Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all searched results

Total Found: 1,202 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 49
Set Bookmark
Dave
Fri, Dec 7, 2018, 4:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Emergence

I've always loved this episode, easy 3-4/4 for me.

I think what I like about it is that for once the crew are able to be cooperative with the crazy hologram instead of the holograms just being a stubborn obstacle. The holograms are suspicious of the crew's motives, but are willing to listen to reason and are excited to be able to get where they're going (and are disappointed when they fall behind).

The idea of the ship becoming conscious or whatever is kind of silly, but I always really liked the performances of the people on the train and the connection it had to the real ships engines was cool, too.
Set Bookmark
Dave
Thu, Dec 6, 2018, 10:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Journey's End

I think I hate everything about this episode. Genesis was at least fun; this is just irritating from start to finish.
Set Bookmark
Dave
Tue, Dec 4, 2018, 11:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

(Regarding the above, the more I think about it, the more I think the scene of the ship destroying the escape pod/probe must have been cut/censored. But I'm not sure.)
Set Bookmark
Dave
Tue, Dec 4, 2018, 11:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

I could have sworn this episode ended slightly differently... unless there is another episode left that has almost the exact same plot concept? (If this is actually one of the remaining episodes, this would be spoilers for that episode.)

The way I thought this ended was similar, except the mission was different. She was supposed to be placed inside a probe that would be left near an enemy vessel. I can't remember what the point of her being there was, to eavesdrop in some way or something, but the danger was that the enemy vessel might decide to destroy the probe without knowing what it was. Then you see the enemy ship leaving, and it does decide to destroy the probe as it leaves, and you see the energy weapon vaporize it with her inside it.

Other than that is was the exact same thing, with a group of ensigns competing for a secret mission that they almost seem to be tricked into undertaking, leading to their death.

I do agree with Trent somewhat, where she seems to have been manipulated into a suicide mission, and I felt even more that way the first time I saw it with the ending I described above. (But maybe that is a different episode?)
Set Bookmark
Dave
Tue, Dec 4, 2018, 9:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

It reminds me of "Devil's Due", where it has a sort of halloweeny feel. Looks like they originally aired in January and February though, so there goes that theory.

I can sort of appreciate it as a half romance-novel half ghost story, but... the execution kind of ruins it, and this is supposed to be a *sci-fi* show.
Set Bookmark
Dave
Tue, Dec 4, 2018, 12:48am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: The Pegasus

If you can phase-cloak an entire ship, could you phase-cloak personnel? I guess maybe it requires the power output or some other effect of a warp engine to function? Could you phase-cloak photon torpedoes?

In other words, in real life, whatever technique is used to achieve the ship-cloak, there would almost certainly be other applications of that technology that should not violate the treaty. (Does depend how the treaty is worded I guess.)
Set Bookmark
Dave
Mon, Dec 3, 2018, 11:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

"there should technically be versions of the universe that look nothing like the familiar surroundings anchored to a life on the Enterprise"

I think of it as that he is moving further and further away from where he started.

the main thing I don't understand is why there was no surprise party... doesn't that mean he *wasn't* returned to his own universe?

(oh wait, I get it... he had already flipped at least once before getting to his quarters the first time, so this time was the real one. that's actually pretty cool!)
Set Bookmark
Dave
Sun, Dec 2, 2018, 10:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Force of Nature

The idea of "warp drive is damaging space" is an excellent idea, but poorly executed here. They should have introduced this idea at the start of the season, maybe with some hints in the first episode or two, and then manifesting itself in the third or fourth episode. The problem should have continued in the background throughout the season being resolved sometime near the end. I guess there just weren't enough resources available to have season spanning story elements.
Set Bookmark
Dave
Sun, Dec 2, 2018, 2:11am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Gambit

3.5/4 for me. One of my favorite 2-parters. I've seen it 3 or 4 times over the years and always love it. It's not very philosophically interesting, but the execution is so much better than the other attempts at an adventure story. It helps I think that the casting for the bandit leader was chosen well. Too many times a character like that will have mediocre casting, and then the character is unnecessarily underwhelming. But here, he's authentically sinister and ruthless. Really, everyone plays their parts great, and the whole trip ends up enjoyable from start to end.
Set Bookmark
Dave
Sat, Dec 1, 2018, 11:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Descent, Part II

Didn't really like what they did to Data here. Just a simple switch and he'll go from being sane Data to 100% psycho data, thinking nothing of scrambling the brains of his best friend? There's a lot that could have been explored there. If Data has an
"ethics program" and it can be turned off, then they should have done something like tried reasoning him through ethics as a workaround, without the "crutch" of his ethics program. It would have been a great place for some ethical philosophy, trying to argue morality to someone who has had all moral intuition completely removed.
Set Bookmark
Dave
Sat, Dec 1, 2018, 5:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Rightful Heir

Star Trek seems unable to separate culture from race. Maybe that's just the rule in the ST universe, but I'm finding it more and more irritating. Klingon's should be able to transcend their culture, but the message always seems to be that Klingons can't be Klingons without a warrior/honor culture. If anything is holding the Klingons back, it's their honor culture. Valuing death in battle is just a deception to promote willingness to fight in wars. There's a whole realm of unexplored Klingon way of living if they could just manage to transcend their warrior culture.
Set Bookmark
Dave
Sat, Dec 1, 2018, 12:16am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Starship Mine

One thing I'm unsure of... maybe besides Ferengi, what reason is there for "profit" in the Star Trek universe? It might have made more sense if the bad guys *did* have a political motive. I suppose if you have something of rare value, you can trade it for something else of rare value, but then you'd have to want something very specific, not just general wealth.
Set Bookmark
Dave
Thu, Nov 29, 2018, 10:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Face of the Enemy

minor nitpick: Picard (or someone) should have realized that moving away from a slow near collision with an invisible ship gives away that you can see the invisible ship
Set Bookmark
Dave
Tue, Nov 27, 2018, 12:19am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Schisms

@Thrackerzod

"The holodeck scene also annoyed me. If you told the computer to create a metal table, it should simply create a generic metal table. Instead what it created was far too specific and creepy. There is no way the computer should have been able to do that based on what they said unless as someone mentioned it was somehow reading their minds."

It does sort of make sense since it's pulling from a database of real tables. Note that what they end up with is only an approximation of the real thing. They had asked for a table that was incline, metal, long, cold, smooth, etc, so that's what they got, a stock metal dentist/operating table from the list of 5000+ tables. It's not like there are dining tables or coffee tables that are inclined.

(although the real thing didn't actually end up being inclined, did it?)
Set Bookmark
Dave
Fri, Nov 23, 2018, 12:17am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Cause and Effect

For why the Bozeman was not able to figure it out, I would say that the danger of being in that situation is whether your loop stabilizes or not. There are mathematical or computational systems that are very similar. Because of the allowance of information being sent back through the loop (without which the loop would be infinite), at first things would be chaotic with some varying amount of change happening with each iteration of the loop. But over time, I think the tendency would be for things to balance out. Eventually, all the variation would flatten, and the loop would stabilize and become indefinite. If that happens before you've managed to avoid it, then you're stuck. The only way out is to figure it out before it stabilizes.
Set Bookmark
Dave
Wed, Nov 21, 2018, 9:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Hero Worship

"with clues that are obvious to the audience too long before they are obvious to the Enterprise crew"

In the Futurama episode where they are filming a TV show episode for the Omicronians, Fry says something like "surprising the audience makes them scared, and doing something clever makes them feel stupid".

In my watch-through of ST:TNG, I notice again and again and again a similar trope of attempting to make the audience feel smart. It happens almost every episode that there will be something obvious to the viewer that is not obvious to the characters. I'm pretty sure this is just a cheap trick to attempt to make the viewer feel smart, but they overdo it so much that it's just irritating.
Set Bookmark
Dave
Mon, Nov 19, 2018, 11:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

While it might hit a few movie cliches, just about everything that happens in this episode is new for TNG.

- seeing how the turbolifts work
- Picard stuck with children in a life and death situation (would say borrowed from Jurassic Park but that was two years later (maybe from the book?))
- Troi in command
- Worf as a medic
- O'Brian's most important situation yet I think
- Data willingly electrocuting himself/Data's head detached
- venting to put out a fire/enduring space vacuum

it does end very abruptly, but otherwise it definitely deserves more than 2/4.
Set Bookmark
Dave
Mon, Nov 19, 2018, 9:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

well I can't read the whole 7+ year old thread, but there's something I want to mention though someone else may have already thought of it.

first, my personal instinct in this case is definitely to "shoot first and ask questions later". you almost can't get worse than this thing. it's like a repeating nuke that specifically targets population centers. *maybe* it could be reasoned with, and placated, *maybe*, but that isn't really worth the risk. this thing is arguably worse than the borg, and no one would suggest not destroying them. even if you could temporarily placate it, maybe a decade from now it goes on another rampage. oops, 100k more dead?

ok but, what I wanted to mention is that I think I can maybe see one reason not to destroy it. this thing specifically targets *life*, all the way down to seeds and bacteria. good or evil, there is something important to be learned from it. maybe it's as mundane as being a carbon vacuum, but maybe there's something else about "life" that it's absorbing. the discovery of "lifeforce" would be pretty important. but even if it's just absorbing all carbon, there's still got to be something to be learned, either for being a silicon based life form, or however its matter absorption beam works.
Set Bookmark
Another Dave
Fri, Oct 26, 2018, 8:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Measure of a Man

I don't know if anyone else made this particular point and it's really a tangent. Data had absorbed every text book and treatise on poker and didn't grasp the concept of bluffing? I give the episode 4 stars but that inconsequential quibble always nagged at me.
Set Bookmark
Another Dave
Thu, Oct 25, 2018, 11:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Defector

@MMM the sleeper agent is even more explicitly played in BSG with Boomer, and BSG was Ron Moore's baby.
Set Bookmark
Dave
Wed, Oct 24, 2018, 3:53am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: Black Market

zzybaloobah:

Not to mention that in the next episode they are mining asteroids to get resources to build new Vipers? How could they build new Vipers? makes no sense to me.

I think the problem with BSG is that is good for a short and intense story but beyond this point you have to start to ask questions like you made and all you get it is "a wizard did it".
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Oct 12, 2018, 6:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Darkling

Lord Byron was "crazy"?

You are literally the first person I've ever heard say that.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Oct 12, 2018, 12:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

... in an alternate reality where Vulcans have become assimilated into a violent cutthroat Terran Empire. Presumably Vulcan culture has developed VERY differently in that timeline.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Oct 11, 2018, 11:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

It would be no different to me than iif Picsrd is suddenly wesring a toupee iin the new show. Men covering up their balding might be old as time, but it would be untrue to the character we know.

Anyways, I've made my point. Carry on with the Discovery lovefest!

Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Oct 11, 2018, 7:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I really don't care about this issue THAT much, but to limit confusion, here is my motivation for my reaction:

1. I don't recall seeing any Vulcans with facial hair. Obviously being clean shaven and having a sedate haircut is a part of their culture,; I wasn't saying that Vulcans can't GROW facial hair, just that they abhor it (as a cultural practice).

#2. Your "Year of Hell" citation actually demonstrates the importance of being clean shaven for Vulcan males. Even in the midst of chaos and upheaval, the beard must be shorn.

#3. How long was Prime Universe Spock in that ice cave in the first reboot? Seemed like it was awhile, yet unless he had his razor kit with him in the cave, his beard didn't grow at all.

#4. Come to think of it, I can't think recall any Romulans with facial hair either.

But whatever, while I'm sure CBS focus-grouped which publicity photos to saturate the media, I'm sure it's remotely possible that it's pure coincidence that he looks like he'd fit right in on a Pinterest elf fetish page.
Next ►Page 1 of 49
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.