Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 21 (Showing 1-21)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
David from AUS
Thu, Mar 14, 2019, 3:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Progress

Luke, why do you think Mullibok is an asshole? He isn't, he's putting up a front/facade. We can clearly see that the guy is intelligent, witty, has charm and a (dry) sense of humour. Yet you say he has no positive qualities? Seriously, if someone came to force you from your home, would you act any differently?

Also, by having Mullibok forced out of his home at the end, the episode isn't sending us any "message". It's simply telling a story. Seriously, I think you people look way too deep into some of these episodes. From the very beginning, we know that there's no way the episode can end any differently than it does. Therefore, the interest lies in how it plays out, and I found it entertaining. There's nothing wrong with a slow pace, either.

Overall, I give it a 3.5 out of 4.
Set Bookmark
David F
Tue, Mar 5, 2019, 5:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Naked Now

I started re-watching TNG a while ago and and I am going to re-watch all of the episodes in order. I jotted down some ideas, but as it progressed it got much more in depth. I feel at this point I jotted down (what I thought was) funny ideas. Is it campy? Yes. Did I enjoy it? Yes. Would I randomly watch it unless I was re-watching it in order from the premiere? No. However, the performances were all on point and the actors, who had to act out of character but still within character nailed it (especially Gates McFadden - I loved her performance this episode and her body language with Patrick Stewart). Wesley Saves The Day [TM] had its premiere in this episode and it was acceptable here, and the tension at the end was actually built up when the Enterprise had to destroy the asteroid. Tasha Yar does have the best line: “Helping people is better.” Some of the lines were incredible corny and over the top - not sure who wrote those in? However, it is still an enjoyable episode that showcased all of the characters and that is where TNG worked best - when it was an ensemble show. ***
Set Bookmark
David F
Tue, Mar 5, 2019, 5:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Encounter at Farpoint

A good, not great opening, for the TNG crew. A lot of the terminology used is different but it does a good job of establishing all of the characters, except Beverly Crusher (who was far better established in the next episode). Marina Sirtis’ performances were thankfully reigned in for the remainder of the series. However, on a re-watch is it me or was the focus moreso on Riker than Picard? Riker seemed to get the best lines. Furthermore, what’s up with the Bandi village looking like the middle ages next to the station. Did the natives still live there? A lot of questions that would make this episode not plausible in later Star Trek, but it’s the premiere twenty-one years after the premiere of the original show so it definitely would need work. The performance of Patrick Stewart was as usual on point. The effects of the re-mastered were amazing and really gave this episode new life. Overall, I may be in the minority but I actually really enjoyed this premiere.
Set Bookmark
David F
Sat, Feb 5, 2011, 10:01am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Adversary

I just watched this episode for the second time last night after not seeing it for a long time. I found the episode highly enjoyable but with some glaring flaws that were never dealt with that I just don't understand.

1) Like you said, who is control of the station? DS9 is a Bajoran station, and the Defiant is a Federation starship. Kira and Odo should be on the station. Granted, on a mission like this Odo should go along since he is a Changeling. There is no reason why Kira should be there. Is she representing Bajoran interests? How can she be first officer of a Federation starship? These questions were never answered....but at least they were not as glaring as they were in "Tears of the Prophets".

2) Another flaw, is nobody did their homework on the Tzenkethi? Sisko was just promoted to Captain but did no independent study or gather any information for the mission? He just took the Ambassador's word for everything and that was that? I would think if there was a coup, Sisko might look at a few reports or ask around to see what information he could gather.

3) Who are the Tzenkethi? Why do we care about them? Are they powerful? I think it would have resonated more if they were a species we had known about in the past, because otherwise how powerful could they be if we never heard of them before? Or were they just stating that any war would be destabilizing? In my opinion, it would have resonated more if they mentioned a species that people were familiar with.

4) I do have to say that the last minute of the episode was terrific. It does leave you wanting to come back to season 4.
Set Bookmark
David Forrest
Wed, Mar 26, 2008, 8:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

I totally agree with your review Jammer. This is a teriffic episode of Voyager and I really enjoyed Lien's performance. This is the one episode in which I really wished that Kes had stayed on through the rest of the show. I thought the writers never paid enough attention to her character, and she a lot of potential, especially with Seven of Nine coming aboard.

As for her new hairstyle, I loved it. I thought it should have been done a long time ago as Lien looked fabulous with the new style. The actresses on Voyager had terrible hairstyles the first few years.
Set Bookmark
David Forrest
Mon, Mar 17, 2008, 10:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Thirty Days

I would agree with most of your review here---this was defintely a solid outing from Voyager and a solid outing for Paris.

I have to say that the F/X were exceptional during this episode as those shots made the episode really worth it.
Set Bookmark
David Forrest
Sun, Mar 16, 2008, 12:05am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Warlord

For what it's worth (and not to be a total nitpick!) the teleplay credits are:
Teleplay By
Lisa Klink
Story By
Andrew Shepard Price & Mark Gaberman
Set Bookmark
David Forrest
Sun, Mar 16, 2008, 12:01am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Warlord

After watching this episode I was going to hope the writers were going to make Kes a little more fun as you described in your review. She would have been great to have around with Seven of Nine. They could have played off each other really well. I still enjoyed the character of Kes, and you are right in the regard that Lien carried this episode wonderfully.
Set Bookmark
David Forrest
Tue, Mar 11, 2008, 2:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Someone to Watch Over Me

This episode was hysterical...I was laughing outloud most of the episode, but it was truly funny because it is precisely how Seven would behave.
Set Bookmark
David Forrest
Mon, Mar 10, 2008, 12:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Meld

I enjoyed this episode and enjoyed your review. I agree with a majority of it in that I liked how they solved the murder fairly quickly and then it "Why did he do it?" I thought it was fascinating to see on Star Trek, that Suder killed just "because he looked at him the wrong way". Brad Dourif was excellent as the guest star and it was defintely an enjoyable hour.

As for the filler B-part, I do like how the writers were attempting to set the stage for Paris's "leaving the ship".
Set Bookmark
David Forrest
Sun, Mar 9, 2008, 7:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Alliances

Re-watching some of season 2, I realized some of these episodes are much better than I remembered. While I agree with much of your review, I think I would have ended up giving "Alliances" a 3.5 star rating. I liked how it played out as the episode moves swiftly with all the right acting (you are right as Mulgrew is magnificent) matching with all the right characterization make this episode great. I actually enjoyed this ending as Janeway points out in this part of the Delta Quadrant, it doesn't matter if you take the high road or the low road in that they'll all still betray you, so we are going to stick to the high road because that is who they are. This was much better than I remembered.
Set Bookmark
David Forrest
Sat, Mar 8, 2008, 5:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Prototype

I just re-watched this episode and while it did have some cliches in it, I did enjoy. I would given it a 3 star rating. The technobabble was a bit much, but it was okay in the sense they were discussing robotics and therefore there were going to be some long technological names. The story moves at a swift pace and the direction under Frakes was teriffic. Frakes did comment that the costumes for the Robots was awful and that could have been a little more creative, but I did enjoy the episode. The conversations between Torres and Janeway were great and we started to get a sense that Torres now respects Janeway and sees her as her captain. Overall, I defintely enjoyed this episode to recommend it.
Set Bookmark
David Forrest
Wed, Mar 5, 2008, 9:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Clues

I agree with most of your reviews here and the were great to read. You had some pretty good one-liners, especially the one for "Devil's Due" in that you don't mess with the Enterprise.

Two episodes that I enjoyed much more than you did are "Final Mission" and "Clues". The former I thought would easily garner three stars, maybe 3.5 as it was a nice conclusion to the arc of Wesley in that he truly respects Picard, and almost looks at him as a father-figure.

As for "Clues"---I love that episode. It's one of my favorite episodes and I would easily give it four stars. I thought it was wonderfully acted and written in the way they constructed the story. They were isolationist aliens and I thought it was a reasonable solution to their problem in that they didn't want anyone to know of their existence.
Set Bookmark
David Forrest
Tue, Feb 26, 2008, 9:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

This episode was a plain mess. I can't believe it made it into production. I can understand where the writers were coming from---what if Kes's transformation didn't work out and she tries to protect her younger self? Would she blame the crew for encouraging her? Fine-go from there, but the entire story of going into the past and screwing everything up doesn't make a good episode. If they wanted to go that route then the entire Action Sequence (which was really exciting) should have been wrapped up during Act Three, maybe even Act Two. More scenes in the present would have been real interesting to watch. Kes was a great character who didn't get a lot to do and the writers admitted this. Granted, I was not a fan of this decision to get rid of her over Kim, but like the Cynic said in his review, this episode is the opposite of "Yesterday's Enterprise" where we got a good-bye to Tasha Yar after a terrible one, whereas in this we get a crummy second goodbye after terrific goodbye in "The Gift" (one of Voyager's best).
Set Bookmark
David Forrest
Tue, Feb 19, 2008, 9:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: The Haunting of Deck Twelve

I actually just put this episode on again and when it first aired I didn't like it much, but after seeing it again I really did enjoy it, almost enough to give it a 3 star rating. Other reviewers online (most notably the Cynic) enjoyed this episode, and while I can defintely see your arguments, I found the episode enjoyable in the way they a spun an action sweeps episode. I thought David Livingston's directing was fantastic and Kate Mulgrew shined as always. She is defintely one of the best actors that Star Trek has ever seen.
Set Bookmark
David Forrest
Wed, Feb 13, 2008, 8:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

I agree with grumpy_otter: The last scene was quite moving. I think this episode is one of the, if not the most, poignant episode of Star Trek. The last scene was incredibily moving and I think it was great to tell this story with no B-plot and with no action insert.
Set Bookmark
David Forrest
Thu, Feb 7, 2008, 2:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Barge of the Dead

I defintely agree---this is one of my favorite episodes. Also one of the best Klingon episodes---it was originally Moore's story from DS9 (much better than "Soldiers of the Empire")---but lets give credit to Fuller's teleplay which is excellent.
Set Bookmark
David Forrest
Thu, Feb 7, 2008, 2:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Equinox, Part II

I defintely think this episode deserves a 3.5 star rating. I think it truly was excellent and its one of my Voyager favorites. It really pushed the envelope and had many great dynamics. Granted, the Doc returning is a plot hole, but other than that it's a wonderful episode.
Set Bookmark
David Forrest
Thu, Feb 7, 2008, 1:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Juggernaut

This episode was very enjoyable to me, and I love Roxann Dawson. The last thirty seconds defintely would propel this episode to at leat a recommended rating. I enjoyed this episode from the beginning of the hour but the ending with B'Elanna remembering how she just attacked the man at the end was done very well. It showed that she still had yet to get over her internal anger.
Set Bookmark
David Forrest
Thu, Feb 7, 2008, 1:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

I have to agree here, that this episode is very controversial in that when discussing it with friends and seeing other reviews online, they are all extremely positive to this episode. When I first viewed this episode, I agreed with Jammer's review, I personally did not like it. However, upon seeing it again, I would give it 3 stars in that it was stragely affecting. I liked the episode title in that you knew what was coming, this crew was going to oblivion and nobody would remember them. It made you think and feel for that crew that was destroyed.
Set Bookmark
David Forrest
Thu, Feb 7, 2008, 1:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

I have been re-watching past Voyager's recently, and defintely view this episode as one of my favorite of the series. The characterization, acting, and storyline were all executed wonderfully, and I would have defintely given it a much higher rating than three stars. I enjoyed Voyager, moreso than DS9 (I consider both excellent) but I defintely think this episode is one of Star Trek's best.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.