Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,752 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 71
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Jun 28, 2020, 10:57am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

It's funny to see people angry that the geometry of the technical solution wasn't 100% accurate .... while ignoring the fact this show actually went with a scientific solution.

DSC and PIC are notorious for tech that makes no sense, even within the internal logic of the story. Shoot, the last episode of Picard featured a problem-solving morphing device powered by IMAGINATION.

At least the writers were trying to use ACTUAL SCIENCE....
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Jun 27, 2020, 10:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Time's Orphan

What a waste of an episode.

I kind of liked the B-story with Worf as a babysitter, but why can't they write him consistently .... or, in the least, have Jadzia call him out? He didn't "raise Alexander" ... he was an absentee father who pawned his child off on his parents when things got complicated! (Yes, he wasn't around for the first few years of Alexander's life, but Worf was aware of Alexander right at the point when a distinct personality was just beginning to form.)

Yes, it's undeniably cute to see the big tough burly Klingon coping with a fussy human baby, but I was actually annoyed that Worf seemed to get more pure joy from playing with Yoshi than he ever did with his own son. Poor Alexander.

As far as the main story goes, there was no reason for ANY of this.

Why the O'Briens didn't IMMEDIATELY re-extract young Molly is beyond me. Bashir's point about them erasing Old Molly's decade of experiences makes ZERO sense because Young Molly was transported back in time 300 years and would already be long dead by this episode. They "changed" her life trajectory just by pulling her back to the present.

The whole thing is just stupid.

I have a bunch of other nitpicks I could mention, but since the whole sequence is manufactured meaningless drama, what's the point?

Well, there is one plotpoint I think is just glaringly implausible: Molly shouldn't have reverted to completely feral behavior. Even without human contact, a person doesn't just "lose" their internal narrator and language skills, 8 years old or not.

The showrunners should've been focused on the main arc instead of this predictable trope-soap.... maybe then they could've found 30 seconds before the series finished to tell us if Bajor actually joined the Federation.

This was a complete misfire.

1 star
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Jun 21, 2020, 4:46am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Encounter at Farpoint

I know that's a nitpick, but you're absolutely right.

If Elon Musk can get a reusable rocket to land on a tiny pad in the ocean in our time, the entire docking process should be completely automated.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jun 19, 2020, 5:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

@ Nolan

Thanks for saying that.

He'd had several strokes over the last couple years and his quality of life was terrible.

Personally, I'm mad at myself that Chris Cornell's death devastated me for days, but I've yet to shed tears about my father. I mean, I've thought about him everyday since his passing, but nothing seems to be able to provoke the waterworks or emotional turmoil. Why does a total stranger's death effect me more than his?

I know I'd be a bawling basket case if I watch this .... so maybe I should?

I'll think about it: maybe that'll make me grieve like a normal person.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jun 19, 2020, 12:20am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

BTW, I'm rewatching DS9 and I had to skip this episode. My father died in November and I know it'll make me cry and mess up my contact lenses.

A 4 star episode for sure.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Jun 18, 2020, 5:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

@ Elliott

Setting aside the fact that you're drawing a conclusion that isn't really supported by photographic evidence of previous protests, you are drawing a very broad-based conclusion based on .... well, I'm not sure what.

The ones that ARE wearing masks at the riots do so becauset hey can get away with crime, not for altruistic reasons. If they cared in a rational way about strangers's well-being, they wouldn't be breaking into homes, stealing and murdering people.

Besides, didn't the media already establish masks aren't good enough of a disease deterrent to reopen the country? Why is it good enough for rioters but not for a Trump rally or a Corona protest?

You are doing what the media does: using a personal value judgement of someone's motivation to apply a different standard.

You seem like a logical guy, Elliot. I'm kind of surprised you'd let your own personal prejudices blind you to the kind of black-and- white/all-or- nothing thought process you're espousing.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Jun 18, 2020, 4:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

I think what some of you aren't seeing is how many of those on the right are seeing a double standard with Covid Shaming.

Apparently, a pandemic doesn't matter when people are looting and burning businesses whilst calling it a protest, but it's totally fine to shame people for protesting peacefully about teopening the country or for wanting to attend a political rally that isn't about leftist politics.

Why isn't "you're killing grandma" being used by the media, politicans and the talking heads in reference to the rioters? Just because the cause is viewed as noble by some is apparently enough for them to get a free Get-Out-Of-Covid-Shaming Pass.

To me, it's an egregious double standard.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Jun 18, 2020, 4:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

Feinstein also had a Chinese foreign national spy as her personal valet for decades and she was so clueless, she never suspected a thing (or did and just didn't say anything in the hopes of her foolishness not coming to light). She's incompetent.

She's also one of the last of the Blue Dog Democrats left in Congress: she's a political fossil and I wouldn't use her as a baseline for evaluating liberalism.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Jun 18, 2020, 3:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

It's pretty common for a intellectual conversation that's reached an impasse to get bogged down by linguistics.

My personal feeling is that we all know what sides people generally fall on (left or right).... but no one wants to use terminology that lumps them in with the reactionaries in their political wing.

Liberal = left. Conservative = right.

Can we at least agree about the obvious stuff?
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Wed, Jun 17, 2020, 11:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

Well, you could actually defend the point you asserted with some kind of evidence, but what do I know?

Too bad we didn't have this conversation a week ago, I would have loved to see if you bought the media narrative that the riots were caused by white supremacist agitators....
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Wed, Jun 17, 2020, 9:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

@ Elliott

re: your comments about films/ shows being banned and longtime brands being shut down

Actually, Elliott, people on the left (or at least the vocal minority that uses social media) in general DOES view Gone With The Wind and Fawlty Towers and Blazing Saddles and Aunt Jemima and Uncle Ben etc etc as "problematic" and emblematic of the "system" that must be dismantled. Most of the left-leaning folks I know seem to view these as necessary battles/ important victories, as do all the media cognoscenti penning thought-pieces on what should be cancelled next and the Democrats clucking their approval.

My evidence is mostly anecdotal, but at least I'm basing my opinion on the reality from my own experiences.

You are making a blanket statement we KNOW isn't true.

OBVIOUSLY these issues are at the forefront of the culture wars because enough people (on both sides of the aisle) care about it. You're just being obtuse because you don't want to concede that point.

To address your point on CEO's:

We've seem recently how companies have sacrificed their own profits to push a political philosophy , even if it was contrary to the goal of making money. Case in point: Gillette tanked their #1 product by attacking their customer base and pandering to a very tiny minority. Or if you want a conservative example: Hobby Lobby.

Ditching a brand name with near universal recognition because the mascot/name offends the easily offended is completely contrary to how a company should function. It's HORRIBLE business practice. (At some point, there hopefully will be pushback from shareholders in these companies. )

Tropicana nearly bankrupted their brand by ditching the orange-with-a-straw. What do you think will happen to Aunt Jemima's or Land o'Lakes butter after their product is rendered unrecognizable and unfindable?! Do you think all those factories making these products will still be open in a couple years? What'll happen to those factory workers or the shareholders (most of whom aren't rich?)

A little critical thinking goes a long way.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Tue, Jun 16, 2020, 2:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

Not liking censorship or racial discrimination has nothing to do with the Supreme Court ruling.

I think some liberals build up their own mythical strawman of a bad conservative and then assign traits based on their stereotype just so they can summarily dismiss any opposing viewpoint.

The only one here bemoaning that decision is you. Apples and oranges.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Jun 13, 2020, 7:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

2020 sure seems like the year that censorship got its seal of approval from those on the LEFT ... you know, the people looting and burning and creating segregated "Autonomous Zones" where whites have to pay 10 dollars cash to any person of color and whites cannot garden with others.

And, of course, we now have active campaigns to get people fired from their jobs for having an opinion that an online mob doesn't approve of.

We've started down the slippery slope .... when will the book burnings begin?

Look, it might be amusing when people deplatformed and disemployed are those you vehemently disagree with .... but it won't stop with that. We already see it when a renown liberal like JK Rowling gets "cancelled" for daring to express her experience on what it means to be a biological female.

Eventually, the online mob will come for you too (if an actual literal mob doesn't). This is the true fascism, not those on the right.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Jun 11, 2020, 12:17am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Starship Down

I really enjoyed this episode. DS9's subversive take on a Irwin Allen disaster film kept me entertained from start to finish. The main cast is refreshingly sidelined by letting Quark, the ambassador and the non-commissioned engineers to save the day.

This works well because it allows the rest of the main cast to bond with each other in a personal way and show character growth (and continuity).

It's a nice inversion of the standard tropes.

3 1/2 stars from me

PS .... The ending of Kira's story of The Three Brothers was lame.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Jun 6, 2020, 5:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

This HAS to have the most comments of any episode on this site. Say what you will about the reception to the last few series, but at least it shows the franchise still has a lot of people passionate about it.

I really do wish what we actually got was better. It easily could have been.

I tried to rewatch STP, thinking that maybe I'd been unfair since it didn't conform to my expectations.
Sadly, I had to give up .... knowing about all the plot holes, lame dialogue, poor characterization and unresolved/illogicsl elements made it impossible for me to give it another shot. STP is a total failure as far as a second viewing goes (nevermind the first viewing).

(Side note: one easy way to tell scenes that were done on the extensive reshoots is to observe Elnor: the actor obviously had set aside his exercise regime in the months between the initial filming and studio mandated retooling).
Set Bookmark
dave
Thu, May 21, 2020, 6:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

PS - in addition to my comment, Jurati getting essentially a pass for cold blooded murder was kind of the nail in the coffin for me of this being anything that I can call Star Trek.

She wasnt programmed to kill him or even told to. She was told there was going to be a destruction of life if AI was able to reach a certain level so she took it upon herself to murder an AI scientist. That is murder, and at the very least should get a trial. But is just all happy go lucky at the end of the finale. Trek did have consequences at the very least in that one episode.
Set Bookmark
dave
Thu, May 21, 2020, 6:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

The Plinkett review was fun, i skipped around because it was so long, but well done and funny

Here is where I see the difference with ST Picard versus what Trek is/was

Trek was about humanity having evolved past a lot of our historical problems (war, racism, environmental issues, discrimination, income equality, religious dogma, etc) . Humans were still plenty flawed but were all striving for a much different ideal that what we strive for currently (material things, power over overs, and so on).

THat was bent around during DS9 but that was a backdrop of WAR , but those core Trek ideals were still reached for by humans even if war forced a lot of compromise or outright perversion of ideals

It was all what Trek should be.

2009 Nu Trek was turning it into an action adventure franchise. Fine, it was an alternate timeline and I found the movies fun in that context, I didnt look at them as a continuation of Trek

But something happened along the way. Discovery was part of it, but Picard went full blown. Instead of having humanity advanced to new ideals, they protrayed everyone as 20th and 21st century humans (us) with the same swear words and drug problems and debauchery with the backdrop of future tech. So you get all the grime and smudge and not the ideals of what Star Trek was supposed to be.

If I try to make ST Picard a continuation of Star Trek, its garbage. If I just take it in a vacuum as our contemporary selves going on hi tech future adventures, I can relax and enjoy the show.

Make sense? It isn't Star Trek any more other than the name and the lineage of races and organizations. And I think if a fan can make peace with that, maybe they like it more or just not bother watching it and are at peace.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Apr 24, 2020, 7:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Am I the only one who watched those god awful animated Short Treks? I wish I could delete those from my memory (especially the Moana rip-off with young Michael Burnham).

I had a bad feeling about STP after watching those: it's obvious the franchise is adrift due to mismanagement.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Wed, Apr 22, 2020, 2:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

Ps... I think the kid who plays Ty is a good actor, but again, just my opinion.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Wed, Apr 22, 2020, 2:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

I personally don't find it that difficult to believe Dr. Finn would like Isaac, especially when he has such an appealingly curious and innocent nature. Doubly so when you count his handsome avatar on the simulator. 400 years from now, it wouldn't surprise me if humans and artificial intelligences have relationships.

But again, it's a mileage may vary thing with how much credence the viewer gives that plot thread. I don't find that it conflicts with what we know of Dr. Finn. She likes a challenge and she's very intelligent: I can see why she would find Isaac appealing .... but that's just my opinion.

I might not agree with all your criticisms, but I'm glad you are keeping an open mind and enjoying yourself, Booming.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Apr 17, 2020, 2:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Home

I just rewatched this and it's as funny, fresh and insightful as my first viewing.

Without a doubt, this is a 4 star episode (for me).
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Mon, Apr 13, 2020, 6:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

It was Colonel Mustard in the library with the candlestick.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Apr 11, 2020, 5:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I'm not saying reviews should be in a hermetically sealed box, divorced from our reality.

My issue is that, when current events are mentioned, it's usually irrelevant to the episode being critiqued. There's hundreds of Trek episodes: in the least, people (who post here) could find the episodes that actually deal with their present day concern.

Let's be real, the season finale of STP has very little allegorical resonance with anything hapoening today. It's a grab bag of Deus Ex Machina, cringe and cliches
... nothing more.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Apr 11, 2020, 12:55am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@ Tango Rad

You're right, of course. Coronaboredom got me.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Apr 11, 2020, 12:52am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Oh, and I forgot the cherry on top.

Elinor, our main cast refugee, is a mass murderer.
Next ►Page 1 of 71
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.