find it ironic that the Trek universe that embraces tolerance and multiculturalism at every turn can also depict people of faith as less highly evolved. I also find it interesting to compare Picard's speech here with his answer to Data's question "What is death?"
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.