Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,502 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 61
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 8:40am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

@ Gerontius

You forget the power Seth has. The Cleveland Show shouldn't have lasted past it's first season, but it survived in a comfy time slot for 4 years. FOX (pre-Disney) gives Seth a lot of latitude.

If I were Seth, I'd say either renew the Orville/ let me shop it around to Netflix/etc OR I'm not doing Family Guy or Cosmos or anything else with you anymore.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 8:29am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

@ Hardy

I too would love to see episodes about Yaphit, Lt. Dann, Nurse Park, Ensign Turco etc. but I think it was a smart choice to save that for later seasons. Using this season to focus on the main cast and flesh out the universe while perfecting the tone was a wise course of action.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 7:44am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

@ Perry

The soundtrack this episode was amazeballs!!

I wish I could peek at the score, it sure sounded like Kelly was battling herself thematically (I love when themes are transposed inverted and overlaid to create tension). The Kaylon raid's "music" was incredibly unsettling as well.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 7:41am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

I intellectually understand that everyone's mileage may vary, but I'm not sure why the Kelly/Ed plotline gets criticized more than all of the other relationship-based plot threads put together.

If I had to hazard a guess, I'd say that Kelly's infidelity is still an issue for some of the fans.

Personally, I find their interactions to be relatable, believable and hilarious .... but, in the interest of full disclosure, I liked the pretty bickering in ENT's Precious Cargo (Haha).
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Apr 18, 2019, 9:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

Did young Kelly just rewrite the timeline?!?! Wireless telecommunications facility!!

Does that mean next week's episode is in an alternate reality?! So many questions!

Funny, insightful, good direction (the Kaylon encounter was actually kind of ominously scary) and a really REALLY good soundtrack. 4 stars for me!
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 12:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

@Jackson

That's why I think this could be seen as an abortion analogy. A fetus cannot argue for its self-preservation either.

The real question around "Tuvi"x is why doesn't Starfleet doesn't have protocols for weird transporter accidents by this point?!

In the transporter, you can be twinned, de-aged, blended with another, assaulted in the matter stream, melted, transformed into a being of pure energy, be cured of disease, be sent to a mirror universe, contract psychosis etc. etc..

Why would this even be up for debate? There should be rules set in place for easily imagined eventualities.

Also, I must say that the idea of Tuvorchid just makes me laugh.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Tue, Apr 16, 2019, 11:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

Reading through the comments, I had a rather provocative idea: this episode could be seen as a parable for the fight over Third Trimester Abortions.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Tue, Apr 16, 2019, 9:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

@ Omicron

Author, Author.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Tue, Apr 16, 2019, 10:47am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

No one in the fandom had a problem with Trek captains/officers arbitrating legal proceedings that would have galactic ramifications. In a Federation with trillions of citizens, Picard/Riker and Janeway/Tuvok obviously would not be the most qualified to debate AI rights ... despite that, those episodes are praised highly by most fans (rightly so, IMHO).

That'd part of the trade-off when you're watching episodic TV.

I'm willing to grant this show the same latitude, but I can only speak for myself, of course.

PS- I also don't see how this episode would've worked out logistically or dramatically if they also would have introduced and fleshed out a mediator character (while sidelining Mercer from the plot).
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Mon, Apr 15, 2019, 9:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

I was reading the Orville wiki and apparently Moclans born biologically female have centered spots, males have them on the sides (a detail I never noticed before now).

I'm going up have to rewatch the episodes with crowd scenes with Moclans at some point.... it'd be interesting to see the if there's a detectable minority in the population (vs it being a very rare genetic trait).
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 9:40am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

I can't imagine anyone else as Captain Mercer. Seth does a great job!
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Apr 12, 2019, 9:03am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

^

I'm pretty sure that was Tony Todd (Candyman/ Worf's brother Kurn/ the coroner from the Final Destination films/ "old" Jake Sisko).
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Apr 11, 2019, 9:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

It was so great when Bortus chewed out Klyden in front of Kelly for his bigotry. I literally shouted "Finally!!!" at the screen. Very cathartic, haha.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Apr 11, 2019, 9:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

@ Mertov

Amen to that!

Klyden is seriously getting on my nerves at this point.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Apr 11, 2019, 9:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

I'm at a friend's house at the moment so I don't have a bunch of time for a thorough review, but this was a fantastic episode that finally addressed that nitpick from About A Girl. It was great to see Haveena again .... plus, it was nice to see how the Union Council functions.

A more thorough review to come, but extremely Trekkish episode! 3.5 stars

PS I'm encouraged by how the promo said the "season finale" in 2 weeks, not the "finale". That's the first Ive heard FOX officially use industry phrasing implying there might be a renewal.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Wed, Apr 10, 2019, 11:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Muse

@William B

I've acted a little foolish on here before so I'm definitely not standing in judgement of you ... although, I am still standing in judgement of myself, so I understand how you feel (I think).

Sometimes we humans can get emotional about an esoteric topic and, in reality, it's a subconscious stand-in for what actually is bothering us. IRL we have dozens of cues to determine if someone is dealing with personal issues: tone, inflection, facial expressions, body language, conversational responsiveness, etc.

Of course, on the internet the only way to separate genuine anger from projection from trolling is if someone admits it ... sp props for doing so. Also, you generally aren't an overemotional person on here, so I wouldn't sweat it too much. I happily present you with Dave in MN's "Thanks For Being Honest & You're Cool In My Book" Award.

Good luck sir and stay positive!
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Mon, Apr 1, 2019, 8:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

@ Jammer

Haha!

This board is quickly becoming my favorite place online. The late-90s ethos of this place is never boring!
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Mon, Apr 1, 2019, 6:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

Glad to hear it, that was some weirdness!

What's up with the "Hodor" comment at the end of the (still unrepaired) reviews?
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Mon, Apr 1, 2019, 8:24am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

#I_Guarantee_you_this_is_the_work_of_a_regular_poster...pathetic!!!!
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 9:50am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

@ Mertov

Tally up the reviews of both T.O. & DSC from two years ago, there's been no actual drop-off in the number of commenters OR comments ... quite the opposite, actually. Not to be combative, but I genuinely doubt that anyone who actually bothers to scroll down and reads through a comment section would be intimated by a healthy discussion.

Limiting posts in any way would actually scare more people away than it would bring in ... and it would encourage posts that were 100 paragraphs as commenters tried to cram every thought into their limited interactions.

Despite occasional speedbumps, the system seems to work (says the man who posts a lot, haha).
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 7:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

https://mobile.twitter.com/SethMacFarlane/status/1111778480654553096

Seth just Tweeted:

"Happy birthday @MarinaSirtis. You can catch her on The Orville in less than two weeks!"
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 11:09am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

It's March Madness in the US. I'm not sure how much overlap there is between audiences, but a lot of shows don't bother airing new episodes during the NCAA playoffs.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Mar 28, 2019, 8:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

I know all reviews are subject to personal taste, but still, I'm happy to see Jammer rated this so highly!
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Mar 28, 2019, 8:31am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

@Dougie

I've strongly disagreed with your reviews in the past, but glad to see you're doing ok.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Tue, Mar 26, 2019, 4:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

@ Omicton

I shudder to think of Future Holo-Me and his future holo-kidney stones. Haha

@ Gerontius

I actually like that ithe story was left open-ended .... perhaps Gordon might end up with a Minuet Complex. I can foresee a future plot where Malloy's non- holographic girlfriend feels jealous/in competition with his "perfect" holo-ex and decides unmask the "real" Laura.
Next ►Page 1 of 61
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.