Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,813 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 73
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 11:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Too many memberberries, too short an episode for a the content, everyone still speaks like they OD'd on caffeine and the episode title apes another (better) space show.

1.5 stars
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Tue, Aug 25, 2020, 11:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

^

except

#1) We, the viewer, see the visions

#2) other characters also meet the Prophets in visions

#3) Therefore, the Prophets exist (call them wormhole aliens or whatever you wish to call them)

and

#4) Sisko (communicating in one of his visions) gets the Prophets to eradicate an entire Dominion fleet.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Aug 20, 2020, 11:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

You know an animated show is falling when the easiest way to improve it would be to delete the characters.

Honestly, if there was an option to watch just the background art, I would be more entertained.

Mariner is intolerable. I loathe this character.

Ep. 3 gets zero stars. Astonishingly unfunny.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Aug 15, 2020, 10:11am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Re the discussion about international rights

Wouldn't the current situation make it MORE likely the show should be picked up for distribution? It's not like there's anything currently being filmed and these streaming services need to have new content to keep their subscribers content. It would seem to me that limited competition would make a pickup all the more likely, not less.

CBS wants a streaming service to foot the bill for production of this series and THAT'S why it hasn't been distributed. No service thinks this show is worth the cost.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Aug 15, 2020, 10:05am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Ok, I watched both episodes and now I have a headache.

Manic, loud, annoying, unrealistic, the character design is ugly. Half these characters should have already been court-martialed out of Starfleet (if they even made it though the Academy).

I think my biggest pet peeve is watching characters routinely break professional protocol and violate Starfleet rules. Ensign Mariner is just the worst ... her racism isn't funny or endearing and her Mary Sue I-know-best attitude is frustrating beyond belief. And why she's serving under her own family member is beyond me.

Also, is there a reason every male is written to be an oaf or ineffectual? Who exactly is the target audience for this?

I could go on and on, but I genuinely tried to have an open mind. Within 2 minutes, I was cringing and massaging my temples.

Yeah, I think I may dislike this more than Picard or STD. On the bright side, Icheb's murder isn't my least favorite Trek moment anymore.... so that's something.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Aug 7, 2020, 11:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

If I don't like something, I'm not upset that others like it.

So .... why do you get worked up that others dislike what you like?

I never understood that thought process: "They don't like this?! How can this be? Why ... there must be something wrong with them. Maybe they have no soul or no joy? Hmmm, yeah,, that's it. They're bad human beings, I bet! Now, armed with nothing but that assumption, I should vocally denounce them (while also attacking the man providing the space for debate)".

Ad hominem attacks might be trendy right now, but I don't think people are impressed by them anymore.

Anyone can be rude as fuck, just saying.

Must be a very polarizing episode. I'm dreading this, haha.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Aug 7, 2020, 5:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I haven't watched it (yet), so I haven't checked the comments stream in a couple days. I'm trying to be as fair as I can and avoid spoilers.

I had to scroll down to find the comments box (you know how it is) and I'm surprised by all the names I didn't recognize.

Either this show is bringing in a while new crowd of commenters or there's some kind of organized campaign going on. It'll be fascinating to find out which logical possibility is the truth. (If Lower Decks does actually suck, then that's my consolation prize: at least here, the comment section drama is guaranteed to be entertaining/hilarious).

I'll try to watch it tonight.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Wed, Aug 5, 2020, 6:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

^

I'm not big on emoji, but this deserves a 🤣😂

I'm steeling myself for the first episode of Lower Ds., but I won't deny that a part of me is interested to see just how bad it gets.

Will it be worse than Cats The Movie? We shall see ....
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Wed, Aug 5, 2020, 3:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

A very good analogy, Marlboro.

It reminds me of when Smashing Pumpkins decided they were no longer a grunge band but am electronica outfit. Billy Corgan and Co. had the artistic license to do whatever they wished, of course, but the fandom evaporated when they heard the newer stuff. It wasn't the genre or style they were accustomed to and been conditioned to anticipate (hence the band going from selling 15 million albums to barely cracking a million).

There comes a point where something can become so unrecognizable as to no longer be what it purports to be.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Aug 2, 2020, 8:32pm (UTC -5)
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Aug 1, 2020, 7:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

I've only watched Episode 1 thus far .... it was so enjoyable I decided to rewatch it and space the rest out.

Man, I missed these two actors sparring.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 31, 2020, 10:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

I just started watching this and after only 2 minutes of viewing, I stopped and had to share this.

Alexander Siddig has a YouTube channel and they just started what amounts to DS9 season 8 with the original actors ... kind of like a Covid-19 radio play (I found the visuals distracting so I just look away and listen).

As soon as I heard Bashir and Garak (Andrew Robinson!!!) begin that old school witty repartee with the double meanings, I knew you guys would want to know about this ASAP!

https://youtu.be/M44QMKWMxuQ
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Tue, Jul 28, 2020, 7:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Actually, Tommy, I was hoping the "first look" would offer something more Trekkish than the first trailer ... alas, it's just more of the Hyperactive Morons in Space routine.

But a boy can dream ....
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Tue, Jul 28, 2020, 3:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Excuse me, 1.8K upvotes, 2.3K downvotes.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Tue, Jul 28, 2020, 2:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

CBS posted a video called "Star Trek Lower Decks: First Look" five days ago and left the likes/ dislikes and comments on. This video isn't being used as an embedded ad.

So far it only has 109,000 views, 1.6K upvotes and 2.1K downvotes.

Looks like there isn't much interest in this new series (besides trashing it).
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Jul 25, 2020, 4:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

@ Booming

Good review. 👍
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 24, 2020, 10:55am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

By the way, the premise (child overachievers stealing a starship) runs explicitly against Gene Roddenberry's precepts for the franchise. He (quite forcefully) nixed a nearly identical series proposal in 1986.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 24, 2020, 10:45am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I used to watch The Animated Series when Nickelodeon reran the repeats in the 80s. TAS was one of the reasons I got into Trek.

I feel bad for the kids today: however this Mary Sue Nickelodeon cartoon pans out, it won't be a good primer for what Trek actually IS supposed to be.

Death of a franchise.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Jul 23, 2020, 6:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Quickening

I just watched this for the first time since it aired (probably) and I 100% agree.

The Founders are all of one mind ("the drop becomes the ocean and the ocean becomes the drop) and they have no sympathy for the suffering of those who had nothing to do with their persecution.

I hated when Odo went "home" to "his people" in the last episode. To me, that's like finding your biological father after a lifetime of searching only to discover he's a serial killer.

Garak should've wiped them out while he had the chance. Yes, they are evil.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Jul 23, 2020, 11:05am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

How can there be class warfare when everything is free?

There's no currency. There are no taxes.

Anything you want or need can be replicated. There are no bills because energy and food and shelter and medical care and schooling are provided at no cost. You can pursue a career in whatever you wish or have no career at all. You can travel the galaxy or go to a holosuite or just sit around your house.

Raffi's guilt trip made no sense to me, but I suppose that could be blamed on her being drugged out at the time.

Truly, it's tone deaf scripting stemming from a lack of understanding of the source material.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Jul 19, 2020, 6:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I'm sure CBS is happy that someone has stepped up to the plate as Lower Deck's white knight.

Oops, did I post too much? I guess what's one more post amongst "hundreds", right?
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Jul 19, 2020, 6:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Hundreds?

Hyperbole much?
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Jul 19, 2020, 9:10am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

@ Tim C

The negative reaction to Lower Dreck isn't limited to this board, nor is the criticism limited to the "usual suspects". The reaction throughout the fandom has NOT been positive.

Also, what's the point in telling us you aren't going to read anyone else's comments or reviews? Isn't that a bit hypocritical, considering you wrote multiple paragraphs (wiith the expectation your opinion would be read)? What's good for thee isn't good for me, eh?
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Jul 18, 2020, 6:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

The people who knock Orville seem to only have watched an episode or 2 at the start of the first season or just the trailer.

That pilot episode is a completely different vibe than what The Orville becomes. (Remember, the show had to have a parodic veneer of Trek so they wouldn't get sued and FOX would greenlight it l. They recalibrated the drama/comedy ratio by Season 2.)
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 17, 2020, 7:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Emissary

Um, Alexander is 3/4 Klingon.

Tuvok and T'Pol were pure Vulcan, Dr. Phlox was pure Deobulan and none of the main DS9 cast were mixed species.
Next ►Page 1 of 73
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.